(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

ling,
ya, there are so many things to be ban dang about for preggies. As for MIL, I try to minimize contact with her as much as possible. After having told her ytd, I oredi very sianz. She is a person who is not comfortable expressing what she feels and always ends up doing things to irritate us cos she doesn't know how to show respects to us and just ask. So she happy, she oso dun show. Show this black face all the time. Then wanted to ask why we never tell her earlier cos she suspected, but dun dare to ask cos I also dun want to talk too much. My hb kept changing topics using my FIL's business trip for discussion. So glad that the dinner ended fast cos she was already DECIDED (like she knows it's definite) I will deliver before my EDD, n she wld have time to come over to our place look after me & bb during confinement cos school hols means she doesn't have to give tuition. I was quite irritated cos she didn't ask or anything, just decided between her and FIL (like I transparent, sitting in front of her) that I ended up telling BB not to come out earlier than 25 Jun. Might as well 2 days after n she has to start school by then.

Hi all, so glad to "meet" other MTBs here who can share our journey and experiences together. Im a first-time MTB in my 15th week, and going for scan and tests next week.

So lucky some of you already know whether boy or girl! I already bought some bb clothes at downtown east 2 weeks ago bcos couldn't resist, so cute! Bought a combination of blue, pink and neutral colours - so if I don't need any, can trade here!

Bluedream, I tried to update the list by copy paste in Excel but didn't work. Can I trouble you to add me in as well? Thanks!

Nick: caramelle
EDD Estimated: 23 June 09
Gynae: Dr Aziz
Del Hospital: ESH
Expecting #: 1

thanks bbPotato!

Little Nonya has me and my family hooked too and we're not Chinese! But I think the appeal is in the strong storyline (read: drama) and period setting and outfits.

Creamer, you said the ending is not fantastic? Will it be a happy ending?

**Don't want to spoil it for others. Hehe**

Hi bbPotato, thks for the welcome note.

Hi bbjun, hmm.. yr doubts will be revealed on the last ep.

Welcome Caramelle. i guess its jus not the ending dat most wanted it to.. hee.

Anyone joining the antenatal class from Mt A and have good review? Cos i saw good comments on TMC classes and wonder about Mt A. Hope there is feedback on this too.

for 1st time mummies, once you know e gender, u can start shopping for stuff already.

me bot some bodysuits also. :p

now slowly getting e accessories like nursing cover, when edd nearer can buy breastpumps

Mika, I'll try to call them these few days.. I'm 19 weeks today, and I read that it's good to start these classes once we hit 20 weeks, so.. timing is just nice then..

bbjun, ur mil truly a nightmare.. she's a teacher ah, by right should be good with children.. not always I guess.. my mother is a single mother, who has worked and put me thru uni by herself, she's a bit controlling and stubborn too at times, but not to the extend of ur MIL leh.. and since knowing abt my pregnancy, she mellow down gradually, being more patient and willing to listen.. but I do believe that it would be harder if it's not our own mother, like ur MIL, 'coz being a mother herself, our own mother would remember how it was like to be pregnant and preparing for a baby, putting herself in our shoe and have our best interest at heart..

Welcome & Congrats to creamer & caramelle

I saw the Little Nyonya synopsis from ch 8 site, I'm a bit puzzled, after elaborating the whole story into details, the ending seems to rush & squeeze everything to fill the gap into one episode.. but.. wouldn't miss it anyway

Wish all Mummy happy new year and will hv healthy BB!

Shelisa,i also getting forgetful easily too..Congratulation to you n your princess..

lovelytulips,never mind recently a lots of holidays,you can take good rest too ;)

Ling,thanks for your advise,i still haven't take "shi san tai bao" yet,i'm heaty type,eat more durian also hv sore throat one..you try to eat more fruits ya.. how is your condition now??are u feeling better now?

bbPotato,initially i plan to buy babyplus also,but on my second thought,it still electric things,so i prefer listen more music from CD player than buy those stuff..

hi caramelle,
we are under the same doctor! U have just started seeing him? I'm sure u are in good hands. Decided on ESH already? Are u staying in the east? I'm just a few minutes away from his clinic and ESH but i am considering whether to deliver at Raffles this time round or just stick to East Shore.

hi styliciously,
yup i noticed it too! actually my mum used to work at ESH as nurse so that's why she asked me to go see him. next fri is my 16th week and 3rd visit with him. i dont get many reviews on ESH, not a popular hospital i guess but im sure it's good otherwise you wont consider going back right? hehe...but i hear raffles wards are very new so maybe worth trying.

im staying north-east so quite convenient. only thing that upsets me is that on saturdays, his clinic dont take appointments. on my last visit, i ended up waiting for almost 4 hours cos he had to go for a delivery halfway. so now i have to book weekday appointments..sigh must take MC.

also i find that when he answer questions, like a bit sarcastic. and the session like very rushed. do you think so? maybe just me...

Hi caramelle,
oh.. tat's good to have a nurse mum - can give good advice on health n babycare hehe.. ESH is popular with eastside pple. My aunt, cousin n cousin-in-law gave birth there yrs back, their kids born ard year 2000-ish. So far no bad reviews I've heard so far but its a small cosy hospital. During my last pregancy, when i came for admission, quite a number of due MTB and the labour ward was full, it was last few days before Hari Raya Puasa. So I was in my bed with the monitoring belt on me for a few hrs. Only went into labour ward 6 hrs after i arrived.

hmm.. I heard from my ex-colleague who was under dr aziz also that one of his patient delivered at raffles but dr aziz didn't come in time. So I was and still is abit afraid of that if i take raffles. Unless its a scheduled C-sec or induce, still ok.

Can u take time off for your appointments by submitting time chits? I go on Monday afternoons. Weekdays, usually 1.5 hrs to 2 hrs when its not crowded. His patients usually comes very early. I ever waited 4 hrs too on a saturday. With my hubby some more, plus he didn't have any delivery on that day. just too many patients. I know in the mornings, he goes on rounds to check his patients at ESH abt 8.30am so i guess he will go to his clinic after his rounds. Saturdays the consultation is higher too right?

So far, i've not encountered him as sarcarstic. Usually i dont ask much questions. He's funny and i'm very "laughable". Most times I go alone but if my hubby tags along, he seems more friendly. Its pleasant to be under him.

Hi Bluedream, Ling & Jessma - thks for the welcome!

Hi Ling,
ya, i felt the same too. They are rushing to close the last ep in just 1 ep and it can be a little confusing at first. Need to watch wif some attention ya..

aiyoh! i think i gonna have piles soon! had it before preg 2 years ago long time no relapse..but past two days so painful think it's tearing my skin and i think piles coming soon. oh no! still got 5mths plus i dont wanna start having that so early...and nw i'm terrified of seeing blood.

Any recommendation for cheap & good support maternity bra? say below $40??

stylicious, actually the fact that doc dont come in time is at random chance... actually every doc sometime will hap depend on luck. so bo wah hor we paid for their pro service but end up other pple deliver for them. it's hard to guarantee one...

oh dear i look forward to little nyonya ending leh hope not thunder loud rain small,disapt ending...

hi bbPotato,i seldom online liao since christmas.. now read book and sometimes go out.. next friday go see my gynae.. how are u?

Today morning i go out,feel very dizzy when on the way back,almost faint.. lucky my home is near by the mall..

I haven't start use strech mark cream yet,any mummy got good cream to recommend us?Stretch mark cream from OTO,1 bottle is $75 dollar

Createjoy,i brought maternity bra from OTO,around $40 bah..

Hi createjoy, i bought fm pretty mum maternity cum nursing bra. Promo if buy 3 pcs, each is abt $50 cos 3rd is half price. I thought since its 2in1 so may as well. Has good support as the wire is not as stiff as the normal bra.

Hi Jess Ma, i switched from palmers which rash and itch starts to appear and doc say i may not suitable. So currently using Galenica and its not as creamy as palmers..

Good Morning

Createjoy,kiddy palace(Compass point) also a lots of maternity bra,it's $40.

creamer,thanks,i'm thinking go to shop near by KKH and buy the cream.

bbPotato,ya,now it's abt 1 mth liao.. so long..

yesterday i didn't sleep well,maybe bc of drink the tom yang soup,too sour and hot..

creamer, the perfect mum u went to is at which location?? or do they only have 1 shop at suntec? cos i went there the other day, the person kept asking me to buy this buy that....

createjoy, same here... nowadays sometimes i go toilet, have to "force" it out... and it can get painful.

bbPotato, i also miss seeing baby... it's been like so long... ur's sat but mine's next week. must act act and sit longer at the scaning m/c. ahahha

seems like all of us can't wait to see our BB soon. I have been looking fwd to my doc's visit this sat for a long time and it's finally coming.

createjoy & lovelytulips, try to take more fruits. I find that really helpful, at least I dun need to spend so much time in the toilet. When I get too busy to take fruits, I really spent so much time trying to get things out and can be very frustrating.

same here, yday afternoon till now been having headache, can't sleep at all last nite.

today sms boss told him working fr home instead.

just nw he told me dun need to worry about work, rest more.

ya, hv plenty of fruits/veges and water, it does help. cos the multi-vits we taking r pretty heaty.

createjoy & lovelytulips,as bbjun said take more fruits and my friend told me prune juice solved her constipation problem.but prune juice will cause light diarrhea sometimes,so she only take about small cup(ard 100ml or less).she taking this juice since 20 weeks until 37 weeks.

morning MTBs,
i bought my maternity bras at mothercare. 2 for abt $47 cos got 20% discount with SAFRA card (only for maternity lingerie though, other items no discount). very good material and much better than another one i bought at spring maternity for $29 which didnt provide me much support.

and mothercare have a wide variety of styles and sizes. i was advised to buy slightly a cup bigger to accomodate for growing body so no need to come back and buy again after 1 or 2 months.

also bought the stretch mark cream from mothercare, cant remember which brand but was about $9 and smells very nice (chamomile and something?). and because it's so cheap i use it liberally..not so oily and quick absorbent.

HTHs!

bbPotato,you just listen to your boss rest more so can recover faster.later i will go sleep again after i check antenatal programme from KKH.They haven't call me until now,i waiting to register their Feb weekend class.

me oso having constipation... i cant even "force" it out. Went to my gynae on the 2nd Jan but doctor couldnt be 100% sure the gender of my baby as baby's leg was blocking the way.

i ate quite a no. of fruits leh.. like oranges, fruit juices and grapes, but still nothing.

Hi styliciously,
yup, but nurse mum can also be very cynical. because she knows so much about medicines, sometimes she tells me not to take this that lah. when im sick also sometimes she say just drink water and rest. but she definitely has good advice on babycare.

so far i think it's only us at ESH in this thread so either others here are westerners or they don't mind the travel
anyway most times MTBs will visit gynaes at their clinics so maybe it doesn't matter where hospital is. agree with you ESH is a cosy hospital with (few but) all positive reviews.

i was going to ask as well, if the dr never deliver for us, do we still pay for his delivery charges?

for my check-ups, i will tell my boss that although i have MC i will go to the office in the afternoon because i will finish by then. this friday i have 2 tests, one is triple test, can't remember the other one (code is AW19?). have you taken those too? im sure it's not compulsory but what is it for? i didn't manage to ask at the last visit cos it was getting late and i wanted to just pay and leave. and tks for good advice abt his rounds so i can gauge the timing. not sure if sat consultation is higher, seems like same to me?

for me, at the first scan he detected a fibroid next to the pregnancy which was quite big. so at the 2nd scan i asked for an update on it. but he replied, "if i tell you that 4 penguins have given birth in antartica does it affect you? no right? so same - no point i tell you anything more abt the fibroid. there's nothing you can do abt it now." i didn't say much but i left still feeling very worried. i agree he's funny abt other things though.

anyone else with experience on pregnancy with fibroids?

hihi all mummies!

went for my scan last week and knew my bb gender. i am expecting a boy this time round.

bluedream
kindly update. many many thanks!

wow ladies, you all really moving very fast. Just few days didn't visit, nearly lost in the threads.

Bludedream thanks for the update. Here's my details:
Nick: Goldiepooh
EDD Estimated: 20 June
Gynae: Dr. Vincent Lee
Del Hospital: TMC
Expecting #: 1

Hatemenot, prune juice is effective, even my gynae recommend when i told him i have constipation.

So fast must book for the annetal lessons liao ah? I thought of booking later nearer to due date so that will not forget what was taught. haha.

Good morning ladies

Jess_Ma, thanks.. yup.. better dun take shi san tai bao if ur body can't take too heaty stuff, think I got sick also partly bcos of too much heaty stuff liao (morning vits, prenatal choc milk, shi san tai bao, etc).. my antibiotic & meds finish liao, but still got flu & cough, got blood from nose again this morning, haven't take the vitamins again, try to clear all the heatiness first.. I asked gynae abt feeling faint & dizzy, he said it's normal at this stage.. but better be careful okie, if really not feeling well, better get a cab and head straight home.. my grandma's main advise is always the same, never ever fall, very dangerous for both mummy & baby.. have some sweets ready with u just in case when u feel faint.. I also din sleep well last nite, I noticed this 2nd trims, altho no more MS but the gastric pain's getting worse and worse..

creamer and all Little Nyonya fans.. today's the final episode, like createjoy said, hope it's not just great season's story but bad ending.. either way, won't miss it for sure!

createjoy, what is piles ? is it constipation ? tulips/hatemenot, if eating fruits doesn't help much, can try with taking yakult once a day.. also try eat fruits that's high in vit C, like kiwi, etc..

Going for my detailed scan next wk.. hope bb not so shy there then.. hands very itchy to buy bb clothes liao..

Heard from friends that there'll be baby fair next month at Expo, but not sure abt the details, anybody knows ?

good morning ladies,

bbpotato,
take care and hope you will feel better soon..

caramelle,
looks like I need to go mothercare for a visit soon.. need some bras plus stretchmark cream..
heehee.. you gynae very attitude leh.. its normal to be concerned mah.. yet give this kind of reply.. if its me, i sure give him black face..haha..
i think there is a thread on fibroids during pregnancy, you can go look for it..

crystal,
congrats.. really alot of baby princes in this thread..

me waiting til neck long, only going for detailed scan on 31st jan..

crystal, congrats on your little prince...

can anyone advise when is detailed scan normally carried out and what kind of scan is done?

ling, you're right! i'm sure many of us will b glued to the TV from 8pm onwards...

hi all, i will also like to find out abt detailed scan. i heard nuh cost $100+, camden's $300+. how much does it cost at TMC, anybody knows? hoping to do one in a couple of weeks' time.

dovey and mika,
detailed scan at TMC is about $100+..
usually carried out btw wekk 18 to 22.. it is to check on the development on all the major organs (heart, kidneys etc) of your baby..

yup, me catching the show tonight too..

anyone attending prenatal yoga/ exercise now? I rem got one in JE but cannot locate the link now..

thanks chidori... do u know if detailed scan is normally carried out at hospitals? not sure if i can do it at my gynae's clinic...

i plan to start prenatal yoga at shambala after week 16, most likely will start mid jan...
anyone started swimming?

thanx chidori, think i better call to book an appt now. in case the cny holidays starts slowing things down.

i'm taking up prenatal yoga this wednesday at whatever.com.sg. it's at club street if i didn't remember wrongly.

mika, u mean we have to book our own detailed scan? our gynae won't do it for us ah? do we do it at the hospital we will deliver? very confused leh...

mika,
your gynae will book for you..
most gynae do not do it at their clinic coz it takes about half hour or so and their equipment may not be as good.. plus in hospitals, those sonographers are experts..

dovey, my gynae's clinic does not hv the detailed scanner. so either i take his recommendation to go camden or i call othr clinics/hospitals which provides to book an appt personally. but many mtbs here hv gynaes who consider detailed scan as SOP, so will book for them and tell them to jus turn up at where and when to do it. u can chk with ur gynae to see if they hv it in the SOP, if not, if they have any recommendation or can help you book with othr clinics, if also dun hv, then you'll hv to rely on your own trustworthy self.

crystal, congrats 2 u !
hope to find out mine in next week's scan..

caramelle, one of my friend's relatives was also pregnant with fibroids a few years ago, she was quite worried as it was quite big too, but she delivered anyway, by C-sect, and once the baby's out, she still stayed in the ops room to remove the fibroids, according to her gynae, it doesn't affect the bb, just continue with the regular check, gynae will highlight if there's anything to be concerned of..

Dovey, yeah.. think I'll go home by taxi today to catch it, if take bus or mrt, can only reach home ard 8:30.. oh.. I think detailed scan is done btwn Wk 18-22, got some info here http://www.babycenter.in/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/scans/secondtrimesterscans/ we finally got the copy of the receipts, we paid $200 which includes the 1st scan (NT) and the Detailed Scan.. is the swimming class @kkh started in feb or mar ? I'd like to register..

chidori, i am trying to find out the rates for othr places for detailed scan cos if my gynae book for me. it's gonna be $300+. economy downturn leh. i better start saving. hehe! but detailed scan is impt, so still hv to do, tat's why finding cheaper options.

chidori, i scared to give black face cos the clinic staff know my mum who's a nurse at ESH. so save my mum's face..but i definitely didn't laugh. DH was laughing though until i said, "Funny meh?"

goldiepooh and all, was also thinking to ask my Dr abt the antenatal class when i visit him this fri. most likely i'll go for the one at ESH because it's the hospital where i'll deliver. usually like that right? although i do see some MTBs going for TMC's popular classes although not delivering there. i also read somewhere to go like later in the pregnancy so won't forget what's taught.

and the rest of you..wah prenatal yoga? i really admire your energy. i barely have enough these days after going home, cook dinner for me and DH and clean the house. by 9pm im plopped in front of the TV with Little Nyonya! weekends are spent trawling baby shop/warehouses - yes Im kiasu like that!