(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

jam75, I remember vaguely during the NT scan, during payment the nurse mentioned something abt the next scan.. but she didn't mention when nor whether they'll call..

nozomi, I also have been craving for durian, altho many ppl said it's ok to eat durian, but my hubby not keen on buying, he said now is not the season, hence, if we kena bluff and bought a low quality durian, scared it's not good for the bb.. some more durian's very high sugar content, my brother told me that he also banned his wife from eating durian last time she was pregnant, as pregnant mothers need to stay healthy, if contracted diabetes during pregnancy ('caused by high sugar consumption), it'll endanger both the mother and bb.. but I & hubby agreed to wait until january, when there are more durian in the market, then we can buy the good ones and dun eat too much..
dun worry abt the piggy size.. we're all hot fat mama

ling, aft pyt she gave mi the pink color form which is the same as wat dr adrian given to us wan & on the form she indicate my detailed scan date & time leh she somemore staple the pink color form 2gether wif my rcpt leh...they din give pink color form to u ma?? cos dat time at cck clinic the nurse already told mi dat i nid to pay f bth nt scan & detailed scan when i go f my nt scan as it is under package & they tell mi detailed scan schedule wil b fixed at tcm leh!

jam75, oh no *panic* I didn't notice, I went to toilet when she's finishing the pymt process, then the receipt and all were kept by my hubby.. haiz.. means the pink form also submitted for claim then.. I think better call TMC again.. but you mentioned the detailed scan would be ard 18-20th wk..? should be btw next wk to mid Jan for me then.. I'll call them anyway.. thanks..

ling, tink in wk 20 ba....mine cos wk 20 is fall on cny so i go on wk 21 which is 30 jan...u hv to take pink color form to go f yr detailed scan leh! mayb yr hb should know ba cos the nurse got mentioned dat we hv to bring along the pink color form & show us she hv indicate the date & time....she still asked whether we wan it in am or pm leh!

I m still trying to decide whether to do detailed scan on either week 19 (cny week) or on week 21. These are the two weeks that my hb is back. Gynae says week 22 is the best timing to do detailed scanning cos will be clearer. But dying to see BB as soon as possible... dunno got patience to wait till week 21 or not. LOL.

jam75.. no choice, hb not ard at week 20. I am ok to go alone on most visits but I know he wants to go to the detailed scan together. It's the only time he has a chance to see BB's feature clearly lor.

My BB always grows faster by more than one week, that's why gynae is ok with week 19 when I asked her. She knows about our situation and always very nice to accomodate so that my hb can be there. But cos of her comments about week 22, we are considering week 21.
BUT I ANXIOUS!!!

bbjun, understand, dat time my 1st tri my check up is weekly basis now in 2nd tri bcome 1/mth i feel like a v v long wait to my nx scan!

Ling,

i destest durian before preggy, now when i saw there is this fried durian (goreng pisang style), i want to eat..haha. yeah, durian is really high in carbohydrates that leads to diabetes..very scary esp during the glucose test in the later trimester..if high in glucose, got to go for some kind of 'diet counselling' (can't rem the exact terms for it)*faintz*. thank god, i passed it previously(didn't crave for durian tt time) ;)

jam75,

same sentiments exactly..my gynae treat this rd as a normal preg (cos' nothing was detected previously) and want to see me every 4 wks but i told her my neck would grow very long by then..hahah..cos' every single day is a challenge to me (am worried sick)..i requested for a shorter period (3 wks till next visit). She must have thought this mother is paranoid

Ling,

3D scan scheduled separately de, normally in 3rd trim

detailed scan, they will check on the length of the body, limbs as well as check on e spinal area to check whether there are any growth defects.

Ling, did u manage to see ur baby's gender?

I saw mine liao, is a BOY and very confirmed no mistake liao =)

nozomi, ya lo when 1st tri weekly go down everytime looking forward hope bb fine...now got to worried f 1 mth...

neeciel, so fast u yr bb gender liow...congrat leh...u r in how many wk now?? wonder my nx appt will b my 17 wk dunno can c bb gender le ma!

bbjun, thanks =)

jam75, talk to baby more often b4 the scan hee...at least it works for me everytime =)

ladies, how to increase iron beside taking iron pills?

i did eat quite a fair bit of veg but red meat dun alw hv chance to eat, my blood test shows that i hv low blood.

hatemenot, i oso cant wait to know ur bb's gender kaka...

neeciel, understand. I face the same problem as u and I don't like red meat, especially in the past. Plus I don't take beef cos of religious reasons.

I don't know if the black bean soup really does help but my low BP condition and low red blood cell count have improved over the years (though low compared to most ppl still) cos my mum helps alot in cooking the right food for me. Last time can stil depend on liver to get iron. Now cannot liao. Maybe can take more spinach cos I know spinach has one of the highest iron content.

bbjun, i can take beef but how often i can eat steak, they are so ex... red dates water helps right but someone posted here cannot drink too much.

Dr Chan presribed me iron pills but asked me not to take everyday cos scare i constipated. But she did warned me to increase iron cos this will affect baby's IQ level and after birth i sure lose some blood, if got anemia wont recover one.

<font color="0000ff">bbjun

Low red blood count? did you test for thalassaemia? That's one of the syptoms.. if have thalassaemia, your body have troble utilising the iron and thus removnig it from your body.. so actually pple who are anaemic due to thalassaemia cannot take iron else toxicity..

cos that's what happen to me, found out only after preggy, and both me n hubby have it somemore. Lucky bb is ok..</font>

<font color="ff0000">I got the best xmas gift yesterday! Clinic called with my cvs results. bb's chromosomes are all normal, and guarantee chop is boy boy cos got XY on pair 23. =)</font>

11_Beans,
Low but not below the range. My Thalasaemia test is ok. But I have not seen the results yet cos it was not in time when I met up with my gynae.
Was also slightly anaemic long ago but ok now.

Congrats! Happy for you that all is well!

Merry Xmas in advance, everyone!

neeciel, drink more water when u take the iron pils. it will help in preventing constipation.

11_beans, when did u test for thalassaemia? my gynae didn't ask me to do it... but i'm high on platelets count. been seeing haematogloy at sgh since 2006. blood test at kkh revealed that platelets count is normal in nov, but platelets count is high in sgh in dec... how? my next appt with gynae is in feb!

merry christmas and a blessed 2009 to all mummies! anyone getting a gift for ur bb? =)

morning gals!!

MERRY X-MAS TO ALL OF U!!

neeciel, hahaha my cousin say the same thing too say tok to bb 1st so dat bb will co-operate..dis is wat she do during her oscar test bb v co-operaive 1 time all measurement done...unlike mi hv to go in 2 x &amp; hv to hold my bladder till v xin ku!!

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL.

This xmas will b lonely for me, hb travelling, so only me, my boy and my little ones. :p

e nurse told me e balance blood tests all carried out during 5mths+, think different gynae do it differently. Last time at KKH, these tests were done at 1st appt.

kelly,

i m opp of u, june body checkup my platelets count was low, then i told my gynae she immediately ordered another blood test, now is in e low normal range. not sure whether need to do another round of check b4 delivery or not, cos it's quite risky if platelet count is low, high risk of excessive bleeding.

neeciel, congrats... can starrt buying for little prince already. so, when's ur next checkup??

bbPotato, well, u have ur boy and little ones!! and i'm sure they will bring u lotsa laughter.

hope to be leaving half day today....

Merry Xmas!!!

lovelytuplis, so official u oso working full day huh...so waiting f yr co. to declare half day last min izzit...heehee...we oso nid to work full day but cfm no nid to wait f co to give us surprise for half day wan!

Good morning ladies
and Merry Christmas to you all!

neeciel, wow congrats! So happy for you.. for me, ytd the queue was quite long, so the check was quite rush with my gynae, he said bb very shy and can't see properly, might be sleeping I guess, within that minutes bb was on the side and more to facing back, so really can't see much.. gynae said could be a girl, but he won't confirm as we can't see 'there' at all, so must be patient and wait until the detailed scan.. so, still must postponed my hello kitty shopping liao..
took my weight as well, gain 0.3 kg since last mth..

jam75, I told dr Adrian I dun have the receipt n red form, he issued another for me, most likely mid Jan for the detailed test.. 17 wk definitely can see gender, only and if only bb cooperate with the right position lor.. ask bb to open leg wide wide..

11_beans, Congrats to u n bb boy !
that is indeed the best christmas gift ever..

Shelisa/Jess_Ma, I think you're right.. the 'shi san tai bao' really quite heaty le.. just took it the other day, and now got bad sore throat with green phlegm.. sian.. got runny nose and traces of blood in both mucus &amp; phlegm too.. haiz.. I hate to be sick during holiday..

ladies, anyone been feeling faint/dizzy/giddy lately ? I had that the past few days and asked my gynae, he said it's common when pregnant mothers might have some sudden low sugar level/blood pressure, just take some candies/sweet drinks should help..

ling, so dr adrian nurse will help u to book f detailed scan?? nx sat b4 i go f my check up muz ask bb to open leg to let us c gender...hahaha

jam75, yeah.. keep talkin to bb to open wide-wide for us to see.. hehee..
dr Adrian gave me another pink form, think I gotta call TMC and confirm the dates again, dr Adrian said TMC should already have our data there when we made the payments, so just have to call them up to confirm..

ling, ic so dat's mean when u go nt scan dat time yr detailed scan should hv already been fixed rite?? ya lo i oso hope bb let mi c gender wo....bth mi &amp; hb wanna to hv a bb gal...tot my hb is the onli son but heng he not those kind muz hv bb boy....so far PIL oso nv ask gender so was tinking should b ok f them ba! my niece so gun giong kip on asking whether is bb girl or boy?? if bb girl she wanna to shop pretty things f her...tink bb boy got nothing hahaha!

jam75, my hb oso only son, and sil oredi has a bb gal, mil asked b4 and jokingly said it's a boy by her calculation, ytd I asked hb if it's really a gal, I'm worried if mil disappointed.. but hb said what matters is bb healthy, and both of us love bb dealy, be it gal or boy.. so feel much relief and less pressure lor..

ling, ya lo gal or boy as long as healthy will do lo...but some old ppl tend to hv those old fashion tinking muz hv grandson to chuan zhong jie dai....my sil onli hv 1 girl...

i hv a fren oso hb the onli son....her IL always emphasis muz give birth to boy....she hv been tring f yrs still no news yet...even if she hv gd news tink she will worried abt the gender...she v pressurize by her IL!

jam75, yah lor.. I felt old customs is really not fair on gender, for me both bb girl or boy has its own blessings, daughters usually would be closer to us mothers, and we don't have to worry abt getting along with dil..

haiz, think almost everyone is on half day today, doing xmas shopping or catch up with friends.. I'm still at work le..

jam75, yalor... no official off one... wait for boss to declare.

wah... ur friend's IL also abit..... i think she will be very stressed. have also stress, dont have also stress. sometimes i wonder, i tot we are in a modern era already, why still got pple like tat.

tulips, bo bian, many asian culture r like tat one.. not only chinese who tink boy can bring family name, I got one coll who's indian, also told me that for them havin bb girl would b considered a cost in the long run, her hb prefer bb boy..

Ling, i'm also still at work.... consolation is got free xmas lunch. ahahhaha

yea.... i understand from those pple from india that gals are a cost to them. cos when it comes to marriages, it's the bride who gives the "pin jin" or something like that.....

mi too still at work lo till 6pm...

tulips, u so gd still got conslation free xmas lunch we r simi sai ma si bo!

ling &amp; tulips, realli sometime we woman v ke lian dun hv bb oso worried hv bb scared not boy oso kenna ask...

ling, i agreed girl will b closer to mom...like mi &amp; my sis even we married out le we still v close to our mom...

Merry X'mas to all! our babies are the greatest christmas gift of all..heheh

congrats to mummies who knew the bb's gender. so sweet, can commence on the shopping spree.

Ling &amp; jam75,
the chuan zhong jie dai thingy, reminds me of the little nonya drama..'women life are worthless'..omg..watch already very *hot* haha.

nozomi, hee hee u watch dat little nonya drama huh...now everyday i rush back to zui dis drama! ya lo dat drama women realli worthless! tink yue niang ma ma even more poor thing lo!

jam75, u're working until 6pm ah ? no half day at all ? my side at least the boss said we can leave earlier if got nothing urgent at work

tulips, where got free lunch.. am eating mcDonald le.. ya lor.. a few mth after marriage, we were asked many times y still no bb.. even buy me bai fong yuan some more.. told my good friend and she said not to stress, it's only a few mths, not few yrs.. I guess parents nature r like tat, have certain expectations..
yup, girl closer to mum, I realised aft marriage, even no matter how nice ur mil is, we'd still be closer to our own mum.. and our mil is the same, no matter how much we tried to please and be nice to her, naturally she'd still be closer to her own daughter.. so if it's a girl for me this time, no matter what other's expect, I'm happy..

nozomi, the nonya drama, aiyo.. since I work so far I can't really follow drama anymore le.. reach home quite late most of the time..

ling, ya lo hv to work till 6pm no half day oso no earli knock off...so gd hor u'll still hv x-mas lunch....

ya my IL oso v close to my sil (her own daughter) my mom oso the same closer to my sis &amp; mi...actuali i find dat nowadays if u hv a girl u will hv additional son...unlike if u hv a son u will not hv additional daughter...cos it seems dat nowadays hb r closer wif wife's family....dis apply to myself &amp; niece oso wo...even my BIL is v close to my PIL....

gals, so wat abt u'll hb closer to yr family or u'll closer to yr hb's family??