(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

All start to get maternity wear liao ah?

Base on my experience hor, if u get the correct size maternity wear. It would be able to last till the 3rd tri.

hi beans,
think we on the same day too .. mine at 3.30pm... maybe can see u lor ...

Shelisa, Ling, nozomi, createjoy and lovelytulips, thanks for your concern. i'll try to think happy for my baby gal.

lovelytulips, i also like hog's breath :p think they have one of the nicer steaks for a decent price. for normal occasions, i also go to jack's place for the lobster bisque and steak. think i'll go jack's place one of these days :p

Jess_Ma, glad your ulcer is getting better. remember drink more fluids.

Ling, i guess if your family has been taking it, then shld be ok. i got jaundice when i was a baby so i think i don't want to try taking chinese herbs. maybe only take chicken essence and bird's nest. chicken essence soon cos my lips seemed to be very pale these few weeks and my blood pressure like a bit low at 95/52. doc never say anything though. and bird's nest in the 3rd trimester. now waiting to see when got discount cos i cannot stand the taste of the bottled kind.

cheery, my gynae prescribed neurogain too, i think it's abt $40 for 30? need to go back and check. he's quite humourous, actually got 2 types then he says if give me this one for 1st class student. think the other one is $33 or something.

Anyone here who's a 2nd time mum ? 1st child less than 2 years old? I'm preggy now around 13 weeks with an 18 month old toddler. Just wondering how mummies here prep no. 1 for the arrival of a new baby? And, how would family dynamics change with the arrival of a new baby Eg. Sibling jealousy, sleeping arrangements etc. etc.
Thanks so much!

Hi toffeecat,

yes , I can understand the disappointment you may have felt when you knew it is a princess. You are still young to try for another one. Most importantly, the baby is healthy and the delivery is a smooth one. I was told that whether is boy or girl, it depends maainly on your husband genes and family tree. That is what I told my mother in law.

Hi toffeecat,

don't be sad.

come we swop, :p

I m wishing for a ger for both pregnancies, but ended up with boy, I m happy with my son too, cos he's very close to me, everyday we will exchange hugs and love u msgs.

he's like my little husband.

Thanks, gals, for replying to my swollen feet issue. =) they are still swollen though.

mainemum06, it's great to hear that ur edd is near mine and we are seeing the same gynae. i hope to lose all the water soon too. =) did u see doc john tee during ur 1st pregnancy?

how i envy u gals lah. i can't do without maternity pants since 2nd month coz i am on the bigger side. i went to a shop at vivo, tried their largest size pants and guess what, the promoter asked me to try to get european size maternity clothes. =( so i bought all my bottoms at spring maternity and dorothy perkins. and the worst is that i look totally disgusting in dresses! i need some work wear and cny clothes really soon, otherwise i have to go in undergarments only! haha

toffeecat, i bought my birdnest opposite the goddess of mercy temple at bugis. my hubby said quite reasonably price. we bought jin si yan and 1 liang cost us $260. u can trying shopping there. maybe u can bargain... =)

lovelytuplips, i think i will buy pigeon brand milk bottles. isetan is having some sales the elec pump, cooler and bottles for storing milk cost about $250 plus on discount. can't rem the brand. =) strollers also on sales too. I saw at stroller at kiddy palace. Capella cost only $199, if i m not wrong. usual px is $320plus. but my hubby said too early to buy.

toffeecat, cheer up on the ur bb gender issue. =) bb and mummy healthy, pregnancy and delivery smooth can ready. to be able to have a baby is already a one in a million chance... this is my belief always.

hi all, does anyone experience slight pain in the abdomen? it feels like something is pulling from inside... my frd said this is because our hips is expanding... just wondering if u ladies feel this too...

Hi Kelly,

I picked John Tee cos he is one of the more experience gynae in KKH , my first gynae was Dr Adrian Lim from TMC, he is good too. I changed to KK cos I my co allows 90% co-payment for delivery in re-structured hospital.
Overall quite ok with him but find him on the quiet side though.

jam75, I really gotta shop for maternity clothes or maybe some bigger size clothing, now almost all can't weaar, even my friends noticed that I've been recyling the same sets of clothing every 10 days
so embarrassing

neeciel, that's great, share with us once you know the result ah.. I keep askin bb to cooperate tomorrow so mummy can start shopping liao

toffeecat, ur blood pressure a bit low.. did u get those little starry feel when you sit and stand up ? I did have that these few days.. gonna ask my gynae tomorrow if it's okay.. I haven't start on chicken essence, dun really like the taste & smell..

Kelly, I've bigger arms & thighs even b4 preg, so I never wear sleeveless tops or shorts, I mostly stick with babydoll dress (as they're very loose fittings) combined with jackets.. so far don't seem to be able to find maternity clothes that's suit me..

toffeecat, think ur BP is fine cos mine is even lower than yours during one of my visits and most of the time also around ur BP readings. I read somewhere that folic acid tends to lower our BP. Our pre-natal vits still have folic acid, so maybe it's still causing u to have lower BP. As long as u do not have serious giddy spells, it should be fine. Nevertheless, u shd check with ur gynae if u have concerns.

Ling, cannot be helped. I also recycle my clothes by week. I don't really care cos as tummy gets bigger, u will need other clothes. Else we end up buying too many which is wasteful. U can add on different accessories sometimes to make it look abit different lor

ling & bbjun, mi too hv hv recycle my clothes...but lucky things is b4 pregnant i bot quite a few bb top & dress so still can tong f a while...but some bb doll dress bust area oso quite tight liow....i oso start to use bra extension liow cos my brao oso super tight...

doveyc,

yeah i do sometimes, abit like cramp cramp.. or pulling.. dont really know how to describe.. My colleague oso told me we are expanding that's why... so if there's no spotting, i wont worry too much about it

bbjun, think I'll try some accessories.. yeah, I actually try to alternate my jacket between white, grey and black, with the clothings so that it won't be so obvious, but wearing dress is always obvious, esp if wearing them every week..

jam75, whoa.. so envy u.. if only my bust area is the one expanding, it'll be nice
but mine is the hip and buttock area that's expanding wide-wide.. bust area no (not much) diff.. dunno if can produce enuff milk for b/feeding or not..

Dovey, yup, got that stretch/tight feeling too, sometimes can even feel it when sleeping/laying down..

jam75,now hv you start exercise?and go shopping?

Ling,hope you can noe your bb's gender tomorrow :) my detailed scan is on 30-Jan,how abt u?but "shi san tai bao" very heaty right?multi vitamin n calcium also heaty.. u taking all together?

toffeecat,thanks to you and your MIL :) don't be sad ya,first one is a princess then can take care 2nd didi.. and shd be happy for your BB..

ling, haha actuali i tink i everywhere oso start expanding liow...but hb is the 1 who notice my bust bcome bigger...like my fren say when preg xiao long bao can b da bao...hahaha...hb say aft give birth hope won't shringe back! hee

jess, i din do any exercise leh ever sice i pregnant....cos realli so tired...even walking a short distance feel breathless liow...dunno izzit common to feel breathless ma!!

jam75,my bust also expending,my mum said after give birth size will not change so much.. sometimes i felt breathless after walk,bc 1st tri i got bleeding also,so abt 1 mth didn't go out.. i already start go out walk few weeks ago,so later shld be better..

Jess_Ma, thanks..
sure will share if we confirm the gender tomorrow.. I still dunno when is my detailed scan, my gynae haven't say anything yet.. I didn't know shi san tai bao is very heaty, but the soup I drank is quite thick, and very very strong smell too.. but my grandma already warned me, dun vomit it out no matter how horrible it taste.. it's very good for our strength and for the baby.. so gotta endure lor.. I'm taking the Iron & Folic Acid every morning, night time before sleep taking the pre-natal milk, I got some breakouts on the face, but I thot it's due to hormones and no facial, no constipation so far, maybe because I took a lot of fruits..

jam75, sure hope won't shrink, even b4 preg we always hope whenever we gain fat, it's to go to the 'right' place mah..
but think it's genetic too, I'm always the pear body type one.. so always bigger on the hips area.. nvm, still got 5 more mths to go, hope can still 'grow'.. hahaha..

<font color="aa00aa">*disappointed* went to see gynae today and had my regular scan. baby was all huddled up and facing us wif its back. though i've been talking to baby the last few days, obviously it din wrk. notably, baby was very active, stamping its feet throughout the scan. no choice, gotta wait for detailed scan le. neeciel, i wish u all the best for yr scan tmr!

Ling, my detailed scan @ KKH on 13 jan. will be in my 20th week then. 家家有本难念的经。 For me, while my hips and buttocks r still expanding reasonably, the soreness due to the breast engorgement is unbearable.

my gynae prescribed me nature's care natal care plus fish oil capsules. it's abt $30 for 30 tablets. i quite like it cos no fishy smell.

dovey, i share the same crampy experience. the pain started 2 days ago and when it first occurred, i cringed. the pain was not localised and lasted for ard 5 mins. it happened again yday but less severe. i was on the lookout for bleeding and since there weren't any, i din go to doc and waited till my gynae appt today. gynae says its unlikely to be contraction pain and dismissed it since there werent any bleeding. i suspect its cos bb too active le, as observed during my scan today. dun over worry but if there's any bleeding, do consult yr gynae rightaway.

mainemum06, mind if i ask whether u r wrking in healthcare? cos my company oso offers the same maternity package and i wonder if we r in the same organisation. :p</font>

haha i'm so happy today! my good friend has given me 20 over pcs of maternity wear. i guess i just have to buy some tops once a while to satisfy my vanity and spend on bb. Wow so many of you knew the sex of bb already! so envy! wish my next mon scan will tell... toffeecat, i'm glad u decided to be happy for bb's sake
any mummy still vomit at 14th week? i still vomit on &amp; off after meal don't know is it i eat too full.. anyway beside feeling hungry when i wake up i dont really eat as much for my lunch &amp; dinner as before but i also dont really feel hungry. but i crave for nice food...hee chicken chop, mc chk, spagetti, laksa (w/o cockle of cos)...

aiyoh jam75 i share the same sentiments.. i feel panting after a few steps of stairs!! but my sis say she ok during her 3 kids leh... wow lau everytime i sneeze so hard and vomit hard i really worried for bb.. it is alright to vomit right...? sometimes i vomit acid stomach feels very sour and pain for a short while.

why nobody go for glass btl? it's BPA, polycarbonate and PVC free leh. although needs to be more careful and mayb more ex but it's more chemical free. plastic btl get scratches easily then become not so safe and not as good for sterilise... There are silicon protector casing available in market to prevent breakage so it's not that dangerous... see this article http://ezinearticles.com/?Glass-Baby-Bottles&amp;id=839182

For water retention - swollen feet, my prenatal yoga instructor recommended adding sea salt to warm water and then soaking your feet in it. Apparently it worked for the students that tried it.

Hope this helps

hi milky
I'm also like you! I'm currently 14 weeks liao.. wif a 14 mth old toddler boy... hee..I also clueless how to go n intro the younger sibling to him cos I dun think he knows anything yet! Think he's still rather clueless about the things happening... maybe when he's slightly older? Your boy think should be able to comprehen aleast the idea of being a big bro since he's at the playgroup going age... read before must slowly intro him n get him 'involve' in the setting up of the nursery.... =)

createjoy
glass bottles are much more heavier. and it would be quite hot to hold in hands after making the milk. and when baby learns how to hold bottles, the glass ones would be too heavy for them and the temperature as well. and it might break easily too. no doubt it's free of all chemicals.

however there are other alternatives such as BPA free Dr brown, Avent bottles.

jess ma, cos u tink bc we din realli go out so once start to walk will feel breathless so should start to walk a bit then we won't feel breathless huh?? cos now even hb ask mi to go shopping i oso dun wan juz shop a while i feel tired le!

Ling, mi too my family all big size my hip oso v big...so more or less i ren meng le so aft birth sure will bcome auntie figure le! btw dat time when u go nt scan izzit it package wif detailed scan wan?? cos i made pyt for bth NT scan &amp; detailed scan during my NT scan &amp; detailed scan schedule given to mi when i mk pyt le leh!

createjoy, wow so gd got fren pass on so many maternity clothes to u so u can save alot leh...heng i m not the onli 1 feel breathless aft taking stairs....intial i quite worried y i feel breathless leh...my colik say pregnant woman stamina not the same!

createjoy, i'm thinking of getting glass bottles... i remember watching a programme on tv, it's recommended that we use glass bottles... my mum also said glass is better...

ladies, some info to share... i met a confinement nanny over the weekend and she said dun take too much 麦片,it will result in lesser milk produced by the mother... i try to refrain from oats now... even wholemeal bread too...

I will be using Avent (bought over by Philips) bottles cos have a lot of Philips vouchers to use.

Actually, the panting thingy is not related to how fit you are. I am considered quite fit since I exercise regularly even before pregnancy. I also get tired and short of breath these days which I usually don't. Plus, I small frame... I oredi can fill my tummy pushing up to my gastric and all, esply when I m sitting down. Have to eat super slow these days to get food down.

bbjun, agreed wif u...cos i oso exercise regularly b4 pregnant yet mi oso feel breathless even f a short walk....at 1st i din know i am pregnant i still go korea &amp; climb so many moutains oso ok but dunno y once i knew myself pregnant le stamina all gone le!!

Rosel, ur baby is so cute, i believed ur anger all melt seeing ur baby so cute and active throughout the scan even u din manage to know the gender =)

thanks, will update u gals even i din manage to know the gender hee

2moro is x-mas eve u'll working half day or full day?? i nid to work full day...sian most of my fren work half day onli! so shiok!

me also felt quite breathless in the first trimester but now second trimester, got energy.. can go shopping the whole day without feeling tired..

jam75,
me working halfday too.. go home change and heading to suntec for dinner with friends

chidori, i oso feel dat 1st tri more breathless 2nd tri beter but u steady leh got energy to go shopping the whole day without feeling tired...i can shop a while but feel tired quite easily...

so gd hor like most of co work half day niah...onli my co no gd hv to work full day sian!

tomolo half day &amp; have xmas party in office in the morning. Yippee!!!! It's almost a no work day and taking leave on Friday. So looking forward to start lazing around and hanging out with frens.

poor jam75.. hang on lah.. just a few hours plus also no mood to work liao..

anyone got suggestions for last min xmas gift for hubby?

jam75, I am sure not many people will be in working mood that day in office. So just take it easy at work and plan something nice at the end of the day

chidori, I am also cracking my head on that. Not easy to buy something for someone I know for 11 years. Run out of things to buy oredi after all the birthdays, anniversaries, etc!

neeciel, good luck for us both today !
may we find the gender, would be a nice xmas present, yippee..

rosel, I'm also on nature's care natal plus, but I tend to burp afterwards, and feel that fishy2 taste/smell.. but maybe due to gastric and I'm more sensitive to those scents..

jam75, now that I'm bigger, with hairy tummy, I feel like a bear.. I think last time went for NT scan, we paid also for detailed scan one as we paid around $200, but I couldn't confirm, my hubby already submitted the receipt for claim liao.. I'm going to check with TMC abt the detailed scan, so far nobody from there call me for appointment le..

bbjun,
yah lor.. me tog with hubby for 7 years (though not as long as you), also run out of things to buy.. some more I'm a practical person..

ling,
your hubby coy good benefits leh.. can claim scanning charges..
thot its usually your gynae who arrange the detailed scan for you.. its btw week 18 to 22..

bbjun, envy u leh...since got x-mas party in the morning so realli like go there no nid to work juz njoy yrself niah...mi oso will b on leaave on 26....since cny is coming soon hv been cleaning my hse bit by bit...cos now cannot at 1 go finished all cleaning feel v tired!

chidori, u so gd still buy xmas gift f hb...i nv buy anything f him even b'day oso bo...hahha

jam75,
if I good, I wont be doing last min buying liao.. haha.. he also asked me what I want, I told him I dun need anything, ask him to buy for bb instead

chidori, at least last min u still tot of buying f yr hb...even mi last min oso nv come across my mind to get anything f hb...but my hb got ask mi wat i wan but i say i dun wan anything....i tell hb i still hv ck tang voucher so i ask him to use the voucher to get himself a wallet instead...hahha

jam75, me working full day too, but they allow us to leave early (maybe by 1-2 hours) if we've nothing urgent..

chidori, my hubby comp benefits quite ok, can claim for scan as part of the misc claim, but very limited amount, so he only claimed partial I think.. well.. better than nothing.. I also a bit confused, my gynae haven't scheduled me for the detailed scan, think gonna ask him tonite.. my gynae responds to sms/call quite fast too, but I thot better not misuse it, only sms/call when it's quite urgent/important

chidori/bbjun, same here, also dunno what to get for hubby, most things I bought for past xmas, bday &amp; anniversary are still in good conditions.. out of ideas now.. jam75, I can't get him voucher, whenever he got any shopping voucher, ends up he gave them all to me (the shopper)..

ling, dat time my detailed scan was schedule by tmc not dr adrian leh...the scheudle given to mi when i do my nt scan leh!

Hi bbjun,

I think we have alot in common..I've known my hubby for the same no. of yrs and he is working overseas too. heheh.

Do you gals have cravings? i think mine is just simply greedy..whatever i saw..in forum, tv program or anywhere else, i would feel like eating it..saw this currypuff (man-made vs handmade) episode, i crave for it..saw BP selling this fried durian, also want to try..saw you gals craving for what, i also want to eat..at this rate, i think am gng to transform into piggy size..oink oink.