(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

lovelytulips, yes we can eat sardine. And it is very good!!! As it contain alot of calcium. But NOT TUNA!! Pls limit urself for tuna NOT more then 2 times per week. I read it from alot of book. (but forget the reason - sorry)

Ling, Hmm, i think i will try ard week 16 or week 20. Try 1 packet see whether mu body can take it anot.

bbPotato, wow.. so fast know already. so good. anyway u in how many week and gynae found that it is a prince?

capriho88, your SIL refering to those cook ourself type or bottle type of all type of bird nest? Actually i 1 week took 1 bottle those 6 packed type bird nest, is it ok?

Can check with u, usually what type of fruit u normally take?

Hi Shelisa,

She didnt say which type, but I guess both are same ba. My cousin's wife took quite a lot of birdnest when she was preggie, true enough her son always cough.

I took red apple and guava everyday, also drink fresh fruit juice whenever I go out lunch with colleague (orange juice). Sometimes I also add one more papaya (because company canteen, not much choice.. hee)

capriho88, can we eat guava?? is it heaty? Hmm for bird nest i will control abit. thanks I thought this thread alot of mommies say it is not good to take orange as it will cause bb alot of phelgm??

Hi Shelisa,

Read from internet guava is not cold and not heaty, that's why I eat lor. As for orange, I think need to control, last time I didn't know

Thanks, Bluedream for updating the table. My edd date is 2nd June 2009. Expecting child #1. Seeing doc john tee at KKH.

My mum told me to eat lots of fruits daily so that bb will have beautiful skin. she usually cuts guava, apples, apples and strawberries for me. i am so lucky as i am still staying at my mum's plc. =)

my fren told me to take more red meat, esp beef to help brain dev for bb. But i don't take beef since young. so, u gals can eat more beef.
Hey, i didn't know cannot eat tuna. =(

my hb is driving me nuts with his cannot eat this, cannot eat that nonsense. he even said cannot eat too much fruits. i think he's mad.
whatever we eat, i guess we just eat in moderation lah. i also try to switch to brown rice and wholemeal bread nowadays. Healthier.

may i ask if anyone is experiencing any swollen feet now? am i too early to have swollen feet? i am ard 16 weeks only and am already walking like a penguin. swollen feet - is it caused by water retention or walking too much? :S

<font color="aa00aa">my cousin told me to take more beef if i wan my baby to have thick black hair, like her baby. i've been having well done steak and honestly, my jaws r aching.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">i noe tat we r supposed to stay off raw food but i simply cant resist the craving for salmon sashimi. before i gt pregnant, i wld regularly eat sashimi and oysters sometimes. its so hard to kick the habit right after i got pregnant. i have pinched salmon sashimi 4 times oredi. i feel so guilty after eating each time. sigh..

kelly, from wat i noe, swollen feet varies fr person to person. i'm in my 16th week and so far so gd. my fren din get it at all during her pregnancy. excessive walking could be a probable cause but i've oso read somewhere tat insufficient fluid intake may cause swelling as well.

i juz learnt fr a pregnant fren wat is reflux and i tink im sufferin fr it. it seems tat its my reflux which is inducing nausea so i guess i can say i'm off MS oredi, which to me is gd news.

am looking fwd to my gynae visit on mon. been tellin bb to cooperate. hope he/she listens. yday i placed my hand on my tummy and i tot i felt movements within. hubby felt it too. i wonder if tats foetal movements?</font>

bbPotato,
congrats on your little prince.
thanks for sharing the carter's sale info. Did you go for it? am very tempted but quite far from the west, lazy to roll over..heh.

kelly,
i've expereinced swollen feet/legs during my last trimester previously. Perhaps you can try elevating your legs?

fwah..you gals are making me really hungry..heh..last time some1 mentioned about mashed potatoes..after reading, i was craving for a long time b4 satisfying it. now comes the beef n guava.. <drooling>

it seems so long till my next gynae visit..my neck has grown inches longer..

had a scary and bizzare experience last night! bought some new antenatal milk powder to drink, ended up with some allergic reactions, runny nose and puffy eyes! i look like a raccoon last night!

was quite worried this morning so went to kk women's clinic at amk to check and make sure baby's not affected. the doc scanned to check and assure us so no issues la... and doc says we are most likely having a boy!!

growth is quite good too. 80mm at 13weeks 6 days.

i think i'll give the antenatal milk a miss.. though doc says can challenge it again and see if i get the allergy again. but no thanks man.. dun wanna look like raccoon again!

Jess ma, i already signed kkh antenatal class 22nd jan thur. wow ur boss mk use till every single sec... ya lor few more days then u can say sorry no more new task for me haha. neecial aiyah too bad u shifted... i just saw article at the clinic TMC when i do NT scan, stingray &amp; sharkfin high mercury lor i guess eat abit ok lah but dont eat often.

nozomi ya i live near bt batok swimming complex haha qt near imm too oh! wow bb potato the sales u mention so attractive!! sob.. not going..one end to another end i think will faint on train haha...

kelly so fast swollen? if blood pressure ok then it's normal. i read from Dr Gordon Lim's book- ankle swollen due to water being pushed out of the blood vessels, the result of increase oestrogens in preg.more common in 3rd trim wn the increase size of uterus causes mechanical obstruction of blood rtn to heart aggravating any oedema or swwelling present.as long as blood pressure normal then no need to worry.

amk_gal i also v careful leh last time i drk dont know which brand think lactose high i keep going to toilet after drinking. now drink annmum and dont drink on empty stomach i'm ok with the milk.wow 13 wk can tell sex liao ur bb so cooperative!

anyone can tell me "zhu char" the slice "sheng yu" they use for fish slice beehoon soup is what fish in english? can eat alot?

tulips, did u managed to know ur baby's gender during ur scan ytd?

i didnt have steak on fri, instead i had soeul garden hee...

createjoy, i am working in jurong east tho i have shifted =)

Ling, no wonder. i guess having a ang mo father does make a difference. and i think Aust has better beef and milk.

Shelissa, yea... i know about tuna. no more than 2 tuna steaks a week. cos of the high mercury level, if i'm not wrong...

Kelly, i have friends who start having water retenetion when they are 5 mths.... scary but true.... but i guess it depends on individual. does cutting down food high in sodium helps??? i though so....

amk_gal, 80mm at 13 weeks is wow.... quite big i think.... good for u.

createjoy, i think some of them uses "batang" in the fish slice. dont know if that's the english name though.

neecial, Dr Chan is pretty confident bb's a boy. but she says probably we wont be 100% convinced cos the position of baby was not gd. but she seems pretty confident so i will take it as a boy. she is gd. she's not those who says, "cannot see, next mth then see" type of gynae. in fact, she "talks" to the baby, made me turn here and there, hoping to change the bb's position, but well..... hahaha

my sis they all used some old wife's method, like see wrong or pointed etc and also told me should be boy. haha

hope u see urs on tues. was given the antenatel package slip to read cos next appt at 20weeks can sign package already. still got the detail scan.

seoul gdn? oh my, i cant rem how long i haven had it. got the beef bulgogi, abit equivalent to beef steak la. hahaha.....

i'm looking at clothes now...... :p

tulips, congrats...i think so far no gynae will tell us is 100% when it comes to scanning baby's gender =) but if is a boy then most likely wont be wrong lah haha

detail scan is done by Dr Chan?

ya they hv bulgogi but i din eat, i love their garlic chicken haha...

maternity clothes, which webiste u looking at?

ya, detail scan is done by Dr Chan. will have an mc. i was surprised cos i tot it'll be done at the level 4 area. the detail scan is 110 (before gst), and is not included in the pkg.

looking at baby clothes. wahhaha... abit of maternity also. looking at old navy.

local maternity clothes are so ex..... very reluctant to buy.

oh ya, i'm also looking at baby stuff like steriliser, milk bottles, pump etc. am i too ks?? hiak hiak....

wana get ready for all the sale coming soon then can chiong to buy....... pay abit here and there wont feel so heart pain.

bought some clothes thru tw auction sometimes back with hatemenot... but the tops are not realli for maternity, just that is more of a loose cut but the price realli affordable, a pair of jeans cost me over $20.

i oso headache on elec pump, dunno which brand and model to go for and is pretty costly oso...

i oso started looking at baby clothes cos they are so cute but i din buy any cos i dunno gender yet hee

i forgot to book the parentcraft lessons when i was there yest, haiz....

i think tw maternity tops more of like tunics and baggy tops....

i'm kinda lost like how many milk bottles to buy, which brand of this and that to get.... so many different opinions i have.

hehe... yes, i've been looking at the clothes since dont know when. u will know on tue la.... tell ur bb to cooperate....

good morning ladies,

cheery,
my gynae gave me neurogain.. i guess if its one of the brands that gynae give, then should be good enough

<font color="119911">Re : Bird's nest
Yup, i think so.. some take it but no problem lah, but i think, if wanna take, also not take now, not so early in the pregnancy cos everything still developing.. if wanna take, best wait till last trimester lor..

Re : Gender
Went for scan on friday, bb just face my behind so all we got was a picture of the backside and spine.. haa so... dunno yet..

going for detail scan on 30 Jan, quite late i think.. haa but me going overseas 2 weeks.. so just have to wait liao..</font>

Hi cheery,

My gynae also recommend Neurogain... but i chose to buy from Guardian as its more cheaper compared to if i buy from clinic.

Hi anxious,
u mean u bought neurogain from Guardian n it's cheaper?
I m oso on neurogain. Also thinking of buying nature's farm prenatal vitamins cos it's also cheaper than gynae's one.

bbPotato,
Congrats to you!

Ling,you already start taking "shi san tai bao"?how is it?

Shelisa,i will let them know that after christmas i want to take a break liao,no more new project.

Createjoy,i wait for Antenatal Feb class,because HB prefer weekend one and he said class end in May will be just nice.. so let see how.. if not i sign Jan class and go with my Mum then.Tomorrow need go office,don't know what's time will let me go back home.

createjoy, when i am 1st tri due to having bleeding...gynae oso advise mi NO SHOPPING f mi....but even if i realli wan to shop oso no strength at all...cos like i said walk a while feel breathless....but b4 pregnant i go jogging 1/wk and aqua aerobics 1/wk...onli when i knew i pregnant i stop all exercise leh...so doesn't mean dat u do exercise b4 will b beter leh...

Shelisa,

me @ 13w4d when gynae determined e gender, can c e didi quite prominent.

Nozomi,

did not go down cos since it's a boy, I still hv alot of new 1s which I bot last time fr my boy.

ling, i hv yet to start any maternity clothing yet...but onli last fri went beauty world to buy 11pcs of maternity clothes leh(4 top &amp; bottom and 3 dress) ttl ard $280+ realli worth buying...so no nid to shop f any cny clothes leh...cos really tired to go shopping now...the bottom which i bot is oso those adjustable wan i tried le tink is ok leh!

hi jam75,
how much does ur top &amp; bottom each cost huh ? I'm also looking ard for cheap maternity ...
.. oh ya .. i m gg for my detailed scan on 30jan 3.30pm.. urs is early in e morning .. u gg 4 e prenatal class ?

hatemenot, the scan u gg on 7 Jan is not the detailed scan right? My next appt with Dr chan is 10 Jan, a few days after yours.

I went to the shop recommended by someone earlier in Toa Payoh to look for some maternity wear. Almost everything is at the $19-30 range. I bought 6 pcs at less than $140. Wearing most of my usual dresses at the moment and also those I borrowed from frens.

11 beans mi oso go f detailed scan at thomson medical on 30/jan tink appt ard 11:30am...sekali we can mit there..hee

bbjun,

the scan i'm going is normal scan for gender i think. Since I will only be at 18 weeks.

Is the maternity wear at toa payoh flowery flowery kind or plain plain kind ar? just curious hee

cheery, yrs in afternoon so we might not mit then....ave the top and bottom for 3/4 pants ard 20+ i bot 3 dress(2 dress ard 30 and 1 dress 20+) my fren bot at amara there 5 bottoms cost her $300+ le....so i tell her i bot 11pcs costs $280+ she say v v cheap &amp; she oso wanna to go down hv a look!

bbjun, tink we went to the same shop leh...wanna to go tpy on sat but my sis recommend mi to go beauty world since near my plc when i reach there find dat is the same branch at tpy...is realli worth buying there hor!!

cheery, beauty world located at bt timah there...thre is branch at tpy, amk &amp; a few plc which i dun remember le...the quality consider not bad leh! some design oso quite nice wan leh!

hatemenot,
the clothes are mainly solid colours, minimal patterns. They do have some flowery ones.. but not many.

jam75, oh! they have a branch in Beauty World? keke... ya.. they are really cheap compared to the many others I have shop around. I may have to shop again later for some more formal worktops if those that my other fren is intending to lend me is not suitable in jan. My work plc tends to be more formal.. cannot even wear 3/4. Super troublesome.

bbjun, i tink i saw some1 mentioned there is branch at beauty world &amp; so happen dat my sis wanna to bring mi to go shop f maternity clohtes at there when reach there is the same shop...i din shop f the long pants i bot 3/4 pants and dress...yr work plc hv to wear formal huh...tink u can try buying the dress cos i find some quite formal leh...some even can go f dinner....

so did u get cny clothing already?? i now lazy to shop so i bot working clothes &amp; cny on last fri leh...my hb got a shock say tot u wanna to shop a few pc end up 11pc...the sales girl there v gd &amp; friendly kip on giving mi to try...so end up din know i try on so many &amp; buy so many...but the prc realli cheap so quite worth buying!

chidori, is at level 3 tink the shop name is carrano (if i remember correctly) there got sell children wear, nursing bra, adult clothing and maternity wear, u can ask the sales where is maternity clothing section if u can't find

I have a few dresses borrowed from a fren and have enuf formal dresses to last me till thru 2nd trimester. Relying on my other fren for formal maternity wear in 3rd trimester.

CNY clothes.. have one doll dress (normal one bought at a sale at Joop in nov) n one red tube top I bought at Perfect Mum. Only haven't bought shoes... which I think later la. I stay Toa Payoh area, can easily find cheap flats to go with.

bbjun, u so gd at least still hv fren to pass on maternity clothes....i dun hv so hv to buy myself....i oso left shoes to get for cny....actuali i hv new shoes but all high heels so tot of getting alittle heel or flat shoes will b more comfortable...

bbPotato, congrats on ur bb boy
hope I can find out the gender too tomorrow..

amk_gal, did u try other brand of milk powder before, if yes, better try to stick with the safe one.. wow, the doc can guess the bb gender at 13 wk plus..? that's great news
80mm is very good size for 13 wk..

tulips, thanks to the advises of the experienced mummies in this thread, I'm waiting for the taka baby fair (hopefully in Feb/March), to buy the sterilizer, stroller and mattress.. I'll most likely get the Avent sterilizer, comes with free bottles (as I wanted to use Avent bottles)

cheery, I'm using Natal Care, aust brand, after taking got burp fishy taste

ladies, may I know when are you scheduled for the detailed scan ?

Jess_Ma, it's okay.. if you're used to tcm, then it should be alright, not as bitter as I thot it would be, but the taste and smell still quite strong tho..

jam75, omg.. 11 pcs.. why is it so diff for me to find maternity clothes ah.. none seems to suit me.. now, tha maternity pants I bought, still quite loose at the tummy side, quite uncomfy to wear, while my normal clothes, almost all can't be worn anymore..

Hi Kelly,

just realised we are seeing the same gynae and our EDD is quite near (was initially 1th June).

On swollen feet - in my first pregnancy, I was very swollen from the 5 month onwards. I can't wear my ring, watch and my shoe size also increase. It was very bad, I tried all ways from increasing my intake of water to elevating my feet, it doesn't help, I guess is the pregnancy hormones ar work. I remembered someone told me that she thought that I was given birth the next month when I am only in my fifth month. Luckily managed to lose all the water after birth.

Ling, quite surprised i can get so many pcs at 1 go...u can try to shop there u might find something u like...as f maternity pants i bot 2 diff size 1 is now wear ok not so big as there is adjustable wif button so u can adust to yr comfortable size but sales girl say in later stage our bottom will again expand wan so beter buy bigger size so can wear till 3rd tri...so those now i wear liow ok muz kip on wear in case later bottom expand again can't wear le!