(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Dear Ladies, Good morning. Yeterday on urgent leave due to dizzy. so so dizzy until i lie flat flat also dizzy but side way makw me feel better. so ytd whole day bed rest.

on week 12 my bb length 6cm. then the neck thickness gynae say very normal, so the risk very low but she tell me on week 16, i need to do blood test for DS & 'di zhong hai' But actually on week 7, i already done blood test for blood cell count, kidney, liver, HIV & AIDS.

My gynae said base on her exp, bb legs is like hanging up or lifting up high is a little princess but she said week 16 can see again.

here is my package is $856 (include GST, b4 GST is $800) starting on week 12 (consists urines test, scan at every visit, consultantion, one postnatal visit - general schedule of visit on 12 weeks, 16 weeks, 20 weeks, 24 weeks, 28 weeks, 31 weeks, 34 weeks, 36 weeks, 38 weeks, 39 weeks, 40 weeks and postnatal visit 1 week after delivery)
but excludes, NT scan, screening scan at 20 weeks ($100), growth scan ($80), blood tests, vitamins supplements, medication, CTG ($30) unscheduled consultation ($60), Photoprint 2D BW ($5), Photoprint 3D Colour ($20).

Then Iron supplement mthly is $10, multi vitamin 3 mth for $28 then calcium 3 mth for $18 all before GST.

So i hope other mommies can share their package pricing with me. thanks.

stickymouse, haha... will try to load on more beef and milk....

i totally agree with u on the myths and etc. but again, like u say, when something happens, pple just start pointing fingers and that's when the parents esp the mother goes into depression. it's just like some old generation elders think the sex of the bb is determined by the mother just so the mother is the one carrying the bb. but this is all so wrong.... but well.....

Shelisa, ur package looks ok leh... somemore urs start at week 12. think most of us will only start package ard wk 16. for mine, it will start around week 18. actually, another thing to look at apart from the package is the delivery fees. some say, package cheap but delievery fee ex but i also dont know....

lovelytulips, i rem Ling package even cheaper start from any time of the pregnancy all at $500 with supplements and with no limit of visit.

Mine Delivery Fee (including inpatient consultation fee)
- Normal vaginal delivery (2 day stay) $1200 + (GST)
- Assisted/forceps delivery(2 day stay)$1500 + (GST)
- Caesarean Section (3 day stay) $2200 + (GST)
- Inpatient consultation fee for extra stay $100 per day.

Haven include hospital bill for Mount A
- Normal Delivery with Epidural single room $2213
- Normal Delivery with 1908

All $$$$$$$.. Bones still no news.. Depress. . .

shelisa
my package is $1200 including delivery charges. but if c-sect or assisted delivery then have to add on. all consultations (scans, urine tests) scheduled or unscheduled (fever,cold,cough etc) waived. also unlimited visits like that. all supplements waived as well but only have to pay for the fish oil. but have to pay for blood tests if taken any ie the one that we are going to take at 16wks to check for DS. that test would costs $180 if i din remember wrongly. my package starts from 14wks.

this would not include hosp bills.

for my #1 pregnancy, my hosp bill at Mt A is only $3k +/-. after deducting cpf, we only fork out cash of $200 plus. i delivered naturally without epi but assisted vacuum extraction.

Shelisa, i think ur package is very reasonable and standard, i guess we cant realli compare packages cos we are all seeing different gynae, dun be bothered about wat ur colleagues or frens said about your package, my frens oso telling me how cheap their packages are but they have to wait for 1-2 hours just to get a 10 mins consultation. I alw believe good things comes with a higher price tag tho not all... so my expensive packge is paid to an experienced and good gynae =)

Your gynae very cute leh, telling you this, accurate meh??

neeciel
actually it's more of 'very stuck' in the hips and pelvic area feeling however comes with some pain too. i wanted epi when the contractions started but my dilation was too fast to administer epi so no choice. delivered without epi. so survived on the laughing gas to pull through.

crystal, maybe i know ur gynae is female or male? clinic at?

neeciel, as i caculated after dedcuted cpf i still have to fork out 2k for my hospital stay and delivery fees excluding those check up that y i worry. plus now market not good. can save better save abit.

agree with neeciel. at the end of the day, bulk of the cost is going to be deducted from our medisave, in reality our cashflow is not materially affected. i just randomly picked a gynae, found myself comfortable with her (did i mention she has extremely sleek hand movements??? so impressed, i assume that means she stitches well) and decided to stick with her.

all without even obtaining further feedback or asking if anyone has heard of her.

at the end i don't find her prices very high (ok, it's at Mount E so I'm not sure how much misc delivery charges ultimately add up to be). my husband and myself just don't think too much about it, if a hospital can charge higher than market rate, then it likely has more to offer. it all works out pretty much the same...

my sis' delivery charges in the US came up to $42k!!! thankfully they all have compulsory insurance!

crystal, u r so brave hee... i thinking of opting for C now...

Shelisa, i am preparing this figure too or slightly higher cos i most likely gg for 1 bedded and now thinking if i shld opt for C, so fee should be higher then.

shelisa
my gyane is a male. clinic at amk central. would do delivery only at the various hosp, Mt A, Mt E, TMC, Raffles and Gleneagles.

by the way, i opted for 2bedded in mt A. however, no one was there during my 2 days stay so considered 1bedded too. heehee.

neeciel
at first after i attended the antenatal classes, i saw the video on natural delivery, i freaked out and wants to opt for c-sect! then my hb told me not so scary one la plus he wants to participate in the delivery process so he encourage me and assure me that everything would be fine. and the thought of recovering after c-sect is quite scary too and i worry abt the bill size as well. but after awhile that i gotten the video images out of my head, i decided to deliver naturally, cheaper and faster recovery. sorry to say that the video at the antenatal class was really disturbing.

crystal, i hope no offend. i feel all male gynae are more cheaper and package are more attractive. female gynae will be more ex. maybe it is my prob, i feel weird letting other man to touch me even it is only tummy. or weird to see a male gynae or doc. maybe from young i use to see female doc. i also hope i will deliver natural w/o epdi, i hope i can bear the pain.
Anyway u are brave man!!

shelisa
my gynae was the one who delivered me as well. LOL. so i am quite okay la. but some also says male gynaes better. anyway everyone has their own opinions. no worries

Shelisa, i oso feel that female gynae's charges are more ex, dunno it is b cos there are much lesser female gynae compared to male ones, so male gynae are more price competitive haha....

stickymouse, same here, is just a instinct i went to my gynae, i din ask around as well and didnt have frens or colleagues seeing the same gynae... so i just tried out and hooked with her =)

crystal, i tot of gg for natural initially cos my good fren did not have a very smooth delivery in Glen E yrs back, the nurses are very inexperienced and 1 hour after she had her 1st epi, she can stil feel her right leg and she got to jab again, so twice the charges for epi. Her baby's face was black oso when he came out maybe due to lack of oxygen, so she advised me to go for C.

neeciel, why u wana do c-sect??

someone once told me that have about 4k shld be enough. seriously, dont know how much is then enough.

for those who already engaged CL, can ask what are the questiones u ask the CL before deciding to engage her???

Sorry to intride and disturb. I am an Oct 08 mummy and I have a Medela PIS to sell.

My Medela PIS is the Medela PIS Metro Bag 2008. Its sold at $799 in Spore. Its inclusive of the following :-
- Messanger Bag with adjustable strap
- Removable motor unit in its own case
- Battery Pack (Batteries not included)
- Removable cooler bag
- 4 collection containers and lids
- 2 SoftFit Breastshields
- 2 valves
- 4 membranes
- Removable work surface
- Mesh storage bags

As the PIS was bought from US, the adapter is not compatible for use in Spore. I had to purchase the adapter in Spore at $75. Willing to sell them at $575. Used it only once. In brand new condition.

The price is really the best I can quote. If not, please suggest a price and we can discuss further.

crystal, yup yup. that y i would like to ask ard just to see other mommies package like what. just to know more. and can let my frenz next time pregnant to learn more.

neeciel, i think female gynae are extremly ex. crystal package include delivery @ $1200, mine itself only delivery charge already $1200. that y just 1 2 find more the market rate.

stickymouse, can check with u. ur package is like how much?

neeciel,
Same as u. I just decided on Dr Y Chan after just reading a few reviews abt her. In fact, she was the only one I read and I decided on her right after my first visit. It's just a comfortable feeling and assurance that you are in good hands.

lovelytulips, I checked with the CL's on her previous assignment date. I want to be very sure that it is not gg to be clashing with mine if the person delays delivery or me delivering early. I also chat with her on her knowledge like asking her what I shd do, buy etc. If possible, u can talk to her current/previous clients which I did. Check out on what she can help u cos some really don't want to do hsework n it's best u are aware of that first.
Some CL wants deposit, so must check if she wants it as well. BTW, it's a market practice to give a small sum ($28 or so) on the first day when CL comes to ur hse and another one at the end as appreciation (if u found her good) on top of the agreed fees.

neeciel,i think it's bc some of MTB prefer female gynae,that's why they charges more expensive bah..

Shelisa,thanks for sharing those info to us.raffles hospital's package almost the same as yours but i don't know whether any other hidden cost.

Ling,thank you,my gynae ask me do DS test first,she haven't mention NT test to me yet.how much is your package start from 6 weeks?

shelisa,
my gynae package is $2675 including delivery. mine started from wk 8, and includes all tummy scans, consultations and urine tests. additional charges wld be vits, medications, unscheduled appts, OSCAR and blood tests. epidural and ward charges are charged separately.

my 1st pregnancy with the same gynae costs slightly less than $6k wiv epi/ single bedder. aft all the medisave deductions, think we paid abt $3k.

bbjun/neeciel, can check with u, ur gynae package is like?? pls share with me. thanks

Jess, err for that im really not too sure. what i noe is when admitted to hospital try not to use their thing as they wont state their price there. I didnt see doc, as i thought slp awhile can cure but 12 pm wake up still the same then nap again then 7 pm+ then see better. so start work today. Jess, how ur package like?

crystal/ neeciel,
agree that the delivery video at atenatal class was disturbing.

but the real experience wasnt so bad la (with epi). it was actually quite painless for me. and my wound didnt hurt after that.

i tink most gynaes are pro-natural? downtime is also much lesser. unless for certain reasons have to opt for c-section.

shelisa,
shes at TMC. one of the more expensive ones around. gynae visits will be accorded based on how often gynae tinks i need to c her, so it shd be considered unlimited?

Shelisa,
think neeciel can share better than me. I will be checking with the nurses this sat when I am down for my regular check up. Will share the details when I have them.

haha bbjun my hse here sell very weird hokkien mee only 2 prawn not sotong. ling can eat rojak meh thought we cannt eat peanut bb will allergy?? wow u all know package price already, my gynae haven got his nurse to brief me. think my side start from wk 20. anyway i dont get to see my gynae till 29 dec by then already 15 or 16wk liao.
does all of us get to see the scary video? is it a common practise? i doubt hb will join me in antenatal class cos he work 5pm to 3am. come back 5+ sleep till 2+ wk up prep go work.mon-sat... i so envy u all...

createjoy,
haha, I m actually planning for one hokkien mee meal this weekend. Already didn't eat for 2mths so I can't wait to eat at my fave stall.

I dunno what's wrong with eating peanut actually. My mother didn't mention anything n even made peanut soup once. I just drink but didn't eat the peanuts. But I know black beans soup is good for us cos pu xue. She made twice for me since week 6. peanut can cause what kind of allergy?

me too. I think my hb won't be able to join in most of the classes as he is away in Thailand almost all the time. To make sure he comes back to go check up with me is already quite trying for us when his project deadline clashes with the plan dates. But I am sure it will be fine as other preggies will be ard. Actually I hear from frens oredi scared till no end. So mentally prepared for the images liao.

Right now I am praying so hard for the Bangkok airport to resume ops asap so that he can be back to go check up with me on Sat.

bbjun, i'm sure ur hb will be back by sat cos i read they are re-opening the airport tonight???

i think peanuts is scare bb will allergy but one needs to be very worried only if it runs in the family??? i guess, moderate amount is ok. i just had satay beehoon, without "hum".

Shelissa, i'm not neeciel nor bbjun but i am with the same gynae. package cost 800 from week 18 i think. doesnt include vitamins etc, just the consultation and scans. the rest, i not too sure...

peanut itself does not cause allergy.

it's only if you're allergic to peanuts, then you don't take peanuts and chances are allergic mothers can pass on the same allergy to their babies.

it's exactly like how diabetics should not take sugar, but doesn't mean consuming a lot of sugar will result in diabetes.

Shelisa,becareful when you feel dizzy,try to hold something and rest for a while first.i haven't sign any package yet,this friday going to ask my gynae,will share with you.also female gynae,think price will be no much diff from yours.

bbjun,hope your husband will be back by sat.

Shelisa,i know Sengkang got 1 female gynae under raffles medical group,package is $2000 including delivery,start from 12weeks.

bbjun & Shelisa, i only know my gynae charge $800 from week 20 onwards, not sure about the delivery charges, think my next visit the nurse will share with me =)

bbjun, if you have info, pls share with me earlier, i oso concern abt her charges hee...

First Mum, i am curious to know ur gynae leh... quite ex her charges.

Video disturbing, then i better bring some plastic bags during the lesson in case i puke haha

Thanks, ladies.

neeciel, Sure. Actually, the last time one of the nurses said a figure of about $1600 inclusive of delivery but I was in a hurry for another appt so I didn't check details. I will check and confirm this sat and let you know.

Actually my frenx suspect that i have rashes for the whole body is due to i ate too much of prawn or sotong. Fri noon i had big prawd noodle soup up size, night had whole packet of hokkien mee with up size and hubby also give me his prawn n sotong. thus the rashes increase 300%. Actually fri morning i have rashes but i thought i normal mosquito bite as i dun have rashes before. Thus i believe food must be eat by moderate.

bbjun, do share with us abt the package. no worries. ur hubby will be in time to acc the checkup with u.

createjoy, if u feel lonely, u can ask ur mommies, ur sister or ur close frenz to acc u to the checkup. at least there is someone there for u, u will feel safer.

lovelytulips, i think female gynae more or less abt the same. but do check it up and share with us. Actually that time i have rashes any my family doc ask me to avoid peanut at the moment. i rem when i have rashes, my MIL cook me lotus soup with peanut, she serve me the soup only, when im gg to have another bowl i then notice there is peanut in it, in the end that night my rashes even more leh..

Jess, ya that y i rest in bed for the whole night. i wanna go see doc but i scare i fall that y i keep resting at hm. do share with us abt the package. mine is abt the same ard 2k too if package + normal delivery.

neeciel, you may check it out so that we can get ourself prepare of the amount that we are paying for.

bbjun, i believe is $800 for package and $800 for natural delivery.

Shelisa, ya i will do so during my next visit, super broke after so many test and visits =(

Hi June MTBs,
I am new here. Having first baby and edd is June 7 2009. With doc Lee Keen Whye at Gleneagles.
Good to know that we are sharing very smiliar experiences. Good support network.

My edd keeps changing. Initially when I saw the gynae at 5 weeks, it was supposed to be June 13, then changed to June 8 then now June 7 based on Monday's visit to the gynae. Am now in my 14th week.

neeciel / bbjun, let me know also... cos i only know it's 1600 inclusive of delivery.... very worried about the delivery charges.... super broke also.

welcome Kate.... i think EDD will move about abit based on the size of the bb, but will still be around that few days.....

kate i'm the opposite... my EDD was around 9 June, but changed to June 12 subsequently. I'm now in 13th week.

bbjun, given that eczema tends to be hereditary, your baby might develop peanut allergy later in life if he/she also inherit eczema from you. but this is talking about feeding the baby peanuts when he/she's born, not sure about you eating now as pregnant woman.

Welcome Kate.

My EDD also change a bit cos bb was growing faster the last time when I went for check up. But Dr still based on the original calculated one.

Violac, the thing is that neither of my parents has eczema and I m the only one in the family having this. Coincidentally, my hb has a mild case of eczema as well. I do hope BB is lucky not to get this from us even though we have very mild rashes once in a while. The more worrying one is the nose allergy that my hb has cos his nose allergy is super serious and we are not sure if it is inheridetery cos no one in his immediate family has this prob.

Kate/stickymouse, our EDD will change due to the size of the baby during each scan but we still stick to the initially one normally, i am into my 13th week now.

lovelytulips, do we have to place deposit for the delivery fee when we sign up for the package or we can do it separately?

bbjun, eczema is usually triggered by food intake and peanut is only one of the many many possible triggers. so it's not just peanuts you have to think about. i think it's common for babies to be born with eczema?? just have to take really good care of your baby's skin and the food you eat while breastfeeding i guess. it's possible for children to outgrow eczema, but that's really long way to think. for now i don't think there's much you can do while you're pregnant, it really depends on genes.

neeciel, yup, when the pregnancy is too early, it's hard to estimate the EDD. my last 3 scans since have hovered around 12-13 June as EDD so it should pretty much stabilise (but it's not my initial date)