(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

chidori,
yup 1st bb too ... scare of labor pain ...

if wan to keep the blood cord need $$$, how much huh? but is it necessary ?

it's up to you how you want to distinguish the differences between "facial salon" massages or "spa botanica massages" or "malay lady massages".... i just thought it's not true to say massages are No-No. personally to me... there are no differences. even if my husband offers me a back/neck rub i'd gladly accept and he is so totally not trained hahaha

i recommend fancl too cos my pregnant colleague uses fancl and she recommended me. They are preservative free =)

hi stickymouse, me interested in the book you mentioned too. Please share with us the title.

cheery,
labour pain I worry when the time comes.. haha..
think the startup cost can be deducted from baby bonus.. the subsequent is $200 per year I think..

stickymouse,
I think its is up to our own discretion.. if you are comfortable with it, why not? some resources also say prenatal massages are no no in the first trimester

morning ladies, im finally back.. on mc on mon & tues. last fri i wake up found out my body have some red itchy spot. left hand a fews then right leg a fews. then i tok was mosquito bite of dirty. but sat morning the red itchy spot seem to be X 10 times. just nice i have appt with gynae, she told me some women pregnant will like this. she said due to hormones changes, some women body will start to have rashes. cannot eat medicine as will affect bb. some only have some cream to apply. sun wake up another 10 Times. now my whole body with rashes except for my face. i count i think my rashes ard 600-700 spots. it is so so itchy. any ppl have the same thing with me??

Ethan_mum/neeciel/mika,lovelytulips, yup yup i saw my bb head, body and the legs. and also can hear the heartbeat. so happy

Morning ladies, sorry just login again, got lots of meetings since yesterday, always sit near the door, convenient to go toilet

Ethan_mum, I used to work in Concourse, quite long time ago though, now at Suntec, really miss all those good food near beach rd.. sudenly craving for the mee goreng from the stall behind the mosque there.. haiz.. btw, how are you today, no more bleeding I hope, better be on bed rest still until it's really stable..

Chidori, pimple cream, my gynae said some of them can't use leh.. and those skin doctor medication, like Accutane, a big No No.. hmm.. I used to have breakout once in a while, but since pregnant, my skin got really dry.. moisture your skin regularly, if skin too dry, also can have breakout.. I haven't go for facial for a while, coz mine using machine for dermabrasion, no machine facial..

Celia, can check the contents of the cream, anything with steroids is not safe, as skin has pores which might absorb.. I went for leg waxing 2 wks ago @Strip, gotta sign some paper sayin I'm pregnant etc.. but they said it should be safe..

Cheery, dunno leh.. tat's wat my gynae said one time I went there, din drink much as long journey in train, so when he scanned, cannot c anything.. then he asked me if I wan to drink half a litre of water, walk ard for 30mins, then come back for the scan..

Anxious, honestly very hard to eliminate all these skin care from daily use.. I'm still using Crabtree as well, but for shower I changed to baby soap and clarins body scrub.. moisturizer, still using Helena Rubinstein, tried Fancl, but didn't work well on the skin..

neeciel, thanks for the link info.. omg, I just had pedicure yesterday.. I've started wearing flat sandals, no pedicure, feet look very ugly

So angry this morning, got one uncle pushed me as entering the train, he couldn't find a seat at his side of the train, then he dashed quickly to my side and pushed, bah.. so rude

hello! i am new here....and just discovered my pregnancy....wanna say hi...and what should i do to start sourcing for a suitable gynae? thanks everyone!

cfm i've miscarrige, pls remove me from your list. i beg all bad news stop upon my case, every mommies will continue a smooth journey till the arrival of healthies baby.

all the best gals...

shelisa,
ya... everything happen just too fast, i've bleeding on monday, got jab on monday night, then last night whole night bleeding, before doc attend to me this morning, i found something discharge fm vagina, i hold it on my palm, then i know my bb is gone...

chidori, anxious and Ling, all my pdts have the parabens in them but i continue to use them.

I think the content probaby need to be very high or concentrated to affect our babies, apply on skin i tot still ok so i continue, but i will not put a pc of liver into my mouth when i know i cant eat.

Ling, i oso saw a post saying is ok to do pedicure as nails are dead cells.

Ethan_mum, how come so sudden, wat happened to you??? Must rest well.

Ethanmum, jia1 you2 and take care. HUGSSs

Shelisa, maybe i have similar thing as you. not sure whether it's rashes but there's alot of red spot on my stomach, around my neck.. not on my face though. it protrudes a little...but not itchy wor.

maybe i will ask my gynae this weekend.

Ethen_mum, rest well and hope to hear your good news soon. try to eat more tonic. cheers up.

hatemrnot, err mine is damn damn itchy, i saw 2 doc, 1 is my gynae the other is normal doc all said is due to hormones changes so have all this rashes all around my body. certain ppl at certain place need not be the whole body. but im not too sure some ppl is it wont itch. but ur will pain??

shelisa, nope mine not pain. just protruding.. like a lot of tiny pimple look alike thing.

my mum told me maybe my body too heaty.. i oso dont noe, hopefully nothing serious.

ethan_mum,
poor gal ... this is so sudden ...dun be too upset ok ... there will be another chance. do rest well & build up ur health.

ling,
aiyo tat man is so rude lor .. sigh all sort of ppl exist in this world one lah ... do be more careful in future... wah... must drink so much water b4 scan .. think i will be bloated ... so troublesome ...

shelisa,
i think rashes are quite common for pregnant women... my friend last time also got rash too ... dun worry too much ...

do u all feel like no mood to work huh ? like so sian & feel so boring huh ?

Hi Cheery,
I have no mood to work most of the time. As I work in the creative line, ideas just stop coming! I feel so useless sometimes. Go home, lie down and watch tv... and do nothing else. Sigh... on top of all that laziness, MS will kick in anytime of the day!

Somehow, I have a feeling my baby knows wat's going on oredi cos yesterday was my 2nd year anniversary and I had no MS for the entire day! And I ate more than any other day since I got pregnant! Isn't it wonderful?

Just wondering out loud, would you ladies go on a train, and ask the person on the priority seat to give up the seat for you (I mean when we have a obvious baby bump oredi)? I think I would...

hatemenot, i will suggest next appt better ask ur gynae.

cheery, did ur frenz say how she settle the rashes? as it is damn itchy + mine is whole body

ethan_mum,
sorry to hear about your loss.. do take care of yourself.. and I hope that you will have another baby soon..
pull yourself together for the sake of your family..

neeciel,
how come cannot eat liver?

Ethan_mum, I'm sorry for your lost.. be strong and take care.. I was shocked.. *sigh* it happens so fast..

neeciel, yup.. I also thot nails are not internal body.. and no pores.. but some ppl said, still can absorb the chemical (led), then others said, the smell itself is dangerous.. a bit confused, think ytd would be my last pedi until delivery lah.. better be kiasi..

cheery, yah lor.. morning ppl @mrt are horrible.. it's already so tough dragging our feet to work, still have to encounter these type of ppl..
the water.. depends on ur gynae.. my gynae always scan from tummy, so need to drink water, orelse the scan would be very blur.. but.. if scan from 'below', drink or no drink no would be very clear..

geberra, welcome and congrats! when is your edd ?

chidori, Vit A will cause defects to our babies, pls avoid any food that is high in Vit A esp liver. Our body will produce Vit A naturally, so we shouldnt consume food that contains high in Vit A.

Ling, ya better be kiasi than sorry, since we already read abt it, then might as well avoid it.

Ethan_mum,

*hugs* take care and rest well especially during this period.....

chidori, not neeciel but i think cant take liver cos it has high levels of vitamin a.

the morning and after work crowd on the mrt is crazy. and i always hate it when i had to take the train during that period. sometimes i wonder whether mrt got increase the number of trains during peak hours onot....

wondering, when will the gynae start scanning from the tummy and not below???

hi sharon,
ya lor... becoming more & more lazy ... just wish to rest .. haha... no mood to do anything lor ...
hehe ... is it normal for mood swing hoh ...i wonder...ask ppl 4 seat i dun dare leh ... ur hubby got drive?

shelisa,
hmmm.. think she got apply cream to ease e itch... ur doc nvr give u meh ?

ling,
wat u mean scan fr below huh ?

Geberra... welcome ...

cheery, yup gynae did give me some medicine to apply. but i feel the more i apply the more it born. so ytd i stop to apply the cream.. determination to fight with my rashes.

neeciel, i think i read some book and they also advise not to eat too much liver. eat can eat but not too much. i love to eat pork liver, i tok it can produce more blood or help my liver stronger. after i read the book i dare not eat. but i ask my gynae she also said 'everything also can eat la'

welcome geberra

Shelisa, i think better avoid since most of the website i read cannot eat and the nurse oso gave me a list of food to avoid. Since our body can produce Vit A, then we dun need too much Vit A, apple and some fruits oso contains high Vit A. Pregnant woman need 900 mcg per day but 3000 will cause defect to baby, so dun consume too much.

Cheery, I dun get mood swing cos I'm basically moody and tired most of the time! No chance for my mood to swing at all! Yup my hubby sends me to work every am but I would have to take the train home myself so that's the hell part! I think I will try to ask people to give up their seat for me when my tummy becomes more obvious. Now, no use cos no tummy yet!

Chidori, my gynae advised me not to eat anything not fully cooked, which means I can't eat my fav sashimi and medium rare steak!!! Boo hoo!

Oh i get indigestion all the time which sometimes makes me want to puke too. Can we take vitagen or yakult to aid digestion? I'm visiting my gynae today so will ask her too!

Shelisa, i read that last week when i drank peel fresh orange juice...i think 1 apple per day is fine, unless u eat 1 carton per day lah then u start to worry. I am eating 1 apple per day too.

Food and drink to avoid :-

• Undercooked or raw eggs or foods likely to be made with them, (including home-made mousses, ice cream and mayonnaise, all of which may be made with raw eggs). Eggs should be cooked until hard.

• Undercooked or very rare meat and fish – there should be no pink bits left (even if that’s the way you usually like it!).

• Raw fish or meat in dishes like sushi or steak tartare, and smoked salmon or oysters

• Unpasteurised milk, cheese or yoghurt

• Soft cheeses like brie, camembert, ricotta, or blue veined cheeses (ordinary cheddar cheese or cottage cheese is fine, as long as they are pasteurised – check the label!).

• Pâté or liver – these can have excessive amounts of vitamin A which can harm your baby.

• Some prepared foods such as potato salad or coleslaw can sometimes contain high levels of listeria.

• Check that any ready meals or reheated foods are piping hot all the way through before you eat them.

• Take care at barbecues where meat is often allowed to rest for a period of time before serving.

• Swordfish, marlin and shark. These fish can contain potentially unsafe levels of naturally-occurring mercury which can harm your baby’s developing nervous system. Tuna also contains mercury, so limit the amount you eat to up to four medium-size cans (140g drained weight, per can) OR two fresh steaks (up to 170g raw weight, per steak) a week.

• Peanuts – It is recommended that women should avoid eating peanuts during pregnancy and breastfeeding, especially if there is a family history of allergies such as asthma, eczema or hayfever.

• Alcohol – excessive alcohol intake has been associated with many foetal problems, and even moderate alcohol consumption may effect the development of your baby’s brain.

Sharon, pls ask ur gynae whether can drink vitagen or yakult anot as i think i drank alomst everyday. i also eat yougurt everyday. can help me ask. thanks

hi ladies, just had lunch, subway, choc mousse pudding, strawberry and 7up.. now appetite goes wild..

tulips, I thot usually most gynae will scan from 'below'.. except for mine, from day one he always scan from tummy..

cheery, I oso dun dare to ask for seat, but if I have to stand, no matter how crowded I'll grab on the pole, the east west mrt very jerky driver (a failed daytona driver I think
), so dowan to risk falling, for bb safety.. err.. scan from below..
from tummy, we all know hor, the gel in tummy, then doctor scan over tummy.. from below.. doctor use some tools and just poke in 'there' lor.. first gynae I went was dr Chan, wah lau, first gynae visit, first pregnancy, he just 'poke' to check bb.. quite traumatized

Shelisa, diff gynae said diff stuff, one gynae said can't have coffee, tea, coke, pineapple, coconut, etc etc.. my current one said, anything can except caffein.. for liver, I tried to avoid, as usually they're not fully cooked, rather dangerous if carry some bacteria or virus..

anyone heard abt some hakka nutritious food ? my grandma told me about some chicken/meat essence.. it's the whole kampong chicken, then you mince until very fine, then squeeze the pulps to a bowl, and then steam it.. after a few hours, then drink..

neeciel, ohhh.. thanks for the list. u means Unpasteurised milk, cheese or yoghurt. that means those in supermarket like meiji brand yougurt can eat?? this sat i having bbq so i think i let the food turn cold before i eat. anyway can we eat otah?

chidori, i just copy and paste lah haha...but i think most of the food are ok to consume lah, just like wat Ling mentioned, every gynae advise differently, my gynae says coffee ok but no more than 1 cup per day... so is all up to us.

In Chinese recipe, we can alw see liver recommended as 1 of the dishes for us to increase our blood, just eat everything in moderation should be fine... then we can better enjoy our pregnancies =)

neeciel, I also have been eating fruits, in moderation.. however, I read from other threads, too much orange juice not very good for bb's respiratory system..

hi ladies, wow, just took the morning off to see my gynae and so many posts went up here already. saw my bb for the 4th time from last fri. it grow by about 1mm per day. still don't know what had caused the bleeding cos everything seems well. but my weight had been dropping, sigh, more than 1kg already, hope it won't affect the bb too much. got another hormone jab today though. ouch!

Ethanmum, sad to know wat had happened. do take care of urself k? you'll gonna have a healthy baby soon. *hugz*

Sharon, your bb so understanding. I threw up twice on my birthday.

Lovelytulips, you had v scan all the while? That would be so uncomfy. Ling, you too? Have you heard the baby's heartbeat already? I thought v scan is done only when cannot hear bb's heartbeat yet and need to get a clear scan to make sure things are ok. I have been getting tummy scans all along. Hmmm ... I'm quite scared of v scans, sound really intrusive.

neeciel, apple is not good for bb? do you know if pear is ok? i like fragrance pear. but don't know if it's considered 'liang' or not.

mika,
has your spottin stopped? when i got spotting i see my gynae twice a week so practically seeing my baby grow mm by mm...

Shelisa, I used to eat yoghurt too.. to help with indigestion.. but then I read somewhere, can't eat mayonaisse and yoghurt, so I stop.. now only depend on Mylanta before meal.. I'm so kiasi hor..

neeciel, yah, my mum said liver is good to strengthen us, maybe a bit later in 2nd trimester I'll eat a bit.. for now, avoid everything I can..
first timer, so a bit gan cheong here..

Ling,my colleague told me too much cold drinks not good for bb's respoiratory system but i still continue drinking cold drinks everyday but not frizzy drinks lah.

Mika nt that apple is no good, i saw from web apple is high in Vit A, actually leafy vegs, yellow and orange fruits are high in Vit A, so eat in moderation. Pear should be ok.

Ling, eat in moderation cos i think older generations wont know what food to avoid actually.

i had v scan twice. it's actually ok cos the gynae will put lubricant on the 'scanner' and will probably talk to u. i always try to look at the screen n most of the time, it's very fast.

i think v scans is done when no heart beat or when the baby is too small to be felt/scanned from the tummy. i thought so but i may be wrong.

eat in moderation la... but i think raw and uncooked food are a no no. liver-most of the pple will semi cook it only so that it wont be hard but i think it's not gd to eat if it's only semi cooked cos of the bacteria....

someone told me yakult and yogurt can eat/drink. in fact helps with prevention of yeast infection. but in moderation la..

i also eat apple nowadays. can keep me full and it's healthly.

i think seeing the gynae every 2 weeks is gd leh... can see the baby... but in 2nd tri, heard they will arrange once a mth or once every 3 weeks. then, we'll all be missing our babies. ha.....

Shelisa, correct me if i am wrong, i read this sentence as bbq food shld be eaten immediately after cooking, not supposed to let it rest before serving.

Mika
glad to see you here.. how's the doctor check ? I read the link that neeciel posted this morning, there's a link of items to avoid, some can caused contractions/bleeding, maybe can have a look there.. oso, dun tire yourself
nono.gif
, please rest as much as you can, for your sake and bb sake.. you're taking utrogestan ? Last time I had cramp/pain, one gynae gave me that.. and please please eat more.. just eat those that doesn't make you nausea, vomit less, etc.. in small portion, more frequently..

Yes, I had v scan.. twice!
din like it.. made me feel like a thanksgiving turkey..
the current gynae I have, always tummy scan, not so clear and can't hear heartbeat, but I think it's okay, learnt my lesson, just drink as much as I can before the visit..
anyway, my doctor said that in 3 wks (week 13), I can listen to baby's heartbeat, and hopefully can see more clear too..

I like the brown (china) pear, was eating that every day, morning and night during my 5-7 weeks, then they said too liang, so I reduce to once or twice a week lor.. never heard abt apple tho..

sianz.. hungry again.. I go find something to eat.. brb..

lovelytulips, think i will ask dr chan when will be tummy scan, i am oso not very comfortable with v scan esp the young stoopid nurse alw spread my legs so wide and hard, i felt very uneasy and i dun understand why i must spread my legs so wide b4 dr chan comes behind the curtain. I wil tell her off this sat IF she is doing this to me again. She never did this to hatemenot tho... wtf.

neeciel... "tai jio".... dont "swear and curse" la....

i saw 2 young nurse. one of them the wide eyed one, quite nice leh.... i also hope for tummy scan. think not so embarassing but then... i'm ok with the previous 2 times. maybe i too anxious for the scan that i dont bother. haha...i just cant sit right on the "bed". the nurse gotto always tell me to move up a bit, legs put here blah blah.....

Ling, "thanksgiving turkey" haha.. what a way to describe... :p

chidori, had bleeding on sun, now is only spotting. dr says blood is gluey, so may take a few days to clear. so now and then will still have a bit.

neeciel, i like cold drinks too. esp in hot weather. thanx for your advice. i eat abt 1 apple/pear a day.

lovelytulips, i heard too much scan is not good for the baby cos we disturbing it. ha, don't know how true. but the critical period is till 11-12 weeks cos vital organs are growing, placenta and the rest. after that is just the size of everything growing. so once dr see that everything is in place, they see us less often.

ladies, ask you, do you feel uncomfy after every tummy scan? i don't like the pressure on my tummy when scanning. and the sensation last for some time even after the scan. or is this just me!?!?