(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

December Gathering
6th mth cum xmas celebration

Program highlight:
1) Brief presentation from our sponsors

2) fastest diaper changing, brg own newborn pic, mixed up and guess which belong to which bb. anyone have more interesting idea? i find the photo abit complicated & not sure if everyone will brg, diaper abit hard to judge haha.. any others?

3) exchange present for bb around $10 range

Food around $5/adult for some old chang kee snacks & titbits & drinks. (thanks superbee for volunteering to buy snack!

Venue: 26 Jalan Lempeng, Regent Park (poolside) Serene22 booked already
(Booking fee: $25)

Time: 2pm to 6pm

date: 12 Dec 2009

1. ecmom + cayden (cfm) (might bring Elisha#1 + mum)
2.Createjoy+jayden +hb (cfm)
3.bbaugustine+Augustine +hubby (maybe)
4. jling + jack (confirm)
5. maryG + Trey + hb (cfm)
6. serene22 + Sofie + Hb
7. moo + bb + Hb
8. superbee + danelle + hb + adelle(#1)
9.toffeecat + rouxuan + hb

tired.. very tired.. jayden been wking up for pacifier often at night but he didnt really cry is he hungry or maybe not???

hi createjoy
recently I also realised that my girl seems to be more hungry more often at night. for me, normally I will bring baby to bed and bf & sleep together with me. However, I'm not sure if this is encouraging baby to get used to our smell...because the adverse effect is that sometimes in the day-time, my girl will get cranky if cannot see me.

bellamy's and ht can be found in some ntuc too.
jurong point ntuc, bukit timah ntuc.

can be found at the organic shop near the coronation plaza and also the one located at harbourfront near the swimming place.

iron is very important for bb's growth. their body auto store iron since birth enough for 6 months usage that is why it is important and recommended to start semi-solids/solids when they are 6 mths old.

re: ikan bilis

the shop auntie will help us wash out the salt before sunning dry and grinding right?

re : ht organic brown rice cereal

not sure if anyone noticed but it says on the box that it has to be consumed within one month from date of opening the box.

re : milk rash on side of mouth (face)

ever since i started feeding bb with brown rice mixed with milk.. he develop milk rash on the side of his mouth on the face. is there any remedy?

<font color="blue">hi mummies,
sorry to intrude.. i am organising preorder for Kate Spade Classic Noel Collection..and some other models..pls pm me if u are interested.. thanks.. </font>

japa,
i like your schedule. i'll try it although now baby is drinking at 2 hourly intervals.. prob showing a need to wean already.

creamer,
like ahnetsan i also find Braun thermo giving diff temp at each reading. I saw my PD using infra thermo so it gave me an idea to buy. U can check out this link http://www.thermoguard.com.sg/
Its cheaper thru the BP though

Tubbymummy,
my baby perspires at the back in aircon. i think perspiring at the head means too warm. what temp do you set? i usually give 26/27 and i'm resisting lowering it...

i started Aug on bellamy's rice cereal yest. He gives me a funny face when he eats it. Maybe he is not used to the texture but he will finish the whole bowl. I put 2 teaspoons of cereal then add bm. Today I put 3 tsps of cereal. He seems to get hungry only close to 10am so it looks like breakfast is gonna be late. He will still need a milk feed after the cereal to nap so i latch him. It gets so messy with this solids feeding. He gets sticky all over then have to change clothes and wipe him down. But its fun seeing him take this next step of starting solids. Next food im going to try is avocado. NTUC had sale and was selling 2 avocados for $2.45 so i grabbed 2 unripe ones and will feed him this coming week=)

sweethalo,
thanks.. bb now hospitalised in kk.. went to A&amp;E on fri midnight when she lao sai more than 20 times.. at first say observe for one day.. now already two days still want to observe.. my gal already so bored in the room.. she already feeding more and less watery stool but doc still refuse to discharge us.. i so bored too.. all of us got stuck in the room

ahnetsan,
i got staff disc in sg and philippines cos i know some nurses.. but philippines still cheaper than sg staff disc.. maybe currency weaker or what.. the clinic that sold me was abt 35 i think.. sg staff disc is 27-28.. then philippines is 22-23 i think..

i also have some trouble when we switched to nan HA.. i didnt know it is bitter until i check in the forum.. she was taking mamex previously and when we switch over.. for 3-4 days she took half the intake.. quite heartache.. i heard its taste is like breastmilk.. so if ur kid is on breastmilk now.. should not be much diff.. but pls note the price of NAN HA is very very ex.. i was shocked when one small tin is 41.2 and it can only last exactly one week.. so i calculated one bottle of feed is 1 buck.. so exp

wow, so many posts! Just finished reading them!

For the white rice/brown rice, do we just add water and boil them?

Now my boy poo at least 4 times a day, guess it's due to the antibiotic.... changing is a chore because of all the layers of clothes we are putting him in!

Tubbymummy, my girl seldom sleep in the aircon as i dun wana her to get used to it and cant sleep without aircon. Cos my nephew during cold raining days also wan to on aircon. So i think beanie for my girl is even hotter for her. I always try to push the ear back once i see her turn to side and is folded.

Newmum, yea, my office also used the thermoguard one. But i still find a little skeptical on the infra tingy. Think will stick back to the ear one. But i didnt see any braun BP going on now leh.

Jus now i steam sweet potato (those smaller types cos no streak of hard flesh which is hard to mashed), my girl likes it and if i dun give her fast, she will fuss for it. haha! Her first sweet potato meal. But soon after dat, she wana milk again and drinks 150ml. *faint*

Dolly, i havent started to cook genieve's porridge, my mil will normally slow cook the pork soup with an onion in it to prevent wind and add the soup with the rice to cook till porridge. The white rice must use the "xin me" which is softer for baby.

creamer: So the white /brown rice is also used to cook porridge huh?

Hehe, have been forced feeding him water cos it's very dry in HK now. He'll cry his heart out but without tears! Sometimes even making those choking sound... hmmm

bbaug: i just let my boy have bellamy rice cereal coz just finished the HT packet. he also gave funny face, doesn't seem to like it. i find the HT one is more fragant and the texture is smoother. i try to add some pumpkin puree in the bellamy cereal now, no more funny face!

HT rice cereal can be found in this organic store at paragon (L5).

sometimes, jamus also perspire around the back of his head when he sleeps in aircon room too.

hope yr child will be ok, fat mom...

createjoy, my hubby, myself n my child will be there nxt sat

creamer, seems like yr gal is a big eater, that's gd

seems like everyone is getting their child to eat cereals etc...wonder if u all bought those set eg pigeon set that has the bowls, spoons etc? thinking whether it is necessary or we can just mash the food with our normal spoon n feed...hmmm...

fat mom, how come u change yr child's milk to another brand? mamex is no gd? currently giving that to my child...

btw, anyone's child encountered stranger's anxiety now? my child cried whenever she sees her grandparents now...so sad...their grandparents came all the way to see her once a week n now she doesnt smile and want to play w them anymore...just scream and yell whenever they carry her...sigh...upset

any suggestions?

can i add on???
Price Range is
white rice 500g = $6.00
brown rice 500g = $6.00
ika bli 50g = $3.00
ika bli 100g = $5.50

White Rice:
1) Shelisa = 1kg
2) Jling = 1kg

Brown Rice:
1) Shelisa = 1kg
2) Debbie = 500g
3) jling = 1kg
4) beemom = 1kg

Ikan Bili:
1) Shelisa = 100g
2) Debbie = 100g
3)createjoy=100g
4) Jackie - 100g
5) jling = 100g
6) beemom = 100g
7) maryG = 100g x 2 bags
8) japa = 100g
9) babymycomfort = 100g x 2 bags
10) jamie_nov = 100g x 2 bags
11) ahnetsan - 100g
12) poko1 = 100g x 2 bags

newmum, I set the aircon at 25/26 too. I also don't want to lower the temp, cos her hands and feet get cold easily (even though she already wears closed toe PJs or socks).

MaryG, I think most (or all?) brands of cereal have to finish within 1mth, same for fm I think. Guess it's to prevent contamination etc.

bbaug, I started my girl on Only Organic wholegrain rice cereal on Wed, and again today (i got lazy in between haha!), she seems to love it. 1st time on Wed, she had a bit of a funny expression too, cos I think she wasn't sure how to eat it, and have never felt such texture before. Today, she ate more, and kept leaning forward and opening her mouth wide for more, and wanting to hold her spoon (throughout the feed, I let her hold the spoon together with me and guide it to her mouth))
She also seems to be able to handle the texture better today, her tongue wasn't thrusting out as much. Very minimal mess both times though, just smearing around the mouth. Maybe cos I give it to her in a thicker consistency, not watery. Ooh, didn't know NTUC had offer on avocados! Maybe tomorrow pop by and see if they still have.

createjoy, did u buy any of the beanies?
I bought 2 (different bp) for skyla for wearing in winter, 1 red, 1 cream with her name on it. Can't wait to use them!

fatmom, hope your girl has a speedy recovery! You take care too ya? Get some rest...

creamer, the Braun thermometer works fine for me. Sometimes I'll be KS and take temp from both ears, just to compare to see if there's a difference/inaccuracy. So far, the temp readings have either been the same, or at most off by 0.1 degrees. Think you'll get the most accurate temp when you pull the ear back a bit, and try to stick the tip in as far as you can in a straight line with the ear canal (hope u know what I mean). Oh, and if your girl has been sleeping on one ear, don't take temp from that ear, cos the reading will be inaccurately high (cos maybe the ear is very warm from being slept on). I got mine through a spree, a lot more worth it than buying locally.

moo, my girl has had stranger anxiety for quite a while. Her PD was the one who pointed it out to me during her 4mth old visit. A few weeks back, she even cried when my hubby picked her up, cos he had been working late everyday, and after 1 week of not seeing him (she's asleep when he leaves for work, and also asleep by the time he reaches home), she didn't want him to hold her anymore. Took him the whole weekend to "reintroduce" himself.

dolly!
How was your flight? Is your boy adapting well to the weather? Hope you're having a good time catching up with family!

My past weekends are horrible.. fighting with Virus.. 1st week is my son fall sick, 2nd week is myself, 3rd week is my son again.. now this week is my baby girl Siqi.. so sad.. seeing the little one coughing coughing and running nose.. she is so restless after medication..

Feel so helpless.. same as Annie.. feel so stress and tired.. lot of housechores to do cos no helper/maid, and work has lot of back to back dateline.. now children is sick..

raised my WHITE FLAG..

reading so many mummies starting babies on solids already!!

i started 2 weeks back cos baby's been refusing to drink milk.. first day he took it quite ok, subsequently he doesn't want to take it anymore.

any advice on how to make him more receptive? i feed him frisocrem..

TubbyMummy: My boy OK during the flight, hehe, if he start to cranky, just latch him on

Quite cooling now, around 20 degree here, but he seems to be ok leh

My boy also cry a little bit if a stranger carry him for a while, but not that much yet... *phew* Was thinking cos he was being taken care of by nanny (not solely me) so not too bad

Dolly, you now back to HK for family visit ah? Yup, the white rice is cook for porridge. But not sure is there any special brown rice for baby porridgec cos my mil didnt cook dat as brown rice is more heaty but more nutritious. My girl also have the choking sound think is irritable throat, its good to drink more water. If he dun wana take from bot, you try to syringe feed him which always works for my genieve cos sometimes baby like to play with their water bot.

Moo, haha! mayb the sweet potato is not enough cos its her first attempt on this so i didnt give much. I eat most of them. Yummy! My girl started stranger anxiety since 4mths+. Try not to pass over to them too fast. Allow yr kid to play with them first while u carry her, wait till yr kid has some reaction to their gesture den try to let them carry while you are still at sight. I tried this, sometimes works sometimes not. Good luck!

Tubbymummy, thanks for yr detailed thermometer info. Now seems like no spree going on leh. How much u pay for? I was thinking to get it during robinson closed door sales.

Amkgal, u wana try to start on puree? Like pumpkim or sweet potato. See if he likes it cos they are naturally sweet. Frisocrem is quite frangrant. My girl is ok with dat. Mayb u try out the puree first and reintro the friso again.

TPYmommy, yea will be worried to see everyone sick one by one. My girl also just recover from her flu. Dat time see her drink milk got goo~goo~ sound from the nose which is partially stuck and always running nose like very xinku like dat. Catach as much rest as posiible and drink more fluid. Jia you!! Mama is wei da de!

dolly, ya the only people that Skyla confirm doesn't cry with are me and my mum. My parents come over to my house a lot, and my mum plays with her, rocks her to sleep etc. Even with my dad, she will sometimes cry. The other day during my hubby's office party, she wasn't even passed around, hubby was carrying her and people just came up to her to say hi and play, she also cry. It got to a point that she didn't even want my hubby to carry, look up at him and threaten to cry. I had to take over. Hai... Go back UK sure die, SO many relatives all wanting to get a piece of her.

creamer, I paid around $70 for the Braun, inclusive of reg mail to my house.

TPY mommy, hope Siqi gets better soon, and do try to get some rest ya? Otherwise u may fall ill again. Hang in there!

~~ I went to take my H1N1 vaccine, and thankfully did not come down with any side effects from the jab. I continued bfg, and baby seems fine, thank God.

~~ Tonight is the first night baby is sleeping in her own room. She has been sleeping in my room for the past 6mths. Wanted to shift her over earlier so I won't get attached to the idea of her sleeping in my room, but we never got her room sorted out till now. Wonder if I can sleep properly tonight. Think I'm the one with separation anxiety now.

Hmm, seems lk my brown rice gt lost. Repost!

Price Range is
white rice 500g = $6.00
brown rice 500g = $6.00
ika bli 50g = $3.00
ika bli 100g = $5.50

White Rice:
1) Shelisa = 1kg
2) Jling = 1kg

Brown Rice:
1) Shelisa = 1kg
2) Debbie = 500g
3) jling = 1kg
4) beemom = 1kg
5) Jamie_nov = 1kg

Ikan Bili:
1) Shelisa = 100g
2) Debbie = 100g
3)createjoy=100g
4) Jackie - 100g
5) jling = 100g
6) beemom = 100g
7) maryG = 100g x 2 bags
8) japa = 100g
9) babymycomfort = 100g x 2 bags
10) jamie_nov = 100g x 2 bags
11) ahnetsan - 100g
12) poko1 = 100g x 2 bag

Re: thermometer
Which is better, ie, more accurate? Ear or infra red?

Moo, my girl cries n screams whenever my in laws carry her. It gets even worse when mil carries her. Rofl!

Re: organic food shop @ paragon
Vitakids rite? U guys can try the baby nat fruit cereal! It smells nice! Lk froot loops and is organic as well! Hailey loves it to bits! Bt I also noticed tt the amount we use is less than the amt used for HT cereal. Eg, hailey takes 6tbsp for brown rice/ oatmeal cereal. Bt for baby nat, she only nds abt 4 tbsp. HTH if u guys do buy the cereal! =D

Creamer: hw much is the thermomter if thr is the robinsons sales? For card mbrs is it?

Tubbymummy: my girl is lk tt as well. She gets stressed out when thr're a lot of ppl ard saying hi in her face or wanting to carry her. N when she's stressed out, she also only wans me. I gt used to it. So whenever we bring her out, we intro lk 2 frens @ a time to her. It's less scary for her. =D

Tubbymummy, hmm so early u shift her to be independent ah. I still like the idea of her squeezing between us and seeing her soundly asleep beside me and smell smell her hair and put my hand on her chest. You sure hv separation anxiety tonite! Waking up a few times to check on her. She sleep in her cot? If you sleep in aircon room with door close will hear her? Oh just know dat u cant join us tmr for the gathering.. Happy shopping tmr!

Jamie, i duno if got sell there bo. Im also checking it out. U also wana buy ah? Yup its a one day closed door shopping for cardmembers on 9 dec. 10.30am to 10.30pm. Nusery &amp; Kidswear Up to 30% disc. Toys Up to 25%.

Just right after I posted, she cried. Went into the room, she was frantically thrashing around. I took pacifier to stick into her mouth cos that's what soothes her the fastest, and she won't get too awake to fall back asleep. She saw me and went quiet, but turned here and there looking around, until finally she started staring at the giraffe on the wall. She probably woke up and felt strange being in a different place. I just continued patting her on the chest until she eventually fell back asleep after 20min. Wonder how many times this will take place tonight...

jamie, I'll try your method next time. But with so many people around, sometimes quite hard to do "crowd control". Hai...

creamer, baby was sleeping in bassinet in my room all this while, and she's seriously outgrowing the bassinet, base sagging liao. I don't know if it'll affect her back, so rather shift her to her cot. I have no space in my room for a cot/playpen, so she has to go into her own room. I set up the baby monitor, quite happy that it's working well (as proven by her cries just now). Oh, next few days will be very stressed trying to buy gifts, buy some thicker clothing for myself (can't fit some of my old winter clothes), buy pet supplies so my parents don't have to go and buy, settle all my bills, cut &amp; colour hair, do laundry, pack, etc etc. Phew!! You guys enjoy yourselves!

Tubbymummy, great dat to have baby monitor. Base sagging better shift out. Not good for the back. Cos dat time my bed also sagging and i feel so uncomfortable sleeping. My girl wake up either for milk or when pacifier drop or sometimes those stupid 'zing' car with super big turbo sound dat wakes her up. Wow, yea dats alot of catch up in your to do list.. Who takes care of your skyla while u on shopping trip?

creamer, I have to bring her along, cos still latching. So everything will take longer cos gotta push pram. I can't take her along when doing hair, so will get my mum to watch her.

Tubbymummy, showing her the crowd is ok. Let her c tt thr's more ppl than those at home. Bt for frens who can't wait to say hi, no choice. Got to cobtrol else she stress n get hysterical. U try! Cny coming! Mus prepare our babes for the crowd n the sam gu lok por!

Creamer, only robinsons? Then I got to pop by raffles city or orchard I guess? Is ear or infra red ones better?

Re : Flat head,
Josef's right side of his head is also flat like pancake until we intro yaolan to him. Within 2 weeks, his head is round like a ball

fat mom,
Wish your darling have a speedy recovery.

creatjoy,
The beanie is so cuteeee. I am gg to order one :-D

TPY,
Sayang, sayang. That happen to me in october. Everyone in the family take turn to fall sick.

Tubbymummy,
When we shift our #1 to his own room. It took me quite a long period to get use to it. My separation anxiety was so bad that i had to sleep in his room

Fatmom,
Do you think you can help me to get the AI cream at sg? If it’s $27-28 like dat, it’s still cheaper than wat im buying from PD, which is $35.  pls let me know if you can. Or PM me. Thanks!

Yeah lor, both NAN and Enfalac are suckers for our money!!  so my hb says dun care ba, let jarius try out the normal ones first since I got free samples. If really cannot, den bo bian. But I was thinking, whether to risk it or not.

Dolly,
You mean you are alrdy now in HK? So fast?

How you all do the avocado puree? How to choose the avocado? How I know whether it’s ripe or unripe ar? Never ate avocado before, so I dunno. 

TPY mommy,
Hang in there!! Dun raise the white flag so soon.
Things will get better soon.

Btw, anyone encountered this? My bb has not been pooing for 3 days le… over the wkend, only let him eat nestle cereal nia…not much lor, cos he doesn’t seem to like it leh, and cos I added bm in it, it gets more watery during the feeding. 
And his right eye white is red red colour one… he doesn’t seem to be painful in the eye though. Not sure if it’s infection or he go and rub his eye until like dat leh.

dolly, u in HK? my hair still dropping as well

ahnet:
my bb have not poo for days as well, today is the 4th day... tis am tried to "gek sai" with her but not successful. sigh, tonite try again.

ahnetsan, maybe u monitor yr boy for a while for his eyes? maybe he rubbed n it got red..my gal did that but after a while, the redness subsided..

avocado must be soft to the touch but not v soft cos it maybe overripe...

try the bicycle method n c whether yr boy poos...

will try yr method, creamer. hope it works.

jamie, my thermometer was ear thermometer. i find the readings pretty accurate. hope this helps.

TPY, dun give up.try to catch as much rest as u can...

btw, anyone bought the leapfrog muscial table?

dolly: how was your flight to HK? Did your baby sleep in the bassinet- any packing suggestions?

I'm trying to figure out how to bring a carseat with me. Also trying to figure out where to buy winter clothes- what is your baby wearing when you go out?

Sorry so many questions, I'm getting worried about the traveling!

baby_sara: yeah already in HK
tiggerkaitlyn: Where are you going? If it's HK it's pretty cool, like 20 degree... I got some handme down so din buy much. But you'll need something for the head, thick clothes for the body, better to be a few layers kind. Mine wearing socks + knitted shoes as well
And it's raining today! Getting colder!

Hi ^.^

Letting go:

- 2 unopened tins of Enfapro Stage 2 900g at $30 each;
- 3 opened tins (partially used) of Enfapro Stage 2 at $20.

Use by 14-Mar-2011.

Pick up at Simei/Bedok.

Please PM me if interested.

hi moo, of course can use normal spoon and feed! i bought the baby set cos more gentle on the gums and i'm quite particular about BPA free. alternatively can use teaspoon and normal bowl. just be careful when they try to reach for it! Alya flings the food everywhere in her attempt to reach for it. now my mum feeds her holding her hands down.

re stranger anxiety: yah mine start already. yest took her out to a wedding she only wants to be with me and her dad. even paternal grandparents dont want. cos she stays with my parents during weekdays so only familiar with my family. will this phase pass soon i wonder? i dont like it when people make comments that my kid is not sociable just because she's in this phase...told some relatives that she's already beginning to recognize people..when she's older will be better.

Tubby, what about the Nestle cereals? i havent checked but seems quite a feat to finish it in 1 month. will go home and check later.

caramelle: yes, ppl tend to say tt abt hailey, lk she nt socialable and stuff. so rude. so i dun bother to be polite and i say tt it depends on who she's looking at. lk my mil, no matter hw many times hailey sees her, she will still wail but she gt used and quite fAvours my new helper after the 2nd day of work here. =) so really is see face one.

ahnetsan: avocado skin shld b darker color. and not too soft lk wat moo says. then when u cut open, those black or brown spots on the flesh means over ripe parts. hmm my helper will jus cut away cuz she say better dun gif to baby. i dunno why. haha. i prepare it by mashing and mixing with ebm till pureed texture and just feed. =D

moo, ok, will wait for the sale then go c c. =D

i just rec my simliac 2 sample. bbpotato do u have friso sample? we can do exchange. it's easy to get friso sample, just call them 6419 8484. so happy leh just won a set of 5 dvd from similac for their spot the diff contest. seems like most companies got some promo, leaflet or membership website except friso only got Fb, wonder is it they thought they 1 of the cheapest no need to market their milk??

dolly: lucky you, 20 isn't so cold yet! I will be there new year's eve so I'm afraid it will be below 10. How many layers are you putting on the baby, including a jacket?

oh no, I need to buy hats, mittens and shoes!