(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

AHNETSAN : i'm using this as my milk powder container -

http://www.munchkin.com/products/detail.html?pID=41

i think they have this at almost every baby shop. the lid is airtight and i have never spilled any powder even after vigorous shaking.

and no,sadly i have no facebook account.i actually have never had the time.maybe it's time to do so....

i know healthy times takes good care of their products but i came across this article and was wondering what the rest of you think...

http://www.thediaperlady.com/homemade-baby-food.htm

anyone else have maintenance error when posting?

ahnetsan, think the combined steamer/blender is not recommended to be used for ikan bilis. it's for steaming then blending.

bbPP, you are also bbPotato?

fatmom, the PD told us when rouxuan went for the 2nd jab at 4 months that the news is out that for singapore no need to take 3 jabs. previously the recommendation is based on US? or UK. now that MOH? posted their recommendation, the PD says we don't need to take the 3rd jab if we don't want to. the protection for 2 jabs is 90% of the virus, 3 jabs is 95%, if i remembered correctly.

sweethalo, din know chicco also have steamer+blender. maybe you can see whether you want other philips products.

beemom, the sales is till jan 2nd.

bbPotato, TubbyMummy, welcome.

tinybubu,

Regarding the jar food article. I think my motive is to let baby try different kind of food. That is why I ordered those jars with stuffs that I will not cook. :p The jars will be use mainly when we are not at home. So need to prepare lesser stuffs when going out.

Baby grow very fast. Think by 1 year old (6 more months to go...) they can start eating the food we eat. Just need to make sure that they are not eating those food that will make them more allegy prone.

Next month will start to prepare porridge for baby. So can add meat and blend the porridge. :p

bluedream : that's what i was thinking as well.that baby jar food cant possible be that bad.otherwise they would have been taken off the market by now.

=]

i called the HT lady and she also told me the same thing.That ALL baby jars are OOS.She can only arrange for delivery from 06 Dec 2009 onwards. She was so sweet though.Told me to go ahead and get the cereals from NTUC if I cant wait till then.

=]

ToffeeCat, we are different entity, haha
My baby has PP as initials, hence the name.
Sorry if I cause any confusion..

My baby is also borned in July 2009. I got a few 400g milk powder to exchange. Anyone wanna exchange milk powder with me?

1) Enfapro Stage 2. Expiry on 05/09/2011
2) Similac Stage 2 (not the new formulation). Expiry on 12/12/2010

Meet-up - Sembawang MRT.

I want Mamil Gold Stage 2. Do pm me, ok?

ahnetsan, think can just do blending. i'm just thinking maybe can blend ikan bilis till very fine? dun really know much abt blenders cos never used them b4.

yups bluedream, i can mit u on tues.

just fyi, if you come down to the showroom, the price tag that is SPP price, not RCP price nor the 40% discounted price. can check with the staff what is the RCP.

haha ok bbPP and bbPotato. cos both of u also interested in the HR2094.

bbpotatoe: braun handheld blender model MR4050HC.

bbaugustine: Thank u for the info on the thermal magic cooker. i might be getting one when i start bb on porridge.

toffeecat: yup! we bought cityview too! we are at blk 9. u? yay! can meet new neighbour at this coming gathering lo! u working at philips?

createjoy: sigh... understand what u going through... i always tell my in-laws that PD say one. must listen.. or last time n now different last time can "lag sup jia lag sup tua" now if like that next is hospital liao. maybe u can bring bb into room, lock door then u can have plenty of time n space to teach bb tummytime n such. try to minimize the time bb spend with her or try to close one eye... i still learning to close one eye... though job...

tiny_bubu: CONGRATS!!

bluedream: i planning next one to be bunny/dragon. hoping for a girl. mil want us to faster make one now but i think when Trey can walk le will be easier plus i wanna wait till we moved into new house, our own space le then start #2.

shelisa: no prob dear.

handouts: no prob. good things must share : )

errr... question... my boy was on similac since birth. was good until the passing motion routine from every 2-3 days stretch till 5-7 days... in-laws kept asking if it is alright to nvr poo so many days n insist i bring see PD. but i insist i checked with PD & they say its ok not all bb poo everyday so long as not more than 1 week can le... but i pek chek that abt the questioning + similac sudden increase in price so i decided to switch to friso. still taking friso now. poo every 2-3 days. pretty regular. but now realised that bb seems to be not growing fat... in fact like getting thinner... was chubby when on similac.

should i switch him back to similac? sorry for the long story...

hi toffeecat,

i m keen to get the avent steam and blender & HR2870. have pm u.

i hv similac n enfrapo to exchange for mamil. yet to rec'e friso.

ahnetsan: i'm using the munchkin milk container, is rather good though. i find it's better than those stacked up kind.

MaryG, my boy will poo every 2-3 days before starting solid. After giving him vege or fruit puree, he start to poo everyday. You start solid then see whether you want to change FM.

My boy has been 7kg for 2 mths. And sudden grow to 8kg within 2-3 wks. As long as baby is not cranky, I am quite ok. :p

toffeecat, thanks so much, I hope I didn't make you too late for your meeting! Sorry ah... Coming in the afternoon would have been better for us both, but I have aircon servicing ppl coming lah, so no choice. Thanks again!!

tinybubu, thanks for the links! Saw that both weigh 14.5kg, are all playpens that heavy?? I don't know anything about playpens, that just sounds like a lot of weight. Will be in UK for only about 3wks, cos that's all the leave that hb managed to take. I bought a few fleece sleep sacks, and my sis passed me some thick velour sleepsuits that she used for her kid in winter, said they were brilliant for going out, so I have the basics now. Will be buying more when I get there, I'm sure the selection will be SO much better. Skyla's all smiley in her passport photo, but she does look like the neckless wonder. Doesn't look quite like her. Oh well, I'm sure she'll need to get the picture updated the next time she flies (which I'm hoping won't be soon, cos it's such a logistical nightmare!), so I'm not too bothered.

Hey, did you end up quitting your job? Or gonna hang on till after no. 2's out? And are you in a more permanent apartment yet?? I sure hope so...

toffecat : thanks so much for meeting up with me today.hubby was so excited about the water filter and the steamer+blender.

tubbymummy : still working.since i'm expecting an april baby,will work till then,take ML and then it's sayonara to THE MAN!

we moved into a bigger place and just loving the space.still in telok kurau though.what did you end up buying from toffeecat? the steamer+blender as well?i think it's an amazing deal!

yes,all playpens are that heavy.the lightest one i've seen is the babybjorn travel cot but its bad for your back..

http://www.babybjorn.com/en-gb/Eng/products/Mobility/BABYBJORN-Travel-Cot-Light/

i saw Mothercare in Centrepoint/ Parkway selling it.Not sure how much though.

btw,sophie cut her first tooth today!it's a tiny white jagged looking thing.she wouldnt let me have a clear look at it so i washed my hands and put my finger into her mouth and when she bit down,it hurt!!!!

she's seriously starting to get cranky..wonder what teething gel i should get..

bluedream: thanks for the advise. boy has started HT cereal and pumpkin. he appears to be cranky only during bottle-feeding time. finishing his current tin of friso soon that is also why i want to know if i should buy similac for next. boy is happy and playful. just started talking and blabbering a lot recently. would also talk to his toy and laugh by himself. kekeke. but in-laws kept questioning me on y he seems lighter, y he feels softer when before feels so firm...y he getting thinner... all these are getting on my nerve...

tiny_bubu: wa! so fast sprout first tooth! wonder when will my boy sprout his.

tinybubu, the Baby Bjorn travel cot looks yummy! I want one now :-/ Ooh, you're still at telok kurau!
Wondered about getting a place there. I'm already feeling like my place is too tight. Think it's all her toys and contraptions taking up space haha. I didn't get the steamer/blender, I just got a handheld blender, cos I already have separate standalone steamer and blender (smoothie maker), so I thought I'd get a handheld blender cos it just seems less messy if I just wanted to mush up a small batch of something. You got the steamer/blender? It IS a fantastic deal. Think you can just get teething gel from pharmacy, no? I'm not familiar, Skyla doesn't look like she'll be sprouting anything soon.

MaryG, could it be that your boy only appears thinner, cos by now, their weight gain slows down by quite a fair bit, but they continue to grow taller, so he seems thin? He sounds fine, since you said he's still happy and playful. But yeah, it's pretty nerve grating when the old folks go on and on about it...

Toffeecat - thks again for helping get the handheld blender.

TubbyM- Thks for helping me get it... hehehe

Tinybubu - wow Sophie has got a tooth oredi! That's fast! What signs of teething did she show before?

Is your mum still helping to care for Sophie now? Hope things are better over at your sister's place.

Cassey- hahah really like the way you put it for TinyBubu... having twins with a pause button! She is so blessed to have one girl and one boy!

MaryG- yeah could be your boy is growing taller so looks thinner... Noah goes through the fatty and thin stage quite often..hehhe..

sigh just recvr from my fever.. i starting to have the nagging voice in mind : move out move out piss her piss her off!!Quick piss her more! then move out she wont follow then angel in me say stop that thought u little devil, she's ur hb mum, a widow now & she is nice to u too in some way be thkful she cook & wash for u devil! n beware! what u do now will hap to next generation..esp i also have a son.. dont know how to stop the thought... i haven been talking to her last 3 days since i'm sick no mood & i also worry my hb will feel upset to get sandwich. but i stil hope to move out so that we can really be independent. somehw i feel we are still v dependent on her & i really think that's not healthy.

i wanna b independent run a household myself like any couple, work & have own house, perhaps hire a PT cleaner to clean up fortnightly. but the though of living alone means no food aft work, tabao or rush cooking or spend extra order tingkat but my hb is fussy eater & he work till v late so if no homecook food he will suffer alot.

am trying to remind myself we have a lovely son who doesnt come easy after 2 miscg God has been so kind to remind us to cherish! dont feel regret marrying the man who doesnt give the normal lifestyle u expect & yearn for. that's life. but still i wish it wasnt this way. but sigh well at least at the moment he no longer working a night spot & he still dotes on me as much as he could, i guess i shd have accepted this fact b4 marrying.. silly me..

anyone aiming anything from combi? am getting sponsor for our xmas party game prizes & they selling combi & ask anything in particular we might be interested, no obligation of cos.

Createjoy- wht happened to u? Hope u are better. Y not go out n hv a breather. M sure as u said tt your mil means well.so if can close eyes jus close if not then go out.

sweethalo cannot everyday go out leh v siong i not wking & brg jayden alot things to brg somemore i dont latch i pump. he reaching 6mth soon will reduce pump fm 4 to 3 once he reached.. as the saying goes "xiang jian rong yi tong zhu nan" bound to have conflict esp aft have kids, they want to care for gdson & i wanna care for my son in my own way. that's y i rather put him in infant care nxt yr than let her tend everyday carry, watch tv. i dont like.. Just recvr from tonsili infection used to get it very oftn but stopped 1.5yr ago sigh unexpectedly it start to cm back again..

createjoy, hope u r feeling better.

I understand, my mil is doing the same thing, carrying my girl, let her watch tv /pissed. I am gg to take care myself in Jan and keep her out of bound!!

btw mummies interested in HT stuffs, collection at kovan. let me know latest by today hor.thks.

sweethalo : the signs i picked up from sophie was a lot of drooling, wanting to put everything and anything into her mouth to chew, sudden change in sleeping pattern (waking up twice as compared to sleeping the whole night), wanting more food and not being contented with just milk anymore AND being cranky for no apparent reason!

it's quite hard to distinguish the above signs as pre-teething blues because it's what any normal baby will do.but they say teething starts from 4mths - 9mths.and the bottom front teeth will be the first to pop so maybe you can check as and when you have that nagging suspicion.

with sophie now,she feels better with teething gel, lots of cuddling and singing and chewing on her teethers that i have been putting in the fridge overnight.

this morning,she woke up at 5.45am.i changed her diaper,fed her 2 ounces before she wanted me to pace about the room with her till she fell asleep.and she kept opening her eyes every 2 mins to check if i was still there.so i plopped her beside me on my bed and wanted to get at least 20mins of sleep before i needed to get ready for work.Unfortunately,because her gums were so itchy and she didnt know how to make that feeling go away,she eneded up crying in her sleep.....

i'm sooooo tired now.

anybody buying the Leap Frog Learn & Groove Musical Table from Toys R Us at $59.95? Was thinking of getting it for Sophie's xmas gift but not sure if it's just going to turn into another white elephant sitting in my living room.

createjoy : i've also had my share of problems with family (even hubby) but end of the day, my only thought is that i am now Sophie's mom first and foremost.and i would do anything for my baby.including piss other people off AND throw myself in front of a moving train if it would benefit my sophie.i'm sure you're the same. my MIL also lives alone but our parenting styles are really different and when push came to shove i sat hubby down and explained to him that either we find alternative accomodation while we were in brisbane (we were staying in her house at that time and hubby wasnt home as he was catching up with his friends most of the time) or i would take the first flight back to singapore.he got the message and we moved into a service apt a few days later.we never really told my mil the reasl reason we left as we didnt want to hurt her feelings since she stays by herself as well.but i felt that was the best solution for sophie and if hubby couldnt understand,then i would take action myself.

Tinybubu,

I m eye-ing dat for my boy xmas pressie also. Tmr heading down to Orchard, will down by paragon to take a look.

Ordered the munchkin magic cube fr bp also.

tubbymummu,sweethalo: normal huh? besides appearing thinner he feels lighter too.. i do not have a weighing machine at home so do not know am i thinking too much (affected by the remarks by them...) but from the gathering the other day, i saw all the babies like very chubby leh... hmmmm...

tiny_bubu: the leapfrog table can use the macdonald monopoly sticker to buy ma?

Hello mummies..
haven't log in for a looong time. Busy with BB a couple of weeks ago becos he had diarrhea for one week, then work gets crazier as my boss gets more incompetent by the day. I need a new job!

Belated congrats to Fatmom!

beemom, can I exchange friso with you when u rec'd? I have mamil gold. PM me if u are interested.

MaryG, I don't think a less chubby baby is due to the FM. Our little ones are growing each day and getting more and more active. Weight gain will slow down at this stage as well. My boy has been on Friso since 3mths old and he is still chubby lor. He did look as though he slimmed down a few weeks ago becos he has really become more active and has suddenly shoot up 3cm. In fact, he put on another 100gm during the one week he had diarrhea.

Re:tiger food jar that bbaug mentioned
U can get it cheaper at Heap Seng at Liang Seah street. Got mine at ard $69 as they offer discounts. The food warmer was on sale the time I went there but I didn't buy it. Can't rem the price. Heap Seng has occasional sale on the household appliances so if u happen to be near bugis, u can drop by and check out their items.

No time to read so many archives!

createjoy, take care and get well soon! Must stay well to take good care of jayden. Just tolerate a bit more since u are gg to send jayden to infant care next year.

maryg : just called robinsons @ centrepoint.they're selling the table for $49.95 and toys r us is selling for $59.95.

for the macdonalds coupon, definitely can use.i also have one - $10 off with every $50 purchase right?ehehehe.

MaryG,

I hv 2 of e stickers too. Hope can combine with RBS.

Babysara,

What time u popping over? I will b @ Taka Sushi Tei abt 12 then drop by after lunch.

Tinybubu - ooo thanks for the info abt pre-teething for Sophie. Noah has been biting at everything he gets his hands on and these few weeks he hasn't been sleeping as well as he did previously (not that he was sleeping very well but now it' worse) He's been constantly waking almost every hr and I am so drained by the time it's dawn. I am wondering if indeed it's signs of teething but when I asked the PD on Monday, he said nope...

Noah hasn't been drooling alot so I guess maybe he really isn't teething then.. just wonder what's up with him waking so much in the night lately. Maybe it's signs that he needs to start solids soon? I really can't figure.

babysara - yep. 1 of each for me... may I ask how to pay you? Actually, has anyone tried the barley cereal? is it any good?

bbjun: really huh? as u say yr boy is chubby so i think really not about the fm le. my boy is very active! he did appear taller though. sigh... if only 'they' understand... coming 7th bringing him for his next set of injections n PD checkup. hopefully to hear some good news so can ease my mind then.

tiger jar: really just put uncooked rice in and it will auto cook huh?

tiny_bubu,bbpotato: might as well buy from robinson since after using the macdonald coupon = same price still able to get rebates.

i bought a "bu kia yi" aka "mother son chair" the type that we used to sit in during our younger days. $38 lo!!! wah lau!! but alright la. bb can sit and when he is not using any adult can sit as stool. buying 1 more to put at my mom's.

i still can't wear my wedding band and wrap shoes... anyone with same problem?

so fast cny coming. at least this time round can gain back a little angbaos. heehehehe.