(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Yalo ...very frustrated on tis! i dunno tat aunty, scare cant get along oso le. She got experiance taking care baby may be better ba

shers & 915, okok. so u all go fast food there eat first while wait for me..i will sms shers when i reach then go mit u all there loh

grace, when i had my #1 and i hired an experienced CL, we also had lots of headaches and problems..so let alone someone close to u and has no experience.

as for the auntie, u dun have to talk to her so much, she juz helped u with cleaning baby and taking care of baby when u sleep. Is she going to take care of baby overnight too?

As for ur close fren, she can always come and visit u and give u moral support. i think at least u have someone close to talk to, if she were to do confinement for u, if u angry with her then how?

ok Porky

piggypig, we r meeting at vivocity today.. i will reach ard 6pm.. whoever reach, sms or call me..

now know gender already, for 1st time mummies, can start to buy clothings especially now got sales..

grace, y dont u engage a confinement lady instead? CL scope of work is to cook for u and hb, do simple housework, wash clothings, take care of bb.. and our job during confinement is to slp, eat and be cow (BF!)

The auntie not helping overnight.
My close fren ah i know her almost 16 yrs already, quarrel many time b4, She nvr keep into heart de. If she helping me, can accompany/stay wif me for 1 month.

Shers,
No point to engage a CL now ..hubby dont trust them + he can get aunty for me day time is enough for me.

piggypig, no need to get upset with dr tham's waiting time... get used to it! when i had my no 1, i waited for nearly 3 hrs.. then assistant told us to go back.. said dr tham got emergency c-sect to attend to... i was like 'duh~'

now what i do is called before going down.. if appt time is 4pm, i reach at 6pm..

so usually i make appt at 330pm.. then by the time i knock off and reach there, ard 6pm.. i only waited for less than 10mins and its my turn..

they go by appt Q.. no point reaching in time or early..

this is my experience la.. u give it a try then u wldnt feel so frustrated..

but once i see dr tham, i feel so assured.. because he will tell me 'sara, dont worry. u and yr bb are doing well'

i put on 6kgs.. and he asks me whether i eat very well during xmas period.. hahhaa.. and says can continue to put on weight during CNY but try to avoid eating too much ba qua

grace, seems that the helps u have isnt goin to help alot..

u need:

1) food (catering)
2) wash clothings (aunty? or friend)
3) clean house (aunty? or friend)
4) take care of bb in daytime (aunty)
5) take care of bb at nite (yourself or friend)
6) drinks?
7) tonic soup at night?
8) boil water for shower/ clean body/ brush teeth/ face?
9) shower bb?

u may think its simple because u have no idea what to expect.. but going through the the process, its not as simple as u tot..

Sallen...the first baby item I am going to buy is cot mattress..hehe. I have been eyeing on one cot mattress at Robinson. It costs $160...no discount even during sale..haiz.

Hey...Fox baby...I like their design.

Thanks Shers for the invitation. My shopping trip for tonight has been cancelled. I cannot join you all too cos hubby works late tonight. I need to go and fetch my boy home from childcare.

Hey Shers..I like the design of your bed! Very innovative. Babies can sleep on the smaller bed and both you and hubby on the big one, then babies will not fall off the bed easily. Must show my hubby this pic...

All mummies, enjoy your shopping! Sorry cannot join you all. Next time, ok....Let us know what you have bought tom! okie

if yr hb doesnt trust CL, ask him to stay home and do all the works required.. cant expect u to do right?? else, might as well dont do confinement..

i get upset when hb or male friends comment how easy these works.. this happened to my sil as well.. her hb also sounds as if its so easy.. no need to engage CL etc.. luckily my sil insisted then got a good CL.. when the hb stayed home on sunday, then he knew there r alot of things to do

J&M, sure! join us some other days..

now cant shift mattresses.. but once i gave birth, i wanted to change position of mattresses.. put queen size inside and single size outside.. so my 2 kids will slp with me on queen size inside and my hb on single size outside.. else got a gap..

i heard that sk is doing renovation, do give her some idea as this can last longer though more expensive than buying cot.. somemore if u r planning for another, even more useful.. no need to worry where to let no 1 slp if no 2 takes over the cot..

Shers,
1. Food - catering
2. wash/ clean hse - hubby / friend
3. take care bb day - aunty / friend
4. take care bb nite - me/ hubby take turn lo
5. tonic soup at night / drinks - hubby
6. boil water /clean body/brush teech/ face -
me / hubby can do ba
7. shower bb - aunty/ friend / hubby lo

I never think tat is easy..tat's y i so frustrated on tis so long since i start preggy

My hubby willing listen to me get 1 day time helper for me i already thanx GOD! he so stubborn =.='

grace, dont think u can do alot during that period.. u r supposed to rest!! with bf-ing alone, u r tired already..

think twice ok? moreover, natural birth, cant carry heavy things for 3 months and c-sect cannot carry heavy things for 6 months.. think twice.. kinda worry for u le..

since yr hb doesnt wan others to help, ask him to take leave and stay home to help.. i have heard that some hb did so..

u just remember that u r not supposed to do anything but slp, bf, eat only ok?? then u ask him what can he contribute.. after his work, its so late already.. what can do he?

if doesnt trust CL, just dont leave bb with her during nite time or can ask yr friend to slp together with bb and CL..

at least CL can cook, do housework, prepare the necessary thing..

hmm.. how abt yr mum or mil?

by the way, who r meeting later ar??

1) shers
2) jamie
3) porky
4) adrienne
5) 915
6) piggypig

anymore?? so long porky reaches, we set off liao hor??

i feel like eating the hotdog at basement le.. thats very yummy and messy!!

grace, not trying to scare u lor...newborns feed and poo many times a day...so changing diapers is already not easy. somemore with the mood swings u r going to face not easy.

If u r going to breastfeed then at night probably u will be the one waking up.

shers, so ur 2nd bb, u will engage maid or CL ? i am looking for maid too..but aft cny then find..btw, u say now cant shift mattress..so can shift the furnitres in our room or not ? pantang ??

915, Shers

My hubby bully me lor ..*bery sad*
He said i very weak like others ppl tis and tat ..cant handle w/o CL or helper

Tat's y i call my close fren to help but my hubby dont let baby sleep wif other ppl, if i talk abt tis topic wif him sure quarrel again!

hi shers, i can't join in tonight, maybe next round

tml my appt with Dr Tham is actually at 4.15pm. I shall try yr technique tml, hopefully i can make it after i knock off, so no need to leave in bet office hours! Kinda of difficult to get time off work le.

Porky,
my mum say pantang, cannot shift things. dunno why also.
i can't even shift out shelves or bed to do springcleaning, not even if i'm not the one moving the stuff

Porky..I remember my mum has reminded me upteem times not to shift anything in the bedroom especially our bed. If you need to shift other things in the house, ask your hubby to do it and you stay away from that place until it is done. Mum said baby very pantang one...dun know true or not..

Grace...how can your hubby treat you like that...angry lah..
kao_angry.gif

like what Shers has mentioned above, how abt getting help from your mum or mil?

i heard that before..1st 3 months cant shift anything..i thot now can liao mah..lucky i have not shift yet..cos i wan to re-arrange my furnitures to accomodate study table and bb cot..so now must do after birth loh..btw, we can change our own bed sheets or not ?? or hubby can change ??

If mum / mil can help i no need worry le ..my mum take gd care herself i more then happy liao!

My hubby dont trust others to take care his 1st child ..CL/babysitter those auntie all he dont trust de

He not willing to pay tat amount of $ to them, he find tat not worth but he cant take 1 whole month Annual leave to help me

grace, perhaps u should get hold of those postnatal hotline no or the confinement nanny service from the hospitalin case u need them. they will be more ex but at least u have the numbers handy in case u or hubby cannot manage.

meanwhile for a start, it might be wise that u & hubby can go for those 6-week parent preparation course where they teach u how to take care of baby. we took that and i think it's somewhat useful, at least they tell us what to expect

porky, i confirmed CL liao.. going to use back my ex CL.. she is very good.. actually my neighbour doesnt need her maid already. her youngest daughter is pri 6 this yr.. so she asks me whether want her maid ornot.. i interviewed the maid already.. she is ok.. i knew this maid for almost 2 yrs also.. she is ok la.. experienced in housework, cooking and taking care bb (she got 3 kids her own)

most probably will take over her during july. after my confinement but before i go back to work..

porky, my mama asks me not to shift bed frame and mattresses.. in case la.. quite pantang especially when come to bed.. as for furniture in hse, can shift.. but u dont see la..

porky, the hotdog shop is very near to the kopitiam.. once u reach the 'entrance of vivo from NEL', turn right...

grace, 915 is right.. get those hotlines in case.. i feel like slapping yr hb... urgh~~

Grace,

I have engaged a CL to help with confinement and I am still worried. Sometimes $$ cannot be saved one,after giving birth,the women is weak and needs plenty of rest.

I personally think getting an auntie to help out is better. Btw, is your close fren a mummy herself? Does she have experience with babies? Pardon me for saying this,if she has no experience with baby care and house chores,you might find her a "hinderance" more than help.

JRT, no need to worry with CL ard.. initially me also worried.. kept wanting to have my bb ard, dont wan to rest, at nite wanted to keep bb with me.. until 3rd nite, CL told me.. 'u give me $ to come and help u yet u dont wan to rest and want to do all yrself' 'women once gave birth, its like missing a piece of meat, so need to rest alot to 'bu' body' 'once 28 days is up, i go back and u have lots of years to take care of yr kid, y worry?'

then hor, i think quite true la.. and rest as much.. then CL knew that i wanted bb ard.. so she will let bb lay on my bed with me but when come to changing and slping, bb is with her..

grace,

have a good talk with yr hb again.. and good luck!

like what JRT says, some money cannot be saved de..

hahas! you all same as my colleague got same feeling .. my hubby really too much on tis but wat to do he is the baby father. He tot easy let him ba later he will think the solution when cannot cope

btw, he willing to get 1 auntie for me already bery good le..talk to him until vomit blood!

My close fren not yet marry, no experiance de

grace..ur hb sound like an expert leh...but he like not understanding your feeling loh...i know he care for bb..but he also must care for u mah..have a good talk with him again ok ?

shers, so u all confirm go eat the hotdog liao ah ? if ok, i will go there find u all..else u sms me when u all confirm the place to eat..i reach mrt, then i go straight there

so can change our own bedsheets or not ???

porky, i wish to eat la.. the rest didnt say anything lor.. hehehe.. best is when u abt to reach, u sms me and will tell u the place..

can change bedsheets la.. hehehe.. dont tell me all along u didnt change hor..

but because we need to lift mattress to change bedsheet, better dont do yrself.. heavy.. let yr hb do

hahaha...tell u the truth...all along i thot cannot change bedsheets..so i dont dare to change eversince i test +ve ard 7 weeks..then 12 weeks, i told hubby to help me change..he say lazy..but in the end he got change..anyhow do only..from then until now still not change loh..so must tell him to change liao..cny is coming..

grace - if your close fren is not married, then i really dun tink she will be of much help to you. she can come by to visit, to listen and give moral support but i doubt she will be able to help with bb matters.

if your hb is really against CL, then having the auntie come by in the day is better than nothing. you need all the rest and help you can get during the confinement. basically, you z when the bb z, or else you won't hv enuf rest and energy for the nite feeds.

I think my fren can help alot on wash, house work and boil hot water for me shower ...baby when bf i still can take care so tat my hubby wont kp alot ma ..

grace - it's not impossible without CL help, juz dat you might not be able to rest as well. 1 of my girlfrens did not have help at all during her confinement. she did everything herself, except the cooking, which her mum did and had it delivered over by her dad. it was really madness and tiring basically. do tink thru the issue carefully.

If i order a new cotbed and mothercare delivers and help assembles, is it ok? ANy pan tang on new furniture in the house?

I feel like changing my curtain to black out ones too but dun know if i should change or not cos old wives has it that u shouldnt change move anything sigh...

Grace,
I remember you were having this talk abt the CL thingy some time ago. I thought it was resolved and your hubby let you hire a CL. Seems like now its not the case. You must really take care not to overwork during your confinement period.
You won;t feel anything now but when you get older, all the aching and back ache will come as you did not thoroughly rest throughout the confinement period. This is the advise given to me by my mummy. She did her confinement herself and now she is suffering body aches all the time.
Actually why don't you insist and hire a CL and pay for it yourself. Your hubby cannot stop you from hiring someone.

guess wat!! today we found out that my maid stole at least $500-$600 (in $1 coins in a piggy bank!) from my mom!! We called police already and she still insist that she didnt take. Then just now when I went out with the girls, she confessed to my mom that she took the money. She say she take and pass to another maid who kana beaten by her employer, so wanna help her runaway. The money still missing and she's still insisting it that way. My mom called the agency and recorded her confession to the agent. My maid so sickening rite... Got police come and talk to her and scare her she still blank expression.

star, i think u can't move ur bed only rite? Last 2 days I just did my wall and I moved the bedside table around but didnt touch the bed tho I was pretty tempted.

RE: CL...
my mom also say get a CL cuz she not confident to do for me, she say cooking MAYBE ok, cuz can follow recipe (she's gd at following recipes) but she's worried she can't handle the baby and the impt confinement things to take note of.. like the herbal bath or watever things.. so i'm wondering, since recipes can be handle but wat abt the rest of the confinement stuff? really need CL ma?

Yes, i think b4 to hire a CL pay by myself but i know my hubby very well ..he will make her difficult and complaint alot during the confinement i dont want end up get more depress

Star:
ask your hb to be around. is gd that u do down to take a walk when the person doing those things.

Grace:
u going for normal or c-ecesarn?
for wat i understand normal need at least one to heal...
if c-ecesarn, need longer time....so it will be good if u have a helper.