(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

FOLLOWING MUMMY, PLS CONFIRM so i can proceed to confirm with JG ..

Julia Gabriel Play Nest:

The proposed Date: 24th August, Monday, 1 p.m.

Who's keen?

======================================

The playnest program will cover:
- Shapes
- Color
- Story telling
- Audiophonics
- Music / movements
- Outdoor play (swimming and etc)
- Art & craft
- Organic snacks

The cost - SGD37 plus 7% GST

24th Aug, Monday, 1 p.m
Interested:
1) 2nd bb
2) joanne81
3) ikeike
4)Jowinbaby ( I try to apply leave)
5) zachmommy (how many ppl can go?)
6) Echt
7) Fabbie
8) Iris
9) Merydith
10)

ya i feel mine is really very lucky up to now that she staying with us for about 5 months le..
she said is cheaper and is i lazy to do the posting and buying the stamps for her etc.. and also we wont know what will she post back and what will she receive.. that why i think just call is better.. and i told her.. she want to call anytime just tell us, we will definitely let her de..

i don lock my rooms coz she also need to clean my room.. and also i feel the most precious one is in her hands liao.. no point for me to lock wherever to prevent her stealing..

evanmummy (stella? sorry i scared i called the wrong person hee hee).. how come ur maid got so many request?? can they request for all those?? perfume?? i don even wear perfume when carry my baby out with me.

philipino maid really have more request than indo one.. aiyo

Stella,
Urs Philippino maid ar? Mine is Indon..

Jo/Yogi,
Wah i didn't know i need to be so specific in chores...i drafted out a daily routine that she has to sweep/mop the floor, take care of Jordan with full attention, then cook lunch/dinner, do laundry...then when either one of us is home, then she can do other chores like wiping the furniture...
I expect her to take care of Jordan with full attention instead of having to rush to do the chores then neglect him..I can't bear to let Jordan cries..
Hubby once said we can tell her 'no need to do hsework' during the day, only take care of Jordan..Can meh? Sekali she slacks how...
Yea hor, i forgot about the valuables...Hubby has many CCs lying around in the house one..hmm...

Taybaby,
Ur maid indon also? Can she speak English well? next time we can have outings together lo...

mine is indo also.. ha ha her english right.. when we got her.. we were TOLD her english and understanding can rate around 8.. but when we got her till now.. think we can rate her english and understanding as 4 nia.. i don mean to say we very clever or they very stupid.. but really cannot expect too much of them de.. and must make them understand if don get what we talking, must say.. don always yes mdm yes sir but don't get what we said..

mine one.. i am giving her english lesson whenever i am at home. ha ha i told her.. since she come here work, can learn english, learn.. we will repeat and say and explain.. so she can learn and go back and find better job..

rachel, i let my maid go to the market and give her $50 each time for each marketing. So i guess it's impossible to control who she speaks with when she's out since no one follows her. She will normally write down what she has spent on but i also dunno if she takes $1 or $2 here and there. Sometimes no choice just gotta close one eye. What matters most is she is good to the baby and hopefully not only when you are around then put on a show. Since you mentioned your maid is ex-sin, she will sure have made friends here liao and probably a bit smarter than those who are new here. You got install camera to monitor rite?

I think when Jordan is napping, she should be able to do some housework. I think you just need to tell her priority is the baby, but certain housework still need to be done.

Taybaby,
Wah free english lessons...Good also lor at least she can communicate better with u..

Yogi,
U r right, when Jordan is napping she shd be able to do some housework...But u allow her to do marketing? We dun, as we plan to buy one week's groceries during weekend then that's it...If possible, dun let her go out lor...

Yogi,
Yep i installed 2 cameras to monitor her lor. Not sure if she will be offended by that or not...but i dun care la, what most importantly is my baby...

So may i ask, when u get home u guys will take care of bb while the maid does the housework? Will maid helpout even when u r home?
What about during the day when there is only the maid and bb? Do u allow the bb to be in the kitchen while maid cooks?

really depends leh.. but normally when i get home.. i will bath first then carry my baby.. is a habit liao.. my helper will still help with baby like feeding cereal and bathing even when I am home also.. ha ha mine right.. mostly i want to give my baby last feed at 8.30pm myself and at times she also want to "snatch" my mommy-baby bonding time lo..

during day when my helper and baby alone.. i told her baby wakes up.. she can don do housework and take care and play with baby.. some times she want to cook then will leave my baby at jumperoo for him to play himself.. and my jumperoo is situated at a place where kitchen also can see de..

Rachel yah lor no choice coz no time to do grocery shopping during the week and on weekends shopping malls are a nightmare! Plus she cooks lunch and dinner so actually alot of stuff to buy so i let her go to the market about twice a week. Since your helper is alone with the baby, you can ask her to cook more for dinner and save some for lunch the next day. Just be careful where she leaves the baby when she is cooking dinner as they are soooooo active now and can easily climb out of high chair or bumbo.

Usually my mum or MIL will be around so most of the time she will be supervised. When I get home I will have dinner first then take care of baby myself at night. She is able to do housework in the day as taking care of baby is not her main task as mum/mil is around even though she will help out.

Mommies!

I GOT THE JOB!! They offer me 400bucks more than my current pay, but the thing is, as this is a contract job, they are NOT contributing my CPF hence i would need to contribute the 400 into my CPF my own...although they give me 6 days leave and 4 days MC, but that's really not the point...

HOW?

rachel.. my cpf need to pay for the flat.. do you have to? if have too, then makes no difference in pay.. in fact got contribution better.. got employee and employer contribution one right..

+ the distance travelling is far i find.. and the contract is 6 months nia..

if it is me.. i will not risk changing.. since u found this offer.. maybe you can find another better job offer..

Rachel,

actually, I think u treat them decently and see how it goes .. if they abuse the trust and kindness u give them .. then at least u know that YOU'VE tried your best ... it's her fault. They are being dumb when they get a nice employer like that. It's simply their loss.

If u treat them badly and scare them away being too fierce and always scolding them .. also no point what .. u need them to help you ..

These maids are just too smart ... they KNOW u need them .. especially for those mummies who go out to work .. so they try to push their luck and REQUEST for things like Stella's maid. Her maid isn't the only one la .. I've heard from friends about all sorts of requests maid by these maids.

Stella,

She said she did teeth whitening in the Phillipines ..? Sure or not? It's like $900-1200 here leh .. She's freaking LYING lor. I give my maid yearly one month bonus plus money on their birthday, and on Hari Raya (mine's an Indon) .. but no way am I ever paying for teeth whitening lor. crazy.

Really no way to change maids? I think her requests will only get more preposterous lor. teeth whitening? Ask her she want botox and maybe liposuction too or not. lol.

Taybaby,

I know..this new job is demanding and they told me sometimes have to work OT, which means i have less time for Jordan..unlike my current job, too free and can knock off on time..The distance is also another factor, as i told u this morning, i need to take feeder then take mrt then feeder again..

But how come my heart still wants the job?

Sam,
Heard of too many cases on maid abuse bb, i think i better be nice to her...yea, at least I tried my best to treat her as a family...if she misbehaves, then too bad...
Anyways i'm nice by nature..so no point pretending to be fierce and mean also la..

Sam
Ur maid is a Muslim? Does she need to fast for their hari raya? Mine is a Muslim and she told me she doesn't have to fast as she is a 'worker' here so need food....

rachel, u want that job because u want to leave ur current place. That is the push factor. Can u tink of the pull factor that makes u tink that the new job is what u wanted? When I accepted my new job offer, i consider Pay, Place, People and Power and then weight them. During these consideration, ur mind must be very neutral..then u will get the answer.

Maid
My maid never worked outside Phillipines before but that doesn't make her gullible rite?? She could be like Stella's, asking for this and that. But by nature, i m not a very trusting person (i dun trust ppl too easily), so I will question and question until i get the facts right before I will give in. For maid, I tink we need to be stern but at the same time not too restrictive bah. Luckily she dun hv to take care of Zach so i hv nothing to worry abt..i suppose in SG there are no cases whereby maid gang up with outsider to loot the whole house like Malaysia bah?? Hahaha

afternoon ladies

juz waki not long from my nap. m stuck at home for these 2 daes until my swab restuls is out. but lucky 2 daes nia. gp gave mi 7daes mc but company onli give 2 daes unless im positive den will be 7 daes mc.

now whole body aching badly. super sianz.

fabbie
will transfer total of $10 to u in a while k. for d cap + cups. =)

fabb, I've transferred $0.50 to yr acct. Pls check for ref 5691. Thanku.

I've got myself a maid too... she's a trf and has a record of stealing. Why am I still engaging her?? Well, according to her, she stole cos she wanted to $$ to buy phonecard. Her previous owner kept all her $$ and I've spoken to the previous owner to verify that its true. What's different about this maid is that she owns up to her mistake unlike others die die wont admit... So I gv her the benefit of the doubt and take her in.... Yellow ribbon project whaahha at my own risk lor....

Talk about stealing. My aunt's maid stole my sis Ipod. The strange thing is she didn't steal the charger and still manage to charge it... How to do that ah?? When discovered, she claims it was found in my sis's pocket during the laundry. Wow now you know Ipod is waterproof! hahahahah.....
Haiz aunt dotes this maid too much and willing to fly her parents over at fully paid expenses in exchange not to let her go home... she claims otherwise no one does her housechores...*faint*

super sia...remind me of my friend, her maid also stealing fm her..but she lazy to change maid so just kept her..n she blame herself for no keeping her stuff haha

Julia Gabriel Play Nest:

Who's keen?

- Shapes
- Color
- Story telling
- Audiophonics
- Music / movements
- Art & craft
- Organic snacks

24th Aug, Monday, 1 p.m
Interested:
1) 2nd bb
2) joanne81 - confirmed
3) ikeike
5) zachmommy (how many ppl can go?)
6) Echt
7) Fabbie
8) Iris
9) Merydith
10)

Julia Gabriel Play Nest:

Who's keen?

- Shapes
- Color
- Story telling
- Audiophonics
- Music / movements
- Art & craft
- Organic snacks

24th Aug, Monday, 1 p.m
Interested:
1) 2nd bb
2) joanne81 - confirmed
3) ikeike
5) zachmommy - confirmed
6) Echt
7) Fabbie
8) Iris
9) Merydith
10)

Rachel,

yes, of course .. I think all of us by nature are nice and all we want is someone to HELP US OUT !! .. lol. My previous maid ... 3 years with me, and I have never scolded or yelled at her AT ALL. I think that generally, it's rude to yell at another person lor. If it's your KID and you're scolding her then so be it .. it's YOUR KID. But your maid is your EMPLOYEE not your child.

And like you said, dunno how they treat your kid if you anyhow scream and yell at them. Even for me, I wake up after my kids .. so she's the one who bathes them and gives them breakfast .. I dowan her to not happy anyhow scold my girls what.

Rachel, your maid is rite .. no point asking her to fast cos of her religion ... she'll be very lethargic etc. They know they're here to work so they were aldy briefed by the agency that they are not supposed to pray or fast.

U think you're being nice letting her pray ... my friend told me (my friend is Malay) told me that her ex maid would purposely take a long time to pray .. but then how to scold ..? People PRAYING what. And Muslims pray 5 times a day. So it's not practical if your maid is watching your baby ... how will she watch him while she's praying?!!

So no, be firm and say that this is a 2 year contract ... no fasting no praying.

Sam,
Thanks. I asked her during the interview and she said she is not praying nor fasting..so still OK lor...

Wonder if it's possible for me to bathe Jordan at 7am+ before i go to work? Like too early right? But before i can trust her that she will take gd care of Jordan, i think bathroom is the most dangerous place....She might accidentally knock his head and slipped...aiya i'm getting so worried now!!

Jo,

hahahaha
actually, your friend has a point la .. my hubby also told me not to leave money lying around ... not cos the maid might take .. but why present the opportunity? ... better to be careful and then the maid also won't be tempted.

Ikeike,

ya lor .. u know why your aunt dotes on the maid? Cos she does all the things other ppl won't do lor. like housework and cooking. For me, if my mum comes to "help" .. she just does a bit then that's it .. I can't task her with chores etc .. and then I also may hear her irritating and unhelpful comments about this and that. lol. SO for me, my new maid .. she's not very bright and has very little initiative but she does her job decently well and I am happy with her. I don't mind getting her things and bringin her here and there with me. I think generally Indonesians aren't as daring as Filos .. they won't ask for this and that. My previous maid, 3 years with me .. we were good friends yet she still knew where the line was.

Rachel, I think you can give Jordan a bath before you leave .. just make sure it's warm lor. Tell her that under no circumstance is she to walk into the bathroom carrying Jordan .. you're right .. cos she's still new to him .. and his weight and if she hasn't had enough practice beforehand, she may slip with him.

the worst thing with these maids, is that they're too frightened to tell you later.

Please please tell her that no matter what .. she must call you immediately if Jordan hits his head anywhere .. tell her you won't scold her .. but that he might get internal injuries etc etc.

Sam,
Actually this is the relationship i'm hoping to build with my maid...we can be friends but yet she knows where her limits are.

Sometimes i think they quite poor thing. Have to come all the way here to earn $$ to support the family (wonder what their husbands doing?!) especially the kids...we as mothers will definitely miss our babies, let alone them..I dun mind my maid dotes on Jordan but i hope she dun try to overtake my position as the mother..NO WAY!!

Rachel,

ya, it's good if you can achieve that too. I miss my ex-maid
sometimes feel quite lonely in the afternoons .. cos I usually chat with her .. hahah.

Ya, that's why my previous maid had to leave after 3 yrs with me. Her dotter was growing up w/o her and her MIL was lookin after her and the old lady made the little girl call her "mum" .. my maid was so fed up.

sam, u r so right! And she noes my aunt very well. She's besides a maid, she's her chaperone too. Having said that, she lied to my aunt abt owning a hp and my aunt juz closes her eye. We gv up hope on telling her abt the stealing incident as we will be told that the amount is intangible or be blamed for lying it around.

About owning hp, I'm considering to allow her to own one. Then again I'm worried she chats non stop till wee hours and be tired the next day on the job. I don't like to cut her means of communication with her family leh and a hp is so common nowadays. How ah?

Thanks Sam...Will take note of that...Will definitely tell her that IF SHE ACCIDENTALLY (Touchwood) hits Jordan's head, must inform my IMMEDIATELY...

Sigh..

What!!! The MIL siao one ar? How could she do that? Then again, MILs are never the same as our own moms lor..Our own moms will definitely not do that!!

If my maid ever teach Jordan to address her 'Mom', i will for sure terminate her contract! Then again what if the maid says that she is teaching the bb how to call 'mum'/ 'dad'?!

ya, must stress that .. tell her u understand that Jordan is very active and may get into bumps and scrapes .. but she MUST inform you ...

ya tell me abt it ... *sigh*

sam..can i order outside drugstore? like victoria secret and then ship together wif urs? then i can save the base shipping charges?

hayden's school has 1 case of H1N1...

i'm planning if there is 2 more cases in school n there is a suspected "community" spread there i will take hayden out!!! i called Dr Foo and she says that children like hayden might develop pnemonia n also complications... Zzzzzzzzzzz

The problem i think now is that hayden's teacher teaches the toddler class too, which is together with the main childcare area.. if only the IFC area is totally isolated...

Rachel, don't worry ... babies ALWAYS know who's the maid, who's the mom. My friend has 2 maids in her house .. one for looking after her dotter .. the lil girl sleeps with her etc cos my friend works long hours and needs her sleep but the little girl (she's now 5) KNOWS who's mummy and daddy .. and that the maid is the maid. She may help her with bathing, eating etc .. but she's not MOM.

eh.. rachel.. i dun think u know.. hmm.. hayden's first bbsitter addressed herself as "auntie mummy".. then that time i superglue with hayden so i fired her b4 hayden was taken care by her..

kath, you want to order vistoria's secret ah? how much u ordering? ... I'll order all under my name and credit card and u refund me later lor. ya, share shipping base .. good idea.

if that is acceptable to you .. then send me your VS orders too. then I order everything at one go. If I add in anything to VS .. we split accordingly lor.

but the GST how? won't they total up everything and charge? or is it per merchant?

phyl
oh no. muz monitor hayden closely. slight cough n flu muz go c dr immediately.

but how come d teacher not juz solely look afta babies in ifc one?

sam, gst is combined amt if exceed usd$400.. our will not go over rite??

phyl, got a new cherie hearts outlet opening at Cecil St. Open house on Friday and Saturday.. hehe. I will go n see on Friday.

hmm.. he having his cough flu thing for 3wks liao.. as long it doesnt get worse then ok lor..

maybe the school wanna cut cost lor.. she goes there for a few hours i think.. circle time..

news flash.. 2mins ago my boss told me that my colleague got H1N1... Zzzzzzzz

aiya.. i know sooner or later everyone will get it.. but then i worry too much abt children getting it.. if its only me n hubby.. i dun really care if i get it or not.. but i just dun want hayden to get it.. or my MIL (coz she is on social visit pass.. medical bill ex... hahaha)

marilyn.. when ur result out? u better le ma?

Phyl,
Yea! What the hell is 'aunty mommy'? Aiyo...these ppl, wanna be the mommy go give birth la...How can they address themselves as the 'mommy'/'aunty mommy'?!

How did u find out?

Hmmm, the IFC which has 1 H1N1 case, isn't it the new school which hayden just started??

Kath,
U mean the maid u r hiring is solely doing hsework and not taking care of Zach? Zach will still go to IFC?

kath.. i saw the cherie heart b4.. keke.. that time meet bur for lunchie i told her.. keke.. cherie heart is very ex leh.. hwa chong just open 1 new one too.. 750 after subsidy.. near my workplace..

rachel.. ya.. new school..

auntie mummy is auntie mummy lor.. keke.. that time hayden 2mth old nia.. i went home cry tell hubby i dun want that bbsitter coz hayden have to call her auntie mummy.. wahahhaa.. then my block of wood said, "hayden dunno how to talk so wont call her auntie mummy"...

hwa chong is a ifc? i tot they are sec school? hehehe

rach, my maid is solely staying home to keep my house tidy and do the laundry and cook. When i get home, juz take care of zach while i bathe etc etc.. i dunno will she be very free but one of my colleague's maid oso like tat. stay home do hse work while her kid is at child care..haha

super sian.. this maid agency ah.I was asked to select a total of 4 maids and till now, i havent gotten a single one. All after i select, they say either taken or not ready etc etc. Today, select another one. Hopefully tat is the final one.

Wah Kath,

Most ppl hire maid to take care of bb and do hsework, but u hire maid just to do hsework? Not bad not bad...ur maid going to have a good life le...

Phyl,
Yea isn't hwa chong a JC?

phyl
hwa chong opened a cherie hearts???...aiyah...if we are still here...i can send emma there..and you send hayden there...then they can be classmates liao...