(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

ikeike,
baby Ervin also the same. So far i didnt use Fusicort. This one my elder one use b4. This is strong with antibodies so if ahev open wound have to use this. Now my baby use Zicort. Also ahev steriod lar but mild log and i use QV cream as well. For my 2 boys i have use tones of cream on them liao.

My baby is everywhere lei from head, ear, chin, chest, arms, arms joint, leg, leg joint. Is everywhere loh. But after apply not so red liao once better i keep apply QV cream

christine, try elomet. it doesnt seem to peel. Eczema is heat aggrivated. can u do something abt shannon's oven?

Kath, i agree with tara.. sigh.. if u find a nanny, u have to be prepared for alot of "hiding" and "lies".. you also gotta make sure that the nanny totally EBM zach.. coz alot of nanny will find the EBM thing mah fan lor.. since u need to TBF zach, u should consider to take leave of absence until when zath's main intake is not milk anymore. Would u be able to trust a nanny over school??

ikeike, sounds like eczema to me leh. Zach was prescribed a cream containing steroids. Use 2x a day thinly for 5 consecutive day and it is good leh..

phyl, even in IFC there are oso hidings and lies. I dunno if it is a norm in IFC but if i dont expect openness from IFC, guess nanny will be worse. Arggh..the agony of things.

Jess, i called Ahmah team..$2.5K for a 7am - 8pm babysitting.. i rather not work n live off my savings which means i can onie spend abt $500 per mth n can last me several mths n of course certain mths i need to go back to KL and live off my parents..haha.

FOOD ALLERGY:

Today Wanbao got 1 interview on food allergy. Find out 1 mummy set up a website to serve as support for parents whom children had allergy. It is at www.foodallergysingapore.org So if u want more info, can take a look.

I am surprised to know that even hug by someone who just eaten peanut can be deadly to a child that is allergic to peanut.

kath,

wa lau eh ... 2.5k for babysitting? Who are they kidding??!! How come they are charging so much? What kind of qualifications and special skills do their sitters have, man? It's ridiculous lor their rates.

ikeke,
i use physiogel AI too, but if there is open wound, it will not work, so in tat case i will normally hav to use steroid cream 1st then only apply AI cream when the wound close & rashes gone, which normally in 2 days...

kath,
wow, 2.5k for bbsiter?? they siao ah... if so i might as well advise u to quit ur job & stay at home looking after Zach...

i'm still thinking if i should engage A team PT cleaning service or not coz still hav to pay them $168 of agency fee ler...

ypg,
it's not suprised lor... do u know if there is someone who has severe nut allergy on board the aircraft then there will be no peanut allowed to serve on tat flight at all?? coz it is life threatening matter...

jess, is true that they say is $2.5K cos i needed long hour.. so boh hua rite/ siao one lor.

anyway, this weekend go see a nanny at sengkang. see whether ngam or not.

there is a few other bbsitter online i will need to call tmr to arrange.

morning ladies

kath
d cleaning team is good ah? im still sourcing for a cleaner coz no time to clean at all. especially wif my degree assignments. =(

btw, did u try gg to punggol forum? quite a no of babysitter listed there according to my frenz. =)

kath.. Haha.. Quit ur job la.. U still have a big wedding to plan end of yr wor.. Hahaha.. Got more time, less stress, bond with zach, tbf zach, watch him meet his milestones... OooooOoo.. Envy envy wor.. babies no need toys la.. They need mummies.. Keke..

How do i go to pasir ris forum? Someone psle send me the link? Thanks!!

Phyl/Xuelyn,

I'm selling a unopened Friso 900g at 22..any takers?

Kath,

Finally u decided to pull bb zach out of the ifc..good for u...dun worry too much yar...u will find a good nanny in no time.. for me i also need to speak to another nanny this weekend too...the maid taking care of my son is gg back in Sept/oct, so my so-called 'nanny' told me to source for others. WTF. Sigh..

Mommies, the new nanny i'm gg to meet is also taking care of another 7 mo baby...jordan will be the 2nd one..do u think it's advisable to send jordan there since she takes care of 2 babies at the same time? The reason why i dun wanna send jordan to IFC is becos i dun wan him to be neglected due to too many babies, but now? 1 to 2 babies, is that OK?

rachel ah.. hayden went back to Friso 1 Comfort coz he cant take Friso 2. i have 6tins 900g and 4tins 1.8kg.. also dunno wanna do wat with it.. keke..

Phyl,

What is Friso 1 comfort?

Wa u have so many tins!! How sia? Xuelyn u wanna buy from Phyl?

Any other mommies giving Friso? Can buy from Phyl..or myself if u stay near me...

Chantelle,

It;s not up to me le.Jordan has been taken care by the maid of the so-called nanny..The so-called nanny everyday go out play mahjong and leave the 4 kids with the maid...so basically jordan is taken care by the maid and the 4 grown up kids...

However the maid is gg back to Philippines after being with this family for 10 years..then so called nanny dun willing to give up her mahjong time for jordan so she asked me to source for another nanny..

I asked the maid if she wans to work for me but she said she wanna go back oredy..what to do? Where to find such a good maid lar? Most importantly she sayang jordan a lot le..my hubby doesn't trust ppl easily one but he trust her...

Wah Rachel; Your nanny basically take your money and ask the maid to do the work.. No wonder the maid want to go home. But the maid also poor thing lah.. 10yrs never go home liao.

Maybe you can tell the maid, she can go home first, if she change her mind then can always call you.

Since you are prepared to hire a maid, maybe you can consider getting a philipinno maid now to take care of Jordan for you while you train her..Ask some relatives, ur parents or in laws to pop by ur place to do random spot check on them??

YES Chantelle,

The maid is really poor thing la..sometimes on Sunday (supposed to be her off-day) when the nannny brings her kaki to her home to play mahjong, she also has to stay back to cook and to serve all these women...The nanny is very fierce and also very calculative..everything money money money..she thinks we print money izzit?

I already told her that if she changes her mind she can always come back and work for me..

Random spot check on the new maid is not possible for me becos my family is in msia and my in laws are in australia...
so i hv to hire someone i really trust..

Pastillies,
The cream the GP gave me was left at my MIL's place. It is mixed by him and given in those white round containers - i.e. can't get off the shelve. The tube of cream which PD gave n did not help my ger was called Datakort(something lidat).

My GP cum dermetologist is downstairs my place (in Redhill). I went to him cos my neighbour told me that he's really good and had given her baby some medication for his scalp which cleared within 2 days too...So I went to try and its really good.

Btw, I think diaper rash would take some time to heal especially if it's bad (my ger's skin actually split n I can see the flesh). She had difficulty sleeping n cried until very cham when she pee... If u apply for 3 days straight shld be able to see marked improvement bah...

U got try airing ur bb's bum. I.e. dun even wear cloth diapers...

rachel, i not selling la.. kekekeke...

Friso 1 COMFORT is a special FM for colicky, pukey, constipatey babies.. it is the same as FRISO 1 except that it has an addes fibre thingy.. =)

Jes,
I think it's btr to just keep trying with 1-2 teaspoon? (Unless he cry until super cham)At least, u get him used to the food/texture... I personally feel that different apples have different texture. Fuji apples are more sandy... Red Delicious is more smooth (but sometimes the apple a bit sour - so must try before giving)... Going to try Gala on her tis coming week(i told u to try Gala cos it's recommended). Else just give plain porridge? (Chantalle's bb started with pork & fish porridge)

My girl intially did not like Fuji even thou the apple was SWEET (and I had a horrid time removing the skin aft steaming)! My hb and I even tasted the apple before giving her to confirm it's not sour. She only manage to finish one whole baby cube of it aft 3rd try!

Rachel,
That depends. My grandma used to be a full time nanny. She took care of abt 3-4 kids (incl. 2 babies) at one go. Even then, she had help fr my aunt. For babies, it is difficult to handle alone (even for the most experienced). Can u imagine if both cry for attention at the same time (e.g. want milk) and she's alone? Who to feed first? Let one cry while feed another?? If she's alone, I think 1 older child + 1 baby still ok lar...

Talking about maids, *Sigh*, I'm also tempted to get one so that I don't have to rush through housework and missed the quality time with my boy. However, the only obstacle now is myself....I just cannot convince myself to get a maid. I think I'm really paranoid after reading so many bad cases that instead of helping it becomes additional chores for the employers. Also, getting a reliable agency is the next headache.... Still pondering.....*sigh*

LuthAdel,

me and hubby have the same thinking as you. Would like to get a maid to help out in hsework. But worry endup more things to handle. My MIL is at hm but she cant speak english worry communication will be another problem.

Dun wan everyday reach hm getting complaints from my MIL loh. End up i will be more busy loh..

bubble,
I wan ur a/c no lar... U can pass to my mother... No rush...
She now eat mostly porridge... so the brown rice not so quick finish. *haha*

Luthadel,
My hb oso wanna get maid one. But suddenly he no sight no picture on the topic...
I think if the part time maid MIA, he will surely bring it up again. :p

I am hearten cos my neighbour has a v good maid. And I believe that mostly if u treat the maid ok, they shld be ok one... Just like caretaker, they might not do things up to ur standard lor. So got to just keep training her n hope things improve...

Adel
getting good house help is really a matter of luck, you really don't know if they are going to be a good fit with your family. The best thing to do would be to look for one with at least 2 years experience working in Singapore or Malaysia so you don't have to train her from scratch. She should preferably be married with dependents. If you find that the one you have selected does not work out after a few weeks, best to request a change. Don't fool yourself into thinking that she will improve because chances are, she'll get even worse. In many cases where maids are abusing the kids, it is largely because they are already unhappy working with the employer and are venting their frustration out on the kid. These cases are actually quite rare.

Just hired a maid recently and I must say I am glad I did. Initially I was quite apprehensive too about having a stranger living in my house but I think the pros out weigh the cons. At least now I do nothave to worry about housework or dinner when I get home.

Like what Tamms mentioned, I feel best is to get one with about 2 years experience, less coaching required. And you need to be clear about your requirements upfront for example her main responsibility is to take care of baby or cook or clean the house? Then it is easier to choose from the biodata based on her previous work experience. You can even do a phone interview if she is still in her country. At the end of the day, if you treat her well, I believe most will be quite ok.

Tamms
I've the same thinking as you. I.e. I'll only want those with at least 2 yrs of experience either in SG or M'sia. PLus they must be with their past employer for that duration and no less. Luck is like winning 4D....wish very hard and wait.....hahahhahaah

For me, if the maid dun pick up speed after 1 mth, she is out 'cos I cannot waste extra time and effort to keep training her when she is not making good effort of progress. That in the end will also eat up my precious time with my boy.

I'm very particular about hygiene and clean freak as well when it comes to maintaining my house clean.

I just wish there there is such a body to check on Agency to ensure real info are disclosed and to ensure quality of maids recruited. I hear of so many stories where the maid was younger than wat was stated on their passport and etc.... Thats why till now I'm still battling with myself on the idea.

My boy is 8mths old today and soon he will need to have proper lunch and dinner other than his usual milk feed. I do need someone to get his meals ready or to feed him if I reached home late. Otherwise if too close to his bed time, he will be super grouchy and won't eat. *sigh*....

tamms,
I agree with u... But we have to give the person some chance to improve lar... If really can't make it or find tat she's not happy then btr ask for change liao. But I think it's not easy to look for maids with experience right?

just to add i think tat some maids abuse kids cos they are sick of working ard the clock n the baby keeps fussing... I noe some parents let the maid take care the entire day (incl evenings and of cos nite) and week. And sm even expect them to finish all the housework... Haiz...

Rachel,

Usually my mum or mil will be at home so the maid is not alone with the baby. I was quite clear from the start that her main responsibility is to cook and clean the house. So when I selected one, I made sure she could cook. The main caregiver is not the maid but she will help out sometimes. She has a 2 year old son herself and I observe that she really likes to play with my gal which is a big plus point for me. My gal also allows the maid to carry her so far so at least that tells me the baby is handled properly else I think my gal will scream when the maid approaches her hehe

On a side note,
I'm really keen to order Huggies pull up pants for my son as it gets harder each day to keep him still during diaper change!

Any mummy in the west keen to pull orders as the requirement is to order min. 5 cartons (can be mixure of products like kleenex kitchen towel/toilet rolls etc). 1 carton = 6pkts (size L, 36pieces)

PM me if you are keen to combine orders and I'll let you know the price quoted from the distributer.

Snowger,

You are right. Imagine we as parents sometimes get so frustrated when our babies fuss alot. What's more the maid is totally unreleated to our babies so if day in day out the have to care for the baby without a break, they may vent it out on the little one. We have to remember they are humans too and are all alone in a foreign land so we need to try our best to make them less homesick. My maid was telling me her previous employer keeps calling her stupid coz he could not communicate in english with her, quite poor thing also.

luthadel,
Congrats on Bryan turning 8 mths old...
Mine is coming 7 mths liao.

Ya. I heard abt tat too. If not wrong, the age is faked in their passport cos I think MOM impose a guideline on the min age of maids in spore... I saw a maid with a old man and my colleague commented that she looks like 16 yrs old only...

If I have a maid will be good, cos she can help me wash the dishes and pottery I use to cook porridge for my ger everyday. I need her more to pack the house n keep it clean. My house is starting to look like a war zone... sighs...

Luthadel,

It is very difficult to get transfer maid that got experience cause if they are good n experienced, most employers will keep them long long.

Frankly speaking, my maid, experienced hence very good in her housework n taking care of bb. My mum also gave her thumb up. But she will have her own way of doing things that may not to our liking hence some re-training is necessary.

So new or experienced, still need to train, except the duration varied.

My maid agency quite ok, they recommend my maid to me. Just that I have to keep chasing them for things, like maid permit etc etc. But for $181 agency fees, I cant complain much.

yogi,
I admit that on many occassions I wanted to strangle or smoother my ger with a pillow during my ML aft the CL left. I was home alone (facing my ger almost 24/7) and my ger keep crying. Din allow me to have lunch etc (mayb tat's why i lost so much weight)... I really din noe wat to do.

Some employers really can pass/make mean comments. Rem Crime watch, the maid who murder the employer? She was abused n made to eat in the toilet! But she did no abuse the kids lar. If she did, I can only say "Bao ying" lor. But if u treat the maid v nice n the maid still act up, then really "suay" uh.

Hi to all mommies,

I am also a Dec 08 mommy. Some info on me and my little one:

mommy nick: taybaby
mommy name: yvonne (don't use name often in thread but just to intro myself)
mommy workplace : also in stat board (saw from an entry one of the mommies also.. forgotten who le.. maybe we in same company.. often lunch at vivo too :p)
little prince : alvon
his dob : 20th dec 2008
delivered at : east shore hospital
pd: pasir ris baby and child clinic

read this thread... to realise so many darlings also have ezcema. alvon also has it.. he will have redness on his cheeks, side of mouth, joints of hand, chest and even his di-di has a bit too.. recently just a few days back, his neck got this red red big patch (most of time are small patches) that suddenly appear and when we brought him to the clinics, it went off so dr sim said it is the same.. just ezcema.. but we had no idea what had triggered the redness.

alvon is mostly on expressed breast milk (ebm).. since he is around 3 months, he don't latch on at nights although he still wakes for his night feeds. so since then, i am exclusively pumping breast milk. Now each day (on 24 hrs), I am pumping around 6 times, at least 4 times. And I have a whole fridge where the frezer compactment with 4 shelves all occupied with 150ml milk bag :p (going to occupied another shelf soon and i am using one shelf of my sil who lives nearby)

i am ftwm, so during the day, I have a helper (indo maid) which we hired in march to take care of alvon. Cross my fingers, she is working fine so far and can see she sayang alvon a lot too.. My mother will help oversee the maid when she is not working and my mil often come up to ja-ga the maid (my in-laws living a floor below us nia)

saw a thread of the littlegym that few are going this and next sat. I went last sat. and it was really fun. learnt few things that we been playing with alvon these nights. don't say too much.. let you all enjoy it yourself. ohh don't let ur little one be feed just before the lesson, best to feed an hr before..

hi luthadel,

diaper change is always a war time for me now.. alvon just keep turning and turning.. and i was wondering if i can let him wear pull up instead or not.. but i am thinking to let him learn to stand up steadily first.. if not pull up also a problem where I will have no hands to hold him and pull up the same time..

my mum and me totally agree on treating them (maid) good then they will do good to you also.. although my mil still has her doubts..

but having my helper now... is a lot better than the original plan to leave alvon with a in-law relative who lives so far that I can only see my son on weekend right.. now i can play with him every night.. even though i m at work during the day, i make sure i change his pyjama, give his last night feed and cover him well in his blanket everynight. and it is really a joy to be able to do so..

taybaby
Welcome

Tell me about wall zone! Now bathing is also "playtime". I put Bryan on the bath seat and when I try to rinse him off, he will stick out his tongue to try and lick the water!!!

I find the pull up diapers are so much easier to wear even when he is putting up a fight by doing the twist!. By the way, I change him on the cot now as he has gotten too long for the changing table hahahah

am from jan thread... we managed to get a free trial class at the little gym. it's for babies from 4-10mth old....

now we are short of 1 to complete the min 10 bbies in the class... max of 12 bbies...

anyone interested to join ??

venue:
marina square(beside mothercare/kiddypalace)

date: 11 july sat( tomolo )
time: 2pm - 2.45pm

it's newly opened... everything is new... keke...

any mummy interested, pls pm me asap... as i need to confirm the class with the school.

the website for this school is;
www.thelittlegym.com.sg

LuthAdel,

yes, .. can only use the changing table for a short while .. lol. I'm not using mine too cos she's getting too long for it .. so I sold it off.

Snowger/Yogi ..

ya man, I totally agree with u. At the end of the day ... it is only us mothers who can seriously put up with our kids (if they're being difficult or shrieking or whining or crying) .. I also try not to leave my girls with my maid too long cos I know they do sometimes argue and someone ends up cryin and screaming .. so I'd rather be around to discipline them if need be ... at the end of the day, the maid is there to assist you NOT replace you as a parent.

Welcome fluffy!

Can i check with you re ur pd at pasir ris baby and child clinic? Is it good? So are u saying that you stay at pasir ris?

Hi Sam,

Yea. If i ever get a maid, i honestly wun let jordan be too close to her too...actually nowadays jordan seem to be quite close to the maid looking after him, and im kinda jealous too, but wad to do...

If i ever get a maid, think i will only expect her to clean the house, do the laundry, cook etc..not to take care of jordan..

Phyl,

Wa..another case like the previous one..can't rmb what was it abt but heard that the mummy who cheated (request for things then sold them off) was from dec thread?

she was not frm our thread.. its just she comes in sometimes to chat...

when things are too cheap must double triple check.. 10% off vouchers is too good to be true.. 6% is usually the norm.. lucky only cheat a few ppl..

anyone knows wat happen to the coach scam already? hahaha.. bored in office la..

hi jappooh
i can't online too long as i m real busy lately.. working till 9pm at least..

Can you sms me if anything changes for this Sunday morning class?

Wat we need to wear or bring??