(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

bulb,
Isn't it irritating that when they promote BFing they make it sound SO simple and easy? Well that is why without proper management of expectation, a lot of pple quit in the early days. So give urself a pat on the back for persisting!

jes,
yes... So my ger's frequency of getting sick is like a baby at IFC. I really damn tempted to put her up in IFC instead.

Alamak Xuelyn,
u mean she poo so frequently? I think if got very bad lao sai more than 2/3 times in a row in a day must go see PD. Hope summer get well soon!

Zachmummy,
It's a stand I take. Cos I rather miss her than go back to my MIL's place where it's so hot. I can't take it especially when I have to see my ger struggle n cry herself to sleep everynite! I feel so drained every single nite to see her like tat and I suffer from fatigue too (i sleep late and wake early to go office).

snowger
ya men poo so many time until i freak out!

Rachel
I oso hope my gal get well soon.. Doc say stomach flu cannot take cow milk.. tats y give me SOY milk.. so far she still haven take.. think taste diff.. so she reject

xuelyn,

Just to share my experience har...KKH doctor said Jordan had to take at least 500ml of milk everyday - but that's the minimum so try to feed her more...i know it's hard cos jordan was struggling so much n and i was so sad...everytime he refused to drink i nearly cry with him!

Snow,
Mind telling me why do u need to move back to MIL house while u hv ur own hse?

xuelyn
hope summer get well soon.

if summer don like d milk, den u give her her normal fm, juz in diluted form. like 1/2 strength.

xuelyn,
U wan EBM? I got extra frozen EBM can let ur ger ger drink... btr than rejecting the soy milk right? Can just leave me a offline MSN msg if u wan.

Rach,
My ger is taken care by my MIL. My hb is teacher, sch near my MIL house. So he will have to send bb over to MIL place very early as he needs to reach sch early. Tat time MIL complain say he very xing ku, so in order to see my dotter everyday, I and hb n ger move to MIL's place.

Hi mummies, I'm also a Dec 08 mummy. Trying to recall where I read a group of mummies doing photoshoot to raise fund for Charmaine. Is it this thread ? If yes, have you taken the photos and can I join in ?

Appreciate if any mummy can reply me on this.

fabbie
still can increase my milk now meh? i dun think can increase anymore. dun ask me to increase pumping to increase the milk...haha. I dont hv lumps prob but had blisters few times..where the PD helped me to clear by poking them with needles.

snowger
ya man. It is not easy for me at all for bf especially the first 2mths. Tear down, struggled with the miserable supply, at the same time handling the newborn, fighting w the discouragement from the surrounding ppl, tireness.. so many things. That's y I wanted to continue further even bb is already 6mths old n tired too.

got stomach flu one ah... xuelyn, hope she gets well soon n can drink more milk. I know it is really headache when our bb doesnt wan to drink.

bulb,
Tell me abt tat... I same as u lor... Cry la (esp when I kena infection, fever, breast hard like rock, no milk come out! And it was 31 DEC!). Depression for 1 mth when CL was ard (she drove me nuts). I remember my dad was not encouraging (still isnt)- keep saying (on the day i discharge fr hospital) "aiyoh, no milk is it... Baby cry until so poor thing. Just give her formula lar... *blah blah*".

Struggle with first born... Then I was home alone with her after my CL left. My hb did not even take leave to stay home with me during the first week. So I was left to struggle with a WAILING baby while pumping... Then my pump time ALWAYS crash with her feeding time/waking time.

But I think we mothers are STRONG! We survived!!! Haha... Me a bit mad mad liao - 1st day go back to work aft 1 and 1/2 wk of leave...

snowger
Yes, you are right to say that BFing isn't everything. Like you, my hb and MIL are very supportive of me BFing. If not it would also have been hard to continue. How long are you planning to BF for? I hope to continue till Emma is 1-2 years.

chantalle
Well, at least you managed to BF for the first 6 months. Now it's onto the next journey, which is starting solids. Hope you get better luck getting your girl to take some food.

Snowger
u hv reminded me abt my CL too leh..nonstop nagging me that I hv no milk, keep saying not every mum will hv milk, no milk means no milk, if got now already go alot, of course bb cry cos he has not enuf milk, when i pump keep checking me how much i got, keep saying to my son tat he is very pity, need to starve, so difficult to look for food, then keep telling my mil and my mum that i dont hv milk, not enuf... really drove me crazy.

u can imagine, u got so much of milk also kena this kind of discouragement. my milk supply was miserable until my son only increased less than 200g for the 1st mth. Luckily I was strong if not I already stopped bf in the 1st mth.

ya man, i got no time to pump too during confinement cos my son cant sleep long. But when i think back, i agreed tat my son really had not enuf of milk tat time. All bcos of the CL la.. gimme such pressure until my milk also bcame so little. Blaming her keke.

wat!! u got so much of milk now n ur dad still not encouraged yet...

Echo,
Me and Jowinbb were discussing yesterday. When my ger blow out the candles will be the last day I pump! :p I hope to be able to give her at least 1 yr. But my papa told me this last week "You are getting pale and thin. Better stop breastfeeding liao. 6 mths is more than enuf lor. Huh? U stopping soon right?"

1 to 2 years difference very big leh... :p I confirm mine is abt 1 yr bah... if more than 1 yr is to actually stop naturally and not take medication. I heard that "DA MAI" that is sold at dessert stalls can help stop naturally.

Bulb,
Haha... My dad heart pain to see his daughter shrink so much (I am now 44.5kg vs 49.5kg before i was preg vs 61.5kg before I gave birth) while feeding her granddaughter mah...

My ger can't latch me due to my own deficency lor... So while I am practising latch, my CL will always come in and give me comments like "Aiyoh, ger very poor thing leh... Xi bu dao (i.e. can't latch). Then to make things worse my ger associates my CL's voice with bottle. So even if I manage to latch properly, my CL start talking - gone! My ger will un-latch n CRY! :'(

Hey talking abt CL days... so Snowger have to henxin die die dun let bb drink FM rite in order to build ss. Juz let them latch or kp pumping religiously only then can improve ss. Pls correct me if I'm wrong k.

ya echo, 1-2 years is 1 yr gap. But good tat u hv the thinking to bf emma could be until 2 yrs old. me max only till 1 yr. most probably earlier than that.

yo.. u can slim down bcos of bfeeding ah.. so envy leh. I really hope that i can reduce more leh... dunno y i always feel hungry one haha.. or i guess i m overeat ba.

so funny, ur ger really can associates with ur CL's voice ah.. hehe.

ahh??? Da mai affect low supply?? No wonder lah!!!! That time i every morning one bowl of Da mai and was wondering why bb seems not drinking nuf.. will latch so long..

kudos to all the wei da mummy who persist on BF! I'm thankful to my CL who is bery encouraging on BF. I was v reluctant to BF but she encourage me all the time so i decided to give it a shot! She will paitiently teach n guide me how to latch bb properly! I manage to BF for 3 mths.. stopped when bb turned 4 mths due to lack of SS. My CL was great.. she v positive minded. always say "sure got milk one! drink more longan water, latch more often.. SURE HAVE one!!" V grateful for her help

iemiko & rachel
yup the doc did mention she can cont her current friso milk at 1/2 strenght. Rachel how long did Jordan take to recover fuly? did his milk intake bounce back to normal after tat?

talking abt CL oso make me angry at mine! Keep telling me that my neighbour hv alot of milk, how come when i pump dun hv so much, etc. I even feel short-changed! Everyday eat the same food for lunch n dinner and she even slept more than me..haha

if i hv a 2nd one, i definitely will not want to get her as my CL!

ikeke,
100% Correct lar... Since I could not get my ger to latch frequently within 24 hrs... I pump so religiously... every 3 hrs... I was esentially full time cow. Din even get to hug or touch my ger much until my CL left...

Bulb,
talk abt eating DHA when the baby is not out. Cos the first person to consistently give her bottle was my CL... I nvr feed her with bttle except hb (once in a while).

Chantalle,
That is what my MIL tells me... She say chinese sinseh oso say... I dunno if the DA MAI is the same as the quaker oats leh... one day must go investigate... Tell my hb to order n he eat... Then i tell u ok?

bulb/snowger
if you are pumping only, it will be much harder. for me, i latch my girl, so can continue latching after 1 year. once she is >1 yo, she will not need BM during the day, so i won't need to pump at work. but I will still latch her at night or on weekends.

xuelyn,
Keep ur CL number leh... Can I get her for my second one? Must make sure my rabbit baby don't due together with urs... HAHA... :p

xuelyn
u r so lucky to get such a good CL. rabbit bb is which yr ah? u n snowger preg liao ka? i tot only one here is preg.. soli didnt read all the posts.

echo
i pump during daytime n latch during nite time.

Snowger hvg said that but if our baby is not gaining enough weight we have to adjust accordingly too. I think there will be genuine cases of no/insufficient bm perhaps? But shouldnt gv on pumping/latching religiously still. I believe a little bit is still better than nothing at all hehehe... cos I mix gvg FM & BM.

ypg,

wa really ah? 2 fans plus still the a/c is on?!!!

but seriously, the weather is awful .. hard for the babies to nap comfortably if they're perspiring. So what I do is on the a/c and nap with her ... lol !!

sam, i agree the weather is really bad!!

Zach sleeps in his own room and he sweat like mad even wif the air-cond turned on!! We even got a humidifier for him. His head is literally wet! I tink when bathing him, his hair is not even tat wet..he is a sweaty boy..haha

Ikeke,
Yar... I did note that some mummys despite latching n pumping still hv no/insufficient bm leh... Whatever BM is btr than nothing...
Cos she will still be taking the goodness mah... If my milk din come in on time and my ger is always hungry, I sure give FM lor.

My PD seem to have given up the fact that my ger ger is not gaining enough weight (she is TBF since birth). I guess it's cos my ger is hitting all the milestone developments (esp muscle...) and plus mine is ger so she less concern lor.

Bulb,
Dun scare teh gers in this forum lar... :p Other than Ivy and Mimi who are preggy... Me intend to take a good rest and bu a bit before getting preggy again... Eh that said, I am still wondering if i shld hv a second leh...

Talk abt bad weather? My bb is look after by my aunt whom dislikes to open her windows though her blinds are drawn to be prevent the wind of flapping the blinds against the window. It's literally an oven and my aunt says cannot blow fan direct at bb no good! Now they still operate the oven but recently started to blast the fan at my bb during her nap time liao cos the weather is juz too unbearable. She is eating her words already. Sometimes they switched on the aircon of one room for my bb but the moment u stepped out of there, u will get a rude thermal shock. Haiz.... blardy weather....

I was so stubborn, even tho the supply was not enough, I gave very little n limited FM during the confinement mth.

Oh got two mummies r preggy ah. so good.

ypg:
thanks for helping to initiate for the foto shoot. Do let us knw if they reply u. If not, I will book an available slot with them.

FYI, 1 of my colleague (she is a mummy of a 1yo boy) is oso interested in the foto shoot =)

snowger
I cfm will get her agn if i got 2nd bb. labbit bb is still planing stage.. nothing firm yet. oh ya her cooking is superb as well. i get to eat many varieties of food. for eg, wanton mee, pork chop, crispy bee hoon w sauce (zhi char style) yummy!!

I sooo exhausted today cos of my cranky ger. she drinking so little milk. i mix 2.5 scoop of soy milk and 1 scoop of friso w 4oz water for her. izzit ok? cos i tried to give her fully soy milk she dun wan. so far she onli drank 2x milk today. total of 6.5oz diluted milk nia. izzit ok?

oh ya and lao sia 2x
damn worried...

Remember this little gal that I posted previously who need us to raise funds for her to do operation in US. Here is our chance to help her and her family out.

Dphotofolio helping little Charmaine out:

Special Photography Package - $68
~ 30mins Session
~ 4 x 4R photo print
~ return selected photo only in DVD

I have booked for 12 Jul since it is a Sunday. They reserved whole day 10 am to 6pm for me currently. So let me know if u all are interested:

12 jul photoshot:
1)10am
2)1030am
3)11am
4)1130am
5)12noon
6)1230
7)1300
8)1330 - lavendery (not yet confirmed)
9)1400 - ypg
10)1430
11)1500
12)1530
13)1600
14)1630
15)1700
16)1730

We do not have to fill up all the timeslot, best timing is after 11am n finish b4 5pm. But try to fill up the timeslot from 11am to 5pm so that we can still go ahead to help.

U can see their profile at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/856483.html?1245935603

Their photos quite similar to a recent photography firm u all sign up (u know who la). Also can do those cute cute theme photo.

Little Charmaine website:
http://ourfeistyprincess.blogspot.com
http://ourfeistyprincess.com

As a mummy myself, I really sympathise with this mummy and salute her courage to go through all these just to give her precious gal a higher chance of survival. So pls help if u can.

jess,

they are at 33A Seah Street, nearby Raffles Hotel. Also, nearby Mint Museum of Toys. I will bring my gal go there to take a look if I got time. But the entrance fee quite high, $15 for adult. Haha...

fabbie,
u and Clarice getting better ? Hope both of ur recovery soon.

Tomorrow going to bring bb to the PD for 6 in 1 jab, so nanny fed pao shen drink for bb today. Although bb doesn't like the pao shen taste but he manage to finish the drink. Good boy and hope u won't develop to high fever after the injection.

Ivy,

I not going liao. Down with meeting tmr, dunno wat time will finish. Enjoy urself. Dun strain urself too much. U got to take care of 2 babies, 1 inside ur tummy ok.

oh 12 jul
oh. i cannot make it .. haiz...
Poor little charmaine

I dare not to read her blog.. poor little girl.Any other way to donate $ to her???

Hi xuelyn
hope summer is ok ...

wow.. today post are long.. no time to read.. keke

Hi bulb, snowger, echo
yes.. BF is really tough.. n yes, in the 1st place i thought it would be an easy thing.. just Latch and have milk and never thought its SO TOUGH n so tiring..

I will try to hang on till baby is 1st yr old. then i will stop

Same as snowger.. i weight drop tremendously. Pregnancy weight 61kg, pre -pregnancy weight 52kg.. then now.. i think i am around 47kg.. everyone said i so skinny and pale.. SIGH...

Talk abt confinement time, guess its one of the worst days in my life.. crying almost daily.. sob sob..

ohh.. i also want rabbit baby... hee hee.. so all of us shall move to another thread next time?? kekeke

YPG, I take the 3.30 slots. THanks for organising. DO we pay her now or until you gather everyone to firm up the slot?

Remember this little gal that I posted previously who need us to raise funds for her to do operation in US. Here is our chance to help her and her family out.

Dphotofolio helping little Charmaine out:

Special Photography Package - $68
~ 30mins Session
~ 4 x 4R photo print
~ return selected photo only in DVD

I have booked for 12 Jul since it is a Sunday. They reserved whole day 10 am to 6pm for me currently. So let me know if u all are interested:

12 jul photoshot:
1)10am
2)1030am
3)11am
4)1130am
5)12noon
6)1230
7)1300
8)1330 - lavendery (not yet confirmed)
9)1400 - ypg
10)1430
11)1500
12)1530 Jlow
13)1600
14)1630
15)1700
16)1730

We do not have to fill up all the timeslot, best timing is after 11am n finish b4 5pm. But try to fill up the timeslot from 11am to 5pm so that we can still go ahead to help.

U can see their profile at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/856483.html?1245935603

Their photos quite similar to a recent photography firm u all sign up (u know who la). Also can do those cute cute theme photo.

Little Charmaine website:
http://ourfeistyprincess.blogspot.com
http://ourfeistyprincess.com

jowin
by donating little charmaine beside there got a ad. you can click to donate le. thats what i do. its not scary to see her blog lar.. i saw she's doing great! and i hope everything is fine for her..

I read about the mother was going thru. damn sick lor the husband.. bearing 2nd child liao and still run away with another gal. and the gal is her frd. wth. really damn guo fen sia. duno what the guy and her frd thinking. haiz.

littlerabbit
we are doing so so.. still not yet improvement as it has pass to my hub now. =( and my gal keep crying n crying and coughing. and i think she really hates it when we wipe her running nose. haiz.. poor gal. but good thing she eats medicine. =) hope everything will be fine soon! =)

jowinbaby,
My colleague asked me this morning if I am taking any slimming pills. Then ask me to stop losing weight. My boss commented that I look SOOOO THIN and then he said I look better with a little more fat. So upset... Plus what happen just now, I really feel like giving up on breastfeeding liao...

Good luck gals who are going down with baby to take photo.
I going to miss this cos lazy to buy the mag. Although I am quite interested in cherie hearts booth...