(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Chantalle,

Marriage is null if never had sex after marriage? Those had b4 marriage not considered? haha...

Dun feed sad can. U have already manage to breastfeed till ur gal is 6 months. U deserve a pat on ur back. Pat pat... It is a remarkable achievement already.

Then now after stopping breastfeed, u 2 still not cosummate ur marriage? Remember yesterday I am complaining about very few sex here. But actually today is my 2nd anniversary. I totally forgot about it. End up today my hubby sms me to remind me and he had already bought a cake for me.

I feel that I am such a lousy wife. Why am I complaining about not enough sex when I myself can even forgot about wedding anniversary? So now I think as long as my hubby is doting n care for me, I am ok with the low sex issue.

So maybe as long as ur hubby still dote on u n love u, it is ok to have no sex. Perhaps he really dun want to have another baby since u mention u 2 have to get married earlier because of the bb.

LOL .. saw the clip.. Tara.. the food jar so so so sour eh... haha.. emma's expression so cute...N u kept on feeding her... hahah

hi all..
today no time to see thread.. as just now went to tmc to see pd and GP for my gal and myself. just want to share that i just Bought a LEAP FROG LULU at the shop there! my hub told me is 39.90 and those who got FBI card discount you can use it there! so total mine lulu is 35 bucks nia hehe damn i got no time to see is there caterpillar anot. if anyone go there and buy. remember to tell me ya! hehe

okai. i got to pat my gal to sleep liao. i also damn sack. body aching so pain! and cough really irritating and my poor gal keep coughing and vomiting. =(

fabbie, my boy is also sick. i took childcare leave today and brought him to his PD. he has slight running nose and cough and he couldnt sleep well last nite.

I'm feeling super sad! feel like such a failure.. cos i dunno wat my gal wans.. I can't get her to drink milk.. can't make her slp.. dunno wat the hell she wans! think I'm going crazy soon!!

She only drinnk 2-3oz out of the 5oz bottle of milk we gaver her each time.. scream her head off when i try to get her to drink somemore!! Damn angry w myself.. but there's nothing much i can do!

she poo 4 times today.. all the watery poo.. shld i bring her to PD tml? MIL says its normal for teething bb lei..

sry for the long post.. needed bery much to rant!

chantalle
thanks for sharing your story. of course it is tough breastfeeding, but don't you feel that it's worthwhile to do it for your baby? as you know, breast is best. it's good that you have persevered for so long, but i just feel it's very ke xi that you are giving up when you still have milk, when i think there are other mummies out there who would like to bf but who struggle with supply issues. have you talked to your hb about your lack of intimacy? maybe it is not even related to bf? sorry, i hope i don't sound like i'm judging you, but i just want to encourage you in your bf journey.

xuelyn
maybe let her rest a while first then feed her see how? dun be mad.. my gal also.. i feed her she dun wan. i let her rest then okai.. abt sleeping. i pat her sleep she dun wan. whoever carry her from me. she will keep quiet. quite hurt. so when im all alone.. i pat her sleep.. she keep crying n crying hor.. i till throw her on my bed and she will sleep! =( arghz. she like telling me. that die die she dun wan to sleep when me carrying her. haiz. dun sad ya! =)

btw this friday i cant go le.. zy and me sick! so must stay at home.

echo,
As a total pump mummy, I think it's even more difficult than a total latch situation... So latching and pumping is surely siong. Having to wash bottles etc and pump on time (esp in the early days) to maintain ss.

I hold the view that it's always great to breast feed cos it's best. But if the mummy can't tahan and does not get enough support from her husband and family (like chantalle's MIL dun like frozen milk in fridge) the road to long term BF is extremely lonely and difficult. (Breastfeeding is not everything! And I believe in that!)

And I am lucky that my hb supports BFing and helps me out either with bb or washing the pump accessories and bottles.
My MIL likes me to BF cos whatever milk expires, she uses it for facial, washing her hair etc... *HAHA*

Re intimacy after baby:
It's indeed a hot topic. Sometimes you wonder if the man can hardly keep his hands off you after marriage, why the sudden change after u get preg/pop? Sometimes the body changes so much you wonder if ur hb is interested to be intimate with u or not... Haiz... DAMN SIAN LAR!

Bulb,
If you wan to extend hrs without dropping ss, you can extend each pump interval by 15 mins each time (dun strech 1 hr at a time cos this will cause ur ss to drop FAST!). i.e. from 4 hrs to 4 hrs 15 mins, until ur breast is ok with it, then u extend to 4hrs 30mins, 4 hrs 45mins...and so on...

xuelyn,
sometimes teething is difficult. My ger last time prefer to cry and bite her fingers at the same time... DId you try giving her cold teethers?

If dun work, try the teething gel-Dentinox...
It's GOOD! but I think diff baby got diff reaction towards Dentinox. Din quite work for Iemik0's boi...

xuelyn,
u are not alone and my boy behave the same as ur gal leh. Started from last week, he only drinks 1-2oz out of the 4oz of milk. If i force him to drink some more, he will screaming out his heart untill i stop feeding. Very difficult to get him sleep in the night, usually just pat him for a while then his can fall to sleep but now pat for 2 to 3 hrs still can't get him to sleep, he may just closed his eyes, roll over and over...he can awake so easy, keep waking up to scream and cry for few time. He was slept very badly in the night. I'm so sad and worry why he can't sleep well in the night ?? He never have such badly sleep style since birth but it was happen now since he turns 6 mths old. My mum commend it may cause by teething lor.

Tara,

Ur ger ger is so cute... see her reaction towards the pear!

Btw, what spoon you using? I thinking of getting a proper spoon for my ger... Anyone can suggest which spoon is good?

Snowger,

I got different brand of feeding spoon. I think for starter, pigeon feeding spoon is good. Now my gal favourite is the Tollyjoy soft n bendable spoon (the spoon itself is transparent one).

Cause now she got teeth, so she will bite the spoon hard to ease her gum during feeding. also, as the spoon is bendable, there is no worry of hurting the bb when feeding. Somemore it is very cheap, about $3 only.

xuelyn,

when my gal is teething, she only got slightly watery poo twice a day. not so much as 4 times a day.

I use dentinox also, quite ok. though we find that diverting her attention to other stuff is more useful.

fabbie,

Clarice still refuse to be pat to sleep by u? Could it be that last time u keep on working till very late and she not used to have u pat her to sleep liao?

shack.. ashlynne woke up a few times last nite... PLUS. i realise i forget to sterlise my pump parts this morning... now sitting here looking blank... n late for work... SHACK OUT!!

Hi ypg
i think xuelyn apply the dentinox already... seem that her girl scream when she apply lor.

Hi SNowger
Baby using Nuk.. thought of changing to softer feel spoon.. cos it seem no diff from Ikea kids plastic spoon, just much flatter..

I agree that its very tiring to breastfeed and its tough. especially both latch n pump. PUmping alone is not easy.. so many parts to wash,sterlise, bottles to wash etc etc.. Plus must upkeep the session to maintain ss.

I agree BF is not everything. At 1 point, i almost gave up. Now at least better to 3 times a day..

I think Tara use pigeon? From what i saw from the video...

Hi Bulb, snowger is right.. 15mins add on .. slowly..
Jia you!! However, no matter what.. once you prolong, there is definitely a drop in SS. But each time, empty your breast so that it send signal that you need that much milk.

xuelyn, yst i went to the PD and asked wat are the symptons for teething cos i've heard ppl saying that bb will have fever, running nose, watery stools, etc. and the PD says all these all old folks tales, bb will only salivating if they are teething.

morning mommies,

b-feeding is tough...b-feeding when u wonder why the lack of intimacy between hubby n u is even tougher...

i'm just glad that i hv b-fed jordan for 6 months liao...and for mothers who r still b-fing, i really salute u gals!

Jordan again woke up many times yesteday night....he has been like that for the past few weeks...his gum is hard but i can't see any tooth underneath the gum le..and he is not drooling...why on earth does he wake up so often!?

Tara
Emma so cute!!! hahahahaah.... her expresssion tells it all, that applesauce woke me from my sleepiness with just 1 teaspoonful! The funny thing is that their Apple juice is actually very nice dunno why the applesauce is so sour.

morning mummies
hope todae pass by quickly coz im on leave tmr. hehe. can rest abit but need to bring kayson for his laz scan for uti. haiz. afta tis scan den i can buy insurance for him. super sianz.

iris
ya. its old folks tales tt bb will hav diahorrea n stuff. usually diahorrea is due to bb touch touch le den put into their mouths w/o us knowing lor.

ypg: Happy sweet anniversary to u and ur hubby!! He is so thoughtful to buy u a cake!! Hope u 2 enjoy!

echo: Dun worry, I am sure you are just sharing ur views, thanks for your support. After giving some thoughts, this morning i try to latch my gal again but realised that she is not interested anymore. She just smile and turn her head away from me and if i try to force her abit she start to struggle. I guess my gal is also bored with my boobs as well. No doubt, will feel "ke xi" that my milk goes to waste but then again, I think i have really done my best to feed her for at least 6 mths and she is growing up well. My next aim now is to start her properly on solid food. After my struggle with the nana and apple cereal, that made my gal go into a crying trance, i dun dare to feed her any solid at all. I believe this is going to be another long battle.

Teething: Yes, heard many good reviews on Detinox gel. Where to buy btw? I better get one to standby, my gal is drooling like a tap but she still look happy and cheerful, no signs of little tooth though.

Yeah gals, please wipe your baby's hands as frequently as possible esp for those who are into thumb sucking. I very kia si, always bring my gal to wash her hands whenever possible.
I wipe her toys, her stroller, her walker and disinfect everything she uses very frequently also. My MIL think i am crazy.. haha

Rachel: weather too hot la, thats' why Jordan wake often in the night?

Chantelle,

I dunno le..maybe u r right, weather is too hot liao...i hope he can sleep better when we switch on the aircon..

What do u use to disinfect the toys etc? Usually i use dettol wipes but kinda expensive le...

Rachel thanks! I will buy the gel when i passby watsons tonight.

Disinfection: Rachel, i duno if my method is safe or not.. just feel that is cleaner this way. Please tell me if i am doing the correct way??
I will wash my gal's toys with the baby liquid detergent, then i soak the toys, usually plastic rattle and other rubber toys in warm water mixed with Dettol liquid then I rinse again many times with warm water and use a cloth to dry them. Not everything can be sterilsed with a sterliser rite? esp plastic toys?

Feeding spoon:
Thanks gals. I think I will buy the pigeon one for her to use lor...

Xuelyn,
Ur ger screams when u put the gel? My ger sometimes oso. Must be careful that ur fingernails are short else will poke their gums very pain.

My ger originally oso scream (or struggle) but if u put enuf to relive the itch/pain, she will slowly enjoy it. She will cry cry, then she see me squeeze the gel, she will pause and look at me in anticipation. When I put the tube down n see my finger come, she will "UH" for me to help her put lor... If you can, wash ur fingers really clean and let them use as teether while u apply the gel (my ger loves my fingers- harhar!)

Chantalle,
Can buy Dentinox from pharmacy.
Quite easy to get... So far I buy twice once from Guardian and once from Unity. Some babies actually have teeth w/o much agony! Maybe ur gal is one of them.

For feeding solids hor must be darn patient. And make it a relaxed session. U can sing to her and encourage her to open her mouth to eat a little. First time try one teaspoon first (Dun force, cos sure end up with CRYS! - I noe this yet I get pretty frustrated or angry when my ger refuse to eat). If she can finish then add another teaspoon everyday.
Must oso trial n error on the consistency (how thick ur ger likes it).

iris,
Agree with Iemik0, teething wont cause fever or lao sai. They just drool and wet their bibs v quickly!

Luthadel,
Did they add green apples to their apple sauce?

Tara,
come to think of it. Ur emma quite "kuai", sour still continue to take. If my ger, she will just "pui" on my face... :p

Rachel,
I agree with Chantalle. Weather too hot? Too humid the room? Else hungry? Want tutu? When I feel warm, I will on aircon. Nowadays, I specially assign one fan for my ger cos if use one fan, either she get too warm or me to warm... :p

Teething biscuits:
Did someone try the one from Healthy Times? Is it nice? If not think have to settle for Rusk (but I see the ingredients got SUGAR! which i am trying to avoid leh. KNS, I think i will eat it instead of my ger...) Balamy's organic teether got wheat (which I oso trying to avoid until ger is older).

Tara, Emma is so cute! I even sat Zach in front of me to watch Emma eat her apple!! I like the way she "shiver"..like adult..hahaha!! Maybe i shuld try some on Zach to see how is his reaction?? keke

Gals whose baby in IFC, did they ask u to send bb to see dr for a Certificate of Fitness if they previously were on medication? Zach's school ask me to send him to see a dr to certified that he is healthy to be in school cos last week he was on neb n flu medication. super mah fan and means spending more money.

kath,
as my elder boy has asthma so it's quite common to see him coughing but tat time (thanks to swine flu thing lor) his CC requested us to produce doc's letter to confirm tat his is having asthmatic cough & nothing related to swine flu... i din bring him to see doc to get letter laa (if not got to spend $$ again), wat i do was i call to my regular PD & told him the situation then request him to issue me the letter & fax to me, so tat i can pass to my boy's CC...

maybe u can call ur PD & see if they can do so too before bringing Zach to see them... save the hassle & money... but if they say cannot then boh bian le...

Snowger
I think they did 'cos if you look at the label, i think there is a pic of red & green apple. Heinz applesauce is very nice and in fact taste alot like the applesauce I made at home using organic red fuji apple. Yum :p

Snowger,

u specially assign 1 fan for ur ger, that is ok. do u know my gal is sleeping with 2 fans blowing at her n the aircon is on? or else she sure move her bottom in the yaolan. I got high electricity bill.

Hi Snowger.
I bought the teethers from HT but have not let her try on it yet. Will let you know. hee hee..

RUSK is very nice biscuits. even i love it...

snowyger
oh trying gradually delay the pumping time by increasing 15mins ah. Then after I hv increased 15mins for every pump, I hv to keep on doing like this for how many days b4 I add it to 30mins?

Jowinbaby
Actually we won't know that our breast has fully emptied right? Cos got one time, after finished my usual 30mins pump, I tried to pump somemore see whether still got milk, then after 10mins dry pumping, I got one more let-down. That means our breast cant be fully emptied lor.

oya, can anyone tell me the author of the First Food book so that I know which is the correct one.

Luthadel,
Really? Tat day my PD told me specifically NO GREEN APPLES for my ger. Cos she said it's sour and it can make bbs lose interest in solids... :p

ypg,
haha... I rather give her one fan than keep relying on the a/c. I wan her to noe tat a/c is a luxury not a necessity. So unless I (the one who dun really perspire) feel sweaty, then I will on a/c for her... :p

Jo,
Haha... I like Rusk in sugar water! Yummy. My comfort food when I was in Primary school. Every day have it for tea!

When u trying? Cos the teether must buy from carrefour/giant cos NTUC dun carry leh... They only got the arrowroot cookies.

I thought a mother from this thread open and finished it? Chantelle, is it u?

jess, i brought him to see a normal GP and got a long long lecture on how i shuld go to see my PD instead cos he has the history, shuld consider alt care for Zach and not child care, etc etc.. like as if i dont noe but it is no choice..unless i resign of course.

bulb,
It depends leh. If u increase by 15mins, does ur breast feel engorged/lumpy/very hard? If no, then i think every 3 to 4 days will be a good guage ba... From personal pt of view, I will up 15mins, if no lumpy/very hard/bad engorgement (e.g. pain,etc), I will up another 15mins until I get the above. Then I will stick to the timing until the breast is soft again then i increase time again. But like what Jowinbaby say, ss will surely drop a little one.

As for fully empty breast, it is not possible. For me I will pump max 15 mins or the amt which I need to yield based on the interval (e.g. I should get 150ml if my last pump is 3hrs/300ml if my last pump is 6hrs ago), which ever comes first.

This may be the book (with local recipe and written by locals) u lookin for: http://www.marshallcavendish.com/marshallcavendish/genref/First-Foods_B23491_Singapore.aspx

kath,
hmm... me too last time my PD used to lecture us as well until very harsh like u wan a healthy child (by quitting him from CC & keep him at home) or u wan a sick child (by continue to put him in CC), but my boy case is different la coz he has asthma & bringing him to see PD is like a monthly rountine...

btw hav u considered looking for a nanny instead coz i know tat baby fr infantcare/CC falls sick quite frequent coz some of the parent still sending their sick baby there coz no choice mah hav to work so the virus always spreading around... haizz, life is really full of 无奈, sometimes we juz hav no choice!

jess, i did consider babysitter but their timing is 7am - 7pm n i told her that I finish work at 6.30pm n i never leave on the dot. Earliest i can leave is 6.45pm n by the time reach her place alr 730 - 8pm..she buay song n say once a while is ok but if everyday cannot. so no choice lor..

jes,
I got lecture from my PD the last time oso, she told me to look for alternative care taker. And my ger not in IFC/CC lar... My MIL place got a niece n nephew who are sick n sometimes they spread to each other... so virus is like going in circles lor...

Sch is re-opening soon. I dun wan to move back to my MIL's place! :'( I told my hb he can move back to MIL's place with baby. I will stay in our own flat... *haha*

snowger
Thanks for the info. I don't think by increasing just 15mins I can feel much different from w/o increasing as i am not following the sharp2 timing for pumping haha. Cos like you said.. bf is not everything ma, we still have other things to do, therefore the pumping time can be easily over 15mins or 30mins.

So nice, u just need 15mins.. i need 30mins to get the output that I need leh.. so tiring :p

Is this book useful?

kath,
probably can look for those who r more flexibility one, but also not easy to get a good one hor...

snowger,
hahaa... think PD likes to lecture us mummy hor, haiya it's always easier to say than do laaa... but hor ur MIL place so many kids one ar? but good thing is nicole can hav playmate mah next time...

yeah, it is juz liek getting a maid.. all abt luck.

snow, how can u ask ur hb n bb to go back but u stay home? wont u miss nicole??

Hi Bulb
Perhaps i mislead u.. we could never get an empty breast.. cos milk is always producing.
My meaning of " empty breast" is, try to pump til breast is soft.

Maybe an example for my case. I always pump for 25mins to 30mins to make sure that the whole breasts become soft.. After that i massage again and did a hand squeeze for the excess.

Why i did this, is because i m very very prone to blockage and very used to feeling the breasts soft after pumping. The gals here always hear me going to KKH to massage.

For that 25mins pumping, i get a standard amount everytime. Maybe thats the amount of milk i can produce at 8 hours interval..

8 hrs seem scary to you eh ?? =P i practised it from 3hr,3.5hr,4,4.5hrs to 6hrs. And lastly, Itook a huge risk and stretch to 8hrs straight.. Took me 2 weeks to get use to the 8hrs interval. PHEW!

I would like to stress that this is my own personal experience.. As this could cause OVER PUMP and OVER SUPPLY.. usually, people just pump to what they need.. example your baby need 180ml each feed. you just pump till enough for her

Then no need to keep freeze milk like mad ...

jowin,
Ya, i did the hand squeeze for the excess too haha. Ya, i got read ur post last time too.. always going to KKH.. if not mistaken i think fabbie also got tat problem last time.
wah 8 hrs, so nice tat u could stretch to tat, save a lot of pumping times.
me where got so much extra to freeze milk like mad.. just enough only, no extra. perhaps i think i cant take risk to delay as I dont hv extra milk for me to do tat if i still wan to continue bf... haiz... guess i still need to be pump like mad till i wan to give up lor..

Ypg
i duno leh.. but my hub carry her she okai leh.. and my hub last week 5 days didnt see her. she still let my hub to carry.. i carry she dun like de. i dun feel that she needs me.. very cham one. i also duno how de leh.. haiz. so now i force liao.. hehe but sad lar.. she like that

Hi bulb
ya last time i have ALOT Of lumps. and i was so stress when my that lump at the nippple there.. SUper painful.. it been there for months or weeks. till i give up i dun wan to touch it. and guess what. it disappear its own. ehehe for me. now im pumping 1 day 2 times.. and im trying to pull it to 1 day 1 time. it looks like its SUPER hard.. for me. now i try to pump at least 3 bottles i stop.. i dun count how many mins i pump. once i hit 3 bottles full i stop. of cus by doing that. i got less BM liao. wana slowly cut down lor. =) btw u wan to increase ya milk is it?

Last time i also get lots of lumps and nipple tend to crack and bleed..have to use the nipple shield lor. Then worry baby reject bottle again!! Aiyo Breastfeeding is just such a headache but for Baby's sake no choice eh..

I brought my gal to the PD this morn cos she lao sia 2 more time in the middle of the nite ytd. PD cfm she kena stomach flu!! Stoopid me.. neber susspect tat she could be sick!!
kip thinking she's teething tats y so cranky.. etc. Last nite she puke out her milk.. then total lao sia 6 times. I freak out.. morn quickly bring her to PD.

PD gave me mamil gold SOY milk. and ask me to stop friso for a while. she oso gave me this special wate pack w nutirent and told me to give as much as possible to baby to put back all the nutrients she lost. sigh..

ya i oso check w her reg symtoms of teething. she say teething may cause fever but definately not diarroeah. so hor if any of ur babies lao sia.. cfm not due to teething. dun be like me.. so blur!!

the sad thing is i din get to weigh my bb cos tat rm is kindof use for kids down w flu or travel records i think.. sigh!

Xuelyn,

Jordan had stomach flu too..he was even put on drip cos he was drinking less than 300ml for the whole day! But KKH didnt ask me to stop friso le?! For Jordan's case i rushed him to KKH becos he was vomiting 5 times after one feed, then the next day 2 more times! Sigh...

Jordan lost abt 1kg after he recovered... best of luck gal!