(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Went for my chk up just now, bb wt 2.988kg at 35 weeks 6 days. BB already turn downwards liao. My expected C-section on the 23rd Nov, guess mayb I'm the next 1

spaghetti talking about belly button my hubbie soooooooooooooooooo love to touch my belly button.. lol. i say dun touch! its sensitive! hahah

reddates.. y c-sect? wahh so fast sia.. 23rd.. im 2 days away from u. hehe

Hahaha... my belly button also pop out! My hb will never touch cos i told him tat's bb's food supply and life support! hahahaha..so he super scared!

So reddates will be next, in another 2 weeks time, then fabbie?? Then i suppose starting from 01 Dec 08, alot of mummies will start popping..Hehe, sounds like popping corn to become popcorn!

Spag, no table to see our graduate? Think Ade will be discharged tmr lar hor..i hope she will update Bryan's pic..then we can compare his 4D with actual bb pix!! So excited for her

aiya.. he is not GAY gay la.. he is those type of meterosexual type of guy.. haha..

he is in love with a lesbian now.. so we keep telling him he is too gay to be gay!

Spaghetti, hehe.. i putting them up this weekend.. my friend coming over to help me coz she more artistic..

how i wish i on standby now.. kekekekekeke...

...I hate my protruding belly button loh because it sticks out through my top..

The bright side to this is, I get to clear the lint that has been in there for the past 29 years... bahaha

fabbie..my hubby gets a smack on his hand every time he tries to touch the belly button. Strictly see no touch policy!

Phy, I don't want to be on standby for induction leh. I want to have the excitment of not knowing when I'll pop...you know, the "OMG my water broke" kinda drama drama...heeheee....

emeraldbride, your husband very cute...so gullible one...

Spag, how to clean ah?? I tot now our belly button is quite fragile?? Each time i wash, its like soft soft one leh.. abit scared to scrub..hahaha

wah.. really leh.. look like daddy hor??

eh.. a part of me want to live the drama drama part of giving birth.. but needs alot of patience leh.. i bit of a control freak so got this disgusting need to know when what happens...

Emeraldbride: Bryan looks like his daddy!!! Heh...glad that both mom & son are fine. Think Adel should be discharged tomorrow.

Chantalle: My belly button popped out too! But only a little bit cos not much but it's the max liao. Haha...my hub will poke it a bit & said looks quite cute.

Reddates: Why must you go for c-sect? Guess it's either you & Fabbie who will be next. Soo exciting.

my belly looks temping? when it pops out?! thats why my hubbie loves to touch. hehe

Chantelle my edd is 25th nov =)

Woaaah.. So amazing! Adel's bb really look like Daddy. *Keep my fingers crossed* Really hope that my gal will look like me, if look like her Papa i sian 1/2. Lolz...

So After reddates is Fabbie. I am at the end of Dec. Last in the race!

Gerry - haiz, that's sth i worry abt too. i scare when real contraction comes, i dismiss it as cramps.

LuthAdel - so cute. Congrats to you!

Fabbie/Loveangel,

My first is C-Section, this time round my placenta is slightly low as well, might as well choose C-section, dun 1 to try try try then end up C-section. I've prefer C-section as well, me cannot imagine tearing down there, then have to stitch it back and heavy bleeding etc..... My first C-section exp was quite good, recover quite fast.

Chantelle,

Feeling quite kan chiong oso though 2nd 1 liao, but tat was liks 3 years ago. Recently cannot sleep too well, walk too much oso very tedious.

let me try cleaning the belly button tonite! Hahaha

U noe, my fren was saying that usually if having baby boy, mummy will be a photocopier, bb will be exactly like daddy and the next bb will be a ger wor! Dunno how true lar..prob is another old wives tale..

I wanted to hv those drama as well, water bag burst, having show, feeling the pain, hb rush to hospital etc etc..hahaha juz like TV but at the same time i also worried, wat if water bag burst or having show, then i dirty the house? Who will clean for me??

emeraldbride,

Wah, u still can care who cleans up after all the show, alamak...ur hubby lor..heehee... Imagine u in the middle of show, then u say u 1 2 clean up first den go hospital...so funny...

Belly button: mine not so protruding, but when my tummy growing, I peeled away all the dirt men..so dirty eeeks...

Wah.. all the bellies button talks are making my iMagination running very wild! Protruding with all the dirt etc..yEEKZ..

My belly button is disappearing as my tummy grows and stretches. It has become a (X) to a (-)haiz

Haha!! All this belly button talk... I dun have an outie.. mine just looks super stretched!! Haha!!

If u have a show, dun have to go hospital so soon rite?? My doc says only come when contractions come every 20 mins or so.. Or if u have fresh bleeding!! I think.. Must ask ur doc when to come into hospital.. sometimes no point going in too early.. =)

Juz..
Trust me.. I dun think u'll ever mistake contractions with regular cramps.. U'll be wincing and probably having lots of trouble walking and breathing...

chantalle, is it because u r expecting bb girl?? Apparently if u expecting bb girl, ur belly button will not pop but will sink in..hehehe

Sorry lar spag, but i abit paranoid if blood on the floor and then leave a stain..hehe

my belly button is very UGLY coz i got a piercing there.. so the hole stretch then the belly button pop out 1 side nia.. so it looks damn disgusting..

i cleaned my belly button using cotton buds n baby oil..

Reddates: OIC, no wonder you're opting for C-sect.

Emeraldbride: Really? I hope it's true then my boy will look like his daddy. Haha...my hubby is beter-looking than i am! :p

Gerry: If i dirty the house, i think my ILs will clean up cos my hubby will be with me at the hosp! Haha...

My doc told me to go straight to the hosp the moment contractions start cos my boy is already very very low.

belly buttons
Mine hasn't popped out at all. I heard that it pops out if you are having a boy. Don't know if it's true, though. But I'm having a girl and mine hasn't popped out.

Juz
I also used to worry about it. But I think you will know when it's real contractions. Basically, if the contractions are not getting stronger and more frequent, means you don't have to worry yet.

Gerry
Show doesn't mean that you are in labour. You could go into labour days or even weeks after the show. I had some slight brownish discharge yesterday, but don't know if it's considered a show. It wasn't triggered by sex or VE or anything, though. I will ask my gynae at my next appointment on Thursday.

next one to pop
My gynae thinks I might deliver sometime next week - maybe after reddates and fabbie? See what she says at my next visit.

Wah phyl,

U so "in" 1 ah, piercing on the belly button. I dunno how to clean men, try to clean b4 , then feel like pass motion after "poking" few times.

llig,
my tummy is also big! There’re people who thot I’m in my last mth & about to deliver, when actually I’m only in 32 wks. My tummy’s shape is pointed, and there’re a few times when I buy food, the hawker will ask if I’m expecting a boy since my tummy looks so pointed & my belly button popped out. Then I’ll smile & say ‘a girl’. Let me upload my tummy pic from home, now in office.

Ivy,
Aiya, didn’t know got free haircut. I just cut my hair on Sunday.

Fabbie,
I’m getting the korea headband too.. can’t resist its cuteness!
And I'm also buying the carter diaper bag.. hehe.. spree mood

Phyl,
you damn funny.. saggy boobs! hahaha.. i won't dare la. Besides they speak in mandarin not english..

Loveangel,
My husband is the photographer.. Took the same pose with my #1 too

Emeraldbride,
Ya hor..i also never thght abt who will clean up the mess. haha.. but spaghetti is right la.. Show also probably only your undies kena..if water bag burst most likely you already in loo cos feel super-urgent need to pee.

Belly button..
mine popped out a long long time ago. Its like the top of an orange now. No need to specifically clean belly button anymore (i's quite obsessed with cleaning it) cos the skin all stretched out already. so easy

And i think its cute to see the belly button peeking out under tops.. :p

Scarletgirl,
Another myth put to rest. So even if baby gal, the belly button wl pop out.

Phyl,
hahahhahahhhhaaaa!!!!!!!
You ah.....
Ladies, next time dun leave your kids with naughty Auntie Phyl..

eh mine is boy but mine bellybutton also nv pop out...

reddates, try not to walk ard too much since ur gynae says ur placenta is low..u too loveangel, dun bend & walk ard too much now.

echo, y u gynae thinks u might devlier sometime next wk??

Me at 35w2d.. 33days to go.

Girl80,
Hi!! How are you doing? And how are the cute little angels Jolin and Joann...?

pastillies
My EDD is 4 Dec but my gynae thinks I will deliver before the end of this month (maybe next week or the following week, ~38 weeks). I think it's cos my bb is quite big (was 2.9kg at 36W) and already partially engaged. Also, I registered 3 contractions during my CTG. Although my gynae did say that they were irregular contractions, so nothing to worry about for now.

Phyl, aiyoh, u so funny... i nearly spill out my water in my mouth to my PC.

Belly button: my sometimes sink in a bit, sometimes flat. like i got no belly button, sometimes sicking out. i tink it's the way my bb rest in my tummy. it's really weird when it's flat...

Ahhh.. if carring a bb Boy will have protruding belly button ah? Amaaaizzzing sia! I didn't know that leh!

WOoOH.. Phyl so sexy! Got belly button piercing! Skally U say aunty neh neh lau lau, the aunty remove her top and show u her neh neh piercing, dun play play ah! Lolz..

eh.. bur.. dun spoil the keyboard wor.. keke

chantalle, BEHAVE YOURSELF!! kekekekekekeke..

BEst case scenario of the auntie with saggy neh neh and neh neh piercing.. A FADED RED ROSE TATTOO!!!!

I think this list is helpful for us - Labour & Birth terms.

Sorry for the long posting.

Amniotic Fluid: This protective liquid, consisting mostly of fetal urine and water, fills the sac surrounding the fetus.

APGAR : A measurement of the newborn's response to birth and life outside the womb. The ratings, APGAR, are based on Appearance (color), Pulse (heartbeat), Grimace (reflex), Activity (muscle tone), and Respiration (breathing). The scores, which are taken at 1 and 5 minutes following birth, range from 10 to 1, with 10 being the highest and 1 being the lowest.

Bruptio Placenta (Placental Abruption): The placenta has started to separate from the uterine wall before the baby is born.

Breech Presentation: When the fetus is positioned head up to be born buttocks first or with one or both feet first.

Cephalopelvic Disproportion(CPD): The baby is too large to safely pass through the mother's pelvis.

Cervidil: A medication used to ripen the cervix before induction.

Cesarean: An incision through the abdominal and uterine walls for extraction of the fetus; it may be vertical or more commonly, horizontal. Also called abdominal delivery; commonly called C-Section.

Colostrum: This is a thin, white fluid discharged from the breasts in the early stage of milk production, and usually noticeable during the last couple weeks of pregnancy.

Complete Breech: The baby's buttocks are presenting at the cervix, but the legs are folded “Indian style,” making vaginal delivery difficult or impossible.

Contraction: The regular tightening of the uterus, working to push the baby down the birth canal.

Crowned/Crowning: When the baby's head has passed through the birth canal and the top or “crown” stays visible at the vaginal opening.

Dilation: The extent to which the cervix has opened in preparation for childbirth. It is measured in centimeters, with full dilation being 10 centimeters.

Effacement: This refers to the thinning of the cervix in preparation for birth and is expressed in percentages. You will be 100% effaced when you begin pushing.

Engaged: The baby's presenting part (usually the head) has settled into the pelvic cavity, which usually happens during the last month of pregnancy.

Epidural: A common method of anesthesia used during labor. It is inserted through a catheter which is threaded through a needle, into the dura space near the spinal cord.

Episiotomy: An incision made to the perineum to widen the vaginal opening for delivery.
Fetal Distress: Condition when the baby is not receiving enough oxygen or is experiencing some other complication.

Fontanelle: Soft spots between the unfused sections of the baby's skull. These allow the baby's head to compress slightly during passage
through the birth canal.

Forceps: Tong shaped instrument that may be used to help guide the baby's head out of the birth canal during delivery.

Frank Breech: The baby's buttocks are presenting at the cervix and the baby's legs are extended straight up to the baby's head.

Incontinence: Inability to control excretions. Urinary incontinence can occur as the baby places heavy pressure on the bladder.

Induced Labor: Labor is started or accelerated through intervention, such as placing prostaglandin gel on the cervix, using an IV drip of the hormone oxytocin (Pitocin), or by rupturing the membranes.

Jaundice: Condition in newborn babies, reflected in yellowing of the skin, caused by the immature liver's inability to process excess red blood cells.

Labor: Regular contractions of the uterus that result in dilation and effacement of the cervix.
Lightening: When the baby drops in preparation for delivery (Engagement).

Meconium: This is the greenish substance that builds up in the bowels of a growing fetus and is normally discharged shortly after birth.

Neonatologist: A specialist who cares for newborns.

NICU: Acronym standing for Neonatal Intensive Care Unit.

Nubain: Synthetic narcotic pain reliever commonly used in labor and delivery.

Oxytocin: Hormone secreted by the pituitary gland that stimulates contractions and the milk-eject reflex. Pitocin is the synthetic form of this hormone.

Perineum: The muscle and tissue between the vagina and the rectum.

Phenergan: A sedative administered that also controls nausea and vomiting.

Placenta: The tissue that connects the mother and fetus to transport nourishment and take away waste.

Placenta Previa: When the placenta partially or completely covers the cervix.

Posterior: The baby is in a face-up position during delivery. Normal presentation is anterior, which is face-down.

Post Partum: The period after childbirth.

Post-Term: Pregnancy lasting more than 42 weeks.

Preterm: Babies born earlier than 37 weeks.

Prostaglandin Cream: Medication used to ripen the cervix before induction.

Ruptured Membranes: Usually refers to the breaking of the fluid filled sac surrounding the baby. The fluid may come as a gush of water or as a slow leak. Slow leaks are sometimes mistaken as incontinence.

Speculum: An instrument used to open the vagina slightly wider so that the cervix can be seen more easily.

Timing Contractions: Contractions are measured from the beginning of one contraction until the beginning of the next contraction.

Transverse: Baby's body length is horizontal in the uterus. If the baby cannot be moved, it will have to be delivered by cesarean .

Umbilical Cord: The cord that transports blood, oxygen and nutrients to the baby from the placenta.

Vacuum Extractor: Instrument that attaches to the baby's head and helps guide it out of the birth canal during delivery.

gill,
your's is still ok. i ever seen a lady in the clinic is even more pointed than yours. I was like, is she carrying twin?? looks like the twins are one infront n ano at the back! she got to walk wif her hands supporting her tummy, even when sitting down.. xin ku lo...

quick question to ask..

wat is the mode of payment at the phillips warehouse? they accept nets? or cash only?