(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

hey xuelyn, it's not tat it's better - it's just convenient if you already have a microwave oven sitting on your kitchen counter top ... then not so many appliances taking up space ... just keep the sterilizer on the dishrack when you're done ... easier to clean and maintain too .. just wash and dry with a towel ...

I was at the taka fair on both thur and fri... so many of you mommies are there on friday, so sad i couldn't recog u gals... must definitely go for the up coming gathering..
I bought the B-free starter kit bottles and some others essential stuffs like nappy liners, mat etc. Damages was about $100. didnt get any clothes so i got 3 packs of rompies from mothercare when i was in Uk last year. think it shuld be enought to last me for the first few mos.
wanted to buy the pigeon sterliser, but dun need the bts, thus end up didnt buy... we oso decide on the stroller and car seat but the 20% discount like not so attractive so decide to wait for year end sale.... hahaha...

Sam - have checked on the url. just to clarify for the microwave sterilizer, just put the whole thing with bottles inside into microwave? and start the microwave? btw, for sterilizers - no matter electric or microwave, the teats can go in as well? thanks.

llig - ok, will check that out. thanks.

Morning all

Yesterday evening went to taka with hb and bought the Rocio bb cot. After using our $230 taka voucher we only paid $129.

Didn't buy any other things as we r still not sure we shld buy them now. Saw the Graco mirage+ stroller w car seat which cost abt $390. We may go down again to get it.

morning ladies!

Wow! seems like the Taka BB Fair really ignite our shopping mood man! haha... i will oso be going down on Sun to see if i wanna get more essentials. A quick check on my credit cards bill... it's almost hitting my monthly salary liao...Tsk tsk tsk... scary man!

Woke up feeling sick today so took leave and resting at home now... must be something I ate yesterday.... ah well...

JUzuandme,

yup, the instructions will tell you how much water to add (probably around 200ml) and how long to switch on your microwave for (usually between 2-4 min depending) ... I find that it's more convenient and faster.

yup, anything that needs to be sterilized can be put inside ... it's protected inside the steamer anyway ... teats, pacifiers, breastpump parts .. ----- of course u MUST ensure first that the stuff u want to sterilize CAN be sterilized to begin with ... ie take the temperature that steam reaches .. as long as it says it can be sterilized, it's safe to dump it in.

carmen, i need to start a spreadsheet on how much I have spent in total for baby alr.. Hahaha.. I have spreadsheet on my daily n mthly expenses as well as for our joint account and mthly check up expenses. Guess now is baby's expenses.. alr going into deficit every mth now..

Now even considering to get a car, i suppose must tell my parents that I need to cut down their mthly allowances alr..hahaha

Today baby is kicking.. even now i m sitting he is also kicking..haha

so happy, dumex just called regarding the free samples which I requested for online. Asked the lady about the free swaddling blanket, she said will have to check if still have stock.

Thanks mummies for introducing this lobang! Hopefully swaddling blanket still have stock...

Emeraldbride:
ur so organized finacially. I only so estimations on a monthly basis. My bottomline is simple, i try to spend within my monthly income. The only time which I will check my loans and credit card bills is like this month lor, whereby i have to dip into savings to pay for expenses! haha...

AdelChia:
me too! I oso received a call from Dumex but they say now too early to receive the Mamil Gold sample, so they suggets the Mamil Mummy sample (for preg and BF mums). They sud still have the swadling blanket as the lady who called me din mention dat the blanket is out of stock =)

no choice lar Carmen.. I have bad experience last time with credit card debts and i really thank my lucky star and my hard work that I finally managed to pay off those debts tat's y now i m very very careful with my expenses.. I now save abt 40% of my salary first then only I start spending.. and when using credit card, i bear in mind the billing date so that I can maximise the payment period - it really helps alot leh..Also cos i m working in a bank, not good to have bad debts, will spoil the credit ratings..

hmm... good advice... but for me, it's IMPOSSIBLE for me to save 40% of my salary. I will thank God if i cud save 10-15% monthly. I knw it's bad, but my financial commitment very high, so no choice lor. With BB coming in Dec.. hee... i dare not even think too far.

do any of you ladies have a bb checklist for the essential items to purchase? till now i have yet to buy a single item and i am a 1st time mum.

Hi LuthAdel

Does all the Aussino bedding fits the cot mattress from Palmax? What does the bedding set conmprise of & how much?

Something to share with mummies here:

FOC Sample

Drypantz / Drypers Diaper 1800 466 3002
Fitti / Pet Pet Diaper [email protected]
Huggies / Pull Up Pants / Little Swimmers Diaper 1800 484 4437
Mamypoko / Pull Up Pants Diaper 6265 1648
Dumex (Mamil series) Milk www.dumex.com.sg
NutriLine at 1800 265 3188
Friso Milk http://www.friso.com.sg
Friso hotline at 64198484
Abbott (Similac / Gain / Grow / Pediasure / Isomil) Milk http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/free_sample.asp Wyeth (Promil Gold / Progress Gold / Promise Gold) Milk http://www.wyethnutrition.com.sg
1800-6886886
Nestle Milk 800-6011633
Mead Johnson (Enfa series) Milk http://www.meadjohnsonasia.com/
Karihome goats milk Milk Punggol Plaza 2nd floor kids shop

girl80
Yes, the Aussino bedding fits the cot from Palmax.

The bedding set (during the promotion)comprises :
- fitted sheet
- comforter
- 1 pillow + pillow case
- 1 bolster + bolster case
- 2 pieces of L-shaped bedder

I bought mine during the Aussino sales at $69.90, not sure about the price now. You may want to give them a call to find out if the stocks are still available.

Hi, sorry to gate-crash into you gals conversion.......any idea what is the different between Natal Care Fish Oil and Dhaxtra?? of cos, except price!! haha

i m so so so busy until now sat now n ate my lunch.. tabao in...

Carmen, just do what ur best for baby.. as long as we do our best and give them within our means.. i think its enough

Hi emeraldbride
u are inspiring me to save 40% too.. haha... i can do it but sometimes seem so stingy to transfer the amount to another bank and see my own bank ac getting lesser.. though its still my account... silly me...hb is keeping track the expenses.. i shall ask him to show me.. but i scare i will get a shock after seeing it... =P

ya manz, we also considering having a car.. but really sianz when we see ERP getting more n more, oil price din really drop much... beside we use on weekend only.

Hi Juzyounme

You can call & request but for Fitti/Pet Pet brand, you will need to email them your name, address, contact & size required

definitely need a car for us liao, else next time i hv to take mrt from Punggol MRT to Clarke Quay and vice versa with the baby.. quite inconvenient.

To avoid ERP, hv to pass the gantry before 8am (so that can pay the cheapest ERP)..hahaha..no doubt expenses will go up.. so i m hoping i will get some salary increment soon, else sigh..

Hi LuthAdel

Thanks alot. Will call & check. Just need to let them know that the set is under the range of Aussino Babies?

$69.90 is really a good steal with so many freebies...

Hi emeraldbride..
we see how abt the car.. maybe when bb born... cos mon-fri , we staying at mum house... only weekend shift back home...

So early b4 8am ah... haiz....this ah gong wan us to leave home early.. and reached home late.. cos some ERP stop after 10pm..
still saying so much of promoting family life... haiz....

so is easier for u guys..then consider weekend car, but nowadays weekend car also quite expensive alr..

For me, drive to work, park the car for the whole day, at night, drive back home, pick up hubby at Tampines, then go for dinner then home... shuld not cost alot but could come up to $1K per mth..

Hi all mummies,sorry to disture u ali.Will like to ask if u gals interested buying my stroller(Peg Perego Pliko P3(2007 version).I bought it on 29/06/08 at Baby hyperstore @ $470,still under warranty.Used only once. Condition as good as new.
Releasing it as baby does not like it, so i'm now using a baby carrier instead.
If interested, pm me or sms me @96868699. your comfortable price and we shall work it out.

anyone know if there is any more other places that has Song & Song? So far i only know that AMK & Toa payoh have...pls let me know if anyone knows of other outlets & the location.

thks thks

sam, song and song sells cut-off brands clothings such as old navy & gap. they have rompers at i think $5 and some clothings at 3 for $10.

gals, i went to bugis jus now to find that shop but couldn't find.... i only saw 1 shop opp the construction site which sells towels and bb clothings at 4 for $10. i dun think that's the shop cos the shop like a bit old.... in the end, went to Carrano and bought a few maternity tops. the maternity tops are cheap at only $20+.

Hi Summer,
My hubby got the bird nest fr a distributor stall at chinatown. the shop is located opp central. the price is slightly cheaper then the normal medical halls.. but its of better quality(I think).

If u r interested u can drop by & check them out.
Shop name: Teck Sang P/L
Address: 10 & 11 Hong Kong Street

hihi mommies,

I went to Taka Baby Fair AGAIN today...haha. This time, i bumped into Snowger (Maureen) & i almost blindly walked past her. Luckily she called out my name twice. This is Round 3 for me & this time i bought these items --

* Pigeon bottle & vegetable cleaner (bottle) -- $11.76
* Pigeon bath sponge -- $6.00
* Portable diaper change mat -- $15.96
* Richgi baby clothes -- 4 for $10
* Anakku cotton buds -- $2.30 for 600 tips
* Jasper romper -- $6
* GAIA powder (3 bottles) -- $17.20 each
* GAIA skin soothing lotion -- $20.30
* FOC GAIA bath & body wash (buy 4 get 1 free promo)

Total: S$123

Then i went to Aussino & bought a 6-piece cot bedding set. It costs $69.90...the promo is still on.

Xuelyn: The beansprout husk pillow are between the Fisher-Price & stroller sections. There's this mini area that sells Cheeky Bon bons (or something) brand bedding & pillows. I got the beansprout husk pillow there.

Hi Summer,

I got the bird nest from my friend at Malaysia during the time when my wife pregnant. He do own harvesting, cleaning and whole-sale, he can deliver to singapore if quantity is enough, if you need his contact, you may pm me or email to me [email protected]

Hope it is help.

Morning Ladies.

Mimi, its behind the toilet opp guan yin miao! Thanks to Pris, i found the place and bought 1 Doz mittens and 6 pants with booties! so happy!

I din manage to go to Taka coz hubby face black black by 4pm.. so we went home instead.

ohhhhhhh .. thanks Mimi
I think I've seen shops like that around ... not specifically Song and Song ...

Wat are u gals up to this morning? I have my gynae appt tomorrow .. 24 weeks ... can't wait to see my baby again
on the ultrasound monitor ...

So far, the weather looks fine today huh? Then again, it's only 9.15am ... still early.

Phyl, is it difficult to find the place? 1 dozen of mittens is alot leh!!! hahaha..

Do they sell front button shirt or those velcro type? i need to get those, 6 pieces at least.

Tonight going Taka..hehehe, will buy play gym for baby and see what else to grab. Loveangel, any more freebies to give away by Taka?

haha.. alot meh.. hehe.. me was thinking of buying 6 more leh.. hehe

coz i have both a washer and a dryer ma.. i will wash bb's clothes seperate from ours.. so i buy a little bit more to last me a least 1 week so i wash only 3 loads a week lor.. 1 for bb, 1 for whites and 1 for blacks.

Me looking for cloth diapers now.. hehe.. wanna buy abt 4 doz. but the prices i've seen varies alot. me looking for good quality but not super ex type.

Morning,

Phyl,

Wow,tat's alot of mittens, very cheap ah? Heehee....

Went to West Coast for picnic on Sun , in the end heavy rain, so kena flu yesterday , still have to come to work, so tired....

emeraldbride, back face the temple, then the toilet is on the left.. wont miss coz damn smelly one.. then walk pass the toilet and you can find the shop.

mittens 6sets for $3 nia!! haha.. Most of the things all comes in 6's. I din see velcro ones.. there were front buttons and ribbon tie ones.. i prefer front button.. but i din buy tops coz i've got to date abt 20++ rompers liao.. hehe.. lost count.

yunnbb, i sent u an email..

jowin, i sent u a snail mail..

sam.. lucky u... my next appt is 28th Aug!!!! I have a question, does KKH has 3D/ 4D scans?