(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

fabbie, prob u will see my hubby's face 'chou chou'..he is always like that if he has to go shopping wif me.. keke

I must really meet up wif u gals liao, else go out bump into each other dunno who is who..;)

today going sentosa!! Yeah..will go thr to sleep sleep n sleep... n rot!

Need to find time n clean the cupboard again, getting full and i need to get it organised..

Happy National Day!

I was at Taka at abt 6pm+ as well, left at abt 8pm..no damage done, did not buy anything. Mayb will go again next week to buy liao.

Jowin looks like so happening leh.. Isetan cheaper than Taka? as in what? lolx

Emeraldbride Lolx. i think i notice him cus he is quite big size and his face looks like my frd haha. so i look at him to see which frd look like him hahha. So nice sentosa.. havent been going for a long long time liao. and ya. one day got to meet up. cus i also duno who is who. lolx.

fabbie, the pigeon steriliser set looks good leh. I've been thinking of doing traditional sterilising via boiling...but maybe will get the steriliser set afterall.

Jowinbaby, I have been having vivid nightmares lately too. The other day, dreamt that I woke up late and missed work, but handphone and internet not working, cannot notify office. Got more and more panicky as the hour passed. *stress*

Have been arguing with hubby about the baby room. Now then realise that with a cot and the single bed, the room is almost filled. Dunno if I need waist-height cabinets that can double up as changing table/bath area for the baby. Hubby wants to get contractor to make a big big wardrobe instead. My friends ask me to buy a small stool and squat sit on the toilet floor, but I cannot image squat-sitting after the stitches *grimace*

Llig ..

I'm an internet junkie .. NOTHING can keep me away from the internet .. dun worry .. lol
even when I stayed in the hospital ONE nite, I was getting withdrawAL symptoms .. hahahha

so yeah, no problem .. I'll definitely be on hand to help any mummies here !! I will try my best to help u guys out with breastfeeding and stuff

spaghetti yup so get it. its quite worth. so many free gifts de. and i heard pigeon can streilise other baby brands bottles too. hehe

iemik0,

yeah, mebbe it's your skin stretching that's causing the pain around your belly button area? ..

for me, pregnancy going fine ... love feeling baby kick and squirm in my tummy ... I love being pregnant ...
always makes me happy

how are u girls doing this weekend? I just finished playing tennis .. and bowling ... and baseball ..

on our Wii set ... lol ... !!

wa, quite siong leh ... pregnant and trying to pitch and bat the blardy ball ... even if it's just virtual and not real ...

I just came back~! i brought a Lucky PlayPen for just 40 Bucks! hehehe its a 2nd hand playpen. and the seller is sweet to give us free 50 color balls. =P Its a Playpen cum Bassinet. and its foldable that you can bring it to ya MIL house or your own house. hehe. SO happy got this good offer! and my hubbie still wana ask him to give discount. LOLX.

sam so shiok leh.. play Wii.. must be costing quite alot to get a Wii hor?

fabbie, sigh ... hubby got it for us and our girls .. I dowan to ask him how much he spent ... too scared to hear the total damage.

but yes, it's quite fun to play leh .. and beats going downstairs to the tennis courts to ACTUALLY play ... damn lazy, man ... lol

yes, fabbie ... that is a good buy .. 40 bucks .. some things you don't really need to get BRAND new la ... especially playpen ... sekali your baby dowan to sit in it long ... imagine if you had paid for a brand new one .. feel damn wasted your money ...

Sam hahaha your hubbie so sweet leh! i wish to have one sia hahaha. But i think later part. then at least can like u, play with ya daughters. hehe

Yup.. im looking alot of website for 2nd hand stuffs. I think like that can save a lot liao hor. hehe. Ya buying a brand new one makes my heart abit pain. Lolx. Need to save a lot of money for the future! hehe

seems like many of you went shopping wor! me going next week ba.. see lor.. hubby having his PMS.. hehe

Jowin, my hubby has a china "GF" haha.. its actually his colleague but she like to keep asking him for favours.. erm.. e.g. buy lunch for her.. buy toto for her.. get me to download games into her psp... etc la.. mine not dream... but it upsets me thats why i keep hanging out at my hubby's workplace.. keep calling him and all.. but i did tell him i dun like his "GF" and he just keep quiet.. well.. that girl's a BUTCH by the way.. haha.. so its just my nonsense.. dun worry too much la.. its just our pregnancy hormones! =)

Happy National Day Ladies!

Went to the Taka baby fair earlier this morning, and spent slightly less than S$60 (bought only the Pigeon Fridge On The Go - cooling bag which comes with 3 free bottles, and Pigeon breast pads). May be going again this coming Mon, after confirming with my sis whether she wants the GAIA items.

Don't have much to buy currently - Mum pantang, say cannot buy clothes for bb since it is 7th lunar month. Me paranoid too, cos thinking whether it is too early to buy the wipes (scared dried up by the time I want to use them), etc...

Think it is just me thinking too much! Haha!

hihi mommies,

Happy National Day to everyone!!!

For those who read my blog, you can see pics of what i bought..for those who don't, here's a list of the items Hubby & I bought at the Baby Fair.

1) Fisher-Price activity gym -- $69.90
2) Fisher-Price infant-to-toddler portable rocker -- $129
3) Fisher-Price kick & play piano -- $59.90
4) Cheeky les bon bons 9-pc cot bedding set -- $59.90
5) Pigeon wet wipes -- $19.90
6) Pigeon baby wear -- 3 for $9.90
7) Pigeon waterproof cot liner -- $20.72
8) Anakku rubber change mat -- $7.90
9) ABC cloth book -- $8.40
10) Avent bottle (9 oz) -- $7.xx
11) Avent bottle (330 ml) -- $9.xx
12) Swaddle Me (blue, small) -- $23.40
13) Beansprout husk pillow -- $12.90
14) Babysafe snug wrap (twin pack) -- $30.90
15) Avent express bottle warmer -- $57.36
16) Kiddopotamus Snuzzler (Terry) -- $35

FREE gift -- Little Tikes mini cycle (Teal)

TOTAL SPENT -- about S$560

What did the rest of you buy??

went to taka baby fair today and spent a bomb!!!

bought the following :

1) Bfree milk bottles 160ml (2 nos.) - $30.20
2) Bfree milk bottles 260ml (4 nos.) - $55.10
3) Pigeon nappy liner (2 boxes) - $15.00
4) Pigeon nappy cloth - $25.20
5) Pigeon clothings (6 pcs) - $19.80
6) Pigeon wet wipes (box) - $6.32
7) Pigeon wet wipes (6 pkt refill) - $19.90
8) Disney clothnig (1 set) - $10.00
9) Disney top & btm - $18+
10) Munckhin voice activated crib light - $24+
http://www.munchkin.com/products/detail.html?section=devStages&ID=10009&pID=263
11) 4-in-1 cot (can convert to baby cot, playpen, sofa bed & toddler bed) - $359.00

the cot comes with free mattress wotrth $100+, 5 pcs bedding set & musical toy

the little tikes mini cycle free gift is fully redeemed. in the end, i redeem a disney towel and a little tikes xylophone

Glenn,
You can check out the difference between the two pumps at the medela website: http://medelabreastfeedingus.com/products/breast-pumps
I understand that FFY are providing adaptors as part of the price. According to the sales staff, you will go back to FFY if there is anything wrong with ur pump.

Taka Fair:
I didn't buy much stuff except for the 3 for $9.90 pigeon clothes n $19.90 pigeon wipes (Isetan is selling the wipes @ e same price). Was thinking if I shld wait somemore before buying the big ticket items (e.g. car seat). *Hmmm*

ivy, the cot will be delivered to my hse in nov. hmm... let me ask my sis to go get the brochure tmr cos she is gg tmr. i throw away mine liao! haha....

morning ladies

had lots of fun shopping ydae. haha. hubby amazed tt even thou tis is 2nd baby, we still spend so much.

items:
1) pigeon wet wipes (box)
2) pigeon wet wipes (mini version)
3) pigeon sterilizer - onli get sterilizer as my avent bottles still in good condition & another baby means more bottles to sterilise. lolx
4) ur baby can read (vcd) - gift for my friend's baby
5) ur baby can read (flip cards x set 1 & set 2) - for my little boi
6) sesame street bowls, plates n spoons - for my little boi who managed to break 2 of his baby bowls in a week *faint*
7) baby einstein photo book - can hold 6 pics so can place our pics inside for him to flip n look
8) baby mickey clothes (2 for $10)

total damadge at taka baby fair was $280.
free item was dora towel.

had lunch at cafe pasta where my boi enjoyed his meatball pasta. ate almost 1/3 my share thou he is onli 1yrs old. told him to find a italian wife who can cook nice pasta next time. hehe.

mayb pop by next wk again afta examining my avent teats. make sure in good condition, if not, more shopping. =)

Morning all

Phyl you mean that China gal is a Butch? that keep going with ya hubbie? YOu must show ya hubbie what you dun like. if not he will think ya okai only.

raven is it? i didnt hear 7th month canont buy baby clothes wor.. ya raven.. same here i dun wan to buy wipes too i scare dried by the time i wan to use too. hahah so that one i leave it later to buy. But i bought the pigeon streilizer got free de. so maybe use that first and see how when the time comes. but of cus will buy a few baby wipes just in case the old one dried up haha

Wahhh mimi really a bomb sia. but ya 4 in 1 cot looks not bad! and the free bies are cool too!

HI Phyl
Aiyo.. for me i also unhappy.. why everything ask my HB to do??

Hi spagetti
U having work stress i think.. haha...

last nite i had a funny dream.. dreamt that i m having a baby boy.. later the bb turn in to a bb girl.. just newborn only can us daddy n mummy and can flip over to play with us... haha!!!!

wow ladies
all of u also bought alot of things at the Taka fair.. hee hee...

Hi ppl, been reading alot of these forums but haven't contributed much hehe...my latest EDD is 14 December and delivering in ESH. Bit anxious leh cos it's my first baby...and little baby is moving alot these days lol...

Mimi, izzit the Rocio by Bon Bebe 4-in-1 cot bed? I think I saw that being mentioned in other threads for that price.

Jowinbaby, yeah loh. Lately my boss dropped the big "R" word on my department. "R" for restructuring. Now kena restructured a lot of the work because they restructured a colleague away; very scared they will restructure me away when I'm away on maternity.

I dropped by the fair yesterday while being out for tea with my friend...anyhow see already bought nearly S$100 worth of baby clothes, mittens etc already. Today going down with hubby...can smell the hole in my pocket already.

Linda, yeah loh, baby will become more and more active. Mine kicks a lot when I am hungry. Dunno if it's because my tummy rumbles and disturbs him. :p

Been thinking of insurance for baby. I heard some insurance can be pre-approved for baby before birth, so baby is insured the moment he is out. But my advisor say dun have leh. Anyone heard of such policies?

haha.. i keep telling my hubby i dun like his "GF" but just keep quiet coz he noes its just me and nonsense.. if he violently objects then there is something wrong la.. me downloading games for him then i told him i'm not going to share with his "GF" then he say nvm lor.. haha..

Welcome Linda!

Hmm...I won't be happy too leh, if I were you, Phylicia. I mean, he won't be happy if you ask him to keep downloading songs and games for your gay friend, right?

Fabbie,
whattodo..i work crazy shift. Am back at work today (24h) then mon off, tues work night, wed off and on and on and on.. Quite tiring but at least i get to be home with my little boy during his waking hours on weekdays. If i work permanent day shift will be even more chialak..always very busy until, sometimes, don't even get to have lunch till mid-afternoon. That's why wkends are impt family time for us. Wonder if my gynae will gimme HL towards the last few weeks.. Quite stress here and me a little paranoid now about preemie.

Sam,
Thanks! I thought i was a junkie but you're way worse! haha.. But somehow, at home, i won't use the pc unless husband/son not around. Would feel guilty surfing instead of being with them. The last time i survived 2wks in hosp without tv/net (Class C).. Perhaps cos i love reading books too..

I once came across a local webbie selling children's books but can't remember/find the website now.. Its a blogspot site if i remember correctly.. Any chance any of you know what's the site??

seems like loads of u have visited the taka Baby fair! I went by on fri after my detailed scan too. but seems like I missed a lot of items that u gals bought. I may haf to go back agn to get more bargains.. hahahaa..

Let me update.. My detailed scan on fri went well.. except that my bb wouldn't show us the spine part.. so I had to go for a walk then try agn.. hee.. I'm expecting a MINNIE!! so happy.. cos i have been hoping for a little prncess all along..

my bb weighs 307grams at 19wk 4days. Gynae say its a normal small baby. seems like I gotta buck up eat more. The other gd news is i put on another 2 kg =)0.5 kg more to go back to my original weight!! yippee!

& Now for my damage at Taka Bb fair:
1)Jasper Baby rompers x 3 ($6 each)
2)Swaddle me (yellow, small) ($23.60)
3)Avent Feeding set-NB starter set ($36.72)
4)AVent bottle tits (1x 0m & 1x 1m both @4.80 each)
5)Cartoon milk powder holder ($4.90)

Total damage: slightly below $100

was bery tempted to get the philips avent set w steriler &bottles prices at $168 but a fren oreadi gave me the philips avent microwave sterilizer. The fisherprice rocker (newborn to toddler) looks gd too but hubby says its too early to get that.. =(

Btw where was the bean sprout pillows placed? I went round twice but din notice this item..

Could you pls add my details to the table pls:
name: xuelyn
bb#1
EDD: 30 Dec 08
Gynae: Dr WH Kee
Hospital: TMC
bb gender: gal

appreciate it! thanks!

phy if im you i will make a big fuss of it. so he will stop it. if not he is DEAD! I wont want him to think im talking rubbish if not he will take me for granted and ignore me de.

Jowin whats the destini cream for? for baby belly button is it?

halo ladies,

cloudy n rainy sunday! perfect time to snooze in bed

went to taka bb fair yesterday. bought the Medele Mini Electric Breastpump and a Safety 1st Convertible Car Seat... spent 400 plus just in a day!!!

Hi All, went to taka bb fair yesterday and spent $295. The pigeon steriliser + food warmer + starter kit + bottles set is a bargain at 159! Plus alot of other stuff like pigeon bpa free bottles x 1 (small), x 2 (big), rubber changing mat, waterproof cot cover, pigeon bb nail clipper, nipple shield, ... Cant remember the rest.. Had a great time shopping!!

Wanted to get some raspberry tea leaf after reading that its really good for preggies as it helps during labour and delivery. Any mummies know where I can get it?

hi Ladies
Seems like load of you gals went to the Taka Fair. For those of you who went or intend to go, please remember to redeem your lucky draw coupons (every $50 entitles you to 1 coupon)

Fabbie
Out total damage came up to $800+ but all we are happy 'cos we managed to get all the essential stuff espeically the Britax Car Seats.

Went to Tanglin Mall for breakfast this morning, actually more brunch than breafast lah. Came home and bake my Marbled Blueberry Cake. So now, nothting to do again.

Hippo
You can get the organic Raspberry Leaf Tea from Tanglin Mall. There is an organic shop there and the tea is really nice. I bought quite a few boxes for 3rd trimester consumption ;)

Xuelyn,
alamak how to describe to you where the bean sprout pillows were ... hmmmm .. ok, near the PIgeon sterilizers and stuff was ONE big cashier counter right? it's on the other side ... quite near the steps ..

LuthAdel,
I love Tanglin Mall ... we were there after church last weekend .. I was trying to convince my hubby that I NEEDED another stroller ... I want the Phil and Ted's sports buggy with the double kit.. but he wouldn't budge leh .. dammit. He says no more strollers for me after I just bought the Quinny Buzz recently ... lol !!

We were at Marina Square this morning ... and I bought a box of Nuk nipple sterillized wipes (quite handy comes in packets - 30 satchets in a box) .. good for wiping your nipples before feeding baby ... more hygienic .. not ex too .. around $13 plus after using the Kiddy Palace disc card ...

Sam
Ooooo, didn't know they have nipple sterillizedd wipes! Ok that will be next on my shopping list. Hey are you on MSN?

Thinking of heading down down to Taka again today but somehow no energy liao.

Thx for welcome msgs!!
Please add me to the expecting December MTBs.

name: linda pasic
bb#1
EDD: 17 Dec 08
Gynae: Dr Heng
Hospital: ESH
bb gender: gal

welcome Linda !!! And congrats on your baby gal !! .. I'm expecting my 4th girl on the 3rd of Dec ..

LuthAdel,

YA LOR .. I didn't know there was such a thing .. so just buy .. I know I'll feel better cleaning my areola and nipples before stuffing my nipple into baby's mouth ... lol .. I'm paranoid about germs ...

Orchard was getting very crowded as we drove thru it around 1 plus ... bet u Taka is PACKED!! lucky u din go ..

yes, I am on live messenger ... [email protected]

Sam,
added you to my msn

Nipple wipes?! wow..will look and standby..

Luthadel,
Britax carseat?? Which model and how much? Hmm..maybe i'll pop by tomorrow morning..

Me presently ga-ga over aussino bedding sets.. Got my boy matching jungle and zoo bedding and curtains sets. So cute!

llig - the cheapest sterilizer we come across is about $50+ and we find it x. until now we still don't have spare cash to buy a lot of baby stuff. and since my home already have a big pot was thinking of using that.

Sam - what's a microwave sterilizer? never hear of that before. what's the diff between electric and microwave sterilizer?

LLIG, ya NUK Nipple wipes .. 30 stchets in a box .. the box ain't big btw .. retail price is $14.30 ..

Juzyounme,
Well, the usual sterilizers you see .. you have to plug it into a socket right? cos it uses electricity? well, for the Microwave Steam Sterilizer ... Avent has one ... uses the power of your microwave oven to sterilize your bottles and stuff ... very fast ... a few mins only !! Just dump the bottles and stuff into it ... with some water ... and set it inside your microwave oven and switch it on ...

See this

http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2403350

to get an idea what it looks like ... I think Mothercare carries them ... but not too sure ...

Spaghetti, think that's the cot cos it's also $359. i find it quite good cos can convert to toddler bed somemore can withstand max 50kg.

looks like everytime i go taka baby fair sure got something to buy

hehe... bet many of us rhaving a great time shopping at Taka BB Fair.

Met JowinBB and Ikeike on Fri nite when i was there wif HB. Think i saw Snowger from a distance (but din call u as ur quite far from me!). My total damage is $500+ too! Bought many items but as the things will be home delivered next Wed, I could not remember all the items which i bought (the receipt description is quite confusing!

1 x Aprica Nania car seat: $149
4 x Pigeon Bottle/Food detergent refill: $9.90 each
1 x Pigeon BB wipes refill (6's): $19.90
3 x Disney BB clothes (1 jumper, 1 dress, 1 short): $$41.70
3 x Anaku Nappy packs: $19.90 each
4 x Anaku nappy liner (150pcs): $8.50 each
1 x BB Playmat (with squeaker + touch-and-feel): $39.90 (last pcs i think)
1 x bean pillow:$12.90
2 x Pigeon Hooded Towel: $12.72 each
2 x No-brand Hooded Towel: $5.90 each
1 x rubber mat: cannot find px from receipt

There are a few items which i cud not recall or recognise from receipt liao! Then i oso bought $200+ items from Robinson 2 weeks earlier. hahaha... think i need to eat instant noodles for the next 2-3weeks liao! ;p

Jusyounme,

Perhaps you can try going through the 'Want To Sell' thread and see if anyone is letting go of sterilisers..?
Personally, husband and i thought of sterilising the traditional way but realised that we'll end up using less energy (90ml water/8mins of electricity) with a steriliser so we bought an Avent starter kit. Came complete with bottles/teats/bottle brush (but i dun remember how many, sorry) and if you get during sales/offers, price works out to be quite ok.

Microwave steriliser also works in the same way so can consider.

Hiiiii all,

Came back from the detailed scan at camden. Everything seems fine and the Doctor says everything normal but the report states some chim stuff.. Something about the Lt Aberrent Papillary Muscle.
Do you guys have that in the report?

I have booked a trip to BKK on the 24th wk. The doctor who did the scan told me to cancel my trip to BKK saying that it is dangerous to fly for pregnant women especially the landing part. However, my gynae give the go ahead and say that I can fly.

Now I am in a dilemma...Any advice?

Wow..seems like almost everyone went to the Taka Fair already. I bought
- Pigeon Sterilizer set ($159)
comes with free 2x packs baby wipes and 1 pack baby moisturizing cloth wipes
-Pigeon Detergent

Total $168

I will go down to Taka baby fair next week to confirm on the cot.. Me and hb think that it is a good deal for a cot going at $359.

After this, I need to re-look at what else need to buy alr..today i was looking back at my credit card receipts, spending so much this mth.. heart ache!

Hi Sam,
I found the bean sprout pillow.. but din get it cos left only 2 designs which I dun fancy.. and yes I went down to the fair agn.. this time with an experienced mum-A fren who gave birth last year gave me valuable advise on wat to buy. hee.. Spent another $60 today.

Btw I'll also be using the microwave sterilizer (brand new) given by a fren. Is it better than the normal electric one?