(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

I'm unable to breast feed my baby so want to sell my one month old PIS breast pump.

It is a Medela PIS Advanced 2008 version. I bought it in March and it has 12 months warranty (8 months left). My baby was born end June, so it has been used very few times and only for less than a month. I bought it at about 650 and want to sell it at 400. It is in good condition and comes in original state.

I am also selling the following brand new items
1) Tollyjoy breast pads 48 pieces 2 boxes, each box at 8 bucks or both boxes at 15 bucks. Each box retails at 11.90 outside.
2) 1 pair of reusable cotton breast pads . Forget how much I bought these for, but selling them at 4 bucks.
3) 1 pack of Medela 6 piece membranes and 2 valves for breast pump. This retails at 38.90. I'm selling this at 25 bucks.
4)2 tubes of Medela PureLan 100 breastcare gel.

If you are buying the breast pump and also want to buy the above items or any of the above items, do let me know. I will give you a further discount.

If you are interested in any of the above items, please email me at [email protected]

good morning ladies!!

Tara, why were u awake at 2.14am???

i din sleep well.. coz i was cramping a little.. cant figure its my post LS cramping or wat.. having a little bit of yeast infection too.. noticed my tummy going very hard when i cramp.. so well.. 3 days to gynae!! woohoo!

20wks!! yippee!!

Pris, emraldbride, the shop over at Bugis is a wholesale shop, so must buy in dozens. They supply bb clothes to my dad's shop last time.

Phylicia

Not me leh...now seems like got another person with the nick Santorini....i was definitely sound asleep at 2am...

abit confusing hor...never seen her post before...

ah... now i see... haha.. i tot you changed your nick too..

ladies.. i changed mine coz i realized not many people on this planet spells my name that way.. haha.. erm.. so prevention is better than cure..

Hmm..weird that there are ppl having the same nick!! Now we have to be wary abt such postings after the Stomp incident! Sigh, one such incident and everyone's is on high alert! Hahaha

I am so stoned today! Slept at 3am tis morning..can't sleep. Sleep face up, baby kept kicking, sleep on my left, i get shoulder ache.. ARRGGHH..going crazy

Morning Ladies
I had a nice weekend attending class and shopping

1st antenatal class
I must say that the class is really fun and informative. All the HBs got to try on a "body suit that has huge breast & a round belly" to further understand how we preggy mtb feels. That was really a fun watch!

We were also taught massage techniques and how we should not rub our tummy in circular motions (thinkg tat we are sayanging our bb) 'cos that motion will actually triggers contraction if done too often. We were taught the correct ways for communicating with our bb via touch and conversation. In addition, we were also taught various exercies and stretching methods to help us cope with our growing belly & all the back aches.

Got some freebies too

Ok, now my HB & I can't wait for the next session this sat YEAH!

SHOPPING !!!!
We went on crazy baby shopping on Sunday and bought 2 sets of Cot sets from Aussino for only $69.90 per set. The size of the cot set is the same as our cot (for those who bought it at Palmax). Not easty to find sheets for our cot as most are slightly smaller in size.

The set comes with 2 pieces L shaped bedder, fitted sheet, a pillow + pillow case, a bolster + bolster case and lastly a nice comforter.

They even sell matching hooded towel so I bought 2 pieces to match the bedding :p

Anyway, for infant stage, we won't be using the pillow, bolster or comforter but it is such a nice piece tat we can keep and use when BB is older like from 8 mths onwards.

hi emeraldbride
I can't really get to sleep after 3am..Happen to lie on my tummy n sleep.. BB kicked me until i woke up.. change position n no more kicks.. But then i kept thinking of my job.. my event not done... stress.. in the end..half asleep..

Tired!!

hi ladies, family's been down with the flu bug since thu (my 1st day of leave!)..husband/son just recovered yday so now its my turn
on 2 days mc.. haiz..

you ladies know of any multi-vits for 1yo? need to boost my boy's immune system.. husband and i are both very prone to falling sick and now it seems the little one has to suffer the same fate.

Morning ladies!! I guess I have to take wat granny said with a pinch of salt since we hv boi bois in the lunar nov hehehe.......

Was at kiddy palace ytd and the cheapest glass bottle was Pigeon's 120ml at $7.90. Have not enquired if its interchangeable to other teats yet... Anyone knows other sources of cheap glass bottles besides those free ones from the hospitals?

emeraldbride,
U toss and turn... Me had to do that to avoid my husband's "shadow kicks". I dunno what is up with him this past week or so. Everytime i sleep on my left, his knees will come n I get a kick at my stomach area! :'( Haiz...

morning ladies and welcome Hippo!

I will still be on MC this week (but i delpleted my MC entitlement last week), so this week is actually more on AL liao... sianzzz...

i will see if my blisters can fully dry up in next 2-3days, so dat i can reduce using up my AL.

im starting to have diff sleeping too! dun knw due to stress or wat, after waking at wee hours to go toilet, im unable to fall back to sleep peacefully. ah... now on MC/AL so still can catch some sleep in pm, after start werk i think i will die man!

Detailed scan:
im supposed to have my detailed scan last Fri (at 20week+). but gynae say not clear and want me to go again this week (at 21week+). so need to endure till this Thurs then can see BB =(

Mimi: why our gynae double std one... i requested to check at least the gender but he smile and ask me to wait till detailed scan this week... grrr... ;)

Hi..my baby EDD is on 17 Dec 2008. How is the detail scan like? how is it different from the normal ultrasound? I am going to have my detail scan this thursday...then i can start buying more baby clothes..

wah.. 3 days never log in so many things happened...

Pris: Nice to know that u r taking things easy.. dun worry, what comes round goes round..

Ivy: detail scan is on the organs, and if there's cleft lip, etc.. normal ultrasound is jus on the length of baby, heartbeat.. etc..

Sleeping positions
I also can't get good quality sleep these days.. not comfy in whatever positions i try.. haiz.. the wake up at night to pee cycle is on again.. end up like panda every morning..

carmen, my previous visit at the gynae is when i am 15w+. i went into the room wi my hubby, took my weight then he say if we can see baby's gender. haha... but he say not 100% accurate la, only 80%. maybe cos my bb legs open big big for us to see so he tell us 80% boy lor. my detail scan is next wed. think by detail scan we should be able to know bb's gender 100% rite?

morning ladies

mi back from my one dae chalet. hehe. ydae was a stressful dae. my boi cried non-stop when we 1st step into chalet. almost for 1.5hrs. refuse everyone except mi, hubby n my sis. even his fav ah ma oso cant handle him. end up took him for car ride den he slept in car. when waki, he ok liao. gave mi a big shock. 3rd time he cried so badly in 2 daes afta his fall on sat. hubby feel damn guilty abt it.

everyone luvs his cake from pine garden even thou i was complaining non stop abt it. haha. mi fussy i guess. i gave them one big no 1 candle n 3 mini figurines, they juz take it tt i onli wan my 3 figurines on d cake. smmore they nv place d figurines properly n it smeared all over d cream. =( gonna blacklist them liao.

how was everyone's wkend? =)

Adel, I also bot ausino bedding set for my gal. Nw she is at 18mths, the pillow and comforter are still in the storeroom..

iemik0, I love the cakes at pine garden, esp the lychee martini. Yummy! Heard comments abt them not following the order, so what I did last time was to go down personally and asked for specific lady (cant rmb her name) to be in charge of my order. It turned out all well.

from the detail scan can we 100% confirm the baby's gender? cos i heard they will scan for the reproductive organs? is it true? the detail scan is just like normal scanning right?just that it is clearer?

good morning all~! hows babies hamster running inside? =) hehee so tired. today is monday!

Btw anyone try to drink goat milk everyday? and do you gals spotted any stretch marks on your body? I realise my around my tummy have little moles. -.-" that i didnt have before.

Hi fabbie, no stretch marks so far (touch wood).. just wondering if you gals can start to see the line from the belly button downwards?

just finish reading the thread. Was so surprise to knw that the details are posted in the stomp.

Hippo,
i can see the line from my button belly upwards. Downwards not yet. I think soon. As for stretch marks i dunno is the new one or those from my previous preg..

Ivy,

Jus did scan last Wed. From memory, hope the below helps (after reading those who havent done scan will be super excited!):

1. Measurements (they will compare bb's measurement to the average readings) will be taken for:
a. trunk length,
b. femur length (thigh),
c. circumference of the head,
d. a brain area(can't rem where).

2. Observation of the development of:
a. Mother's placement of placenta (is it normal or low? blocking the cervix?
b. Spine (make sure it's fully developed n fused at the end of the spine)
c. Ribs
d. Feet (with the toes,etc)
e. Hands and fingers
f. Upper n lower lip - check for cleft lip

3. Cross section views to check if the organs are ok:
a. 2 Kidneys (dark area means got urine - means working)
b. Heart (nice beating)
c. Umbilical cord
d. Brain
(dun have reproductive organs leh)

4. They will also check if the heart (i.e. 4 parts) and umbilical cord are working properly by observing blood flow (red n blue areas).

5. Last but not the least - movement of bb and the gender (erhmm... wat most of us are eager to know).

Just some trivia on gender:
Ultrasound - absence of the "bird" does not mean females, they will only say female if they can see "3 lines" (the labia lines). Accuracy would be 99% girl.

new to this thread.. currently in my 19th week. EDD 24/12/08. Staying at Pasir Ris without my own transport, so thinking if i shld choose East Shore or MAH (since there is an promotion for DBS credit cards)

Any advise?

I went to Maternity exchange and they sell this test kit that predicts the gender. SA told us 90% accurate. Damn tempted to buy manz!!! But deep inside I'm still holding on to my glimmer of hope that it cud be a b** hehehe... well, what the heck, I still went ahead to baby Fox to get some ger clothes hahahaha..... C'mon I have been resisting for baby shopping tat long already..... darn gender issue arrgghh.......

Hi LLIG,
I am taking colostrum pills from GNC for about 9 mths and have not been sick since.(touch wood) my hubby was having very bad flu few weeks ago & i didn't get it from him. It's suppose to boost your immune system, think can be taken for kids too. u can ask the ladies at GNC..

Detail scan: i'ld be having mine next monday at 20wks at TMC. hopefully can see my bb genders and start buying stuff.

feel my bb moving last thursday nite..the feeling is so weird...

hippo.. yup a brown line, downwards and upwards too. i have it too!

Jappooh your stretch marks is it obvious? i saw in the yahoo internet theres alot very scary..

Snowger funny that saw 3 lines.. haha i didnt really saw it. but i know my baby is a gal hehe

ikeike dun need to waste money to buy ahhhhhhhhhhh.. save money for others would be better. cus sooner or later you will know the gender de hehe

bur same here when i felt bb is moving inside, its kinda werid that something is inside is moving n moving. slowly it will move even more! and will lead u to everytime go pee. haha u will get use to it =P

Those mummies who havent visit this website, do visit! they will tell u every week hows baby look like and what are you expecting from your body to change. its quite good! www.babycenter.com

fabbie,

i got emails from babycenter every week!!! it's fun to read n know how is the little one is developing inside our tummy!!!

ikeike: Don't give yourself too much stress. Boy or girl..doesn't matter. It's still your baby and don't have to worry about what your ILs think.

Snowger: Thanks for sharing what will be checked during detailed scan.

I'm going for my detailed scan tomorrow!!! Am feeling a bit kan chiong and i really hope i can find out whether baby is a gal or a boy. Really hope that everything is well with my baby...

snowger,

i m gg for my detailed scan this friday at east shore. thanks so so much for sharing the details.. i can't wait for it!!

2nd baby, the test kit is really simple to use. Just urine into the bottle which contains some crystals. Wait for it to process into color and match it against the color chart as labelled on the bottle surface. And voila! U will noe the gender!!

loveangel: Countdown!!! I will I will love all serve all hehe me flesh n bluud mah... guess what, I dreamt of cleaning up my ger's biz last nite.... well well, if I recall what I dreamt, the opposite will normally be true and dun materialise.... Wonder if it works this way this time round..... Suspense.........hehehe... tune in again!!

2ndbaby
after seeing the link I now dunno whether really boy or not.lol
Din noe gal also will have that thing protruding out...Coz I saw the stick at 3 mths..and 4mths cant see as he/she is kneeling..so can't wait for this wed scan

Omg saw the post in stomp ..cant imagine got such a person who is out to get others.

ikeike, is Maternity Exchange still having sale? Is it worth making a trip down? I've been wanting to go leh.. 3 more days left onie hor..

i also have the brown line from navel downwards but that is not the stretchmark..forgot what it is for alr..hahaha

I juz bought another bottle of Clarins stretchmark oil! Advised to use cream in the morning and oil at nite!! Nowadays, hv to increase the amt used since tummy area is expanding!!

Any of u mummies losing appetite? It seems that my appetite is going downhill instead of up, which is expected. During my first tri, i must eat lunch at 12noon sharp, nowadays I can tahan till 1plus and still ok..

Cactus, u r here in this forum too?? Fancy meeting u here..

Paiseh for the super long posting.

2nd baby,
I did a little research aft my sonographer said "see those lines". Saw an article which was written by a sonographer. But yours is so interesting! *haha*

Strech marks + Linea Nigra:
Touch wood. Me so far so good. They say both are hereditary one leh... Dunno true or not...

how much does the gender test kit cost? i have been resisting to shop too...haha...and also went to FOX to buy some unisex baby clothes...cant resist..hopefully will get a confirmed answer this thursday.

New measures to boost birth rate to be introduced in August
By Wong Siew Ying, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 27 July 2008 2124 hrs

New measures to boost birth rate to be introduced in August

SINGAPORE: A new package of measures to raise Singapore's baby count will be introduced next month, said Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng.

Speaking at the 150th anniversary celebrations of the KK Women's & Children's Hospital on Sunday, Mr Wong warned that Singapore's population could be hard hit if its total fertility rate is not boosted.

At its peak in 1966, doctors at the KK Women's and Children's Hospital delivered some 40,000 babies.

The hospital was also cited in the Guinness Book of Records between the 1950s and 1970s as the world's busiest maternity hospital. But today, the story is quite different.

Mr Wong, who is also Minister-in-Charge of Population Issues, said: "It is a well-known fact that Singapore now has one of the lowest total fertility rates in the world at 1.29. If this rate is not increased, Singapore's population will be halved beyond 2070, without an inflow of foreign immigrants."

Despite the falling birth rate, the hospital did not scale back on its operations. Instead, it has expanded its medical and healthcare services.

Mr Wong said KK Women's and Children's Hospital is ready to deliver more babies, but the issue at hand is to find ways to encourage Singaporeans to get married and have more children.

Recent surveys showed that financial constraints, busy work schedules and lack of childcare support were top concerns that limit a larger family size.

Without giving away details, Mr Wong hinted that a new set of measures will be rolled out to help couples cope with work and family.

He said: "Hopefully, with a new package of measures, which will be announced next month, and a strong collective desire towards supporting family life in Singapore, our baby count will increase.

"Employers have to support better work-life practices, friends and relatives have to chip in to help, and most of all, Singaporeans must desire to get married and raise families in the first place. All these require a societal mindset change."

Singapore is also studying the procreation policies of countries like Sweden and the United States.

emeraldbride, my appetite also not as good as 1st trimester. now i can only take light dinner. during 1st trimester i eat 5-6 meals a day but now cut down to 4 meals a day liao. my hubby keep asking me to eat.

jowin, little match girl got sale huh? that day i saw a few tops and dresses not bad but i never buy.

Mimi
No sales la...sales ended yesterday

But i n my colleague combine, we got a privilege card today. 15% off. If you near bugis/raffles place, i lend u the card

Tis link features a few more ultrasound pic example of the "3 lines". It is not easy to spot unless u really stare v v v hard at ultrasound.
http://www.ob-ultrasound.net/genderfaq.html

I guess most gynae won't want commit the gender, note they say most likely "Boy" or "Girl". Some gynae even get sued by parents when the gender comes out wrong! Anyway, the internet touts that 4D scans are the most accurate if they can get a view!

Have fun and good luck to the gals who are having the detailed scan soon!

Luthadel,
Thanks for sharing that we should not rub stomach in circular motions! I always put my Clarins Oil in that manner! *opps*

oh, no more sale... nvm la, dun need so ma fan pass me the card. that day i went to spring maternity with my friend also combine purchase and got the member card. anyone who wants to go there shopping can let me know. i can let u have the card no. and will be entitled for member discount.

anybody know when baby fox sale ends?

hmm Maternity Exchange UOB has 5% discount. There were 2racks of discounted items. Me bought a nursing top. Pretty cool. Inner pc has an additional pc that can be conveniently pulled aside to bfeed!! hahaha... first time see such a top cos normally its those additional pc hanging on the outside type....