(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Yvonne, I actually live in Telok Blangah hehe... copied the format and forgotten to change the location...oops:p

Me shd be at 19weeks & those who hv seen me, well, to date have put on approx 4kg since preggy. My greatest and proudest gain in my pursuit of weight increment in history hehehe.... very encouraged and will keep up on drinking ANMUM!! Me detail scan on next Fri.... can't wait...........

On chicken pox, if you can, try to put your child away in somebody else's care. I feel that its better safe than sorry.....

paperclip, i think TPS is the most expensive now. and you are seeing senior consultant so it will be more expensive. but look at it as a kind of investment or insurance for your baby coz of the NICU there. if u think its too ex for u, you can opt to still see your gynae but at Clinic A or B. But waiting time is very long but its very much cheaper..

e.g. my gynae sees normal patients at Clinic B on tues and wed. but only see day time. she sees TPS on thurs and fri evenings. so opt to see her at TPS evening which i pay $10 extra but no need take leave.. if i'm not wrong she is consultant only, so its $48 to see normal time and $58 to see night. then she will charge $28 for scanning which she do in the same room. i normally hit $100-$120 per visit..

Thanks for all of your advices... Greatly appreciate it.

I visit my gynae at this KKH AMK, not the TPS... I guess if I go to TPS, it surely be over my budget. The consultation fee for my senior gynae is $55, $50 for vitamins & omega 3, $10 for routine test. I think for private, they may charge separately for consultation and scanning cos in all my KKH receipts, scanning is not charged.

for me, before i sign up the package, my consultation + scanning is $60 or $65 (cannot remember how much), supplements are separately charged. have already signed up the package at $600 from 2nd trimester. meaning from 2nd trimester i only pay for tests (such as blood tests), detail scan and fish oil (calcium and iron supplements are included in the package).

Hi Paper Clip,
i see a KKH senior gynae when i have my 1st kid but that was in 2006 and there are package available at that time. I do pay more than my current one.

Now i am seeing a TMC gynae. My package cost me $550. The package start from the very 1st visit.
If there is no complication than i think is good.

i m so sleepy

Fabbie,
Yes. One symptom of unrinary tract infection (UTI) is blood in urine (pee is reddish, v obvious if pee in white toilet bowl). Sometimes, u pee in a container to see, you can see sediments (cloudy). If got bits of meaty looking stuff means very serious infection. If poo already wipe behind got blood, could be piles wor...

Samantha,
Thanks for the sypnosis.

Luthadel,
Me nowadays watching all e bb delivery programs in Discovery. Just hoping to be more prepared by seeing other pple give birth. There is another program which showcases just one couple and their birth story in one hour (quite interesting). But the rate of epidural use is so high, I was like "really so pain meh"? hmmmm...

Then I learnt that ephidural sometimes can make you dilate faster...

Emeraldbride,
If you want we can fix an appt to go tog to see... Thinking latch on then pumping later so my hb can feed bb too! It's his 1st kid, can't deprive him of bonding time. :p Thinking of going maybe next month before we hit 3rd trim (28 wks onwards)- else bcom too lazy to move abt.

U got yeast? Wat did doc give u? Saw Gynae once n GP twice. GP gave pessary, 2nd time gave me the cream type. Had a super stinging sensation aft applying.
Hope urs will clear soon!

iemik0, u can email to me if u have decided to get wat stuffs. so far i am ordering $93 worth of clothes liao... faint... i will be broke soon.

look like most of u have start to buy things for your baby. I havent start mine. My detail scan like so far away on 13 Aug.. Cant wait..

hello all!!

Just saw this on my email from a friend.. haha.. Got to really think hard when we think of names for our babies..
Why Chinese shouldn't have Christian names:

1. Anne Chang(Mandarin)-Dirty
2. Anne Chin(Mandarin) - Keep quiet
3. Faye Chen(Mandarin) - Dusty
4. Carl Cheng(Hokkien) - Buttock
5. Monica Cheng(Hokkien) - Touching your buttocks
6. Lucy Leow (Hokkien) - You are dead
7. Jane Tan (Mandarin) - Frying eggs
8. Suzie Leow (Hokkien) - Lost till death
9. Henry Mah (Mandarin) - Hate your mum
10. Corrine Tai (Hokkien) - Poor fellow
11. Paul Chan (Mandarin) - Bankrupt
12. Nelson Tan(Mandarin) - Bird laying eggs
13. Leslie Tong (Mandarin) - Rubbish bin
14. Carmen Teng(Hokkien) - Leg hair long
15. Connie Mah(Cantonese) - Call your mother
16. Danny See (Hokkien) - Squeeze you to death
17. Rosie Teng(Hokkien) - Screws and nails
18. Pete Tsai (Hokkien) - Nose droppings
19. Macy Koh (Cantonese) - Never die before

snowger. yeah yday i got red meaty objects came out. faints.. and today when i pee abit of red.. anyway i just seen my gynea he told me say maybe is due to constipation. ask me to stop the pink pills and give me some pills to insert to my butt. T_T hope will be better after that. but he say dun have to worry inside is not bleeding. Just hope things will be better soon ba. =)

fabbie, hope u are feeling better. i think i kena infection also cos sometimes very itchy, itch until i cannot sleep. sometimes wake up in the middle of the night cos too itchy. i jus wake up and wash then let it dry then go back to slp again. think i will tell my gynae during my next visit.

hi fabbie,
hmmm... Your gynae very cute wor. Went to see my GP for yeast infection, then he made me do a urine stik test for UTI too. When results positive, he send my urine for culture to check what type of virus n see if the antibiotics he give me is working or not. Drink more water ok? Flush out all toxins. Me drinking a lot of h2o now... :p

Mimi,
Wah heng can still wash n go back to sleep. When I had my yeast infection, I wash 10 times also no use. if u oso got chesse looking discharge (white/yellow discharge that thickens like cheese texture)then shld be yeast leh. Drink more h2o too! Do let ur gynae know during ur next visit ba...

snowger, think i kena yeast infection. super tired to wait up and wash. ya, i am drinking a lot of water now. and i stop myself from eating and drinking sweet stuffs. cos i think sweet stuff will worsen the infection.

yes Mimi..i bought that.. expensive hor? At the spur of the moment lar.

My mom helped me to purchase 2 sets of pyjamas, 2 dozen of muslin nappy, nappy liner, small hankerchief (to wipe baby before bedtime) from KL..

yeast infection

heard that eating loads of (PLAIN - no sugar) yogurt will help.. coz good bacteria can fight off the bad ones.. especially after taking antibiotics (which kills off ALL bacteria, even the good ones)..
try to stay away from sugary foods coz yeast feeds on sugars!

i hope y'all will recover soon..

emeraldbride, ex leh... haha... but i think must be nice. the material looks good.

so far, i bought pigeon mat, breastfeeding pillow, medela mini electric pump, medela cooler bag, stroller, 20 rompers (from 3 to 12mths), breast pad liao... still have so many things to buy. now waiting patiently for taka baby fair to buy milk bottles, detergent, etc. my sis passed me playpen, 2 packs of cotton wool, 1 box of pigeon breast pad, bb's clothes and 1 box of nappy liners. now still considering whether to use the passdown baby cot or to get a new one

i read tat having discharge is normal leh, that's y did not put so much thought into it, who knows now that i feel pain at the abdomen, only realise it is yeast infection.. no wonder so tired.. my mom say having yeast infection will tire a person out.

I drank vitagen leh ..does it help? If no, tonite must go buy yoghurt..but i so darn sleepy now

Hi dee
i finally ask my friend abt the desitin cream.. the one u mentioned, i m not sure is it in purple or blue. i know my friend is consolidating the blue tubes one

Sorry for the super late reply..

fabbie, yah - if it were me, i'd panic like mad too ... just try to rest more ... drink more water ... eat prunes ... anything else that can help with your constipation .. hopefully that really resolves it.

i also felt it is expensive..but sigh, since baby is our No.1 and can be used for future baby, nvr mind lar.. because of this mindset i hv been buying so many expensive stuff... haha

Now everytime i shop it is for the baby

emeraldbride, now i also do shopping for baby only. nothing to buy for myself, automatically sure walk to baby dept. even online shopping also only for baby.

hi jowin,
thx.. no problem..

emeraldbride,
check the ingredients listed on the item.. the higher % of the ingrediet will be listed 1st and follows with the next one.. HTH..

mimi/emeraldbride,
Discharge is normal but if the texture get cheesy (dun go away n u get itchy), then it is most prob infection. It's easier for preggies to get yeast esp when we dun have "dry" season lor...

I drank yakult everyday then i stop and kena yeast (i tink no connection. yakult/vitagen got the good bacteria but these drinks r sweet). My yeast coincide w my durian binge (which I cut down immediately). Heard if we eat too much sugary and yeast products (e.g. Marmite) can up chances of yeast infection.

I dunno if this will help u gals:
1. Wear 100% cotten undies (No no to those with strechy material outside) cos they air better;
2. Dun wear too tight undies/pants that may cause the area to be wet n dun get dry easily (eg. jeans); and
3. Air frequently (where possible)

I currently not using panty liners liao (althou i use to change every 3 hrs). Although it may be disgusting but it really helps(a big THANK YOU to one of the MTB here who gave me this tip). Hope this will help u gals too.

snowger, guess my infection is due to the durians too... my hubby say i must eat cos durians are very 'pu' but durians are very high in sugar level. i am wearing cotton panties and not wearing panty liners liao... when i sleep i dun wear panty cos i wan to 'air' below...

Mimi thanks.. im just very worried. is it? i sometimes also itch.. normally i wash then okai. did u wear a panty liner? must change like 1 day 2 or 3 times. cus we discharge alot wor.

Snowger wha!. he didnt trest my unrine leh.. but he say most likely is due to consitpation. Hmm he say i pee and bleed also due to infection but i think he is more on focusing my constipation, cus i told him im doing business got blood. so he gave me something like a bullet to insert my butt. that one got to insert myself every night. =( duno is it pain anot haha. he gave me anibiotics so we gonna see hows things later when the next visit ba. and ask me to stop eating the iron pink tablet that he gave me. ok drink more water and got to eat more fruits. hehe thnak god he scan.. baby is fine. =)

samantha yah man.. i think i forget to eat fruits these days. and i have been eating the iron pills like everyday. so mayb theres no balance of it. Hmm

Mimi,
You tell ur hb that we must careful of gestational diabetes. That day I went JB where hb's relatives got durian plantation in Segamat.
Although nice, but I eat one or two at most!

U can see some of my other "suay" factors that may have contributed to my infection:

1. Me changed my brand of panty liner (use one only kena infection);
2. Same as u I had loads of durians (in season lah, can't help myself);
3. Drinking marmite everday for fun;
4. Changed my whole body shower gel (new one had super strong perfume).

*Haiz* I think I got low itchy tolerance lah. So went to see doctor so many times. :p

fabbie, i stop wearing panty liner liao. no choice even though got discharge cos if we wear panty liner below cannot breathe.

i think iron supplement is very heaty cos my gynae ask me drink lots of water after taking the iron supplement. even the nurse keep reminding me to drink lots of water. i actually forgotten to take my supplements yst and today (i left my supplements at hm), and my poo poo today is soo smooth.

snowger, ya i told my hubby abt the gestational diabetes liao then he say eat once a week nvm but i dun care, if he buy he eat himself. haha... i told him max i eat twice a mth (eat only 1 or 2).

actually i only use water to wash below. only use shower gel for other parts of my body. think our skin now super sensitive or is it jus me cos my mum change the brand of the shower gel. on the every 1st day my whole body is itching. haha.... then next day she go n buy kodomo shower gel which baby is using. haha... and i am ok wi kodomo shower gel

Mimi,

wow u bought 20 rompers.. Are u serious??

i think sometime i have this infection also cos will feel itchy but after some wash it goes away. I also notice i haev more discharge lei..

fabbie,

u seeing Dr Adrian rite? THat time he also ask me to stop the pink pills. Now i start taking again cos everyday i bring a apple to office to eat during afternoon and i think that helps loh.

Maybe u wan to try take more fruits.

Jappooh, i bought 2 rompers from john little expo sale, 7 (in a pack) from marks n spencer, 3 from baby fox, 2 from cut off brand shop, 6 from SMH bulk purchase. me terrible right? haha....

my dad forbid me to eat too much durian..he says old folks believe eating too much durian during pregnancy will cause the baby's skin to itch esp during durian season in future. Not sure how true, but when my mom was preggy wif my sister, she ate alot of jackfruit, end up my sister has very sensitive skin. the moment she scratch herself will leave a scar.. So last Friday's durian was the last one i will eat for this year. Sad to say but no choice. I want my baby's skin to be nice..ehehe, now i eat bird's nest daily liao..

wow! eat bird nest daily? i eat once a week. heard from my friend that if bird nest are not clean properly, baby will get asthma.

mimi, i only eat those concentrated bird's nest daily. Once a week only boil on my own. If i boil daily, will be so busy and too expensive as well.
Those concentrated from Lo Hong Ka or Eu Yan Sang is quite good..

Hi mimi, ladies
do you know the correct method for washing birdnest?

Some say soak overnight n throw away the water can already..

Some say pour hot water over it n sieve out the birdnest n then wash with normal water n then boil for 1.5 hrs.

So I blur already..don't know whats the correct method

I normally boil n then drink 1 bowl..then the rest of the birdnest I filter out the water n store it in airtight glass container in the fridge just like the Lo Han Ka one..then I take 1 tablespoon everyday which will last one wk..dunno if lidat got same effect or not hehe

huh?? Meredith, if u soak the bird's nest overnight, the moment u cook, all will disintegrate leh.

The person that sold the bird's nest to us says that shuld wash with running water with the bird's nest placed on a small drainer (so not to hv any wastage). Then soak the bird's nest for 15mins with water (preferably drinking water). Then boil the bird's nest for 45mins with the soaked water..

Boiling bird's nest for more than 1 hr will cause the bird's nest to lose it's original shape. Bird's nest like shark fin if retain original shape, is considered good quality. Those that disintegrate is cos it is being 'glued' together during assembling time. Those are the loose bird's nest. Quality not so high.

mimi.. what u mean cannot breathe le? hmmm but i always wear panty liner. cus quite alot leh. and its quite irritating.. sometimes it even overflow.. is it better not to wear? i did try not to wear once.. but cannot lar. its like. erm.. a few hrs i feel like i need to change my panty.. and when that time i didnt wear, it really turns very very itchy for me.. thats why i started wearing again.. pengz.. Last time i did stop eating the iron pills. its quite normal. i took back again. and everything seems fine. only this time. not sure.. why like this. maybe i forget to eat fruits. Oh i eat tuna oil too. will it be crashes with it? thats why its more heaty? hmmm btw. sorry whats rompers? you gals talking about?

Jappooh, yup! my gynea doc adrian.. oh you stop taking for how long for the pink pills? and do you bleed like me too? like pee and bleed? i guess.. i got to remind myself. eat fruits everyday. hmm watermelon does it helps? or pear? hmm or payaya? cus i hear theses are like cooling stuffs wor. hmmm

Oh now then i realise mimi was saying durains do have lots of infection?! maybe i recently eat too much and i didnt dirnk enff water ba.. thats why. emeraldbride you sure ah, about eating too must durian? hmm i shall cut down on eating liao.. its kinda scary.. I pray and hope my little gal dun have skin sensitive. if not she will miss alot of good food that she cant eat, in the future.

Hey piyobaby me too! dr adrian patient too! =)

Birds Nest
For me, i'll use Jin Shi Yan.

Method
Soak the nests for 2 hours
pick all the impurities
once done, transfer the nests to a double boiler
add some of the water that you've soaked the nests
Double boil for 4 hours
If you want to add rock sugar, just do it 15mins b4 you switch off the stove. Do not add the rock sugar too early.

Usually by the frangrance of the nest will be out and you can really taste the difference between a 1 hour boil & a 4 hours boil.
Enjoy

oh.. must see if u use double boiler or juz slow cooker lar.

For me i use slow cooker, cooking method is faster. N i personally do not like to eat bird's nest that is too jelly-like. Bird's nest in natural do not have taste one leh..

fabbie,
Dr gave u e antib is for yr urine infection lah. Preggy woman get UTI, urine wont pain one. Drink lots n lots n lots of WATER starting NOW!
Even if pain a bit also worth it! Cos the next time go toilet will be super *shiok*, the bullet should soften e stools n solve your consti problem. when bb cosnti, they also use something similar. Me getting hard stools althou i only eat obimin leh.

Re panty liner:
Mimi, i agree the liner once wet, stays wet for the 2-3 hrs until u change!
Fabbie, If ur undies get wet, bring extra to change lor.

Re Durians:
Moderation is the key lah. My mother ate 1 to 2 durians every day when preggy with me. Finally, kena fever go hospital. I was only sensitive to dust when I was young, besides that nothing much. Pimples count?

Jowin,
I one month take one time bird nest only. I feel so ke lian, no one make bu soup/bird nest/nice soup which can assure my bb's creamy skin...

Re Asthma:
Some studies show that eating one apple a day can lower bb's risk of asthma. I eat it everyday cos helps me go toilet.

A lot of pple tell me that if preggy and staying in house with pets (e.g. cats, dogs, hamsters) will cause asthma in bb. Haiz, I got hamsters lor. Then they wag their fingers at me. Eh, I can't throw them out can I?

hmm like that ah. then i must eat 1 day one apple! heee wah. you got hamster? i even worst i got 4 dogs at home and me and my hubbie got 1 dog. and usually me and my hubbie will be staying at my house which means total of 5 dogs. isnt that worst? But i think i dun believe this ba. Hmm

my MIL just told me that dun sleep with dogs too often if not baby will look like dogs. -.-"

I think for the panty liner i will not wear at home. but in office. i think i will if not i will bring alot of panty to office! isnt that weird. i scare got smell somemore. =X and worst it over flows will got stain leh. happen to me once @_@

Snowger,

no la ... I have a Golden Retriever and a Maltese which I had when I had my 2nd and 3rd girl .. they are healthy as horses (my girls I mean) ... no asthma or anything like that ... dun worry. Hamsters so TINY some more. Lagi nothing to worry about .. !!

fabbie, can understand. I have yeast infection too. In fact, the infection has been bothering me for months liao. Sometimes it's better, sometimes it's worse, but my gynae super kiasu. First trimester say cannot treat, now second trimester say if not so bad then see how. I can understand that the yeast infection is probably going to recur throughout the pregnancy, but very miserable leh. Anyway, the yeast infection is the one that is giving you the extra discharge. I also find it impossible to go without pantyliner. Cause actually will stain one (I kena on white skirt...so gross). I guess we just have to change more often lor, and go without at home?

Sian.

Paperclip, I used to be with TPS also, but switched to TMC because of the gynae. It wasn't really because of costing, but after switching, I did realise there's quite a bit of difference. My gynae charged me S$850 right from the first visit, plus his clinic only 2 bus-stops from my place! But at the end of the day, I think it depends on how comfy you are with the gynae loh.