(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Brazillian waxing:
wa.. with so much talk abt waxing going on.. me oso feel like trying but scared sia...

got a few ques to ask:
How much will it cost? (at Strip & Honeypot) and duration of the session??

at how many wks preggy shld we go for it? I'm currently 34 wks.. izzit too early??

xuelyn
brazillian waxing at honeypot cost $63. 10% discount wif uob ladies card, hsbc or dbs takashimaya credit card.

duration abt 20-30mins.

recommended abt 36-37wks can do le. coz dono when gonna give birth ma. =)

LuthAdel: I'm also not sure! I had cramps the whole of last night with mild backache. Then this morning when i woke up, after i pee, i wipe & saw A LOT OF THICK STICKY discharge on the toilet paper. No blood though...so i'm unsure if it's the mucus plug anot.

Snowger: I also never wax before...think i'll just trim. Will use a mirror so i'll have a better view. Haha...

Tara: Oh no! Then if you pop early how??

Loveangel,
Why dun u give ur gynae clinic a call? Usually if I worried, I will call up nurses at the clinic. If they not sure, they will ask me to wait then they ask the doc.

Me oso nvr wax before. Mayb will try aft giving birth. In the mean time, I trim/cut short lor. Dunno how to shave oso... *Hehe*

Xuelyn,
I heard tat the pain fr waxing may cause contractions.
So best do aft we r in the most stable leg of the pregnancy - aft 37 wks.

kath.. i now then know.. going without epidural you can save like 500 bucks wor!! lol muhaha but i think i see how pain it really is when the time comes hehe.

yeah..i also say! If too painful, then of course must spend that $500 but my fren did say spending that $500 is worth it cos u will then njoy the birthing process more. Of course there are frenz tat pop without epidural and they say its nothing..hahahah

But frankly, my mom has 4 kids all delivered naturally without epidural leh n my bro was delivered at birth weighing 4++kg leh..hahaha..super big boy!

Latest Christmas Carol for 2008....

You'd better watch out
You'd better not cry
You'd better keep cash
I'm telling you why:
Recession is coming to town.

It's hitting you once,
It's hitting you twice
It doesn't care if you've been careful and wise
Recession is coming to town

It's worthless if you've got shares
It's worthless if you've got bonds
It's safe when you've got cash in hand
So keep cash for goodness sake, HEY

You'd better watch out
You'd better not cry
You'd better keep cash
I'm telling you why:
Recession is coming to town!

Finance products are confusing
Finance products are so vague
The banks make you bear the cost of risk
So keep out for goodness sake, OH

You'd better watch out
You'd better not cry
You'd better keep cash
I'm telling you why:
Recession is coming to town...

dear all...

i am also a december MTB..am expecting a baby gal..

EDD - 22 dec
gynae - Dr Yvonne Chan
hospital - TMC
FTWM

pls add me in your list...=)

THANKS ALOT!!

after reading ur posts..am getting nervous man...

its my 1st baby n dunno wat to expect man...

your posts here has taught me quite alot of information!! cheers!!!

just went for my check up today...bb is 2.5kg..head down but not engaged yet..dr say my bb is very determined to arrive early..very likely to arrive 2 weeks earlier...am getting so excited now....

ok jowin. so i should keep my 500 bucks?! and not go for epidural? MUahahah

kath wah.. your mum damn power leh! but if she can go without epidural maybe you also can! cus got gins the mah.. right?! hehe

Fabbie
hahaha.... wa... i post tat doesn"t ask u to keep ur $500 la.... =P

Pain of course must take epi la..

If not, u keep sing this song.. see if can lessen the pain anot =P .. maybe while singing n delivery, ur gynae see u singing this, he decided to give u FOC on epi...

hahaha... joking...

phylllllllll,

I've been out the whole day la ... last nite we went for the Christmas light-up .. not that nice leh ... we parked at Centrepoint then walked to Taka ... then back again ... I almost DIED. I had to support my tummy on the walk back tot he car ... JIALAT. My feet were aching ...

Today, I brought my girls to Suntec to jalan jalan and meet up fren and her kids ... was there from 11am to 5.30pm ... my parking came to $14.98 ... almost fainted ... plus my feet started achiing again from all the walking ..

haiyo ....

Sam
You went walking so much because you want to induce labour, is it? ;)

I went for my 38W check-up with gynae yesterday, and found out that she will be on leave for a week from next Tuesday onwards! This is the first time I'm hearing of it. So I'm really hoping to give birth by this weekend, so that she can deliver my baby. So far, I'm still only 1cm dilated, so I'm looking into all kinds of things to try and induce labour naturally.

I was researching online and I found some tips on using acupressure to induce labour.

Step1
Push on the hoku spot which can be found on the top of your hand. It is located in the webbing between your forefinger and your thumb. Massage this area at an angle to stimulate contractions. It may feel slightly tender in this area. This affects the large intestine which surrounds a portion of the uterus.

Step2
Rub the area called spleen 6 for one minute. To find this area, place four fingers above your ankle bone on the inside of your ankle. Applying pressure to this point helps ripen the cervix and strengthen weak contractions.

Step3
Find the bladder 32 spot by tracing one finger width above the buttocks crease. You should feel a small indentation at this point. Massage this point for one minute.

Step4
Apply pressure to BL60 to help the baby descend toward the pelvis. You can find this spot between your ankle bone and Achilles tendon.

Step5
Press and rub these spots in a circular motion. It should feel sore or tender but not painful. Remove pressure when you feel a contraction. Continue with the acupressure after the contraction has subsided.

Step6
Repeat applying pressure to these spots. You can repeat up to six cycles per time. Apply less pressure if it becomes painful.

Step7
Use these same techniques in the labor room. They can help ease your labor pains.

I'm going to try these tonight. Hope that I can get some contractions going with these steps.

dee, Can tell one. There's little spots of calcification on the placenta to show aging.

Phy, I wonder why men like their walls bare and boring. My hubby wanted to paint the nursery white - like the REST OF THE HOUSE!! He said nice and clean. I'm glad I managed to convince him to paint it in colour. (The stars really nice. I cannot stop thinking about them. Actually, the nursery ceiling is bare mah.. muahaha). BTW, your friend's SIL case really drama. I like drama drama....hahaha

Sex...haiyah nothing can entice him now. He also looks like I'm suggesting robbing a bank or something when I suggest sex.

I heard Brazilian wax grow out already not itchy like stubs from shaving leh. I keep thinking of going to do waxing also. My gynae said ok, but he warned sometimes hair follicles there will get infected after waxing. Then he gave me his standard weirded-out look "why you need to wax? Very painful one leh." (-_-")

Pris...how to see? I can't even see my upper thighs properly now lor...imagine having to see and trim. OMG. Ask ur hubby to help :p

Santorini: LOL! A bag of water in case he got thirsty!

Sam: You're determined to go out every day until your EDD ah? Wah so pia...

echo...you sure you want to try accupressure by yourself? Like quite complicated leh...

Spaghetti: I also dunno!!! I'm intending to use a mirror to help me see so that i can trim/shave a bit. :p

Fabbie: My mom gave birth to all 3 of us (all almost 8 pounds) w/o epidural too. She told me IT'S POSSIBLE and it's not very pain. Somehow i don't believe...haha...

Jowin: Yes, now CASH is king!!! Epidurals not cheap...shall try my best to tahan but i'm scared i'll be in too much pain & my cervix cannot dilate cos i'm too tensed up. Dilemma!

Snowger: I continue to monitor & see how...i have a checkup with my gynae tomorrow afternoon. I'll ask her about it.

Sam: Woah, you still walk so much!!! Really can salute you...

Nashi: hihi...welcome to the thread!

Hi ladies.
Had a bit of a scare yday..very regular tummy cramps/BH. Lay down for the most part and thankfully, by early-morning, lessened already and now back to normal *phew* Want the baby to stay put if possible till at least 01 Dec becos i soooo do want a Dec baby and still need to settle some things.. Children's world at zoo..Xmas lightup..more toy shopping..catch a couple of movies..

Sam,
you went for the lightup? I ended up going out lastnite aft all but only to the swensens at the interchange.. Was spsed to be a trial to see if i can tahan the discomfort, in the end, the cramps were too distracting and we headed back home after dinner. Prob gonna check out the lights tomorrow. *fingers crossed*

Brazilian

I just went today
Was actually planning to go next week but after lastnite's scare, thought would be better to settle first.
I've been doing BW quite regularly and the normal grow back rate is at least 2-3wks and the hair is finer. During pregnancy, somehow it takes even longer for the hair to grow back. The last i went was around 2mo ago and today there was hardly anything. So much so that i need not even do my underarms. Would recommend waxing to shaving cos its much much cleaner plus the therapist can help to tweeze out any ingrowns you might have.

iemik0
You did yours at honeypot right? nina commented that a lot of preggers having been coming in lately..haha..

reddates,
No need to feel so shy la. They've all already seen everything before

hi all..

seen "Mr Doc NOrmal" today.. he said everything is fine.. baby must at least kick 10 times.. or more.. he didn't check my cervix today, he said my due date is on monday or tuesday. So monday morning would go see him.. and tell me monday or tuesday i will give birth liao. I guess he's going to induce me. Im quite low moral.. as i was hopping not to induce.. sighz. anyway. a little good news is i felt my baby is getting fatter. she is 2.9kg now. =) haiz... hope at the last stage i dun have to induce..

emeraldbride,
pls help to add my details?
Name: stephanie
DOB :let's just say 31-Dec-08!! cos anytime after 27 Dec!
BB#2
Gynae: Dr Eunice Chua
Hospi: TMC
Stay :Simei
bb name: ??

Mummies delivering at TMC, u all know Mrs Wong rite? Last time i delivered there, i attended her antenatal classes and she reminded us that when we give birth, we can ask for her to visit us...and she will come 1. Give u tips re. baby etc...very helpful to have an expert around

Also, just to share my experience, anyone who is intending to breastfeed, persevere!! May seem difficult and tiring but hang in there... u'll really be giving ur bb the best food ever
i BF my 1st boy until 18mths plus til i got pregnant again. By then supply was dropping also cos in office very busy, no time to pump. But my cousin BF for 2 yrs, another colleague 2 yrs +. So can be done!!! Jia you

emeraldbride,
i also tried 1st time w/o epi... i thought... generations of women have given birth w/o epi.. i must try!! but only lasted 3 hrs of contractions...then even my gynae came n said maybe i wanna consider taking epi cos i really looked like i was in alot of pain and there was a long way more. Hahah! Then i took... really very numb...cant feel anything..even when pushing, i wasnt sure i was pushing!

But it's true... alot of women nowadays still deliver w/o epi with no problem. Everyone is different so i guess don't feel scared and take epi straightaway...give ur body a chance? haha. Maybe can save $500. hehe
I asked my gynae last time... can i take the epi late?? like try to "dong" until i cannot take it... she said can wait but cannot wait until labour is too advanced cos by then, too difficult to administer the epi. But she said, take early and take late, also same price, might as well take earlier!??! haha. Joker man.

Spaghetti
Doesn't feel too difficult leh. Just follow the instructions and press at the spot lor. If it works, then good. If it doesn't work, then no harm trying. I really want to give birth soon!

fabbie,
can share? why must induce?
My gynae also said...if i wanna confirm my bb born in 2008, i can consider inducing...
But i was thinking, if not for medical reasons... shd i really induce??

hi 2nd baby

yeah, only u and luthadel are seeing Dr Chan according to the chart that was put up...

both of your baby are delivered by Dr Chan?

fabbie, dun worry lar..mabbe ur baby decides to pop over the weekend leh?? Then dun even need to induce! U induce urself lor..so many methods were suggested!

Echo, din the nurse tell u that Dr. Soong is going on leave from 25th onwards?? One week nia..i tink ur bb can still hold on bah.. but for contingency if she not ard who will take over ah?

Nashi, Stephanie..welcome!! I will update ur details tmr when i m in office ya!
Thanks Steph for sharing on epidural..gynae say before 8cm dilated i can still opt for epi if pass that dilation, no more epidural..hahaha

emeraldbride
Dr Soong told me herself. That's why I'm hoping to pop by this weekend, so that I won't have to deliver with an unknown doctor. I don't want bb to wait! I want to quickly deliver! Tired of being pregnant..

If I deliver next week, it will be with a Dr Geraldine Tan (her clinic is in Katong). But if I don't deliver, then I will go to Dr Beh for my 39W check-up (his clinic is in TMC). Aiyah, I don't want to see some unknown doctor or have a stranger in the delivery room with me... Hope my bb can come out soon!!

kath i hope so.. but i doubt so too that i will pop over the weekend. haiz. i just walk 1 step see 1 step ba.

Loveangel, Spaghetti ..

lol .. I just want my girls to have a nice school holidays before they're stuck at home with baby and me ... so bo pian, have to walk lor !!! I still thank God and my hubby that I have my own vehicle to drive around in .. if take MRT .. definitely can't !!

Hi MTB,
Due to many clients frm SMH forum emails we received requests ( 2009 MTB ) Our Postnatal Jamu Retreat Promotions will be extended to end February 2009. Complementary of telon oil, pradasari milk scrub, cloth binder and ginger slimming creams for all package. Visit our website malaypostnatal.blogspot.com or SMH BIZ THREAD for more info about the promotion. Tks and wish all MTB could have an easy delivery.

Morning Ladies,

Eh.. glanced thru post nia..

Meilik.. i think even if i pay my hubby, he also wont have sex with me lor.. keke..

Spaghetti, haha.. but if u get the stars are u going to paint the ceiling darker? My house colours all i choose one.. cannot leave that to men! i got 9 colours in total!! keke

Fabbie.. now u say u dun want epi.. but must see there and then the situation n your threshold one.. i also cheapo wanna save the money.. but cannot means cannot la.. kekeke...

Sam, keke.. i tot u go give birth liao. haha.. ya.. walking can be such a chore!!

gill, thanks for the link.. me wanna get my border!! kekekekekeke...

if anyone needs masking tape to tape below to stop baby from coming out.. pls PM me oh.. i got 1 box let over from one of my events =) Free Postage!

morning =)

gill
yipe. did mine at honeypot. hehe. which branch u went? i went pacific plaza. hehe.

sam
salute u sia. i walk from pacific plaza to wisma oreadi cannot tahan. tummy will feel crampy. u can still walk such a long stretch. =)

Morning Ladies

Nashi
Yes, my little boy was delivered by Dr. Chan. You can have a look at my birth account on our blog
http://theevolvingbean.blogspot.com/
I'm now getting used to the routine of night feeds. Been up every night to watch how my CL managed my son and right now my confidence level has increase tremendously to handle him when CL leaves.

Fenugreek
Anyone of you know of the above herbal supplement that is known to boost BM production? Got my HB to buy a bottle from GNC yesterday but after reading the possible side effects of bloating, diahorrea etc I'm thinking twice about taking it 'cos my left foot is still slightly swollen.

hey phyl,

check with u for the wallpaper border, what's the length in cm/m u koe? cos i very blur dun really koe how to convert. Eg 15' wide x 5" high.
This ' & " means inch or feet?? or

hi fabbie,
if ur baby due on mon/tue why must still induce?

wow so many talks abt waxing...i also scared pain & a bit pai say...okie put the pai say part aside, i actually scared waxing pain... is it a must must that hospital will definately shave /clear for us if we don't do it ourselves first?

Sam, dun walk too much, u really li hai, walk for so long...my tummy tightens up & real pain after i walk too much / too long distance..
Mmmm but the Contradicting part is, I hear fm my colleagues, walking ard more often helps in natural delivery...(at least that's what 2 of them did - natural w/o epi)

Fabbie: haha..me too..try not to take epidural..haha..Dr "Normal" what a nick!!
Why need to induce? I hope my bb will be overdue by a couple of days!!!! I dun want he come out so fast! haha

Phyl: u still spree ah!!! hahaha

Adel: I already bought a bottle of Fenugreek standby liao...got side effect ah??

Birthstory: I heard from my colleague that her friend just give birth recently....have her waterbag burst in front directly onto the nurse's face when the nurse is checking her cerix! hmmm....i wonder how is the taste??

xuelyn: I did mine at Revive wellness but i have package..if without is $54.

iemik0: I did have the tot to process placeata..but what is the benefit of consuming it?? I still thinking..

Work: Wah...ytd work till 8pm...then go home..sian..lucky...most of the stuffs are clear and handover..next week i will be on 1 week course..hope i will not pop by then..and come back the week after to review my staff mid year performance before i go pop! My target date is after 8 dec! hahah..so will not lugi 1 day PH!

imeik0, can i check with you, after processing into capsule, how long is the expiry date? You're planning to eat yourself or feed your baby in future.
I'm seriously wanting to keep my own placenta but ask a few Chinese medical hall, they'll don't have this service.

Venue

Tollyjoy Building

29 Changi South Street 1, Changi South Industrial Estate, Singapore 486771
Dates

21st Nov (Fri) to 23rd Nov (Sun) 2008.

Time

11am - 7pm

Sale Highlights (Whilst stocks last)...

Baby Clothings @ $10.00 for 5pcs

Feeding Bottles @ $1.00 each

Electric Steam Steriliser @ $30.00 each

Feeding Bibs @ $5.00 for 5pcs

Tollyjoy Laundry Detergent Powder 1kg @ $4.90 each (Usual: $6.90)

Tollyjoy Baby Lotion Wipes 20s @ $5.90 for 5 (Usual: $1.90 each)

and many, many more.....
Don't miss this opportunity to make worthy purchases. We look forward to seeing you @ Tollyjoy.

Yours Sincerely,

Tollyjoy Baby Products Pte Ltd (Singapore)

bubblepearl
benefits are can curb postnatal depression (PND), replenish nutrients, increase milk production, and slow postpartum hemorrhage.

http://www.inthewomb.biz/index.html

first time mummy
read from their website tt as long as frozen, can kip indefinitely but best consumed during confinement period. will check out wif them to confirm den update ya again k. =)

bubblepearl
i hav read articles n studies on it when i took up nursing. hehe. so decide to kip n consume if possible.

they onli process finish one placenta den will accept another one so wun hav mixed up.

i oso hav abit doubts on how clean they do it but i don wan whole house smelly smelly. heard tt it is not tt pleasant. dan scare c liao don wan to process on my own den throw again.

i done my BW at Stip yesterday with therapist Kim...she was always talking to me to distract...the pain was bearable. now feel so bare and clean below...haha...after waxng i put on a mask for additional 20(b4 gst) and it helps with the cooling effect...

think the growth rate will actually depends on individual...

Iemiko, I'm interested in processing the placenta too. I went to their site and nothing was mentioned about their processing methods or location.... cud they be home based because there will be issues of hygiene etc.... still contemplating.... wat's your take?

for 1st timers there is 20% discount
but i got the simplyher discount card from juzyounme so i got 25% discount...

did not sign up any package cos after calculating it will not be worth it if i am using the package alone and doing bw 12 times a year and not buying the products...the savings is not there...i can purchase the student package...maybe those of you that is going can check more abt their package,maybe worth it if you going waxing frequently.

any bw packages at honeypot?