(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Hi jowin,
Me too, I have that slight yellow discharge and it comes out quite a bit on certain times of the day..
Think have to monitor..

sam,
Ok wat.. smooth easy delivery. Would be so nice if i'm as lucky

Goodnite

Discharge..
I normally have a huge yellow blob that i can feel exiting after i wake in the morning. Normally that would be it for the day unless i do a ton of walking then got slightly more watery one..

llig: Yup! The room is all ready for Baby David! Just need to dress the cot near to date.

About breastfeeding, I can't help worrying lah. My mum and MIL all said, "just pop the nipple in and the baby will be fed. Babies are very smart one!" So I always had this illusion the breast milk will be there upon labour, and breast-feeding not very difficult. Now I'm a bit worried liao. But I will persist!!! Didn't even buy formula milk. :p

Sam: Calista Grace is such a sweet name. Good luck!

Yellow discharge: Can't tell because my fungi is back. *Sian*. I tahan-ed for one month liao. Just took the medication so the fungi will be cleared during labour. I don't want a relapse and have to take another dose of that medication.

hELLLoOoO ALL! Wow so much going on!! I haven't got time to post!

Anyway i went for the Philips Avent Joyful parenting 2008 and attended breastfeeding session and getting back to shape after birth talk, by Mrs Wong as well yday and I find that the info is very useful!

Gals, dun worry abt the discharge thingy. It should not be infecttions. I have it too and did a test and Doc says its harmless and its becoz of our hormones changed in pregnancy. It will be cleared once we give birth. Just wear cotton panties and change regularly. Cheers! Have a great Sunday! I am going to watch James Bond!!

Sphagetti
Dun worry about breast milk as different people get their milk flow differently. I got mine on the 6th day but I do know of people who only managed to get their BM afer 3 wks!

However, i do advise you to get a tin of formula just in case your breastmilk did not kick in. Also i noticed that if the flow is slow and baby is hungry, they get really frustrated and that may in turn get you teary.

For now, I'm feeding him EBM as my flow is still slow though improving. Achieved 60ml (45mins pump) this morning.

Heres a tip, try to get as many free formula from Hosp during your stay and upon discharge. These formula are in glass bottles and you can recycle them to keep you EBM. Also, TMC can provide disposable NUK orthodontic teats when they give you the sample formula. Grap as many as you can. Believe me, it really comes in handy

Swelling Feet
Forgot to update. Yesterday I called my gynae to check the possible reasons for my swelling feet. She told me to go down immediately. Reason, she was worried that it could be a blod clot somewhere but after checking she said it is likely a water retention problem.

Today my left is slightly swollen but more normal looking now

LuthAdel: Thanks for the advice!
Gasps! 3 weeks??? I guess I really should get a small tin then. Will try to grab as many of those glass bottles as possible - I wonder if MAH gives them away too. Did Bryan have any problems taking to breastfeeding after you've fed him from the bottle?

Spaghetti
Surprisingly, Bryan has been receptive to both formula and my EBM. So I guess that is not much problem. Plus I tasted the formula and my EBM, quite close. (I'm using Friso Gold 1)

HI adel
Great tat ur BM starts to kick in
Great achievement !!!

The free formula came in the glass bottle... roughly how many can we get n what brand is it??

Wow , Mrs Wong is so nice to visit u daily.. Lucky u are also on weekdays.. if on weekends, she mentioned b4 tat she will not go....cos she giving lessons..

BTW hor, do u mind asking ... how much is ur total bill for a 5 days stay in TMC??

Hi Spaghetti, i almost bought the same wall sticker as u. but my HB dun wan.. we have no place to stick.. haha!! BUt i find tat design so cute lor..

Hi gals..
abt the discharge.. yes.. i have it quite alot n wet too... until i keep having the habit to go n wash my private if i m at home... n change a new panty.. I will itch if i use panty liner

Sigh.. cannot image when the lochia comes... then also cannot keep washing at home....

Hi emeraldbride
me also bought 2 sleep dress at OG.. with buttons on the top till breast level... initially bought those top with pants.. realise if i m going c-sect, wearing sleep pants more inconvenient..

Adel: Thanks for sharing about getting free formula. You mean the formula is pre-mixed or the hosp put the milk powder in the glass bottles?

Sam: Wow, so your previous 3 deliveries were very fast?

Emeraldbride: I've been getting thick & mucus-like discharge daily. I also dunno what it is...but there's no weird smell. Is it cos baby is due soon?

Spag: Your wall stickers are nice!!!

luthadel...bb bryan so cute.
my hubby n I was one of the lucky few that managed to carry him. he smells good too.

this coming week will be my last week at work..

Jowin
The free formulas are pre-mixed in the glass bottle with a vacuum seal. You only need to warm it up with warm water. I used Friso Gold 1.

LuthAdel: Did you find the pump useful when you brought it to the hospital? Friso Gold is good ah? I haven't done any research on formula milk at all.

Jowinbaby, Pris: Yah...the stickers so cute hor? I'm regretting not getting more at the spree. Now I'm looking around Singapore suppliers for such stickers and they are so expensive!

Where is Sam ah? Really gone off for labour liao?

Spaghetti
The pump is useful to help me stimulate my breast as my bm only kicks in on the 6th day.

Mei Lik
So nice to see you and your HB at the hosp!!! I was so surprised that you can recognised my hb.hahaha

hi Spaghetti
Yes.. very nice lor.. HB just dun wan me to get... shdn't have ask him n i just buy last time... As i m asking him where i can paste.. he said NO... SIGH!!!

Hi luthadel
I see.. ok.. thanks

Hello all..

Adel,
How often did you have to pump and for how long in the days before your milk came in?

Sam..
Yup..wonder if she's popped already but dun think so la..no sms yet. Anyway she normally not active on Sun mornings..church plus family day.

Spag,
My son has been using Friso Gold too (didnt manage to BF him). Can consider the brand if you want to standby a tin

Lavendry,
My baby's room is done..minimal things to do. (www.llig.blogspot.com)
But just now, when i was attempting to pack hospital bag, i realised that the coming-home clothes i got for baby (0-3m) just looked too big :'(
Now hoping to get sthing in new baby size cos i dun wan him to wear handmedown on his trip home..

llig, can u kindly invite me to view your blog?
My baby room only has a 5-tier cabinet up till now, everything all still empty.

I think for baby clothes, 0-3mth should be good enough. Looks too big? Hmm i feel that its good to wear big and loose clothes, cos more comfortable. Alternatively if u have some gift sets by now, u may open up some nice ones and let your baby wear it on the day of discharging and during full-month celebration, it comes in matching set, nice nice :p

Anyway i'm sure u will be using the receiving blanket to wrap around your baby when discharging from hospital, so it should just be fine

Sidetrack abit: according to old people saying, baby should wear handmedown clothes, so that the baby will be more obedient.

gill
Right now i find that my morning pump yields the best result (60ML), just pumped at arour 1.15pm for (45mins) yields only 45ML. My breast feels large, heavy and hard every 3 hourly.

llig, I also find some 0 - 3 months a bit big. I bought two pieces of NB ones, should be ok with the thick diapers. My baby is a little small: 2.4kg at 36 weeks gynae visit. Water level still at 6.3, but baby's weight seems to be slowing down - another sign of placenta aging. Gynae said we probably won't be able to wait till EDD. Guess we will be inducing at about 37, 38 weeks.

Heard the receiving blankie from MAH is a bit rough. I've packed baby's swaddle along! ^^

llig, how do I view your blog?

looking thru my bag to c if i got anyting left out anot. muz make sure everyting is packed as i dono when im gonna pop. kinda excited but scared too. haha. wonder how come i din hav tis feeling when i gave birth laz yr. hmm.

kath
my 1st one was c-sect. so c-sect again tis time round would actually b safer due to close time gap. don wan laz min kanna push to ot again. hehe.

pris
thanx. praying hard. gonna rest more tis 2 wks. =)

ade
how abt taking prune juice for constipation? or can go pharmacy buy lactulose. will help to ease constipation.

jo
mi having d creamy, yellow discharge as well. but no foul smell or itch so i juz kip changing panty-liner.

fabbie
u mean d baby fair at united sq? i went n its a waste of time. nothing much there. =(

so so so tired!! Went Orchard early in the morning. Robinsons having 20% storewide discount while Tangs no discount!

I realise my water retention is quite bad..the joints at my fingers actually hurts if i clench them..its like getting rheumatism.. even hurts when i brush my teeth..gotta ask gynae next week if it is anything serious..n my feet, dun even mention abt them..like trotters..hahaha

Tmr me going for my final mani n pedi then after tat... hv to wait till next year liao..SOB! aiyah, saw pizza's ad..feel like eating pizza. Din eat anything much todae..onie pancake in the morning..not hungry leh dunno y.

llig,

hehehe .. ya I was at church this morning then went out for lunch ... just finfished watching a dvd .. so sleepy. I have no more spotting today .. thank goodness. I really want to tahan till my due date leh .. still got things to do before I'm stuck at home with a newborn

ya Loveangel,

my previous deliveries all really fast ... my gynae keeps warning me that I cannot wait ... must really rush to the hospital fast the min I start having contractions ..

Anyway, I will be seeing my gynae on Wed ... hope she says I can make it to the 3rd ... lol.

Spaghetti
I bought the same stickers as you. Very cute, right! Will be putting them up in my nursery later today.

I've already decorated the nursery a little bit. You can view the pics here: http://www.new.facebook.com/album.php?aid=63987&l=3d385&id=633452089 We are leaving the cot in our bedroom, so the nursery just has a changing table and wardrobe for bb's clothes.

emeraldbride
I was also at Robinsons this afternoon. Bought Karmy nursing pyjamas. Did you buy anything? I also have pain in my finger joints. In the morning, when I wake up, I can't even close my hand at all! I asked Dr Soong and she said it's probably due to the water retention, because I'm getting the pain in both hands. If it persists after delivery, or if there is only pain in one hand, then it may be a physical problem that needs to be attended to.

I ask you all, when we bring baby back from the hospital, is anyone using a car seat? Or are you going to just hold bb in your arms? I feel that it's not safe not to use a car seat, but also don't think we can strap her in if she's going to be wrapped up in a blanket. What do you all think?

echo,

you are supposed to have the baby in a car seat ... she can swaddled up when you carry her to the car but since she is dressed anyway under the blanket, just strap her into the car seat and tuck the blanket around her. it's safer for her to be in the car seat.

besides, you have to start her getting used to being in it ... or else once she's older and realizes that it's possible for u to NOT put her in the car seat, she'll howl everytime u try to strap her in ... make it a point right from the start .. that she associates the car ride with the car seat.

Adel:
congrats on yr BM ad homecoming! Jia you on persisting with the pumping, im sure the vol wil increase as time goes.

Discharge:
i got alot of discharge since a few months ago. did a strep test and was cleared except for some harmless fungus tingy, but recently ned to change pantyliner frequently, else will feel uncomfy.

Emeraldbride:
me and Snowger got aching finger joints too. i asked my gynae and he advised to move our fingers before sleep and waking up. but the pain is soooo bad recently dat he gave me a cream (Cyclo3 Cream abt $18), we need to message our hands and legs (whichever got water rentention) in an upwards motion. meaning, u start from your finger/toe tips and push up towards yrself. I lazy, so din do in morning, only asked my HB to message for me t nite before sleep. last nite is the 1st time, so cannot really feel effect yet. u may want to get yr HB to message for u 1st? if really too bad, gynae said got medi to control the pain.

Shopping:
ytd after gynae appt, went for retail therepy for myself (at last). for ladies who like Ferragamo stuff, they are having their autumn/winter sale till end Dec (including their new arrivals), most items are up for at least 40% discount! realise many ladies went for the shoes but i only have eyes for their bags and wallets! hahaha... So Kasia's notty mummy asked poor Kasia's daddy spend alot ytd... hehe ;p

BB Fair @ United Sq:
ya, think it's not worth it. the newspaper ad only list 4-5 booths, so din really make efforts to go down. Btw, Robinson 20% sale not on every item too, notice only mainly for clothes and acc.

Envy those starting ML, me still trying to clear as much werk as possible. handover most stuff to my team on Thurs, but still need to clear some werk lest my team kena too much pressure. hope BB will be good and stay till early Dec.

BB updates:
Kasia is now at 2.8kg, gynae told me dat he could feel im having contractions during check up and was very shocked, cos i dun feel pain at all. then gynae explained dat contraction comes in painless or painful form. im the lucky group who experience painless contraction. gynae mentioned if our tummy "tighten" and "harden", it is a sign of contraction. Some others will feel uncomfy in their stomach like gastric... juz curious, any MTBs here got the "painless" form of contraction like me? me jia lat, scarly im abt to give birth, i still dun knw. hmm.. hope will not give birth unknowingly at home!!! hahaha.. ;D

tightening of the tummy until hard hard is Braxton Hicks.. its like preparing for contractions like that.. usually not pain pain one.. the pain pain one is contractions.. me started to get BH since last friday.. also coz i LS.. keke..

Echo, 2ndbaby,spaghetti, the stickers very nice hor.. keke.. i din follow the sequence for the animals one coz i dun like the lion sitting on the elephant.. this is my pic..

1886451.jpg

and this is the other one i bought for my living room, pasted it beside my ikea book shelf n CD tower..

1886452.jpg

carmen + iemik0

I also have this tightening and hardening of my stomach.. Comes quite often.. Sometimes it feels just a bit uncomfortable (not painful).. sometimes it feels like pre-menses cramps.. My doc told me that is braxton hicks contractions.. Practice sessions for the real thing which will be painful.. my doc said u will be winching away when the real thing happens..

She also says that it seems that pple who have this kind of contractions often may have easier labour.. I dunno how true this is.. =)

Finally on ML liao...hmmm..feel so "lost" like tat, dunno wat to do. Heehee...

Went to Mc to have Bf today, rest at hm till noon time den went Giant to buy groceries and some window shopping with my HB.

For those having water retention, try to drink winter melon soup, quite effective for me, so far no retention...keep my fingers crossed for this last week b4 my operation.

Juzyounme,

Yup, my first 1 oso C-section, this time slightly low placenta, better dun risk it, opt for C-section this time round as well.

I also hv this tightening and hardening of stomach and its abit painful at times. All along thought its Braxton Hicks contractions. But then end up its contractions. Up till now, i'm really confused about real contractions and Braxton Hicks.

Btw how many pcs of nursing bras are enough? And when is the ideal time to buy nursing bras?

lol lucky i didnt go to the baby fair. hehe nearly went.. but hubbie shake head.. nono haha

Wah. so envy you gals got so nice stickers on the wall for the little one.. haiz. hope i have my own house so i could deco too! =P

me too , having tightening n harden of tummy but not painful . just uncomfortable. There is one day tat hb was talking to bb n feeling my tummy.. suddenly he can feel my tummy harden up... i though him, shd be BH.. he was amazed..

NOw, the frequency of BH increasing daily leh...Last nite , i even felt tat the vaginal canal abit pain.. like stretch n 2 strong menses pull.. i hope i m not dilating as my BB have not even turn...

Mimi: Good luck & all the best tomorrow!!!

Sam: Good to know that you no longer have spotting. Ask your gal to hang in there till the 3rd.

Lavendery: Yep, my contractions were painless too so i also thought they were BH. In the end, they also turned out to be REAL! I also hope i'll be able to tell when my actual labour starts so i can get to the hospital in time.

Phy: I like the way you stuck the decals too!
Very cute!

Adel: So i can just get the pre-mixed formula from the nurses? Will they heat up it up for you before you feed baby?

Carmen: I want to go check out the Ferragamo sale so i can buy shoes! My gynae said i can go shopping but i'm scared i'll go into labour while shopping! haha...

My mom dropped by my place just now with lots of Chinese herbs. Some for bathing during confinement, some for cooking the longan red-date tea & some other tonic soups to drink during confinement. 3 big bags! My goodness...my hubby & i went to Courts to buy a slow cooker. Will be using it to boil my longan red-date tea.

echo2: I love the giraffes! I've been looking for little sheeps sheeps to place near the cot, but Singapore wall decals too expensive. How much were the giraffes?

Phy: The length of your wall just nice! I like the tree leh. Should have gotten more of the stickers. Hehe...

llig: Okie, think I will standby one Friso Gold, in case I no milk

Fabbie: How about allocating one wall to the baby in your room? The side where your cot will be? Can paint a different colour? ^___^

Sam: Glad to see you're still here. Tell baby Calista to hang in there till 3rd Dec!

yeah! today is the BIG day! jus finished my light breakfast and no more food for me...

ikeike, will post bb's photo when i have the energy to do so.

jo, some ppl dun feel contraction painful, jus feel uncomfortable, tummy tighten and harden. this is wat happen to me lor, contraction hit 100+ i still dun feel any pain. if u feel more frequency tummy tightening, you should go to your gynae and do CTG to monitoring the contractions.

morning ladies

mimi
jia you! todae is ur big dae. await ur good news. =)

lavendery
i got abt total of 12 nursing bras. hehe. quite alot. got 6 good ones from laz preg plus 6 new ones. scare dec weather alwaz rain so get more. further more i change abt 2-3bras each dae. ks. hehe.

Luthadel.. What pump u using? just keep on pumping to stimulate the flow and continue to latch. the flow will come in good.

HI mEilik
Luthadel using PISA

Hi emeraldbride
I finally got my freestyle charge.. then i switched on... totally blur... haha!! Only know tat it can go on to level 9... then dun know how to see which is the stimulation mode.

morning!! Woke up with severe migraine..contemplating to stay home and rest or come to work, but sucker me, still come to work else scared boss not happy. Sigh..

I also got alot of tummy tightening per day but most of the time i will ignore it, but when walking, hv to bend forward abit, else feel too stretched..

Carmen, i did move my fingers all the time, but still ache alot! This morning, woke up with the whole 10 fingers stiffened and i hv to force clench my fingers.. arrgghh! But I bought some peppermint foot soak fr Body Shop yesterday and last night soak my trotters in warm water, felt so much comfortable and soft! Hehehe

Mimi, remember to share ur birth story with us and update the details ya..