(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

not sure if i asked this before, but if our water bag burst, will there be a very big pool of water?? What if the bag burst while we are sleeping? Then my bed will be wet rite? And when we get up to walk or i read some mummies can still go take shower etc, wont the water keep leaking?? hahaha, i dunno but i kept thinking of such things leh..hahah

Sam, thanks for the info on different booster seats.

Ade, that's great, no need to induce

For Strep B test, does she inform us to do the test prior to the next apptm?

Jowin, went OG, but not all items 20%. Was looking at avent pdts, but no 20% disc. Only members got 10% disc.

Ivy - my next appt considered as subsidised patient (that means can't choose Dr and supposedly cheaper) will be at clinic B. no scanning in the room. not sure if i can request to be sent to ADC or somewhere for a mini scan, coz concern abt baby too heavy...

Yo dear Phyl phyl! Miss u too.. whahaha.. I am now back to talk cock with u! *winkz winkz* Wah u very good lei, think of chinese and ang moh name for your son alrdy.. I still dunno wat chinese name for my girl, my family members call her Peng Mei Ling for the time being.. (direct translation from Pamelyn Pang)So biang lor!! haha..anyway, my chinese also half bucket, will see a shifu for advise.

Anybody got any recommendations for a good shifu to name your baby? Mind share your contact?

Oh By the way, i have not buy anything at all for Ah Pam yet! I really duno how to get started.. I duno what babies are supposed to wear.. and how many sets of clothings should I get, there are so many varieties! Some more Ah Pam seems like a super mini baby, most of the tops and bottoms i see in the shops seems "HUGE" even though it state for 0-3mths. Heeeelp!! I am Left with 10 weeks to go.. my room have limited storage space for baby stuff as well.. aaarghzz.. Lots to do for me over the weekend!

LuthAdel,
Can u imagine how unglam it would be to drive down Orchard in a mini-bus? And when people peer in, they'll just see ONE family .. lol!

Ivy,
Ah yes, Filipino .. well, Jake Travis Espino is a very stylo name ..
We still haven't decided on a name for our girl and we have 5.5 weeks to go .. DIE LA !!! I like Angelina Grace ... hubby is still thinking about it .. *sigh*

emeraldbride,
Contrary to what you may have seen on tv, when your water bag bursts, it won't be like Niagara Falls gushing down your legs .. it'll just feel like your pee is coming out in a rush without you controlling it .. if you're wearing a regualr maxi pad, it won't even soak through ... it's really not THAT much.

sam - just wondering apart from keeping a pad with us, is there a need to bring a set of clothes, in case we are outside when waterbag burst and wet our dress or pants... if yes, i think i better bring sth to spare, coz i'm working till v close to EDD>

juzyounme,

errr .. usually once your waterbag bursts, your contractions progress quite rapidly. Don't think you'll have time to change clothes. Just rush straight to hospital, man .. at most carry a small towel ..

If you're wearing light coloured pants, then maybe can carry a spare or else it'll be damn obvious .. but seriously, JUST RUSH TO HOSPITAL if you're in the office.

SO far for me .. out of 3 times, the gynae burst for me twice .. ie I was already in labour, and lying on the table .. the last time, I was in my room at hospital when I felt my waterbag burst .. I was wearing a pad I think so no damage .. just ask them to wheel me to the delivery suite.

2nd Baby
I did check with Dr. Chan when I was around 31wks about the STrep B test and she said she will do it at around 36wks. If she did not mention it to you, you can always just ask her

Sam
Yah! mini bus a orchard road! hahaha cute and coool i think! make sure you paint the mini bus with your family logo! That would be super cool!hahaha

Cord Blood Banking
Hey, I read the Straits Time today and there is an article about the misleading facts about cord blood stem cells. After reading that, my HB and I feels that it would be better to donate it to Public cord blood bank. Need to find out from the Public cord blood bank if in the event when need arises, will we get the priority queue since we've donated ours. Hmmm... hard to trust any info these days.

sam - i was still thinking after waterbag burst, go home, have a bath and some food, bring hospitalisation bag before going to hospital. really don't have time for that eh? how come u are wearing a pad in the hospital before waterbag burst?

LuthAdel - http://www.scbb.com.sg/

luthadel...from what i know...we wont be given any priority..thats why some people still prefer to pte bank it. but the stored blood also have little chances of compatibility...so i find that donating wil be better than to spend in banking at least it might be able to help someone else.

Sam...u are giving your bb two names also?nice...

I was just going through my mails just now and came across a promotion by L'Occitane. After reading the headline I couldn't stop laughing! hahaah.. It reads "Grape 2008 - Feel Weightless Body and Mind" Guess what, I do need to feel weightless now man! Having a 2.65kg baby in the tummy is no joke and don't even dare to think when he gets to full term!!!!

Hahaha....having said and laughed, the products does look pretty tempting for me to get .... esp the "Warming Body Wrap (stimulates microcirculation & drains excess water and toxins from the body" & "Anti-water Retention Gel"

Realised that I can't really shop anymore. Went to Jurong point to have my breakfast & lunch just now. After Breakfast, could not really walk much as I felt so damn HEAVY!

argh.. craving for durians n double boiled steam milk. =p

juzyounme
i did my growth scan when i was doing my 3D scan for baby. not sure how much they gonna charge if pt request for scan on their own. can call ADC to check out. d staff there helpful. cannot walk in, strictly by appt onli.

as for complain, juz shoot in an email to kkh n someone will get back to u wif all d correct details. hehe. did dr tham give u his namecard b4? coz most dr hav email stated on namecard one.

as long as more dan 6mths preg, we hav to go delivery suite. 24hr clinic will not entertain as if reali due, tt's d place u gonna be delivering at.

for appt, if dr req to c u, they hav a way to put in pts one. don wori. =)

chantelle.. u havent buy things yet ah.. better start soon.. write down a list of things and then slowly buy lor.. need help to know where cheap cheap just ask us lor.. no need shy one hor.. since the girls say OG and JL having sale.. these are good places to go.. as for clothes.. from departmental shops its reallie very ex wor... maybe u wanna go to the overseas spree there and get baby clothes from babymallonline.. for home wear.. go to the bugis shop<textarea>chantelle.. u havent buy things yet ah.. better start soon.. write down a list of things and then slowly buy lor.. need help to know where cheap cheap just ask us lor.. no need shy one hor.. since the girls say OG and JL having sale.. these are good places to go.. as for clothes.. from departmental shops its reallie very ex wor... maybe u wanna go to the overseas spree there and get baby clothes from babymallonline.. for home wear.. go to the bugis shop lor.. your hubby also Pang ah.. haha.. i keep telling hubby his surname cannot make it.. i will NEVER wanna be called Mrs Phang (Mrs Fat!!!) keke..

Juz.. i also very morbid one.. but hor.. pls think la.. u going to be a mummy real soon and u keep having such morbid tots not too good right.. u are 26 now... and u think u wont live till 40.. hmm.. pls la.. then ur son will be 14 nia.. thats not a very responsible way to think right? and the worst part of your whole reply is u dunno why u are still alive.. come one la..

and abt this whole KKH saga.. actually my bottom line is <textarea>chantelle.. u havent buy things yet ah.. better start soon.. write down a list of things and then slowly buy lor.. need help to know where cheap cheap just ask us lor.. no need shy one hor.. since the girls say OG and JL having sale.. these are good places to go.. as for clothes.. from departmental shops its reallie very ex wor... maybe u wanna go to the overseas spree there and get baby clothes from babymallonline.. for home wear.. go to the bugis shop<textarea>chantelle.. u havent buy things yet ah.. better start soon.. write down a list of things and then slowly buy lor.. need help to know where cheap cheap just ask us lor.. no need shy one hor.. since the girls say OG and JL having sale.. these are good places to go.. as for clothes.. from departmental shops its reallie very ex wor... maybe u wanna go to the overseas spree there and get baby clothes from babymallonline.. for home wear.. go to the bugis shop lor.. your hubby also Pang ah.. haha.. i keep telling hubby his surname cannot make it.. i will NEVER wanna be called Mrs Phang (Mrs Fat!!!) keke..

Juz.. i also very morbid one.. but hor.. pls think la.. u going to be a mummy real soon and u keep having such morbid tots not too good right.. u are 26 now... and u think u wont live till 40.. hmm.. pls la.. then ur son will be 14 nia.. thats not a very responsible way to think right? and the worst part of your whole reply is u dunno why u are still alive.. come one la..

and abt this whole KKH saga.. actually my bottom line is clear.. i still see Dr Irene at clinic A and i can book B2+ and i pay only $149 to ensure i have a bed when i deliver.. i think thats enuff for me liao.. what more can i ask?

My dear Ivy, just call n make appt to see Dr Irene at Clinic A then on ur next visit.. book your B2+ bed.. B2+ is 5bedder with aircon n attached bathroom.. the diff is no TV..

emeraldbride ah.. alot ppl tell me its like siam jio (leak pee) so it wont gush out.. dun put pad that is too absorbant.. coz u might not feel that ur bag has burst.. use pantyliner lor..

Adel.. u are getting there liao!! congrats.. cant wait to see u post bryan's handsome face!!

I've signed all the necessary papers with the public cord bank liao.. u should talk to the nice nice ladies there.. they will clear all your doubts.. they make sure u understand what banking is.. they not selling product or services so they are truthful..

Hi emeraldbride
ok.. i will rest ...
lucky this is a long weekend.. can rest more... tat day meeting till 8pm plus ah.. gosh... i almost flipped

Hi Luthadel
keep me update on the public cord donation too as i also wan to do it..
U also take alot of care.. bb going to deliver soon...

Hi mini
today went to see the doc for diabete and apparently, he said i shd not eat this way.. i cannot cut out all carbo as i m pregnant now.. I passed all my tests yesterday... but he is unhappy with the way i ate.. he said by the time, baby n me sure slim down... N BABY CANNOT LOST WEIGHT... haha... well, i shall take some carbo then.. hee hee.. so today i ate yong tau hoo with 1/4 of mee...

Hi juzyounme
I have no time to read all the post but scan thru some posts only. Somehow, dun feel so negative about yourself.. There are people out there that live worst than you..so just dun think why u are living in this world and dun wan to be over 40 yrs old. This mentality is definitely not a very good example and guidance for your child in future... i m sure you want your kid to live better than you. In order to do so, dun try to influence your child with such thinking.

Like wat phyl said, 40yrs old die, ur child only 14. Then 14yrs old , he has not even finish a proper education and need to come out to work?? Why give your child this option???

U are only 26 yrs old, gal.. life is still very very long ahead you and even all of us..

You have a degree education, i m sure you are well enough to get a higher pay job sooner or later... Financial may be tight for you, just try to spend within your limits. If cannot category A products, then go for category B...

Everyone more or less has a pre-set will ...which whatever things happen, HB and child will get it.. Before that, you may want to list the assets that you have before finding a lawyer to do so.. Its not cheap and maybe not worth to.

phyl, ur post so farnee!!! Repeated 3 times. Har har har.

Sorry, on the water bag burst thing, u tink how soon must we be aware?? I very scared leh.. though i hv like 8 more weeks to go, but i m those abit worrying type.

Was at marina square earlier for lunch and pop by kiddy palace.. i tot of buying the combi rocker for baby but still undecided..haha, at least can bring anywhere we go.

Juz: So u'll be seeing doc at Clinic B, same as me. But then u're seeing a gynae or seeing a Medical Officer?

Cos from what i know, being a subsidized patient, u can only see Medical Officer.

Sam, thought when water bag burst, still got time to take shower before heading dwn to hospital. Hehe..

I signed the form to donate my bb's cord blood for my 1st preg but on the delivery date, I backed out. Haha.. cos so much blood withdrawal and my gynae also need to withdraw my blood for further test on the day itself so in the end, I didnt donate.

hi Mommies,

Today i went for my checkup...am 33 weeks 3 days. Good thing is that my waterbag is good &amp; Preston now weighs 2.2kg. But....Bad news today from my gynae...

I'm in pre-term labour &amp; already experiencing contractions. All along i thought was Braxton-Hicks! During ultrasound scan today, Doc told me that Preston's head is already engaged &amp; in fact, his head is already at my cervix. She also checked my cervix &amp; said that it's already very soft. My waterbag may burst anytime &amp; she's worried because i'm still 6 weeks away from EDD.

Was strapped to the CTG machine for 20 minutes and at one point, the contractions measured 53!!! Was very scared then i started crying...then my poor Hubby had to hold my hand &amp; tell me to relax. Then in the end, was given a jab in my butt. Damn pain!

Tomorrow i have to get another jab...and from today onwards, have to be on daily medicine -- ADALAT to relax my womb &amp; stop contractions.

Now just praying &amp; hoping that Preston will stay inside for 4 more weeks...if not he'll be a premmie.

Oh and my gynae gave me MC for a month...till 28th Nov...say cannot go to work anymore. Try to rest in bed as much as possible...

The jab given to me is a steroid -- to mature Preston's lungs just in case he's born ANYTIME.

Sigh...am very very scared.

Snowger,
I'm back from doc visit, bb is 2kg at 32wks. Today did a scan and managed to see bb face. He was sucking his thumb! So cute...bb is also in head down position liao so keeping fingers crossed tt he stays tt way...

I asked so many qns today, heng Dr din up the consultation fee =)
Forceps vs Vacuum - Dr Tseng's preference is to use vacuum coz less impact to the bb but of course depends on situation.
Best birthing position - He recommended the conventional C-position on the hospital bed coz easier for him to control the birth and also can prevent tearing. Coz i asked him if squatting position on the floor is good, he say difficult for him coz he wun be able to see, and then sometimes bb come out too fast, will lead to very bad tearing.
Cramps and aches at groin area + tummy. - He say due to the muscle stretching and the ligaments. So some pain is still ok.

Gonna see him again in 2 weeks =) I paid for the deposit today... $1.2k +!! gasp....

pris, dun worry!! U need to rest more and dun walk too much or do too much heavy activity!!!
6 more weeks to go ah..meaning u r now 34weeks liao. If Preston can 'tong' for another 3 weeks, then not considered preemie liao..
Now the most impt thing is to listen to ur gynae. She say rest, means rest, she say take jab, take jab..cannot take chances liao!!

Stay stress free ya!

went to gynae this morning. reading the posts really confirm that my boy is smaller on his size. at 32 weeks plus, he weighing bout 1.8kg oni.... so sad. i told doc i will work till end of this month and then go on leave. he said i made the good decision to rest more. omg... i really hope my boy will catch up on his weight!!!

Loveangel,

Take care. Dun worry too much about Prince Preston coming too soon. I got pre-term contraction at week 32 and after medication, I manage to control the contractions. And my BB tahan in my tummy till week 37. She weighs 2.5kg at birth. So dun need to worry la.

Stay positive. Talk more to your BB and asks him to be guai guai. He will listen to you. Talk of mental power.

Juz,

Try to throw all negative thoughts out of your mind. Such thoughts are not doing BB and you any good. If you keep on thinking negatively, high chance of you having post natal blues, n this is really not good liao.

Jazlyn,

BB weight is hard to say 1. As long as your gynae never say your BB is too small, then it is fine. My gynae told me BB weight is very much depend on the genes lor. My hubby is small sized so my BB is small like her father.

Pris
Try to rest as what the doctor has instructed and I'm crossing my fingers and toes for you that Preston can stay in there
By the way, when you experienced the contraction, how was it like?

I've been having crampy feelings every evening but it is not painful and after that I'll get sharp pain when I walk a little fast. I forgot to tell my gynae during my check up as I was so excited to know that the water has gone up.

Loveangel,
yes, rest more .. !! Preston just needs to stay in there for a few more weeks only! If possible just lie in bed .. watch tv, rest, read mags etc. YOU CAN DO IT !!

LuthAdel, I also get some pain when I walk fast. so now I STROLL everywhere ... don't care.

Just now during my dotter's ballet class, I felt like eating a big mac ... told my hubby if I couldn't finish, I'll give him .. he watched me finish it off, eat an apple pie, finished my other daughter's sundae and downed my drink. lol. too bad for him.

Ivy, ya ... my other girls also have 2 names each. We don't have have to give them Chinese names what .. so it's nice to have 2 English names .. My first girl is Claudia Kayla, 2nd is Lauren Ashley and my 3rd is Emily Nicole .. So thought this time around, Angelina Grace would be nice .. but dunno la my hubby ... *sigh*

Chantalle
Hahaha.. so infact you dun have to worry. just tell them earlier hehe Oh ya. Ya see baby is more impt! lolx. You wear tight fitting see can anot. see people will let you sit? i think should be got one lar.. now our stage so big and obvious, i dun think think we look fat and not pregnant. hehe Peng Mei Ling Not bad leh.. direct translation from pamelyn hehe nice name!

Ivy
i bet your baby will be very cute cus its a mix! ya chinese?

Pris
Jia you!! dun worry. baby will be fine.. dun be too emotional, will affect baby sometimes. =) take care.

AdelChia: Yep i heard that vacuum is more favoured by doctors nowadays compared to forceps in the past. Forceps increase risk of bruising baby though it's temporary.

Emeraldbride: Yep, my gynae is trying to delay the birth by 4 more weeks. Cos when i hit 37 weeks, Preston will be full-term. Will rest more...

Jazlyn: Don't worry about baby's size...some people are just smaller-sized &amp; so i think it's the same for babies too! *hugs*

YPG: What medication did your gynae give you? Were you on bedrest? I will talk to my boy more often &amp; tell him to be more patient.

Jowin: Thanks for the comforting chat. I was very scared this morning &amp; i started crying at the clinic. Will try to keep myself well-rested.

Luthadel: When i experienced the contractions, my tummy will harden up &amp; i'll actually take in sharp breaths! A little bit of backache too...that's why i brushed them off because i thought they're B-H contractions &amp; i assumed the backaches are just normal preg symptoms. It was scary to see the CTG machine charting my contractions! I actually could feel something pressing down on my cervix!

I'm happy that your water level is up! Great job!

Sam: Ok, i brought home The Sims game to install in my laptop since i'll be home-bound for the next few weeks. Shall just install it at home to play. Haha...

Loveangel ..

OH YA, backaches .. I didn't have contractions with my first girl .. suddenly woke up one morning and had backache .. I was 32 weeks pregnant .. realized that the pain in my back was coming in regular intervals .. so I went down to delivery suite at KK and when they checked, they realized I was in labour .. doc gave me something to stop the contractions .. and wanted to ward me till I was full term ... but too bad, the next day, I had some infection so they had to stop the medication and let me deliver my baby at 32weeks 3 days .. my girl was so small .. *sob* I cried seeing her. She was only 1.8kg at birth .. she couldn't breathe on her own initially .. she "forgot" to breathe twice I think .. and they had to intervene .. it was very hard seeing her those few weeks hooked up with the tubes .. she wasn't in the NICU cos otherwise she was ok .. she was in the Special Care Nursery at KK .. they only let me take her home when she was past 2kg ..

This was many years ago .. my dotter is now 9 years and perfectly healthy ..

You are almost 34 weeks now - .. stay positive and listen to what your gynae has told you about resting more ..

Hope I didn't scare u with my story though. If I have, my apologies.

Wah sam.. your dotter really strong! I think you didnt scare her. but you give her a good experience that, at the end of the day, your baby will be still fine pris! =) But i guess sam ya dotter really going thru alot when she is young. and thank god that she is strong and tough! hehee

Wwaterbag burst - My colleague told me when her waterbag burst, she quickly showered, took her bag and....went to satay club for satay with her hubby and MIL before going to the hospital. But for another colleague, her baby came out just 45 minutes later! I think depends on individual bah. I'm hoping I will have enough time to calmly wash hair lah, shower lah, take snacks lah...hahaha...

Pris - Rest and relax! Dun worry, you can do it one. Jiayou. Just a couple of weeks more! Tell little Preston to be good boy and stay in there for a few weeks more.

morning ladies
sleepy sundae. hehe.

pris
hav a good rest at home k. tell baby preston to guai guai n wait till term. =)

sam...where are you from??your bb also no chinese name? i giving baby chinese name...

fabbie...im chinese...

phyl...in clinic A will there be scanning for every visit?

also wanna downgrade to book B2+ward..but also wanna see bb at every visit...does anyone knows if there is scanning?

hi, elyn76 here. read the thread and wondering about the questions about downgrading for TPS to A clinic. my hubby just lost his job and i have been seeing Dr Kang Wee at TPS. Admission told me that for premier package for my 4th child i have to pay ard $1.8k for the deposit. come to think of it, it's a waste of $$$$. thats for B1.can anybody advice me on what i should do....next week im at 32 weeks. if i were to book a B2+ bed, i believe when i deliver, my Dr wont be ard rite?

Phyl, u are like a faulty recorder.. keep repeating urself.. hahaha.. so lor soh..Read until i blur blur..Thanks for advise! I will do my homework for Baby. Thanks to iemik0 for the info, i will definitely visit the Baby Fair!

Fabbie, seriously i dun look preggy lei even at this stage. Ya.. Tight fitting clothes will do the trick if i need a seat badly!

Loveangel; All the best! Rest well and take care ok!

Jazlyn, dun worry ah, ur baby is not very small wor.. my Ah Pam only weighs 880g at 29 weeks. Now 30 weeks alrdy think should be ard 1kg nia..Doc say its ok, coz could be due to genes that baby might be petite. Eat well rest well and be happy!

Ivy
wah. nice to have mix baby.. ery cute de.

talking abt backaches.. i have very bad backaches when i get up from my bed to pee. =( its getting very hard for me to get up from a seat.. do you gals experience this? I felt is not too fat that cant get up.. is too pain to get up liao! faints.

Yday dream so many nightmares! so scary. i dreamt that i went forward to the future and realise my baby is gone, some one took care of! and i keep searching for her. and duno what lar. i dreamt that i kill people. as they force me to! =S

halo ladies,

it's a cloudy sunday!!! went for a swim this morning. feel so relaxed n thank God tmr is holiday too!!!

chantalle, loveangel n ypg,

both me n hb not petite at all. i checked my birth cert, my birth weight was 3.09 kg leh. according to MIL, hb was a 6 pounder at his birth too. sigh, just hope for the best. hope to catch up on rest n food when i m off work starting november. just gotta force myself to eat more now n kept on asking bb to absorb the nutrient n gain weight fast!!!

funny thing is, my gynae said bb's head measurement is ok. but his body a bit smaller. does it means my boy now 'tou da shen xiao' (big head with small body) kind of look?

sam,

ur dotters all got vy beautiful name leh. did u guys put on ur hb's surname into their birth cert???

chantalle,

happy shopping. better get ur shopping done now before u pop!!! i hv it all done 2 mths ago... hehe

luthadel,

glad to hear ur water level back to normal.

pris,

do rest more. n tell preston to b 'guai guai' not to come out so early...

Sorry to intrude into ur thread. I'm from Sep'08 thread. I've 118 packs (each pack hv 2 pcs of diapers) of Drypers NB diapers to let go. Letting go part or all of it at $0.50 per pack. Pls email me at [email protected] if u r interested, thks

Ivy, I'm Singaporean Eurasian. Hubby is mixed .. mom Chinese dad Sri Lankan so surname is Selva .. ya, Jazlyn, my kids all have his surname on their birthcerts .. but we thought it'll look very long with the Chinese names as well .. like my hubby's name .. his mom INSISTED on a Chinese name so his name is Stanley Meng Huat Selva .. haiyah .. looks odd leh I thought. so we didn't want to do that to our kids. of course, it's a personal preference.

Sam: Thanks for your story. It's not scary but it's good to hear 1st-hand from someone who had gone through pre-term labour. I'm hitting 34 weeks soon &amp; i'm really hoping Preston can just hang in there for a few more weeks...

Fabbie/ Spaghetti/ Iemiko/ 2nd baby:
Thanks for your encouragement...will talk more to Preston!

Chantelle: My hubby is heading to Kiddy Palace later too. He's going to buy the Babysafe mattress just in case... :p We have not bought it yet. Remember to rest more while shopping ok?

Jazlyn: My gynae also said that my boy's head is a bit big...don't worry!
It'll probably be tougher for 1st time moms (tearing &amp; harder cos the diameter of the head is large) because our vagina muscles are still "tight" but believe that you can do it!