(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Juzyounme/iemik0 - icic.

Iemik0 - really pei fu u. so u everything urself during confinement? How do u find time to rest then?

Mimi,
No worries now
Guess some bb turn earlier, some later.

iemik0
I read quite a few gd comments about natal essentials in the forum too. But I haven't made up my mind whether to book them.

Juzyounme,
my fren sampled the food from natal essentials & newbaby. Her comments are the soup from natal essentials taste better but overall newbaby's food is tastier. Newbaby uses tingkat but natal uses plastic disposable containers. And of course natal is more ex. Just sharing info here.

juzyounme
mi din manage to slim down from 1st preg. hehe. gave up liao. natal essentails portion r big i heard. can feed 2 pax. so juz nice hb n mi eat. den my boi i will boil soup n give him rice.
for cooled boiled water, i use big water flask to contain d water.

fong2
mi hardly rest during confinement. onli when bb sleep den i oso try to sleep.

scarletGal - yup, already noted that natal is more x. but if the portion is big enough, i can order lunch, then save it for dinner to eat. ;P any idea about other confinement food contacts, review, cost, menu.

Ivy - try calling MOM and ask eh. MOM hotline easier to get thru than ICA.

adelchia/Kristangel,
My gynae did say tat it's still early so now worries.
I din ask if he will induce or not leh... I flooded him with my glucose qns. :p

BB's small so got space to move abt. I read that most important is Wk 36 onwards, bb shld move head down. And it should be natural process as the top part of uterus is bigger (bb will fill more comfortable with the extra leg n bum space the bottom part of the uterus can't provide).
Engagement (i.e. lodging of head in the pelvic cavity) can be just before labour too!

juzyounme
mi gan 19kg for my 1st preg. lost abt 15 la. den now gaining again due to 2nd preg. =(

i got 2 flask to contain water. den keep boiling water la.

just called and check...i cant sponser my MIL for long term visit pass...my hubby must apply for PR first before he can apply for my MIL long term pass...haiz....headache....!!!dont know what to do...we waiting for baby to come before applying for PR..think can only bring her over then do a extension of her visit pass every 30 days...

iemik0 - i'm wondering if i can get a big tank or whatever, so that after water is boiled, i can pour in to let it cooled. especially when i'm going to bathe... at least u slim down quite a lot, i know of pple who really remain near their weight gain.

emeraldbride,

me oso got scoliosis. best for me to sleep on my right or on my back. i had surgery done before, can feel that the pregnancy putting strain on my spine!!!

ivy,

u can apply long term social visit pass online. just go to www.ica.gov.sg
they hv listed all the procedures there

juzyounme,

do take k lor. dun overwork urself in taking k of ur hb. get him to sayang u lor...

Hi Ivy,

I am not sure if the procedure is the same. But the last time i extended my CL (malaysian) via internet.

And approve or not can be known online within 2 working days or so. and needbe, they will ask her to ica with sponsor's ic (yourself) to verify details. pretty easy when i do for my CL.

I managed to get her to stamp her passport twice at woodlands custom (60days liao), then got a 90 days online extension for her. that means she can stay for like 150days during her last assignment with me.

there's 90 or 30 days extension one you can find out from here.

http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=180&secid=178

hope the info helps.

Jazlyn - tried, doesn't help. hahaha.

pig07 - wah, when i took out the "a bit of everything", my entire living rm floor is covered. scared liao n pai sey. thanks a lot!

anyone who has given birth in KKH requested for a particular PD to see their new born and done follow-up with the PD? any recommendation on a PD at KKH?

wanna check with u all. does ur baby kicks u hard enuf that u can feel ur body sway?? i can feel my body n tummy sway when my boy kicks n punches me hard. when i m at resting position, i can c my tummy shake from left to right n right to left. n i can see 'waves' leh...

pig07...how much did you pay for your confinement lady?

Jazlyn...sometimes i do feel it...baby kick too hard..learning KungFu..haha

anyone working in ICA...would like to know more how the procedures are...

Hi juzyounme,

my sister's twins had a pair of twins. the pd seeing them at KKH for their developmental growth is Dr melissa.

When i had my boy at KKH last year, a PD was checking on my boy during our stay and she came to the room to see me and also said that i can visit her at KKH Children Private suite for my boy's future developmental growth check up and vacinations.

I didnt use her eventually as i prefer to to go the kids clinic at Rivervale, sengkang which is more accessible for me. Whatsmore the PDs from the clinic were previously from KKH and recommended to my sister by her son's surgeon from KKH.

Hi Ivy,

I couldnt quite remember exactly. I think last year's rate was $1800 per month. and i used her for 2.5 months and she left just before feb CNY.

Initial was to use her for 1 month nia. then extend 2 weeks. then longer and longer. if not for cny, i will definitely ask her to stay longer.

this round i have booked her until march/april liao. but told her that she can still go back to msia for 2009 cny as by then baby will at least be 1 month old liao.

juzyounme
as long as u're pte pt, u can request for pd for ur child. coz bb follow same class status as mummy. if u opt for package vaccinations, den usually they will assign u to dr kw tan. kkh has a lot of neonatal dr tt ur bb can follow up with. =) hehe. i sound as thou i promoting my hosp drs sia.

Ivy,

I had my 3rd girl at KKH about 2 years ago .. the initial payment they asked for was 3k CASH then .. that's what hubby remembers it as .. the Medisave amt should still have been $1.8k. Like Jappooh, I got $1k back so total cash plus Medisave spent was $3.8k ...

Like Jappooh, I didn't have an epidural, vaginal birth ...

Actually, when I asked the lady at the counter how come last time I got about 1k back .. was it because my estimated bill size was smaller ?? She said it's cos the amt I received back was from the antenatal visits which I was paying cash all this while .. she said those were claimable by Medisave .. so that's what the 1k returned to me was for ... dunno whether that info is right or what ... cos I was trying to listen to her while keeping an eye on my girls ..

Ya juzyouandme, thank GOODNESS my maid came back last Saturday ..
It's not a deposit that I put down as I clarified earlier .. it's the initial payment .. the estimated bill size for A1 single bedder normal vaginal birth at KKH is $3710 ...amt claimable by Medisave is only $1800 .. so the rest must be paid by cash .. of course you can end up paying more in cash at the end of the day, cos not everything is included like epidural, or if you spend a lot of time in the delivery suite cos your labour is long ...

pig07/iemik0 - actually i prefer to visit a PD near my area & will open in evening. but then woodlands doesn't seem to have really ok ones eh.

Is Dr Melissa good? Does the children private suite open in evening too? Is the package vaccinations more affordable than if taken at polyclinics or PD's clinic?

Is there a PD who is v good in detecting any abnormalities in their development? asking that coz yrs bk, it seems that the PD didn't manage to detect that my brother is intellectually disabled fast enough, although there seem to be a lot of tell-tale signs, he is much slower than other babies, whether in terms of flipping himself over, sitting, standing, walking, making sounds...

juzyounme,
if I didn't recall wrongly, my fren says natal's portions are larger, there's more rice, dishes not really more. But it may not be enough for 2 person, esp if sharing with hb, as men usually have bigger appetite.
Not sure if the portion has shrunk or what.. the trial meal was sometime about 2 mths ago.

Juzyounme,

if you go to the polyclinic and take a vaccination for your child, the cost of the vaccine is the same as in a pediatrician's clinic .. only difference is that the pediatrician's consultation fee is HIGHER ..

I hate polyclinics though .. often crowded and filled with so many people hacking and looking so deathly ill. I refuse to take my babies/kids to the polyclinic.

Hi Juzyounme, Thank you for the cheque offer. I managed to use the paypal liao
Gambatte for yr exams k, dun worry abt weight now, u can work on it after baby is out.

juzyounme
mi cannot comment which dr good anot. not fair to my other drs. =X private children clinic is a walk-in clinic as well as see pt wif appts. office hrs onli.

for packages will be more worth for parents who do not hav csc or benefit card tt can pay for it. we give hexa or 5-in-1 whereas polyclinic is hep b 1 jab, dpt 1 jab. definitely give hexa or 5-in-1 is more ex. can say our prices cheaper dan pd la.

all our pd r neonatal or paeds trainned. they will do d monthly assessment for ur bb so no wories. =)

iemik0,

I'm thinking of going to KKH for this new baby instead of my regular pediatrician at Eastshore cos it's nearer. For the Children's Private Suite, how's the wait like for baby to be vaccinated?

So the packages are cheaper than if we go per visit to any other pediatrician's clinic? Can i use CSC card for the packages?

juzyounme
i live in woodlands but i bring my boy to Yishun poly for jap & checkup. nurses will give the jap & usually routine checkup. not sure with other poly but for yishun, is on 2nd floor one corner so still ok

kristalangel - huh? does it mean that u can choose how much u r putting for initial payment? is there any amt which is consider deposit (that means compulsory to pay when booking package)? good thing ur maid is back, let me know when u r having a "sale".

scarletGal - wondering should get a trial meal to test portion out ;P

Hi juzyounme,

i had wanted to go to polyclinic for vacinnations for my son. Then i realised that i can save my the son the pain of additional 2 injections if i go to a PD vs polyclinc. That means the total cost difference will be very minimal as fewer jabs done. The pd did the developmental check for my son. And no need any trips to polyclinc at all. The only trips to polyclinic was when we got discharged and he went there for jaundice check.

As for Dr melissa, i am not sure if she does vacinnation as my nephews had their jabs at polyclinc.

Am sure you can find good PDs at woodlands one. Perhaps will hve to ask around only.

As for pds checking on developmental growth..

i dont think i know of anyone especially good at telling. reason being, i hear from doctors that 'milestones' are just milestones.. meaning generally.. but there are still people slower.

Like my nephew can only walk when 18months when some can do it at 10months.. my uncle learnt to speak only when at 5 year old...

but of course, when we noticed that something isnt so right about the growth etc, we will always want to seek a second opinion with a specialist. Like we brought our nephew to a child pyscologist when we realised that he seemed to be 'slower' in terms of learning and speaking than his twin brother.

Juzyounme,

no u can't .. the packages are the estimated bill sizes and you have to pay that amount .. it's only the extra if you bust that amount that they bill you later.

pig07,
actually, there are only 2 pediatricians in Woodlands .. one is near my place .. he BLARDY OVERCHARGES !!! the nurses could never give me a breakdown of his charges cos I suspect he anyhow just decides how much to charge based on where you live etc (whether it's condo etc) .. ie I once paid more than $150 just for my girl to see him for a slight fever (and it wasn't the first visit .. usually first visit you pay more) !!! His clinic has patients but you can't tell me that he's charging them all thost kind of prices and people are flocking to him?? I was so annoyed that there wasn't a bill to show me a breakdown of his charges. I now go to a pediatrician in Easthshore cos his charges are decent and consultation is only $30 ... I'd rather DRIVE to Eastshore from Woodlands than see the one in Woodlands ...

There is another pediatrician in Woodlands .. Dr Angeline something ... it's in Marsiling .. quite near the mrt station .. can walk .. I hear from my aunt that her charges are ok ... but I don't dare to try .. prefer to just stick to the one at Eastshore ... but now thinking of maybe switching to KKH for this next baby since it;s nearer than Eastshore .. and if the package is cheaper than that's more attractive.

Juzyounme, maybe you can consider KKH too??

Juzyounme, forgot to add that the lady told me that you can use credit card to pay by interest free instalments .. u can check with them to see whether it's a specific credit card or any one will do ..

I purpose signed all $1910 on my card so as to gain rebate dollars .. won't be much la .. but better than blardy NETS. no benefits at all.

oh ya here u go, Juzyounme ..

Angelin's Baby & Child Clinic
Address: Blk 303 Woodlands St 31 #01-177 Singapore 730303
Telephone: 6366 1011 Fax: 6366 2022

It's near the Woodlands Polyclinic and Marsiling MRT station.

Here's the map of clinic

fabbie ..

ya, I have 2 dogs ... Isabel is a Golden Retriever and Kimmy is my Maltese ... hehehe ...

I got Isabel from the States when hubby was posted there a few years ago .. so she's bigger and fluffier than local Goldens ... delevery men are often scared of her when I open my front door even though she doesn't bark .. she's a big coward .. she wouldn't hurt a fly ... my girls can roll all over her and she doesn't bother ..

Some old photos of my doggies

I am an existing client of CordLife. Both the referrer and referee get 1 time $50 off respectively on top of the 43% promotion :>
If u need me as referral to get the $50 discount,u can pm or email me
my email:[email protected]

Jazlyn & Emeraldbride: I have scoliosis too! In fact, my spine is S-curve and my curvatures are quite bad (over 40 deg). What about you gals? So far, i get some backache but i usually minimise the pain by sitting down whenever i can.

Kristalangel: I intend to pay the hosp via CC too! At least can earn points. When i go for gynae checkups, my hubby will pay using CC too. :p Can redeem the points for vouchers. I agree it's better than NETS!

I have officially entered my last trimester. Really feel that time has passed so quickly. I jus finished washing my bb towels & hankies. Suddenly feel like washing in the middle of the night. So weird...but i haven't washed anything else yet.

kristalangel
at private children clinic (PCC), d wait is abt 30mins - 1hr. consultation + vaccine. i gotta check out wif my colleagues if csc can use anot coz they r d ones dealing wif billing. mi onli jab d babies. hehe. if compare to outside pd, we mite be of equal pricing coz paying for consultation is not cheap la. so more or less adds up to d same. if can use csc card den veri worth. check it out den let ya know again k. =)

saw ur blog. my clinic is juz behind d playground. hehe.

Morning mommies!!

i didnt go to work...going to see family GP to check baby,cause keep having cramps since yesterday...then this morning also cramp till i wake up...is it ok?normal?so scared..cant wait for next gynae check up...next tuesday

Kristal..your doggies so cute...i just gave away my shih tzu cause my mom condition getting bad..think allergic..and my parents keep saying i shouldnt keep it since baby coming..

Carmen, replied to you liao. i anything la

actually ladies, do all of you think 1 oct is a better date for outing? or u gals wanna stick to 4th..

i cannot find the archive of the last post on the outing.. will keep looking.

pris, someone offer me 300 for a DUO leh.. hehe.. but dunno should get DUO or UNO now. hehe.. i downgrade to UNO coz if wanna bring out not so leh chey.. the DUO waranty till Jan 09 wor..

ivy, why u dun wanna bring forward your gynae appt to today? go GP got use meh.. i kinda anti GP cos they keep giving meds that not suitable and some dun dare to give meds..

Snowger, your infection ok liao ma.. i kena liao.. now pee also got greenish curds.. very yucky.. tmrw i going KKH for glucose test so will shun bian ask for meds or pessary..

iemik0,

thanks!!

Ivy,

ya, old people always will suggest getting rid of pets since there's a baby coming. My mom said it a few times and I ignored her cos my girls are all fine till now .. no asthma or anything. But if your mom is allergic to your dog's fur, then can't be helped ... u must miss your doggie!!

me can't catch up with the postings.... so fast =P

Finally its friday.. took half day to go high tea with friends and shopping... need to relax..

phyl...my family been seeing that GP for long time,..and he have US there....so just make sure baby is ok....

Ya,i miss my dog so much....miss the sound of him walking around.....

is it normal to have cramps?

Morning ladies
Wah, it is getting more and more uncomfortable to sleep and even sitting in the MRT this morning. Felt really breathless while sitting down and even a bit nauseous....hope i'm not getting MS at this stage! Funny is that i did not get MS during my 1st trimester.

Phyl
Must take care of that infection.