(2008/11) November 2008

Heya ladies, i m zombified today man. i only had dinner at 12.15am!

Like some of u already know, Z fell out of his cot last night. Z has been a troubled slper ever since his first molar popped out. gone are the nights he slps through from 8 till 7.

Anyway last night he was being fussy again cos MIL let him slp at 5.45pm. After sitting with him for 30 mins, he still refused to slp so i walked out lor. that silly boy climb on his bumper and some how or rather, fell over the barrier. i heard a loud bang but i thought he fell into his cot (backwards). i went to check and he came running to me!!! i freaked out man. cos the barrier was as high as my boobs and it meant he fell from a height of 1.4m. The bruised developed immediately, just abv his left eye and i could see that there were some bruising around the whole eye. called my hb who was still working and my dad for advice. then rushed him to KK lor.

I kept him awake all the way and luckily the wait wasn't long. both the triage nurse and the doctor thought Z rolled off the cot. had to explain 3-4x to them that he climb over the barrier before they understood. we were done at the hospital in 30mins and thankfully Z was alert enough to follow the instructions given by the doc.

We went home and check the cot. found that one side of the sliding barrier sagged under his wt. but the barrier still reach his armpits. i think he prob stood on his bumper and overbalanced.

So moral of the story, go home today and make sure ur cots are in the lowest level!

ah lian and minky,
sorry to disappoint you gals, but nope. I brought my boy for his MMR jab that day and happened to bumped into Fifi at the toilet. hehe..
wah,so scary leh. i'll make sure if i'm preggy now, i won't post in other 2010 threads.hahaah..

bear, scary to hear abt what happen to Z bt glad he is fine with just bruises... perhaps bumpers are nt needed nw... quite scary.

moomummy, lol do let us knw the good news if nt u will be hunted down by ah lian wahhaa...

Bear
wow.. he came running to u and din cry at all? Really a brave boy! My gal would have cried and screamed e house down man...
Good to know he's fine.. hahaa.. getting active as well huh ur little Z...

Umm... actually when my gal sleeps in my room i dun even put up the barrier! feel its much easier for me to resettle her when she whines at nite.. and also cos i pull the cot right besides my bed so i tot even if she falls out it'll b right smack on my bed.. But the barrier will certainly b up before she falls asleep and if i go out of the room..

moomum, ei, preg is good news what. Wats there to hide?
hee... Go, go, go post in 2010 bah...

Bear, Gurp* 1.4m!! Tat must be a real loud bang!

hello mummies!

bear, hope Z's alright and recover soon. scary fall, poor boy.

moomummy, if u preggy dun post in 2010 thread nvm, but do rem to post here and share the gd news with us, haha

shoes
heard combi shd be quite good, but ex leh. last week i bought a pair of crocs from BP, ordered the smallest size where the seller told me her 30mth old gal is wearing it so thought ok lah buy bigger can keep, but when i received the shoes and tried on my gal, it was almost just nice with just abt a finger size space left! gosh, big foot gal!

Minky, he still thrashes around the cot at night. he uses his legs to push his body around and i have heard loud cracks when his head hits the bumper.

Peanut, no he was wailing lah.. if nv cry something is wrong lor. i scooped him up immed and turned on the lights to check for bleeding. then called my hb. when i started to talk to my hb he stopped crying to listen to me. once i put down the phone he continued to wail for 1-2 more mins before he stopped completely.

U not scared ur gal falls through btw ur bed and the cot? for us, we nv slide the barrier at all becos he is a light slper, hence pulling the barrier up will wake him.

Lilian, ya man.. my heart literally stopped!

lilian,minky and jes
don't worry lah.me will definitely share the good news with all of the mummies here IF i'm really preggy lah..
To be frank, my hubby did dropped me a very big hint the other day. he told me since my boy is not close to him, then ask me faster give him a bb girl who will be close to him. faintz..

Bear
umm.. dun tink so la cos there's no space in bet e cot and my bed.. i always pull until it touches my bed.. Somemore e wheel is not v smooth and not working very well.. i stil need to use some strength to push or pull e cot.. Unless she wakes up middle of e nite without making sounds and go to the corner of the cot and climb out then mayb will fall onto the floor haha..

bear..
i m glad that Z is ok..really has to be watchful for now..at least u hv adjust to the lowest point i guess shd be manageble for now..better go get something to place underneathe or where u will be standing in front of the cot to play safe too..

lilian..
so u better start to be the one posting in 2010 threads then u probably will see more mummies posting in there too soon.. :p

moomummy, yr hubby where got just hint u?! he was "loud & clear" wor... haha. faster lah, remember to turn left this time ok.

toking about folic acid.. for those who are TTCing now.. want to take from me anot.. i got a few satches of folic acid to give away..

nut > ai mai? i can give u la.. hahaha

bear
hope little bear is alright.. 1.4m no joke leh.. v high.. hope he recover well.. i am starting to worry for mine although it's already adjusted to the lowest liao.

Children more than 12 months old to 6 years old

<font size="-1">One single dose is needed. With the exception that children with asplenia, splenic dysfunction or who are immunocompromised should receive 2 doses of the Pneumococcal vaccine with a interval of 8 weeks between the 2 doses.</font>

Wtan, above gotten online..

lilian..
oh..why dun u call the clinic u wish to take the jab frm to find out? if dr lim is the pd, the clinic is open already..

WTan, yup yup i called Raffles liao. 2 doses needed.
Actually I was thinking whether can get t jab during my girl's follow-up checkup (previous UTI) at KKH nxt week. Well, since need 2 doses, then I better go back to Dr Lim.

lian, but polyclinic only ask me to take 1 dose leh? appt to take next week... they told me one dose is enuff but private told me 2 doses.. i blur liao..

hello mummies!

enne
hehehe...no wan la..wait i sit down oso perspiring..hehe..perhaps after my pregnancy..hehe..but thx for the umbrella offer...kekekeke...

bear
so glad to know z is okie..1.4m fall is no joke..i shudder juz thinking abt it..can't imagine if i were to b in ur shoes..will freak out. my gal fell a few times but so far, not until 1.4m...how is z doin now?

glad_gal
wahh..saw ur fb pics...happening ah the two of u..so romantic..i dun receive flowers from hub..so sad...such a nice birthday u had! ;)

ah lian
im not surprised if i were to see u in 2010 thread ah...hahahaha.....
hows LNT so far? any effect on kayla? i called them up hoping dat they have playgroups like everyday from mon-fri but they dun haf..onli sat..like the one u join right..wen the admin told me the price, i was shocked cos it's onli once a week..hehe....im trying out tumble tots trial class dis sat..my situation a bit complicated cos my gal can walk but not realli steady so they suggest i go for the gym class then halfway switch to their playgroup cos all the kids can walk/run. it's 5x a week on weekdays. easier for me to send her to school before my work starts

folic acid
alibaba
me oso haf..i so gong2, i go buy folic acid when im past the first tri...forgot liao..then now left a lot..which mummies wanna try, juz let me know...foc...hahah

shoes
jes
my bb also big-footed leh...the smallest crocs size cant fit..im goin collete this wkend to get her sum shoes since last wkend was a disaster! goin without her...haha

bear
the shoes look nice but ex ex...hehe

ah mummy2nia,
u not surprised.... but i will be shocked... haha
LNT? No, I didnt continue after the 3 trial lessons. It's really ex. Plus this few mths r busy mths.. CNY, hub gg overseas &amp; minor op etc.
Got effect anot ah? Ermm... I dunno if her right brain got bigger anot. Haha... but my mum said tat kayla can recognise flashcards better since she started the class. Dunno la, I tink it's just her normal development.
Hmm.. Actually LNT's class hor, dun have 'interactions' between the kids. It's mainly Teacher->Kids. And veri fast moving de. Tats one of the minus pts, in my opinion.

Where is tumble tots? How much $?
I am trying out trial PG at The Learning Curve tis wkend.

Liv, i m equally confused now.

lilian..
icic..then u see when u want to go to Dr Lim for the jab lo..maybe at her next 5 or 6-in-1 jab at 18mth? but i m not sure if can jab both Pneumoccocal jab &amp; this 5 or 6-in-1 jab together la..u got to dbl chk with Dr Lim..wah..u very on leh..now moving on to TLC..try &amp; share with us ah..

mummy2nia..
if u send ur girl to tumble tots is not full day one, right? only a few hrs kind, right?

wtan, haha.. Not i want to b so on leh.
kayla has no playmates mah.. no siblings (yet), no young cousins, neighbours also dun have. So i feel i need to give her more exposures outside home.
And i find her reaching milestones slower. Till today she is not speaking, mumble also little.
Sure, will come back n share my 'findings'

sounds to me tat it's quite similar as those cc centre classes, less that this person is conducting her own classes at her home for the kids. she told me she's converted a room specially for this. i'm planning to visit her home one evening

Olwen: the shoes seems nice and affordable. but the size. i don know the size of my boy feet.

Lilian: I also have 2 jabs. one 13 mths and one today.

Kiki;pls update for me when you free.
Name: Brandon Koh
Weight: 11.6kg
Height: 84cm (keep strugglin when measured)
teeths: 4 front teeths top and 4 front teeth below.

Mummy2nia: Tks for the bday wish :D Haa ok lah, I am touched he made the effort. Nowadays soo hard to spend quality time together esp both of us so busy with work, so must really make some efforts to do nice things together! Lucky we got good family support to look after Greg when we sneak some couple time tog!

Bear: Oh dear..read fr FB abt Z's fall, glad to hear he is better now. Mine also lowest rung, but sometimes he will still step on his bumper and attempt to climb out, though it shld still be too high for him!

Olwen! The polliwogs shoe look cute hee..u buying?

So is 'turn right' for girl issit??!

Moomummy, my hb also want a girl, coz my boy sticks like glue to me and prefer me to him lol.

lilian..
icic..each kid progress differently towards our expectations so it takes a little time for them to have their talents display..maybe somehow it also depends on her own self if she will enjoys such classes too..whc i believe she shd be more adaptable as compare to Mav (my elder son)..coz i remembered when Mav was younger before entering playgroup, we tried to expose him to some learning environment but he just cant stop crying in the class &amp; even aft a few attempts, same thing goes..so before we can press on further, i was preggy with Brod &amp; was having slight morn sickness hence we started staying at home till he reached the age to the playgroup and awhile later, he's fine &amp; got used to attending sch..

I am new to SMH. I read some of your posts, and I find them very interesting. I can also feel the friendship and support amongst u gals.

I'm a SAHM to 2 gals, n live in SK. I'm very sian being home, and looked to widen my social circle with mums living ard SK/Hougang etc.

I hope I am not intruding into your "tightly-knitted" circle.

Stress of being a parent - Quick Survey - help a grad student

Thank you to those who have completed my survey! I have until March 1 to get a few more responses so I can begin my research project. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Robyn Maley

hi aly nat! ur timing is v good, come join our kite flying outing. it's at sengkang/punggol. so just nice for u.

minky, glad gal, ah lian, lynn: i like shoes so much but still not sure whether to buy or not. R &amp; Ignatius have crocs already so it's for the other 2.

bear: great tt Z is ok now. yah, better lower lower lower the cot.

kkmum: i think kinderland is not bad. not sure abt the ones in serangoon but my big one attended one in watten estate years ago.

Nov 2008 mummies [number] gathering:
kite flying
Date: 28 Feb, 6 Mar, 7 Mar, 13 Mar, 14 Mar
Time: 4.30pm

1) Olwen (prefer saturdays)
2) RCB
3) Bear (Any Sats/ Suns in March for now)
4) Liv (any sunday)
5) Jinomo
6) Juzchan
7) Enne
8) Lilian?? =P (Jes said: come come come)
9) Jes
10) Moomumy(dates avail: March 13th, 14th)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Jessica, congrats

Aly Nat>> Welcome! Come in and chat with us often
Ur youngest girl is also Nov08 bb?

ah Jes, home-based PG sound interesting. Is she an ex-educator?

Kite Flying

2) RCB
4) Liv (any sunday)
5) Jinomo
6) Juzchan
7) Enne
8) Lilian (dates avail: March 6th)
9) Jes
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Minky? Kiki? ah Nut? ah Jo? JJmom? Happy? Mildy?

morning ladies!

jessica, congrats! take care and eat more.

ah lian, yes she's an ex-teacher with 18 yrs of experience, sounds good to me. she posted this in her blog which i thought quite make sense.

"I can't make promises that your child will not cry at the beginning or that your child will never catch a bug from here, but I can assure you that simply because the group is half the size of commercial based playgroups, I will be able to give your child that much more personal attention and help him work through the initial anxiety. At the same time, the small group means less carriers and hence a lower chance of catching a bug from classmates than in a larger group or school setting. Some children also find the home environment less intimidating than a school environment, making this a perfect first school experience, allowing them to build confidence and get used to the idea of school in preparation for more formal schooling later on."

Good morning mummies,
Bear,
Glad tt Z is fine now. Rub some Zambuk on the bruise but becareful tt he will rub and it gets into his eyes.

Jessica,
Congrats on your #3

Aly Nat,
Welcome to the 38 thread
We tok abt everything under the sun, not only abt kids

Jes,
The homebased playgroup sounds good. As in small focus group. Where is it located and how abt the charges?

Olwen,
I love to join the kite session but I dun have a kite, neither do I know how to fly 1.keke

snnowy, the homebased PG is at blk 960 hougang, tink it's quite near yr hse right? her charges starts from $200 per term for a 2 days (eg. tues &amp; thurs) session per week, 2 hrs for each session. 1 time off $20 registration fee &amp; $25 material fee. each term lasts for 10 wks. interested?

Thanks for the warm welcome. I was half afraid that I may be seen as an intruder.

Olwen - yes, will love to join in. let me know the finalise date. I will come unless hb needs to go back office on a weekend. Can I come w/o a kite? Juz wanna mingle n know u gals.

Lilian - sori, my younger gal borned Dec 08. I hope this is ok with you gals.

Snnowy - ya, I can see a wide variety of topics being discussed, and always informative n/or funny.

Jessica - can u provide the link/contact details to this home base PG? I'm interested. A bit kiasu hor, my gal still so young.

Jessica..
congrats..congrats to having #3!! do take gd care too..whc pri sch are u teaching? do come in often when u hv the time ba..take care..

change topic a bit...
I have a tin of unopened Nestle NAN 3 HA to be given a way. My gal drinks NAN 3 (w/o HA) but Hb bought the wrong one. by the time we realised, we have thrown away the receipt liao.
Also a tin of unopened Nestle brown rice. My gal not into fine texture food anymore.
Anyone interested, I can hand over at Compass Point.

Kite Flying

2) RCB
4) Liv (any sunday)
5) Jinomo
6) Juzchan
7) Enne
8) Lilian (dates avail: March 6th)
9) Jes
11) tri_angel (except March 13th &amp; 14th)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)