(2008/11) November 2008

haha, ah lian, we were quite scared too in the beginning but good thing it was ok leh, hehe.. in fact venice kicks us both most of the time so i guess we were both squashed to our own corners.

Trysten co-slp with us. but he slp at one corner & i am the one in the middle get squash usually.. if i go toilet or someting either hb or bb will conquer my space -_-"

happy birthday ali jr, ziyee, heidi, kiran, minky jr, nia & yu-qi! how abt BBQ? i can't remember his b'day.

bear bless! do get better.

agree w fifi & dymples, catholic schools r good.
amazing how u all planning so far ahead. i can't think further than my house move next week.

still don't know who approved me to join the facebook group. thanks anyway.

glad_gal: enjoy yourself! errr, greg's birthday over already?

good weekend to all!

Kindergarten
Yah man I heard NY damn hard to get in... even after voluntering also cannot. To be honest, I volunteered to donate money -- but was kindly snubbed and then i found out that their donations are darn scary!! Parents there donate stuff like computer labs (ie many many computers!), merry go ground for the fun fair etc!!

I picked NY cos 1) my husband and my chinese sucks 2)our nieces and nephews are in the school -- so easier for my MIL to chauffeur them arnd.

Anyhow for that same reason, I picked st james. Just found out that there is one more Kindergarden along the way to NY .. Maris Stella Kindergarden. But not sure if they have a chinese curriculum.

St James
Non catholics/christians can also attend the school. the dempsey campus is really nice!! Blustar, Haru -- yeah hope i get a spot I opted for the AM session... many months ago i was #60+ Hope i went up the rank!! hahaha .. BTW, Blustar, they didnt call me about the 3rd session leh.. when was that?

Catholic Schools
Dont worry too mych about catholic schools. Like what Fifi and dymples said, they are usually not very imposing. I was a CHIJ girl for 10 years and I am not a catholic nor christian. The school does not force us to attend catholic activities at all -- though they do start the school day with mornign prayers. I never felt compelled to adopt their religion though i admit I have a healthy interest in it. I think the more important thing is making sure we give our children a conducive environment to study at home and school.

Dymples,

wah.. you are just like Mantoubear!! Thanks for the fantastic article on MMR. I heard abouit from my friends in the healthcare industry that the MMR link to Autism is discredited but never bothered to look for it!! hahahha

This is also a useful link
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MMR_vaccine_controversy

MMR and Autism
The link between both is scientifically weak. Also, just google causes of autism and you will even find that watching TV causes autism. My SIL works with autistic children and even she said that there is still a lot of uncertainity abt what causes autism (but if you are a boy and you have a sibling who is autistic then the risk is higher)

Mothers who are thinking of deferring MMR vaccine should consider the risk and benefits. If you are willing to take the risk of your bb catching measles/mumps/rubella and subsequently death/mental retardation/sterility (generally if u get mumps aft teenage yrs for boys) etc not to mention the discomfort of bring sick or complications as a result, then by all means go ahead. As always, check with a Dr first before deciding... Also, if you are truly concerned, then ask the Dr if the vaccine is mercury free (some reports believe tt it is the mercury tt causes autism though.. i think the evidence is also weak)

BTW quick survey -- would you guys bother to vaccinate your baby against ear infections (knowing that ear infections has been scientifically linked to long term learning disability?!)

One last note -- prevenar and its' competitor synflorix is selling cheaper in Malaysia!!

Kiki:
My gal sucks index finger & middle finger! Haha. I show her to you then you would have seen a baby that sucks index finger liao.

H1N1 vaccine:
Anyone taking?

Okie. Bedtime for me. Was working night shift thru the night. Tiring but these few days of night shift shows me how much my daughter loves me. She will look for me (my bed, her mattress & study room) & when she does not see me, she will fuss. Then today when I tried to video call with her but was stopped by bad reception, she took my hubs phone and held it to her chest. After a while take out and see like expecting me to call back. Then hug again, then take out and see. When I finally manage to video call her, she sayang the phone. So touched.

helooo mummies,
thanks for e birthday wishes! brot bb to bird park yesterday and she enjoyed it. altho she cried when i fed e birds coz all e birds just came flocking to me and i think she tot they were gonna eat her mama up.hahaha!!! and we had a nice surprise when a parrot actually sang bb a birthday song during e show. very cute!

Bear,
yup, can't believe that i actually made it to bf-ed for a year already and still gg on. to think that i was wondering initially if i could even last 6 months! now it seems stopping is even harder coz bb is enjoying it and honestly it is convenient except when i wanna be out for long hours..=P

happywifey,
yup, thats why e bird theme. =)

are you still giving bb cereal once a day? bb normally eats it for breakfast but this morn she totally refused it and only wanted bread (kept pointing to it). but she still eats it happily at grandma's during e week..wondering up till how old should i continue to give her cereal?

oh ya, telling myself to get extra sippy cup to start to train her to drink her milk from a sippy instead of e bottle soon..

hi mummies.. had a long day.. sending hubby to doc and then to TTSH A&E for his bacteria infection.. now he is hospitalised.. haiz.. wat a weekend for me.. ;(

thanks haru.. i also dunno how he got bacteria infection.. his right small thigh is red and swollen.. doc say need to be warded to get treatment else might lose the thigh.. scare me sia.. so faster rush him to hospital lor..

Back from NZ...the forum down again?! Lucky in my archives..

Gee...it was such a long week for me!! Never thought will miss baby so much haha.. Though it was a break from mummy's duties, I was telling hb that next time we travel, must always bring bb along, even tho maybe more troublesome, coz he wld be sad if both of us not ard! He was literally stuck on to me at airport when I came back yesterday, like koala bear. Think really got separation anxiety!

Lynn: Yah, really missed Greg loads. Like B, he is also like sticky glue leh. Think coz he got sick when i was not ard :x

Dymples: Ha..it was a nice 'me' time i must admit! But always thinking of bb hee..

Olwen: Tks..haa yah, his 2 bday parties over liao..'settled' before my work trip to NZ. Btw, are u on FB?? Realised never see u leh..

Oh dear Liv, what happened to Ethan? Hope he gets better soon..

fifi
aiyo..yr girl sooo sweet..reali touched

haru
yr girl so funny ar..thought the birds want to eat u up...haa.. The parrots there realli well trained, so clever

glad_gal
welcome bk
thks so much for the party stuffs.
of cos Greg will miss mummy alot

jeanne
thks so much for borrow me the party stuffs too

liv
hope yr hubby get well soon..u tkc 2!

Morning mummies...

thanks glad_glad, but it's my hubby, not ethan.. ;p my hubby still in hospital, still taking antibiotics and observing...

thanks rainbowcandybaby!

happy belated birthdays to all Nov kiddos who just had their birthday parties over the wkend..

kash/dymples..
wow..so fast u both discussing abt pri sch registeration ah..thks to dymples for the useful links frm MOE..u seems to be very well-versed with the registeration thingy..

alibaba..
it's soo nice that Trysten is sleeping soo early..at least u get to catch early beauty sleep too..

liv..
i hope ur hb is ok..take gd care too..

fifi..
alyssa is soo sweet..no wonder u cant wait to rush home to see her even on night shift..brod is looking for daddy now..haha..

Just to share from what I read from The Straits Times on Sat: -

<font color="aa00aa">Barney's World of Imagination Live Musical Show/Meet &amp; Greet</font>
Recommended for: All ages
What: The Kids' favourite purple dinosaur with no eyebrows returns this Christmas season for a show.
Where: United Square Shopping Mall
When: 2 Dec to 14 Dec (Mon-Fri: 2pm &amp; 7pm) (Sats &amp; Suns: 2pm, 5pm &amp; 7pm) No shows on Tues
Cost: Free. Spend $30 in a single receipt at the mall to take a photo with Barney and friends after the show. Bring your own camera. Photos sessions limited to 50 families each show.
Info: Call 6251-5885, or go to www.unitedsquare.com.sg

Happy birthday to all the babies whom I have missed...

Just finished celebrating Evangeline's Birthday yesterday. It was tiring but enjoyable one..The cake and cupcakes were simply lovely but delicious. Not too sweet, moist and very chocolatey....I highly recommend Rai from www.cakelovecouture.com to all of you...all my guests really, all are full of praises over the cake....

Here is the cake and cupcake!
12 Inch cake weighs about 4kg cost $120

30 Cupcakes ($3 each)

3250688.jpg

3250689.jpg

Blessed Mum: Ur cake look so sweet! I like the little gal &amp; mushroom. :D

Rainbowcandy: Welcome!
Ur boy look so cute. Wana squeeze his cheeks. But scare tat he'll drool more. Heheh... Didnt bring my gal down for u to see coz she's taking her afternoon nap. Enjoy ur boy bday party. Btw u went to attend another bday party after tat, izit?

Fifi
Alyssa so sweet. She indeed missed you so much as well..

Wtan
slp 10pm is with me then will be this early.

Blessed mum
That's a really pretty cake! &amp; dedicated details..

hey bf-ing mummies,
how often are you nursing your lil one now? coz i am wondering if bb is not taking alot of solids coz i am nursing her too much,hahah..

blessed mum..
wah..ur cake looks very sweet &amp; indeed tempting..must be yummy..

alibaba..
at least it's at 10pm leh..my boys wont get to bed even close to 11pm..there's once they slept at 12am coz both refused to sleep &amp; want to play hide-and-seek on the bed..hb &amp; i was totally drained..

fifi, your girl so sweet... wish my issac will miss me.. hahaa...
blessedmum, nice cake!

ali, u eat so little today?
wtan, u n your boys sleep so late?!

minky..
ya, i will try my very best to lights-out ard 10pm or 10.30pm but if the boys are sleeping together..no matter how tired both are, they will still play hide-and-seek under the blanket before they KO..so usually we will try to let Brod sleep 1st while Mav watch TV outside till Brod KO then hb will bring Mav in to sleep leh..if not it will be even worse..

Blessedmum
Liu kou shui liao....

wtan
tat's the problem with two kids.. Trysten can KO at 10pm mus provide 9.30pm last feed in my room.. if it's mil feed bb in her room. most of the time. she on TV &amp; bb drink finish liao.. still haven slp one.. fainted.. do both of them nap in the afternoon? who is taking care for u during the day? ur mum?

minky
i'm trying to on diet. haha.. realise put on weight... but quite difficult.. becos i am damn hungry now.. haha..

Bb Janessa celebrated her birthday yesterday with her sister and 2 Godma's.

The cake was very unique as it combined 4 persons - Bb Janessa, sister Janae, then the 2 Godma's are represented by the 2x cupcakes.

Got the cake from Delectable Delites. Received lots of positive feedback from guests. The cake was moist and not too sweet. So happy.

3251536.jpg

3251537.jpg

Some pictures of the party deco...

Food was catered from Neo Garden. Lots of great feedback again. Whew! At last the party is done. Really happy that it was a success.

3251603.jpg

3251604.jpg

Blessed mum,
Nice cake! The cupcakes look really lovely too! ooohh.. I like the balloon flowers deco in the pic. Did you do it yourself?

Blessed Mum &amp; dymples
wow...the cake sooo pretty

jeanneloi
heeeheee thks
Oh too bad yr girl having a nap...can't see her.
We went to pick up party stuffs fm the other mummy then we head dwn to a birthday party...

alibabah
gal, u aredi so skinny still want to on diet ar?

minky,
did u receive the coupon? i mail out last wed.

lilian,
my boi is sick last weekend, never go to sch. I will try to get it this week k. sorry..

RE: Nov Bday Bash Cake
In order to cut cost, any mummies can lend ur your Mickey/Minnie Mouse cake topper or figurine for use in our bday cake? The cake topper/figurine will be returned to u on the day itself after the celebration.
Thanks so much!

Liv: Hahaha opps saw wrongly, must be the jet lag ;p, anyway hope ur hb is better today!

Rainbowcandy: No prob...
Excited for the party??

Blessed Mum &amp; dymples: Both the cakes look great!! Great that the parties went well :p One thing down haha

Hiaz, think my boy is becoming more n more like a brat. He kept screaming at top of his voice whenever we dont pay him attention or give him the things he want. Gosh! I hope this is a passing phase :X

hi dymples and blessedmum,
well done!! the cakes and deco looks great!!

i have posted some pix of bb's party on my FB. will be loading up more pix when i get them from my friend tom. =)

glad_gal,
guess most toddlers at this age are quite similar, also coz they can't express to us what they are feeling/want and hence get frustrated.

re: feeding
i gave bb complete "freedom" this evening for dinner. other than yogurt which she is not able to self feed, i basically let her self feed some pasta stars, bread w cheese, pumpkin and some kiwi fruit. she totally loved it, and mummy had lots to clean up afterwards. but she had a really good time, and i actually did not say "no" a single time. just praised her everytime she actually put food in her mouth. truly think she is much happier feeding herself now even if it means most food landing on her lap and the floor rather than in her mouth. =P

Liv:
Hope your hubby gets well soon.

Rainbowcandybaby, Lilian, Wtan, Alibaba, Minky:
Yah lor. I really melted. She really miss me a lot when I was not ard. Coz day shift I leave before she wake up and come back after she sleep. Then for night shift, I am not able to put her to sleep and she can't find me when she wakes up. Thank God for video calls. Glad that the week is over &amp; I am back to my normal working hours.

Haru:
I let Alyssa try to feed herself too but we help to guide her hand. Really a lot to clean up after the meal. Heehee.

blessed mum n dymples..
yr cakes loook soo nice n yummy!!! hope mine will turn out great too!!! finally i made order for my cake..

now is the candles n balloons.. haiz.. need to hunt for it this wk.. all so last min... haiz..

Haru,
that's so nice of u!! let bb self feed n make a mess.. me always restrict my son coz he really made a mess!!! throw food here n there..at least ur bb is happi self feeding.. keep up the work!!

alibaba..
wah...super envy leh, Trysten KO at 10pm ah...it's a gd practise to let him KO early..ya, understand that the TV is a great distraction..haha..maybe both of them are taken care by diff caretakers in the day so hence at night they "para-para" till late late ah..my mum looks aft Mav (#1) &amp; my MIL looks aft Brod (#2)..so in the morn we will park Brod at MIL's house before sending Mav over to my mum's place &amp; off to work..aft work pick up Mav from my mum's place then go pick up Brod from MIL's place..hope it didnt confuse u..haha..so ur MIL is looking aft Trysten ah..icic..oh pls, u r on a diet??!! u must be kidding..u r already soo slim &amp; i really cant imagine if u slim down further leh..

dymples..
wow..Janessa's cake looks sooo sweet for a little princess..the 2 princesses are mould figurines? I must say Delectable Delites did a great job!

minky..
indeed super playful &amp; naughty, now they will fight over each other snatching in toys..recently Mav just bite Brod's index finger leh, can u imagine how naughty he is?!

bibi..
sorry i hvnt been free to bring Brod over..i hope K is getting better..can we get another coupon from them? I do not mind asking for another coupon too coz i m gg to use the 1st coupon for Mav..

haru..
wah, u so fast let ur girl self-feed ah..i guess it's gd that she's enjoying it too..m sure aft a few rounds, she will get it right..cool~

fifi..
indeed video calls is a great blessings! i guess since u r the one that pat her to sleep so all the more she will miss u badly..how often do u hv to be on such night shift duty?

Gd morning

Dymples
nice combination parties for your gals! this shld save u some bucks with two kids of almost same birthdays. hehe.. i shld consider my next one to born in november as well.. lolz

haru
Saw ur pics on FB &amp; i really love ur cake! it's so beautiful!

fifi
glad that u gg back to normal hours &amp; can spend more time with ur gal!

rainbowcandybaby/wtan
i am putting on weight recently.. shorts &amp; skirts are getting tight! wear dress got tummy showing v ugly.. lolz.. so MUST control abit lah..

joyce
want car for the cake? i can provide mine. hehe..

wtan
oh.. ya definately not easy to take care of two active kids.. So u put one to your mum &amp; one to ur mil. i heard from my mil said tat one of them was sick &amp; hospitalised recently.. ok now? my mil prefer to work so i got a maid to take care of Trysten, but up to date. she still have not got a suitable job.

alibaba..
cld it be just water retention? i doubt u will be like me, breathe air also will gain weight one..hahaha..

aa...sorry for the long posting ah..i thot better to let u hv a clearer view also..

ya, my elder one was hospitalised last mth due to Bronchitis (he was panting badly even with the neb also doesnt work well for him), so admited coz nurses said his oxygen level was not good &amp; wanted him to breathe with the aid of the oxygen as well as let him be on ventolin puff using the arrow chamber on a hrly basis..till he got better then they stretched the hrs in using the puff till he got better &amp; discharge..

it was a nightmare coz that time #2 was also sick then i was at home taking care of him while my hb &amp; mum bot him to see the GP near her house but that GP also useless one..only ask us to monitor leh..then i quickly ask hb bring him to PD at my side so even aft PD gave him neb also not gd then she asked us go to KKH immediately lo..

ya i heard before during Judy's 1st son time that ur MIL prefer to work..but i guess since now she hv not found a job then it's ok to help out looking aft Trysten esp since u hv a maid also..but so far so gd, right? :p

Blessed mum,
Wow! Your friend really creative leh. The flowers add a nice decorative touch.

rainbowcandy, glad gal, haru, gal dolphin, wtan, alibaba,
Thks for all the compliments.

Haru,
Can't wait to see pics of your cake. Keep hearing so much rave reviews.

wtan,
The princess figurines are actually plastic cake toppers. Thinking of selling them off...

alibaba,
hahahha... yup yup.. can save $$ with combined birthday celebrations.

Aiyohz.. me too. Skinny... but everytime wear dress sure can see my tummy sticking out. So ugly. Then also cannot those tight t-shirts anymore else can see the middle bulge. aarrgghh.... need to do lots of sit-ups.