(2008/11) November 2008

happy,

my boy had his 2 flu jabs when he was 6th and 7th mth liao.... coz his jie jie attends CC.... if ur bb doesn't mix with a lot of young children, u can decide whether or not to give him the jab.

dymples,

i c... any idea how long is the movie?

Re: Catholic Schools
I've studied in Catholic schools almost all my education years (i.e. Primary all the way thru JC). I am also a Catholic. As what Dymples, Catholics usually do not practice "brainwashing". The mission for most of the Catholic schools in Singapore is to provide education and not spread the religion. For instance, CHIJ was founded by IJ nuns to provide education for the poor and the orphans who cannot afford to study otherwise. All races and religions. Yes there are masses during special occasions but as Dymples mentioned, non-Catholics do not have to actively participate. They are just expected to respect by keeping quiet. Cathecism classes are also compulsory only for Catholics. The rest will have civics and moral ed classes seperately if the classes are held during school hours. So no worries.

Okie... checking out. Shack from my shift duty. Gonna K.O. already.

Good morning all mummies!
Haven't been able to log in since last week coz busy wif my boy's bday celebration..not much photos taken coz my boy was unusually cranky on the day of his bday celebration..

and since after his bday celebration, he kept waking up every 2 hour or so in the middle of the night and cries. and to make matters worse, i caught the flu bug..falling sick is not the torturing part, but to wake up in the middle of the night and taking care of my boy is the worse!
Haiz, hope my boy will get over this phase as soon as possible..
Now I'm looking forward to our Nov bbs bday bash next month. hehehe..

Good morning ladies...!!
Yeah! TGIF!! Can't wait to start my week long leave next monday!

Kash,
Tink the movie would be the usual length... about 1.5hours to 2-hrs.

Happywifey,
No worries. Glad you find the info useful. As for the Berriwerks event, it is fun! Cos no need to be afraid of baby making noise as everyone else's babes will be doing likewise too. hahahah... plus my gals love the goody bags!

Re: Catholic Schools
Just to further clarify, I tink some mommies are scared of mission schools due to bad experience from those people you meet at MRT stations or bus interchange 'forcing' you to go their church, etc.

In which case, I would like to clarify that those people do not belong to the catholic faith. Like buddhism, there are many denominations of Christians - methodist, anglicans, baptist, protestants, catholics, etc. The ones you meet at MRT stations are usually the Protestants. They are usually over zealous for their religion and come across as being 'agressive'. The catholics on the other hand are different. We certainly do not believe in brain-washing or forcing people to join our faith. We believe in free will, and everyone is thus free to choose. We do not discriminate and segregate the different religious beliefs but are instead taught to respect each other. Like what Fifi has also highlighted, the mission schools are there to provide an education for everyone regardless of their religious beliefs. The only difference between a mission school and government school is that we do have prayers before school starts or before/after meals and sometime masses on special occassions in the church calendar.

That's all I wanna clarify... cos over the years, I've come across many instances where once people know I'm catholics they'll back off and avoid me, thinking I'm going to 'brain-wash' them. Then I'll have to explain to them lor. heheheheh... no offence to anyone here yah.

moomummy,
Oh dear... maybe he was over stimulated at the party so keep waking? You also poor thing, kena flu bug. Really not easy yah... already not feeling well, still gotta wake and attend to baby. Hope you get well fast and baby can sleep through the night again.

Lynn
nope.. so far i only given her those required Hep jabs and Rotavirus. Pneumococal not yet.. plan to giv aft her 1 yr cos only need 2 jabs instead of 3..

moomummy
i find your b v similar to mine.. A lot of awakenings at night. After a short period of improvement, she's back to e old habit again.. Last nite:
Slept at 10pm..
1am - whine.. dropped her tutu.. i stuck it back
1.30am - whine again.. cos tutu drop again. I bochap her.. whining stopped aft a short while
4am - whine again.. gave her e tutu
4.30am - whine again.. bochap her and she stopped
5am - whine a little bit
5.30 - CRY.. make milk for her
6+ - whine cos tutu dropped.. bochap her
7.30 - woke up
But in between 6+ - 7.30 she kept whine a bit here and ther..
I almost lose my temper..

I think our bbs have been too overactive and stimulated.. that causes their frequent awakenings

poor nut... u mus be super tired...

Trysten also still wake up at night. I already felt v tired... i duno how u survive with it ev day like tat?

Last night:
slp 10pm
1am wake up play
concuss himself...duno wat time.. the mummy too tired to entertain him..
4+am whine & concuss.. & wake up
finally 5am i woke up & make milk for him
go back to slp til 7+am i go work he still slping...

Ev day broken slp..i aready very tired... either he kanna disturb by my sudden cough he woke up.. or he waking up at that time..1+am..4+ 5+am milk.. fainted... salute you siaz..

for the longest time i was thinking.... if there's a type of tutu tat can be stucked in bb's mouth w/o the easy drop off, how nice....

peanut,
yah! our bbs are indeed very similar. my boy oso will whine when his tutu dropped then after some patting, he'll go back to sleep. then after an hour, he starts whining again.wah lao..i was so dizzy and tired last nite that i could not sit up or carry my boy when he cried. then this morning,he woke up at 6:45am and started to cry when both me and my husband din respond to his whining..
do you play with ur nini alot in the evenings? coz alot of old folks say that if u play with a bb alot near their bedtime, they'll still be very active during their sleep.. I dun really play wif my boy alot leh but will let him sit in his walker or i'll read story books to him..

Dymples,
thanks for your get well wishes.yah,really very 'xin ku' when we have the flu bug and still have to wake up in the middle of the nite to attend to our bbs..
I still have to work today leh coz got urgent things to clear at work. now i feel like a walking zombie..maybe i'll request to go home after lunch later..see how bah..

re: pacifier

at this age, they shd be able to find their pacifier and pop it back to their mouths by themselves leh... i have observed my boy before, he does that if he happens to be "awaken" by something..he will juz feel for it, put it back in his mouth and go back to sleep. Last time for my gal, I actually placed 2 pacifiers on her bed so that she can find them easily and does not disturb me!

my boy doesn't like tutu leh, this lazy mummy never train him... he likes to suck his thumb.. left thumb somemore... like what ahlian said if he wakes up at night he will just conveniently suck suck suck and self-soothe himself to sleep.... bad habit.. haii....

take care moomummy and all those who are sick.. including me too.. sick since last sun but cant really rest n also dun dare to take med coz i scare i concuss then bb how... faint..
now my nose still stuck and my hub got the flu virus and i got to take care of 1 big 1 small bb.. ;(

moomummy
u better try to go home early to rest... Else it's hard to recover with not enough rest..

kiki
old folks say bb suck thumb v sayang their mummy one. haa.. i did not train bb with tutu or anytin.. but he love to put his fingers into his mouth... gum itchy?

my ethan gave up his tutu few mths ago on his own.. thank god sia.. and since very young, i forbid him to suck his thumb.. i will pull his thumb out everytime he put in.. so now at night, he will whine also dunno for wat? haha and every night he will cry at least once.. the cry is really crying n screaming out kind.. also dunno why sia.. ;(

suck thumb
i got a friend who sucked her thumb alot when she's a baby, now she's got an usually short & fat thumb! so better dun let yr bbs suck thumb too much, hehe

ali
really? the version I heard is
suck thumb -> sayang daddy
suck index finger -> sayang mummy
But I've never seen any baby sucks index finger leh..

liv
you so lucky! I know it's easier to wean off pacifier than thumb sucking. We tried to retrain him to take on pacifier and pull him thumb out etc.. he will juz scream and cry.. haii...

mummies with baby waking up @ night
just to check, what/when did u feed him/her before bedtime?

kiki.. i think need to start young leh for the thumb sucking coz they dunno how to protest when they are still a small baby haha now they got temper already lor ;p

mummies with baby waking up @ night: I usually fed him at 8pm coz he will have his porridge at 530pm.. then ard 4am he will wake up for his milk.. sometimes if i go to bed late like 12am, i will dream feed him milk then he will wake up ard 6 or 7am for milk haha

kiki
nice shoe..But the gals one are cuter. haa..it's kinda exp hor.. izzit gd brand for walking toddler?
Trysten like to put his index finger into his mouth.. kiak kiak..

last feed
9.30pm & slp 10pm

kiki,

like that headache hor...when a bb my boy also loves to suck his thumb and rejects pacifier. i was sooooo worried as thumb sucking is very hard to wean off..u see kids at 4 or 5 yo still sucking their thumbs leh! and my CL told me she witness some kids suck their thumbs until rot leh...dunno how true! I kept pulling out his thumb that time loh whenever i see he puts it in his mouth. I give my boy pacifier when he zzzz... so i hope he is easy to wean off. Coz during my gal's time, i gave her even in the car or whenever she makes noice to shut her up. And to my surprise, i decided to wean her off one nite without giving her the pacifier.... she didn't fuss and fell asleep... next nite the same thing and we nvr look back since. Was actually worried when my boy was born that when she saw her didi sucking pacifier, she will crave for it...surprisingly no also... guess I was lucky

alibaba

its like that one.... from head to toe hor....mostly all girls stuff are much much nicer and have more variety! hahahaha...but good lah... can save more money if u have a boy

kash, me like u lor also very worried when i see ethan suck thumb coz i saw my sil's kids all suck thumb at age of 3 n 4.. i almost faint when my fil said it's ok to suck thumb coz it makes the bb feel secure.. but i insisted to take his thumb out when he sucks.. so they also no choice.. ;p

Kiki,

Feeding before bedtime:
6-7pm brown rice porridge
7-8pm latch on (he just suckle for 5-10mins)
9-10pm 150ml formula milk plus latch on

If our family went out for dinner, he will eat baby biscuit and thus the last night feed will reduced to 120ml of formula milk.

Hello gd morning!

So many sick mummies here ah! I was down with a bad cold. Kinda sad cos i decided to take a few days off to enjoy my ML but ended up sick. COuldn't bring Z swimming or to Polliwogs.
Same as u mummies, i passed my cold to hb. haha.. But luckily Z is fine.. cos BM has the antibodies to prevent him from falling sick.

Re: poor slp
Poor things u gals. Hang in there. Prob cos now our kiddos are trying to learn how to walk and to talk!

Why don't u guys wean off pacifier now? let them go cold turkey a few nights? in that way ur kiddo won't wake up to look for it in the long run and u have a better night's rest. Think long term.. hehe. Z doesn't suck his thumb or pacifier.. think cos i swaddle him all the way till he was 14 wks!

Duckie, i feed Z 160ml of EBM at 8pm. he has his dinner (porridge) at 6pm.

Happy Birthday Heidi and Kieran! Haru and Blustar, u guys bf-ed for a year liao! well done!

Mosh u looking for me? Usually for allergy rash we use corticosteriods.

Kash
envy.. my gal not so smart enuf to look for her tutu yet.. i'll tell her to do that tonite.. kakaka...

Kiki
her last feed 9.30pm.. and somemore hav to find her distractions to make her finsh e milk.. so its definitely not due to hunger.. when she really CRY at 5+ then i know she hungry.

Liv, Suck thumb/tutu,
*hi-5* All my 3 gals also same as your ethan. Ownself dun want to suck the tutu. For first few months will suck. But after that they will spit it out... dun want it liaoz. My first 2 also dun like to suck their tumbs. But #3 dunno why recently suddenly sucking her thumb. hahhahah... dunno is it cos she teething or needs comfort or wat.

liv, wat u mean by "dream feed"?? u dream or yr boy dream? haha

ali, my gal oso sucking her index finger lately from the side of the mouth, think could be gum itchy. maybe molar tooth erupting?!?!

ya actually I read that we can slowly wean them off from pacifier, now is considered quite late already.. but my boy suck thumb how to wean off ah? chop it off ah? -_- haiiiiiii..

Liv,
hahah... yah.. better to waste the tutu. But hor... I kept a few tutu from my older gals cos of sentimental reasons. Next time when they grow up and get married, each of them will have a box of momentos which I kept from birth. To date the box got their 1st tutu, 1st shoes, a small newborn diaper, etc. hahahaha... my hub says I'm overly sentimental liaoz. wwwaaaahahahahah...

Kiki,
Dun need to chop off. To wean them off their thumbs, rub their thumbs with something sour. I got friends who rub those green lime. Then when baby suck the thumb is sour sour. hahahahah....

dymples
haha, thanks. Some people actually suggested ru yi oil or some spicy powder from medical hall... haha.. maybe will really try it out if we are desperate.. hee hee

Kiki
Sleep-Better-Drink = Martell VSOP Milk Shake

hahaha...
Ya, I should start weaning my girl off tutu.. But I still want my undisrupted sleep leh..

Kiki,
Better dun put ru yi oil cos it's not edible. Scared will cos more harm instead. Stick to those edible stuffs that will leave a 'bad' taste in baby's mouth. *good luck*

Liv,
oh dear, u r sick as well yah? take care and get well soon!

kiki,
my boy sometimes suck on thumb and sometime on index finger leh..means he sayang both dad and mum yah?hehehe..
my boy's last feed is usually 9pm or 9:30pm. he'll sleep at abt 10pm or latest 10:30pm.

liv, haha, i really thought you feed bb in your dreams

lilian, i osos wan my undisrupted slp so i won't be forceful to weane bb off tutu - let nature takes its course. keke

anyway lately bb has been co-slping with us back at home and seems better sleep for her, maybe cos got 2 big blocks left and right, feel more secured. haha

ah Jes, I dun co-slp with Kayla at night, cos we scared we squash her.
For tutu hor, we will remove her tutu when she is 10min into her sleep. If she wake up middle of night, we will then pop it back.
However, she's more addicted to her pillow than the tutu!