(2008/11) November 2008

dymples
yah.. my gal actually loves any advert with attracting music.. tt time that stupid advert about this small gal who majiam like siao lang then turn out she go thru e acting audition due to her imaginative nature.. wah my gal always keep quiet and watch this one.

nuts, that one is a very good advertisement! I like.
Recently there is one more good one, on Organ Transplant Act.

oh ok, now i know the difference liao! Gosh*

Thanks Kash for the advice! In that case, I will just go for the classes if possible. When children get sick, it is sooo terrible and a lot of heartache.

Kash,
Preparatory P1 classes (aka K2) is very very important! Becos in P1, the teachers dun bother to teach things like alphabets and simple maths. In fact, the child is already required to be able to read a simple book and understand the basics of all English, Maths and Chinese.

English - be able to write compositions, have good vocabulary and know simple grammar rules and structure. Exams will comprise of oral, listening compre, vocab, comprehension and grammar. Normal spelling consists of long words like hippopotamus, branches, blocks, etc. No more cat, dog, apple, orange.

Maths - they should be able to solve simple maths addition and subtraction cos by 3rd sememster they will do additional and subtraction for bigger numbers up to 50. Then still got multiplication, division, time and money wor.

Chinese, they must know and understand diff between chinese characters and hanyu pinyin.

So if your child is not sufficiently prepared he/she will fall way behind his/her peers. Then end of P1, there is further re-classifications where top tier students are grouped in to the top class, middle tier group together and poor grade students lumped together. Haiz... so stressful...

iluvbli,
When you select classes, make sure the center is reputable, syllabus should follow MOE's standards and they should have equal mix of theory work,outdoor playtime as well as excursions to zoo, bird park, etc.

Like my #2 who is in K1 at Appletree, they are already coaching her simple addition & subtraction, more then and less then, English is on Phonics, reading and spelling. Chinese is focusing both on hanyu pinyin and chinese characters. Plus she also has computer classes.

indeed quite confusing... but getting clearer and clearer pic after clarification from experienced mums Dymples and Kash, haha

i was actually thinking of putting my gal in CC starting 18mths or so, mainly to let her play, interact and getting her used to school days. i though of playground but if the centre no more playground then not much option liao. hmmmm

Hi Kiki/ kash

thks for the Birthday wish!! I have been a silent reader all the while..

Celebrated Jaden BD last sun... Enjoyable but tiring.

Me too registered Jaden in the CC liao.. shld b starting next yr May or Jun when he is 18mths..

Bibi
Sorrie, forgot to reply u on MyGym free play.
I scared they psycho me in signing up their package lay which i have no intention.. hehe

Have been trying to sleep the whole day. Totally shack from work yesterday and will be heading off for my night shift today soon.

Is it really necessary to enrol in playschool and pre-nursery? I was thinking of enrolling only for nursery. Too late mah?

dymples,

*slap forehead*...P1 is indeed soooooooooooo scary! aiyoh! I think u can't blame KS parents leh...coz the MOE syllabus are sooooooooooo ridiculous! Where is playtime???? my goodness... WHen i read u wrote "composition"???? what at P1??? my goodness! it is really tough to be a kid going through local education. Hope it will not get worse by the time my #1 enters P1..... scary... no wonder there will be teenagers and kids suffering from depression.... it is sooooo stressful!

oh yes, someone told me that SIngapore's teenage/kids suicide rate is actually 1 of the highest in the world. But it is never ever reported here. The person who told me said he read a report when he was in the UK.... hiaz....

Jes, Fifi,
It's not necessary to enrol for playgroup or pre-nursery as during this time, baby goes in merely for interacton and play-play purpose. A lil bit of singing and simple alphabets and numbers. But once they hit Nursery, becomes more of a must liaoz.

However, do note that becos most parents put their children into childcare (CC) or preschools right from the start at playgroup level (18-mths old), by the time it's Nursery, most childcares have reached their maximum child-teacher ratio (aka quota) and therefore are unlikely to take in new students unless they have vacancy due to student 'drop-outs'.

Greetings from New Zealand!
Very cool weather shiok!
On an official work trip for 1 week..but missing my baby soo much hiaz....hope can quickly go back Spore man.

Woah..so much talk abt CC, nursery..hiaz hvnt given much thought to it!

OH MY GOSH!! Now the kiasu mom in me is panicking... i registered my baby for prenursery when she was 3M old. But have not registered for playgroup yet! I think Ok lah .... i everyday play with her at home counted or not?!

Blustar:
That's great to know tt La villa is nice.. The only prob abt the place is not enough high chairs. So i am lugging 2 of my ikea chairs there. It's even better now.. they just put in a playground!! I was soooo happy when i went there for brunch last week!! hahaha macham like my own birthday party. Aye, this means if Kaitlyn gets accepted at St James, she will be classmates with ur son!! heehee I can't believe that at 1M there was already a waiting list though!

Haru: yeah damn fun.. I am printing out all the invites, ordering favors (meringues), cakes etc. BTW, if anyone needs decorations: check out this webshop
http://www.etsy.com/shop/happypapers?ga_search_query=happypapers&ga_search_type=seller_usernames

I bought some stuff from them.. if any Nov mommy is using a rubber ducky or cupcake theme, let me know and I can send you some templates. I made the hats so far.. super easy!!!

JJMOM: Thanks for the tip! I ordered from PG already!! You saved me at least $100!!! Coffee on me the next time we meet ok?! heehee

Kash: Thanks for your well wishes =) Nanyang Kindergarden is the one near bukit timah -- which everyone thinks is affiliated to Nanyang Primary but is actually not. Super competitive to get in.. at least 200 babies before kaitlyn. There is also a waiting list to be a volunteer *roll eyes* I give up. I hope can get into St james... i think the school fees there more reasonable than NY and more importantly my girl can hang out with blustar's handshume son!! hahahha

Mantoubear,
Long time no see too. I miss your nuggets of wisdom. It's nice to have someone do the research and I just pop in and read the summary!! kekeke... I just downloaded the demos report too. I think i will prob finish it before Kaitlyn turns 23. Any problem i just call you to ask ok?! haha.. you know, I was like you when I was younger. I had to save money to buy stuff that I want. So now that I earn my own $ i spend like mad, esp on baby. I partially think it's to minimise the guilt of me travelling rather often. So reading your affluence breeds impatience really worries me =(

Hey Mommies,
wanna check with you guys for your opinion.
I read that babies will have ear infections which causes a lot of pain n suffering for them.. and potentially long term learning disability issues. So, if there is a new vaccine to prevent ear infections, will you be willing to give it to your baby?

lilian,
is up to you. i will give the coupon to minky first. will try to get 1 more for you on sunday. if i can get 1 more coupon, maybe u can arrange with minky to go together lor.. is ok if u don't wanna sign. must jian chi. i sign up cos kayan enjoy their activities. now after 1 mth plus, he will crawl to the entrance by himself liao... cos he like tat games there.

Haru, yeah K is also like that! when i take away something from him he gets soo angry! ( think he got that from daddy) hahaha.... but i'm trying to be firm! can't be giving in to his every whim!

Re: sjck...
Haru, yup got the 2nd session for nursery but pre-nursery was already full when i registered, but they emailed me abt 2 mths back to ask if i'm keen on 3rd session for pre-nursery i just said ok first... but i guess if the timing is not suitable ( clash with nap time).. i also may have to look for alternatives for pre nursery!
Actually JG has this pre nursery program fully in mandarin that sounds pretty good to me too! Which session are you for nursery
Hope 2nd session?? Then we can get to see your princess H more often!

Pam, it would be great if your Kaitlyn & K could be classmates
how fun! which session are you waitlisted for? heard the 1st session is the most popular! Prob stand good chance cos heard alot of ppl register but change their minds later! Love the etsy link you put up! gonna bookmark it for furture reference. I "stole" a smilebox visual for my invite! They have loads of pretty backgrounds too!

Fifi, actually playgrp, pre nursery not a MUST...kids can learn alot at home too! for me it's more like finding activities for my boy cos he gets very bored and restless at home.. so i find ways i can to bring him out to "entertain" him.. and entertain myself at the same time!

wow... got a lot to learn.. now everyone thinking abt education alr.. *stress*.. the pre-nursery, so early must do booking? so long the waiting list.!! Gosh.. my cousin's child go to montessori.. what that? and is that good? where to find these pre-nursery thing? and CDA can use? sorry got a lot of question to ask.. i think i better get ready for Brandon.. hehe.. me typical kiasu singaporean mom..

soho: so far.. i haven brought bb to any attraction in singapore yet.. but we booked a resort at Sentosa this dec staying 3D2N.. hope he enjoy. his first trip to Sentosa..

glad_glad: so nice... New Zealand.. surely will miss Greg.. but do enjoy it.. cause finally u get a day off! I wish I have a DAY OFF too! Brandon so stickyglue.. don reali wan the new maid.. faintz..

hi pam and blustar,
looks like we could be seeing each other alot in the near future! yup, bb H is enrolled in SJCK nursery for 2nd session (wait list for 1st session) coz that was all that was available!

Pam,
we have same taste!! i also ordered some stuff from etsy.com for my favour tags. =D i am in love with the stuff on that site. sucker for lovely papers and crafts. i even created the invite for bb's party. thats why i ended up doing my own birthday banner, favour tags, invites, decor, etc...things we would for our kid. hahah..

did you order a duckie cake from pattisier?? coz i called them to order a cake for company this aftn and they said they have a cake with a duckie for this weekend. =D

fifi,
me also only enrolled for nursery so far. am thinking if i dun enroll her in pre-nursery will prob just try to bring her to playgroups, etc.. for me its more of the social aspect so that she can learn to interact with other children. =)

blustar,
wow, the lesson is completely in mandarin?? think i will be struggling myself coz my mandarin sucks!! hahaha..but i guess all the more i should consider that eh? =P

<font color="aa00aa">Happy 1st birthday to Jaden, Trysten and Ziyee</font>

jeanne
glad that yr girl getting better

Pam,blustar,haru
wow...u gals really fast men...enrolled nurserys n kidergarden liao...I must quickly find the Playgroup first then we got intention to put him to those church sch(although we r nt christian) for his pre-nusery to kindergarden near our hse.
Yes, playgroup is actually nt onli play..they also learn alot of things..i even heard that they even got homework le.

Looks like all mummies...starting new topic on schools for our children

kash
ya lo..nwdays the kids really stressful in school...poor thing. somemore getting more difficult le..

haru
i saw the lovely birthday cake in yr FB...that yr friend or relative posted. So special le...nice cake.n nice birthday banner too

gd job mummy

bear
u want to buy the table n chairs for Z ar...
Y dun u ask yr friend or relative buy for Z's birthday present la...

lynn
yr boy cry until vomit ar...like this not gd...aiyo poor boy..la...he also want alot
attention by u lo...

glad_gal
wahhhhh..shiok siah...at New Zealand...
Will see yr bb soon when u r bk....
I can meet u on sunday to pick the party stuffs rite? timing prob in the afternoon. will sms/email u.

Keen on setting up a Home-based business opportunity (not MLM)

Ruben &amp; Shire is a premier lifestyle healthy dried fruits &amp; nuts provider. The company is looking for resellers to expand its network. Very low start up cost but profitable margins.

Very suitable for mommies looking to supplement their income.

Please note that this is NOT an MLM biz.

Please PM me if keen

haru, pam, blustar, rainbowcandy,
was actually thinking abt st james too, but we are not christians.. does it matter? will the syllabus include bible reading singing hymns etc?

pam,
I also ordered some stuff from etsy too! tho not from that site u posted. its so addictive!!

haru,
quick quick post some pix! so many lovely comments on your cake etc, dying to see!!

Thanks for your concern, my #1's ears wound are recovering well.

Bear,
Actually that was my point of bring her to goldsmith to pierce her ears. i even bought a pair of pure gold earring at $61. But the ladies said can only used those sterilised type to pierce and told me to change it for her after 2 months. Who knows it become like that.

Dymples,
Your #1 &amp; #2 never had their ears pierced? I thought the younger you do it, the recovering will be faster?

Kash,
Actually I thought of piercing her ears when she was 1 yr old bit ppl are telling me it too young. That why I waited till she is 2yo. Why not piercing at goldsmith? I checked with clinic, some only pierce when kids are 4 yo while other do it individual ears.
My niece loves earring but she is too scared to go for ears piercing at 4 yo. Till now 7 yo, she is still scare. What she do now is to peel a sticker and stick to her ears, pretending it the earring but it just dropped off after she bathe.
I dun want mine to understand "pain" too much tt why bring her for it. And I requested the ladies to do it 2 at the same time so that she will not be frightened off by 1 and refused to pierce the other(That was what happened to my sis).

End up I paid $15 for ear piercing, $61 for a pair of gold earrings, $23 for doc on Sunday and finally $58 to another doc to remove it in the end.

My hubby was
3228420.gif
me tt pay pay to let her suffer and said no ear piercing for #2 till older liao.

*Kash, you can send pte message on fb. Go to the top, you'll see Home, Profile, Friends, Inbox. Click on inbox >> create new message.

Pamela,
You are still in time to order a cake from PG. They only need 4 days notice prior to your event. In fact they told me to go back 1 week b4 my event to order.

happywifey,
nope, it does not matter that you are not christian. the church kindy is open to all children. =)

happywifey,
guess the more important problem now is whether you can get a slot or not ;) Guess we are all more 'rugi' cos our little ones were born almost the end of the year.

Heard that St James will be opening a new branch in Dover area.. not very sure..

But it's way too far for me... cannot make it..

Good Morning !
snnowy, in my opinion, there is no hurry to go pierce ear holes.
I had mine pierced when i was in Sec sch. I will probably do the same for my girl. By Sec sch age, they can better handle pain, and also take care of the wound themselves. She will also have the choice of 'opt-out' if she is afraid of pain. hee...

Snnowy,
Only my #1 got her ears pierced last Christmas, that means at 6-yrs. I find how fast the wound heals depends on the individual's personal body genes as well as must have good after care. Apply alcohol religiously and keep turning the earring to prevent it being stucked.

Of cos she afraid of the pain lah. But she the'hiao-hiao' type... so will opt to tahan the pain and go ahead with the piercing. At first my #2 also wanna pierce her ears. But after #1 pierced and she saw it's so painful, she backed out straightaway. Till now refuse to pierce, so I'm not forcing her. Eventually she'll want to get it done... and I'll do it when she's more prepared.

Oh yes... I got the piercing done at BeDazzle. They got branches at West Mall and Wisma Atria. After the piercing they will provide the alcohol to clean the ears daily to prevent infections.

glad_gal,
Wow! Enjoy your working trip in NZ. Take the opportunity to enjoy some "ME" time without baby and to re-charge your mommy batteries.

Soho,
To date I've not brought baby J to Zoo yet. Planning to do so next week when I'm on leave. heheheheh...

Pamela,
Thks for th Etsy Link. Sssooo interesting and looks like fun! Wish I knew about it earlier. *sob-sob* Now cannot use else will clash with the party theme. heeeheh.... will keep it for future use.

<font color="ff0066"> Happy Birthday</font> to the following 'Toddlers' today!

Baby Issac (minkybear)
Baby Nia Olivia (mummy2nia)
Baby Keiran (karen choomama)
Baby Yu-Qi (joyce_7580)

Ear piercing..
Sometimes i see indians pierced their little baby gal's ears i see liao v scared.. wat if itchy itchy they go pull the earrings then the earlope gena slit!! *v imaginative*

ANyway for me i also dun find a hurry let my gal pierce.. she no wan also nvm.. better let her grow up liao sensible liao can withstand pain then let them go pierce themselves. For me i also can't put on custome earrings my ear wil rot with pus.. hav to die die put gold/white gold earrings.

lynn: Wow sentosa, nice good start to prep little one to 'travel'..

Dymples: Ya...me also thinking of bringing as also quite near my place...but dunno toddler will scared seeing animals or not..LOL giraffe and monkeys...Share your experiences after u visit! Should be fun I hadn't been to zoo for more than 20 yrs..

Peanut,
I scared to let my gals pierce cos last time my ears also pierced when I was berry young, about 3-yrs. Then at night dunno how I sleep, the earring got caught on the pillow case, end up I tear the ear. So now my right side the ear hole is like a long slit. *sob-sob* Cannot wear those nice dangling earrings or hoop earrings cos buay balanced with the other side.

Soho,
Tink should be ok bah... juz dun bring too close lor. hahahaha... will update you after my trip to the Zoo. *winkz*

Lilian,
Actually not painful cos I was sleeping and din even know... only woke up cos I felt how come my pillow wet. Then open my eyes to see the pillow case all blood, then I start to scream..!!

Peanut,
Yah lor... tat's my worst fears. So was the main reason why I dun let my gals pierce ears too early. But once they older and understand should be ok.

soho:
I brought my boy to zoo last month. He quite enjoyed it and quite 'stunned' seeing all animals there.

But hor, Mr Giraffe not at home leh... think they are renovating their house..

Go on a good weather day, it can get quite hot.

They provide stroller (Maclaren Techno XT) and wagon rental service. It might be a good idea to rent a wagon and put everything inside (including baby) ;)

peanut and Dymples: yes, i agreed.. i pierce my ears when i am in sec 1.. i willingly to take the pain and effort to clean the ears cause is ME who want to be mei mei.. haha..

Birthday Bash: the starting time is 1pm to 5pm.. just checking, is there any like soft food for our bbs? cause if not, i am cooking porridge over and feed him there.. and we all must arrived on time? sorry.. cause my son nap time is from 11am to 1pm.. if he didn sleep enough.. he super cranky.. n u ladies can hear him goes..."hmmmm....."

kiki: wow.. sounds like fun.. also want to bring him go see animals.. he likes birds more actually.. wana to bring go see the bird park..

pillow: mummies, u all have started letting bb sleep on pillow alr? i cant find those reali flat pillow for bb.. i want those big size like us.. bigger surface area.. but most of them are those fluffy ones.. he turns keep sliding down.. any suggestions where i can get the flat pillow?

Birthday Bash: Any kind aunty here wanna cook one big pot of porridge so that all t kids can share share? hahaha... Good idea isn't it?

Snnowy,

I recalled getting ears pierced at this place called "ISabella" or something is not as painful. The reason is because the earrings they used for ear piercing is much finer than those used by goldsmith. For me, same as some of the mummies here, I think i will leave it till my gal is much older before bringing her to pierce her ear. Think perhaps when she is abt 7 or 8 YO and when she asks for it. I will not bring her to goldsmith...will try out that "Isabella" outlet if it is still available by then
Hope your gal's wound is better now?

hi Pam,

thanks for sharing the info abt nanyang kindy... is Nanyang primary school a good school too? heehee... i have no idea what are the "good" primary schools at all..... I juz hope in the future, i can send my kids to the same school that is pretty near where I am staying. My hb hopes to send my gal to my old primary school as it is very near my place. But hor.... my boy will not be able to get in the subsequent year as I went to a girls' primary school...very sad ... I hope i don't have to worry about a place in a decent primary school for my kids in the future. Ironically, the school near my place is Tao Nan... hiaz... there is also CHIJ and St Pats nearby but given an option, I prefer not to send my children to christian schools as I do not want them to be "brainwash" or exposed to "religious" practice at a young age. Prefer that they grow up and is mature enuff to make a clear decision if they prefer to have a religion or not and what religion will that be.

Thanks mummies for the well wishes.

We last min decided to hold a mini bday celebration for Trysten on his actual bday.. invited about 15 paxs.but ordered an oversize Cake>> a 2.5kg PG durian cake..&amp; a mickey mouse jelly.. which forgotten to bring out during the cake cutting... lolz.. plus mummy's Home cooked food for guest...some deco from middle road... Am now sooo exhausted...

happy bday dear Trysten..!
Mummy's home cooked food = ur home cooked food? or ur mummy's.. wakakaka... sorry la.. cos u dun seem to b someone who cooks... tsk tsk tsk...
Anyway saw my phone msg yest bo?

TQ aunty nut.

yah..u are right.. i dont cook one. hahaha... it's my mummy's home cooked food..

yah, saw ur sms...past few days was too busy... replying to you now