(2008/11) November 2008

Kash,
I dunno exactly how many hours, but my #2 will usually nap from 4pm to about 5.30pm sometimes 6pm. But she's getting naughty lor. Nowadays only want to watch TV, dun want to nap. In this case I also won't force her, but I'll make her bathe earlier at 8.00pm and make her go bed by 9.00pm.

Kash,
Wah, didn't know that Kinderland is so full! I just went to enquire at Kinderland in Wdl the other day, but tot still long way can register later. Now i kan cheong already.

Dymples,
Haha, if my wdl one is full, den i have to go for the cck one, maybe can see u there.

iluvbli55,

i dunno abt other outlets...i only experienced with the 2 outlets in the east areas loh....but i guess no harm enquiring early juz in case last min they tell u no slot liao...

dymples,

i see...how old is ur #2 now? Coz hb & I visted this school and we like it. However, they only take in full day care from 4 YO onwards. but by Jan 2011, my gal only abt 3.5 yo...and the nap time in school provided for full day care is only less than 1 hour... i am worried whether it is sufficient loh... headache now... dunno why it is impossible to find a school that meet our requirements.

Lilian, 104 pgs isn't too bad wat. the report is very easy to read. They did state something from another research that says "affluence breeds impatience". haha does it mean we shd make our kids work for their toys? HAHA!

Hello Pam! how have u been? we miss u and ur shopping bugs! kekeke.. wah i have never heard of La Villa! sounds posh! do rem to post a photo of ur cake here ya? Hrmm i guess u need to balance out a bit when it comes to disciplining ur gal lor. try ur best lah.. try to rem u are doing this for the long run and things will be easier to handle later.

Haru, i must go and google for i caramel! why don't u post a photo of ur cake here? haha.. then everybody dun need to wait anxiously to see on FB.

Happy birthday Trysten! Ali u did it! well done!

Just to let u know, Kidzloft gives 50% off on ur kiddo's birthday month! i m going to get a set of table and chairs for Z!

iluvbli,
hahahah... we can shake hands liaoz. yah yah... who knows we might register for same kinderland. *lolz*

Kash,
#2 is now 5-yrs. Previously when she attended full day CC, their nap time is from 1pm to 3pm. How come tat CC nap time is less then 1-hour? So strange... most CC I know nap time is between 1.5hours to 2-hours leh.

Haru,
Yah... can post pic of your cake here? Cos I super tech suaku leh. Dunno how to use my FB. It's only there for show leh.

Bear, what does it mean by "affluence breeds impatience" ? What affluence?

OK, i will read 2 pages per day.. In 50 days i can finish t report liao.

dymples,

yes, that CC abit strange as they only start full day care from 4YO. And the hours are from 8am to 5.30pm only unlike other CCs are from 7 to 7pm. The nap time is MY MAIN concern now loh.... coz they allocated 12 to 2pm for lunch, shower and nap..... how can rite? hiaz.... i think by K1 shd be ok but at 3.5 yo i worried that my gal can't handle. Yet also concern that if I only change her to this school from K1 onwards, she may be unhappy coz she may have gotten used to her current CC very very well by then.

bear,

"affluence breeds impatience" bears truth come to think of it....coz will lead to pampering and providing the best of everything...dun u think so? but off course, I still think character plays a huge part.... i have no time to read the report yet....rushing for some presentation...will try to read it this friday!

Kash, Iluvbli,
OMG!! I jux called Kinderland CCK and the waiting list is already a few pages long for 2007/2008 babies! I managed to put Bb J on the waiting list but now gotta pray got vacancy lor. Can't believe that so early and the wait list already so long. The lady I spoke to said it's better to register early juz in case! The fees for full day care after FTWM subsidy is $600+. *faintz* But it's a good child care lor. So dun mind. At least the fees is not those $1K type can liaoz. hahahahah...

dymples,

is that outlet fully aircon? my gal's outlet is fully aircon and she gets sick all the time
but hor, it seems like most of the CCs are now fully aircon. hiaz....

i suggest u visit the place to find out whether u like it or not. I visited my gal's school outlet and fell in love with it. the teachers, and environment are very impt for pre-nursey... passion for children, care and the love of young children of the teachers.....

Lilian, affluence means being rich or wealthy. When one is wealthy we use our money to get wat we want NOW. if u are poor and u want a new toy, u can't have it so u would prob wait and save up to buy the toy. But if u are rich u will buy it now, hence u don't teach the kid patience. That's why kids nowadays aren't able to handle failure as well as before cos the parents just give them watever they want.
i call it instant gratification. But hor, even i m guilty of it! haha..

Kash, i m reading it as i work lor.. not really working today though haha.. or i read when i moo. quite interesting. here's another nugget "From birth to age three, the number of synapses (neural connections) in the brain multiplies by 20 – and most are formed as the result of experience in their new environment." guess it means we shd expose our kids to as many new experiences as possible.

Kash, Lilian, Bear,
I feel tat "affluence breeds impatience" becos when the parents are well off, they tend to pamper the child. They will accede to all the child's whims and fancies. That is, the child asks or wants, the parent will buy immediately. They dun teach the child to 'wait' or to 'work' for the thing. Once the child is used to this attitude of... "once I ask, I will get immediately", they will naturally get impatient when things dun go their their way or if people dun give in to them. Definately not healthy.

Kash,
Yup. That outlet is fully aircon. Hahahah... I already know that outlet very very well becos my gals go to crestar for Ballet classes and it's held in that childcare. Berry clean and nice. I also love the artwork. Can also see the daily menu, children's work, etc. Plus, there have been very good feedback that children who attend Kinderland are way more rpepared for P1 as compared to other childcares. Can't remember where I read this, but I remembered this statement. So now die die must choose kinderland for #3. And I find it true cos when I compare my #1 with her peers who went o kinderland, they definately do better in class and for their exams.

Kash,
Then in the end, where did u send ur #1 to? Did u manage to get in Kinderland in the end?

Dymples,
Yup, but still hope our branches will not be full. I better go find out now. Kiasu...

Bear,
I tink it's quite true. Never tot of it this way.
Must be careful not to over-pamper the kids, wait they have negative character traits.
Oh, hope i can finish the report soon and see what other ideas I can get.

Dymples, ya i totally agree with u! But hor as i see it now, i think i m guilty too lor. Z has so many toys. actually he doesn't care abt new toys or not. It is ME who wants a particular new toy for Z and he has to have it. haha.. i m satisfying my own WANTS!

I think it comes with earning my own money. when i was younger, my parents seldom buy me toys (i don't receive them for bdays or Christmas). i was telling my hb last night that i used to stand in front of the Barbie doll aisle looking at the lovely dresses and wishing my parents would get one for me. I know they never would so started to count how many days it required for me to save up to get one. I was abt 8 YO then so i nv did manage to buy the doll of my dreams. Haha.. now when i have my own cash i go crazy. buy buy and buy! HOR MILDY????

The report also mentioned that most kids below 5 recognise brands like Coca Cola and MacDonalds even before they recognise their own written name! experts said branding could lead to parents authority being undermine cos the kids perceive their parents as not cool and informative, hence less willing to listen to them.

actually i did not take any photos, friends actually helped with that. will try to upload some photos here asap ya? will also put up link to my FB, me also nt very good with FB..hahah...

re:bb school
me gotta start searching for other alternatives for pre-nursery coz SJCK is just too packed!!

iluvbliss, ya the report basically confirmed what my hb and i have been noticing nowadays. both of us deal with teens and we see behaviour we ourselves would never have dared to do it when we were at their age. My hb also deals with the parents of problematic kids and he said some of these parents can be so blind to their kids' problems! got one parent asked my hb if the class she was gg to enroll her son in has many gals. Cos she said, 'my son is very good looking. I don't want too many gals in the class cos they will want to befriend my son and distract him.' i was like WTF????

Haru, actually the photo of ur cake is also at 1 Caramel's FB page. If u want, i can help u post ur photo. Gdness i sound so kay poh!

Bear, oh oh.. I see...
So i must rejoice cos i am not rich. wakaka...
Ya, i agree to some extend.

But is like a chicken & egg thingy lor.
When u r rich (or at least able to afford), you will be able to provide new experiences for your kids. Bring them to new places, buy gd toys to simulate their brains, send them to gd CCs...
When u r poor, u have to work/save double hard to provide all these. But maybe thru ur hardwork, your kids will learn the virtues

Hello mummies ...
I'm simply glued to Lucas ... he cry nonstop till I return even I telling him from the kitchen I'm coming he also continue crying.

I'm searching for a maid nw ... thinkin of getting Filipino who accepts no off day. Cos indo maid ah ... can only eat halal chicken, later come already tell mi cannot touch pork cannot bath the dog. Filipino maids are smarter but they dun do funny things like indo ... am I right?

If I go MOM report my previous maid, how shld I say? "She says wanna go back to Batam then come again and look for another employer bcos FIL touch her though no proof?" Lol.

Bear,
Yah. I can totally understand. I too buy more things for my girls then I should. And I totally agree that my indulging my girls comes from me earning my own money. It's the thinking of... "becos I have, therefore I can spend and pamper my child." and the "I'm not going to take this priviledge away from my child as long as I can afford the best'.

However, I'm beginning to see the negativeness of my actions. My girls are starting to turn into spoilt princesses. When they dun get their way, they will pout and walk off. So I've to start reining in with a much firmer hand. Explaining to them why they cannot buy the toy/dress/shoe/etc. How and what they need to do to 'earn' that item which they want. So far, I'm starting out with easy to accomplish tasks. For example, finish your lunch and sit still during meal times and you get an ice cream. Only can buy a new pair of shoes if an old pair is spoilt or too small, etc. No more new dresses till chirstmas, birthdays or CNY or they have outgrown the current supplies. It's rough going and not always an pleasant experience.

As for brand recognition, it's also comes with the territory of allwoing them to watch too much TV. The sooner they are exposed to TV, the more likely they are to recognise such brands becos the ads are eye catching and attractive. It holds the child's attention.

I tink why brand recogniton leads to parent authority being undermined is becos children are misled thru the ads to believe tat these 'brands' are 'good', tat these brands know wats best for the kid, etc. So when parents oppose to these 'brands', the child starts to question :"my parents oppose cos they dunno anything... they are old-fashioned and therefore uncool."

Dymples and Kash,
Wdl Kinderland got HFMD now!!!
Alamak, I ask them about putting my gal, but they nv mention abt waiting list or anything. They say I have to come and see the place if I like then put deposit and register.

Bear,
Wow, ur hubby must be very frustrated with some of the parents. Your example of that mum is so amazing! Haha, I am laughing as I read it.

Happy birthday babies..!! i saw a lot of great parties on FB and not forgetting all the pretty cakes! We should do a montage of al bday cakes, shd b nice! kakaka.. then more than half will be dominated by PG wakakakkaka....

iluvbli,
Oh dear... then dun bring your gal along to view the CC. If they tell you to put deposit and register, means they have vacancy. Quick quick! Go register liaoz... dun delay!

Lilian, must clarify. I m only at page 27 of the report and am just picking off nuggets of info as i read along. I did see that some social scientists saying that kids growing up in affluent families are able withstand temptations better than kids from lower income families. Also these 'rich kids' are better at managing their finances and also able to commit and plan long term goals than 'poor kids'. it has something to do with family structure and stability. that their parents also teach them other skills. Say a poor kid seldom gets new stuff so when he has the ability to get new things, he cannot decide what to get. hence their goals change and they cannot commit long term.

Dymples, ya lor. i know wat u are gg through, cos i see them now except i see them in undergrads! I was just discussing abt this with another mummy and she said the parents are to blame. say for e.g. u send ur kids to sch and all of them have hps or some latest computer game. if u are trying to teach ur kid that only when they achieve their goals then they get their reward, they might feel that deprieved. That u as the parent is a horrid, stingy poke. I feel that when we were growing up, we didn't get a lot of things hence we know the feeling of being left out. that's why now we want to give our kids everything we can. I guess there must be a balance btw the two, i.e. how much to give without spoiling our kids and how not to let them feel deprieved. it is hard to juggle and i have no answers to that myself.

I think it is gd that u are starting to discipline ur gals rather than to continue giving in to them. I know of parents who cannot tahan their kids being sad hence their kids grow up to be spoilt brats. it is a difficult journey but nonetheless at least u started on it.

The rest of the mummies shd try it as early as they can, to discipline ur kid yet remind them u love them constantly.

iluvbliss, i actually asked my hb if the boy was gd looking! he said just ok lor. not like some super gd looking hunk. in our eyes our babies are perfect but i hope i can tell myself my son can be a monster too.

Jo
who say filipino maids smart but wont do anything funny.. And most of them sure wan an off day on sun one.. Indo maid more chin chye no offday stil fine. Then they'll hav boyfren and anyhow anyhow during offdays.. kakaka.. i stil find indo slightly better than filipino.. Or sri lankan?? haven heard much abt sri lankan maids

Afternoon mummies..

Happy Birthday to Trysten & Ziyee!!!

Jo,
Philipino is the most (gao keng) type.. Overall i still prefer Indo cause they will listen to us. Filipinos are definetely smarter but they tends to have their own way of doing things. My 1st maid was Filipino and she even shouts at my full name! I was so boil that time and send her off after. Then have this Indo maid now and so far so good.. Although she is super forgetful, but i just keep reminding her on n off.

Kash,
normally nap time for T's age is ard 2hours.. Maybe u shd speak to the sch and see what is the comments..

Talk about brand recognition....
My girl loves the Tiger Beer tv advertisement! The one where the 2 silly guys transform themselves into robot, wrestler, tarzan, sexy girl..
But i must say, tat advert is really an eye & ear catching one. wakaka

Jo,
You can black-list her by informing MOM all the nasty things she did at your home, that you discovered $1K and dunno where it came from and plus she tried to threaten you all by sayig that she will accuse your FIL of molesting and demanded that you to send her back home via Batam.

As for maids, I find that whether it's Indon or Filippina, it's up to individual preference. Technically, I find both types got good and bad eggs. The good ones are few and far between... whilst the bad eggs are a really rotten bunch and found nearly everywhere.

At the end of the day, which country you select from, be sure you list down your requirements. For example:
1) must be able to cook
2) can speak and understand English
3) be able to listen and carry out instructions
4) have prior experience taking care of children
5) Main priorities are housewor and taking care of children.
6) etc....

From there, you'll be able to short-list. I try not to limit myself to certain nationalities becos already good maids are hard to find. I dun need to make things tougher on myself.

iluvbli55, dymples,

my gal is in kinderland now. but i have pulled her out for 1 mth after her concert performance last friday. She has been sick constantly since July. I hope this month's break from the aircon school will help build up her normal immune system again.

talking abt the concert it was really impressive! hahahaa... the kids are all so great! and i can't believe my gal, who only attended 5 days of school out of the whole month of October due to illness was the only 1 who remembered all her dance steps in the performance by the 2YO and 3YO group!!! No wonder the principal and teacher told me to let her join in the performance as she already know what to do as I was concern that she was absent for so long, will she remember her steps! hahaha...i was wrong then! She juz love to dance!

HFMD! Oh dear! that's the constant worry u will have.... if there is any outbreak of such contagious disease in the aircon CC environment, the spread is very fast!

bear,

the report indeed sounds interesting... i cant wait to read it. But i agree that we have to be firm. I have already started using the cane and sometimes, find it hard to control myself to stop whacking as my gal is one super super super naughty gal. That's why i feel that character does play an impt part. SOme kids are quiet, shy, more obedient...some are juz outrageous and has extremely short temper. I juz hope with the correct balance and appropriate method, some improvements can be seen.

joyce,

yes most are 2 hrs....this one is very weird loh... but i can only enroll her in Jan 2011 if I am keen as they only offer full day care for 4YO. My gal will only be abt 42 mths then so I am worried whether 1 hr nap is sufficicent. I did ask can they extend their lessons to 6pm? I was told that the teachers' pay are very expensive! huh??? WTF? well... anyway... i have another 10 more months to make a decision.

Jes,
I buy those pre-paid phone card from either 7-11 or the handphone shop. No particular type, whichever is on offer or gives the best deals. Each time, I'll buy $20 card. In addition, my maid has her own handphone (which she bot herself) and it's using those prepaid card.

Kash,
Yah... I love watching my gals perform in those concerts. #2's year end concert will be next week, heheheheh... luckily I'll be on 1-week leave. So excited! My gal's love to dance too though can see #1 is mroe musically inclined and moves tot he beat whilst #2 is more like counting the steps and moves to her own beat. hahahahahah... so hilarious!

Yes yes... agree that for air-con CC, the spread of germs is faster. But I can imagine if I put my #3 into CC without aircon, her head will be wet with perspiration the whole day. *lolz*

dymples,

wow! u must be looking forward for next week! their costumes also very nice hor? heheee... i nvr manage to get her to wear those fairy outfit last time no matter how hard i coaxed her... now hor, she can ask me, "mummy, look I so pretty!" after the concert!
which CC does your #1 and #2 go to? Are they aircondition? u plan to let bb J attend full day or half day CC when she is 18 mths?

kash,
hahahah... Yah.. the costumes all berry colourful and cute. But some I feel is too revealing and too mature for my liking. Children should still be dressed as children... not like mini adults.
But I like it when they wear those cute costumes like dinosaurs, hawaii hula dancers, etc. Got once my gal's costume is those cheer leaders with mid-drift top and short skirts. hahahahah... really look like mini cheer leader complete with poms poms.

#1 now in P1 at De La Salle. #2 is at Appletree Kindergarden now cos shift house so need to change schools. Both used to attend Creativeland CC (Full Day). As for #3, intend to put her into full day care.

Lilian, Peanut,
My gal is attracted to all types of ads, as long as got loud music and fast moving pics, she will start to nod her head and wave her hands. So funny... But she loves the show "Dibo the Gift Dragon". Everytime the music and singing comes on, she will drop whatever she is doing and rush over to watch the TV. *lolz*

Jo: Mine is filipino. She is new, and willingly to accept no off days. I think is heng or sway one. this one is single, 25 years old. good thing is she no homesick.. i ask her to call home, she say no need is ok.. but married good is i think got experience in taking care of kids. but now at our bb stage, i feel is the best to hire young and energetic ones.. cause need to hold our little one. I like filipino is they speak english, and can talk to our little ones. some indo speak good english, but at least i know my son can learn proper english from her.

childcare: wa.. u ladies so young want to bring bb go childcare le? how old go playgroup is considered proper?

Lynn,
Not all filipinos can speak good English. Some of their grammar and sentence structure all wrong. Somemore their accent is very strong... I certainly dun want my gals to end up speaking like maids leh. *no offence to other filipinos here* But if you compare their standard of English to Indon maids, then of cos they fare better.

As for married or not married.... if you noticed, most maids even though they state their stauts as single, it does not mean they dun have kids. Many are single parents back home, that's why need to come out to work. In fact single parents are a common sight in philippines. However, I definately agree that a younger maid will have more strength and energy then an older one. Plus, having an older maid means more problems cos they are quite set in their ways and style of doing things and will not like you to give them instructions.

For Playgroup, Baby can start once he/she reaches 18-mths. But this is not essential. You may wish to start them in formal education only when they are ready to enter Pre-Nursery at about 3-yrs old. It's entirely up to you. For me, cos both hub and me working, then my parents gotta help take care of my older gals, I will prefer to put #3 into full day playgroup once she reaches 18-mths. But my dad will send her in only at about 8am and bring her home by 5pm.

dymples,

how old was ur #2 when u changed schools? Did she protest? any problem adapting to the new CC? So she is in full day kindergarten?

the cheerleader costume sounds very very cute indeed! hahahaha... i am looking forward to next year's performance liao
my gal is at the 2YO class so she only appeared in 3 items. While most of the performances were by the K1 and K2 classes...even the N2 also...

Lynn,
well, to some, like me for example.... leaving your child at full day CC is better than leaving her to be taken care by a maid.

Maid
Mine also filipino, english accent and way of speaking indeed rather different from us, but at least can understand so it's good i guess. my maid though married with a kid but she told me her so-called marriage is not "legalised" wan, so means that she can just dump her man w/o going thru divorce. so the status they state in their bio may not be true afterall.

childcare
anyone checking out carpe diem? i checked out the hougang branch and was told the waiting list is quite long too... hmmmmm

Kash,
#2 juz change from full day CC to this current 3-hour kindergarden only in this year June. Tat means she changed CC at 5-yrs old. She had attended the old CC since she was 18-mths (playgroup) till she reached K1 level (5-years). At first of cos lots of tears and hesitation. So I spoke to her on several occassions to prepare her mentally. Then before I formally registered, I brought her down to view the new kindergardem 2x. First time was to talk to the principle and find out more about the programs and for #2 to look look around. The 2nd time was mainly for #2 to view the kindergarden and see her 'future' classmates and then formally register her and buy uniforms. It helped alot that the new kindergarden was big enough to have its own indoor playground. hahahah... that helped to 'buy' her over. *lolz*

To date, no probs adjusting to this new school at all. In fact she loves it cos it's only half day. At today's Meet Parent Session, the teachers all commented that my girl is the most outspoken of her classmates. Every thing also score "excellent" . hahahahah...

Whats t difference between playgroup and childcare?
Both starts at 18mths right?
Then nursery and kindergarden?
Gosh..... I am sure there are mummies out there scratching head like me now..

lilan, yes, start from 18 mths old. playground is those like 2 - 3hrs play play wan, and childcare is those u put yr child there for either 1/2 day or full day and they follow a routine like play, eat, shower, sleep... but was told nowadays cos of demand, childcare is getting more popular whereas playground is slowly phasing out liao... don't know how true though?!

Lilian,
I oso scratching head like you. I used to tink only nursery, but now have pre-nursery even.

Dymples and Kash,
I can see all ur gals love to dance! Haha!
With HFMD, I have to think twice abt sending my gal, they are so busy now, they can only get back to me 2 weeks later.

Hi Jes, something like that

dymples,

ok, in this case, i think i may change her only when she is entering K1. Coz the new school's N2 class nap time is juz too short for my comfort. For me, hard to entice her with indoor playground as her current CC is a bungalow and has a huge garden with a pond, cage with rabbits, swing, slides etc etc... but the new school has a butterfly garden and an outdoor canteen...which I am not sure whether it is sufficient to "attract" the kids. But yet again, i may find out more abt her current CC's kindergarten curriculam before deciding to switch. Coz when i search for a full day CC, i din really bother abt curriculam as I find it is not that impt at that time! since she was still so young... but i think kindy time is rather impt as it preps them for entering "daunting" primary one. Is Primary one really so scary? hiaz..i pity the children nowadays....

can't believe we're already toking abt nursery for the kids?? but judging by the long waiting list i tink yah shd start get a bit gan cheong liao.. But stil.. wow... my gal jus celebrated her 1 yr old nia!!

Jes,
Yes you are correct. Just to add on...

Childcares operating hours are from 7am to 7pm. They provide Half Day care (7am to 12 noon/ 1pm to 7pm) or Full Day Care (7am-7pm). Non child care centres like Appletree, PAP and PCF only have 3-4 hours program classes.

Each of these centers further classify each age group into:
- Playgroup (18-months to 2-yrs)
- Pre Nursery (2-3 years)
- Nursery (3-4 years)
- K1 (4-5 years)
- K2 (5-6 years)

iluvbli55,

it all depends why you want to send your child to full day CC. for pple like me coz i have no other alternative since i have to work. So I need a full day care CC. Not so much for "education"...more for "childcare" during my working hours. If you have no caregiver problem hor, best is to keep your child away from school... coz they will fall sick soooooo often once they enter CC......