(2008/11) November 2008

diaper: using huggies pull-ups day and nite, but recently seem to leak if too much urine leh. which other brand super good, no leak wan ah?

Here's Keiran's 1st birthday cake from Pine Garden on Sunday:
3218817.jpg

Jes,
Thank you, kekeke even the flavours are as advice from mummies from motherhood forum: Crunchy chocolate Hazelnut and blackforest cake! Yummy!

Lynn,
Bb J currently uses the normal Mamy Poko when she's at home. Yah.. Pull ups are expensive. So she only uses that when going out cos easier to change diapers.

Minky,
The pic too small leh. Cannot see clearly.

Karen,
Nice cake. Design is really reflective of PG's style. hehheehh...

Minky/Karen,
Nice cake. Guess mine will be somewhat similar since also from PG.

Minky, it such a close shave. Luckily she didn't really pull down the cake otherwise you will be so disappointed.

Lynn,
I'm using normal Mamy poko diaper. Stocked up a lot when it was on offer. I condem Nepia. leak everytime I use. In fact never failed not to leak till i gave up.

Jes,
For Nepia, there is free home delivery if you order 4 pax or more. Prices wise is ok. Somewhat similar to Goon diaper.

I just brought my #1 to doctor. Brought her to pierce her ear last Thursday. Friday totally ok. I was thinking heng everything went well.
Sat a bit red and when yesterday was totally swollen. I brought her to a doc and he gave some cream. But last night, her right ear loop was totally swollen and it covering the earing. This morning totally could not see her earing at all. It seem that swollen is so bad that the earing embedded in the flesh. Just now the doctor said need to remove it immediately otherwise it might end up in surgery to cut out the earing since it is already embedded in the middle of her flesh while the top had already closed up. He had no choice but to pull out the earing from the back. Haiz, now I'm so guilty for bring her to pierce her ears.

Hullo! Nice cakes ladies! seems like a few of u celebrated over the wkend hor? Hope u all had fun!

Haru, i saw a photo of Heidi's cake on FB. VERY NICE! where did u get it from? very simple and classy.
do post a photo here so the rest can see. U held ur party at a pub?

Snnowy, where did u bring her to peirce her ears? the other side no prob? if both sides are infected it could be an allergy to the metal (my sis is allergic to tin). if only one side, most likely that earring wasn't cleaned properly. May be wait till they are older then bring them to peirce.

Kiki,
Brought her to goldsmith shop. Now he has removed both the earing so the hole will definitely close up but I scare will leave a scar.

Jes: Hehe...maybe u got used to having maid around... I dun think i can ignore another person in the house. But if i were to hire a maid, i'll need someone to supervise the maid. If not, duno wat will a maid do in the house.

Dymples: hhaaah... i also tried to give my gal the desitin tube to play. but she'll put it into her mouth. if give her other toys, she'll throw & crawl away. then i'll hv to run after her & pull her back. nw she know how to scream if things didnt get in her way.

Here's an interesting report to share. It is done by a UK think tank Demos on parenting and they found that kids whose parents practise tough love style of parenting are more likely to have traits that make them successful in life. They also link breastfeeding to kids having these traits. I m trying to get the report but so far it isn't available online.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/8349352.stm
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1226088/Why-tough-love-best-Parental-warmth-AND-discipline-produces-best-adults-admits-Left-wing-think-tank.html
http://www.babychums.com/2009/11/tough-love-our-character-is-laid-before-the-age-of-five-according-to-new-study/
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/devon/8348938.stm

Bear,
It both ears but 1 side's swelling has gone down this morning while the other side was so swollen till it's top closed up. I was worried if dun remove the other side it will also be infected since already red and a little puffy. Can we do a test to check if she is allergy? Since I will be bringing her to ear peircing when older. Just dun want history to repeat itself.

Actually dun want to scare her too much of the pain that why broght her for pierce when young but seem worse now. Hopefully she wont remember the pain too much next time.

noodle cutter
mummies, I couldn't wait since my last order wasn't accepted by the BP so I got it from Kiddy Palace. I forgot to bring my discount card. The original price is $6.90 (same as BP). With discount card, can get cheaper.

Happy birthday to all the NOV babies

Haru!! saw some of your pics on fb.... very very nice!lovely (very YOU)
did u make that cake?? K's party is this sat... hope he will be in a happy mood cos we had a mini party with family yesterday and he was a total grouch cos he didn't nap!

Snnowy, i won't advice u to do an allergy test right now cos kids will outgrow allergies. wat i do advice u is the next time let her peirce again may be u can try gold earrings instead and not those cheap earrings. If she is allergic to metals like tin and other alloys then she might have a prob when she wears bra the next time! my sis has rashes at the place where the bra hook is and where the underwire is.

Snnowy,
OMG! Such a scary thing to happen all becos of ear piercing. Poor thing... must be so painful leh. Hope she recovers fast and forget this unpleasant episode.

Karen,
huh? Same price as BP? Wah seh... that shows not all BP are cheap and good lor.

Jeanne,
hahahaha.. Bb J also knows how to scream to get her way now. Worse... if you carrying her and dun give the thing to her, she will 'slap' your face. *faintz* I scold her "no-no", she will growl at me. When I smack her hands, she will smack me back. This gal not afraid of anything lor. *aarrgghh*

noodle cutter
now i got to pay for postage means paying more than outside retail price. really not all BP are necessarily cheaper. hmm...

snnowy, tat sounds very bad! hopefully yr gal will recover soon after removing the earring. don't feel bad, you dun wan it to happen this way too.

snnowy,

i juz happened to scan through the posts and read yours! OMG!!! I hope your gal is ok....i hope it wasn't too painful for her...poor thing leh..... dun worry too much ok.... hope the swelling is gone now. Dun bring her to pierce her ear again until she is older is my recommendation. And don't go to goldsmith shop...

bear,

interesting article! yeah...will be great if we can get to read the report!

Jo,

so sorry to hear abt your problematic maid. She is gone for good now... at least u have lesser thing to worry abt. As for lucas...maybe separation anxiety.... sometimes, juz need to be heartless abit... let him cry...that's off course juz my opinion lah ..but must tell him u will be back...then leave.

karen,

who is the BP organiser? So terrible.... KP stuff already all retail price...what's the point of BP if it is the same as retail price?

noodle cutter
i just had a "debate" on email with the BP seller over this issue. apparently my impression is she felt that she's already offering discount compared to retail, assuming if we don't get member disc from Kiddy Palace. i told her since now i got to pay for own postage then it would be most expensive isn't it, then she said postage applicable since we opt tat, initially she already mentioned only self collection for this. anyw i guess since she's the seller she got upper hand lor. to me a lesson learnt, next time dun anyhow buy from BP. good thing this time the items are not tat ex so the "damage" is not too great.

Eh, the BP organiser is my fren. may be i help her clarify on her behalf?

She got the Combi products from Taising themselves. They are very strict on controlling the price of Combi products. 10% is the max they can give. Believe me, she tried very very hard to get a better deal for all of u. I guess they could have offered free postage if ppl purchased a certain amt but i know for sure that they are not making much.

I will let her know ur feedback and i m sure she will work harder to make her next BP a better one.

Jes, i thought u collected at Suntec? Aiyah if not u shd have told me. She is delivering it to my place this wed. could have collected for u first.

Bear, its ok, thanks. can't collect from her cos the timing doesn't suit, and cos i want to bring the cutter along for a short trip next weekend so din ask u to collect for me oso.

no worries, small issue, i kinda oso never read thru properly the T&Cs so resulted in a bit of misunderstanding which i thought postage will be included. i got a better pic now that she's explained to me too.

Jes, all the same, i apologise on her behalf first.
i m sure she will work hard on her next BP. Just to let u know there are 2 of them organising this BP tog. u have prob been speaking to her partner.

Ok, just went to check on Demos's website again. the report is finally out (wasn't out late last night when i checked). Happy reading!
http://www.demos.co.uk/publications/parenting

Bear, not so serious lah, no need for apology. it's just abit of misunderstanding. i already sorted out with her and i oso accepted her explanation so it's really alright now. no worries ok

Dymples: hhaahha... wah, ur gal become fearless. I think nw our bb know how to show their temper & they're getting smarter each day. think we better dun spoil them too much o/w they'll grow out of hand.

Actually not all BP are cheap... sometimes when got big sales, some things are cheaper than getting from BP. so usually i'll buy 'unique' bb stuff from BP where the local shopping centres cant find any or maybe seldom sell.

blustar and Bear,
thanks! no way, i can never bake a nice cake la!! held e party at 1 caramel, and they did the cake too. =)

mummies who'd like to see the pix and like me to add you pls drop me a note on FB ya?coz i dun log in that often.hee..

snowwy,
oh dear, hope ur #1 is ok now..

Hi Mommies

Havent pop in here for a long time. Hope everything is fine with you guys. Work has been super crazy for me -- and been travelling quite a bit. Had to finally stop breastfeeding 1M ago cos my supply was so terrible!

Looks like everyone is busy with the bday party! was just telling my hubs that the party macham like our wedding all over again!!

Haru, I wanted to hold it at 1 caramel too!!! But my guest list went beserk so didnt think they could accomodate me. The cakes there look so divine!! Was the food good?

I m holding Kaitlyn's party at La Villa along River Valley. Love the place for the open field and spacious interior. The bonus is that they have a whole bunch of playstuff ie swings, slides, bouncy castle available in the compound so I save a lot of hassle in organising activities for the kids.

Hey do you think PG still has time to make cake for this Sunday? I ordered from Patissier but the quote darn ex!! 3kg for $320 -- i didnt realise this is not normal until I saw some of the quotes you guys had for PG.. and it looks so much nicer!! =((

Mantoubear,
I suck at tough love.. I think i will prob be bullied by my daughter for the rest of my life!! jia lak.

Remember to go for your bb's MMR/Varicella vaccination!!

Love,
Pam

Rainbowcandybaby
I already enrolled my bb for kindergarden when she was 3Ms old. And there were 150 more anxious parents than me! till date, Kaitlyn is still on the waitlist for St James and Nanyang!! hahaha

Dymples,
that's really lovely .... Tks for sharing!

morning mummies!!

Pam, i went for my friend's princess's one year party at la villa earlier this year and it was great! Good food, big space, garden etc... i suggest you put a map in your invite cos i was one of those blurr ones who have not been before and got a bit lost! DUH! drove up and down river valley road 3 times b4 finding it... silly me.

Rainbowcandybb, pam, ...*sheepish*... i'm also one of those kiasu mums .... enrolled in st james when bbk was abt 1 mth plus... and almost didn't get space for pre nursery cos being NOV baby... all those jan-oct alrdy took up all the space! but they have since opened up session 3 so got a space there.... not sure if the timing is a bit weird.. but just accepted anyway! haha... never thot i will be such an anxious parent! but got a space for nursery for the 2nd session...

BBk updates...
he seems 2 be turning into a tyrant! misbehaves esp when he sees my face! faint... he has also learnt this new screaming sort of cry which is quite irritating! .......... hope its just a phase..... and hope he will be well behaved on his bday party this sat... *praying v hard* He also poos alot ( average 5 times a day??) *faint*

blustar,
really?? bb H also has quite a temper especially when she can't get her hands on something she's eyeing on or we take away something from her..wonder which one of us she got that from!!=P

so bb K is enrolled in pre-nursery already? me only enrolled for nursery. but i think pre-nursery already has a waiting list. sob...

Pam,
yes, you are right. very tiring and really feels like wedding,hahah...alot of planning, preparation and entertaining to do. spent lots of late nights doing up birthday banners, favours, invites, etc...but all worth it! had good fun at the party!

<font color="0000ff">Pam,

u will still b able to order your gal's bday cake from PG for this sunday
They only need 3 days booking so go order quick

Happy Belated Birthday to
<font color="ff0066">Baby Jaden (Cutiemum)</font>
yesterday

and very Happy Birthday to
<font color="ff0066"> Baby Trysten (alibaba) and
Baby Ziyee (Baby23)</font>
today!

hi haru,

can send me the pic of ur cake? I dun really know how to use FB! hahahaa...how to send u a message in FB huh?

hi pam!

long time nvr see ur post! how r u? U serious abt enrolling ur bb at 3M to pre-nursery! Wow? Nanyang? nvr heard of it leh...where is it? i only came across of NAFA kindy since I drive past it everyday...else i also dunno! hahhaaa.. as for St James, I have never heard of it until 1 of my frens enrolled her gal there starting next year. I heard from my colleagues that the school fees are super expensive leh.....

I nvr enroll anything for my son...my only concern now is for my #1 who is turning 30 mths! hahahhaa... still dunno whether what kindy to send her to...seems like u have done more research than me.... any good recommendation for the East? East coast, katong, siglap areas? thanks!

Happy BD in advance for you gal! Have a great party ahead!

Baby's 1st Party,
Wow! Seems like some mommies here are really spending lots lots for their lil darling's parties. heheheheh... me only indulged in getting nice cake and deco.

Nursery,
Guess I'm those more boh-chap parent. I'll register Bb J for pre-nursery later next year. Guess also cos I'm not selecting those high end or popular ones, mine will be Kinderland. So not too worried about there being a wait-list.

Pam,
Wah seh... you're a really busy mommy. La Villa sounds like a fun party place especially for kids with all the bouncing castle, slides, swings and tons of running space. Wish Bb K has a fun birthday party!

haru, blustar, pam,
wow, you hv enrolled your babies for nursery!! I wanted to put my baby on waitlist for playgroup when she turns 18months, but they didnt allow. said it was some MCYS rule that they can only be registered 3 months before they turn 18, is this true?? or are they just 'smoking' me? haha..

dymples,

actually i think depending on which Kinderland. In Dec 08, I wanted to sign my #1 up for full day CC sometime in Apr 09 in Kinderland along upper east coast road. U know when I called them up, they told me that they are FULL for the WHOLE of 2009! Told me no point put on wait list although i can leave my number... she told me apologetically that their waitlist very long already and they dun foresee any kids dropping out... hiaz... at that time, I got a huge surprise and started to panic as i was only left with a few mths and I needed to send my #1 into CC by Apr 09 since I was going back to work from ML.... so i suggest u may want to call up and enquire at least 6 mths in advance for bb J.

Kash,
Oh... really yah. Okies okies... thks for the info. Tink I'll call them later to check. Hope mine not so jialat cos in ulu CCK area. Whereas East Coast may be more popular. heheheh... somemore I still tot Kinderland not so popular. *faintz*

ladies, i'm a dec08 mtb, have ordered and paid a deposit to cupcake divinity for my boy's birthday (this sun is his celebration). i tried to contact them but no emails reply, no sms reply and they never answer my calls at all. anyone also ordered from cupcake divinity and managed to contact them?

dymples,

thats was what i tot too coz not some popular brand name mah.... but i was shock loh....i ended up going to another outlet in siglap. also full and the principal submitted appeal to MCYS and i had to wait for 1 mth for the results. Right now, the CC my gal is in has abt 7 in the waitlist trying to get it. But i think shd be ok coz a group of K2 will be leaving for Primary 1. I think as long as the CC are in those bungalow settings with a huge private outdoor play area, the demand shd be quite high. U may be surprise that 1 of my fren signed her gal up in her next block at carpe diem...also full must appeal!