(2008/11) November 2008

happywifey,
ya, been feeling undecided about stopping bf-ing. on one hand, i do feel like stopping so that i can stop pumping, etc..on the other hand, i do enjoy the bonding. i also wonder if I can just latch in the morn when she wakes up and at night before her bedtime w/o any pumping session in between. but i suppose that would just cause e supply to dwindle and eventually stop. =P

re: weaning from bottle
hmm..maybe i should try introducing FM to bb in a sippy? since she isn't very attached to bottle anyway, hoping that i can get her to learn to drink from a sippy instead. but how should I prepare the FM then? in a bottle first (to measure amt) and transfer to sippy? do we still need to sterilize bottle after bb is a year old? feel so lost..hahah..

Dymples,
1100ml of milk is a lot! My gal only takes less than 400ml a day. Wonder if it's enough cos she takes 3 solid meals a day.

Haru,bibi,bear,
Pei fu u three. All of u are still pumping regularly. Salute!

Happy 1st birthday to Alyssa and broderick!

does anyone could borrow me/sell this cake topper below for my boy's bbash?:
Winnie the Pooh Birthday Surprise Decoset
& Winnie the Pooh happy birthday banner?
Pls PM me....thks!

Hi rainbowcandy & soho,

finally my gal, Eva's bday party is over on Sat.
tiring... tat day also a Halloween nite.
Here's the cake pix made by Haven Bakery.
Strawberry Cream Cake with Strawberry Fillings...
Very nice! Really muz thank rainbowcandy for finding.

3184855.jpg

jeanneloi,

oh great! U r welcome! Happy Birthday to Eva

too bad i dun have the chance to order for BBJ's 1st birthday...fully bk

babyzel & jeanneloi
could any of u gals borrow me/sell this cake topper below for my boy's bbash?:
Winnie the Pooh Birthday Surprise Decoset
& Winnie the Pooh happy birthday banner?
Pls PM me....thks!

Morning mummies! *yawns* so tired..

Finally the 2 bday parties are all over!
Had a great party yesterday too hee.

Love the Secret Recipe cake and the yummy agar agar cake by James!

How were the parties for mummies holding over the wkend??

Haru: Gee..finally 2 teeth! :p When will be my baby's turn haa

Happywifey: Yah he is a BIG drinker..his appetite is humogous.

Rainbowcandy: Pooh happy birthday banner - do u mean those string together i.e. in words kind?? or those rectangle banner. I have the former..

Lynn: Hee my 2 artscow albums received a lot of rave comments! :p Most of them were amazed that it was quite affordable..and look nice!

Good MOrning!!!

Wonder any of you listened to the class 95 FM this morning. There is this HSBC reward thingy whereby ppl come up to say abt their most rewarding experience. Got this guy saying that he wans to thank his mum for queueing up at ACS overnight thus gotten him his place in ACS which is a good school and tat is very impt. anyway, thats not the point, the mom got in as well and say that this man is a good son and also the son which she loved most out of the 2. how hurtful can this b if the younger son heard it. i think mother shouldnt say this kinda of things.........furthermore its on the national radio!!! the whole singapore will know tat his mother love him less.....

morning mummies

very last minute-----where can i bring my boy to play? where is a good place for him to mingle with other children and to have safe fun?

mildy,

I heard that too! I can't believe what the mother said as well! I was like...she screwed up real bad! How can she say that on national radio! Her other son will be so hurt!!!! hiaz yoh!!!

hi milderina...many thanks.... acutally wanted to bring him to xplorer kids or jurong safra...but looking at the website like only small area for kids below 3
...i may be wrong..so wanna ask mummy here

Mildy - yah that's quite bad! Alamak hopefully the younger one didnt hear it >.<

Hiaz..but hor, talking abt 2 children, I always wonder if 2nd child I myself will spend so much energy and effort on him/her...e.g. on all the parties/classes/taking photos etc... But looking at the 2nd/3rd time mummies here, you all are still very onz haha!

kash,
so sad right??? if me i think i dun even wan to call her for 3 days at least........lolx.............

shop4stuff,
actaully most of this area only got small area for toddlers even polliwogs. u can try fidgets too.

glad_gal,
how not to? its on radio the whole day today. unless of cos he doesnt listen to radio.

actaully for mi i always feel tat i did a disservice to claudia leh. ekkekeke.... not bringing her to classes and all tat though i am trying to strike a balance la. but it can never b. cos jie jie has already almost 2 yrs of undivided attention from us, and for mei mei she always has to via for attention with jie jie. but i must say that claudia is a pretty good girl, she can play by herself and seldom come n pester mi unlike jie jie who needs someone to sit by her n play with her. thats y i always say no 2 kids are the same. they need different things from us parents, so we have to cater differently for each kid. i feel that giving them regular kisses, hugs and all the "love you baby". is very impt.

Hello! gd morning!

Happy Birthday to babies celebrating over the wkend.. any baby's bday today? Any cake photos to share?

Mildy, gdness! what kind of mother will say these things on air? even if the other son is some drug addict or what, u shdn't say that either. poor guy.. he must be praying and hoping no frens and relatives heard that broadcast.

Happywifey, Haru, Bibi, unlike u all, i m determined to stop bf-ing.. at least for now.. i can't imagine pumping anymore liaoz.. was calculating i spend abt 2-3hrs a day moo-ing! that's not counting milk management, washing and sterilising my pumps. bleah..

Dymples, 1100ml is a lot man! Luckily Janessa doesn't look like those emperor babies! her metabolism is gd.. next time will be a slim babe, just like u. Z takes abt 700ml od EBM a day now, with 3 solids a day.

Re: reaction to mozzie bites
Z has horrible reactions to mozzie bites! they are abt 7cm in diameter, and are filled with watery blisters that develop over 2 days. then they will burst, leaving him scars. any babies has such a reaction? I m sure they are mozzie bites and not other insects cos they are bitten at different places and at different times. Can't be sandflies cos they don't usually lurk in bedrooms!

Bear, Babyzel,
hahahah... yah... thank God Bb J is not obese. I tink she likes to drink milk cos she's not so much into having 3 solid meals yet. Tink once she starts taking proper solid meals, her milk intake may decline.

Mildy,
OMG! How can the mother say such things. The other boy really poor thing... to actually hear his own mom confess to such favourtism on national radio. Really buay tahan man!

With 3 kids, I know it's not easy to love all 3 the same... but I've learned that I should strike a balance. Each child is unique and special in their own way... and we as mothers should seek out their potential and groom them and love them unconditionally.

Bear,
Oh dear... poor Z. How come he got such severe allergic reaction? Must be commando mozzies siah... bite till so jialat. Maybe can apply some vitamin E to aid the healing and minimise scarring?

bear,
its normal. it will only gets better after they are 3 yrs old and above. Both my girls and cousins all like tat. cos their skin is very delicate, so once hit by 1 mosqito it will become very very big with watery blisters. no worries. n yes, i am sure its mosqitoes too.

Dymples, vit E cream? hrmm i just put calendula cream.. my hb uses antiseptic wash to clean it.. so it dried up pretty fast.

Mildy, heng u tell me is normal. Was thinking if he kena an attack of mozzie bite, his whole body will swell up? haha.. so gross leh... my mum told me to put vinegar.. My hb blamed me for giving Z all these allergies.. sigh..

Mildy,
Oh dear tt is so bad. I bet the other son is so hurt if he ever gets to hear that
I do agree that there are so ppl who favours 1 child more than the others but also dun share it on air. Haiz.....

Haru,
I also can't bear to wean them off. But I know I need to do it soon at least for #1. I dun't just bf out of obligation and nutrition but it is also deeply fulfilling esp with the bonding.

Bear,
You have reminded me to check something with you on bf-ing which I always wanted to ask but forgot. Is it true the kid will not get the sufficient nutrients from BM after they are a yr old? I thought BM will change its quality to meet the child's nutrition need as they grow. Unlike FM whereby we got to change from stage 1 to stage 2 etc?? Confused!!!

glad_gal
i looking for those with a string with words on Pooh banner.

lilian
my boy's bbsh is on 21stnov. We will be holiding a chalet for him 20-22nov.

bear
i saw Z's scare..so poor thing. aloe vera gel might helps.

Bear,
aiyo, no la. even PD will tell u the same things if u show the bites to them.

snnowy,
allow mi to say something on BF here. Yes, BF is good and beneficial for our kids but we also must make sure that we eat healthily while we are breastfeeding, eg. a healthy and balance diet. If we were to take in junk food everyday then the quality of BM would drop too.

bear,

poor bb Z... the other time i gave my boy antihistamines to stop his itch...it works. if Z is not itchy then i guess leave it. For my #1, we actually use mopiko (dunno the spelling). did u install any mozzie "killer" thingy in his room? I am contemplating whether to install this mozzie netting in my new place as it is next to lots of construction sites and other landed property.... neighbours told me a lot of mozzies...headache...

Re: Mamy Poko Diaper
Mummies who are using Mamy Poko's diaper. There is currently an offer in NUTC Hub till 11 Nov 2009. All Mamy Poko Diaper M/L/XL/XXL are selling at $21.45 instead of the usual $24.00

RE:Mamy Poko Diaper
Mummies using mamy poko diaper for bb. there is now an offer in NTUC Hub (AMK) till 11 November 2009. All mamy poko diaper size M/L/XL/XXL are selling at $21.45 instead of the usual $24.00.

rainbowcandy, sorrie cannot help u liao. Coincides with mine. If u realli can't get one here, u can try posting on other month's thread, like Sept/Oct.

Mildy,
Yup agree wif you that Bfing moms need to be conscience of what they eat in order to make sure the bb gets good quality BM.

Snnowy, let me clarify.. it isn't the case where by BM has no nutrition ya? It is more like at this stage getting nutrients from BM is not as crucial as the 0-12 mths stage. i.e. watever ur BM has, it can be taken in from other sources too. But bf-ing past 1 is still beneficial, esp immunological wise, where u give ur toddler immunity from all the diseases u have suffered before.

What i m trying to say BM is still nutritious BUT just giving BM itself might not be enough for a growing tod. However, if u have a fussy eater, then giving BM is still better than giving FM.

Nutrition for mummies are impt. even if you are NOT bf-ing, u still gotta eat well. cos now ur status is different. u have a kid depending on u hence cannot afford to fall sick ya? so mummies do rem to take care of urself.

Mildy, no lah.. i won't go to PD just becos one the bites lah.. until he starts wheezing.. i m allergic to the oriental cockroaches i think and some mozzie bites.. haha..

Kash, no antihistamines for Z. he is a hyperallergenic kid so i try to minimise the usage of histamines unless it is crucial to prevent him from getting immune to their effects. already he is immuned to one type that's why PD had to change his meds when he had a cold last mth.

Rainbowcandy, ya his scar is huge. he likes picking on them though.. heng he is a boy so disfigure a bit is ok.. haha..

Jes, nice cake!

Snnowy,
Thks for the info. Aiyohz... yesterday I went Giant and saw MamyPoko selling at $22.40, I tot is cheap liaoz. Hengz I only bot 2-packets. Will go down to AMK Hub to grab another 3 packets to off-set. hahahahahah...

Bear,
Yup. That time I went to see my cosmetic surgeon for IPL, he recommend me to use Vit E for certain scars. Said can reduce scarring. Aloe vera gel is good for 'new' bites to reduce the swelling and itch. Aloe is also super duper good for healing sunburns.

Kash,
There is a kind of mosquito netting that you place over the windows. Tink the sides got magnet or tape and you seal it onto all your windows. This type of netting screen is very common in Australia homes. This way all types of bugs not able to crawl or fly into your home.

Hi morning mummies,

Happy birthday to all babies again..

Stage 3 Fm>
Any one started or starting soon? wanna ask once i started the stage 3 FM (Gain IQ), As my boy really not into alot of solid.. He doenst really like porridge.. usually will take few spoon &amp; mai liao.. nv finish a bowl one.. the most half a bowl.. I know Pedisure complete is for fussy baby. they have more nutrients in it for kids. can i also give him Pedisure complete say 1 feed a day on top of his normal FM or give him all feed with pedisure?

bear,

i c....then must ensure his nails are trimmed... btw, how abt applying the CB insect repellent before he zzz? or install mozzie nettings in his room? those that has magnets and stick to the window frames?

Jes,
Wow! Your cake is sssooo pink! So sweet and girly. Nice nice leh. Is it from PG?

Sssooo lucky! Got Big Blocks as birthday pressie! Hhhmmm... make me ssooo tempted! Tink I wanna psycho Bb J's Godma to get this for her. Btw, is this Big Blocks from the Korea BP?

dymples,

yes, i was referring to this type
plan to install over the whole house actually....but worried about ventilation ....

ah lian, top is lychee martini and bottom is mango mousse... the mango mousse is nice! and i din get to eat the lychee martini, all eaten by guests liao....

Dymples, yes it's PG.. i specially asked for pink theme cos the pic shown to me all blue blue wan, haha..

yes, the BB is from crazykorea BP too, my friend ordered and got it sent to us y'day at the party, really nice of her...

alibaba,
Bb J is stil on Wakodo. But once she hits 1-yr, I'll change her to Pediasure. Actually I wanted to change to normal milk powder. But Hub super KS plus Bb J dun take much solids, so better to feed her Pediasure.

If I give Pediasure, I won't mix with other FM. All feeds will be Pediasure. I scared if mix mix FM will cause tummy upset.

Dymples, i have aloe vera gel.. haha.. but i m very skeptical abt that! i dunno why.. may be cos it doesn't help me much. haha..

Kash, he was only bitten once at home lor.. i think it is an isolated case. the rest of the bites were from going to the playground with my MIL. i dun blame her lah. hb and I aren't into applying insect repellent cos we live on a high floor.. but i think for ur case it is needed! Euan's bites were horrible. U can get those screen that Dymples recommended. My aunt's whole house has that.

Kash,
The netting is very fine... when I was staying in Melbourne, dun experience much ventilation issues. But of cos due to the netting, amount of wind blowing thru is also lesser... but NOT to the extent where the house becomes hot and stuffy.

Jes,
Oohh.. nice nice leh. So sweet of your friend... hahahahha... tink I gotta go psycho Bb J's godma. Does the big blocks occupy lots of space? My living room is already cramped with Bb J's jumperoo and play yard. *faintz* Dunno can squeeze this big block or not. hahahahahahah

dymples,

yah, i was contemplating to install the nettings in my new place. HOwever, i also plan to buy those electric mozzie killers which i see from homefix. do u think with those i can do away with the netting? My colleague who is staying in upper bukit timah has it in her whole place except the balcony. I have 2 balconies in the new place so i find it will be damn weird if i have mozzie nettings in the balcony too.... now headache... hb doesn't want anything on the windows at all! MEN!!!!! horrible!