(2008/11) November 2008

Last nite, I was trying so hard to change diapers for my boy .. he was trying to flip over ... and I didnt realise the cap of the oil (lemongrass to apply his tummy like ru yi oil) was not covered well. Lucas tried to bite it and the oil went into his mouth. I quickly go get wet cloth to clean and Daddy slap his face and he cried so badly. I scolded hb ... he says he only slap him lightly but I saw marks on Lucas's face and 1-2 marks slightly swollen (like being scratch/ mosquito bite kind). We quarrelled ... he says is Lucas scratch himself, he only slapped him lightly how cld it have resulted that swollen mark .. say I over exaggerated. Lucas was crying so cham cos Daddy slapped him! ... I so heartpain, cried and quarrelled w hb. Arghh.

Hullo! Nice weather today!

Peanut, if u dun wanna increase the milk feed before Nini slps, then u might wanna increase her solids instd.

Dymples, 300ml in 2 hrs! that's a lot man! I think that's partly why she needs a clean diaper to slp else everything will overflow! how much does Janessa drinks a day?

Mildy, hehe.. guess every kid is different. Some parents had it bad with the first kid that the swear nv to have another. Others have an easy time with the first, then have a horrible time with the 2nd! i think i will be like that man cos Z is such an easy baby. scared karma will try to balance it out with a fussy 2nd baby!

Jo, aiyoh. never never never slap a kid on his face. u were right to fight with him. How does Lucas know that the oil cannot be eaten? May be u shd slap ur hb too.. since he dunno that it is not right to discipline a kid by slapping on the face. if he ask u why u slap him, say it is the same reason why he slap Lucas. Goodness, he is only 1 yrs old! what does ur hb want Lucas to do? sit there and nv move? Now he can slap Lucas lightly, next time when he is very angry how?

I say this becos when i was young, my dad bashed me up until my sch threatened to call the police, not once, but twice. I personally know how scary it is when an adult male lose their head completely. Poor Lucas.

Jo, poor Lucas. haiz.. Bear is right to ask how about next time. Smtimes I also lose my temper and go smack bb K's legs or hands. But i will nvr go for her face, at least for now. I dunno wat I will do if i am real angry.

Bear, wats ur take on physical punishment? I mean when t kid is older.

Lilian, I believe in the rod, even though i was on the receiving end of it countless times when i was younger. But i believe that shd be the very last resort, aft u have given warnings and other punishment like time out.

But i don't believe in slapping of the face. Face is the part where ppl personify u as a person. i.e. ppl recognise u by ur face. it is the most impt part of our body in our social life. i believe if u want to hit, hit palms or legs. never higher than ur palms on areas like arms. these are all very visible and when ppl see the marks, it is like the kid is being punished by embarrassment.

That said, i smack Z on the butt once out of anger cos he kept flipping when he was changing his diaper. I felt bad aft but that was the only time i lashed out at him. Usually i only smack his palms aft 3 warnings cos he goes for wires and sockets.

Of cos, there is a fine line btw punishment and humiliation. A lot of parents go beyond punishment and humiliate their kids. giving them 5 strokes of the cane teaches them the lesson then we shd stop. But most parents i know will continue hitting. that's where u have to restraint urself but it is hard cos we would be boiling mad then.

I had problems with hb during dating time about "SLAP" ... v bad quarrel tt time. I never dare to "SLAP" again. I only keep on reminding him dont slap face. That is not the way to teach your 1yr old son! It can be on the palm of his hand.

Last time I always kena canes from my mum ... wearing sch uniform to sch was embarassing ... once every few wks also can see the cane marks on my legs and hands. So I tell myself I will not resort to this unless Lucas grows up being v rebellious beyond control.

Jo,
Aiyohz... poor Lucas. How can your hub hit him till like that? He must realise that even the lightest of slaps or hits on a child can result in serious injuries cos their body is so tiny... not to mention their internal organs. Till today, my hub is never allowed to hit my gals to discipline them cos man dunno how to estimate their strength when hitting. I'll be the one who smacks or cane them on their buttocks or thighs. Although I admit that on one occassion, I slapped my gals cos they dare to defy my intstructions and even had the audacity to answer me back and screamed at me super loudly. Scolded them to 'keep quiet', they yelled even louder. So end up I slapped them. So heart pain... after that I tell myself that I must not do that again.

I m sure all parents feel bad after hitting their children. Discipline is a tough subject. Everyone has his own methods and principles, so there bound to have conflicts

Bear, now i know which part to go for - the palms

Thanks for giving us your views. Always love hearing them u know.
I am t one with quick temper, so I try to let my hb handle my girl when she's naughty. End up, he becomes the bad guy! kaka..

Bear,
Janessa drinks total of 1,100ml of milk a day. She takes about 200ml-25ml per feed, and she drinks milk at 5am, 8am, 11am, 4pm and last feed at 8.30pm. Is that alot? I also dunno leh.

Mildy & Jess,
I love using the sleeping bags. Been using it for #1 till now. But for #3 cos she also turns alot now, I've now exchanged her sleeping bag to a super thick sleep suit. It's made of thick feece material. Bot it from Mothercare. Or else, after she wears her body suit and sleep suit, I'll wear a woollen jacket + pants again. hahahah... macham wearing so many layers cos of winter weather. *lolz*

Jo
yes.. can smack smack anywher except for face.. never slap face cos wil remm for life one.. thruout my life.. i got slapped twice and i still remm todate.
1) Kindergarden.. papa wan to feed me soup i no wan keep running round and round e table til he slapped me -_-
2) Pri 1.. teacher teaching me wat i've done wrong in my homework.. recess time came and my classmates al lining up to go off recess.. i see liao gan cheong so i started cry a bit.. teacher slapped me -_-"

Bear
but her solid dinner everytime giv until she full or phew out one.. so she really full liao then we stopped..

Lilian
yah.. right aft my papa slapped me.. he apply ointment on my face and ask me cannot b so notti one.. can see he v heartpain and feel bad..

ah nut, I know what u r hinting at la....
Those girls giving out promo tissues are all HOT and SEXY..... I know u r one hot mummy!

Peanut,
*whew* *whew* Sexy mommy at MRT station leh. hahahahahaha.... Yah lah. I tot oil earn more $$$ then blood (aka: pharmaceuticals)?

Lilian,
hahahah... yah.. my bedroom is in Alsaka becos of my crzy air-con. Put the toopid thermostat at 24 degrees the room too stuffy and warm. But adjust to 23 degrees and become like freezer. Tat's why need to bundle bb at night... else sure wake up with runny nose. *lolz*

I ever joked that I'll need to buy those wollen hats for bb to wear at night when she having runny nose. hahahahahaahah

dymples,
wow 1100ml, my girl is like only drinking 120 ml every 3 hrs only. that is 7, 10, 1, 4, 7, 10, 5. hm... its ard 840 ml only. kekek..

siao lilian.. i seldom see sexy gals giving out tissue.. u tot car show model meh..

dymples
umm? then janessa shd b of good build lor? My gal stil 9.3kg i tink.. weight v constant lei

happywifey,
ya,i also dunno how come i can still kena blocked ducts. i pump every 3-4 hours at work=)

jo,
ouch..actually there was one time hubby and i were both really angry with baby coz she was just throwing tantrums all evening and refused to bath, change, etc and actually smacked her quite hard on her thigh. heart super pain lor, but i agree should never slap the face. and actually i think as the child grows up, should try not to use our hand for smacking. if really hv to, then use mr. cane. But that is only if really really necessary...i think hand shld be for "sayang-ing"...=)

I told him off yesterday nite when I so heartpain and keep on crying.

Juz now also sms him to remind him not to do that again. He always ho lah ho lah. %#&*^#&@$#

Nut, hehe.. got single-eyelid, small backside handsome man come n ask tel number or not?
Weekend liao.. sot sot...

Haru, oh... interesting pt about hands vs mr cane
U r right. The emotional impact of hands is greater than the cane. U mummies really enlighten me a lot

Another funny thing abt my little Lucas ... he always got punished by daddy and cry ... but still will turn over and look at his daddy then cry again.

Lilian
wah u super good memory lei.. No hav.. only siam away from me when they know its abt blood donation.

Jo
kaka.. cos lucas loves his daddy ma.. feel sad that his daddy slap him so look at him hoping he'll sayang him lor.. I hope ur husband did sayang him a bit aft that..

<font color="0000ff">Jo,

poor mommy, i feel your heartache *pat pat* i totally on your side with the NO NO slapping on face esp for daddy (being a stronger man)

for me, the most impt reasons other than those tat mommies here already pointed out, is health!

pls let your hubby know tat there r real life cases of bbs/kids who lost their hearing after kena slapped on the face

it's time to have the talk with our hubby on how we r gng to discipline our kiddos since they r almost 1yo liao</font>

jo,
i hor dun allow my hubby to hit my kids de. cos i feel tat hor guys their strength is bigger without them knowing it. they always feel tat they only hit them lightly but hor its really very hard de lor. cos sometimes my hubby when we play i like to hit him, wakakak... then when he hit mi back its damn pain then i will scream at him then he will say he neevr use any strength. but hor i already feel tat its very pain. thats y i dun allow him to hit my kids, n he know tat.

<font color="0000ff">Jo, Nut,

beside looking for his daddy for sayang, Lucas mayb confused &amp; 'asking' his punisher for explanation. Don't think they r too young to qns that, they know

i m for the rod too but only when all fails. &amp; most imptly, it's the punisher's responsibility to explain to the kid the big 'Y'. &amp; tat's a must if not the caning serves no purpose at all!</font>

Jo: I concur with jjmom! never slap the face! i have a cousin whose mum used to slap him as a baby. he's same age as my big one now, he has a crooked mouth.

happy birthday jalen &amp; the others!

Lilian, Mildy, Peanut
1100ml really alot huh? I dunno... but Janessa not fatty pom pom leh. Although she's kinda bak bak especially her backside. *ggrrr* nice to "play bite".

haru,
wow, salute you! still pumping every 3 to 4 hrs at work!! i find it very disruptive, and am stretching out the pump sessions now cos intend to stop pumping totally at 1 yr. but hope to continue latching during the weekends too, such a paradox, haha..

dymples,
yes, 1100ml is alot compared to my baby! she only drinks 600ml. i was afraid it was too little but asked my pd many times and he said it was ok. how heavy is baby J? my bb is kinda bak bak too, but petite in size, like me

mildy, peanut,
can i join your baby not sleeping thru the night club? ;p my baby will wake at least 2 on good nights and almost every hour when she is teething. i hv a perpetual headache everyday
so tempted to ask my maid to put her to sleep but feel bad that am already not spending time with her in the day..

<font color="0000ff">HAPPY 1st BIRTHDAY TO JOAN</font>

and

<font color="0000ff">HAPPY 1st BIRTHDAY TO ALYSSA &amp; BRODERICK</font> (Tomorrow)

Jo,
U mistaken your hubby, think he must be feeling sad! Go and sayang him

Happywifey,
Ending of Bf is always contradicting.. On one hand, it was so tiring and hope to stop soon and on the other hand, really feel bu she de to give up.. for my case, i always have to drag for another 1 to 2 months more than only put a full stop on it.

long time didn't post liao, busy with my naughty boi.. Happy birthday to all Oct n Nov Babies....

mildy,peanut, happywifey,
i can join too, my boi likes to wake up around 5+ or 6am for neh neh. don't know for comfort or milk cos he will go back to sleep when neh neh is in his mouth.

dymples,
1100ml is a lot. nowadays my boi drinks less then 500ml a day and refuse to eat porridge. only eat some cereal, puff n puree only.

haru,
i also kena blocked duct occasionally. Don know y? i have stretching the e pump session to 7 - 8 hrs intervene for 5 mths liao but still have this problem... i salute u too. cos i personally find it too disruptive esp at work even though my boss didn't said anything.

joyce,
U are right, i also bu she de to give up totally cos i enjoy the bonding time between my boi n me. the other problem is that my boi like to latch on. when he see me, he refuse to drink from bottle immediately and when he see me take off my shirt, he will start to laugh out loud. haiz, don know how to stop also.

bibi,
my baby too! she would lift up my clothes to latch on whenever she sees me, and at night after she finish latching on to one side, she would dream crawl to the other side and position herself nicely to latch on to the other side! never fails to make me laugh even tho I am so sleepy and annoyed that she is up yet again ;p

you are now pumping 7 to 8 hr interval for 5 months already? are u intending to stop soon? i hv just started to do 6 hrly, wonder how long i will take to stop pumping completely...?

happywifey,
i don know when n how to stop esp my boi like my boob so much. hmm, as long as my boi have enough milk to drink, i'm happy to reduce e pump session. currently i'm pumping 3x a day. before work, mid day n around 7+ or 8pm but i continue to latch him at night.

happywifey/bibi,
it is disruptive to work so sometimes i will stretch it to up to 5 hours. =P i also ever tot of just latching when I am when her, but i think if i were to do tt, supply will just naturally drop and eventually stop completely so i just continue to pump coz honestly, really can't bear to stop. baby is so attached to my boobies especially after her bath and bedtime reading that she will very gan-jiong and go for my boob. quite endearing actually..=)

<font color="0000ff">Yeah!! My dearest Broderick is 1 year old today! Happy birthday to Prince Broderick &amp; Princess Alyssa!</font>

Haru, Bibi, happywifey,
I also bu she de to stop BF-ing... but eventually I did stop BB J at about 10-months old. Cos I read from some baby book, that if baby hits 12-months, it's much much harder to wean them off the breast cos they will be too used to latch-on and will not want to drink milk from bottle. In addition, baby does not need BM after 1-year cos not much nutritional value as baby will get most of the nutrients from food.

So... even though I really really bu she de, in the end 'force' myself to stop Bb J from BF-ing. At first, she will protest loudly. See me only must latch on. So I intro the bottle slowly. Put only 50ml FM in bottle. Then followed by direct latch-on. After 1-week, I increased the FM to 100ml. Then slowly and gradully increased more and more of the FM and decrease frequency of BF-ing. Then because I also din pump much, the milk supply in my boobies also gradually diminished. Then when Bb J latched on, she also realised not much milk milk left... she will auto look for the bottle. Really tiring and drawn out process to wean her off siah. So many times was tempted to stop the process.

dymples
wow..yr girl tk 1100ml everyday...really alot somemore drink every 3hrs. My boy onli tks
3 bots milk total onli 570ml.

Kiki
i also ordered the Puffs liao

We can meet together at SK

re: slap
mu hubby n i also got slap my boy before...
sometimes really can't control...haiz..
But nwdays didn't slap him liao...

HAPPY 1ST BIRTHDAY TO ALYSSA &amp; BRODERICK !!

Dymples: Woah! 1100ml. Tot my boy already drink alot hee..she had 3 solid meals a day too??

Hmm my baby seems to have growth spurts these few days. Can drink like 260ml at 8pm and still finishe another 150-180ml at 10.30pm. He was fussing so much :x and we realised he was so hungry..gosh! Still waiting for that miracle teeth ;p

HAPPY 1st BIRTHDAY TO ALYSSA &amp; BRODERICK!

glad_glad: I finally order my artscow.. haha.. cant wait for it to come.

growth spurts: mine also lei. just now he drank 120ml, then 1 hour later another 120ml. then another hour 120ml. i ever try giving him 180ml at one go, he cant finish. he needs interval.

maid: my current maid leavin on this coming wed. my new maid has been delayed. mon then can come..wa liao.. where got time to train? Die liao.

happy bday to alyssa n broderick!
n well done to fifi n wtan!

dymples, your girl really good so much milk! wish my boy does the same..

rainbowcandybaby, glad gal, minky,
My gal has 2 meals a day... but she may not eat much. Actually she prefers to "munch" on fruits, biscuits, bread, etc throughout the day. hahahhaha... Lucky she likes her milk milk.

dymples, haru, bibi,
i was actually sooo looking forward to stopping bf cos of the hassle of pumping. didnt expect to feel this way now. but yah, i also read that the benefits of bm is not that much after 1 year, so I am definitely gonna stop.. and yay, i will be able to wear dresses again!
luckily my baby doesnt hv any problem with drinking from bottle. the only thing is she is still addicted to my boobies, still wanna latch whenever she sees me.

glad gal,
wow! your baby can drink 260ml at one go!! my baby is still using the smallest sized bottle, max capacity is only 150ml, haha!