(2008/11) November 2008

joycelyn...hmmm..ive yet to try to give fish...scared liao..heard give chicken, then beef then fish..
im positive its allergy..better stop giving fish

Joycelyn, yes that's an allergy. pls be careful. it sounds like a very bad allergy attack. stop giving him fish. In fact i recommend not giving animal protein until ur kid is abt 8mths. I have no idea why ppl are saying bbs need protein 6mth onwards cos i have not come across this at all? The person who said that bbs need protein (animal protein) can u kindly post ur reference here?

Here's my references http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/solidfood6to8montholdbaby.htm
45nd%2C00.html,http://parenting.ivillage.com/baby/bnutrition/0,,45nd,00.html
http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/protein-foods-for-baby.html

Also threadfin, i.e. ikan kurau is one of the fish that bbs react to. i personally know 3 bbs that react to threadfin but is ok with other fish.

On the subject of allergies, Z broke into rash again aft carrots. I getting very very sian liao.

Bear,

Is ikan bilis counted as an animal protein?

If juz use meat to make stock and use the stock to cook porriage, is it the same as giving babies the meat? I mean for allergic reaction.

Bear,

I have this guide of Introducing Solid Food from Singapore baby & Child clinic (SBCC).
It states that from 7mths,
- your baby is ready for home-cooked porridge
- The porridge must contain a vegetable and a protein food
- and so on.....

So i presume must have a protein food, but it can be vegetable source of protein, not necessary come from animal source..

heloo..had a rough evening as bb was crying and screaming for a long time aft her night feed just now. think hubby just managed to pat her to sleep. dunno is it play too just now in e evening.

chilipadi,
i watched the boys over flowers too! missed e first few episodes and recorded the series from KBS and watched at night aft bb slept like you. hee...i love e leading guy, coz he reminds me of Kimu Taku! hahah..

Bear,
me also will wait till 8 mths to introduce protein. think i will start with tofu or fish.

Re: brown rice
any mummies know of good organic brown rice? can i use it to make brown rice porridge (when bb starts to take porridge)? thinkin of letting bb try brown rice porridge (instead of white rice porridge).

any mummy let bb try the fresh food feeder? got one from munchkin, wondering if i can let bb try it esp when we are outside.

Thanks mummy2nia and Bear for the info...I think its quite positive that he is allergy to fish (at least Threadfin), I bath him immediately and let him drink loads of plain water...now his rashes subside liao, phew. Now I rem when Luke was 2.5mths, he also develop rashes...that time went to PD, he say its mosquito bites and bb body react to mosquito bites thats y develop rashes, come to think of it cld be salmon sashimi i ate that time and he prob got it thru breastfeeding... Wanted to intro fish at later stage but MIL kept saying fish is good...sigh...Now I can tell her bb is allergy, must wait. Think I will not intro fish to him till he is prob 1 yr old. Better stick to chicken and pork.

joycelyn
dats true..better stick to chicken and pork. now thinking twice about giving her beef oso. now i just stick to chicken for safety. Ikan bilis is okie oso. I duno whether scientifically proven dat when eating salmon sashimi, bb can develop allergy. hmm...and speaking of sashimi..i hungry liao...yummzz..heheheh

Wah lao, i feel like a zombie. Z was very cranky last night. kept on crying and crying! usually before he slps, he would drink milk. but last night he dun wanna drink at all but kept crying. end up we gave him 60ml at 4am. he woke up at 5+ again to cry...

Re: animal protein
If u ground up the ikan bilis, then yes ur bb is taking in animal protein. So the ans to ur first qn Fifi, is yes. however for no. 2, i personally feel that the amt of protein leeching out from boiling is minimal.

Joyce, high protein diet damages the bb's immature kidneys. i still won't give animal protein. things like legumes and certain grains have enough protein. our BM and even FM has all the protein a bb needs! may be it is a mind set mentality, like a balanced diet must have proteins in it.
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/meat-vegetarian-protein-baby-food.htm

Joycelyn, drinking lotsa plain water won't help. just be careful the next time u intro anything new. u might wanna get the doc to certify that. i'm bringing Z to an allergist cos i need to know why he is getting so much rash aft introduction to solids!

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Good morning mummies</font></font>

Bear, thanks for the link..i didn't know....my maid just cooked meat again, now i tell her to remove the meat cos she use thinly sliced meat to cook. with the porridge and the veges.

Good morning mommies, I'm feeling glad and thankful!

my baby is off-tube, actually by rite still cannot coz cannot totally give him full oral feed still but then doc say as long as his output did not increase and we(caregivers) dun mind more work coz now means feeding him more frequently both day and nite. But doc ask us to monitor, if ever his diarrheoa is more than usual, she say better to put back the tube. *keeping fingers crossed*

I'm really glad to be able to carry him walk here walk there, he hasn't been home yet, coz we been staying at MIL place, thinking to bring him home one of these days to stay.

I'm really so happy to see him wander freely in his walker, instead of being confined to one area always

I'm really so so happy that my baby is freed of that green worm.

Bear:
Okie thanks.

Snnowy:
听者有份?

Re: TaiTai outing
I will be late hor. Coz only after knock off at 12.30pm then I can come. I will take a cab down though.

ENNE!!! i am so happy to hear the really wonderful new!! Clapping my hands when i read this! *GIVE ENNE A BIG BIG HUG!!*

Fifi-maybe not now yet, coz still nid to monitor, coz afraid his output is too much after no tube-feed andweight loss, so we nid to monitor for now. u still rem the party ah, I almost forgot. kekeke.

Lilian,mummy2nia-yeahh... I'm really so glad!!

<font color="aa00aa">Enne
Thats a great start to the morning! Yippy!

mummy2nia
I follow their series, but now its getting more and more dramatic.. and yes, they have filed for divorce and will be seperating. They are gonna take turns to stay with their kids. so poor thing hor.. </font>

Snnowy, thanks in advance then!
Bear, is it because Z is teething? or stomach too bloated?
Lilian &amp; Fifi, truely a great news right?

aden's mummy
yahlor..i really pity the kids...sigh sigh....
of cos marriages arent perfect.
sometimes my hub and i argue, but we cant stay mad at each other for long cos we always think of bb

Bear> can it be t weather too warm causing Z to b cranky?
My gal can slp better in air-con. I didn't wan 2 make it a habit for her, but have to blame t warm weather for t past 2 mths!

lilian, my boy cant get use to weather without aircon... he sweat buckets! bt BB Z got sensitive nose cant sleep aircon right?

Adenmummy-hehehe..

minky-party for my little fighter!

Bear-I heard abt the prick test, whereby they take the results send to US or wherever to check the allergies rite..

Good morning mummies,

Enne
This is excellent news. I am sure all mummies here feel your happiness. We are so happy for you. I will continue to pray that baby L will continue to grow strong. Just happy news in the morning... what a way to start the day... But hor, don't bring him out unnecessary especially with the swine flu and when school reopens, the HFMD will also come. So just be careful...

Mummynia,
if I order today, it takes 2 days for stock to arrive than I have to collect. So maybe this wkend shld be ready. Let me call the clinic 1st.

Haru,
I actually like Gu Jun Pyo but now I like Yun Ji Hu cos' he is so sweet and sacrificing. My older sis and her daughter are oso crazy over this show. I think I will be watching it over and over again...

Fifi,
ya, count you in. keke

Enne,
Phew, it must be a great relieve for you. Congrats that bb L has reached this milestone.

Enne,
I am happy for u too

Fifi,
np, see u later!

bear,
think i will switch to more legumes instead of animal protein after read through the link u provides.

Enne, by the way when baby is on the walker do watch over him my boy v careless always bump here and there got a lot of blue black. even with us watching him...

chillipadi,snnowy,joyce,moomummy-hehe.. thanks.. really THANK GOD.

minky,babyzel-haha, yeah lo.. surprisingly although he don't have much 'training', but he is able to roam freely and fast around the hse.. kekeke. think he is happy lo without restrictions and without the green worm.

wtan-hehehe thanks.. I hope his condition stays ok, although happy but still worrying, think must take a step at a time.

chilipadi..u are going to knock my head wit a hammer.
i want the 1.8kg..if 900g, den i dun want..i tot 1.8kg for 33..hmm...hmm.......your doc got or not... *runs and hide behind the chair*

Enne, take it slowly. just enjoy this moment of joy and wait for more to come.
worry abt other things later.

By the way the last time i post saying that if baby has fever can buy a cooling mat for them to lie on here is a pic of it.

i found the mat recently at one of the baby shop @ tamp st 81 blk 821. pretty good i must say bring down fever quite fast. cost abt $10.90 per pcs. brand of mat is Aquacool.
2606716.jpg