(2008/11) November 2008

Finally got time to come in here to report...

Fifi,
sorry, had to run off cos' boss call me than rushed out for lunch. To answer your question, I have not started giving emma egg or meat. We started her on porridge yesterday. My mum used the magic thermal pot to cook the porridge with fish and carrots. She cooked till the porridge was very soft and fed her. No need to blend at all. Apparently, emma loves it. She had it for lunch and dinner. Had kiwi fruit which her godma fed her.

Mosh,
My baby also seems to enjoy porridge more compared to cereal. I'm trying to give her a cerarl feed in the morning and porridge for lunch and dinner.

Wah..quite a number of babies got teeth already...mine still bo gei. Must take more photos of his gummy smile..kekeke

Re Porridge
Still haven't started on porridge. Cereal plus purees so easy to prepare. To my surprise, he actually likes celery! Both me and my hb hates the taste. Also, not sure who but thanks for alerting that BB needs protein...will have to start thinking of how to start preparing porridge with fish and chicken...argh

Re Aquaduck trial
Likely will be me to go down with BB. HB might not go. Hope there will be more mummies in water...looks like more daddies in water with bb

RE: Tai tai outing
Sure, see u mummies in the restaurant!

Minky,
hope Issac can get well soon! Give him more water..

haru, pam,
if ur bb likes cereal, then shd be no hurry to introduce porridge. And yes, some mummies mentioned the need to introducte protein to bb after they are 6 mths, so probably porridge is easy to go with meat/fish.

Lilian,
think soon u will hear ur girl talking hokkien to her ah ma... Hee

You should be starting bb off with pork rather than chicken as chicken can cause allegics (I'm allegic to chicken and egg). TCM also never encourage parents to use chicken as it will cause phelgm for infant. To prepare pork stock will be the best.I also use the same stock to cook noodles for my #1 for lunch. Alternative, munnies can also try fish stock.

This is what I usually do:

2603088.jpg

I usually buy 3-6 猪大骨from the market. It cost about $1 - $1.30 each depending on the stall.

2603089.jpg

Wash and rinse off with hot boiling water for 1 minute(to wash off those dirty blood)

2603090.jpg

Next add in ikan bilis (washed off or else salty), carrots and boils for 1 and a half to 2 hours.

2603091.jpg

After 2 hours, cool it and sieve it. Pack the stock into the right amount and store. (Usually give me 2 weeks supply)

2603092.jpg

To cook porride, I will just take 1 pack out, wash the rice and add in the stock, together with some carrot/brocolli/ slice of lean meat (to add sweetness, after that I will eat the meat cos mince meat seems too much for her to chew/swallow).

Hope this tip will be helpful and save time for working mummies as you can prepare this on weekend.

Lilian,
Use a high pressure cooker to steam fruit. It save time in steaming too long, destoying too much vit and mineral and remember to wipe the lid with a cloth before you open to retain the nutrient value

snnowy, THANKS !
Can i know t reason for using pig bone to make t stock? Is for taste or for nutritious values?
Whats t difference if I just use lean meat to boil with the rice (ie. w/o t prepared stock)?

Snnowy,
same here. This is what i do for my #1 previously, just that we add in different ingredients. I get to learn this from this mummy at http://littlegastronomy.blogspot.com/.

But some older generation will find the stock too (liang) cause we freeze it. But again, is up to individual, i find it very convenient too.

thanks joyce, ya hope he get well soon he really hate that flu n cough cause he keep vomitting his milk out when he cough and tat flu is causing his nose to be v stuffy...

any mom's baby have constipation for more then 3 days?

joyce
That drama is already translated to mandarin liao. keke.. But t mandarin cannot make it those kind.
Actually i dun mind if she can speak a lil dialect.
I have 2 distant niece/nephew who speak english/mandarin to parents, hokkien to ah ma and malay to maid. Impressed.

minky
umm.. nini also stil having runny/block nose.. so long already eat so much cold med stil not recovered.. i long for her to be ok cos wan to bring her out to the pool lei

hello mummy

i'm back.. lilian is right. i am on ML tis week ... start work on friday.. but am sick & busy! kns.. only today den can rest more...

gam sia peanut for helping me to organise the taitai outing. hahaha..

peanut,
nini cld be having some allergy. Sometimes prolong running nose is allergy. like meg, she will have running nose for a long time and when we throw away her smelly pillow, the running nose goes away.
dust also can irritate the nose. my niece's room got no curtains cos' it traps dust and gives her nose problems also. maybe just take all her stuff toys, pillows etcs for a good wash and sun. maybe it might help.

SIMILAC MILK
Any mummies want to order similac milk stage 2? I can get $33.50 per 900gm tin. Let me know cos' I am going to order tomorrow. But have to be self collect at my place - hougang.

Porridge,
only starting emma on fish porridge - threadfin fish... apparently it's fish is brain food. Megan had alot of it till today.

Korean Drama,
Any mummies saw the KD Boys before/over Flowers. I am so totally hooked to it. Bought the DVDs in Jakarta... very cheap, $1 for one disc. After emma goes to sleep, I will chase my KD.

Minky,
If baby is not showing any discomfort, it's quite ok if they don't poo. But if he has signs of discomfort or pain and crying alot, than that's a cause for concern. Bring to PD quickly.

Lilian,
It is for both the taste as well as nutrient value. Porridge/soup cooked with stock are tastier. Also pork, although a white meat, but it is usually group with beed as red meat (My hubby don't encourage the kids to take beef due to religion issues). Pork is very high in thiamin. The stock will enhance the taste of porridge

Jpyce,
yup, it really depends on individual. However not known that the older generation thought that the stock is (liang).

snnowy, thks for t explanation.
hay, i din know pork is white meat leh
Yr pix and words like porridge, soup, pork is making me hungry !!

chilipadi
ah... so al this while i mayb giving her flu med for nottin lor.. she having sinus like me?? gosh.. poor bb.. see her block nose sometimes like v xin ku.. -_-"

Minky,
Not to worry, somehow they will go thru all this tiny bits of illness. I rmb my gal vomitted many times too when she was sick, esp when we feed her medicine, she will throw out all her milk! Then hv to clean the mess and re-feed again!

Lilian,
yes, i am impressed too. My #1 also learning different language now.. English to parents, mandarin to grandparents, Malay to kakak and also hokkien to tai ma.. (hmm, malay and hokkien is still improving!) I really hope that he can master all

Alibaba,
u finally appeared after missing for so many days!

Snnowy,
ya lor.. When i prepared all this stock previously, both my mum and mil kept saying too liang for the kids, but i ignore them!

Lilian,
What's good about porridge,Let me treat you to these: (Dinner I've made for my hubby last night)*make you drool* haha

2603473.jpg

Stem fish

2603474.jpg

Stem prawn with winter melon sliced

Joyce,
Egg Yolk: I intro to my gal twice. And twice she vomitted. And i onli mix egg yolk with FM. So for now, i am stopping it, till she is much older.

OMG !!!!!!!!!! Snnowy U bad bad!
I already ask my tea break kakis to go earlier later.
The dishes really really look damn delicious ! OMG OMG OMG!
* Lilian running around, pulling her hair, dripping saliva *

Chilipadi,
hi.. was asking ur advice previously what kinda rice cakes u gave emma? And must their swallowing skill be good? Will get choke easily? Thinking of getting, but dunno which one to start. Any advice?

chilipadi, he is already down with flu n cough so sure uncomfortable i dont knw hw to tell the difference. bt seem like he is nt bothered abt the poo poo. will wait n c one more day.
Issac like taking photos nw.
he will smile for the cam no matter what he is doing. quite cute.

snnowy bad bad... bt the food look good... v long time dont hav decent home cook food liao nxt time u cook more k we go your house to eat wahhaa

Yoyosan,
I bought the organix finger foods to let her try. I basically break into tiny piece and feed her. The rice cakes will soften when in contact with saliva so making it easy to swallow. But emma has got good chewing movement so now i give her slighly bigger pieces for her to chew to relief the itch on her gums. looks like she is going to have 4-6 teeth in one go_Oso when we were in JKT, I gave her some plain bread as well and she liked it too. Basically emma is a foodie and will eat everything. Just last night when my nephew was eating a banana, she just stared at him and the banana, waiting for him to give her some. damn greedy.... but still so small size

Lilian,
My elder girls used to watch the 'yi nan weng' with my mum too.Now,is my boy's turn.I was telling my mum, dun knw hw many donkey years going to show.Mayb when my #3 is out, oso haven finish watching.

But i dun mind lar,my gal can learn chinese from there.And guess wat, my elder girl can even sing the song now! OMG!
And you knw the 'Ai' taiwanese show at weekend evening.She knows the song too but chorus onli lar.

Joyce,
Same same. I was surprised at my elder gal other language development.She can understand and talk in cantonese and malay.My parents speak cantonese to her and my neightbour speaks malay with her.. wakakaka

RE:tai tai gathering
See i ladies tomoro!

snowwy...thanks for the tip..oh ya..since im muslim, i substitute with chicken lah..ur pics can make me drool leh...i mean the fish and the prawns..btw, u shld set up a website just like littlegastronomy @ blogspot. :)

Egg Yolk
I only intro to her like twice..so far, she doesn't like leh...but the nurse at poly told me keep giving her..only the egg yolk. egg white may develop allergies

My cough and sore throat
remember the post i mention abt my boss calling me to ask me whether i got h1n1? apparently..the colleague dat i worked with dat day who just came back from Paris took the same flight with someone who has h1n1!!!! yikes!

mummy2nia,
it's from my company doctor but i have to buy in bulk to get it at this price. I am going to order for me and my sis tomorrow so if you want I can order for you. I need to meet a minimum of 10 tins.

Yipee.. tomolo 7 of us!

Tai Tai Outing tomono:
Meet direct Pearl River @ suntec convention hall level 3 @1230pm ok? Booking under my name - Ling Ling (actually i book 12pm so if u can b early pls go in 1st). Try not to be too late cos think the buffet ends 2.30pm...

1) Alibaba
2) Pinenut
3) bbzel
4) Fifi
5) Happydays
6) Kash
7) Joyce

Egg Yolk
tt day i was telling my MIL can start giving egg yolk liao.. then she say long time ago when she start her on kuay tiao already put egg.. Then i angry liao lor.. ask her only egg yolk or egg white also included.. she say everything!! i sibey tulan..!! not as if i never tell her before egg white CANNOT GIVE BEFORE 1 YEAR!!!! wah sibey angry now tok abt it again. I told her NO MORE EGG WHITE!. Haiz but really lor i wonder even if she stop giving now got use not.. since bb system already gena liao... -_-

mummy2nia
aiyor how to confirm bb really ok... would some allergies only surface when they grow older?? After tt i told MIL again not to giv egg white liao then she say ok -_-... Of cos no say sorry la cos to her she's the most experience and nottin wil happen to the bb..

*Jump onto Lilian Hug her and both on fire and 爆炸 together with Lilian worst with eye balls all drop out and squashed into juice***

wah piangz..! Dun hug me peanut. I dun wan die together with u la
I'm running off now, to Best Denki buy my mini slow cooker!

anyone got the mobile no. for Gal.Dolphin? I'm trying to get in touch wz her. Pls PM me if u hv her contact. Thks lots.

Dear Mommies, any of your babies allergy to fish? I gave bb Luke ikan kurau porridge, a few mins later, while feeding, he develop rashes all over his face, hands, legs, body and one eye red...gosh! I suspest he is allergy to fish.