(2008/11) November 2008

Lilian

Here are some warning signs that you should watch for to ensure that your child is developing at a normal rate:

One of the first signs of autism is if the baby does not look, make eye contact, or turn after hearing their name.
If the baby doesn't smile in response.
If the baby doesn't mimic what you're doing.
If the baby doesn't make attempts to talk (gibberish, babbling)
If the baby is not visually attracted to things.

mornin!

Lilian, yea posted there this morning hope will get a response

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Morning Mummies</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Blessed Mum, happy, Lillian
*waves*
So i'll just continue with his rice cereal and will try again the apple/pumpkin again..

Hw do you make ur puree? </font>

aden'sm
For apple, i blend. For pumpkin, i mash
Is your puree smooth enough? My bb will refuse to eat puree if still have lumps/bits in there.

RE: Aquaducks Trial
Likely hubby will 下水. He can swim better.

Re: Cereal Amt
I din follow exactly the amt also. Now my duaghter is taking about half a bowl (rice bowl size) of cereal for BF (with fruits) and 1 bowl of porriage each for lunch and dinner. The first mouthful she takes at every meal, she will give a look that seems to suggest that she hates it but actually she likes the food. Cos she will complain if we are too slow at feeding her after that.

Re: DOIDY Cups
All your cups mailed out le except those self collect and those who have not paid. Anyone who wants me to bring cups for Tai Tai outing, please let me know. My daughter is gradually getting used to the cup and we managed to get her to drink abit more water now. She hates water. Ask her to drink is like wanting her life like that. But at least now she's getting used to the cup.

Re: Internet Access
I will not be able to login to SMH in the day tomorrow and wednesday. Will be working in a different location and my boss will be behind me.

Re: Tai Tai outing
Pearl River is buffet?

Fifi
yah pearl river is chiness/dimsum buffet.. refer to above post.. $26.80++ per head. work out $31nett exclude tea charges. I was saying i tink its better cos aft that we can walk over to marina sq for other activities..

Any violent objection???

Tai Tai Outing

Venue: Pearl River buffet @Suntec > Walk over to Marina Sq for Pink Parlour spa/massage/pedi/meni/bikini wax/facial (Optional) > Shopping > Coffee/Cakes/Tea

Time: Ok to meet 1230 to start lunch? e buffet ends 2.30pm i think..

Gd morning..

Re: Autism
Actually if a bb is OVERTLY attracted to certain visuals, that is also a sign of autism. Ppl still do not know what causes autism, it seems to hit boys more than gals. also u won't be able to tell if a kid has autism until abt 2 yrs old. the comprehensive test for autism can only be taken abt 5 yrs old i think. Some ppl feel that vaccination causes autism, but if that's the case then more kids shd be autistic cos there are compulsory jabs. I need to do more research on this, but most ppl feel the MMR is the one that 'causes' autism. Have been having intensive discussion abt this with a fren of mine. heh..

Re: Taitai outing
If u guys are gg to Suntec, CALL ME! i m at Suntec from today 3pm onwards.
Won't be checking into the forum at all.

Mildy, got gd spree rem to tell me hor. hahaha..

Peanut, no i won't be able to eat with u all.. can come and say HI! cos we will be provided with food. I'm at SIWW the whole wk!

I wish i can join u all for mani/pedi too.. but i have to be there writing notes on the scientific talks. bleah...

<font color="aa00aa">Lillian
How to make it smooth ah? Apple puree must add some water right?

Fifi
I haven started on porridge yet, Aden's not fighting to be fed, its more i'm fighting to FEED him.. arrrgghhh

bubblebee_mum
Welcome!

ahahhaaa... bear.. but tot u say u dun pedi/medi one?

Wow i jus read from the website this Pink Parlour also provide private parties for gals... Got private nite movie with pedi/meni/popcorns/chips.. interesting..

aden'sm
I steam t apples for 15min. Then blend them together with some water left in the bowl (t one used for steaming)

Was reading the thread mummy2nia provided abt vaccine causes autism. Very insightful.
But as a layman, it is really hard to decide wat is best.

My b sleep is getting horrible! last nite slept at 10pm.. as usual heard her wake up cry a couple of times before i go to bed.. Then!! this morning my mil say she woke up at 3am and play on her own until 5am then feed + sleep!!!!! HORRIBLE...... how come got bb not tired one!! Now her eyebags like getting worst.. But one thing yest my mum's place got party cos niece bday.. so a lot of kids and noises.. so wonder if she too stimulated and hong xim liao

hello mummies...ive been down with a sore throat and cough the since Sat. Since im working shifts and kena work on weekends, i tahan and tahan until i buay tahan! hahah...so today im on mc liao...so sad cldnt spend Mothers Day (im oso working) and Fathers Day this year!

Lilian, good to share with you all. I noe wat u mean, its tough to decide whether vaccine is good. I have still yet to decide, to vaccine or not. U noe, that first 6 mos when we have to bring our bbs for vaccination, we always have to look out for fever. Wah, so stressful. when i read forum, i felt like i was torturing my bb!

Nutnut...my bb likes watery not too lumpy wait she will get choked! Ur nini opp cos ur mil 'train' her mah..

Porridge
btw, i've started giving bb porridge for the past week. Today, i asked my maid to put minced meat inside..just a bit, cos i read the ang moh recipe book from 7 mos give beef lah, lamb lah. Mainly for protein. She ate a bit then found the taste funny. After a few spoonfuls, she reject the food leh.

<font color="aa00aa">Lillian
I think my blender i used is too big, those for fruit juice kind, so when i add water, it becomes too watery.. </font>

nutnut..bb are like dat..got visitors, after dat hard to sleep!!! hehehe...

Sean Lau
I called but kena voicemail. dey say they will open form 25th june. any mummies book their photoshoot already?

adensmummy..
i long time nvr use my u-like blender for 2 weeks already cos always use the pigeon foodmaker! hehe.dat reminds me i so hafta go to Tangs to change my straight blade. dat time i blend the rubber stopper tog with bb's food..aiyo

<font color="aa00aa">mummy2nia
the pigeon food maker consist of what ah? good to use? hb keeps telling me not to buy things liao and to use whatever there is in the hse.. haha, think i shop too much, he finally fed up liaoz.. </font>

Hi, would like t know whether the mummies here actually store baby food in food trays, freeze it and use it later. my boy is close to 7 mths old and he's still feeding on rice cereals still. he rejects porridge.

bubblebee

Welcome to the thread! I used it only once. I freeze broccoli but my bb prefer the fresh ones...i tot of selling it. Bought at $12, willing to let go at $8 with normal postage. Bought from one mummy from the forum. one of the cube cover is spoil though (manufacturer's fault). If u want, let me know ya.

adensmummy...yups, definitely..always use this to make puree..bb likes lumpier food, if use blend, will b too fine. me bought mine from kiddypalace..now got sale hor...hehehe

adensmummy, since your bb like rice cereal, have you tried mixing apple puree with the rice cereal? my bb loves that! just steam apple, sieve it, then mix it with the rice cereal along with some of the water that came with steaming the apple.... mix till smooth! Also, sometimes the apples are sour thats y bb not used to it... when the apples are sweet its easier for them to accept in the beginning i think! Today, i tried pear with rice cereal and bb loves that too! made 3 and a half tbs and he wanted more!

bubblebeemum, welcome!!
I also learn alot and get good tips frm this thread...

oh yes and i use the pigeon food maker also to make all of bbs food! very useful! quantity too small now to use blender... jus the food maker is enough!

<font color="aa00aa">mummy2nia, blustar
my bb also takes better to lumpier (more paste-y) kinda food.
i tried mixing the apple puree to his rice cereal, but i think mayb the apple i got wasn't sweet. what brand of apple shld i get instead?
my rice cereal is powder form, so easy to make, just 10mins nia, its the puree that takes up so much of my time and then .... fail.. heheh
so if i use the food maker, hw to make the puree? </font>

Porridge: I just started porridge on bb once a day for dinner. breakfast is rice cereal with fruit purees. My bb likes porridge to be more watery otherwise difficult to swallow. I try on him using chicken stock, I add some pumpkin, apple and minced chicken. so far he like it. yesterday i try fish. i don think fish he can eat now. very difficult for him to swallow. plus i think bear sent a web abt making bb food. the web say fish should start when bb reaches 10mth old. chicken should start first.

Fifi: I didnt know that the payment for the doidy cups. Can I have a yellow doidy cup? can pm me. I transfer the amt to you?

adens mummy, the food maker comes with a sieve so i just steam the apple and mash it through the sieve so the food wont have any lumps. It also comes with a grinder and motar which is useful for foods like spinach etc... actually apples you wont know if its sweet or sour till you eat it! even the same brand of apple will taste different!

<font color="aa00aa">blustar
the sieve is those metal kind right? but the gap issit big? i've got the normal plastic one at home, but not sure if i can mash the apple through it.. i still have 2 more apples in the fridge can testing. haha

Peanut,
i m fine with the buffet at suntec cause can eat more! But for mani/pedi, think i won't do it cos my fingernail are so short and one of my toe nail has crack!

RE: baby's meal
seems like some mummies already start 3 solid food for your bb! I am still at 2, cereal for bf and porridge for dinner. Think hv to gradually increase to 1 more meal at lunch. But i do give teething rusk for her during tea break.

Peanut,
Me not joining pedi/mani cos i already got package elsewhere and still left quite a few seesions. I'm on for buffet/tea/shopping...
I just sms Alibaba, dun know how she is. Long time never see her here.
HT Oatmeal : My gal loves it ley. Ur nini still dun like to eat? or u need to make it lumpy just as nini like it? I think R prefers HT to HB. Jialat, still got 3 tins of HB.

Re: Tai Tai outing
If dowan mani pedi, can consider foot reflex at Kenko too. Not fish spa hor. Those press press foot reflex. Not bad and what I like abt it is that they dun use oil. They use powder. Wont be slimy slimy.

Yah I also have quite a few sessions of mani/pedi at Nail Xpert. One of the last times i went was with Jo and Alibaba before we delivered. So long ago...

Peanut, i wanna do pedi cos this whole wk i need to wear heels and suit! :p but too late liao.. later gg to suntec to do hard labour. heh.. then will try to sneak off to go and buy a pair of nice shoes!

Actually, u guys shd intro pork first rather than chicken. apparently pork is the least allergenic of all the meat.

Joyce, Z is only on ONE solid meal a day, just plain puree some more. sigh..

Tai tai outing..
yeap stil got kenko to consider abt foot reflex/ shoulder massage. anyway tink its opened as an option. those who likes to relax can go ahead with this activities (which wil last e most 1hr) aft finish then meet back those who r out shopping aound lor tsk tsk..

Bear
??? i was thinking u at suntec attedning convention.. but then u mention hard labour? dunoe wat u doin ther liao.. got bugs to catch ther meh??

Porridge
yest i cook one with LOTS of things! pork + ikan bilis powder + sweetcorn + carrot + brocoli + fish! my mil keep laughing at me.. say so sweet liao stil wan to put in fish at the end.. But bb likes it lor.. tink cos its quite sweet aft al this ingredients.. Actually might not be a good ting.. wait she dun like blend stuffs liao...