(2008/11) November 2008

then we can walk over to marina sq for pedi/meni or kenko spa if people wants.. then mothercare and kiddy palace also at marina sq.. hahahaa.. then after coffee a few choices ther as well.. Worth considering..
Rest of mommies wat u al tink and any suggestion??

actually can also take dim sum at Asia Grand, it is ala carte bt nt too bad too. can eat full at 20 plus per person. it is the chinese restaurant at odeon. was suppose to load up the pic for u all to c bt then cant load too big....

peanut, i tink the last time u wanted to hav the dinner at tat restaurant. by the way do nt go fish spa if possible cause it is the easiest way to spread germs...

minky
yah tt time i also suggest asia grand but its not buffet rite??
i read reviews on pearl river and its quite good.. i dun mind paying $30nett for buffet.

k u go try pearl river feedback k.

BBzel
i got thier menu
limited to 1 serving - braised whole mini abalone, lamb brisket, fried seabass, deepfried prawns, sauteed scallops, soft shell crab, pork spare ribs..
Then got the usual dimsum items..
Also got a few soup choices..
other meat stuffs and veg, rice/noodles... Dessert counter also hav,,

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Mummies, can make a vote, who going down the water with baby? Daddy or Mummy?, I tinking of asking my HB, but if major mummy then i will go down</font></font>

<font color="ff0000">AQUADUCK TRIAL 12 July 09 (SUN) </font>
Venue : PortDown Road
Timing Either 2.30pm or 3pm or 3.30pm

2.30pm
1) Shortgal
2) Chilipadi
3) Kiki
4) iluvbli55
5) blustar
6) blustar's fren

3pm
1) Fifi
2) Yokoh
3) glad_gal
4) Pam ??
5) Jo 15??
6) Vincy frez.

3.30pm
1) Vincy -daddy
2) Kash
3) Happy
4) BaByzel
5) Maggie
6) Bear

mummy2nia..ya oversea..kekeke

snowy pm u liao.

Happy u wan the Jinbei? after convert is $15.90, I saw bp selling at $22.80...wah so x.

Kash u placed order ? need my help?

hey mommies!

been MIA for very long time. no time to log in. bb been fussing and waking up at night. me so early knock off.

meal: mummies who have started porridge for bb. what kind of fish u introduced? I am reading a baby food recipe (western style). saw a recipe using minced chicken, peas and carrots porridge. any mom give minced chicken yet? inside got recipe saying giving bb between 7 mths to 9mth cheese.. hmmm.. have any mummies try these yet?

Hi Lynn!

ya, havent seen u quite a while. i oso read the western bb recipe book, dey even state to intro lamb. I asked my mum, she said scared too early..i think fish not so bad. now, just giving her peas, carrots, vege, potatoes, brocolli etc, mainly veges. not too sure abt cheese though. i think ill wait for her to turn 8 mos then i dare to try.

BTW, do join our FB group! :)

Mummy2nia: yeah, very tired look after bb nowadays. he super cranky, hope is teething.. till now still no teeth. yeah. I read that too much veg and fruits not too good. now bb reaches 7 mth, must have some proteins. very trouble over his meals. my MIL super blur, she like everything don know. haiz.. my mom is like everything can, from frog legs etc.. scary. one is blur queen and another one is extreme. headache.

FB group: what that?

<u>AQUADUCK TRIAL 12 July 09 (SUN) - Who 下水</u>
Most likely my hubby, cos I'm a dry duckie.
Doesn't matter right?

Haru: Thanks for the info

Kash: Swim Pants >
Alamak, No need lah, I bought one pack. If you are keen, I can pass one to you, maybe on one of those HFC gathering?.
Size is 3-4, for babies 7-15 kg (blue colour pack), should be ok right?
http://www.pampers.com/en_US/proddetail/id/900822

Lynn..frog legs???? dat one erm..adult then eat lah ah... wat u say is true..bb needs protein. your bb is definitely teething cos oso cranky, just like my bb! heheh...

FB group is Facebook group...bear just launched our spore motherhood nov 08 group there... :) u pm me ur add, i invite u!

Mummy2nia: haha.. thanks for the update and help. I have already pm u.

Mamypoko pull up pants: Mummies, I bought a L size for boys. Mamypoko pants. my bb have try a few. but notice that a bit too small.. any one wants it? I am giving it away.

re: swimming
as the pool at portsdown has a heater (water temp will be regulated) so some babies can do without a wetsuit. however would still recommend using water diaper (to prevent lil poopy accidents, =P) and maybe a sunsuit or wetsuit. do bring along extra towels so you have one for quick wrap right after coming out from pool and another for after shower. =)

Vaccinations
I cannot say that I am an expert on vaccinations.. but I do understand that the link between autism and MMR vaccines has been proven to be weak (but dont take my word for it, i heard it from a friend who works in the pharma industry). I think mommies should do their own proper research through checking out scientific trials or studies done on the vaccines. If you google autism and link, you can find a thousand things that has been linked to autism ie pesticides, size of baby's head etc., but such statements should at least be verified by a scientific evidence ie a good decent size trial lasting for several years. Lastly if it helps, most of the pharma companies are working towards making all vaccines mercury free. If mommies are really worried, you have a right to ask your paed for evidence that the vaccine is safe/pass you clinical papers to read and gauge for yourself. I for one am too lazy but maybe our Professor Bear can throw up a couple of good research to see what are the pros/cons of vaccinations!

Haru/Kash/Bear/Pumping while driving
I use a medala freestyle (but have done it using a medala PIS before). I attach the cups to my boobs, switch on my pump, put on my seatbelt, and start driving!! I admit sometimes I would have to put my arms across the 2 funnels to keep it in place. But when I am wearing a fitted nursing top, a nursing bra (preferably those that are almost fully covered except for a modest hole) and make sure I adjust it properly after it is switched on, the funnels would be able to stand on its' own. The freestyle also has a handsfree function which i dont use but I am sure it'd be very helpful if you wanna pump and drive (i hope it is not illegal to pump and drive!! oops!!) It takes about 15 -20 mins for me to drive to work so just nice for 1 pumping session. Saves me a lot of time and is more private/hygenic than pumping in the nursing room/toilet.

I am going to belgium this weekend. Stopover at Frankfurt/Amsterdam airport. Is there anything nice to buy in the airports?!?! Also if mommies want anything lemme know i can tompang back.

Haru
Oooooh 20% off for the other colors also?!!? Sounds cheaper than Motherswork!!! okok i go this weekend!!!

Kash
WOW is it true that you can eat meehon and drive at the same time?! That is WAAAAY more difficult than pumping and driving!

Fifi
I LOVE MY DOIDIES!! I can see what Kaitlyn is drinking and it is so much easier to use than a normal cup! She loves it.. always trying to grab it from me! When she drinks from it, she is like a mini-adult! =))

Teat
Kaitlyn is still drinking from a size 1 teat for Avent. Is this normal? Should I have changed it to size 2???

Pamela!! u got the doidy already?? Fifi!!! where's mine? :p

Vaccinations:
Pam, i noe wat u mean...i think as a parent, we hafta knoe wat is going inside our bb's body...we have to do a research b4 making any decision, to vaccine or not.

Oh, bear is prof ah? hehehe....so wat do u think bear?

hi mummies: weekend again.

bear, lilian: thanks for your concern. yes, money is a worry but i guess i have been thrifty all along so have some savings for anor few mths. the challenge will be if &amp; when we finally get our new flat.

bibi, enne: not to be a wet blanket but i'm concerned if y'all quit without getting jobs first unless your notice is 3 mths. for me, i'm prepared to stay at home up to 3 mths in addition to my notice which is 1 mth's time. i haven't tendered yet. have promised my boss to wait till she finds somebody or end of july, whichever the earlier.

ok, no more depressing topics. gathering!

babyzel, where did u find such a cheap swimsuit??? i also want one for rachel.

Venue: my place at bukit batok
Date: 5 July 2009 Sunday
Time: let's do a pot luck lunch?

1) amooks
2) Happy
3) joyce_7580
4) Bear
5) jo15 (5th July? Good!)
6) Dymples
7) Babyzel
8) Olwen (maybe only 1 baby)

hey pam,
i think its only another 1 or 2 colors that are on 20%. but def a better disc than motherworks. i heard from the mothercare staff that motherworks aint too happy that they are giving sucha huge disc. hahah..

i am using teat 2 for bb. seems ok for now. she was getting kinda frustrated with teat 1 so "upgraded" her to teat 2. will stick to teat 2 tho since she is still BF-ing.

Re:doidy cup
cool!! i can't wait to collect mine from fifi. hee!! been letting her try using a sippy cup. quite cute to see her sticking her tongue out like a lil puppy. she loves drinking water!!

<font color="ff6000">Hi Mummies,
Hw is your babies like after trying pumpkin and apple puree?
Mine is simply not interested. He gives me the wanna vomit look lor..

i'm not sure if i'm doing it right, but so far its pumpkin puree and apple puree, rice cereal he still takes, haiz..

adens's mummy,
it's ok.. dun be despair.. try again.. sometimes they are just not used to the taste only..

my boy also dun like pumpkin initially so i stopped a few days then try again.. hulla..he ate!hehe..

lilian, the TMC first aid looks ok... at least half day! think the 3 days one too hardcore for me! I might consider that one!

adens mummy, my boy puked all his pumpkin out first time he tried... I will probably try again next mth. maybe not used to the taste.. think give them some time!

can't wait to get my doidy cup too! So far the only sippy cup my boy will drink from is the first few years take and toss cups! he likes hard spouts rather than the soft teat spouts! funny boy rite? only problem is that cup has no cover so can't bring out... and i tried many others but he don't like! avent one very hard to suck ( i tried myself), pigeon he also dun like...tommytippy also....wat am i gonna do with all those cups? haha . hope he will like using the doidy cups!

olwen,
my hb supported my decision n he insisted that i shd tender on monday. my resignation letter is also prepared by him.

BTW, r u in compliance?

<font color="ff6000">blustar, Gal.dolphin
Thanks ladies

How do you prepare the puree? I din get any blender so everything is kinda manual for me, but i'm not sure if i'm doing it right.

For pumpkin and apple, both is steamed and then mashed up.

Today i tried brown rice, i added some formula + mix into the HB brown rice, he's also not interested. *pulls hair*</font>

Venue: my place at bukit batok
Date: 5 July 2009 Sunday
Time: let's do a pot luck lunch?

1) amooks
2) Happy
3) joyce_7580
4) Bear
5) jo15 (5th July? Good!)
6) Dymples
7) Babyzel
8) Olwen (maybe only 1 baby)
9) BlessedMum (Maybe BB evangeline)

hihi peanut..
pie-say ah..yest call ur nick out..haha..coz i only remember ur nick leh..indeed ur girl is v well-grown &amp; tall for her age, hey, gd job ah..

Blessedmum, Fifi, have approved u. Rem to pls intro urself on the Wall.

Aden's mum, research has shown that a baby need 15-21 instances of trying out new food before they develop like/dislike of the food. "an infant between 15-21 instances of trying out a (new) food before a true like or dislike is established. If you are just beginning to introduce solid foods, you really will not be able to determine if your baby has a true dislike for a food until much later. In the initial stages of solid food introduction, you will be met with funny faces as your baby tries to understand the textures and taste of the new foods. These funny faces, and even a refusal to open ones mouth for a feeding, do not necessarily indicate a dislike for a food. Remember, baby has been accustomed to nothing but breast and/or bottle for 6 months; putting a new object (spoon) full of a new substance (sweet potato) into his mouth is probably quite disconcerting!" as quoted from Wholesomebabyfood.com. i dun think Aden doesn't it like. he just needs to get use to the whole idea.
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/babyfoodmyths.htm

Re: immunisation linked to autism
This is something i have heard abt but have not research deep into this area. The link Mummy2nia showed pretty much covers everything. I need to think a bit deeper before i decide if i want to delay Z's immunisation.

Mummy2nia, no i m not a prof.

<font color="ff6000">Bear
^waves* thanks for explaining! I guess i'll have to try another 14-20 times more

The PD advised that baby shld be taking 6oz of cereal 2x a day. So how to determind 6oz? I just started him at 6.5mths daily on rice cereals, which is abt 4tsp with abt 100ml of water. so the cereal is kinda paste-ty.. </font>

thanks for the link!

Aden,
Yes,you hav to keep on trying.And when bb giving a vomit face,doesnt mean he dun like it.He jus not use to the taste.If he refuses to open his mouth,then try again next week

It is not neccessary a must to giv 6oz cereal 2X a day.Is jus a guide line and it all depend on hw much your bb willing to take in also.

Look at the label and see wat is the recommended amt to be serve for the cereal you are giving.
From my experience with diff brands of cereal,it is nt neccessary abt 5-6tablespoons.
Eg healthy times, 8tablespoons = 5tablespoons of heniz.
So jus go with the flow on hw much your bb wants to take in.
Rememeber not to force your bb to eat if he do not want to.Introducing food should be a FUN thing and not a Must thing for the baby.

any of u mummies know where i can get the fisherprice deluxe jumperoo? only see the rainforest one in stores!
should have continued with the rental cos really can't seem to find it! think bb suffering from deluxe jumperoo withrawal..!

AQUADUCK TRIAL 12 July 09 (SUN) - Who 下水
hee.. i also sending my hubby down to pei bb.. ;p i dun really know how to swim, scare will affect bb...

Gd Morning !

blustar, if u dun mind 2nd hand, u can post in the WTB thread to find a seller

Re: cereal amt
I also dun give 6tbsp a day. I think at most 4tbsp, but i add puree to t cereal.

Is autism inborn one? Or can develop after birth?

Activity: Tai Tai's outing
Place : Dimsum lunch at East Ocean (shaw centre) or Pearl River @ suntec; Followed by mayb pedi/meni/foot massage; followed by shopping; followed by coffee/tea if time allows
Date: 24th Jun (Wed)

1) Alibaba (??)
2) Pinenut (half day)
3) bbzel (After 12pm)
4) Fifi
5) Happydays (TBC)
6) Kash (afternoon half day - prefers tim sum
7) Joyce (TBC) shd be okie.

Re. Tai tai outing

there are quite a no. of spas and pedi/menu and footmassage place at marina.. so we may proceed ther aft lunch.
Below is a website for Pink Parlour.. hav never been ther but they hav all things.. massage/facial/pedi/meni/waxing etc etc.. i hope they're not those hard sell shop thou..

http://www.pinkparlour.com.sg/nails.php