(2008/11) November 2008

Joyce's case same as mine.. MIL working so no choice have to be SAHM. Nowadays dunno why the old folks like to work so much.. sigh~~ Amooks also SAHM right? if i rem correctly..

Peanut, get well soon. Stay home hehe, dun spread ur flu! :p take good care! more h20!

Rain- its been v rainy in US too... i think the rain and cold is causing the flu to overstay its welcome. hope the sun comes out soon.

Good morning Nov mummies

Hope everyone take care and enjoy a nice weekend.

<font color="0000ff">KiKi</font>
Thanks for your wishes. I did not manage to bf my bb for full 6mths cos I had stopped on Sunday due to work.

<font color="0000ff">lilian</font>
The confirmed patient from M'sia and he had travelled from US back to KL. No need to stay at home and sleep, we just need to practise social responsibility by staying home when we are down with flu/cough.

<font color="0000ff">peanut</font>
Ha please to scare me leh, these symptoms U have may be a common cold. See your GP or polyclinic will do ya, no need specially go down to hospital.

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Good morning mummies..</font>
I'm zombied cos have been feeding my monster every 2.5-3hrs esp even at nite he can finish his milk within 5mins.. my supply i think cannot meet his demand liaoz..

Remb i was saying he was drinking less than 500ml before, now its 800ml and i have to pump every 3hrs to try to meet his feed.. arrgghh</font>

<font color="119911">Mummy Zeal
omg, the happybellies are on sale for only $3? very cheap hor.. US got so many things to buy also.. *envious*

Happybellies/Formula milk
how to prepare the cereal ah? Mix with warm breastmilk till thicken?
I remb someone asked before, if giving 100ml = formula + water total is 100ml? or water 100ml + scoops of formula?
do i sound confused or what.. sleepy mummy here.. </font>

It's Saturday today! I'm here to perform my task! Ha!

We have 3 birthday babies today:
<font color="ff0066"> Baby Aden, Baby Gavin and Baby Quinnlyn, and Great Mummies Aden, sunshinekid and Snnowy!</font>

bluebear:
You are welcome
I guess it's pretty fine if you can't bf due to other constraints. Me too used to be bothered by my own 'mother's guilt' cos my work commitment.
There's some other aspects that you can show your baby your love

<u>HFC Lunch Gathering:</u>
So we confirm to meet next wed @ Marche HFC? 12pm ok? Anyone else wanna join us ah? How do we recognise each other? Wear a red little rose on my pocket? ;)

I would prefer thursday for the dinner gathering.

Ladies pls state wed or thur preferred..

Activity: Buffet Dinner
Tentative: Hanabi at Odeon tower (city hall area)
Date: 20th or 21st (next wed/thur)

1) Minky
2) Coconut (ok wif both dates)
3) amooks
4) Lynn
5) Jo (ony wed / thurs)
6) ypg
7) Moomummy (Thurs)
8) Alibaba (TBC)
9) Spin (Wed)
10) Babyzel (both days ok but prefer wed)
11) Happy (TBC)

mummyzeal> heheh, i FTWM leh. stuff are so cheap in US? so nice! i love the weather, it's so hot in SG. enjoy ur stay! msg when u are back lah, can meet up at IMM. heheheh, didnt get to gather before u leave coz i was really busy.

Joyce> ya, i think u are very super mum leh. how to take care of 2 kids??

Lilian,

I also love the grilled salmon head at Manpuku. So delicious. But I thought it is $10. Now cheaper, then I must go rush out n eat. Hehe...

I am Bedok mum. U leh? Tampines?

Babyzel, Amooks, mummyzeal
I became a SAHM since #1 is around 8mths.. So already been a 黄脸婆 for abt 1.5yrs. But so far quite ok, cause got maid to help out and also managed to sneak out for some me-time once a while, otherwise i will gone mad! I think i will be super duper busy + stress out if i am handling both of them alone! So really peifu snnowy and some mummies out there who managed 2 kids and above alone! salute!

mummyzeal, so nice to travel again. Ya, remember to let us know when u r back so that can arrange a gathering at the north.

Ladies pls state wed or thur preferred..

Activity: Buffet Dinner
Tentative: Hanabi at Odeon tower (city hall area)
Date: 20th or 21st (next wed/thur)

1) Minky
2) Coconut (ok wif both dates)
3) amooks
4) Lynn
5) Jo (ony wed / thurs)
6) ypg
7) Moomummy (Thurs)
8) Alibaba (TBC)
9) Spin (Wed)
10) Babyzel (both days ok but prefer wed)
11) Happy (TBC)
12) Joyce (both days are ok)

Lilian,
Me left Sentosa at 4pm. Luckily no rain and the weather not too hot. Went to siloso beach and let bb have her first experience with sand and sea. The waves frightened her a bit but after a while she's ok. She's enjoying and been happy thruout the whole trip.

Joyce,
Wow, SAHM since #1 8 mths. You don't look huang lian po lor. Still very chio leh. Keke.

Kiki,
Rachelle is 7 months today. Celebrated together with me cos bday today too. : ) Time flies...

helooo mummies! its e weekend. time always seem to go by so quickly when i'm enjoyin e weekend with hubby and baby..

went to isetan today, bot a ceramic grater (like ones used to grate wasabi,radish, etc) and a sieve/strainer. hubby's colleague was telling us that he also did it without a blender so we will try that out. if not will just use blender.=P

managed to put baby to bed by 855pm today, so managed to watch some football with hubby. sometime which i have not been able to do for a long time coz i am usually too sleepy!!

mummyzeal,
i was thinkin of tryin out HB oats cereal after i finish e brown rice cereal too. looking for feedback on it myself. wonder if its ok for baby to start taking oats cereal already after i finish current tin.

babyzel,
congrats!wow, can't believe Rachelle is 7 months already. and HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you!!

wah...sorry mummies, havent been online. tis thread moves so fast.. wat's this gathering abt?for those who are SAHM, r u bringing ur bb along?can i join?=)

Mummyzeal,
enjoy ur stay in US!! *envy* wish i can go over.. the happy bellies is soo cheap there?oh my!! *drooling*

Peanut,
hope u are better now..

JOyce,
so nice, u can have some personal time.. unlike me.. haiz.. all alone with my bb.....

babyzeal,
happy bday! =)

Happy bellies Oatmeal/Multigrain
my bb finished a whole tin of brown rice and now i started him on multigrain.it's very dry and he doesnt really like it. So wat i did just now was to add apple puree in and he loves it!! think i'll add pear puree in tomolo &amp; try!hope this helps

Haru,
I did my puree w/o blender and even porridge as well. I gave porridge to my bb alternate days for either lunch or dinner and he is starting to like the porridge.In fact, he looks forward to feeding time! =) Hope your bb is taking the happy bellies and the puree well. =)
have a great wkend mummies. =)my boy just managed to zz and i still havent eaten dinner yet.. sigh. Dunno wat happen to him nowadays.. he will latch then zz but after feeding for 45mins to 1 hr, he will zz and I'll unlatch, then after half hour or so, he will burst out crying +++, hence i latch him again then he will drink for another 30mins plus. Anyone experience this before?haiz..

Haru,Gal.dolphin,
Geez.. Thanks. Rachelle went to sleep at 9.30pm. Now still soundly asleep. Guessed too tired from today's outing.

Gal Dolphin,
I thought multi grain should start later at around 9 mths? I ordered it but not starting yet. Now bb is on HT brown rice and barley cereal. Will need to finish my HT stock before moving on to my HB stock.

gal/dolphin,
wow,mind to share more about how you prepared veg/fruit purees w/o use of blender?

hmm, perhaps you could try not letting him nurse to sleep. coz it may be hard to him to self-soothe himself to sleep if he wakes up. try to put him to bed while he is still awake?

babyzel,
Happy Birthday To You!!!

gal.dolphin,
Now got 2 gatherings ... lunch at HFC and/or dinner at Hanabi @ Odeon. Its actually 'me-time' for mummies ... if you have to, you can bring ur bb along.

Alamak ... Malaysia Penang got H1N1 case ... whole family already booked air tix to Penang to attend family's friend wedding end of May. Now planning not to bring my boy along le ... wonder if we all shld not go.

Babyzel,
oh is it?i din know leh..he already on it liao.. haiz.. me already opened the tin leh..howz?sigh..it was not rewritten on the tin leh.

Haru,
I tried not to nurse him to sleep but he wont zz.. sigh.so now abit hard to..even if he is very very tired, he also wont zz..sigh.must tink of a way.

Apple Puree
steam the apple for at least 10mins till soft then sieve it thru using a sieve.then u have the puree!=) simple and fresh.
Btw, what are fruits and vege can I give?coz I only know of apples, pears, sweet potatoes,potatoes, carrot and pumpkin.Can mummies here advise?thanks!
Jo,
u mean got mummies bring their bb along for the lunch and dinner gathering?=)
The penang trip u can go ahead.No worries.it's unlikely u will be affected.=) Health Minister already said singapore may be hit by it anytime.. it's not so easy to get affected.. so meanwhile boost up ur immunity and get plenty of rest and water. =)

hey Jo.. look at MOH website..if they din advise against going malaysia then go.. dun tink too much. juz b careful on hygine and go places with better ventilation

thanks mommies.. but my flu not yet better... seems to get a little bit worst.. shd b my bb pass to me one lah -_-

bluebear
kekekke.. piang of cos i no go hospital lah.. tok gugu lah.. now no fever yet.. if spore got confimed case and my condition worsen then i'll consider

galdohphine
hee.. nope.. no one bringing bb.. but if u sahm and really feel like joining then welcome to take ur bb along.

my b officially know how to crawl forward liao.. thou stil on her tummy, she can use her arrms push herself forward..no more goz tan!! so happyz..

Galdolpin,
I heard from another mummy when i ordered my cereals. Maybe can check with mummies here who may know the rough guidelines when to start?

Jo,
Thanks! So will be seeing u at the gatherings ya?

Peanut,
thanks. I bought 1 avocado yday. Still very green and hard also. Just did a google search on how to ripen avocado. Faster follow the tip, u may be just in time to start tmr!!

* Place 2-3 avocados in a brown paper bag and store at room temperature. If you don't have paper bags on hand, wrapping them in newspaper will also do.
* For even quicker ripening, add an apple or a tomato to the bag.
* Check daily to see if avocados are ripe yet. Don't just judge by their color, as some varieties will retain their green color, even when ripe, rather than turning a deep greenish brown.
* Ripe avocados will peel easily and are soft, yet still firm and not squishy.
* Extra Tip: If your avocados are ripening before you have a chance to eat them, place them in the crisper of your refrigerator, as this will help them keep a bit longer once they are ripe.

happy birthday babyzel! u didn't tell us on friday!

peanut: it's good tt u can buy fresh avocados on friday for the weekend. try to buy those almost ripe ones so they r ready for feeding on saturday. one is a lot. cut in quarters &amp; puree 1 quarter for nini first. my 3 only eat 1 per day &amp; avocado is an entire meal for them already.

oh yah, must remember to PM kiki. can't wait to see the new table. want to exchange my similac w whoever is taking.

Gd morning,

Peanut, the reason why u put an apple or tomato in with the avocado is becos ripening fruits release a gas called ethylene gas that causes other fruits to ripe too. that's why some ppl in S'pore put their unripe fruits into the rice container cos rice helps to trap ethylene from the fruits to hasten ripening. either this or that rice releases ethylene too. not too sure abt the 2nd pt.

Happy belated birthday BabyZel!

Long time no see -- just came back from my perth trip and have been busy shopping on the BP thread! hahaha..

I think the thread something wrong is it? I couldnt get in on the main motherhood page and the archives are not working so cannot kaypoh to see what you guys have been up to =(

Anyhow the perth trip was really good. For mommies heading to Aus, get all your GIAA baby bath stuff there. I bought the 500ml at S$18. Baby clothes there are very nice too - pumpkin patch and cotton on kids. I also bought lotsa bonds nursing bra -- super comfy for about S$50. Everything else there is about the same price as singapore.

Mantou bear, you are seriously a walking encylopedia!! My mom always put our mangos in the rice but I always thought it was some old wives tale until i heard your explaination!!!

Fifi!! I wanna buy softbooks.. u organising anymore spree?! *rub hands with excitment*

morning mummies...

Today is 6th month birthday for
Baby Brian (Mummy Cookieoreo), Baby Janessa(Dymples) and Little Fighter - Baby Leighton (Mummy Enne)

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0066">ஐ•**•....•**•ஐ</font></font>
Happy Birthday to you
Happy Birthday to all babies
Happy Birthday to you!

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0066">ஐ•**•....•**•ஐ</font></font>

BTW Mommies,

Anyone wants these CUUUUTE doidy cups? Have been reading about them in parenting magazines. These cups can be used from 3M+ onwards.

The DOIDY Cup was scientifically designed with its unique slant to teach children to drink from a rim and NOT a spout.

Weaning ~ The DOIDY Cup is an ideal aid to weaning as the natural mouth action used is the same as in breast feeding.

The unique slant of the cup enables children to drink easily as they can see the contents without thrusting their heads forward and downwards. They also learn to put the cups down properly.

Anyone keen? I am definitely getting them so if you are keen I will tompang your order..

http://www.doidycups.com/

2465377.jpg

happy belated birthday babyzel!
Happy Belated 7th month birthday Baby Rachelle! =)

High Chair
Any mummy bought any high chair for your baby? Any good brand to recommend?

Hi Kiki
Can include my baby in your list?
She was 6.7kg at 5 months 1 wk. Bday 18 Nov 08. On total breast milk --EBM when I am at work and fresh when I am at home! hehhehheh
Thanks,
Pam

galdohphine
4 my bb lah..kekeke.. i oso dun like avocado tt much.. but its v nuitritious so good to let bb take..

bear..
so means i can put into bucket of rice as well? then wil b much easier compared to put in newspaper wif other fruit rite? kekeke,..

olwen
u mean 1 avodaco shared among them 3?? like tt enuf meh? &amp; i tot its meant as a snack, not a meal??

Kiki,
YES!! the malls there are all very babyfriendly. We did a selfdrive tour and could rent car seats for kaitlyn. The hotels and service apts I was looking at all were able to rent or provide FOC baby cots. Weather there is like aircon on a sunny day but the night gets cold. No need for winter wear but wearing a few layers wld be recommended. Nd to put a lot more moisturer cos it's pretty dry. But our bb seemed to enjoy it very much -- a lot of space, nature and greenery. Travelling with bb wasnt as difficult as I thought so I will prob do it again! haha..

Oh forgot to add. Jurlique there much cheaper. My day cream costs S$88 in Aus DFS, $120 in Tangs

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Morning super mummies!
</font></font>

<font color="119911">Kiki
I went Isetan to grab a can of Wakodo yday.. i tried the taste, very close to BM wor.. so excited!

pamela
Hello!! I'm interested! how much issit?
we intend to bring aden to perth this yr end as well to visit my brother.. there's alot to shop? hehehe

GAP Sale @ Isetan
60% Off
3 items - Additional 10%
5 items - Additional 20%
Lots of girl's stuff!

Thanks Mummies!

High Chair,
Most of my mummy friends got those high chair from ikea. I think it costs around $29. i probably need one as well cos my gal can't sit still in bumbo liao. High chair still quite alright.

Bear,
Thanks for the further explaination, i was thinking where am i going to find a brown bag. Haha. Hopefully i will remember to retrieve my avocado in the rice bucket. Cos i can be really forgetful.

Olwen,
U got 3 kiddos to share a fruit so it's actually easier and u can take them fresh. No leftovers. I prepare one fruit but my gal can only take a quarter and i got to finish the rest cos i dun like to freeze the remainder. Give fresh is always better!

Kiki,
Thanks for your wishes, You are so attentive in keeping track of all the bb's milestone. *Muack*

Happy 6th month to Baby Brian, Baby Janessaand Little Fighter - Baby Leighton (Mummy Enne help us to give him a kiss).

Bear ah, bear,
You are such a walking encylopedia. That why I love to call you Prof bear. Everything you have have sciencific backup. We simpily love you (花生,you dun bully the bear anymore la, or else next time she dun answer our Qs liao)hahaha!