(2008/11) November 2008

hello all!
just a really quick post...

thanks for all the replies on nail cutting...me like using scissors too but maybe it's the way i cut or something, dd nails always very sharp...

Re: West Side Gathering
Venue: IMM (Secret Recipe - 3 votes/Coffee Club - 2 votes)
Date: 4th Mar (Wed)
Time: 2pm

1) Jenn (choose Secret Recipe.. nv been to coffee club)
2) Jo - 2 adults (no pram)
3) kare2711 (oh I vote for coffee club)
4) Dymples (Coffee Club! My fav!)
5) Maria - & bb

bluebear- you mind pm-ing me the hand surgeon's details? would like to see him for my wrist too...thank you...

<font color="0000ff">Joyce</font>
Yes, the donut relief pack I find it is very useful, I just gave away my extra packet to my SIL who is breastfeeding
I find it useful so I got extra one for her.

maria, thk it's coz of the scissors. the nails are quite sharp after I cut too, like need to file or somethg to smoothen the edges. My boy has been leaving marks on his face till I fed up put on mittens when he zz..

juz, i feed my boy quite alot of water actually. when he hiccups, in btw feeds, when he's awake. or when tryg to make him zz. realised he is less heaty n pee nt too yellow n smelly now. asked PD abt it, he says dun exceed 60ml a day still ok wor..

whole body aching.. thk fever bug coming again =(((

joyce,

pai seh been so bz... my bb has caught the virus from my gal..now coughing wif phelgm leh..so poor thing.. bought the EYS Hou Ning powder liao.. my gal already ate 4 times, baby ate 2 times.. but still waiting for improvement... sianz...once I upload will email... pai seh pai seh...btw do u have the photo from the 1st gathering? i accidentally deleted them from the computer...and no longer in the SD card.

the donut good ah? I nvr see b4.. u recommend that i buy? do u use it still?

haru,

^5. After me no more maid, me 100% outside food.. no home cook food at all unless u count in instant noodles as homecook food... bo pian...where got time to cook a meal...me mostly dinner i try to eat chap cai peng coz got veggie.

bluebear,

indeed, my hb n me juz sat down and did a calculation how much was spent from antenatal to hospital, plus the 2 post natal checkups.... $8700 for this bb... natural birth somemore...so no more kids liao lah most prob...cant afford it.

Re : Pumping...anyone is expressing 100% using hand? I just tried for 2 times.. it was fantastic! althou still took me 45 mins and super tiring...i dun need to wash pump!!! hooray! But can't do it in the morning pump coz most milk and when my gal is ard...she may juz cough into my bottle!

Kash,
I am using hand to express twice a day cos too lazy or busy to wash and sterlised it everytime.
I like it too but abit messy at times. Hand will become sticky sticky de.

Re: bb bjorn
Who is using the carrier? Which model?
I tinking of getting the active or the synenergy but cant decide which. Can i have some feedback?

happy: I am using Bjorn carrier, mine i tink is original. It's really gd, as baby loves sitting in it and we bring her for strolls and walks. It's very stable and can carry face inside and outside, which some carriers can't. Mine hold up to 10 kg. Paid $170 for it.

kash: WOW, i no patience to do it for 45 mins, i use pump 15 mins and I am done..very fast, i adjust power to more power somemore..hehe..so i can rest cos i pump every 3 hrs, still siong for me...

happy

yes very messy and and some ducts will spray out of the bottle...always kenna my sofa, legs and hands... i dunno whether i am doing correctly but my breasts very painful after so much squeezing.. however i prefer hand express as I can have 6/7 ducts at 1 time compared to if i use pump...sometimes only 1 duct!

I am using Bjorn Air... coz I worried singapore weather very hot...hence chose Air...

blessed,

even with dual pump, sometimes i need 1 hr to clear my breasts! very gek sim! dunno how u ladies do it in 15 mins!!! envious leh...

Heya mummies.. Mon again tmr!

Re: Paracetamol
Don't beat urself if u have given ur kids paracetamol. Like i said the study has many many loopholes. E.g. they cannot eliminate out kids that suffered from upper respiratory disease which also increases the chances of getting asthma. Also, if ur kid is really sick with fever, taking paracetamol is neccessary. The researchers also said that there isn't any other meds that is gd for kids under 2 yrs old if they have a fever as aspirin gives some kind of complication. Bottomline is give meds when needed, not as a preventive solution. Just my opinion.

Bluebear, oh dear. hope u and ur boys recover soon. How come ur older one kena penile inflammation? i guess if he keeps having persistent inflammation, u might wanna consider circumcision? I didn't get sore eyes lah.. i kena food allergy hence eyes swelled.

Kash, i used my hands to express the initial part cos need to massage my nipples and it always sprays everywhere!! i would collect abt 20-50ml per breast before putting on the pump. the pump would do the rest lor. I also can nv finish pumping in 15 mins. Always at least 30 mins one.. then the last few mins only got splatters.. sigh..

Happy, i use Bjorn's Active cos it has some back support thingy.. we go out for lotsa walks hence need something to tahan his weight for a longer time.

Baby Bjorn
I have the air too. But now thinking of selling it since I have the MIM sling and the Beco. Don't need so many carriers.

So fast..wkend nearly over
Pre-Mon blues...

Bluebear: Hope you recover soon!

Solids: Today went to get this book called 'First Foods' - looks quite gd, provides many tips and recipes on starting bb on solids....I know is a bit too early but I can't wait to start bb on solids!

Anyone starting solids already?? I know one of my colleag started her bb on rice based cereal when he reaches 4 mths.

cindy:
I ask PD about the drinking of water. He did say try not to let bb drink too much, cause don want to replace the milk intake, after all the milk is their impt part of bb meal.

teething:
any bb here starts teething? I went for the jab and checkup, PD says my bb might be teething as there are bumps on his lower jaws. I got him the teething gels, seems helpful as recently he rather cranky.

circumised:
hmmm.. yeah my cousin ever ask if i want to circumise bb, cause the foreskin leave the urine traces will cause urinary tract infection.. I thought this infection happens mostly on females?? my HB say very painful one, his mom opt him to do it when he was young.. he told me very horrible lei.. for bb to take such pain.. so poor thing..

Solids food:
I have started bb on mashed papaya today when he turns exactly four mths. PD give me the green light to go ahead.. he say give one small wedge of papaya once a day on alternate days, helps the bowel function. the rice cereal he mentioned choose from 4 mths and above, i got an organic baby rice cereal.. PD say can start once he turn 4 mth, but ask to wait as I am starting on papaya first, say need to give bb time to adjust on the food taste for about 1 week, and to see if got reaction than start on rice cereal. I think I will start 2 weeks later..

glad_gal,
I juz bought Frisocrem - rice based milk cereal ... perhaps gg to start tomorrow. BB juz reached 4mths old.

circumcision:
Is it a must to circumcise bb? So young must go thru operation and in pain ... cannot dont do it mah? MIL ever mentioned that once bb is older (say few yrs old), bring him to circumcision. Cant bear to let my bb go thru operation and suffer pain leh.

Kash:
I think you have some blocks in your nipple. That's why you use pump sometimes only 1 duct. You need to roll your nipples to ensure all ducts are open before and after you pump.

Glad:
Where did you buy the book?

Re: Drugstore Spree Batch 2
I think I will cancel this batch. They din reply me abt whether they have smaller boxes so am afraid that the shipping is too ex.

California Baby stuff -> can buy from BP
Lasinoh Milk Bags -> can ask mummy zeal to buy
Dymples -> I can let you have my extra Fenugreek bottle. I dun need that much.

My Evenflo triplefun exersaucer just arrived! My baby loves it..a lot of toys in the activity station to keep her bz..

kash: Actually the power of the pump i juz turn out bit stronger so can pump more and faster..which brand u using? Me medela.

Lynn: wow...u started on mash papaya oredi? how did ur bb react to it? Feel like trying on my baby as she constipated for 5 days despite feeding gripe water..constipated after her 6-in-1 jab.

RE: Baby drinking water
my PD says BM contains 70% water so need not feed too much.

morning mummies

Anyone here experience hair dropping? My hair is dropping, n alot somemore.. anyone hv idea when it will stop?

lovedogs,
i just happen to see a japanese mummy on sat hand expressing into a milk bottle too! and it looked so easy and quick. but her girl was quite big already so i suppose she has done it for quite a while, looked very experienced. i can't really pump that much with a normal pump already, so i can't imagine if i will have any results with hand expressing..hahah..maybe i can try with my pump on standby. if no results, then just use e pump.heheh..

babyzel and joyce,
thanks for your advice, will def try to eat more heathily whenever poss. shall tell my parents to cook my dinner tonite as a start.=P

cutiemum,
my baby is also dropping lots of hair lately. think its just them changing hair. no worries about it.

okie mummies,
i gota get back to work. lotsa email and stuff to catch up on a monday. shall read all e post in detail later today!have a great week ahead!

Bb's developmemt:
bb's going 4mths old but her head/body is stil wobbly lei.. dun see much improvement.. and also everytime call her she dun look at you one.. but her hearing shd be fine lei cos already done test when she was born and when asleep she get starteld by sounds easily.. Getting a bit worried

How much bb drinking??
Good morning mummies, need to check, Jadon is coming to 4m this sunday, he is drinking 170ml bm every 2.5hrs. Is this alright?? He seems to be drinking alot more recently and his last feed no longer can last him till morning. Now he will wake up abt 4am for his first feed, 3 weeks ago, he can sleep thr the night till 6am. How much are your bb drinking??

Bb swimming
Can I bring my bb for swimming in the public pool?? So tempted to bring him swimming, dont know if he will enjoy it or not. ^^

Hi Kash, I am expressing 100% by hands since the bb's birth. So much more convenient and faster also. Now, for 15mins, I will be able to get btw 160ml to 220ml. I am expressing 4times a day cause back to work le and will not be able to express so many times.

Haru:
Hand expressing hor, keep practicing and you'll get it de. Its very useful esp when you juz need to express out a bit. Very effective but its tiring &amp; time-consuming lah (unless those who are very pro at it liaoz). I use it to end off after using pump sometimes.

Peanut:
Sometimes they juz dun want to look at you lah. That time my daughter oso bo huei the PD when he test whether she is startled by loud noises. He bang table she bo huei him. But when my hubby sneeze, she jump. Lolz.

Carol:
My daughter recently oso wake up in the middle of the night for an extra feed. This is despite drinking until she refuse to drink anymore in the day. Abt 2-3 weeks back, she will sleep thru the night de. I read that this is one of the signs that she may be ready for semi-solids but I intend to hold off giving her any for as long as I can. Its not good to start semi-solids too early. The later the better actually (abt 6 mths).

Public pool may be too cold for them now. Why not try hwa xia.

Lynn &amp; Jo: Thks for sharing!
So ur bb slowly taking to solids?
Tonight will check with PD when is a gd time to start. But like Fifi, I personally also want to delay till he is going to reach 6 mths, unless he starts showing signs that he want!

Fifi: Bought at Times bookshop. At 1st wanted to buy 'Weaning' by Sara Lewis, recomm by colleague but it was sold out, so end up buying First Foods instead.

Cutiemom: My hair drops a lot..hiaz..my bathroom floor full of hair.

Carol: My boy sometimes drink 150-180ml. Sometimes his appetite scares me...and he seems much heavier haa.
Btw, what's the weight of your babies now? Tonight going to PD..can't wait to find out his weight!

Glad_gal,
Dont know how much he weigh now, last brought him to PD abt 1m ago. Next visit is on 27-Mar...so long!! Last weigh him 1m ago and he is 6.9kg le. Ya, his appetite also scares me at times and sometimes he refuses to drink no matter what.

Fifi,
Ya, I am trying to delay starting solid also...think I just got to bear with him waking up abt 4am lor.

Gd morning!

Fifi, Carol, eh! same leh! my boy recently need a 5.30am feed! He didn't need the feed since 8 wks till 13 wks.. then beginning the 13th wk he needed it again! weird! However i just increased his feed to 140ml. some feeds he can finish, some feeds he will wait 3.5-4hrs before he will drink. thinking of upping his feed to 150ml. he is only 14 wks old today.

Peanut, here is a chart for u to refer to.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/development/milestonesfirst6months/

Cutiemum, me too! i m dropping like nobody's biz. very scary leh cos i have very little hair. my hb very scared i go bald..

Re: solids
If ur PD gives u the go-ahead to start then i guess u can. for me i would still try to delay as much as i can.

All the same is anyone interested in getting Baby Cubes? it is for u to store ur bb's purees in the fridge in convienent amounts so u just need to take one out at a time. if enough ppl want, we can ask Fifi to help us.

http://www.onestepahead.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=534472&amp;cmSource=CrossSell&amp;relatedProductId=1182&amp;PIPELINE_SESSION_ID=c50b59c9ac12041515b93c71f52ebbd6

Bear
thanks for above lei.. so my bb shd be stil normal rite wahhaaa... read they'll turn to sounds and voices ard 6mths.. I was like keep calling her loudly this am hoping she'll turn and look at me but she did not!!

blessed11, kash

do you find the backsupport for the original/air models any good? i got the bjorn synergy. hubby uses it mostly and can carry for 2-3hrs no problem. i use another sling, shoulder aches after a while.

only thing abt the bjorn is its white colour... can get dirty easily, but it looks nice

RE: How much bb drinking?
Huh, my bb only drink 120ml every 3 hrs leh.. i tried to increase but he dun want to drink anymore after 120ml - 130ml.. he drinks very little hor.. how ah..
he is now ard 6.5kg, 4 mths old...

RE: Getting bb to sleep
for these few weeks, it's getting more n more difficult to make my bb sleep.. can see he is tired but he jus cant fall asleep on his own.. need to carry and walk ard and pat him.. in the day time, my mum say he jus sleep for half to 45 mins every nap and total only 3 naps a day.. she needs to spend ard 30 to 40 mins to make him sleep and in the end, only sleep for short period.. any mummies same here? any advises? ;p

oh and 1 more thing, I have this prob with bb sitting on bjourn....when he poo poo, maybe cos of pressure, the poo got nowhere to go so up the nappy and out onto his clothes. Happened a few times already. I think maybe other carrier also same prob??

haven't been able to come in here often as work is really busy.

Hair dropping
My hair is dropping so much that soon, I will be botak. emma is also shedding hair... looks like a boy boy now.

Amount of milk drunk
emma is not a big milk drinker. she is drinking 120ml every feed. Sometimes I try 150ml but she rejects. she has been sleeping thru' the nite only waking up between 5-6am for a feed. she sleeps at 9.30-10pm. she can flip now and loves to stand. coos alot and has begun to giggle when we play wif her. she now recognises and respond voices especially megan's. I really miss her when I am at work.

Coach Spree
it's a lot of money involved... very scary...

Carol Neo: Your baby born on the 8th Nov?? Mine too! But your baby sure drinks a lot more than mine. 170ml every 2,5hrs is really really impressive!!! My baby drinks only 90-120ml each feed....also abt 2.5to3hrs interval. But he's already 8kg now so I'm not overly concerned at the moment.

Fifi: Thanks for informing. I think some people are selling the milkbags on the forum so may get from them. I also bot the playtex (again) from the expo fair cos its real cheap.

my baby drinking is drinking 120 whenever bottle fed which is only once a day as i latch all other feeds.

RE: getting bb to sleep
my baby sorta weaned off e pacifier herself recently. doesnt need it anymore for her naps or bedtime. i notice she sleeps quite well when i put her on our bed. so we have been letting her fall asleep on our bed and carry her back into her cot for past 4 days.

as for naps, its normally short 20-40 mins nap too. very normal. =>

i am kinda vexed at the moment coz there seems to be so much gg on at work and coz we dun have a nursing room, i normally just pump at a corner near my desk but always end up colleagues interupt while i am pumpin to ask me about work stuff. sigh..do really wish that we had a nice nursing room however my office doesnt have room for that unfortunately. anyway, am contemplating if i can try to arrange to work from home 2 days a week and work slightly longer hours at office on the other 3 days...

Good morning mummies

Everyday i read this thread i will end up at some other shopping thread, keke.

drop hair, yup a lot, me bb and hb
But still dun have the energy to mop everyday. Snnowy, must learn from u

Carol> Wah ur Jadon drink a lot leh, mine is drinking 120ml every 2hrs and they are only one day apart! Jaydon is abt 7.6kg now and his wt was stagnant for 3wks when he hit 7kg. If he wakes up in the middle of the night, he prefers his fingers to milk.

Peanut> Dun worry my Jaydon also like that, u call him he dun wan to respond but when he call me i better respond before he screams. Juz make sure nini gives u eye contact, i read somewhere only ard 8mths then the bb noes u are calling her name.

Fruche
Ya, my boy born on 8-Nov...keke...he is a monster lar! Keke...but your boy 8kg, very heavy wor!! Cant wait to bring him to the PD and get his weight checked. Last I checked slightly more than a month ago, he is 6.9kg le, so I guess should be abt 8kg now. The thing is that he hardly sleep during the day, which could be one of the reason why he is drinking more and he is super active, kicks alot and "grumble" alot too..keke...we always say that he is a grumpy little bb...but he also giggle alot when we play with him

haru: does yr company hv meeting rooms or soemtning you can use? its very frustrating when colleagues are not understanding abt pumping.
My office here too....there's one particular person who makes it difficult for me. In the end i gotta go nursing room (suntec city) which takes time...to walk there to set up equip etc etc.

Re: Starting solids
If really need to start, try to start slower lor.

Fruche:
My daughter can poo in Beco with no problems.

Liv:
Try to find a quiet environment and maybe put a t-shirt/pillow with your smell near your BB. My daughter hugs my pillow to sleep. Without it she cannot fall asleep. But with it, she can take a 3 hr nap each afternoon. Can sleep almost on her own too. We juz changed my bedsheets on Sat. She was tired but couldn't sleep. Then we tried letting her hug my blanket instead. She fell asleep very fast after that.

Amt of Milk:
Alyssa drinks average 130ml per 4 hrs. But each feed have to split into 2 time (half hour - 1 hour break in between).

Fruche:
Playtax is cheap. I bought from spree.

Carol Neo: Hey, your boy sounds like mine(otehr than the drinking)!! Is it because they are born on the same day?!

We got a nice date..easy to remember 08.11.08.

My baby is super fussy recently...likes to socialize and refuse to sleep even though he is obviously v v tired. Then he became cranky and cry and scream like we torture him like dat. Then eventually sleep. sigh.

Haru,
that is irritating. We need quiet and relax environment in order to pump more milk.. ya, put a do not disturb sign if can!

RE: amount of milk
My girl is drinking 165ml every 3 hours. I increase her intake from 120ml abt 3 wks ago and hopefully she can gain more weight. She is small size de.

Kash,
yes, i also use hand sometimes.. the output are shiok right, splish splash! keke
As for the donut relief pack, i think is quite useful bah, just order and will reach these 2 days. Bluebear said it is very useful wor..

RE: Hair dropping
Both my girl and my hair are dropping.. It is normal and will last for few months.. And also cradle cap.. my baby has it now.

Hair Fall:
I found my hair not just in bathroom but all over my house. So sad so i don't have much hair also. If continue to drop more i will go botak!

Milk Intake
My gal is taking 125ml-140ml every 3 hours. She was 6.8kg at 4 months.

My girl loves to stick out her tongue and she is starting to blow foams/bubbles and salivating as well. Wonder if these are signs of teething. She also put whatever she can get hold of into her mounth and lick. OMG... she also lick on my beco till it's wet wet. Haiz, got to wash my beco very regularly but recently keep raining, difficult to dry.

Fruche
Haha...same same lor...Jadon also like that de, want to sleep but still want to play, so in the end, wait until super cranky le then sleep. Each time before he sleep, sure he will cry and fuss for a while de...and his crying is super loud de.

Haru
Same here, I got no nursing room, so I am expressing in the handicap toilet downstairs which is on its own. At least when I am expressing, there is no next cubicle where someone is doing her "business" and its cleaner cause lesser pple use that toilet. No choice, I dont want to give up bfing my baby and no room available in my office for me to express.

Babyzel
Jadon is playing with his saliva also. SOmetimes when I use the hanky to clean off the saliva, he will purposely let out some more saliva!! So naughty.

Brocoli,
Ya, he drinks alot!! And sometimes, he can ask for milk in 2hr instead of 2.5-3hr. Very scary!! There were a couple of times when we did not prepare any milk when we are on the way home, thinking that he will not need to drink until another 1hr time, who knows he started crying half way home and he cries all the way till we are home...so ke lian.

BB responding
Jadon is already responding to us when we call his name and he will turn his head to look at us if we are not infront of him. I think he quite smart, each time when he is sitting on his high chair, if we stand infront of him and looking at him, he will smile until very happy thinking that we want to carry him...if we walk off without carrying him, he will grumple very loudly and sometimes even cry...keke...bb nowadays really very clever lay.

fifi, joyce: so cute hor? fifi organise lah. imagine alyssa in the little bikini. soooo cute!

haru: *pat pat* relax, ok?

glad gal: *wave* lucas is still so big! &amp; so hungry.

enne
anybody knows how she &amp; baby L are?

Hair loss:
My hair is also dropping so badly, my friend told me the side of my hair seems to be getting lesser - bald...so scary.

Active baby:
My baby is also the same, keep playing and kicking his leg non-stop. Dunno izzit hyperactive, or maybe because i let baby watch TV too frequent

HAIRE LOSS
Me also suffer a lot of hair loss now i wash my hair every 3-4 days only so scared see so much hair fall off each time..like endless one..