(2008/11) November 2008

yoyosan,
my bb now on FM only. I'm a lazy mummy, wasnt persistent enough to keep on pumping. When are you planning to start giving semi-solid food?

jenn,
I did a calculation. Buy from NTUC (U.P: $24) - $0.36/pc. Buy from the website - $0.375/pc

Thanks for the welcome!

Been a few days since i log in here.....havent quite finished reading everything yet. have to do everything in a rush nowadays.

Fenugreek: I may give it a try. So far, I'm only producing abt 120ml each pump (and that is when i'm very lucky)....else its only 70ml. Pathetic right? My left side is terrible....only 30ml each time.

But the strange thing is last sun, my left side milk ducts got blocked. My supply is low already...dont know why can still get blocked ducts. Had to get lactation consultant to come in. Right side no problem.

So I'm in a dilemma....to increase supply but afraid of blocked ducts. Less supply, may have to increase formula..which I'm giving once a day.

I'm glad I'm not the only one with baby wanting to be carried all times problem. yes, my parents also complain that I spoil the baby too much etc etc.

And i have one more problem with him.....he falls asleep very easily and quickly if he's nursing. So daytime when my parents look after, its terrrible. He rejects pacifiers too. sigh.

is it like this with you guys too?

Mamypoko
Ooh didnt know got such a gd deal :p may go NTUC tml and stock up! Find it pretty gd, but just a tad pricey so using Nepia for now!

Teenyweeny: Haa..you are not the only one, realised I have been spreeing and buying a lot of bb stuff too!! Just bought a set of Chinese storybooks, and now feel like getting a playmat. Wonder how useful is it, or shld I wait till bb can crawl :p

Renting of toys:
Just rented a FP Aquarium Swing for my boy from 'Rent That Toy'. Needed something to amuse/entertain bb when he is fussing or when my arms are too tired to carry him hee! But didnt want to buy yet in case he didnt like it. Was talking to another colleag and we realised got quite a few such websites in sg :p must be coz they realised got $$ potential since mummies always like to get new stuff for bb to try out!

Just to share some sites in case you all are interested in renting toys for your little ones!

http://www.rent-that-toy.com/
http://rent-a-toy.com/shop/
http://gogomummy.com/
http://www.mygrowingtoys.com/main.sc

<font color="aa00aa">Fruche</font>
I'm just like you, not sure issit my pumping frequency.. I'm visiting my gynae tmr to get some advise.

Maybe your baby needs more soothing. Perhaps can try asking your parents to talk to him more, slowly discover how to assure him best..
Previously before we introduced the paci, my MIL gave him some water to just wet his mouth, if not gripe water works best for me until now.

<font color="aa00aa">glad_gal</font>
Shopaholic too eh! hehe, i got a musical playmat for my boy too! but a small one, not the LG/Parklon type.. Suppose to be interactive. Think i bought too soon also *heh*

<font color="aa00aa">Renting of Toys</font>
Yeah! Thanks for sharing, i yahoo'ed and managed to find rent-that-toy, i remember my cousin-in-law telling me abt a toy rental blog, will update once she replies me! At least can compare!

<font color="aa00aa">Mamypoko</font>
Will try on tonight for the size before i stock up! I have a very bad habit of buying in bulk!

<font color="aa00aa">Cereals for Babies</font>
I was informed that Vitakids is selling HappyBellies @ $9.40/tin in case anyone wants to try. Its abt there buying from the sprees as well.

Jynnsan
i bot the insect killer thingy from Homefix.. can't remm wat is it called, use light to attract insects then sock them to death. Mosquito net i heard quite stuffy one lei. Try mosquito patch as well, can get it from pharmacy

BB sit sit: my mil already tried letting mine sit on a walker! however as its stil a bit big for her, she use small pillow to chuck into the extra space so she can sit more upright. However ard 10mins each time cos their spine not strong enuf yet

Hi mummies, can I join in this thread?
Am a 1st time mom, with a 3 month old gal, Kate.

Was reading, so interesting, haha!

glad_gal: so did the swing work on baby? was thinking of renting one too...

WAH!! Everyone is contributing so actively I cannot catch up!! Will try to respond where I can.

Welcome to all the new mommies on the thread!

alibaba: I used Ann Tan, but she is darn ex ($200 1st visit, $100 subsequent visits). However, Choo Wan Ling delivered me because Ann Tan was on leave when I went into labour. Like Teeny Weeny, I find her pretty good. She is very gentle, and takes time to explain things to you. She is located at Paragon. think she charges $80 4 1st visit

Hey happywifey i recog you from the balboa sling BP! Hope ur baby is getting used to the sling. I am a shopperholic (i think dymples &amp; teenyweeny are too! haha) and I am also thinking of getting the Beco. What i learnt from the balboa sling experience is to bring the baby along to try the carriers/car seat etc first... then can figure out if it is easy to use with the baby and if the baby likes it.

fifi: you can also buy citric acid fr pharmacy to sterlise ur sanitiser less than 6 bucks (can really rem how much) for a small pot.
does drugstore sell any medela stuff? Need some spare parts

Dymples: Hey i was beowing the same BP too!

Shopping Discount: BTW mommies, if you guys want to buy anything from Spring maternity (10%) or Mothersenvougue (15%) or mothercare (10%) or mothers@work (10%), lemme know. I hv their membership card so can get discount. PM me and I will give you my details so you can get the discount =))

Kindergarden: Has anyone enrolled their bbs for kindergarden yet?! I was told some schools have WAITLIST leow for our year's intake!!!

peanut: I also getting a walker for baby this week..issit fun...? does baby try to walk?

Any brands for walkers to recommend? Thinking of bumbo but saw someone posted a link about baby hitting head on the floor when not supported well..tink maybe get walker better, moreover bumbo v. ex

Pamela: I will be signing up one that is near my place easier for me to pick her up. No need to sign so early though..

I havent seen medela parts in drugstores, but u can get them at Takashimaya, Hospital pharmacies, Metro for sure.

Dymples: For nursing bras, do you know you can get them at only $3.90 at CK shop (the HDB type of shop Peoples Park also has it), It's of same quality as the ones i get from OG for $10..cheap and gd!! So happy when i saw it.

Blessed11: You mean baby tried to walk already!??!?! Mine can;t even turn!! sobsob
I dont hv any walker yet but maybe u can Try the leapfrog one. I bought it as a present for my friend and she likes it v much.. seems pretty sturdy. But of course must use under supervision lah. It is about $70 though.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">Welcome all mummies!
Glad to have you guys joining our chitty chatty sessions!</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">pamela</font>
Dr Choo delivered you ah? Which hospital? I tried to check on her reviews in the forum but like bo lang leh.. hahaaa~ Glad to have found someone who knows her!

<font color="aa00aa">alibaba ></font> Yeah, she is a very reassuring gynae, will take pains to explain things to you very patiently.. I was with her since she was fr TMC till her new place, so she still gives me her old rates, but i think her current rate is quite reasonable lar
There's another 1 named Geraldine Tan i heard is quite good too! Got some reviews in the forum you can go see see..

<font color="aa00aa">Nursing Bras</font>
I'm using the Sorella seamless w/o wire kind. Pretty hard to find nice comfy wireless bra de..

Teenyweeny, I delivered at Mt E. Her stiching was very good/ tight(from what the nurses told me). To be honest, when i 1st went to see her, i had some reservations cos she seems to see a lot of non-pregnancy cases ie more for cosemetic/derma stuff but i found her pretty good and dedicated after the visit and delivery =) Was she ur gyane too?

nursing bras
try bebelove at http://bebelove.com.sg/ i bought her vanessa nursing bra. darn comfy.. 10% disc for SMF peeps

Ok going to sleep leow... was pumping and reading the posts (and shopping) sigh.. pumppumppump only got 50ml from my left breast.

Blessed11: The one near my place cost a bomb! I heard it costs $1500 per term!! So thinking of St James at Dempsey -- but got waiting list leow!

<font color="aa00aa">pamela</font>
I delivered at Mt A. I was too 'seh' to ask abt my stitching after my delivery.. hehee..
OH, i didn't know she's more towards cosmetic/derma stuff cos she's been my gynae all the while. In fact, all my friends sees her. =) I like her cos she's really friendly and gentle, like what you say, really dedicated so i feel very reassured especially after seeing her. Feel very taken care of.

<font color="17aaa7c"> My turn to go orh orh liao.. before baby wakes up!
Goodnight ladies!
</font>.

mummy zeal, thx for t info on baby monitor!

Re: Mosquito patch
There is a BP on it. $12 for 30pcs, cheaper than pharmacy.

Kash, I also go to the chinese medi shop @ Tampines Mart to get Enfalac FM and diapers. So much cheaper.

Re: Drugstore &amp; Medela
I think drugstore does not carry Medela stuff anymore.

Re: Yaolan
Quoted from KKH website:
<font color="0000ff">"Sarong Cradles
-> Babies can fall out of sarong cradles, and the impact from the fall can cause serious injuries
-> The spring of the sarong cradle can snap
-> <font color="ff0000">Vigorous rocking can cause internal brain bleeding</font>, lead to baby falling out of the sarong cradle, or result in baby being pushed against an adjacent wall"</font>

Hence, do think twice before using. And if really need to use, do be careful.

Re: Walkers
Quoted from KKH website:
<font color="0000ff">"Baby Walkers
The myth: Baby walkers help babies to learn how to walk.
The truth: <font color="ff0000">Prolonged use of baby walkers can slow down baby's ability to walk.</font>

Babies go through many stages of development. As the infant grows, the central nervous system matures and muscle bulk increases in size gradually. This allows the infant to move from a lying down to an upright position.

There have been no studies to prove that an infant will walk at an earlier age if he is put in a walker.

Putting an infant in a walker allows him to move around and explore his surroundings. It encourages the child to extend his legs, allowing weight bearing to occur. At the same time, the muscle groups in the legs of the baby are strengthened.

<font color="ff0000">In addition, the infant should be about 5 to 6 months old before being put in a walker.</font> This is to ensure that he has developed adequate head and upper body control in an upright position.

When the infant further develops and starts to crawl or pull himself into the standing position, other muscle groups are developed in these activities. <font color="ff0000">Putting the infant in a walker then might not allow development of these other muscle groups.</font>

As the child grows stronger, a single push on the walker might propel the infant in the walker far ahead. This may lead to headlong collisions with furniture, or falls down a flight of unbarred steps.

Baby walkers have been responsible for many injuries and deaths in children as:
-> Babies in walkers move faster and reach higher than are appropriate for their age, putting them at risk of injuries
-> Babies in walkers cannot see where they are going or what they are running over well
Walkers tip over easily
-> With the `aid `of walkers, toddlers can run into hidden dangers, bump into furniture, pull on hanging appliance cords, topple over, and fall down stairs"</font>

Hence, walkers may be more of a danger than a help. If using, should not use walkers too early.

mummies, need some help/advice..

my baby has been fussing more and more after feeds, so hv been giving her some FM and EBM. Now really worried my supply is decreasing and cannot catch up so wanna start pumping. When do you guys normally pump? after latch or try to squeeze in some time in between feeds? i yield very little after latch, like 10ml only, probably cos bb has finished everything liao. But if pump in between feeds, am worried when she wakes, I hv nothing to latch.

How ah??

pamela,
haha! welcome to the shopaholics club! We have similar taste too! Not only did we buy the balboa, I also bought vanessa from bebelove!

dymples/teeny weeny,
yes, my hubby knows that i wear the sling without bb in it, i jus tell him troublesome to take out lor, and bb may wanna nurse again soon so might as well leave it on ;p

teeny weeny,
what are happybellies? sounds cute!

was surfing the net and came across the angel toothbrush http://www.firstbrush.com/. does this serve the same purpose as first teeth? am kiasu mummy, baby no teeth yet but thinking of buying toothbrush already, haha.

fifi,
thanks for your excerpts on the yaolan. may reconsider now since it will be my maid "yao-ing" when i go back to work. but then, dunno how to put my baby to sleep??

glad gal,
tnks for your website on the rental of toys.. Sometimes it comes really useful when we are in doubt whether to puchase or not as some are quite ex and not sure whether our bb loves it..

pamela,
is mother@work located at Greatworld city? That it is called mothers's work? so confusing cos when i give them ur details, they said no
record..

Dymples,
hey, the nursing bra with floral look nice! I would have buy it if i havent get my emma jane nursing bra..

Pam> ya, i heard from my cousin that the montessori schools along Bukit Timah has long waiting list for our mousey babies! My cousin already queued up for his son, he was told to waiting list is 1 year! siao! the school fees is $1k+ loh.

Fifi> wah lau, now u are scaring me. i put my boy on electric yaolan leh... hmmm...... read the reports, so scary!!! EEeeekkk

Maria: Bb tried the swing for 2 days - I think he is quite ok in it and also fell asleep after a full feed.
I think the swing motion and the soft music helps! However, if I just put him there when he is fussing, he can only stay still for abt 20 min haa before he starts fussing again..

Teeny weeny,
Hee yah, what are happybellies? When can we start giving bb?

Joyce: Np!
I also feel they are gd coz allows me to try out certain toys before buying...

Pamela, amooks: Serious?! So fast must enrol bb liao ah in kindergarten. Seems soo early! Was thinking more for CC haa..

Morning mummies..
So many posts over night!!

Thanks for advising of female gynae, i will inform my gf &amp; let her decide

hahah.. there are so many spree queens.. Mildy> u got so many buddies here ! talking about balboa sling.. they look so pretty..it's adjustable.. are they useful?

i saw someone selling bumbo seat @ $35... but collection pt at bayshore road... so FAR away..

the bandana bibs are so cute.. duno wanna buy anot. haha

lilian> bp on mosquito patch? can share the link? i wana get that too.

diapers>
i have got 2 packs of mammypoko yday! $21.90 for 66 pcs. it's cheap! i oso got pampers comfort to try.. it's $11.45 for 58 pcs.. i opened up &amp; see &amp; it's indeed not so gd quality. shall try &amp; see. maybe can use for day.. mus save cost sia..

Amooks:
Heehee... sorry. Just want you all to be aware of the dangers so that you can take necessary precautions lor if you need to use the yao lan. If can dun use, better still mah. My maid managed to let my daughter sleep 4 hrs in the day from 12+ to 4+ without any yao lan or anything (yes 4 hours continuous). She juz make sure my BB got suffificent gai gai time in the morning &amp; sufficient milk before she sleep. She sleep on my bed surrounded by my hubby's &amp; my pillow so that our smell is there and my BB feels secure.

Gd morning.. me panda eyes...
i rock my bb for 1 hr 10mins only to have him wake up 30mins later to scream. no matter wat i do he won't stop yelling. almost threw him on the bed and walked off.. in the end hb took over and he fell aslp within 15 mins.. damn sian leh!!! the only gd thing is he skipped the 4am play time and woke up at 6am instead. so tired!!

Glad_gal, thanks for the link on renting the toys! i have been looking for a swing for the longest time. almost wanted to import one over from US. but the swings all rented out leh.. hope they will be returned soon.

Alibaba, want me to collect on ur behalf? i stay near bayshore.

Re: walkers
Ya i dun think walkers are necessary. i rather use bumbo cos it forces ur bb to use the necessary muscles to keep his head up.

Re: kindergarten
Are u guys serious???!!! queuing up for places liao? wah then primary sch how? start looking for apartments near the sch u want now so that u qualify becos u live within 2km of the sch???

Fruche, its possible that ur breast is block hence very little milk comes out. hopefully u can get it unblocked.

Joyce, yeah.. motherswork at gwcity.
My card number is 005924. Under my name Pamela Kang. They just sent me my card so maybe hvnt update? Anyway if next time they dont hv the record, just call me I speak to them.. the supervisor (lye ting) there can rem me .. cos I bother them so much! hahahhaa

bear> i checking with the seller about sending via post. if it's not too exp. den no need to collect on behalf liao =) thks

fifi> alyssa can slp 4hr during the day!! so good.. my maid told me nowadays he v hong sim.. drink milk oso mus look around &amp; talk talk. end up he cannot finish his milk -_-"

About the next gathering, anyone got suggestions for dates? I go book the function room at my place. But it's a bit far away, do u guys mind? Near Bukit Batok....
i think weekends are better for most mummies right?

All talking abt sprees online!

I am also guilty abt shopping too. Just bot the Pupsik Pouch, waitg for it to come.. and now so tempted to buy the Balboa sling as well. Actually was deciding btween this, and the Pouch, but since Pouch is cheaper, then wanted to try out first.

Can any mummies give more feedback with regards to the Balboa sling? Wanna hear more before I cave in to temptations... again!!!

hehehe, ya ya, GET READY ALL THE NECK FLOATS!
but no heated pool though....
Ya bear, i was thinking Good friday but like still so long way leh. how about earlier dates?

Hihi Mummies

I am offically back to work today...so sianz.

Talking about spree...I am doing Crocs spree now, 30% off retail price...anyone interested? CLosing 20 Feb, collection on 1st March.

Amook....Bukit Batok so near me...heehee.

Glad...I also use the Fisher Price Take along swing...my gal can sleep in for hours. That my best buy.

Jo,
i think my bb gal is overweight... haha.

Vincy,
oh... me going back to work on 16feb.
Gonna to miss my bb gal.

yes, i m intersted... wanna to get 1 for my elder gal. can u pm me the details and t&amp;c?

pamela,
anyway i didnt buy much, will call u for sure next time. Thanks!

Alibaba,
my baby also the same, si bei hong xim, so normally i asked maid to feed her in the room when there is ppl at home..

bear,
think ur boy missed u alot when u go bk to work, that's y he fuss a bit now and then. Hopefully will be guai guai soon!

Hi mummies, wow...din log in for a day and so many posts!

Ysday i was so busy and almost went crazy loOking aft both my elder gal and bb alone from 6am till 7pm!.She was suspected to contract HFMD in the morning and was asked to monitor at hm.Me gt so worry and whole day at hm,making sure she din touch and get close to her didi.Lucky,is just a false alarm and back to sch today.

Kash,
your boi look so cute in the bumbo seat!
Make me tempted to get one too! Previously din get any for my gal to sit on cos she dun like after trying on my neighbour's one.Think i shld borrow from my fren and try on my boi... heehee

pamela,
I tink is better to ask the moderator to remove the posting on the card no for motherswok.
There are too many 'silent' readers who might misuse your card.

Haaa.. nw i realised there are so many shopping spree queens in our thrend!

Re: cake
Hey mummies, i wanna get a birthday cake for my gal's bd. Any intro where to get nice cake?
Most of the time i ordered from pine garden.But tis time round, wanna try others ley.

happy,
re : cake
u can try smiling orchid.
i ordered from them for my elder gal 1st BD in yr07. i like it very much.. the design...and taste nice too.

Bear: Coz 1 is already rented by me hahaa...you can request to be on their waiting list and they will notify you when the item available for rent!

Triangel: Going back work on next Mon too!! Sigh
Going to miss bb lots, even though initially I remember 1st 2 mths of ML, I can't wait to go back to work coz taking care of a fussy bb nearly drive me nuts hee :p

Vincy: Wow..gd that your bb loves the swing..I am wondering if shld buy the swing after I finish renting, coz I think the swing cannot use for too long in future, once bb is bigger coz now I see my bb just abt sits snuggly on it..

Sprees - Feel like buying more clothes for bb again haa..saw another new BP on rompers.. terrible

Glad gal,
ya...time files...our 16wks of ML is ending soon. actually i m looking forward it cos i can finally leave my maid with my mil. but on the other hand gonna to miss bb...

how's ur bb boy? what is his weight now? i rem both our babies shared the same BD.

Just in case some of you dun know that I've already placed order.

First Teeth Enzyme Toothpaste - USD4.49=SGD6.96 before shipping
1. joyce_7580 - 2 tubes
2. kash - 7 tubes
3. Alibaba - 2 tubes
4. Waterbaby - 4 tubes
5. Babyzel - 2 tubes
6. Lilian - 4 tubes
7. Bear - 1 tube

Lasinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags 25ea - USD6.49=SGD10.06 before shipping
1. Bear - 8 boxes
2. Babyzel - 1 box
3. Minkybear - 2 box

GNC Fenugreek 610mg 200ea USD12.99=SGD20.14 before shipping (there is 50% on 2nd bottle so will share out the discount between the 2 of you)
1. Wtan - 1 bottle
2. Babyzel - 1 bottle

Anyone else wants stuff from drugstore? Friend wants some items but missed my last order. So if anyone else wants, I can help her meet the order amt.

Is Gerber rice cereal good?

fifi> u noe where to get medela parts cheaper ah? i tink the tubing seems to be getting loose. especially now i started work need to take in &amp; out so frequently... wanna get extra funnels etcs

Alibaba:
I get from First Few Years coz my hubby got 10% discount. But recently my hubby getting more niao. He say he wont interupt his work to go to the shop to show his pass for me to get the 10% liao if the item is not for me de. Coz I ask him to help my friends too many times liaoz.

Dymples and Alibaba: Hi! My gynae is Dr Eunice Chua. Highly recommended. She's very nice and I would love to have her deliver my baby but in the end I delivered in Perth. I went to her all the way till sep then flew off to Perth. I continued seeing her after I return to sg. Dymples, we may have met in the clinic since we both deliver babies in nov.

Krystel: re milk blisters, the other day my lactation consultant also mentioned about using needle to poke. she said that type of blocked ducts is easiest to treat. just poke and milk will come gushing. i think its similar to what Dymples did herself.

Happywifey: about expressing milk...what I did was one month before i begin work, I give my bb formula in the evening. and in place of that, i expressed milk and freeze it. Collected just enough for a week's suppy cos i dun have much.
and cos i dun have much usually i dun express after feeds. I know I'm supposed to do that to increase ss but I'm also afraid if bb hungry again i hv no more milk. and i find the sterilizing of equip such a chore too!!! and then to express only 5ml each time gosh!!

Fifi: If you are helping mummies to get those milkbags pls let me know. I hv used medela ones and like it but too exp. now using playtex cos cheaper but i find them troublesome...difficult to clip the bag properly....quite often my precious milk will leak out of the bag. if lansinoh ones are like zip blocked bags, I'd much prefer using those. thks in advance.

fifi>
kaka.. it's ok la.. i see how. maybe i ask my sil to help to get. cos she used to work at KKH.. so can get her ex colleague to help