(2008/11) November 2008

job: I just received a call with a job offer, back into my recruitment line.. now I'm not sure as to take up the offer anot.. Basic salary is so much lower than my previous job though I know cannot compare la (this agency is newer hence they dun wanna risk giving high basic salary and the designation is lower) but they offering higher commission to cover my lower basic salary.. but still sianzzz leh.. hmmmz... should i or should i not~

Good Afternoon Ladies!!!
Its been a long time since I popped in. kekek... been bz with the 2 girls. Now training the younger one to drink from a bottle as going for a trip next week. I am so the duper tired. its so much easier to latch her on. I dunno y she reject bottle as we did give her bottle all along...well we stopped abt 2 to 3 weeks n now she rejected it totally. Today is day 3 le. Its slightly better but she is like taking 30 ml of milk every time i tried to feed her. its making mi go crazy, how can 30 ml of milk b enough!?!?!? n every time i put the bottle in her mouth she cry big time or use her tongue to push out the teats.......HELP!!!!

enne,
nice to hear from u again! BB L will definitely b better soon and go home with you. Hang in there! and take good care of yourself too!

Enne, best wishes for your baby
I hope he gets well soon and he sounds like a real fighter, a very brave baby.

Mildy,
Few mummies here are also experiencing bb fussing during feeds. For my bb, no soln helps.

Jenn,
If you need a job asap, then accept the offer first. But if u have no financial worries at all, then slowly look for one.

jo,
u also latch bb then now bb reject bottles? sometimes i thinking if i should le her go really hungry then feed her so she will just drink. never had this kinda of problems with no 1. ARGH!

Mildy, I only latch bb during 1st mth. Even my bb hungry, he also fuss. I changed milk bottle brand, bottle teats, milk powder ... he still fuss. Guess that is his temper ... cant be help.

my baby boy now is 14 weeks. I have no one to care for my baby when i go back to work. My terrible MIL all the sudden changes her mind in taking care for me. now am so lost.. Is infant care better or nanny?
Sob.. do any one has the trust to put complete trust on maid to take care?

jo, for us we are still surviving though not rich but I have not been working for 10 mths le, feel so bad to let my hubby work to yang us and it's definately diff when it's my own hard earn $ that i spent and not his =P anyway, we have applied for infant care liao coz Jurong Point opening a new centre so starting in April.. hope to find a job by then =)

jenn, I have friends who are a stay home moms and have some income coming in. You can be an introducer if you have friends who are working insurance line. that mean you introduce business like your friends need to buy insurance. Once your friends buy the plan, you get some commission. I mean at least can stall some time when sourcing for job and at the same time have at least some income on hand.

Lin, welcome!

Jynnsan, hope you not affected.

Jenn & Happy, hope we can get a job soon! I intend to get a job at civil service, more stable. Have sent out 2 applications but no news yet. Looks like not easy to get a job now.

Haru, yup the playtex is 8oz one. Bought it at $11.25 and intend to sell at $10. I am not using it, don't mind letting go at a price that you are comfortable with.

Hi, ladies.
Hv been missing for quite some time.

Shop4stuffs
I bought the same as Jenn, Prime Care Plan 2 from AXA as I delivered in TMC too with FBI card.
Thinking of buying life policy and medical ins for him as well.

alibaba,
Some1 call me before I (think 2-3mths b4 i) deliver. Sign the insurance form when my son is abt 2mths old.

Hey ladies,

Fifi, Bluebear and I went to visit Enne and BB L just now. We passed her all ur well wishes.
Let's continue to pray for bb L ok? He is one big fighter!

Alibaba, blue chip shares are big companies like SIA, DBS, UOB, OCBC etc.

Shop4stuff, it Patisser leh, of cos good to eat!! not some cheapo cake shop!!!

Welcome Lin! u are not the only one with MIL probs.. i so pissed off with mine! i dun trust my maid yet. will only decide if she can handle the bb aft a review at 6 mths even though my maid is quite gd.

Babyzel and Kash, send us the photos leh.. email add is in the Nov mummies list.. thanks!

Jynnsan, studies show that bbs that expose to tv early tend to be hyperactive. this is bcos the flickering images on tv move too fast for the bb to understand and process. supposedly this will translate to toddlers being not able to concentrate on doing one thing, leading to hyperactivity.

Jo, Happy, Krystel and Jenn, gd luck in ur job search. Krystel if u want civil service job, why dun u consider teaching?

krstel,
thanks!let me see how much i'm left with ya? if its running low i'll get it from ya.=>

Enne,
keep e faith ya? ur boy will strengthen up!!

Re:insurance
i had 6 mths free from AIA for delivering at glenE and i also bot a healthshied and enhanced gift of love (medical/accident plan) as well as edu plan.

re:bottle feeding
my baby is e opposite..she only has bottle once a day when i m at work and my mum says she finishes it in like 10 mins. ha..

Finally, MD just briefed everyone, phase 1 retrenchment come to a full stop. Safe at this moment.

Bear:
OIC, ya, now i remember i ever read something like that "Unable to focus..." i think i better stop baby from watching TV so frequent.

Lynn:
My MIL is a very nice MIL but when come to taking care of her grandson (she is not working), she said she not used to stay at my place and she is worry and need to take care of my FIL, sister and brother in-law if she come over my place lah...I keep asking my husband," Who need her to take care more, a baby or adults?"

Jo, happy, Jenn

hope u ladies managed to find a new job soon.

jenn,

i agree with karen, accept the job first and can still slowly search for other jobs. But if u have no financial commitment, then can still slowly wait till the right job comes along.

jynnsan

hope ur company will stabilise and no further retrenchment... very sian with this economy...juz hope everything will improve soon.

enne

great to hear from you. Stay strong and we all here will pray for bb L to get well and go home soon....

Sabre

think 70ml per feed is very little leh... think my boy drank 70ml when he was abt 2/3 weeks liao.... try to give 130ml 1 feed see whether ur bb can finish?

fifi,

the baby first teeth is $13.90 in chinatown. as for teething gel, i used dentinox for my gal last time... but dun find that teething gel will make any difference lah.... PD also said no need but can use if parents want.

The baby first teeth toothpaste u all wont use so soon...it is suitable to start using if ur kid has like 6, 7 or 8 teeth onwards. I am ordering so much for my #1 who is using twice a day so very fast finish.

once ur bb is teething, the teething wipes will be a better idea then toothpaste for a start loh... actually actually to dentist and PD, water and cloth is good enuff... for my gal, i used the toothpaste coz else i find she has bad breathe...heehee...

gathering photo..

havent got the opportunity to upload it yet...once i upload it, will email to you ladies...

Re : maid

agency called to tell me that my maid wanted to change employer coz my mum told her she can eat pork. agency staff scolded her STUPID!!! she can juz say she doesn't want. Anyway, i am so much happier without an outsider staying with me now though busier.

Personally, if u really can make do without a maid, perhaps it will be better to NOT hire one... Honestly, if just 1 kid, really no need to have a maid at all. My hb and I were both working and we do not need a maid when we had #1 till #2 came along. Tot with 2 kids with such close age gap at 17 mths apart we can't live without a maid, we hired one.... now it is the 3rd week we are without the maid and so far so good. My only issue is when i go back to work... whether i can still handle without a maid. I will see how it goes only when i go back to work. If really cannot manage the housework, then will look for another maid...if can manage, life is really so much happier without a maid living with me.

shopforstuff
thanks, i was actually looking for part time maid lobang, not full time maid thou...

vincy

u can send ur maid back to indonesia only provided she has repaid all her loan... if she still has outstanding loan, u have to send her back to the agency...like me.... hiaz...

Lynn:
Now infant care is not bad. Can consider. Else maybe maid if you can get a good one.

Krystal:
If Haru does not want the playtex liners, I dun mind taking it.

Fruche:
Correct me if I am wrong but you are not a Nov mum? My sprees are only for Nov mums.

Kash:
Wad kind of teething wipes?

Shop4stuffs
This is meant for education and will get certain amount (based on how much we pay for the premiun) when baby turn age of 20

Bear: I have no choice now. My stupid MIL beforehand promised my HB that she is ok to take care. Now when I am going back to work on 16th Feb, she backed out and say she don think she want to. I am so angry with her. so last min.She still got the cheek to say she loves her first grandson and she will buy him nice clothing to wear.My HB also another one, like tortorise don know how to say the mother.

Fifi: I call the infant care alr. She says too last min, have to be in waiting list. now am so lost. but no choice have to let the maid take care. I think I will put a webcam in the house, to monitor the maid. sob sob..

Enne: Your boy is really a fighter! Hope he gets better soon and you do take care also...

Bottle rejection:
Just to share my personal experience as my boy also rejected the bottle initially after 1st mth. He kept screaming when we give him the bottle. It was soo frustrating as I did not want my mum to have probs feeding him when I return to work. So decided to be hardhearted. Did not latch him on and waited till he cried and cried and was really hungry. In the end he gave in and drank. I also slowly increased bottle feeding from once a day to 3 times a day now. Now I am glad he's much better.
Jo and Milderina: Hope your bb gradually can take to bottle..gd luck!

Going back to work...super sianz!
Hope milk ss wouldnt drop drastically....

Lynn,
Welcome!

Photo,
I have the photo and have sent to Alibaba and joyce. Who else want? I will PM you.

Bluebear,
Not much, don't need to say owe me $$. It's a pity u left earlier if not we can chat more. Next gathering then.

Shopforstuffs,
I will be getting a medical, life and edu plan for my baby. But will wait till i go back to work then i see my company recommended product list before deciding. Have been out of action for a while, need to go back then generate the benefit illustrations to see. Medical plan definitely a must!

Jynnsan,
I wonder why babies love to watch tv, must be the colour and movements. I try to stop her from watching but she will still turn her head to watch..

Bear,
Then i better stop my gal from watching totally...
will send u the pic.

My bb prefers BM to FM, she can always finish 100ml BM one shot but for FM, she will only take 70-80ml then reject liao. My mil kept asking me to give more FM in case she totally reject FM. Sianz.. I wanted the best for bb and give her as much BM as possible but now leaving her with MIl to take care, scare she will keep giving FM.

My boy's schedule is much better now, I'm feeding him every 3 hrs. Inbetween if he fuss den i will feed him water. He's taking 100-140ml now.. Think he's getting heavier, my wrist hurts liao..

kash,
I also find it very little at first. But then sometimes he drinks every hr.. Now is much better liao...

mummies: outing sounds nice! who will be so kind as to email me the pix?

alibaba, glad gal: yah, i missed chatting to the 2 of u too

enne: bless! i will pray tt little L gets better.

work-wise, rather depressing. my boss' boss (no. 2 man in the bank) called me in & sd he wants to transfer me to anor dept. altho he sd it in nice way, i know it's a career killer cos tt dept is one bunch of old women & quite dead-end. sigh. what to do? 4 kids, 2 maids. i really need the job.

Jo: so sorry to hear your news! but pls take care of yourself.

it's been a sad week.

oh yah, one more thing. i wasted 1 day's leave yesterday cos the stupid gp i went to for pneumococcal jab didn't tel us must have 1 month in between different vaccines. so fed up. spent the time sleeping & sending my pump to phillips avent for repair.

hi all the nov mummies,

i'm a silent reader on this spree since pregnant till now my boy is already 3 mths old.... he was born on 4 nov...

i've benefited very much on yr discussions and hope that i'm welcome to join u gals now that i'm returning to work soon and shld have some time to chat on the NET as currently i'm taking care of my bb alone...can only surf NET whilst my bb was asleep but alas, his day time nap is very short, usually 30 mins at a time...

cheers..

Fifi,
you can get the playtex liners from Krystel coz i checked this morn and i still have quite a bit left. =>

Babyzel,
my baby loves watching telly too. somehow she can even turn her head to watch it upside down. so i resorted to not turning the tv on during the day. only watch it in e evenings and try not to let her face telly directly as much as poss. But its a challenge!haha..

Re:eek:uting photo
Please PM e pix!! thanks!!

welcome pinkdolphin!!i know what u mean. my baby nap also super short and can't nap long on her own. most of the time end up letting her nap in my arms. =p

Re: gathering photo
I have forward the photo (from babyzel camera) to those who attended the gathering.

brocoli,Pam and dymples,
Sorry your email nt in the NOV list ley.So i din send to you.

pinkdolphin,
Welcome!
My boy born at 4th Nov too

Enne,
Stay strong and all of us will continue to pray for your baby.

Jynnsan,
Happy for you, at least some relief now

peanut,
same here.. Thinking of weaning off pacifier for my girl but on the other hand, it comes so useful and effective when my girl is cranky.. Contradicting right?

Mildy,
your case sounds so similar to mine. My baby start to fuss abt 2, 3 weeks ago when giving her bottle. She will make noise and cry and only drink like 2 oz or so.. At first i guess maybe she prefer my breast than bottle cos sometimes i direct latch her, abt 1 to 2 times a day. So i try not to latch her whenever possible and also i start to stretch her feeding time slightly longer.. And then i also try to change the teats to NUK.. And all these works.. now she will happily drink and seldom make noise.. And she is drinking 5 oz (abt 150ml) now every 3 hourly. Maybe u wanna try my methods? Hope ur girl will guai guai drink from bottle or else ur short trip will be affected.
U going short trip so how u continue bf? keep pumping also?

gladgal,
when u return to work, remember to continue to pump often so that ss wont drop.. And also try not to stress out else it will also affect ur ss. Enjoy working

babyzel,
aii, why most mil is the same. I think you dont store any formula at your mil's place. Tell your mil that baby will accept formula next time, just that u hv to gradually change.. Of course if u change totally overnight, your baby sure wont accept...

Olwen,
you never scold ur pd ya, keke.. So wasted for the leave right?

Hi pinkdolphin,
come chat with us whenever u can

Enne,
Be strong n take care!BB L will go home with you soon!

olwen,
Alamak... why the nurse nv let you knw when u bk the appointment?

Re: tv
oh dear... i let my bb watch tv for half an hr everyday ley.This is the onli time i can clean and mop my flr in peace.he can guai guai sit on the rocker and watch the wheel of the bus!

Happy,
my girl will follow her bro watch tv too, be it barney, wheels on the bus, bob the builder etc.. they can focus very well hor..

hiya joyce,
thanks for your advise. my girl has been using NUK teats leh. i started to only latch her at night now le.morning n afternoon she takes bottle. but the amt she take is so miserable.
i just feed her 70ml after like 1 hr. n she wont drink any more till like 3 hrs later. i c all the other bbs here are like drinking 120 ml at least. makes mi start to wonder if all this while she dun take tat much as well. going for like 8 days, will still pump during the trip, see come back left how much. needed the trip to keep myself sane. lolx

does anyone know how much should our bb take in a day for their age?

Happy,
Thanks for helping me fwd the pix.

Pinkdolphin,
Hi There! Welcome!
My gal also only nap for half an hour during daytime.... think she's a light sleeper. Sigh!

Olwen,
Just went to philips avent today to repair my uno pump set. Lucily they replace with new one immediately so i can still continue with my pump sessions. The queue was terrible though, waited 1 hr for my turn. But glad they gave me another adaptor free.. hehe

Avent spare parts,
Valve : $5 each
Set (valve, funnel cushion n the cushion on top of the valve) : $20 per set
Some mummies mentioned that the star thingy(manual pump) was phased out, it's true. They using the kind of valve we used in electric pump (uno).
I bought 2 sets from philips @ toa payoh lorong 1.

Haru,
I realised my milk supply has increase liao. I think cos i took fenugreek twice afternoon 3 pills and evening 3 pills for 2 consecutive days and pump like 4-5 sessions per day and latch on whenever possible. i use to manage only 50ml to 100ml per session. Now i can get 160ml to 200ml per pump session every 4 hourly. As i have uno and manual i use them both in a session. Hope this will help u.

Joyce,
Today my mil came to look after bb while i go philips then come home i pump milk. She asked how much i get per pump session, then she saw my output and commented can go total BM liao. Keke...phew. I think she very concern i dun have enough for bb. hope she wun force me to increase FM again....

Milderina,
So lucky to be able to travel. My hubby say i can only start to travel after bb is like 5 yrs. Siao! I can't wait that long.

Joyce,
How do u stretch ur bb feeding time? My bb taking 100ml every 2 hrs still... turning 4 mths coming week.

welcome lynn & pinkdolphin

Enjoy a good weekends!

Enne> we'll pray for BB L to go back soon! u take good care of urself too!

Happy> i got the pics liao. thks ^_^ am looking forward to the next gathering

babyzel> ur SS shoot up after taking fenugreek ah.. guess i shld starting taking it liao..

Mildy> envy u! can travel... my hb told me tis yr cannot travel.. cos not much leaves.. hai.. see next yr how.. he told me he maybe gg europe for training.. how i wish i can tag along!! maybe physcho him to go short trip... bintan oso shiok...

bb TV fann>
my boy too love to watch tv.. when i am feeding him milk, his head turned to the tv side. obviously is watching tv... fainted...tis morn my mil told me he can even response to the tv.. he tot the tv was toking to him even... after hearing bear's post.. i so scared sia.. tink mus try prevent him from watchin too much TV!

Alibaba,
I really think it is due to fenugreek. U try first with lower dosage and see how. If need then increase and see got diff or not. But must also pump/latch more ya. Jiayou!

Babyzel,
can send me t gathering photo?

Anyone want fenugreek capsule from Nature Farm (left 1/2 bottle) and nursing tea from MIM (3/4 pack) ? Giving away FOC, but need to collect them from me @ Tampines

Happy, babyzel> thanks for forwarding the photo. I havent got time to download from my camera. sorry!

Mosh> my son was also on NAN HA and his fart is extremely smelly. he doesnt like the FM, i have changed to ENFALAC for 2 weeks liao.

Mildy> i also had problems with my boy rejecting bottle. i guess u really have to be hardhearted and i really did that like gladgal and he bo bian have to drink when he's hungry.

Enne> take care! jia you!

Hi Fifi,

Is Nov Mum a specific group I have to join?
I did deliver my baby in Nov so I have started reading this thread for advice and ideas.

Its alright if I cant join in thr bulk purchase.

Thanks anyway.

Hi Fruche,

I spree mainly for the mums who are regulars of this thread (i.e. the nov mums). I dun want to include people whom are not regulars as spree for strangers may pose some problems. Furthermore, my account is less than 1 year old (hence not qualified to organise sprees in the marketplace) and if my sprees are not private to my friends, the admin may not like it.

That said, please be welcome to join us in chatting and i'll be glad to include you in for the next sprees as I would know you by then.

Sure Fifi. I understand.
Will try to join you all as much as possible. My baby is quite a handful tho. wants to be carried at ALL times!

I've read abt fenugreek for increasing milk supply....does it have to be prescribed? safe to just take like that? Will it still work taking at this stage? My bb is 3mths now. Just worried that as he grows older, he'll need more and I don't have more!

Hope u had a wonderful sat! i brought my boys (hb, Zach and Cody) to the Botanical Gardens for a picnic! Zach loved it.. we were there for 2.5 hrs and he didn't even fussed once. heh..

Olwen, wat a dumbo PD.. the nurses lagi more dumbo.. :p

Re: TV
Actually most PD recommend that babies do not watch tv till the age of 2 yrs old. by then their brains will be able to process images faster.
I haven't let my boy watch tv yet, simply becos i don't watch it myself. haha.. i m like the weirdest person around. I can go on for mths without turning on the tv!!! i know it can be quite hard to entertain ur bb all the time, esp those who are handling ur kids by urself so don't kill urself if ur bbs watch a bit of tv once awhile.

http://pregnancy.about.com/od/yourbaby/a/babiesandtv.htm
http://www.whitedot.org/issue/iss_story.asp?slug=ADHD%20Toddlers

Re: Fenugreek
Some ppl are more susceptible to the effects of fenugreek while others dun see anything at all. if u just take the pills without stimulating ur breasts, don't expect an increase in milk supply. cos a full breast is the best way to tell ur body to limit milk production. U really gotta keep latching or emptying them.

Fruche, this website says that up to 15 wks post partum, taking fenugreek can help increase milk production. again u need to be diligent in emptying ur boobs.

http://www.kellymom.com/herbal/milksupply/fenugreek.html

Lynn, i hope u solve ur childcare probs soon. if ur MIL dun wanna take care of ur bb, can she drop by ur plc to do spot check on ur maid? i very scared to trust maids cos u really dunno what they will do when u not around. plus installing a webcam might not help cos u cannot capture all angles and by the time u view the footage it might be too late.
else u can check all the infantcare centres near ur plc and see if others have vacancies.

hope you all having a good weekend. me tried e beco carrier today and baby managed to sleep in it w/o crying or use of pacifier. very happy with it, plus its comfy.

babyzel,
thanks for ur advice.right now i am only able to pump twice (once at work, once at night) as the rest of e time i latch baby on both sides about 15 mins each side. hope this is good enough. feeding her about every 2.5 to 3.5 hourly. currently only taking fenugreek once a day, 2 pills. think i will try to increase dosage and see if it helps.=>

I've received the gathering photo.. v nicely taken! thanks babyzel

Mummies, anyone using PUPSIK BABY POUCH CARRIER? any feedbacks? v tempted to get one from the BP. hey Haru, how much is the beco? after the gathering, i went to mothercare to try my bibi on the "bjoin" carrier.. bibi started crying non-stop.. sighz. looks like she dont like it.