(2008/11) November 2008

bluebear: thanks for the advise...

dymples: Yes i believe is true too. Last time I used to turn radio on and when ppl ard she can still sleep and even in malls, i turned it off about 2-3 weeks ago and felt the difference, she became very 'im chim' a bit of noise cried non stop until all my CNY celebrations ended up in going home really early. *sigh*

Now I know, I keep the radio on all the time.

RE: CARRIERS

Anyone using Bjorn carriers and loving it? Am thinking of getting one for baby to face front, but quite ex and not sure if baby likes it.

do u hv trouble putting your babies to sleep in the day? my baby is either crying or kay-pohing and hardly sleeps. the only way she will sleep is if we rock her in our arms and when we try to put her down she will wake
she used to sleep in the electronic cradle but it doesnt work as well as it used to anymore.

read that its good to establish a routine for babies. but how to do that when she doesnt sleep at all?

happywifey: I had difficulty at first then I tried to put into yao lan and she sleeps within 5 mins. So I guess yaolan did helped her sleep better and faster in the day, anda at night she sleeps on cot.

But as they grow older may also sleep lesser.

Bibi,
cold cabbage is for engorgement, i thought. Too much cold cabbage will cause drop in ss, that's what i was told. hmm..

Happywifey: I just learnt a trick today from the mommies... bring your baby out for a loooong walk. It will be easier for her to sleep when she comes back. I will be trying it tomorrow. Will let you know if it works ok? =)
BTW, hv you tried reading the Gina Ford book? I tried it for the first few weeks and to be honest, it worked for a while --- then I lost the discipline to continue =( But 2 of my friends tried it and SWEARS by it. In the book, it specifies what time u need to feed the baby and put bb to sleep. Hope it helps!

sorri mummies not able to join today cos bb has been fussing during feed these days..hope u all enjoy the gathering...

It's nice meeting all of u and seeing so many cute babies.. Looking forward to more of such gathering.

MAmy Poko,
NTUC selling at $21.90 for all sizes. Now till end of the month.

Nice meeting with all u today!
All mummies are so friendly
same with babyzel, looking forward to more gathering and will definetely bring my gal along.

it was nice meeting you all for e first time today. guess what? my baby pooped big time right after we parted and her poopy leaked all over and i had to clean and change her and feed her. by e time everything done, i could go pick hubby up from work liao. her diaper seems to leak often now coz on BM so poo is super runny and she likes to have one big poo time a day! think too much and too fast for diaper to contain,ha!

Sabre,
hope ur baby is feeling better. we were looking forward to see you there today..the next time then!

Sigh! Would really love to meet mummies here but finding difficult going out and bringing her out...*sigh sigh*...

<font color="ff0066"> Today's gathering</font>
It was nice meeting all the mommies today. Sorry if I din get your names and also paiseh din manage to talk wz all of you... shy shy lah.
heheheheh... somemore my first time joining you ladies. But I really enjoyed chatting wz all of you.
All the babies are sssooo CUTE &amp; ADORABLE too!! Definately looking forward to more gatherings.

<font color="ff0066"> Pamela</font>
I'm currently using this one:
Product: Snuzzler Terry Cloth Ivory
Product code: #20119
Price: S$38.00

hehhehe... I'm also ordering the other one from this BP:
Product: Snuzzler Head &amp; Body Support - Pink
Product code: #20127
Price: S$36.20

Not much diff between the 2 except that the Pink piping one feels a little velvety. Nice to touch.

<font color="ff0066"> Sabre &amp; cutiemum</font>
Oh dear... hope your bb's are feeling better now.

Dymples

Thks.. after 2 days on nebuilser, the cough n phelgm seem better.. n most impt, he is not so cranky n fussing so much.. he is a happier bb now..

<font color="ff0066"> Cutiemum</font>
I'm glad tat your bb is better now. What a relief.

It must hv been so heartpain to see him not feeling well... then as parents, are not able to help much.

dymples,

ya, tat rite somemore flared up at him several time too..
Going back for review tomolo.. hopefully everything is gd..

Re: Diapers

I have tried the Huggies Dry Comfort, super leak-lock system. I like it as it really prevents leakage. Just giving my feedback, as promised.

As promised, will try to consolidate orders for "First Teeth Toothpaste" and "Lasinoh Milk Bags".

If interested, copy and paste the list and add your name.

First Teeth Enzyme Toothpaste - USD4.49=SGD6.96 before shipping.
1. Name &amp; Qty

Lasinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags 20ea - USD6.49=SGD10.06 before shipping.
1. Name &amp; Qty

GNC Fenugreek 610mg 200ea USD12.99=SGD20.14 before shipping.
1. Name &amp; Qty

<font color="0000ff">If someone can tell me which teething gel is good, I will include into this list as well as our babies will likely start teething in about 1.5-2 mths.</font>

Hi mummies, i share your problem of getting babies to nap during the day. At one point, my baby would only nap in my arms so i ended up putting her on my chest to sleep. After that, my mum and mil insisted that the yao lan would make the baby sleep, and for many hours too! I bought the electronic one and it did work on my baby...for about a week. Now, i'm back to rocking my baby in my arms, sometimes up to an hour, and she might fall asleep depending on her mood but the moment i put her into the yao lan, she would wake up within half an hour or so.

i've been trying to get her into a routine but she doesn't even want to nap, how to fix a routine? Strangely, at night she would just sleep in her cot without much fussing at all...think it's the aircon.

Anyone has any advice on getting babies to nap?

Nice meeting up yesterday. babies at the gathering are all so disciplined!!! how i envy u guys!

When do you all want the next gathering? i can organize food and book the clubhouse to accomodate all mummies &amp; babies! Let me know.

nice meeting so many mummies and babies yesterday! my special thanks to fifi for calling to make the reservation. My sincere apologies as I did not had the opportunity to even turn on the computer yday.

amooks,

that's a good idea! for me hor, as long as not saturday afternoon can liao coz my #1 got class at 2.30pm every sat afternoon. For weekdays, every tues and thurs I am good for Feb...not sure about other mummies...perhaps can see what's their suggestions?

Hi Fifi,

my orders:

1. kash &amp; 7 tubes

wow .seems to be a nice gathering...im too late for it...hope to join in for the next gathering...

jynnsan
if go back to office and get retrenched, can we sure company?

kash:
Wad teething gel is good huh?

waterbaby:
Recently, my daughter would only sleep if she someone is with her. She would peek from time to time to check. If myself or my maid is with her (preferbly with eyes closed), she will sleep. If not, she will wake up. Hence, we have been resorting to pretending to sleep near her just to get her to sleep longer.

Shop4stuffs:
No. As long as they have given you your maternity benefits, they are free to retrench you.

Hello gals, happy Chinese new year!
Sorry been mia for a while. Signz, missed the gathering again! Busy taking care of kayden myself as maidless for a while. Coming in here to vent a little. Dont mind me hor.

I fired my maid and sent her packing back to indonesia le. I feel so betrayed. I still thought of giving her one full month of salary to help her and thank her for her effort even though she had not finish her loan yet when my new maid comes. Haha, lucky i discovered that she steals early otherwise she will be so so rich liao. I dont know how long she had been stealing but to find that she steals is really a big blow to me cos i trusted her so much. She even bought sexy lingerie. What a stupid bitch!
She even sow discord between my mom and me but i dont know why i tend to side her. I have been too foolish and stupid to believe her.
I yelled and scolded her at the agency when i sent her back, nearly cried. She admitted to her theft but gave lame excuse saying she steal to see doctor. What the heck! I ask her many times whether she need to see a doctor seeing her spend so much time in the toliet but she say no need as she is only having difficulty to shit. And now at the agency use the doctor as an excuse to justify her mistake. Feel like slapping her there and then. Also She need >$100 to see doctor meh?
I hate her so much! At the agency she pleaded with the agent that she dont want to go back indo, dont want to transfer and only want to work for me. She realize its good working for me as ompared to her previous employers yet she doesnt know how to treasure. i nearly laughed. She want me but i dont want her liao, i told the agent.
now i had phobia of engaging maid but my mom insisted. i would rather send my kid to childcare. Since last week i had been managing well with both handling bb and housework without maid. Already told my mom, should there be anymore problems with the new maid, i'm sending kayden to infantcare liao. Dont need to discuss anymore. I'm not finding replacement again.

For the new maid, sorry lor, i wont be so good liao. Will not repeat my mistake. Also will not let her go marketing herself.

bluebear, sorry nearly pass you a dishonest maid. I didnt know that time. Lucky you decided not to have a maid.

also i send her info to a blog to warn others against employing her. You can view it here http://singaporemaidcomments.blogspot.com/2009/02/paryati-indonesian.html

I also email MOM with the intention to blacklist her but MOM says i need to lodge a police report which i didnt as i dont want to be so heartless. oh well...

Sorry for the long post here. Got to go.. Kayden is awake and i'm feeling better. Hahaha...

Also a tip to mummies when checking your maid's belonging. Remember to check their kotek's packs.. my maid can hide money inside. also as she got hong bao, she very smart, fold a $50 note and hide it inside a roll of notes!

new maid come, im going to photograph her every item so next time if she steal and buy stuffs, i have proof that the stuffs are new instead of her claiming that she brought it with her from indo. I suspect My ex maid intend to use up the stolen money so that i wont find out cos she agreed to sign a declaration that she only haev $68 hong bao money and no other singapore currencies. but i found out earlier that she had >$100 extras. Also She had so many new items but we have no proof of. i suspect she got these items when she do the marketing. My mom complain that she can go for a long time and when come home immediately put away some items and only leave the groceries on the table for my mom to see.

Good evening mummies!

Happy Chinese New Year!

I've MIA for so long ... quite busy ever since I started work last Wednesday.

Feeding time: I thought my bb dun like drink milk. Tat time bought brown rice and cook a tsp of brown rice with alot of water Thinking I shall mix 30ml to 150ml of milk. But my MIL actually made 50ml of milk with 130ml of brown rice ... crazy .. SO THICK. My bb also didnt wanna drink. And I said straightly to her so thick how to drink and I pour the whole bottle away and re-make 150ml of milk w 30ml of brown rice. My bb also dun wan ... think he really like to throw temper.

Till nw 3mths &amp; 2wks, he still fuss during feeds.

hi dreamyjo

my agency gave me a list of what she has when she came...and i went through it item by item...after which i told maid whatever things or money people gave which is outside the list, she has to inform me and i will write it down for her and me to sign acknowledge. Other than these things, she will not be allowed to bring out the house when she leaves. So far she has reported everything to me very promptly, including angpao and all these money i kept for her includng her pay.

btw, people who ask maid to throw rubbish outside, please beware as this is a method to get things out of the house as well as to pass to other maids. bangla will also put hp etc in bins for the maid too so if maid pick up bangla will call hp and they will befriend...clever rite...lots more man...

try asking your maid what agency told them about the tricks and you will learn more...thats what my maid told me and i heard from friends too...

Shop4stuffs, you seem to know the tricks they have up their sleeve. Care to share more with me? She is a real actress. Forever acting pitiful, honest, loyal and caring about me. Pui!

Feeding, so far i'm lucky my boy do not fuss during meal time. Infact, he enjoys it.

Jo, you introduce solids to your boy already? so fast? where do you get the brown rice powder? I intend to let him have that when he is about 5 months.

Not sure about your babies but my boy now starting to like to put things into his mouth le. Like the child seat safety belt, hanky, toy. He cant be teething so early bah? also he suckle my hands when his mouth come near my hands. So weird.

hey mummies
anyone has any suggestion what type of business can be done if dont want to work? something where we can also have time with our baby....

dreamyjo...even if you dont let maid go out..other maids will come to the house...even if no hp, they can talk by putting their heads out of the window and look up/down to chat.

Shop4stuffs,
Today the memo was out confirming the retrenchment exercise to be carry out and those candidate will be inform by their boss in due soon. I suppose they will need to compensate us as if I am one of them, i still have 1 month ML to clear de. Sigh...now just wait and see..

Maid:
My maid is not allow for any marketing ALONE, she will only throw garbage and go out with us. During CNY, i told her directly she is not allow to keep the ang pow by herself, she will pass to me (of course not sure whether she will pass all) and we opened and count together. Cannot trust 100% de for sure.

Jynnsan:
Preferbly start after 5 months with semi solids. Can start with rice cereal. Introduce 1 item at a time. Start too early may cause baby to have more allergies.

dreamyjo, we juz want to add a different taste to his milk, hoping that he will drink. But he still dun want to drink.

Medical hall auntie told my hb that after 4 mths can introduce brown rice powder to baby. We bought it from one of the medical hall at Bukit Batok.

Fifi,

Lasinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags 20ea - USD6.49=SGD10.06 before shipping.
1. Bear - 8 boxes (i tot its 25 per box?)

Dreamyjo, wah ur maid is horrible! how much did she steal from u? how come u nv realise that the money was missing? I nv bother to count her angbao money leh... must meh?

Oops yes bear, 25 per box.

1. joyce_7580 - 2 tubes
2. kash - 7 tubes

Lasinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags 25ea - USD6.49=SGD10.06 before shipping
1. Bear - 8 boxes

GNC Fenugreek 610mg 200ea USD12.99=SGD20.14 before shipping
1. Name &amp; Qty

<font color="0000ff">If someone can tell me which teething gel is good, I will include into this list as well as our babies will likely start teething in about 1.5-2 mths.</font>

Hi Fifi: Any idea how many ml can 1 lanisoh bag contain? My milk supply still quite pathetic so dunno whether to use the bags or continue with my glass bottle/avent thingy.

Dreamyjo: sorry to hear about ur experience.
OMG!! I am so scared now that I m hearing all these maid stories. I think i am too trusting of my maid... i dont bother checking her stuff and let her go marketing alone! But if I suddenly start all these methods to check on her belongings/money now a bit funny right?

Shopforstuff: No idea for SAH job but ever thought of becoming a pharmaceutical sales executive? The hours are really good &amp; flexible. start work at 9nish, lunch from 12-2, finish work by 5pm. Pay is very decent too. Got car allowances &amp; incentives/commisons. Hope it helps!

pamela:
I prefer bags coz take up less space. I store 200ml in each lasinoh bag. I know someone who stores 280ml. I store my milk in 60-200ml amounts.

nice to meet u gals up. For next gathering, tink couldnt make it liao if it's on weekdays
becos i am starting work tomorrow.. feel v bo mood aready.... definately will miss my boy v muchie... Duno if the retrenchment will implement for my co... if so, &amp; i kanna. will my 1 mth maternity be gone? hmmmm...

kash,
i forgot to give u the maid agency contact yday... have u got the agency contact details from olwen?

dreamyjo,
Gosh.. ur maid experience is really bad... i am wondering shld i check my maid stuff now.. -_- still tinking we shld give them abit of privacy some ways.. So far so good about her for now.. keeping my fingers cross..

olwen,
how are u!? u started work aready wor..it's been long since we chatted. see when i go visit ur 4 little monsters too..

dreamyjo: Yes, have to be careful of maids, i have changed maids before and I now can select better, I employ 2 maids now one Phil One Indo Phil one is new maid no experience but a real terror.

I went market with her 2 days ago, with the groceries i ask her to stand outside NTUC while I go buy few items, 5 mins when I came out she already talking to some strangers she claimed to be Phil maid, I ticked her off in front of the lady. Phil maids are damn KAYPOH by nature so have to be careful, I asked her anyone on the streets u just talk aren't you damn busybody??

Some tips to share when selecting maids:

1. Never select a TRANSFER maid from agency, a transfer maid typically means problem maids, if they are good they woulnd't have been transfered, i took a transfer maid before (name is SUMAIYAH from Indo), agency hid truth from me about why she was transferred said employer say she sued phone. In actual fact, I suspected she stole money and other items, my maid took my money (a lot of coins gone,esp 1 dollar coins) and my FIL handphone which was kept in cupboard in a box.

On day she was sent back, she rushed to toilet to change clothes, I suspect her clothing she wore she hid the phone etc bcos she behaved sneakily, so anyone sending maid back, please ask them to empty all items in bag before leaving house.

I do agree on the part where maid can pass to another maid to hide things, this we can't avoid therefore do not leave valuables and money around, have it locked.

2. Never pick NEW MAID from database, new maids = stupid maids, my Phil maid like suaku, but when it comes to chit chatting with strangers she is #1.

3. Avoid Phil maids as they are kaypoh by nature unless you can pick a really experienced one.

4. Never pick a plump/fat maid, they will consume a lot of food from you, my Phil maid is quite fat, she eats 3 plates of rice, eats my 2 packs of cheese without leaving for me, drinks all my Ribena, practically eats anything that is nice, and leaves not so nice food for others, she is a 'cheapskate' (Hokkien called 'Yao Gwee'), I would per se.

Pick skinniers maids they are also more nimble.

5. Never trust 100% on agency maid recommendation unless you speak and listen to maid on the phone yourself. Try to listen out for their understanding of English on the phone, this will tell you their level of English efficiency, My Phil maid English is 4/10 worse than a Pri 1 Kid. Can't understand me most of the time and always end up repeating 3-4 times, really frustrating.

Hey mummies, your must hv lots of fun at the gathering. Hope can join the next time.

Waterbaby, i let my bb sleeps in rocker in the afternoon. Will rock her till she sleeps. Sometimes she will wake up after half an hour or one hour, or open her eyes to check the surrounding. And i will continue to rock her. But sometimes no choice she fuss has to carry her too. In good times, she will nap 2 hours continuously in the pm.

But my prob is she doesn't really settle well at night. After evening bath, she will nap abt half an hour. And during dinner time at abt 7 pm, she becomes crankly and can't stay in rocker for long. She would want people to carry her so we'll have to take turn to do so. This will continue till abt 9 or 10 pm before she settles for the night. Very tiring.

Jynnsan, i also open and counted her hong bao money and i recorded it down and ask her to sign a declaration of the amount of money she had leh. Even though she is stealing she still dare to sign. She thinks i trust her too much to check on her bah. Lucky my mom say something to wake me up from my senses otherwise she is still stealing behind my back.

Bear, count her ang bao to see how much she has mah, otherwise if you happen to have money missing and she took it, she can say the money is her ang bao money. Also to avoid wrong accusation that she steal when you found that she has money.

alibaba, i am like you too. I really think she is good leh. She is hardworking and i believe all her crap and never bother to check on her. I let her have all her privacy. I even suspect my mom is too picky on her when in actual fact my mom is telling me the truth! She doesnt respect my mom, and on one occasion she wanted to hit my mom and talk back often. My mom ask her to do things she refused to budge and sleep until 10am and alot of things happen. And i half believe my mom. Gosh, i'm plain stupid cos at my place she is super hardworking and she will say my mom anyhow pick on her as my mom is tired from looking after 2 babies. She say she can understand and always sweetly ask me what i want like she care for me alot like that. Also when i'm at my mom's place, she behave herself. One occasion when my mom is complaining about her and i question her, she told me not to believe my mom! aiyah, too many things le. Even on that day in the agency, she tries to make my mom look bad. Really feel like giving her a tight slap there and then. Now thinking back, she can get an academy award for her acting skills.

cc, thanks for the advise. Next time i will keep valuables away and lock them up. Maids are so scary. I made the mistake in taking in a transfer maid cos she say until like she very chiam like that. i pity her. I think there are other reasons which she and the agency did not reveal to me. I learnt my lesson.

hi, i am not a regular here but i do read the thread.. i read that some of yr babies hv prob with feeding. just read up on the net that over reliance on pacifier might lead to low demand of milk. so if u give yr babies pacy, perhaps u can stop giving and see if the milk intake improves. gd luck!

hi edde,
u may be right abt pacy cauing feeding problems.
I start giving pacy to my gal abt 1 wk ago when she's cranky, and recently she hates feeding!
She screams, crys, kicks and boxes when i put t bottle in her mouth.

Anyone knows t charges of InfantCare? Got half-day service not?

dreamyjo, oh dear.. hope ur nxt maid is better. Cool down and cheer up k!

After fussing for days on feeding, we tried all methods and find out that might be the teats hole is too small for her. I change to a bigger teats size and today she is feeding well. Will observe to see how she is.

RE Pacifier
Last time when she is not on pacifier, she will cry loud loud and we know that she is hungry and she cant slp when she is hungry. But nowadays we cant tell whether she is crying for pacifier or is hungry cos now even when she is hungry she will still slp while sucking her pacifier.

Re: Maid
(Sorry cc, I have to disagree with you on some of your points &amp; I believe I have way more experience with maids than you considering I have had maids in my house since I was like 7 years old. When I was a kid, they look after me but when I got older, I was the one who helped to select maids and train maids.)

1. Rule of thumb for all maids is not to leave money and valuables lying around. If you tempt them, how can you blame them for stealing. This is esp so for those employers who keep all money. The poor maid is in Singapore, working so hard and cannot even access their money (from their pay and ang pao) to buy little treats for themselves? Anyway, I believe it is illegal to keep their money from them although many maid agencies advice this.

2. New maids are not necessarily bad. My maid was brand new when we got her. No maid experience at all. Not in Singapore, not anywhere. Brand new. But now, about 4.5 years down the road, she can not only do housework, she can take wonderful care of my baby as well. Its the maid character, the training &amp; how you treat them.

3. It is not necessarily true that only Phil maids are kaypoh by nature. All nationalities are. And there is no need to avoid Phil maids for this reason.

4. My maid and my mum's maids are not necessarily thin. In fact, they came to us on the obese side. We teach them to eat healthily and exercise. Hence, they have slimmed down slowly and become more healthy. I have had thin maids before, they don't necessarily eat less. They may be more sickly. Besides, some maids eat a lot because they are homesick. When people are unhappy, they feast.

5. My preference is actually Phil > Myanmar > Indon. Reason being, the Phil although more materialistic, harder to manage at first is usually smarter. If you can handle them well, they end up better maids. They are also easier to "bribe" to work well. Treats, gifts work wonders. Indon I see so far, I find harder to teach &amp; "bribe".

6. Even maids with very good English will have problems understanding us because our accents are different. I have seen maids who can write Engish very well but cannot understand a word I say until I repeat many times or write.

p.s. maids are human too. They need friends too.