(2008/11) November 2008

CONGRATS to those who have popped lately.

My elder girl was admitted to KKH on 25th oct cause high fever at 41. Stayed till 30oct(in time to celebrate mei mei's bday). I got to stay with her thru out the hospital stay. so so tired. She had miss her SA2 exams.

Went for gynae check up on 31st oct (fri), baby at wk 36 est ard 3.2kg. Gynae say to cut down on rice, noodles. I did not put on any weight. My csect date is 12th Nov at 7.30am. Got to be in hospital at 6am.

I saw the avent manual pump at KKH, one of the shop selling at $59.

karin, oh dear, hopefully your elder girl is feeling much better. 41 is really high. So scary!
Just wondering, since you are going for c-sect, bb size should not be a problem right. Why you still need to restrict your diet?

Dreamyjo
No wor, mine not during the check but on normal days.
Tat time still b4 my 36wks & it comes w irregular contractions. But glad everything cleared up.

Hmmm, checking in tmr night w hubby, (sound romantic..) then come home w a new family addition. (sounds even more wonderful..)
Must ask your hubby to snap more pixs of bb & the 3 of u, it is priceless..

Hi dreamyjo, thks elder girl is back to school today.

Did not really ask gynae why must restrict on my diet. I think the last check up about 3wks ago baby weigh about 2.4kg. And sudden increase so much. My eldest at 38wk was 3.1kg and 2nd at 38wk weigh at 3.2kg.

Moomummy: Cheer up! Gynae also said i was not dilated at all when i went for check up the day before i delivered! But the next day midnite, i already start to have contractions and in a matter of just 1 night, a few cm dilated.

Jynnsan: the cervix check was not as bad as I expected..so dont worry too much - just don't 'tense' up...

Jo: Wow - Lucas is soo chubby!!

Massage: Gee didnt know need an old mattress. Was planning to do my bed, and just place a sheet on it.

Time of delivery: My hubby said there was a clock inside the labour ward, but he has a watch so roughly he kept note of the timings fr the time I arrived till i pop!

Thks cookieoreo! Hopefully i wld get used to initial period. Just have to get used to taking it easy and try to enjoy motherhood...

Auggybear: WOw! Not bad, increase quite a lot from 20 ml leh!! Me still working on it
Do u feed your bb EBM from a bottle.

Question to mummies who doing latching on + EBF: When did u all introduce the bottle w/o making baby confused subsequently?? The TMC nurse suggested after 1 mth, tho I read fr Gina Ford's book that to introduce after a couple of wks..otherwise too dependant and hard to start him off on bottle subsequently?

To the rest waiting to pop: Ganbatte!! Looking forward to hearing everyone's delivery story.
Today is exactly 1 wk since I delivered, and I still find it amazing that my boy was born after carrying him for 9 mths!

Karin,
Glad that your girl has recover! Otherwise it will be tiring for u..

Glad,
I think i started my #1 just few days after birth. i remember i latch him on for the first few days and pump out his night supply for CL to feed at night using bottle. Surprisingly he was okay to both breast and bottle, didnt have confusion on both. But i know some bb can really differentiate and will refuse bottle after they are used to mummy's breast.

congrats peanut! enjoy your nini! It must be a happy moment for you now. Rest well.

cookieoreo, yup will ask hubby to take more photos but of the baby not me. kekeke. now i look too hideous le.

glad_gal, time flies for you. bb already 1 week old. soon, you had to start planning for bb shower le. glad you doing well.

karin, i think 3.2kg at 38 week is alright bah. cos mine also at that weight at 38 week. Im aiming for natural birth and still enjoying good food before i pop. hopefully bb wont put on too much for the past week of indulgence. :p

Congrats Peanut!

Dreamyjo> Same case here, wake up at night and first thing is to check for show or water, also dreanmt waterbag break liao, keke. Even my HB dreamt i gave birth liao.

My gynea say the cord is around bb's neck, got my hubby worried, but gynea say if cord is long enough won't be dangerous, juz ask me to monitor the moments. Gynea also ask me want to induce or not, but we decide not to.

Cookieoreo> i dun have extra to change.. i let it dry lor. use my bag to cover my pi ku. haa.. yah the spotting freak me out ! cos i tot i am delivering liao... haa...

dreamyjo> tink really too stressed up. tat's y got tis type of nightmare...

peanut, Congrats =D Welcome to motherhood and enjoy Nini's company ba..

alibaba, speaking of dreams... i was dreaming abt breastfeeding last night leh.. haiz~ think ri you shuo shi, ye you shuo meng.. dreamt that my nipple pumped till have cut on them and bleeding.. sob~

congrats to Peanut!!

Karin,

oh dear... 41 is really high...what happened? glad to hear ur gal is feeling better now...

Re : EBM

Last time, I used to store EBM in normal fridge compartment up to 48hrs. But hor, when I visited PD last week, he told me only up to 24hrs.. now i very confused leh... i have 2 bottles of EBM in the fridge near the 24 hrs liao... dun think bb will have the chance to drink coz i was told to feed fresher expressed EBM and I already have another bottle... so i am wondering is it 24hrs or 48hrs? Can I still freeze them after putting in normal compartment for 24 hrs? I used to do that... after abt 40 hrs nvr use then i froze it...now wondering was I wrong?

but now i really dun feel like freezing... coz the freezer lots of meat and fish leh... but to throw away 160ml i heartpain also...

Hi ladies, thks. elder daughter got throat infection virus. KKH nvr give any antibiotic cause its virus attack. Now its my turn, down with flu and cough.

Congrats to peanut!

Jo,
Lucas is so cute n chubby!

Karin,
Glad that your gal is fine nw. Pls take care of yourself too.Is realli tough when kids gt sick.

Kash,
Thanks.My gal is better jus with cough now.
When you visit the sch,jus ask them if they ever closed for HFMD cases.Normally they can be honest and let u know.So far,most of the CC i visited gt HFMD cases but nt to the extend tat it need to be closed.

Joyce,
You are into the waiting game nw?
Mayb i might meet you? keke
I am going for csect tis friday

Auggy,
Keep it up! Good job tat you hav more ss now.Jia you! Jia you!

Carol,
same here! i am so impressed how all the mummies managed to remember so much details especially with the time! haha..

moomummy,
hehe, then maybe you just make the first move and take e lead?? =P

Re: sleep
i have been having broken sleep at nite too, partly due to frequent visits to bathroom and partly coz its just tough to find comfortable position. but i tend to enjoy daytime naps more!!hahah..

congrats peanut!!! must be enjoying ur little bundle of joy in your arms now..*bliss*

dreamyjo,
you can finally start your countdown!! hee..bet you must be so excited now eh??

Re: Pee
Do you all realise that you have difficulty to pee these days?
I need to bend forward and some strength to pee everything out ley.
Sometime pee liao.. feeling like nt empty too.

COngrats peanuts...you must be enjoying your nini in your arms and still in awe how this little one has been in your tum tum for 9 months..rest well and hope to hear from you soon.

Dreamyjo, u must be feeling excited liao.. heh.. tmr sure damn hyper.. gd luck in advance just in case i dun see u..

Kash, if it worked for Tessa, it should work for Ewan right? isn't there some guidelines for storage of breast milk?

U gals got fantastic dreams!! so far no such dreams for me YET!

Brocoli, eh, i feel u shd induce leh, esp cord around the neck.. wat if bb moves and something happens? u cannot control how the bb will shift right?

Happy, when i pee i feel my ligaments around my uterus will pain leh... dunno why..

bear,

cookieoreo gave a link above. I read about the storage but it didn't advise whether after storing on the normal compartment, can we still freeze? Or whether need to freeze immediately? and my freezer full of raw meat and fish now...so not good to put EBM there too... the url also stated EBM can be stored up to 8 days if between 0 to 4 degrees... but i dun think so leh...

kash,cookieorea
Ya I thought kinderland's fee is quite reasonable. But my gf tried to enquire at other outlet n seems every outlet got different timetable n fees. So better call them to check out.

glad_gal
I intro my girl to bottle only when she turned 3mth. She took it ok. Some bbs I knw can take as young as 1mth some older. Guess all bbs are different.

I'm still don't really knw all the mothers here...anyhow, wishing all the mothers gg to pop a smooth delivery n those popped mothers Congrats

WOW MIA for few days and so many MUMMIES popped and so many cute BABIES pictures, congrats and happy confinement!

happy,Bear-I encounter the same pain when I urine too, sometimes need to go few times b4 its 'emptied'.

re:baby weight
I had my checkup today, realized bb din grow much since 2weeks ago, weight stagnant??? Any cause for worry? When ask gynae, he say still considered acceptable weight and got couple of weeks for baby to grow. I got eat ler but don't know how come these 2 weeks baby never put on weight.. so worrying.. maybe shd eat more..

re:Massage Lady
Any to recommend last minute? I used to use Susi for my first preg but had a very bad experience coz she keeps postponing and cancelling appt thus halfway thru I terminate her services and she even refused to pick up my calls to return me the balance, finally in the end called her on pretext of engaging her services then she returned me...

Any good one who is punctual and don't postpone? Else no use for the tummy if don't do continously right?

Mummies who popped and doing massage now.. When having the binder around u.. the smell very strong.. how u tahan and do u still BF that day? I get very sensitive to the smell and wonder if will affect baby anot when latching baby on?.

Congrats Peanut!!

Dreamyjo: Hee yah.. Time passed so fast...regarding full month, still considering how to do it and when. And it will be ur turn on Wed! Ganbatte!

Hi Joyce and Ollie, thks for sharing your experience! Was thinking of introducing the bottle after 3 weeks, coz want to learn from CL on how to bottlefeed. But I guess is a bit early, at least a mth.

ollie> Thanks for the info! I m also gg for c-section... Did your friend stay in a 1-bedder or 2-bedder? Wow...$6k w/o the gynae charges? How much did she top up in cash after Medisave deduction?
Sorry uh...so many questions :)

gladgal,

i intro the bottle after a few days... baby have been taking bottled EBM and i only latch on maybe twice a day... coz i know how much he is drinking compared to direct latch...also faster as sometimes he can latch for 1 hr !!!

Congrats to everyone who has popped!

Got a question on breastmilk storage...anyone knows if the storage bottles have to be wiped or air-dried after being sterilised,before we can use them for breastmilk storage?

Re massage, I used to lie down on a huge towel on the bed. But current massage lady brings along a piece of sarong for me to lie on as well.

Peanut,
Congrats.. Rest well..

Dreamyjo,
Jia you u will see ur bb soon.

Dreamyjo,Brocoli,
Hahaha, i don't have any dreams but my colleague dreamt that she help me to deliver and my boy looks like my hb..

Lilian,
U went to Dr Koh today or r u going on friday? My appt is at 7pm on Fri. Hope to meet u there. You are going to due soon right? I'm a week after you.
R u on ML already?

OllieMarmot, can bathe "Hot" water already? wow.. my mum says cannt bathe for 12 days, i "tong" untill sweaty everyday. sigh~

cookieoreo, after express out and feeding last nite.. now its not so pain and engorged already. i didnt express today, should i continue to pump even when no pain/engorgement? i'm afraid tat it'll stimulate more ss and cos engorgement, what are ur views mummies?

krystel, i think u can use citibank credit card to buy the US pump. I rem someone used it and it works.

glad_gal, me too! i only hav my gal for 4 days and it feels so amazing after 9mths of her in my womb.

gg to see the baby doc tmr, hope my baby gal has put on some weight and doesnt have jaudice. My gal has some red spots on her face, is this normal or is it a sigh of jaudice? anyone in similiar situation? Thanks!

wah mummy, how u tong not to shower for 12 days? i showered since day 4 and everyday since... trust me it will make u feel happier. plus if u are latching, we better be clean...

hunnypoo,

after u sterilize, try to pour away the water inside as much as u can and close it. Put in airtight container. Can last for abt 24 hours. U can pour the EBM directly inside.

Re : EYE - discharge

Help! my boy's left eye is having lots of yellow discharge. After using sterile cotton ball to wipe away, in about 1 hour's time, his left eye will again be with the yellow puss. in fact, its so much and thick he has problem opening. CL said it is normal...how how? anyone knows? shd I bring to PD? My gal didn't have this problem so I dunno what to do this time.

Peanut
Congrats Peanut! Rest well!!

Kash
I guess there are no fixed guidelines of d duration in storing EBM in fridge coz everyone will say different timings.
Just tat the longer it is stored, d more nutritional value is lost. Perhaps tat's why yr PD may suggest shorter guidelines.

What I did d other time was to cool my EBM in fridge for few hrs, then move them to freezer.
There are times I forgotten, so on my nxt feed, i use tat pack 1st.
Pls dun throw away ya, yr precious liquid gold where u spent time & effort expressing them & 160ml is alot wor..
Mayb u might wan to use the oldest pack 1st, or secretly add them to yr hubby's morning coffee..

Karin
U must take care too..

Zeal
Glad to know yr pain has gone down..

I feel u shld continue to drain yr breasts frequently & well until engorgement has subsided.
I'll only pump if i feel bb didn't emptied it well.
Hee, removing milk fm breasts relieves congestion & helps engorgement subside more quickly, not d other way round!

Kash
Huh, normal meh?? Ezit infection? tink u better clean it often & monitor ya! Poor boy cannot open eyes..
I remb my gf's bb oso kena tis & she suspects CL uses bath water to clean bb's bottom then wipe his face.

<font color="0000ff">kash</font>
Congrats on your newborn

Did U wipe with a slightly moisten cotton ball from the inside of your bb's eye to the outside?

If the eye discharge is yellowish and pus-like then it could be a sign of an infection. Is his eyes are pink or red?

Think U bring him see a PD tmr so as to check further, he may be able to recommend a cleansing solution for your bb's eyes. Meanwhile, keep your bb's eyes free from the eye discharge by wiping off regularly when it appears.

cookie, bluebear,

i saw CL wiped him last nite from the inside out so shd be correct. as foe bathing, i have nvr gone in to look at CL when she shower bb thou. but so far i observed she does wash her hands with the kirei kirei i have before handling bb.

the regular PD we visit nearby our place only has morning clinic tmr and my hb wont be free to bring bb there. May be Wed evening before we can bring our boy to the PD. Just hope his condition improves tmr.

cookie,

hahaha...good idea but my hb doesn't have the habit of drinking kopi :p yah loh, i have resorted to feeding the older bottles first now... at times, when bb needs to feed juz after i express, i will give the freshest bottle...so mix and match. Can I ask if it is suitable to freeze eventhough my freezer is full of frozen raw meat?

haven't come in for days, too much to catch up >.<

Congrats on all the mummies who delivered already =) so many cute cute babies' photos.... can not wait to get my baby out, and play him... hahaha...

I have been so busy. my parents came few days ago, come to help me for few month. so I already panic, felt the change of daily life. worry that I may not be able to cope all these changes . I guess I'm too use to quite, 2 person's world. all of sudden, the house full of ppl

1 more day to go for my C-section (5th of Nov). I told my hubby, I probably won't be able to sleep tonight. either too nervous, or too excited. the feeling is just far toooo complicated.

today is the last day to get ready for hospital, don't even know what to do, what left needed to be done =(

hubby took leave for the whole week, to get ready for tomorrow, but he is not feeling well since last night. I guess he is also stressed =(

I guess we just have to play along >.<

Good morning ladies!!

Couldnt sleep well at all, so wake up early in the morning, later then go nap...sianz.

Still no symptom of going to give birth, looks like its unlikely that I will deliver earlier than 8-Nov. As long as not later then 8-Nov, and I am happy le.

Sorry for the late greeting, but congrats to Peanut!!

Mummies who have delivered - can I wear spec into the delivery ward?? If cannot, then I think I will be blind to what is going on!! My short-sightedness quite bad de, cant see without spec!!

mousemouse
they took 1-bedder...think they paid 8k include gynae. Not so sure about the medisave for them...me just got 2k frm medisave.

mummy
erm....I bathe with hot hot water 2nd day already n managed to tong for 5days to washed hair. If u worry then use hot towel to apply.

kash
my boy also got alot of yellow discharge from his eyes...gg to bring him to pd later.

kash
rang up pd n said can just go n pick up the antiseptic eye drop for the infection. maybe u can call ur pd too.

Congrats to all the mummies who have popped....

Mummy,
The last time my confinement cannot bath but can wipe body with hot water and rice wine.. I tahan till 3 weeks later then properly bath, wash hair all that..

JJ Zou,
Good luck for tomorrow!! Just relax about it and wait to see your newborn ba!!!

I've been having what feels like gastric pains lately. In the morning when I wake up. Wonder is it normal?? But I've been having 3 meals ar, how come still will gastric?? This morning also damn pain, made me can't sleep. Hopefully nothing happens today, cause checkup is tomorrow liao...