(2008/11) November 2008

Aiyo, finally see the thread, have been trying from 11am+, how come you guys can see the thread. End up reading the other available threads for the whole afternoon b4 calling the website contact no.

Auggybear> The cervix check was during the false alarm this monday at the labour ward. Did she check you today?

Jenn> Wah, envy you leh. My friends first few days only got 10 to 30ml. Cannot borrow pump from TMC?

Enne, Bear,yah lor,got diarrhoea since this morning. i also don't know what I ate that causes this tummyache..I only ate a sandwich which i made this morning then kena liao..

Then bb inside my tummy moving so much, I think he's feeling uncomfortable too. Wonder whether my diarrhoea will affect him or not leh.

Will go to the doctor later after work if I still got the tummyache..

Bear-Hmm its more of a detective show lo.. really.. u dun watch tv de har.. read books more then??

moomummy-Better see doc, see got any medicine can be prescribe, stomach area don't play play. patz patz.

Enne, its on SCV issit? or else sure cannot have such violent shows during Prime time. heh.. ya i seldom watch tv lah.. prefer books or surfing the net.. watching tv makes me roll my eyes. heehee.. all the shows so typical one.. quite annoying to me.

Moomummy better go see doc ba.. take care ya?

Enne,Bear,thanks.I just called my hubby and he insisted on bringing me to the doc liao..so definitely will go later..haiz..

tml have appt with gynae..think will do the cervix check again since I'm in my 38th week liao..simply hate it! Arrggghhh...so painful..

Jenn,
Wah... u hav good supply of BM! Keep it up but do rest well too!
My milk onli come in day 5 and when i pump,jus tat little 30ml max each time.Jia you! Jia You!

Enne,
Previously yours not epi-csect?

peanut,
Like wat jenn mention,is a good & great exp with epi csect.Just go for it and dun tink abt it.
The moment u hear bb's cries,everything is over.YOur heart will melt too when your nini is carry to your chest!
My tears just rolled down when my gal was carried to me.

Bear-Nope, its a local drama by Dawn Yeoh and Tay PingHui, its a bit gross initially but now no more liao.. showing other cases lo.. but the Surgical Maniac is still free in the open. haha. SCV recently also not much nice TVB shows to watch also..

moomummy-38th week.. means u might pop anytime liao.. good la.. going to off work le rite..

happy-Mine was emergency c-sect in the end although I scheduled it beforehand but bb decided to choose own timing so gynae din give me any options.. I thot of opting for epi-csect but HB not encouraging on that, partly coz of the epidural jab for me and also maybe scared I can't take the pressure of being cut up? I think he also scared to see me cut up.. haa.

But heard ur #1 experience and now Jenn.. seems good hor to see baby immediately.. I also wanna experience that feeling..

Enne,yah..gynae says I mite have a chance to pop next week. hee. so excited.Another 45 mins I'll be knocking off already.

I'll be on leave from next week onwards liao,but I might have to work from home if I haven't pop by then..sianz..

Jenn,

wah!! ur ss really good... did u try to direct latch? 80ml per feed too much for newborn bb actually.

vel,

u can go to their website to find out more..best i recommend is u visit their centre and talk to them...they will show u a video.... that will sure convince u. After u sign ur child up, there will be a Parents Education Course and a Parents Support group. I already attended the PEC liao... the PSG will teach us how to do the home practise with our kids so very very impt...thats why i really die die wanna attend...next thurs nite only...juz hope my baby good boy wait for mummy 1 more week then come out...dun come out so fast...juz that 2cm dilated liao so rather worried as well...

happy,

me epi 32 now... heehee.... 8 more to go but at nite cannot watch as i agree to let my hb watch...he epi 14 or 15 only.... poor thing.

btw, i see some toddlers like very "kuai" leh... not all will go thru terrible 2 hor.. u know, when we have meals outside, it is really stressful...she will bang the bowls, scream... etc...hiaz..

peanut,

all the best for your c-sect!

bear,

terrible 2 really sounds scary... i also worried....

joyce,

my gal loves rubberband....

Enne,your #1's name is Legolas ah? nice name leh.but itz becoz you liked the character in LOTR played by Orlando Blooms?or is it becoz of some other reasons?hehe..

Enne,
Oh so yours is GA E-Csect lar.
You might wan to consider having spinal csect tis time round.Is realli a good exp

Previously mine is Eme-Csect too.But bcoz i have opt for epi jab while in the labour ward.So jus push me into operation rm when bb destress, without asking me if i wan GA.If i din experience it,i might hav opt for GA csect tis time round.

happy-spinal c-sect and epi c-sect is the same hor?? don't know ler.. maybe talk to my HB again see how.. hehe..

Kash,
haaa.. tink u are at the most exciting part liao.

Think most of the toddler will go thru terrible twos,but depending hw long it last.
Like my cousin,he behaves v guai when outside or school.But once he is home.He is a terror!shouting,screaming and throwing things at others.

My gal had passed the phrase of banging,screaming etc while having meals.Dun hav peace during tat period.Just be patient.Will be over soon...

<font color="119911">Jenn</font>
Congrats! Really envy your SS. Wish mine SS can be like yours when i give birth.

Today when back to office to clear some work (my gynae has given me 1 month HL since last week), my boss actually want to pile more jobs on me!!
i was like %#!, tell him straight in the face i actually coming to clear some work only.
If i know earlier he's going to be like this and not appreciative that i made the effort to go back to clear my work despite official on leave, I will not even go back.

Enne,
GA,epi or spinal have the same side effects.
But epi is for use when one is at labour,which can last longer by dripping.
Spinal can last for 2 hrs nia.
This is wat gynec told me lar.

Brocoli: Don't have leh... Just came back from M Tan's clinic... She never do the cervic check for me today again... 37.5 weeks at 2.9kg... She said within these 2 weeks. Anytime after 40 weeks she will induce!

Enne
bear likes to read disney storybooks, and only watch animes on tv wahhaaa.. Channel 8 chinese show lagi bo watch one lah she.. cos her mandarin cannot make it one.

happy
yah yah.. i try not to tink so much lor.. tsk tsk.. boat come to harbour wil naturally become straight kekeke

<font color="119911">Peanut</font>
He's not getting anyone/replacement to cover me, somemore recession now.
He actually asked me "so you are ready to start work?" I was like thinking to myself "Actually i want to end my work, not starting on anything".

moomummy,
hope ur tummy is better oh..

lovedogs,
can i ask if GlenE provides breastpumps for us to try? thinkin if i still need to express out after baby latchin on as I hv not got my breast pump yet..=P

Greengrape
It's time to talk to your boss ya. Maybe he thinks U come back to do take on morework n not to clear your work. I will tell him straight in the face ya haha. Think U can consider not going back till yr HL ends(hopefully by then U have delivered too)

Vel
Thanks, ya keep me informed.

Milk production
That time, my breastmilk supply only came in around the 4th or 5th day, not a lot just 30mlwhen I pumped out. I remembered the 1st 3days was just some colostrum(pale yellow to clear colour fluid) then my hubby was so worried that bb will have no milk to drink and hungry, quickly rushed to buy formula milk.

Jenn
Yr supply is good ya
Great so no need to worry ya.

<font color="0000ff">Bluebear</font>
Ya, i told him i'm clearing my work (cause the HL came quite sudden too, so some urgent, important work still pending). So unless the need, don't think i will go back.

bluebear: i also not confident of having a lot of BM for baby..or even first fe days issit better to buy a tin and keep at home..? Also dunno waht brand suit bb

Wtan,Lilian,
Dr Koh also told me to go back 2 wks later. By then i will be around wk 37.

Lilian,
Bigger boobs does not equal to more milk. I just hope that my boobs wouldn't shrink after giving birth. I feel that e main changes is on the nipples. My nipples seems to be bigger and it is quite painful when touching.

Jenn,
I want your milk supply...

Enne,
How many bedder did you opt for? Our EDD is the same. Maybe i'll get to meet you at RH.

Bibi: ya that was my gynae nurse said..to ask for sample from hospital and try for baby...one tin so ex almost $40....will be so blessed if we ll have a lot 0f BM..save $

cc,
yar when i called the hotline for free bath thermometer, e lady told me to get some milk samples before discharge.

All the prices went up.. So must think of a way to save $$$.. BF is the best way.. I want more BM. Must try to massage my breast now...

Hi mummies, thanks for all the well wishes. I had a lot of visitors since yesterday, now finally got time to sit down to post.

here is my story:
7am - reached TMC, do admission stuff.

8am - was assigned to a room, changed into op wear. Nurse did a final shave for hairs around tummy area. I'm glad i did Bwax coz i cant imagine her doing shave for me downunder. :p

8.35am - i was wheeled to the waiting area outside op theatre.

8.50am - Doc arrived and did GA for me. 1, 2, 3 breath and i was in la la land.....

9.45am - i was woken up in a waiting lounge by the nurse, all she said was "operation is over, you are going back to ur ward"

10.05am - back in ward, i was wide awake, bb came back to the ward.

I was hungry by the time i went back to ward. but wasnt allowed to eat coz nurse told me might have side effect like vomitting, nauseous.

BY 3pm, i cannot tahan liao, had milo with snack. Yum! food at last! hahaha, then followed by dinner.....

Dr Adrian was surprised to see me eating this morning when he came to see me. I was told that i can remove the drip and catarat and start to walk around.

The 1st step was terrible but it gets better. now i can move around easily.

I think for mummies going for C-section, try to start walking earlier. it'll help with the pain.

I'll be in ward 639 till sunday noon. any mummies popping soon can come by to see me!

amooks,

thanks for sharing your birth story! how's ur bb? how r u doing now? remember to rest more ok... and post picture of your bb to show us

haru,

all hospitals do rental service of breastpumps. I did not rent nor bring breast pumps to hospital. coz first few days only colostrum... no need to pump at all.. my milk only came abt the 4th or 5th day...by that time already at home. and i din bother to express after latching...juz latch every 2 hours...

happy,

my gal only 17 mths now... already showing signs of terrible 2...dunno when she reaches 2, what will it be like... i juz hit her again juz now...heartpain but so fedup when she starts to throw tantrum... i hit her until her hand also red and swollen!

milderina,

another spree for you :p http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1812753.html?1224761391

Hi Kash, I'm ok. thanks. was trying to upload pics. Luckily got bear on MSN, she was guiding me.

I going to BF bb and rest soon. Good luck to the next popping mummy!

amooks,

ur baby is very very cute! very chubby face...but why is she sleeping facing up? coz i tot for newborn must sleep sideways... u take care and good luck in breastfeeding!

Greengrape,
I nvr try before but the step are from a book called "Before, During and After Pregnancy".

Breast Massage
Wash your hands clean. Wipe your breast with a warm damp towel. Apply some moisturizing cream or lotion on your breasts. Massage the whole breasts with your fingers in circular motion from the outside towards the nipplies to open up the mammary ducts. Then gently squeeze your nipples with your thumbs and index fingers. Work from outside towards the tips of your nipples for about 1 min. Then pull your nipples gently away from your body with your thumbs and index fingers.

Or you can refer to the link below:
http://www.goherbalremedies.com/women/breast-massage.htm

Peanut, wat disney books?? i can't even rem what was the last disney book i read.. i think i nv read a single one before.. i read FANTASY books or crime books or my textbooks!

Enne, i very seldom watch tv.. and almost nv watch Chinese shows.. cos i dun understand! wahahaha.. my chinese super lousy i tell u..

Maggie, Dawei looks so cute! post more photos hor.

Kash, hrmm if ur gal starts terrible two earlier, she will prob end it earlier too! may be she is fast developer!

CC, there is no BETTER ways of delivering a bb... all have pros and cons. speak to ur gynae, he/she will be the best person to give u advice.

Amooks,
Your bb is very cute. Wow you got breast milk already? That's fast. I thought lots of mummies said that they will start to produce milk after 4 to 5 days... ??? Got to rest well.. Take care

Amooks,
Dawei so cute!Rest well.
Ya dun let bb sleep facing up.They are suppose to sleep on the side.

Kash,
My gal starts her terrible 2 at around tat period too.I understand the frustration and hit/scold her dun knw hw many times with cane or hands.

I read from some books that we shld try not to hit or scold her when she throw tantrum.she will become worse. Walk away instead(cos u are hot liao) and then get back to her after a few mins and coax her.I find it works better.
Or mayb try the 'naughty corner'.It works for me too...

bear,

hahahahaa....if that's the case, i hope so too

happy,

the funny thing is that when i hit her and shout at her loudly and fiercly, she will wail and obediently pick up her toys she threw... but if we ignore her, she will also ignore our pleas to please pick up the toys...i also dunno what to do...

GreenGrape
Ya, U better dun go co. lah, just let him handle your pending work. U are such a responsible employee and yet he tries to take advantage of U.

cc
Natural birth- there's regular contractions, bursting of waterbag and the dilating of the cervix gradually to 10cm and mummy pushes the bb out, while induced birth, a pessary is introduced in the cervix or a drip is put on for mummy to induce the dilation of the cervix. U can read up more on the Internet or books.

Hospitals do have sample formula milk given by milk co.(some hospitals rotate the brands, one month may be Mamilgold and the next month may be using Nan1 etc) U can request for a few bottles upon your d/c but having this "ready" supply means we may give up on our breastfeeding sooner cos normally the 1st two wks is the trying period that determines our success or failure. Having the formula milk with us.. we may be less determined to work out the challenges when the going gets tough.

Amooks
Nice pic of your bb. Your birth story is short a, thanks for sharing it with us! Do rest more and take care

kash
My son just passed that age. No easy to manage a toddler ya. Tantrums are so common and some days I ignore them haha. U read books? There are many good parenting books in the National Library that U can pick up some points from.
I like the book: The Happiest Toddler on the Block: The New Way to Stop the Daily Battle of Wills and Raise a Secure and Well-Behaved One-to Four-Year-Old
1821565.jpg

JTS: INCREASING YOUR MILK SUPPLY(from DR. Sears' website)
http://www.askdrsears.com/html/2/T022800.asp

Bibi-don't think we will 'meet' wor, coz I be at TMC. kekeke.

amooks-wow ur bb is so cute!! little Dawei!! Looks like u or the papa?? hee.

kash-wa that sounds like my boy too, only my HB is the one beating him sometimes if he gets too out of hand.

Bear-haha.. okie next time I must remember to converse with u in english, pardon me if I don't speak fluently though. kekeke.

amooks-Isn't it painful when u woke up? The minute I woke up for my first E-csect for my first preg, after nurse tell me my bb is fine, the pain of my wound dawns on me and I keep crying. Or is my threshold of pain very low??

I am seriously considering spinal or epi c-sect ler after hearing happy's #1 and now Jenn's case.. but haiz don't know.. HB said he will check out see how first.. anyway in the end bb came out safely most impt. hee.

Wow..haven't came in for a while and so many of have popped! Congrats to all who have popped!

Gonna celebrate my boy's full month next week and it will mark the end of my confinement! Can't wait really...

Jonathan has been putting on weight steadily, should be around 2.8 to 3kg now...looks chubbier ...my effort of waking out every 2 hrs for night feeds paid off

I am doing total breastfeeding now. Supply, as compared to my first pregnacy is very much better...bought the ameda electric dual pump...really make my life easier than a manual one..

Trying to post my boy's pic but the file too huge..gotta resize it before i can post it up

dey-HEY nice to hear from u.. great to hear bb Jonathan is putting on weight.. I also hope to be able to do total breastfeeding.

Oh yeah in the hospital do u req for nurse not to feed ur bb with FM first? Coz maybe for 1st or 2nd day milk not come in yet rite?.. Previously I scared bb hungry so I go ahead with FM but this time I thot to try total breastfeeding too.. heard bb first couple of days enuf drinking our colostrum rite?..

Awaiting bb Jonathan pic!!