(2008/11) November 2008

Maggie, rest as well as u can.. see i told u, it wasn't THAT painful and guess wat, u survived! U really naming ur son DA ah?!!!

Brocoli, wah u so tense ah.. i realised the more tense u are the more painful it is.. but i dun blame u.. if ppl check ur sensitive area, u sure tense up one.. wat more if the gynae is pointing some odd looking probe to it!! hahaha...

Peanut, then get the kids' one lah.. cheaper some more. u wear size wat?

Carol, hahah so u say now.. when its ur own son, u might be a big softy too! but i think dogs or animals are def cuter cos they are sooooo furry!! hahaha... then they give u the liquid eyes look.. awwww...

For Maternity Leave, its very simple:

If you take continuous, dun care is 8 weeks, 12 weeks or 16 weeks, its count by calender days and includes all weekends and public holidays.

If your employer allows you to take a portion flexible, the flexible portion is counted by working days.

You cannot take continuous and then count it flexible. That is having your cake and eating it too.

bear
i was a size 4 but nowadays sometimes 4 is also big for me! so i shd be 3.5 ba.. kids one... i hav to go take a look, wait look kidish damn malu to wear

Carol, Yah, I will sometimes get very upset with my hubby for treating my boy like that but he still insists on doing it that way leh. no way i can change his mind.. he won't let me be in charge of our boy coz he knows that I'll spoil him indefinitely coz everytime my boy really knows who to go to and what to do to get away from scoldings... :p

Bear, yah, I think I should ask my hubby to get our boy a Furminator. Coz now since bb have not arrive, we still have the time to brush his fur daily and shower him once a week, that's why we don't have problems with him shedding twice a year. But once bb is out, I don't think we'll have the time to do so much for him liao..

carol> better dun wear jump suit tat type. else u have take off all! hahaha.. yday i almost wanna wear a tube overall those short type de.. i tink tink & change to another set of clothes!! now my wardrobe sooo messy.. :p

peanut> yah!! i go toilet before i go in. hhaha.. urine & wipe with damp toilet paper.. pai seh sia.. if smelly!

bear/happy> maybe lor.. high pain treshold... see some of ur felt it's painful leh.. next appt will be 1 Nov.. mus take deep breathe when doc come in! haa... til now i have not do any pap smear before leh... so duno how it feel.

blessed mum> i tink cervix check if soft or hard.dilate aready or not.. will deliver early or later lor.. for my case is hard... doc prescribe pills to relax my womb!

Fifi,
Oh I see... thanks alot for your explanation

Kiki,
Lucky u asked about ML.
I went to chk with my HR jus now, then I know I can start my ML before I give birth. In that case I might also start ML from 3rd Nov... and end just nice (12wks) before CNY. My HR haven't update their policy on the 4th month, so can't plan now.
Now dunno how to tell my boss....

Pap Smear >
I find it OK. Not painful, jus a lil weird feeling. V scan using t probe is more uncomfortable.

alibaba - haha....you so funny abt the dress code. I dont have overall, so I am safe...keke..

moomummy - nevermind lar, as long as the doggie have you to dote on him, then its ok le. Dont be so upset!

peanut.. ya loh. need to handover alot of thing. My temp also.. anyway, i dont want to care so much cos there will be a covering officer.. and the temp will be assisting her..

btw.. whats ur bb weight now?

V.check:

ya lor. so paisei.. esp now.. alot of discharge. i even brought a spare panty liner to replace b4 i go in for my check up.. if not, super paisei

pap smear: also depend on the doc's skill.. my 1st was pain like dunoe wat when i did it in my early 20s... told her its painful she stil dare to ans back how can it be possible.. i shd hav told her cos she not v skilful lor..

re:pap smear
umm...doing pap smear shouldn't be painful but only uncomfortable nia...
peanut, i think if I'm you I would have give a kick in her face uncontrollably liao..wahaha.. :p

Peanut, ur feet so small ah... my mum is also a size 4. i got her size 35, just nice. Birkis got size 33-34, so i think u can fit.

Moomummy, ya with the Furiminator, Cody really doesn't shed so much. i noticed that among corgis, Cody is one of the most prolific shedder amongst his frens. u stroke him only he can produce a furball. heehee.. think ur sheltie is worse cos his fur is longer? so far i m deshedding him alternate days lor..

Ya agree, papsmear not painful one.. may be the skills of the doc might not be gd.

Bear, yes, Sheltie's shedding can really be very bad when the time comes. that's becoz they got 2 layers of coat.the inner coat is the worse...sometimes we end up having his fur in our food also. :p
I can get the Furminator from any pet stores right? or are there only certain places which i can get it?

Moomummy, i got the Furminator from one of my fren. she brings them in as it isn't available in S'pore. One brush is $72! PM if u want the details.

Ya i get Cody's fur everywhere.. my drinks, my ice cream, my food! he just needs to brush against my pants and he will leave a track of fur on it! Cody also has 2 coats and i find that the Furminator is very effective in getting rid of the bottom coat.

Bear, wow! $72 for a brush! But I don't mind paying for it if it really helps. So your fren bought it overseas and sell it here?
Can I contact her directly? Can PM me her contacts if possible?

My boy (his name is Ranger by the way) recently loses more fur than expected coz my hubby's niece who is still a toddler likes to chase after him and yanks out a whole bunch of his fur, and he'll be so afraid to move after that..so poor thing...

sumei
my bb est weight 2.45kg at 35wks.. this fri will be 37wks liao.. if on track shd be ~2.8 liao ba..

good lor, at least ther's someone else looking after her when u're gone.. not like mine once i'm gone she has to struggle if she can't remm how to do this/that.. sigh.. but i can only do e best i can.. she can't absorb then really too bad liao

moomummy
yah lah her skill mus be damn bad cos all docs after her quite ok i dun feel much pain.

bear
yah so small!! v frustrating one cos difficult to get shoes lei me.. everytime hav to go back to the same few shops one.. not really comfy also buy cos bobian..

<font color="119911">Cervix check </font>
What you means by "dig, dig"? the gynae uses his/her finger into the cervix to check?
My gynae just checked for my dilation yesterday, he used a probe to view it and got the measurement from it, never use his finger ler.

Brocoli: Cervix Check when were u given the cervic check? Was it recently or that time when you had your false alarm?

VE = Vagina Examination?

I was told when you are about to deliver, you will have this weird sensation at your vagina... "opening and closing of the vagina.." Anyone knows how true is this?

Enne,
Ya, I heard of him before. Still considering to go to him or you long zi. cos my own name was calculated by you long zi also...haha

glad_gal,
I actually also tot of a name for baby liao, le4 tian1. But my family says its better to go fortune teller cause the name will be with the child his whole life..

Amooks,
Congrats, hope to see ur baby pic soon...

peanut..my bb weighs 2.8kg at 37 weeks too.. tmr will be 38 weeks.. hyperactive now..

ok me knock off soon..

chat again

Blessed_mum
yah I'm a teacher.

Carol, Mildy, Beary
oooh I like Birkies too. I'm actually thinking of ordering a pair online - one of Heidi Klum's design but very expensive, even if ordering online.

Bear, you think I need the comb or not? But sounds very painful, looking at the pictures. I know Shih Tzus have 2 layers of coat too. I have to groom them every day now too.

Carol
I peifu you. Doing everything for the dog now. but can you handle after you've given birth?

Moomummy
Hmm, actually I also cook for my dogs. I also don't trust those canned foods. But because some of the kibbles are very nutritious, that's why I would add about 10 into my cooked food. Hmm, my dogs are ok with that lei. Maybe you want to switch brands slowly? Or get brands like Cesar where every day is a fresh pack for your dog?

Sore throat
Die, I'm having slight sore throat now. Is there anything I can take to prevent it from getting full-blown? When I last had it, it was so bad that I coughed until I hurt my back. I don't want the same thing to happen while I'm looking after baby.

Actually someone mentioned that doc use 2 fingers to check cervix open...not too sure if that was true, but my gynae use an instrument like a dildo...not as painful s some had mentioned..i tink really nothing compared to delivery itself.

You Long Zi
Hmm, but I thought he used computer to create the names? I also looking to come up with a name for my daughter.

Westies Gathering
yah we should! But not much good food here. Maybe Lot 1? Sakae? Salmon sashimi? Hee.

Happy,
Ya, now come to think of it, also wondering how i "tong" for 12 hours.. hehe

Blessed mum,
u stay at yew tee right? Ya lor, infact we are near each other.

CONGRATS to HUNNYPOO &amp; MAGGIE. Rest well during confinement!

karen,
Ya, thats what I heard too. Cause not is his assistant take over liao. Last time he was my grandpa's fren but retired liao.. But seems tat they are still the more popular one around..

talking abt cervic checks ah... i did mine yesterday.., wah lau... its damn pain lor.. and i hav spotting after that. really regret to get a male gynae this time, thot they'll be more gentle with women. haizz... but i was half hopping the spotting will be more, so i can deliver soon.. but but... fat hope for me lor... my EDD is 1 Nov, and i haven't deliver! all those later then me all delivered liao lor

<font color="aa00aa">Bear</font>,
My maltese's canned food is Moo-Tripe. That time I over heard the shop owner telling my hub that this canned food is organic. But maybe you wanna confirm on this b4 you buy juz in case I heard wrongly.

<font color="aa00aa">Peanut</font>,
heheeh... I also got small feet. *hi-five* I'm wearing size 3 wor.

<font color="aa00aa">Cervix check / Pap smear</font>,
I find that it helps to relax when gynae doing these checks cos if your muscles are tense, it will be more painful. For me, I'll close my eyes and try to relax.

Congrats to those who have popped!! I havent been coming in these couple of days.

My company is going thru a retrenchment exercise now.. and the list will be out tomorrow. I am so so so worried that I will kanna. I joined this co. for 3 mths + and I got pregnant liao.. 2 of my frens who came back from maternity leave got retrenched. One came back for 4 mths and the other just came back for 4 days only!!!

Sigh, wonder if they can retrench me without getting into trouble with the law.

hi misaryeo
sorry to know that your cervix check was painful. my gynae also male but he is gentle ya. I remember yours is 2nd bb rite then may be earlier than your EDD ya.

Karen
I always take honey chrysanthemum and starfruit juice when I have sore throat, maybe U will like to try some?

Congrats to Chilipadi, Hunnypoo, Jenn, Vincy, Maggie and Amooks
All the best and enjoy your motherhood and rest well during the confinement.

Vel
Like U, I also noticed that my vaginal discharge increased already maybe is due to our cervix softening?

peanut
U must be very careful ya, rainy season started so preggy like us have to watch out n walk slowly. Take care ok.

Sunshinekid
i dun think your co will retrench U ya cos U are protected by the law, maybe after your ML only lah. So dun worry for now.

Jenn,
Congraz, Your hb is so sweet... Still help to post your girl girl pic.. Feeling better.. Must take care, k... Must jin pu...

Amooks,Vincy,
Congraz, take good care of yourself and your bb.. Looking forward to see you bb pic...

Sunshinekid,
No worries.. If they retrench you now, they still gonna pay your maternity leave.. Don't worry too much, it is bad for your baby..

Now lots of companies are having retrenchment. I think my company will be having retrenchment soon. Esp financial sector, they are badly affected by the economy downturn.

I just came back from my gynae appt. My bb is around 2.19kg @ week 35. Dr Koh said the ideal weight for bb will be 3.2kg @ week 40.

Strep B Test
Done a strep B test last week due to "V" infection. The report shows that there are moderate growth of Strep B (bacteria) gonna take antibiotics during labour to prevent bb from getting it.

Fifi, I juz confirmed my ML with my HR. I m taking continuous 12weeks.

For the 1st 2mth, weekends &amp; PHs will get 'eaten up' but my 3rd mth, I can take as per day basis so weekends &amp; PHs r not considered as part of my 3rd mth ML. Think mayb each co. practice differently?

congrats to hunnypoo, maggie and amooks! anyone else popped? i din log in for 1.5 days so many posts liao!

visited gynae for wk37 check this afternoon. he did a cervix check as I had contractions twice while driving there... hiaz...2cm dilated liao...he told me to get everything ready... it can be anytime... and since my first labour was 5 hrs... i may be 2 hrs this time and told me if contraction 10mins apart must rush to hospital liao not like last time 5 mins apart then go.. I asked gynae anyway to delay for at least 1 more week as I want to attend the Parent support group discussion from Shichida next Thursday nite... gynae said baby is in right position, right weight, right time... so they won't delay
i am keeping my fingers crossed that i can tong for another 7 days... let me attend the session...

sunshinekid,

all the best... try not to worry so much. I joined my this company 2 mths and got preggie also... thats why i intend to take 16 weeks ML one shot incase when i go back next year kenna retrenched... can i ask u are u in financial institute? I suggest to call MOM to find out your rights... whether *touch wood* if you kenna, u are entitled to the full 16 weeks paid ML....

fifi,

thanks for the bottles

im mommy from Aug'08.. im selling My Breastfriend pillow (breastfeeding pillow).. Bought at $68 selling $40.. Used twice only as i mostly express out. Interested can PM me.

GD MORNING mummies and mummies-to-be!!

sherline: mine also 8am for my c-sect op on 1st nov... hee...

i am now on MC till 1st nov.. doc asked me to rest more as i am having cramps and tummy pain very often... so now i am rotting at home.. ;p

ladies, wat do u think of getting a second hand breast pump?? i am thinking of buying one coz dunno gt supply anot leh...

Sunshinekid-Yeah by LAW shd not retrench u now, even must retrench also must after ur ML ma..

kash-Anytime! Ask bb guai guai stay inside for 1 week more. *prays for ya*

Liv-I think its ok if u r comfy and if the condition is still good lo.. or else maybe wait till after delivery, if needed borrow from hospital first, if got supply then buy also not too late?

congrats to all mummies who just popped..

jia-you to all mummies that's gg to pop soon..

kash..
try to talk to ur boy..see if he can be a little co-operative to "endure" for a while more ah..think he's anxious to see his jiejie la..hee..

bibi..
i m glad that Dr Koh did the Strep B Test for u &amp; giving u antibiotics too..try to avoid dairy products esp cheese for time being..take gd care ah..Dr Koh is gg for holiday today &amp; only back on Mon..i m seeing him on Tues morn..when's ur next appt?