(2008/11) November 2008

hi cc,
yup! cool, then i might just get one more will do. i also have 2 waterproof mattress protector. one is a like a normal mat kind i bot from baby avenue. another one is a better one which works like a normal bedsheet that wraps around mattress. hopefully it wont make sleeping too warm for baby. but i must use coz we using cloth diaper for initial weeks..

Help - PUPPS

someone posted a site for the ease of itch rite...something like using ricewine etc...can give the link again...cant find....the itch is overcoming me....erks.....

Hi CC,

it's a bit different from sarong sling.

1. material is 95% cotton, 5% spandex. so, feel like T-shirt.

2. it holds onto both your shoulders, so more conformable.

the other day, my sister was using it, carry her baby inside. then a young girl was ask her mummy, " why the baby sleep inside a T-shirt". it was soooo funny >.<

Ypg,

according to the instruction, it can be used from new-born to small toddler.

my sister's son is 11 month old, weight 10kg+

you can take a look at the website, it's about Nursing inside the warp:

http://www.sleepywrap.com/index.php?page=nursing

http://www.sleepywrap.com/index.php?page=benefits-of-babywearing

olwen,
nice to see 2 of ur triplets photo! luke will be fine so many aunties here praying for him lei. I'm a free tinker so i'm free to pray to different types of gods.. hhaahaa..

congrats chilipadi. post ur bb photo when avail.

hui
ur bb really cute lei hahaaa... mus b one of the chubbiest in the nursery room! somemore cry while sleeping one.. wonder what she dreamt about.

minkybear
cos at this point most mommies getting super heaty.. My temp jus got in yesterday and she was having flu and cough.. but bobian i stil need to teach her.. by end of the day i could feel my left throat getting a bit sore!! wah was tinking her virus how come so powerful one.. Quickly went home and drank the coconut juice i bot from pasar malam.. now for the timebeing ok liao.. So i tink mayb u shd try coconut as well, bring down e heatiness lei

dear mummies: thanks to all for the kind wishes &amp; prayers. sorry, too many to name u all one by one. i'm recovering well. milk flow is getting better &amp; luke is feeding better n better too. he's able to absorb my milk so they have taken him off the formula &amp; give him the priority for the EBM.

thanks to mildy &amp; bluebear for updating my particulars &amp; situation respectively.

peanut: always so funny &amp; able to make me laugh no matter what.

Bear: my guru, sorry to hear abt your accident, pls take care.

congrats to chilli-padi.

ypg: thanks for your kind wishes too. yes, i remember u. nice to hear your baby is doing well.

all the best to those delivering in the coming week. hope to come in again &amp; c everyone again soon w better news.

Dreamjo..read that u cant store cordblood because of thyroid. I am also having thyroid prob n still on meidication, but the agent did not tell me I can store my cord blood leh.

shop4stuffs, for temp release, use ice pack. But then its better to go and see your gynea for the cream to apply and take piriton for the itch. Piriton is safe for consumption during pregnancy. I am still recovering from the puppp, I know how you feel. Its terrible, but avoid scratching (easier said then done, I know), but the scratching is really making it worst. Hang in there!! If really bth, ask gynea to refer you to National skin ctr where they will give you a stronger steroid cream. Since its for application, its quite safe to use for pregnant woman also. Take care!

Woke up today with a terrible sore throat and probably slight fever... Feel so terrible! Awwww... = (

By the way, anyone knows the procedure like who to inform if i would like to donate my cord blood? Inform gynae or....???

Yesterday went for check-up at 36.5weeks, little auggy bear weighs 2.7kg... Nothing has been mentioned about softening of the cervic, so i guess i probably have a couple of weeks to go. *Yawnz*

Chillipadi: Congrats on your newborn! Keep us posted on your progress!

For those who will be popping anytime soon...Gogo Jiayou!

Auggy bear:
Oh dear, take good care. These couple of days, the weather is soooooo damn hot!! Really feel like walking around naked.. hehehehehe... I think now we can start drinking more "liang" stuff? Pple tell me to start drinking chrysemtamum tea, helps to cleanse baby wor, same effect as coconut.

Olwen:
Glad to know baby Luke is doing fine! See, they are indeed warriors.
Take good care..

Chillipadi:
Yeah. congrats on your newborn.

I also went for Checkup yest. At 34+ wks, baby is about 2.2 - 2.3 kg.. Sigh, not a big baby. Dr Paul Tseng also commented that this baby will come out ard same time as his korkor &amp; jiejie, ie, around 37-38 wks. I had better start my ML on 3rd Nov, whc is beginning of Wk 37.

Who's next in Q?

For those staying at Mt. A, do you receive any Admission letters from your gynae?

The nurse at Paul Tseng's clinic told me they won't issue any letters.. but I rem the last time, they stapled something on my card leh, something like admission memo..

I know in TMC, they will send you a little booklet.

Congrates Chilipadi do show us some photos

Sunshinekid, ya my gynae gave me an admission letter. must bring. u might wan tto check again.

mummies, once a week you can drink 1 coconut water only, to reduce heatiness, on the day before going for labour drink a bottle of chicken essence.

Sunshinekid,

Gynae will issue you admission letter de. Cos when you admit into hospital, the staff will know which gynae to notify based on the letter. So far i know for TMC and Mt A same. It all depends on the gynae so you may want to check with him again.

Olwen

keep the faith and be positive. Prince Luke will be fine.

Auggy bear

You have to call/liaise with the stem cord bank directly. They are located at KKH. In addition, when you are admitted for delivery, you have to inform the nurses and your gynae that you have arranged for stem cord bank pple to collect it.

Congrats to those who hav delivered!!! So envy! I am in my 38 weeks and yet still dunno when gonna deliver
Gettign very very tired lately, and still hv to handle my no 1...

dreamjo, i donated the cordblood when i delivered my no1 in KKH 2 years ago. What I did was go to the office fill up forms and they will ask qns abt health. then when i delivered gynae would know what to do from there. If I delivered in KKh this time round, I would do the same, I like the idea of helping my kid do a good deed when they first came to this world. Its just me lah... but its nice to help

Just went for my check up at 37 wks! End up didnt get a cervix check. Gynae said next wk. Bb is 2.8kg -wow! But my blood pressure on the high side
gynae didnt prescribe medicine, but said must monitor and see if it drops next wk, otherwise might have to induce??
=( Is this common?? sigh...

went to check up today.

- 35W4D, baby around 3kg already, a big baby!!!

- head dimension 9cm.

- still face front.

- I only gain 0.5kg in past 2 weeks, however, I already gain 19kg.

- from now on, visit is weekly based.

I was worried baby may not stay until 38W+ (C-section date). but doctor say should be OK, unless water broken.

Doctor say, with a big head, baby may not engage. and he was so active, took few minute just to catch face scan photo >.<

<font color="aa00aa">Sunshinekid</font>
I'm also with TLC clinic but am with Dr Phyllis Liauw. She also told me dun need admission letter. Just bring both our appointment card and the big card which they record our check-up details can liaoz.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Coconut Juice</font>
Can we drink more then 1x a week? Will it too cooling? hehhehe... I love coconut juice.

<font color="aa00aa">Glad</font>
Oh dear... if you got high blood pressure must really monitor. Cos it can be a sign of pre-eclampsia. But if your gynae din prescribe any medication then it should be ok yah. Pls refer to the link below:
http://www.babycenter.com/0_preeclampsia_257.bc

<font color="aa00aa">JJ Zou</font>
Wow! 3kg BB at 35 weeks! That's big! heheheh... Dun worry yah. Trust in your gynae. They have delivered so many BB's they know best.

Thanks Carol

How long have you has it? Will it recover or wil it last till delivery huh? When i see gynae it was still not so bad but yesterday night was terrible, pop our everywhere and i got to go down today to get more steriod cream...i have the pills for itch but didnt take coz so far didnt dare to take any oral medication, even when im having flu, i also take 1 or 2 only....

i scratched too lo...cant stand ah....maybe thats why got a big patch of rash lo..like many linked together..yucks....

i use ice pack lo...but only for a while too lo...think shorter than using the steriod cream lo....used rice wine...also a while only lo...hhh... now leg so ugly, already swollen now lagi ugly with all the rashes...like kana what disease..yucks

mummies really great ...

carol
wonder if theres any oil that can helps ho....read frm some other website...tea tree oil, emu oil, flax seed oil, dandeloin root....

but i never heard of any1 of them and duno where to get them and also if really a remedy or not lo...hhh...

<font color="aa00aa">shop4stuffs</font>,
The dandelion root and flax seed oil is in capsule form. You can get it from GNC. I'm not too sure whether it's effective cos I din try. I also had a minor PUPPP breakout recently. I bathe with J&amp;J PH balance body soap, then rub salt all over my body, rinse and then slather lots and lots of cream all over. Oh yah... try to use cool or lukewarm water when bathing cos hot water tends to aggravate it. Hope you get better soon. I know that the itch is really unbearable.

Glad:
Pregnant women tend to have higher blood pressures due to increased blood supply in our body. Only thing is that its dangerous if its way too high lah (that is usually pre-eclampsia). Usually if it goes too high beyond the tolerance level, gynaes will advice induce/c-sec cos after you deliver the blood pressure will go down.

Since no medication, likely yours is just high but not that high yet. Anyway, you full term le so if need to induce also no problem. So dun worry so much. Just be prepared for delivery lor, whether its natural labour or induce. And also take note of any swelling of hands and legs (severe swelling) as that's a sign of the blood pressure going to high.

sunshine: yes have admission letter which u need to give hospital gynae will keep emphasising to bring along on tat day of admission..not sure y ur doc say dun hv...

jjzou,
wow! u have a pretty big baby.=> mummy must have fed baby well.

hope everyone is having a good weekend so far. me just went to MIL place for dinner,she made bee hoon kueh which i have been craving. better than those outside full of MSG.hee..also had a bowl of birds nest. this is only my first bowl in my pregnancy,hahah..

sigh..was taking down a laundry stick just now but somehow dropped it and it smashed one of my hubby's fav Bodum cup..feel so silly..now hubby has to clear all the broken glass..

JJzou: wow..hee your bb is gaining very well in wt!

Thanks Dymples, and Fifi! Been doing some reading up too on pre-empsia!
I think mine is still within tolerance level phew (at least I havent seen any swelling yet) so better make sure I watch my stress and diet..gee and i ate curry just now >.<

Misaryeo, thanks for the info. I already call on friday le but found that i'm not suitable to donate cord blood. Too bad, want to do good deed also cannot. *signz*

Vincyl, its because of the medication that i took. I was prescibed with carbimazole and this med will affect the quality of the cord blood. I need to stop this med at least 3 years. But i only stopped less than a year before i get pregnant. Anyway, the nurse i spoke to say its not advisable to store as well cos its of no use. Oh well, maybe donate my next kid cord blood bah since i dont intend to store. I guess if you had been taking pregnancy safe med, should not affect your bb cord blood. So they allow you to store bah.

Glad glad
I had pre-eclampsia for my first baby. BP was really high, it was 180 or something like that. But one obvious symptom I had was tat I had v v bad swelling at my feet since like 30+ wks or so. But all along, my BP level was quite normal. Only during the 36th week checkup, my doc found out my BP was rocket high, plus high level of protein in the urine, thats why he ordered tat I got admitted straight away, no gg home at all. Imagine I was so shock. Just a routine checkup lead to admission to hosp liao..

Anyway, ur doc didnt give you any med, so I guess ur case is not that bad. Just monitor yah..

Admission letter
Hmm.. I guess diff docs practise differently. Yah, at TLC Clinic, i guess we only need to bring our big card along. Thats wat the nurse told me.

dreamyjo...I am taking carbimazole also n stop the medi less then 1 yr. I call my agent she say that thyriod is quite common will not affect, I am afriad they are out to earn commission n did not bother to tell true. Will the gynae be able to give advice on this?

Dymples, Glad_gal &amp; Haru,

yes, my baby so large. I can really feel the difference. feel heavy on my leg and pelvis. anyway, someone was say there could be 500g+/- >.<

doctor also say, I still got lots of water inside the womb. and my boy so active, and happy inside. we saw him open and close his hand, and stretching his neck and back. so cute!

so, everything seems fine. I guess, because I'm super relax at home, so the baby.

anyway, next saturday (36W) would do the CTG, should be fun >.<

Haru,

don't worry about your husband's favor Bodum cup. nowadays, we are very large in size, not easy to even just walking around >.< I believe your husband can understand =)

with the extra 19kg on me, I feel so clumsy. feel myself like a Penguin =( even hard to manage not drop anything for each meal I take. thanks God, my husband still love me, and cheer me up with understanding why the way I am.

by the way, your husband seems very caring =)

Dymples,
Welcome

JJ Zou,
Wow you have got a big and good weight baby.

Admission ltr:
Sunshine,
I agree it more different practice of gynae. My gynae also dun issue any admnission letter unless it is scheduled c-section case. He just ask me to admit myself to hospital when necessary since he had already booked the hospital for me in June. The hospital will have a record. Worse, i dun even have any follow up card.

Bedding Set,
I've bought Pooh bear bedding set(UP $100.90) from John Little yesterday. There's 20% discount with Robinson's card. After discount the price is abt $80, but there's a rebate of 5% when we receive the bill which comes to abt $75.
The John Little sale ends today.

Milderina/dreamyjo
If you are interested, today is the last chance.

Sunshine kid, I see..thks for sharing your experience!! Must be a pretty sudden and shocking experience to hear that must be admitted immediately! I just keep my fingers crossed man...still at least I am reaching 38 weeks, so bb is full term liao IF I do have to deliver earlier..

anyone know if it is safe to take flu, antibotics and cough medicine when you are breastfeeding especially the first few days of delivery?

<font color="aa00aa">Haru</font>,
Dun feel bad yah... preggie ladies tend to be more clumsy especially towards the end. I'm sure your hub will understand.

<font color="aa00aa">Glad</font>,
Yup. I'm sure your high blood pressure is nothing to worry about. Just monitor and call your gynae for advise if you feel necessary.

<font color="aa00aa">JJ Zou</font>,
Wah... your BB so cute leh. Still can stretch around. heheh... tink mine will be feeling more cramp cos I'm quite petit build. Sometimes when she move, her kicks and punches quite painful lor.

<font color="aa00aa">Snnowy</font>,
Thks for the welcome.

<font color="aa00aa">minkybear</font>,
There are safe medications to take like the common Panadol. But best to let your GP know you are breast-feeding. If self-medicating and buying from the pharmacy, ask the Pharmacists on duty for advise juz to be on the safe side.

Went to the GP and was given medication for inflammation, fever, vitamin C, antibiotics and sore throat... Had 2 bottles of honey lemon but its of no use... Also bought coconut to cool down today...Those who also got the virus, let's pray for speedy recovery before delivery!

jj
tin my bb big too ley, no wonder leg always pain when standing up or walking for a slightly longer distance...bb is 3.3kg at 36wks....furthermore im <160cm tall...

bedsheet
I ended up buying fm kiddy palace instead of looking around or making myself. Was there while catching a movie so just grab it and get over with the bedsheet issue. not getting any bedding side coz felt that cot is pass down so dun really have the mood to make cot nice nice haha but i bot 1 mobile musical for bb la...

rice wine - pupps
Oops....heard that rice wine will affect bb and should not use....coz increase blood circulation...lucky i only use for 1 round....so scary....will really regret if anytin happen to bb man....

Auggybear,
Ya was hoping for a speedy recovery... cause afraid will pop anytime so just in case i ask whether can take the medicine during breastfeeding.

Just discharged from hospital this morning but baby still need to stay in hospital for Phototherapy becos of jandice.

My Birth Story :
16th OCt
7.00am : Reached Hospital
8.00am : Epi Administered
8.30am : Water Bag broken by Gynae, dilated 3cm
10.30am: Dilated 7cm (long wait then cos bb position high up still)
5.00pm : 8-9cm dilated
5.45pm : Fully Dilated. Start pushing (countless attempts)
6.42pm : Baby Arrived.

Rachelle's weight : 2.725Kg

Happy,
Thanks. Dr Chan is a very gd gynae,so calm and experienced. Her stitching really gd, we are chatting while she do her work. : )

Hi.. Babyzel,
Congrats! Another Graduate!! Rachelle is so alert looking.

Didnt follow the thread, so your delivery was a pre-determined date or the labour pain came naturally and u checked into the hosp? How many wks when u popped?

Hmmm. When is my turn gg to come, haahah.

Snowwy and other mummies..

Aiyo, I v blur. Just opened the letterbox and I got the admission letter from Mt.A, asking me to fill up my particulars and then fax back to the hosp.. :p

Sunshine,
Mine was induced birth so gynae gave me 3 dates to choose from. I popped at 37 wks... Enjoy the process when ur turn comes. It's a beautiful process.