(2008/11) November 2008

Mosh:
Won't be before Olwen lah. Not possible.

Currently Hui is updating the chart. So should be Hui ba. After that Olwen will take over right?

Lilian:
I count full maturity as 37 weeks (3 weeks before EDD). But some say 36 already full maturity.

Gin, i also dun wanna wash but hb said wash lor.. he like that one.. wanna save time and effort. last wk Mrs Wong was teaching us how to sterilise bottles and how to handle them. My hb asked me are babies really that fragile? need to be so clean meh? i tell u, aft one yr, he will say clothes washed before liao, dun have to wash again. MEN!

Fifi, fast hor.. 10 more days! ya most ppl count 37 wks onwards as full term liao.. dun be scared ya? we all here to support u.
i dun like to use plastic bags leh.. heee.. its the 'green' part of me lah.. i try to minimise the use of plastic bags inclding ziploc.. but i heard that for storing breastmilk in the fridge/ freezer, better to double bag them cos of the bacteria from raw food.

Kash, u are welcome! i hope u like the author.. i do find that his writing style a bit jumpy when he ends one chapter. his first couple of books were better. Actually i can't see my own stretchmarks.. must go and double check again later.

Mosh, u take care ya? i guess u shd be on MC then? try and tahan.. u can sms anybody on the contact list i gave. but make sure u dun sms those that seldom come in! wahahaha...

Lilian, not i wanna burst ur bubble lah.. heee... just to let everyone know that there is no definite thing when it comes to stretchmarks lor. Hope u dun get any!

Bear, fifi, maybe you are right. Depend on individual body condition. I dont think i had enough collagen, cos the only meat i eat is fish and i dont take alot of it. Hopefully, i dont suffer from stretchmark lah. Fingers crossed.

bear, well, i thought its troublesome to keep the new unwashed laundry with the washed laundry separate so washed lor. easier to organise. by then, if need to wear, wash again. When it comes to conserving energy and water, i'm ashamed to say i'm not playing an active role in it. oops sorry.

actually, when gynae asked me whether i want to induce by week 37, i agreed immediately. Later she changed her mind and change to 38 saying give bb a chance to mature a little bit more. So i guess 37 weeks is consider mature but if can, week 38 is better bah.

Fifi, thought we same EDD...10 days to maturity?! Gasp, that sounds a bit early...me totally not prepared. >.< My gynae said most pple usually 38-39 wks so I am banking on his words.
Don't even want to think abt the pain eeks. But anyway take care ah..and we will all jia you!!

Gin:
Lol. No lah. Won't pop so soon de lah. I only realised coz my colleague asked me this morning.

We can sort out stuff when the bbmall stuff arrive. I think oso will be by early next week. They haven given me the tracking number so cannot est well.

Glad:
Yah we same EDD. And yes, most people abt 38 weeks. So even though 10 days to maturity, that is only to 37 weeks. It just means that after another 10 days, if baby come out, we dun worry so much about whether they are developed enough to be born. Of coz if they stay inside abit longer is good for them too but many people do say between 37-42 weeks, not much difference except for weight.

Hey mummies with dogs here... any advise on how to let bb coexist with our beloved pets and how to make our home a safe place for bb even with pets around. also how to let our pets bond with our bb? been troubling over it as time is drawing nearer and im afraid my dogs will feel neglected and jealous of the new comer. Is it too much to ask if i let my dogs to continue to sleep with us in the same room as our newborn?

Help....mummies
last minute look for confinement lady is it more expensive huh?
Fedup ley, mine cancel today ley. say just got op. Y she didnt call b4 op but after op 1... last 2 days, just gave her number to my cousin friend whose Cl also last min cancel (duno when is her due date la), wonder is it last min more expensive thats y took up hers and cancel mine...

Any advise? now where to find? sad ley...

Hi all, i had been going to oct thread. Its interesting to see that for the thread, quite a few mommies pop 2-3weeks before their edd. See those cute babies, cant help to think when is my turn. hmmm... 9 more days for me to 37 weeks.

lovedogs,
cool, coz i also bot babysafe infant pillow. do you know where i can find the mattresses? just need to make sure i get the correct size.

i was also thinkin Dr Ngiam, or Dr Gong. I will inform the clinic to change my PD when i go there later this week for my appt.

jo yeo, sorry i didnt engage one so cant give you advise. Maybe you can check with jjmom. Her CL also cancel last min but she managed to get another CL. Maybe she can share her experience with you. alternatively, you can look for confinement agencies. if you giving birth in TMC, i think TMC also got confinement service but more expensive.

dreamyjo
thanks...now feeling so upset...thse CL ho..hhh...already have this feeling she will cancel coz she kept saying "if she cancel she will get replacement etc..." just now also tell me replacement, i immediately say no coz felt its their trick. the friend who recommended me also kana from her, put her friend then come later but for only 1 week...think she will keep taking bookings then refer to her friend, maybe got commission.

Btw, her name is Bi Hua and is from JB.... her number is 92429035 0137721828. Wonder if anyone kana from her too....

i go find jjmom and pm her....

Mosh,
U also like me, I was bleeding at my cervix last Thursday. DId ur gynae say why it happens?

How many weeks are u now? It's too early for me to del leh, now only 33 weeks.

Hi ladies!!
have been biz at work! counting down to my last working days! Suddenly today feel my back abit sng sng.. sian..
I can't be popping b4 Olwen wan lah.. keke :D

Hi dreamyjo, we have a dog at home too. he's mild tempered and playful at times. but so far he's proven to be very friendly with kids. coz my MIL is taking care of my hubby's niece and she's just a toddler. The wonderful thing is that our dog is able to take care of her. he'll sleep beside her when she sleeps and will alert my MIL if she wakes up or cries. He won't even retaliate when she tries to attack him with her toys. hehe..

ever since I was pregnant, my hubby and myself kept telling our dog that he's going to have a so-called 'younger brother' very soon. we also kept reminding him that he must be a good boy. nowadays, he likes to sit beside me on the floor and place his head near my tummy and lean on my tummy. he even follows me when i go to the toilet in the middle of the night and waits outside the toilet for me. sort of like protecting me and my bb. he's such a darling..

my hubby dun intend to let him sleep with us when bb is born so now we start to let him sleep outside our room just to let him get used to it. I don't like this idea, but no choice when hubby says its for our bb's good.

<font color="119911">Bear, Fifi</font>

<font color="0000ff">Cramp</font>
Now it's almost faded to a dull ache in my stomach ler..so can almost ignore it. But at least i'm not bleeding and i still feel baby hiccup a couple of hours ago.
My next gynae appt is next Monday, if really cannot tahan the cramp, will call the clinic up before that.

<font color="0000ff">Stretch Mark</font>
My mum does not have stretch mark. Hope i don't have too, but i'm only in week 32

My opinion is that I would not want to let pets sleep in the same room as my baby for the first few months. Babies are more sensitive during this period and pet fur may cause an allergic reaction to some infants. The less "unknowns" the better so that if there is an allergy, its a bit easier to figure out what the problem is (e.g. detergent used for clothes, type of clothes, body wash, wet wipes, diaper brand, etc).

When the baby outgrows this ultra sensitive stage then can introduce to the dog and teach them to love each other.

As for the dog, I think as long as you continue treating them well and giving them sufficient attention, they would be ok even if they cannot sleep in your room anymore for the time being. I believe dogs are more understanding than we give them credit for.

moomummy:
Your dog seems like the stray cat that used to live downstairs my parent's place. She would wait for me at my staircase and "walk" me halfway to the bus stop when I go to school in the morning. When I come back late, I would find her waiting for me along the way home and she would walk me to the door. She would even wait for me to close and lock the door before going off.

Bear, I ate quite abit of chicken feet during my pregnancy. was told that it contains collagen which will help in reducing the stretch marks. but still have leh..

anyway, now i already ren4 ming4 liao..won't wanna get bothered so much by it already.
As long hubby dun mind the ugliness, then okie lor. if he minds, then i ask him to fork out some $$ to let me go beauty saloon to lighten these stretch marks lor..hee

Fifi, yes I agree with you totally. Dogs can really be more understanding.

that stray cat which you've mentioned is so sweet! I tink my hubby and myself would bond our bb and our dog by taking them out for walks more often in future. hope it helps.

<font color="119911">Moomummy</font>
As women, we must take care of ourselves mah. Must try to remain attractive to our hubby.
Hubby may not mind the ugliness now, but who can predict the future that he will not change his mind.

<font color="119911">Fifi</font>
Agree with you that baby is more sensitive during the first few months.
Is it necessary to get an air purifier for the baby's room or singapore air quality should be good enough?

Greengrape:
If you can, try to contact your gynae to let her know you do have such a pain. She may want to see you earlier. Mine really don't last so long de. At most about 15 mins it will go off de and I will be back to normal. That's why my gynae is ok with it. It fulfills her criterias of (1) not regular, (2) no bleeding, (3) will go off by itself. Yours like too long liao.

Just back for gynae appt. now Week 33.. &amp; i've gained another 2kg within a mth.. bb now estimated 2.2kg. shld be average as dr nv comment anytin. bb hav turn head down. pray hard he dun turn up til deliver.

my bb cot &amp; stroller was delivered last week.. now left with washing of bb clothes &amp; bedding sets.. oso have bb clothes from 6-12mths. haa. duno wanna washed it together...

Olwen>
u really put in so much effort to try post in here! take care yah! we are waiting for ur gd news soon.

Jo_yeo>
sorry to hear tat ur CL back out u at tis pt of time. i guess it's better for u to find a CL thru agencies. more lobangs &amp; more safe.

stretch mark>
at the moment no signs.. still applying oil &amp; cream ev day. hope wont get it!

btw squating exercise shld start from when ah? was said to help on delivery

Dreamyjo, hahah i know wat u mean to store the clothes separately.. anyway electric tariffs just went up 21%! must try and cut down on usage.. hahah.. i m nagging again.

As for the dog issue, i myself am allergic to dogs.. hence my dog nv slps with me ever! he can't even step into my room! i dun think the dog shd slp in the same room as ur bb for at least half a yr. i know of someone that doesn't even allow her dog into the bb room and she is a vet!
i think u better start training ur dog to slp separately from u. but i think when the bb comes just make it a point to spend time with bb too.. so far i have done what Moomummy did, i talk to my dog abt my bb... when i pat my tummy, my dog will come to me and put his head on it. but i dun think he understands. I will prob intro the dog to the bb when the bb comes back from the hospital. more like let doggie sniff the bb etc. actually contact will be later.

Moomummy, not me say eat chicken legs will not have stretchmarks! i said no matter wat u try and do, still will kena if u are meant to kena.. hahaha.. i nv heard of the chicken legs thingy! u gotta consistently eat food high in collagen!

Greengrape, ur cramps dun sound right leh.. not suppose to subside into dull ache at all.. pls call ur gynae.. hopefully its just overstretching of tendons.. better check.

GreenGrape,of course i would like to remain attractive to my hubby, but now already have stretch marks liao leh..too late liao...

Hi moomummy, fifi.. Thanks for the feedback.
I will seriously give it a good thought. I will also follow moomummy's advise to talk to my dogs more often about coming of the new member. Currently its my hubby who had been talking to them about their new 'didi'. I also get feedback from elsewhere saying its best to separate them and bb for bb's first few months. I hope i can harden my heart. But since young, they had been sleeping in the room, everytime i lock them outside, they will whine and scratch the door and my heart will soften. Maybe i'll talk to my hubby again and perhaps he can knock some sense into me again.

sunshinekid,

Im @ wk 32 now. Gynae check and say sensitive cervix, as long as no contraction or pain shld be ok. No sign of preterm labour so far so shld be ok but need to rest lor, dont walk ard too much.

Haaaaalloooo..
finally in.. tink today hav to work late again.. so stressed stil hav so much ting need to settle.. having headache liao, later popping a panadol.. Yest went guanying miao.. pray to guanying bb dun come out b4 nov or i jialat. This coming sat going for my gynae visit bb would be 35weeks by then, then most likely after the appt hav to come back office SIANZ!!!!!

Bear - i'm not saying that eating chicken feet will help definitely. was a hear-say kind of thing. i think no matter what i eat now is useless liao lah.. haha..

dreamyjo - you are most welcome. I know it's difficult initially to lock your dogs outside your room, but we really have to consider our bb's health. anyway,it's going to be only for the first few months only. after that when bb have stronger immunity system, then we can let them be together liao.

Stretchmarks> me stomach no hav yet.. but noticed my pigu got wor!! suspect they were already ther even b4 pregnant cos last time i was like a balloon, bloated this min, thin like dunoe wat nex min.. Will the stretchmarks appear sometimes after the stomach deflats?

peanut> jialat leh.. u sure v stress lidat. i oso went guan yim miao on sunday. pray for smooth delivery. haha.. u haven finish hand over ur stuff? got temp aready?

oh mummies,
how many beddings sets do we need to prepare? my bedding set will only come this weekend together w e cot. think once e cot arrives, we will really feel e excitement of baby's arrival.=P

i have emailed to boss today bout my intentions to work from home a lil from next week onwards if poss. so tom gona have meeting to discuss work issues to see how we can best ensure all e stuff are being hand overed properly.

alibaba
my temp not in yet!!! she can only make it mid oct cos she stil working with another company!! thats y i asked her to come in sat to hand over some 1st.. or else secally pop early really not in time to handover liao... last sat jus spent 5hrs wif her.. most likely this sat hav to ask her come again, but got pay her lah of cos.. Sigh.. envy some lei like my sis, can relax and rest till delivery, me hav to stress until i deliver

Peanut, oh dear, u sound so stress... dun stress leh.. wait u pop early! work can nv finish one. at most she calls u during ur ML.. dun stress ya? eh those lessons u missed, dun think u are gg for the replacements right? must wait 6 wks!

U so cute, actually noticed that ur pi gu have stretchmarks? are they red? if red means they are FRESH ones! wahahahah...

Haru, bedding sets u might wanna have 2.. just for the cot bumper.. but u shd have a few more bedsheets just in case of leakage/ vomit etc. I got another 2 more bedsheets from Aussino. cost only $17 i think.

Dreamyjo, may be u get those metal fence so that ur dogs can see u while u are slping instead of closing the door? unless u slp in aircon or else i dunno how u gonna prevent them from whining.. i can't slp with my dog whining!

Moomummy, hahaha actually i like chicken feet! :p

Bear
wah they better dun always call me lei.. busy with bb liao stil need to ans work calls super sian one.. i wan them to giv me PEACE...
Y u say wait 6 weeks for the replacements? anyway dun tink i'm going lah.. tomm's doctor talk i also not sure if can attend bo.. hope can make it but most likely going on my own, hubby v busy this week

My pigu stretchmarks are WHITE!!! piang.. tts y i know they've been ther for ages jus tt i dunoe cos wher got so eng last time look at my pigu in front of mirror one!! Only when pregnant then i spotcheck my body for the marks

haru: can get at kiddy palace, baby kingdom has them too..best to measure ur cot and u'll know the measurements of the mattress.

DOGS
I also have a one yr old doggie..very notti, he's still in his playpen when maid come maybe will put him out but he may bite curtains and pee..quite headache...otherwise just put in backyard...

Dogs will naturally get jealous so I am passing the responsibility to my maid ie: walking dog, bathe, feed..etc so dog can feel close to her..

Bear,
thanks! will check out e sheets at aussino. must remember to bring along e measurements. i bot a waterproof mattress cover (its like a normal bedsheet) from takashimaya. hope that would help. not sure if i should still get extra waterproof sheets. dun want baby to get all uncomfortable with all e additional layers. but i gota be prepared as we will be using cloth nappies for at least first 2 weeks.

Bear,
yah Men are like that. My hubby not interested in getting clothes for my gal. Everytime I see clothes, he will drag me away. And of cos he nv bothers if I wash them. But he is so into buying toys - a waste of $$ to me.

Fifi,
in that case, I wait till Babymall stuffs arrive and I will pay you altogether. Will go and help out sorting tog. Tired to walk too much, hurt my leg while in the shower. Toes swollen.

Haru,
the aussino fitted sheet shd fit 132 x 71 x 10cm (or 52" x 28" x 4"). Hope it helps.

alibaba
thanks. but agencies, not recommended by others no feedback. Heard some claimed to be good but no good one. So i will still stick to recommendation better lo

joyeo, i guess with CL, it will make your life easier. cos CL is supposed to take over the taking care of bb and let you have time to rest.
They are supposed to cook confinement food for you. As for me, i wanted to learn how to take care of bb and not be dependent on one so im not engaging one. My mom will be doing 1 week of confinement for me, after which, i will be on my own. i had a friend who went through 2 pregancies wo any confinement lady. I really admire her for that. But during this time, its tough and you need family support otherwise you may like get depressed.
Its really depend on you.

I don't think dogs are of any hindrance to babies. I have 2 dogs whom sleep in the same rm as me and my 1st baby(16mths old). My baby is doing fine and i think the issue here is how you manage the cleanliness of your dogs as well as your room. In fact the earlier you expose your baby to animal the better it is (of course i ;m not referring to having your dogs licking your baby or sniffing it at such a tender age). My dogs are afraid of my baby whom is trying to walk now.

haru,

u can get the mattress at taka, robinsons, kiddy palace etc...

bear,

oic, okie the next time i will search for his older books

dreamyjo,

i guess the most impt thing is that when your baby arrives, do you have any other helpers in your family/home who also love your dogs and handle them, care for them etc? I tell you baby not easy to handle and will take up a lot of your time...hence, it will be good if you have extra help from others who can feed, cuddle, groom, walk your dogs etc... as for sleeping in the same room, i think it is really a personal choice... the main concern i guess maybe when your baby gets older, and whether your dogs will make noise (eg scratching of the door coz they need to pee) and these may wake the baby up. (coz when baby wakes up....headache :p )

joyeo: better to get the waterproof sheet to place above mattress otehrwise if your mattress get stained u might have problem and wld need to replace it. I got 2 for my baby for bedsheet set also 2...bcos needs to be changed.

jo yeo>
at tis pt of time, i tink quite hard to find gd CL. mostly will be booked aready. anyway good luck in ur CL finding!

peanut>
actually i oso have some white line stretchmarks at my pigu. haha..also realise it after some time.. last time initial pak tor with hb time,, had too much supper.. become "bak chai" haha...

Hi, I am from the July 08 thread!
I have for sale a Brand New in Box (security seal still on) Medela Mini Electrical Breast Pump for sale. I ended up with 2 sets, so this is the extra one that has never been opened before!

Its retailing in shops for $193.90, and I am selling it at $150 to clear, as this gift is not of any use to me as I already have one =)

Its a massive savings of $43.90, so if any mummy-to-be here intends on getting one or knows someone who is...do look for me on 93223995 =) Item is 100% Brand new in box!

ohayoo mummies!

thanks gin78,
i'll go home and check if the measurement fits. =>

lovedogs,
will check it out soon!

joyeo,
i am not sure too. it looks like its normal fabric though..