(2008/11) November 2008

Carol & mummies who are not sure what to pack for your hospital bag:

This is a list for those that will be deliver at TMC.
What to bring for your stay:
-Bedroom slippers
-Cardigan or dressing gowns
-Maternity brassieres (optional)
-Personal nightgowns (front open for easier breastfeeding)
-Polythene bags (for your soiled linen)
-Sanitary belt (optional)
-Sanitary towel (optional)

TMC will provide the following for your newborn baby:
-A baby bag
-A pair of mittens
-Baby vests
-Disposable diapers
-Toiletries
-Wrapping blanket

Basic toiletries throughout your stay will be provided. You may also wish to bring along your personal clothing, cosmetic and other toiletries for a more comfortable stay

Went for my gynae visit last Sat and was told that my blood count is low. Was given iron pills to take to increase blood count. Any mummies taking iron pills too? Find that it tastes horrible....

Was told that bb weighs about 1.56kg at 30W6D. Is that of average weight? or is it a little small? Am a bit worried that my low blood count might have been affecting bb's growth...

Dey & moomummy

I'm also drinking MeiJi fresh milk. after reading above message, I went to double check. it is from Thailand. Nowadays, nothing is 100%. but what can we do >.< I drink 1-2 cups per day.

I also have Anmum samples, but too sweet for me, so only tried once.

Gin78,

count me in for Red hill party >.< I'm free most of the time.

hospital bag

I haven't pack. getting more and more lazy now. hee hee....

TMC actually provides toiletries? I dun remember Gleneagles has toiletries bag leh...

This is my list for hospital bag
For myself:
1) 2 set of botton up PJ
2) Bedroom slippers
3) Toiletries
4) 2 set of nursing bras
5) Nipple cream
6) Disposable panties
7) Maternity pad
8) Camera
9) Magazines/books

For baby
1) Receiving blanket
2) 1 new set of clothings
3) 1 pair of mittens
4) 1 pair of booties
5) Washcloth

Favoured: Welcome back. Did you say you also wanted Avent BPA-free bottles the other time. I cannot rem liao.

Gin: You place your order. Delivery mode you put deliver with BabyFifi's order lor. Either that or Glad &amp; I ask her to deliver ours to you. Heehee.

happy > really ta pao "tai fong" for enne ah.. lolz.. gathering interested.. but i always feel unwell for most days. haha...

favoured> if gynae said bb size ok, shld be ok de

Fifi: Don't think I will be ordering the Avent BPA-free bottles at the moment coz a friend of mine might be giving me 2 new BPA-free bottles, plus I bought the Medala ones when I ordered the PIS. so will wait and see. Thanks.

alibaba: gynae didn't say bb size ok.. though she did mention he is growing well. Guess I'm just getting paranoid after hearing that my blood count has been dropping since start of pregnancy. Thanks for the assurance.

Seems that several mummies ordered the plush toys from the BP. Must go take a look now!

JJZou, Dey
thanks for the info on the Meiji fresh milk.
at least now I feel abit more relieved to drink at ease.
As for Anmum milk, I also dun like the taste.

I also drink fresh soya bean milk with less sugar every morning coz my mum says this will make the bb fair.dunno how true this is..

Baby23,
best is to pack @ 34 weeks. latest 37 weeks..

Yen,
i also haven pack :D

Haru &amp; Enne
nursing bra sun buy so early.. u can buy after u pop
i buy 2 nursing bra b4 pop in the end nvr use leh.. after u develope milk ur cup size maybe different.

Milderina,
u buy disposable panties ah? the 1st 2 days i wear hospital panties then i wear back normal panties liao.. the disposable panties very uncomfy..

Glad Gal, Vincy, Mosh,
i also haven pack.. somemoe haven start buying bb stuffs leh.. i stepping into 34 weeks liao.. this weekend got to go get wat i shld buy le..Pad,bb stuffs etc..

My fav Vitasoy CHoc milk also cannot drink liao

Hi favoured,

do not worry, still not too late to take more iron. we need more iron for our late pregnancy. baby before birth would store some in their body too.

I read a chinese website, below food contain iron (don't know if you can read chinese or not) ,(mg/100g)

木耳 185mg
紫菜 149mg
海带 122mg
芝麻 50mg
黄豆 50mg
猪肝 25mg
蜜枣 7.5mg
鸡蛋黄 7mg
菠菜 4.1mg

my hospital bag i tink will be small :D nothing to bring..maybe:

1) 2 PJ
2) Nipple cream
3) Pads
4) Camera
5) undies
6) BB new clothes, mittens and booties
7) Towel

That's all..

Hi guys! rainy weather.. so nice to slp in.

Don't need to thank me for the link to the toys lah.. any of u paid yet? the gal like nv send me any info as to how much to pay leh.. better go and check the thread..

Haru, i dun think u shd cancel ur appt even if the pain gets better.. at least go and find out if it is something to worry abt and how to deal with it. then u don't have to worry abt it each time u dun feel well and then have to wait a few days before u can see ur gynae.

Hui, i haven't pack my hospital bag.. somebody told me kiddy palace actually sells disposible panties for aft birth.. thinking of checking it out cos so far i haven't found a fitting disposible panty!

Favoured_mum, i rem u.. i m taking iron pills.. i find it ok leh.. its the combi of folic acid, Obimin and fish oil that makes me gag!

Vincy, take care ya?

Happy, where u wanna go? i still can meet up cos i quite small and mobile.

hui,
i buy those cotton disposable one. think should b ok. u delivering which hospital?
actually i like the hospital panties. kekke.... very tight fitting one right? net net one? i dunno they got give leh. tat time i delivery they bo give mi extra.

hi Moomummy,

soya bean milk is good. I drink it couple times per week. my husband don't let me drink too often. because soya bean milk contain certain things not good for men, so he worry about our boy inside =(

anyway, I go down buy it whenever I feel like it... hee hee....

i just bought "U-Like" Generator, and it can make soya bean milk myself. very easy to use and clean.

my sister bought it for making baby food (after 6 month), so I got one for myself too.

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I caught the bug, just placed order.. haha.. I tried to 'avoid' yesterday when seeing u all post the link.. but today.. can't run awayyyyy... haa.. tempted to get more but controlled.

Hui, a lot of ppl told me when panties kena stained very hard to wash etc.. so told me to just wear disposible.. i also not comfortable with disposibles.. so loose one.. machiam wearing a shower cap down there.

Enne, hahaha u caught it.. how to avoid catching it when Mildy's bug is so strong? Its a mutant leh..

wahahahaha....mildy bug is strong.

I cannot liao, I spree on pelangi, amazon books, polo R, ON, Gap &amp; Gymboree...

Then my maid come with me liao, pay a total of 3k to the agency, then buy stuff for her...

totally n completely broke for these 2 mth. need sell backside liao.

Mildy dont pass the bugs to me hor...

Mildy &amp; Happ btw the books MT havent collect from malaysia..will let yr noe once she collect.

Thanks bear bear...

Panties...i will wear norm panties leh, buy those cheap cheap wan, if stain throw, disposble is too big for me, will fall off when i walk wan...hahaha paisei.

my boss secretary just call, she say if my Hosp Leave touch 36wk. I need to use MTL to cover liao...they dont recognise HL for advance preggie.

*mildy leopard crawl over to vincy backside and inject the bugs*

vincy, ouse liaos leh. wakakak...
the books already hot hot at my h

Milderina,
Mt A i duno they give anot leh but TMC will give..

Bear,
i like the description! Wear shower cap underneath. U can wear those cheap cotton undies.. stain then juz throw

Hi Moomummy,

some ppl did bring this point out. wether belive it or not, depends on you.

check below website - section 'men'

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soya_bean

I also read an article in chinese on Zaobao.com, can not find it now. I would forward to you once I found it.

because my brother in law drink soya bean milk every morning, so I was emailed him that article.

Havent leh...mt never tell me arrive liao...wahaha. my last check with her is havent.

I have pelangi, amazon,polo R, ON, Gym &amp; gap to pick up from MT...wahaha, only paid for pelangi..so dont dare to arrange for pick up...wahahaha

Then the book nice bo? got regret order so many anot? I need to find a cupboard to store all my hundreds books...wahahaha

aiyo u temp me to collect all my stuff lo...heehee. but hor pungol was super far lo, i tink i better wait for all my stocks to come 1st then 1 time collection.

Re: Hospital bag
Am i KS or wat, i'm bringing 4 pjs in case kena stain. Dun forget to pack ur hb's clothes if he is staying wif u. Also dun forget the cordlife box and bring along their card to call them after delivery to pick up the box. I also read somewhere we can bring all the gynea receipts and the hospital will process the medisave claim for gynea expenses. Remember to bring hp and camera chargers. Sorry, i very losoh.

When i was staying in TMC last week, the air was very dry and my lips cracked badly, you may want to bring a lip balm (very optional). Maybe it only affects me.

Re: Cough
Still nursing the cough, have to hold on to the tummy when coughing, i hope baby dun find the coughing disturbing. I am taking EYS pipagao, recommended by alibaba i think, quite soothing. Praying that the cough will quickly go away bc i'm afraid in case kena e. c-section and still coughing away, can't imagine the pain on the tummy.

chilipadi: your cough recover already?

Happy: Welcome back, so did you go and eat all the local food that you missed?

Anybody not gaining much wt? I think i only put on about 800g from 29wk to 33wk, but thankfully baby is still putting on wt. So my total weight gain reduced to 9kg.

baby23
so tummy pushing up 1 side is BH, i still thought its my boy moving or kicking me

i do feel tummy tightening too, think most of the time when im walking...just had it during lunch

baby23
fyi. only 1 batch recall. maybe you can call the company to ask the batch number. I drink Anmum too but already finished (1 can only) and have stopped

"Some overseas milkpowder companies with operations in China assured the public that their products are free of melamine, but Fonterra has had to recall one batch of Anmum Materna milkpowder for pregnant women. That batch was made with Sanlu milk, even though Fonterra says that all the rest of its premum-priced Anlene and Anmum milkpowders are made from New Zealand milk."
http://www.nbr.co.nz/article/distrust-local-milkpowder-offers-gains-exporters-35472

JJZou: Thanks for the list of iron-rich foods. Seems that (white/black) fungus and seaweed are good sources. I'm now trying to increase my intake of beef, liver and green leafy veg.. though i think cannot take too much liver coz they have high level of Vit A?

Fifi: you hit the nail on the spot leh... now i very very tempted to get the lullaby pal and the musical pulldown!!! but cannot decide which animal to get... hmmmm.....

Bear: i take the iron pills with obimin.. maybe that's why i find it tastes horrible. i'm never a pill person.. so i guess i find it more torturing. :p

anyone noes if the panties that TMC provide are chargeable? like what Bear said, think disposable ones feel uncomfy... but the convenience is there la... still undecided on whether should buy disposable ones or those cheap cheap cotton ones...

Heard that Karmy PJs are quite comfortable as nursing gowns. Any mummies bought that? Saw them at Metro at about 29.90 each. Someone mentioned that Giant sells them at a cheaper price. Was thinking of going to the one at Tampines to take a look...

I'm also into drinking soy milk. Not a milk person coz i'm lactose intolerant. But there was a newspaper article in Sunday Times a while ago which was mentioning that those sold at hawker centres don't contain alot of calcium... think only those soy milk that have calcium added to it then can be a good substitute for milk in terms of calcium intake.... anyone can advise? I usually take soy milk from hawker centres or places like jollybean, mr bean....

ALLO finally... haiz, make use of lunch time to sneak in for a while..

Thanks for all the belated bday wishes
I was hoping and telling my hubby i wan surprises but in the end restaurant and reservation done by ME MYSELF!! -_- All those he suggested me no interested.. no present somemore... ganasai...

Lately my lower tummy also aches and cramps a lot.. sometime i got the feeling i can pop anything. Even when taking taxi e driver also ask why i look like i'm in pain.. Think its either bb putting too much pressure or caused by my constipation

last nite couldn't sleep!! Too much things in my head, brain cells super active! Market too fantastic these days can't find a contract staff to cover me
getting worried liao

enne> oso kanna bugs. hahaa..

tummy out of shape push to one side is BH meh?? i tot is bb kicking or moving leh... lidat it occur quite few times for me per day liao...

toking about soy milk, i jus had 1 can for lunch... ehh mine oso a boy wor.. must avoid ah..

brocoli> aiyo. cough still not ok yet?? i tink it's vel recommend the pipagao to u
hee..
from last appt i gained about 9kg .. now duno gain or lost.. my appetite aint good recently.. stomach like kanna squeese til couldnt store food.. so xing ku... i tink we better try to go have some brisk walk ev day after dinner. it's will help alittle.

Yen
heard that dutch packet is fm malaysia, bottle is from china. from today's MyPaper. check it out.

Haru
Read from the site that for dry nipple, instead of using nipple cream (coz its about 20+ for avent) you can rub your own milk over it.

re :hospital bag
Hey gals, dont forget to bring
- 1 set of clean clothes for yourself to checkout.
- And also sweater for you and hubby and
- some magazines
- receiving blanket (incase hosp didnt give, check with your clinic)

brocoli
Need to bring original or zap copy of gynae's receipt can liao huh?

favoured
i bot that at JL now selling at 23.9 and a further 20% and further 10% if ocbc rob card/5% rob card.

havent wash but texture is soft like tshirt. think you go those market also got sell such pj...and think some1 post on forum earlier 6.9 to 9.9 fm giant...u can check it out...i missed th giant 1 (didnt see) so i bot 1 from giant 9.9 (no button for current use) those which u can wear 2 sided but its kinda thick...

<font color="119911">Hospital Bag</font>
Do we need to pack the Breast Pump or don't need?
Can't bring laptop?
Someone mention the air at TMC is very dry. Anyone know is the humidity in Mt A very dry as well?
I also haven't start packing. Still need to buy nursing bra, disposable panties and nipple cream

jo yeo,
oic, only 1 batch recall, haiya,i already drank more than 10 thins,too late to check.i will throw away the current one, and buy dumex or frisomum. Thanks for the info

Baby will always push our tummy up n down,left n right one. but for BH the feeling is different from baby pushing lor.

Re:soy milk,
Mine oso boy and I also like soya bean milk. Oops...

Re:Disposable panties,
Can buy cotton ones if u dun like paper type. I bought both types (paper like and cotton). The cotton type can buy from OG this week. Got 20% discount. I bought $3.80($4.50 less 20%) for 1 pack of 5. When I come to think is going to be thrown away, I bought Watsons type..cheap cheap. kekeke...

Peanut,
Mine oso. Wonder when boss can get contract staff to cover me during my maternity...Jia lat..
Advertised liao..No news..cham.

hui,
my gynae oso suggest to pack hospital bag @ 34wks and latest by 36wks. I think I only left with pads that I've not buy yet. Maybe getting sofy night (soft)...Scare maternity pad too thick.