(2008/11) November 2008

alibaba
oh dear.. then the steamboat u mus control dun overeat wor.. then also mus avoid the mala portion liao

Minkybear lei? like disappear liao..

ok, here goes.

"If a person is born in the Year of the Rat it would be good to have characters like mi 米(rice grains), dou 豆(beans), yue 月(moon), tian 田(rice field) or mu 木(wood) because these are things or places closely associated with the rat, and are advantageous to the rat in one way or another. Dao 刀(knife), tu 土(earth), shi 石(stone), che 车(carriage) or even huo 火(fire) should be avoided because knives or stones can be used to kill rats. A rat can also be killed by the running wheel of a carriage or be burned to death."

i go read some more & extract more impt bits.

peanut-Maybe a christian name starting with N and having a chinese name ending with Ni?? Since u so used to calling her Nini liao.. hehehe..

olwen-Nice names.. I like ur monster name.. Xiang Kai.. its which Xiang? Ji Xiang de Xiang?..

olwen-Hey meaningful, extract more.. I still headache about chinese names.. might be able to get ideas from what u posted. hehe.

alibaba, try eating noodles with soup.. at least it makes me feel better and not so bloated~ more qing dan lor..

peanut, olwen.. ya lor.. no appetite and lost 1kg from e last visit instead of gaining.. think it's really e MS liao.. but at least BB is fine coz she's still happily kicking me most of e time =D *cross fingers*

thanks ladies.... dunno why after shower and lunch...temp went up again to 38.1 Just gave her panadol.

vincy,

oh dear...ur gal sounds serious. is she improving? cough till vomit very cham...

wow...whats kidsloft? where is it? can share with me some info? thanks

olwen,

nice names
how u type chinese characters ah?

haru,
u can try kiddy palace or toyrus. Seen the leapfrog stuff there.

mommies,
Wish me luck. I booked my new maid last wk and patiently waiting for her to arrive. My current maid is driving me up the wall. Now I know why some employers become so angry that they strike their maids. I keep telling myself to tahan for another 2 wks and than I will send her back... just have to treat her like invisible... She is trying to piss me off so that I can send her home immediatley. Her life so good now, no need to cook or look after my MIL as MIL is now in Old folks home. Only need to look after my daughter. Dinner and lunch eat at my mum's place. have to only do laundry and clean the house. When she 1st started she use to go to bed at 10.30 or latest 11pm. Now 9.30pm she goes to bed liao... Told her main duty is to look after my daughter and play with her but that she oso cannot do... My daughter talk to her she no response only show black face. These 2 months she really playing emotional games with me. Whole day black face, talk to her bo hue me. Don't even acknowledge my presence. She even ask my daughter to tell me and hubby to send her home. No guts to tell me she wants to go home... I was so mad, I told her off... to think that we gave her so many chances for all the mistakes she made cos' we pity her coming from a poor family but I guess some ppl are just ungrateful... sorry for this venting...

alibaba,Jenn-me also having MS, mostly in the early morning and evening times, afternoon times seems ok so I try to eat more during this time.. patz patz.. hope it will go off soon.. think coz we entering 3rd trimester(my MS came back during my first preg too), thats why pple say 2nd trimester best time to enjoy pregnancy. hehehe.

peanut> see how la! appetite good oso mus eat mah.. the steamboat is ala carte or buffet? if buffet, control = waste $$ liao

jenn> ya initially i took plain stuff. when recover liao. i start eating tings tat i like. haha.. but rice or noodle i try to cut down. dun finish all..

Chillipadi-Sounds like a very rude maid, don't think she is in need of money else she won't behave like that?? How long have u had her with u???

lovedogs,
hope she will be better soon!!

me going to baby kingdom to check out the baby cot with boss's wife tonite.=>

peanut,

i remembered u mentioned ur office in harbourfront? is it correct? any idea is parking there during office hours expensive? or if from MRT station, is it far to walk to keppel bay towers? thanks

olwenlim,

Can you check for me if this chinese name is ok for Emma-Jane. It's a direct translation from the English name:恩美琪

Megan-Beth's Chinese name is also translated from her English name: 美庚贝

Enne
yah lor.. for chinese i wan something with Ni at the end.. but havent tot of something really nice lei.. christian name actually tot of Janell but it sounds like Jia Niao hor.. (eat bird)

alibaba
oops.. its a buffet lei.. See how ba, hope u feel better soon.

Chilipadi, just cool down.. And tong for another week. If really cannot tahan, think is better to send her off since she also have no mood to work for u all. Moreover she may try to do something funny so that u will send her off immediately. Better be cautious.

Enne,
She has been with me since Feb last year. True that she has money now. Oso I think b'cos' I am expecting number 2, she is frighten of additional work. To me is that if you have any reservations or problems, tell me lor... not that I never ask her if anything is bothering her. When she started her black face, I ask her if anything is bothering and she tells me nothing. Than I yold her if there is anything unhappy, tell me so that I can help if possible but she kept saying nothing but continue her black face and antics to piss me off... i just pray that the new maid is ok... cos' no 2 coming so need someone that can look after and entertain megan. If not I will be damn jia lat... sigh...

RE: Dumex Mamil Gold Growing up formula with Immunofortis.

Mummies, i have 4 pack of this sample. Any mummy interested can get from me at my place. cause my son is not drinking this. alternatively u may email me cause i wanna log off liao.

Expiry date: 8 Feb 2009.
Net weight: 40gram x 8pack. So totak have 320gram.

Kash
u wan to park the car @ harbourfront office tower or the shopping centre itself? And for how long?

Walking distance from mrt to keppel bay tower not far lah.. less then 5mins walk - then got shelter al the way one. My office jus nex to keppel bay

Haru, yeah the side railing can slide down. they have 4 adjustable height, which is gd. some beds only have 2 adjustable heights.
u shd go and check it out before u bring ur lady boss over, just in case u dun like it.

Olwen, why u always say people are better off than u ah? keep saying u old, u poor etc, ppl earn more than u.. if u keep saying that, u will become one LIKE that. i think u are better off than some of us here. Some mums here are as old as u too. to me, its not abt the money. even if i earn very little, i will try my ways and means to pay the person what she deserve... if i have a pathetic pay i will give as much as i can, then when i get an increment i will increase wat i give. i know u are comparing to ur SIL, and honestly, wat do u expect? MILs will nv treat us the same way as their own daughters.

Peanut, hahaha i dun think many of us can eat the mudpie lah.. heh...

Alibaba and Jenn, take care hor.

Re: contact list
I m gonna send the new one later! be patient!

enne: tt's his xiang. good thing for u & me is one half of the name already there. so just need to think of one more word to match. y still headache?

*pant* i try to extract more. thick book leh.

Jenn: try drinking milk more? frisomum is v nice.

kash: oh, i have HansWare from Creative. the mosnter's school made us buy. used it for school only once, to type his story recital. u wan? i can lend u the CD-rom.

chillipadi: *pat pat* don't be angry ok? anger bad for the baby. i go read the book in more detail. how come megan & emma have 3 words in their name? can register at ROBD like tt?

Joyce,
I spoke to her and told her that since she wants to go home, I will send her home but must wait until my new maid comes. I told her since she is breaking the contract, she has no choice. Oso my sis maid oso told her not to do anything funnie or she will ruin her chances of coming back to Singapore to work when she runs out of money if she runs away. Luckily my sis maid is very good. She said that among all the maids that we have (among us sisters), the maid working for me is the luckiest as the workload is very little and me and Hubby are very easy going ppl. Unlike the rest of my sister's maid who have to clean bigger houses, look after the kids and look after old folks at home. I guess some ppl just don't appreciate what they have.

olwenlim,

Me just ventilating to get it off my chest. Cost later when I go home and see her there my good mood will become bad again. Cannot accumulate to much negative energy... so must ventilate a bit... heheheh. For Meg's Chinese name we managed to register it like that leh. So I guess Emma, we shld be able to do so.

Chillipadi-Yeah.. haiz. patz patz.. maybe she got $$ now also liao.. now u must ren her first lo.. when new maid coming? You also need to 'train' rite..

olwen-Yeah but headache abt last name.. cannot agreed on one.. hehe..

peanut-Joelle? Janelle?

chilipadi,
oh dear, so sorry to hear bout ur unfortunate experience w ur current maid. hope that your new maid will prove to be a bigger help than this current one.

Bear,
thanks! think if we dun like e one we see tonite, we will get the one we saw at baby avenue. but only 2 adjustable heights if i am not wrong. told her i already saw one, but dun mind to check out baby kingdom's selection.

olwen,
yea! i agree with Bear, dun put urself down okie? tell urself that you are a yummy mummy!!=D

olwen,

oic...its ok no worries...
thanks for the offer.. btw, then u can type and print the chinese names in advance when u print the birth certs

peanut,

thanks... am thinking to park in keppel bay towers itself. I have nvr been there b4..is there any hourly parking? if parking very ex then maybe i will take train loh... i am looking at 3 hours over there.

chilipadi,

oh dear...i read abt some many headaches with maids i really am very worried as I intend to get a maid too when number 2 arrives. Coz I dun think hb and me can cope with the daily housework and 2 kids after a long day in the office. but i guess sometimes we can be nice to the maid, but the maid siao siao one we also no choice. hiaz...hope ur 2nd maid will be better.

kash-I guess this kind of things really depends on luck, some maids are really good with kids and hsework, yet polite and hardworking.. but there are still many black sheeps out there!!

Bear: i AM old mah. maybe for mum w normal pregnancy, wld not be considered so old but i was once a young mum w normal pregnancy so i can feel the difference so much myself.

Haiz. as for my MIL, there's a lot of bad blood between her, my SIL & me. tt's y i caution all of u who r getting MIL to look after & what's more, those who r living w MIL to think twice. i had SOOO much problems w my MIL. & just when i thot things were becoming ok, she ran off without warning to look after my SIL's kids.

chillipadi: no offence hor, their names r really v nice just tt i was v curious. cos i always thot surname allowed up to 2 words & name anor 2 words.

yah, i know what u mean abt getting it off your chest. last nite after seeing my husband throw tantrums the entire week, i told him i never met a man like him who is so bad tempered but so few redeeming qualities. he finally got the point & quietened down. then he started saying how cute his son is. hahaha.

enne: ok ok. i go read the book & try to extract some more things. what is legolas chinese name? & which part do u want to keep for no. 2? if u don't mind posting it here.

haru: oh, thank u. but more like, for the next 6 weeks, i am now FAT mummy. haha.

kash: do u speak malay? if so, still have a choice of where to get the maid from.

Olwenlim,

I fully understand where you are coming from with age as well as MIL. I feel the difference when I had meg and now with emma. Although the age gap is not as wide as yours I still feel alot of difference.

My MIL stayed with us for 10 years and she gave me 10 years of rubbish. Only earlier this year she was sent to the old folks home by the kids cos' she is has slight dementia and I could not take her living wif us anymore. The last straw was when she accuse me of hitting her. Over the last 10 years she accuse me of a lot of things like chasing her out etc, I close an eye to it but when she accuse me of hitting her I cld not take it so I call police to come and investigate. She has already started telling ppl that I hit her and best part was that the period she accuse me of hitting her was when I was travelling for business... But when she kept insisting that I hit her my hubby got so mad that he and his sisters send her to Institute of Mental Health and than from there to old folks home. All these happened during my 1st trimester. Now with the stupid maid playing punk, I am so worried that Emma will come out a stressed up baby. So now everynite I use the babyplus machine to try and sooth her...

Kash ,

Normally for my gal after Flu is cough, so now is on the coughing stage, whenever she cough in middle of night, she will vomit lo.

Fever normally 3 to 5days will subside. But if Paracedmol didnt work well can feed bufen.

Kidloft teaching format is the same as GUG . They have 15min free play, singing & introduction, storytelling, Art & Craft, Zoophonices & 45min of kindermusic class. The only diff is Kidlofts is run by the teacher itself. So is like 1 women show. But I like it cause is more personal & she is very caring toward the kids & the standard of teaching is maintain.

This is the link.
http://kidsloft.wordpress.com/

Chilipadi...wow reading yr post, i feel like giving her a slap leh. btw she is alone with megan? if not y dont send her off immediately?

olwen, for mi ... no more chance to think twice liao. Initially, my mil seems like agreeing to help us take k full time so we asked PIL to move with us once our Punggol flat is ready. Then she say she got pay raise .. good salary now dun wanna quit her job ... we cant take back our words le!

kash
my colleague say $2 but cant remm whether per hr or half hr -_-.. i ask him to help check when he goes home later..

Olwen
ME ME!! Me living with MIL and MIL wil be looking after me ah gal.. But i dun hav to worry she suddenly go help SIL look after kids cos my SIL tink wil remain single rest of her life -_-. As for the way she looks after we hav to close 1 eye sometimes lor.. if we really dun like some of the things then hav to let her know in advance

olwenlim,

My hubby's surname is too long lah... there is no way to include the surname at all. My hubby's surname is Hamilton-Shimmen. So how to translate and put in. So we opted to do direct translation of their names and omit the surname... Meg's name was selected by her god-pa who consulted with the fengshui guy, for emma we are playing with this name and when she is born will also get fengshui guy to see it suitable... but now want to check if the meaning is ok...

vincy,
meg and maid are at my mum's place during the day. she walks over to my mum's place at 11am when meg returns from school. once at mum's place her duties are to look after meg. when meg is asleep, she will prepare meg's dinner, wash meg's clothes etc. If she has time, she will help my mum's maid with some chores which is very little. so I am not worried that she will do something to meg. got the other maid and my mum to keep an eye on....

result of my flat balloting shd be out v soon.. wish me luck, looking forward to having own house in 2 yrs time. Dun hav to see so many people in a 5room flat anymore.. can watch watever tv programs i wan in the living room.. can sit as chor lor as i wan.. dun hav to listen to loud splattering ah choos anymore.. whahaa..

Chilipadi

Her job very simple & easy hor. Since Megan is at yr mum house & there is another helper, y not send her back immediately? really will boiled leh if her attitude is like that.

peanut,

thanks for the info
wah...all the best for your flat balloting...where did u ballot?

vincy,

thanks for the info on kidsloft. do u find it tiring to bring her there on a weekly basis? hope ur gal will get well soon...cough till vomit, i hear liao also heart pain...she must be very xin ku...

juz now measure, temp is 36.6 back to normal "phew" hope wont go above 37.5 again.

olwen,

i can't speak malay but i still hope to get an indo maid who can speaks english. my dad speaks perfect bahasa so maybe can help me during the "interview" process too...

chilipadi,

reading abt ur experience with ur MIL, i really hats off. how u managed to tahan for 10 years! luckily ur hb and her other kids all are reasonable.

enne> need to cut down becos bloated.. burping start again.. plus bb is big.

re: maid
so scare too.. i am starting to hunt for mine..

chillipadi: oops, my experience really pales next to yours. my MIL definitely not as bad as yours. but she is nothing close to Jenn's. Haiz. at least my maid this time is good. u really poor thing.

Ladies, i have sent u all the updated list liao. Please check. Use this one for future communication hor. Also please check ur junk mail cos it might be listed as junk. There might be some probs if ur receiving add is from hotmail.

Haru, i prefer 4 adjustable levels for the cot so that bb won't tumble out of the cot. the one at Baby Kingdom also gives u toddler bed railing so u don't have to use the taller railing. u need to go and see what it is to understand wat i mean. heehee.. happy shopping!

Olwen, MILs and DILs probs are never ending one. Although i complain abt my MIL a lot, i make sure that i nv show it to her. even if i disagree with her, i nv do it rudely. And when my kid comes, i won't complain abt her to them either. of cos there are unreasonable MILs that u can nv negotiate with.. but most of the times, its both the MILs' and the DILs' faults. I m at fault for not being patient.

Chillipadi, poor u.. ur MIL sounds horrid.. prob her dementia that contributed to it.. my col's MIL took a knife and chased aft her.. scary!

yah my grandma last time also senile and always picked on my mum and quarrel. 1 day my mum turn around and there she was standing behind her holding a knife looking at her fiercely.. In the end her health worsen and no choice hav to put her in old folks. also v kelian, i always remm the scene visiting her and she lying on the bed looking out of the window, resigned..

vincy,
If I am not so pregnant now, would have sent her home but b'cos I have pre-term labour which requires rest, i cannot afford to send her home now. So just have to tahan and close an eye. Now I oso show her black black face lor. Think only she can show black face. Previously when we go out for dinner, we will bring her along. now I tell her to cook her own food and we don't bring her along. Now all the niceness that I use to show her, I stopped. Why shld I treat her so nice when she is not appreciative. Unlike my 1st maid who worked for me for 4 years. she really appreciate us and my mum. She will always have a smile on her face and loves megan alot. My first maid had it worst cos' she had to look after my MIL which was not easy. My MIL treated her really badly and made her cry so many times. It's amazing she managed to stay and work for us for 4 years. Too bad she and sister wanted to go HK to work so she left after 4 years. Oso I think she had enuf of MIL's emotional blackmail games. I just pray real hard that this new maid will be ok. This time chose one that has kids and worked in middle-east before. Was told that maids worked in middle-east tend to appreciate the working conditions here in Singapore cos' working conditions in middle-east as a maid is quite jia lat.