(2008/11) November 2008

fifi,

i dun get it leh...buffy low... juz know that there is a show called buffy the vampire slayer?

chilipadi,

how old is megan now? my gal is 15 mths + and I am totally lost what and where to send her. Any suggestions for anything suitable for 15 mths. Coz i see that she is absorbing very fast and can repeat words after us. However, I dunno and is very lazy to do anything DIY. I bought a few flash cards but nvr flash. Most is to turn on DVD and let her watch. She watched baby signing times and hence, is able to sign and even say quite alot of the stuff taught from the DVD. Just brought her to PD this morning. yday got fever... but now no more so juz hope it will be this way.

JG is abit far and I do not want to emphasize mandarin for my gal as my mum speaks mandarin and some english. However, my in laws can only speak mandarin. Hence, i am in fact worried that she is "over exposed" to mandarin and I want to emphasize on English. ANy suggestions? I sent her to GUG for 8 lessons recently. Ended and didn't renew as I am getting very tired to rush to her class every sunday.

Fifi, ok i don't get the chinese name joke... :p my chinese not that gd u see.. we having a hard time getting a suitable chinese name for our kid. Eng name more or less settled liao...

Peanut, u sure u can still eat the mudpie aft that??! heehee... weather just nice for the steamboat. wat's the name of the steamboat place ah? need to find its location!

Kash, is Tessa ok?

fifi, funny names you and ur hb can think of ... buffalo, pomelo and halo kitty.

I attended fren's bb full mth. See bb only .. never go touch her.

kash,

Meg is now 4 years old and it's b'cos my hubby reads to her everynite since she was a baby that she has devloped the liking to reading and learing abt things. She reads my nephew's kids encyclopedia. Since your gal is 15 mths old now, you can quickly start the habit of reading to her. Child from birth till ages 4 or 5, their brains are like sponge and absorb alot of info. If Mandarin is not a problem for you, than not necessary to go JG. You can check around and see what school offers Phoenics classes, maybe you can consider sending her for that. I personally find that if your child has the phoenics foundation, reading will be much easier. The program that meg went in JG taught Phoenics which helped her with her reading. If not Phoenics can also be taught at home on your own. I think leapfrog has this toy that teaches phoenics. It's sold at kiddy palace for $39.90/ I usually buy this as a gift for frens kids.

Kash,
Is tessa better nw?
Jus to share what i do with my gal normally as i did not send her to classes here.I read to her everyday,let her watch baby signing time, baby can read and other DVDs as well like barney and dora.And play some activites with her like printing,and of course flash cards too.

If u are tired to flash the cards,paste the cards on the 'item' or on the wall.At least u put into gd use instead of collecting dust.I do tat previously

Kash,
must monitor ue daughter, there is a nasty bug around. Fever is manageable during the day buy at nite the fever will come and most of the time high. Meg kena it 3 wks ago. We nearly ended up in Mt A cos' the fever was so high that she complained that her eyes hurt. Luckily it finally broke after the 4th day. Jus need to monitor as the bugs these days are damn super strong...

bear
need to find out, i keep forgetting the actual name.. its at the fountain area wher all e other restaurants r.. Oh at the Kenny Rogers side.

Aiyah ur exams gd result mus share happiness with all mah.. 10 of us share 1 mudpie also gian lei..

chilipadi, happy,

hey, great tips! thanks for your advise. I prefer to send her for classes as I am really lazy :p paste the flash cards on the wall is a good suggestion
i find that she is very poor thing staying at home from Mondays to fridays. However, sending her to anywhere now also has the concern she may get sick from those classes.

happy, bear,

thanks... last took med before bedtime at 9.30pm last nite as shot up to 39.3. This morning 37.8 so still brought her to see PD. PD told us to give med if above 37.5 or any other symptoms developed. So many kids coughing when we were at the clinic. Hope she doesn't get cough from the clinic. When we reached home, took her temp it is 37.1 so have not feed her med yet. Now she sleeping. Other than the temp, she is behaving perfectly normal..as active as ever. So today i working from home loh... juz that i have to host 2 conference calls in the afternoon...that may be rather tough to keep my gal quiet.

Morning all! Feels good to be resting at home today

Fifi, alamak..funnie name jokes haa..i better be careful when naming bb...:p

SCGS talk - yup me going tml...excited also coz it's my alma mater haa so long never been back liao. So who else going, beside baby23, alibaba, DMK?

OCBC/Stand Chart: Prob will see if there are any freebies haa before opening, since no hurry rite?

Just went for a 20 min walk. Feel quite good coz me seldom exercise now! Hopefully will aid in delivery process haha?!

Bear, congrats on the gd results too :p looks like will miss out on a free mudpie haa..

haru: when do u intend to stop driving? doesn't apply to me cos i got no car
but my mum had a colleague who always drove to school until the very day she gave birth. i think there was once she went into labour in school. donno what happened to the car. this applies to Bear too leh. & kash cos u all drive to work.

Bear: oh i meant the money to your MIL. cos i also gave the same amount. yah, if not for my hubby i wld definitely attend all these events. he's a bit siao. even told me not to eat ppl's full mth cake. so for my friend w the twins, i told her to just treat me after i deliver. no point giving me the cake cos my husband will throw away.

more or less got my names. but need to think of more christian names. my husband keeps veto'ing all the names except gerard.

张祥恩 for the girl. so grateful for her.
祥勇 for 1 boy. (cos kor kor is the victorious general 祥凯)
祥伟 for 2nd boy (checked kor kor's electronic dictionary, means tall & strong. good cos his daddy not tall.)

enne asked me to call one teo beh bio then can strike 4D more often than w we did w the monster
my colleague lagi best. he said call "lottery teo beh bio".

kash-sayang tessa, hope she gets well soon.

olwen-haha.. hey I can only see squares ler.. can convert to han yu pin yin for me???

thanks so much for the replies on the CDA and maternity pad questions.

Mildrina: how to you place two pads together, one on top of another?

Re: allowance
I will give my mum 1.8k for confinement for all the tonic and bird nest and the whole month of confinement she is doing for me....

Bear: COngrats on your results..you deserve the good break.

Kash, do take care..hope tessa gets well soon! at least it helps so much when youca nwork from home..if not, you will be super worried.

Fifi: you are really creative with the jokes...it kinda of remove your monday blues!!!!
I think I will go for OCBC bank since so near and convenient...does it matters which bank?

Hi mummies, just tries to read the archives...

Fifi: Wah..the mothers from other thread so fierce and angry....even want to backdate back to jan 2009!!! Like wat you say, we better back off anf not get involved...the more we say, the more problems will occur..how to satisfy everyone right!

Gladgal>
DMK & PKUM is gg, me not sure gg anot. ha. cos kinda v far for me leh.. which mrt is nearest to SCGS? maybe i have to go alone le.. see how

Jo> u gg?

Blessed_Mum-the nurses at TMC ever put for me also 2 pads together, coz the pads they having is those with strings that u can sort of tie together one..

Hi mummies good morning...

Wow Bear congrats on yr good result.

Talking about allowance for my mum (caretaker) I feel so paiseh, I only giving her $300 a month taking care of my gal cum dinner at her place...heehee

Kash...now seem like flu season,my gal also down with flu & fever, at night she will cough till vomit . Already see doc for the 4th time liao..still cannot fully recover. haiz

Flashcard..I have flash card for my gal since she is 6mth..those that bought at popular. At the age of 18mth month she can recognise all my 300 cards. Also started her with puzzle when she was 12mth...now she is fixing 80pcs by herself..

N she attending enrichment class since 9mth at Baby Jumper Gym, currently 3rd term at kidslofts...wahahaha kaisu hor?

Glad_gal,
Me gg tmr to t talk too. Where is t main entrance to SCGS? Along Dunearn or Whitley?

alibaba, me will take bus there from Bishan. Nearest MRT (i think) is Newton. Where u going from?

Hello had lunch yet?

Thanks for all ur well wishes! Peanut, one mudpie enough to share btw 10 mummies meh??? hahaha since u said ONE mudpie i can treat u all to ONE mudpie! hahaha... Blessedmum, i had my break in Perth liao. haha.. no more breaks.. a lot of work to do!

Olwen, i rather give more than less. giving more means u invite less gossip, less unhappiness. Also giving her money is like giving my MIL a sense of self worth. if she is happy, then less headaches for me. aft all infantcare is abt 1K outside too.

Kash, hope Tessa got the 24 hr bug! not those big horrible ones!

Vincy, ur gal also sick ah... wah, seems like flash cards is a useful tool for improving ur bb's memory! let me go and do some research on this.

alibaba, me rushing down after work too.
There's bus 156 from Bishan MRT. There're also buses gg there from Toa Payoh & Newton MRTs.

hello mummies, hope u gals had a great lunch. me had malay fried rice just now, hot and spicy..

fifi, ur hb so funny think of those names.. buffalow,pomelow,gigalow.hahaha

alibaba, i'll be driving to SCGS tommorow, we can go together if u want,i stay very near u,yishun, let me know ya

Blessed Mum > 1.8K enough for tonic? my mum told me at least a few k. i wonder what she expect me to eat...

hi ladies, I'm going for tmr's talk too.. see ya there~ but can anyone kindly inform me of e details again? Like the room number and timing? Not sure where I placed the letter with the info liao =P

anyone went for the last sat bfeeding talk at suntec? i was so touched by mrs wong bb, after i told her at TMC booth that i didn't manage to register for the talk coz it was full, immediately she just brought me and hb to enter the room, so kind of her hor.

enne: here goes.

xiang-en for the girl.
xiang-yong for one boy. (cos kor kor is victorious general xiang-kai.)
xiang-wei for the 2nd boy.

Bear: me had lunch. this new maid is good cook. yesterday she made fried bee hoon, today fried rice. her fried egg also nice. folded in half. yums. i love fried egg. no more boiled eggs from now on!

abt MIL. yah, i guess u r earning more than me did at tt time so can cope. but for me, i felt it was quite unfair then cos she was also doing marketing for her daughter & her daughter hardly gave anything.

hey glad gal, alibaba: what's this SCGS talk abt? alibaba was telling me halfway yesterday then my husband rudely interrupted.

olwen, u are lucky that ur new maid can cook well. As for me, she can cook too, but simple dish lor. But havent asked her whether can she cook rendang or curry..

hi Bear,
thanks! can the side railing be lowered? coz i am short so it wld def help! =P

chilipadi,
i have looking at leapfrog stuff too.. have you bot them too?

olwen,
er...until i give birth?keke..i always joke with hubby that i will prob drive myself to hospital too!hahaha..coz hubby is not a seasoned driver and sense of direction is non-existent. thank goodness that my sister will be moving in with my parents (they stay across e street from me)soon as BIL posted overseas so i will have my dad and sis on standby to drive me if i need to go from home when the time comes. =>

mosh,
me just came back from yoga class. munching on a peanut butter and jam sandwich and instant oats drink.

Jenn, Lilian, Pkum, DMK
I'm gog for the TMC talk tomorrow. 7pm, right. I need to search for the letter tonight, no idea where is the exact location (room, hall, etc).

I'm going for the TMC antenatal class 6th lesson @ SCGS. But I lost my letter. Can someone kindly please inform mi of the details (addr n time) too?

Lilian,
Thanks. I tot the letter stated exactly where (room/lecture theatre etc) in SCGS. keke..Last sat, I'm sitting in front of Mrs Wong 2nd row. The lady beside me keep asking ques. We reach on time but eating bread outside.

Jo,
If I rem correctly, 7-9pm. There's 2 talk. 1 by PD Dr Ong Eng Keow and 1 talk by gynae Dr Phyllis Liaw. Contents, I forget le.

baby23,
u're at north area tmr oh, maybe i can take ur ride there
i can reach yishun around 6-6.15pm

wah. the talk so long ah... 9pm wor.. sure v hungry after tat! if not wrong it's at the auditorium of SCGS?

Yen,jo,
here is the contain of the talk:

Husband’s Role during Childbirth
Problems Associated with a Newborn
The Process of Labour
Living with the In-laws
How to Raise a Brighter Child
Post-natal Depression
Back Care & Postures
Instructional Video

alibaba,
i can pick u up outside northpoint mcdonald. I'll be on MC tommorrow,going for checkup..keke.and hb will work from home. Btw, ur hb follow too?

Jenn! did u have a good lunch? this class not the one w the naked lady giving birth, right?

oh btw, i know why they give birth naked lah. becos the v first thing they do after wiping off the blood is let the baby latch on. strange but true.

joyce: wah, rendang
i don't think i can stomach tt but she probably can cook it too. anyway fried egg is good enough for me. i soooo sick of boiled eggs after 7 months of it.

haru: your husband sounds like my dad, haha. my husband is v good driver. but he gets v grouchy driving ppl around. must have a good reason to make him drive. i think me giving birth is good enough reason

lilian: the wyeth lady called me back. she's so nice. for those who r shy, no need even to say anything, just say "errrr" then she will say "so u would like the bath thermometer, right?" tt's what I did.

then also, i told her i'm in the same group of ladies who called her this morning. she said "oh all due in nov har? met thru the forum, right?"

baby23,
Btw, how do i contact u?? ur name not in bear's consol ctc list hor?
Can can. macdonald there. i usually alight from co transport at north pt oso.

my hb oh, he work at benoi, if he is gg, i can only meet him at SCGS. or else wait for him, i guess will end up reach there when class end. ha.

olwen, lol~ i nv watched any naked women video leh.. e Wyeth lady called me bk too.. her name same as me.. we were laughing away then i told her there's free bath thermometer hor.. =D she's very friendly n chatted abit.. didn't had gd lunch coz vomitted out after eating a few fishballs only.. haiz~ MS liao *cross fingers*
anyone not gaining weight anymore for e pass 2 wks or losing weight instead??

jenn> poor ting. i experience vomitting recently too.. nausea.. & last fri vomitted gastric acid. & throat got burning senstion. couldnt eat anytin after tat.. duno if it's heartburn... miserable.. now try to cut down on food intake...

jenn: 2 weeks ago lor. lilian was v excited over the naked woman video. or was it alibaba?

oh yah, her name is jennifer! my sister's name too

aiyah, poor girl *pat pat* i think your MS is the worst of everybody here. r u ok w taking medicine?

Bear
imagine 10 pregnant women go into e cafe they tot earning big bucks but we only end up ordering 1 mudpie and 10 skyjuice wahhaa... Mayb 3 will be a nicer number.. tsk tsk..

Jenn
u losing weight? becos ur MS start again mayb.. Kelian dai.. remm to tell ur gynae abt it k

olwen
i havent chosen names yet -_-" keep asking my hub to tink and he really take it that we're calling her Nini liao.. So i told him we'll call her Neyney Lim Nini..