(2008/11) November 2008

Enhanced Baby Bonus

The Baby Bonus cash gift and matching Government contribution in the Children Development Account (CDA) have been enhanced for Singapore citizen babies born on or after 1 January 2009 (or whose Estimated Date of Delivery is on or after 1 January 2009) to lawfully married parents. An eligible first and second child will receive up to $4,000 in cash gift and enjoy matching Government contributions in the CDA up to a cap of $6,000. The benefits for a third and fourth child remain unchanged with cash gift of up to $6,000 each and matching Government contribution of up to $12,000 each. Children of the fifth and higher order will be eligible for Government matching contributions in the CDA up to a cap of $18,000 each.

I have been doing prenatal yoga every week, but i realise after i do i'll feel aches on my back. I am now wondering if i do wrongly which is quite doubting as I have been doing yoga for quite awhile liao. Or is it I over stretched? anyon experience such aches after class too?

i heard during 3rd trimester, we tend to feel warmer cos of the bb temp.

olwenlim, i also hoping to lose weight.. fingers keeping very cross on this. Somemore I dun have the luxury of having the post natal massage and binding

Ok this is the details:

Tax Incentives - effective year of assessment 2009
1. Qualifying Child Relief increase from $2k to 4k.

2. Working Mother Child Relief increase to 15%, 20%, 25% for 1st, 2nd, 3rd & subsequent child.

3. Combine QCR & WMCR cap increase to 50K.

==> i.e. we pay less income tax.

BB bonus - effective for EDD/born 1 Jan 09 onwards

4. Cash part for 1st and 2nd child increase from $3k to 4k.

5. CDA matching contribution for 1st child up to 6K.

6. CDA matching contribution for 5th child onwards up to 18K.

==> We dun benefit... we get the original amts.

Centre based Child Care. Effective 1 Jan 09

7. Increase quality.

8. Subsidy for working mothers increase from $150 to $300 for childcare and from $400 to $600 for infant care.

=> We enjoy next time if we send our kids to these centres.

Kindergarten

9. Improve quality.

Leave. Effective 1 Jan 09

10. ML increase from 12 to 16 weeks for children born after 1 Jan 09. Last 8 weeks flexible over 1 year. Gov pays for last 8 weeks subject to $20K cap.

11. Qualifying period for ML halved to 90 days.

12. Protection for preggy ladies enhanced to last 6 mths of pregnancy (dismissed without cause) and last 3 mths of pregnancy (retrentched).

13. Childcare leave increase from 2 days to 6 days per year per parent with children under 7. Gov pays for last 3 days subject to $500 per day cap.

14. Unpaid infant care leave of 6 days per year per parent with children under 2.

Assisted Reproduction. Effective 1 Sep 2008

15. Subsidy of 50% (up to $3K) per cycle for max of 3 cycles.

BB bonus - effective for EDD/born 1 Jan 09 onwards

4. Cash part for 1st and 2nd child increase from $3k to 4k. ---so we lose the 1k

5. CDA matching contribution for 1st child up to 6K. ---what is the existing for 1st child now?

Basically, although we did not choose to have kids coz of these incentives, our babies "lose" a lot coz of their cut off date. The extra ML and BB bonus would go a long way in bring up the child (time spent + education).

I understand that they need a cut off date. But I dun see why they need to put it so far. For parents that already delivered, yah, can tell them that you cannot turn back the clock. But there will be maybe almost 10000 babies from now to 31 Dec... these babies how? Dun contribute to Singapore meh? Their parents dun need the assistance to bring up their kids meh?

Hi Fifi, the govt target is not us....it those who are not pregnant yet...no need to give us more incentives since we are pregnant le....so unfair lor! How come past years BB and ML starts almost immediately, but this time round have to wait till Jan'09??

oh dear. sad faces all round. too bad peanut not here to cheer everybody up.

wow, greengrape, u also know jjmom is active in oct thread

anybody remembers Ryatie22? i saw her in jan's issue of simply her at hair salon just now. she is suria presenter leh, did u all know?

misary: don't worry. sure to lose weight, running after 2

lilian: aiyah, u naughty girl, learn from peanut. sekali lilian jr also pick it up.

olwen, i'm sure lilian jr is upset too... She likes to have mummy by her side & provide her nice nice breastmilk longer.
If do a scan on her now hor, probably can see her middle finger pointed....
Wahahahaha.... Oppss....

Olwenlim,
I do read Oct thread too..although never post. And you did mention about her yesterday or the day before

BB bonus
Hope the government change their mind and backdated it.

Hi Greengrape, I really doubt so...knowing how our govt work, once they annouced, it will not be changed de....sigh....we have to ren ming le.

lilian! don't become peanut no. 2

greengrape: ohhh, i c. u wan to go join jjmom & protest at speakers corner?

actually i wonder why govt can't start the baby bonus earlier? i mean, ML i can understand cos it's a big shock to employers. but bb bonus comes purely from govt coffers, don't they realise there will be big backlash from 1st time mothers?

fifi,

i found my MPs...but i dunno how to find the schedule and location for Meet the people session?

olwen,

my ang mo no good leh...

Olwen: Wat kinky discussion??? Discuss again...

Jo: Thanks for sharing... Feel quite upset about it initially... Now better.

I got Mdm Sadiah to drop by my home today for a massage... She is really good! At least temporary relieve my backache! However, she told me she is fully booked for post natal massage until mid dec... Sob Sob!

Wah... We lugee $1k... Y 1st Jan 09? Y not immediate effect! Sigh....

Upsetting news!

olwenlim hihi. mine due date is 25 nov. ^____^ when i first know my EDD was 3dec. then slowly up to nov lor. hehe and i stay in dec lor. since i start with dec thread =)

dear ladies, there is a meet the people session tonite to see mr lee at:

Blk 322 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3
#01-1928
Singapore 560322

who wants to go?

Phylicia- Dec MTB Thread

Auggy Bear
Is Mdm Sadiah really good? I have been discourage to do prenatal massage, but my back is aching

Does she massage the stomach? (Cause they said massage may move the baby into the wrong position)

fifi,

I just called the hotline to complaint. Also they are having a survey asking whether the new enhancement is EFFECTIVE to promote PRO FAMILY life.

I said NO - coz if it is not planning to be implemented immediately, why announce it so soon? although i know not 100% related but at least it is a dissatisfactory statistics and that is the number we want to present to the top govt officials...

Auggy_Bear, if u dun feel good ... should have a nice talk with ur hb ... then u wont feel so upset.

Guess govt has made up their decision on the new benefits. Write in or feedback will made them do further better changes?

auggy:

Its not 1K... Its 1K cash + 1 month ML + 6K in top ups to the CDA account (for childcare and education de).

kash:

The hotline is quite effective. Someone will call you back later de.

fifi,

really??? we all shd call... I called liao... also wrote in liao...

Jo, doesn't matter whether we complain or petition whether will make govt change their minds. But we shd at least let them know our DISPLEASURE.... cannot be anything they implement, we all like puppets keep quiet and accept the fact

Hi guys, not a gd day for me. Only free to post now. Feeling very uncomfy today with gastric pain and feeling damn nauseated. my back also hurts like hell.. not the lower back but the middle part. urgh...

Peanut, talking abt workaholics, my hb did it again last nite! he sneaked off back to his office while i was slping to do his work! i woke up at 2.30am cos i was feeling unwell.. my ligaments and back were killing me and i wanted my hb to gimme a massage. had to climb downstairs in the dark to look for him. when i saw he disappeared, i blew up! yelled at him over the phone. aft that i couldn't slp cos the pain was worse... so annoyed!!! finally fell aslp at 4am. so pissed off. i came to sch with my face black black. PISSED! i so tired in the past wk cos i have been coughing every night.

Re: baby bonus
Sigh.. just not our luck. some co will be nice and give us the 4 mths maternity but most co won't do it. dunno if the govt will pay or not though. Kash, ur new boss got say anything abt ur unpaid leave?

kash: i don't mind compiling the points since i'm at home. but i rather not be the one spearheading it especially since my boss is rather angry w me now.

fabbie: ah, wld u like to compile the petition for all of us then?