(2008/11) November 2008

wow.. really getting serious toks abt w or w/o epi.. My hubby already 看准 me cannot tahan even for a while liao.. knows me the best.. But the side effects of epi is starting to get onto my nerves

my hubby really got angry with me last nite..wahaaha.. cos i kept watching mon's art central "my shocking story".. last week abt a siblings without skin then last nite abt a kid with 2 sex organs.. v cham... then the kid so cute but v thin cos he's sick.. Then my hubby finally flare up when the kid gena asthma and look v xinku.. scolded me keep watching these cham shows will affect bb :p tsk tsk..

re : epidural

the side effects written by bear are true. So ladies, please do some research of the hospital where you will be delivering in for the best and highly recommended Anesthetist. Coz it all depends on the Anesthetist's skills whether anything goes wrong.

I had no pain, no backpain or side effects on my back with epi. Only side effects were immediate where i shivered at the delivery suite for about 30 mins after epi was administered. Then after abt 5 hrs after i delivered, when they turned off the epi, i shivered for another 1 hr. but that's was it. I asked forums and the nurses for the best and highly skilled Anesthetist prior to my delivery and asked for him.

So try to do some homework and check out who is the best Anesthetist in the hospital u will be delivering in.

Hehe...me think of the big needle poking into me already want to faint liao, not to mention the side effects.

I don't want to think too much. Let gynae do whatever he sees fit.

greengrape,

normally gynae comes in to see u for awhile only...thereafter, gynae will only next appear when the baby's head is at the wall and almost out. Midwives will be the one asking u to push till that stage once u r 10cm dilated. Then they will ask u to stop and call gynae. Gynae arrives, 1 or 2 more pushes, bb out, gynae sew u back. that's it. off course also will deliver the placenta for u...

Bladders,

it is not true that with epidural u will need assisted delivery. I did not use vacuum or forceps etc... it will depends on the situation.

Kash

gyne do so little job!! still charge us so much for the delivery fee.
So what happen if we faint or no strength to push? So are we the one to decide we want emergency c-sec at that stage or gynae?

greengrape,

if any complications, the midwive will call the gynae to come in and check on u.... if those smooth smooth no complication cases, gynae only appear twice (like my case) and i was charged $2.3K by him for his attendance and normal delivery charges :p Yes indeed good money hor... but no day no night lah...

Fifi,
I had transferred $19.19 for the babymall spree.
Amount S$19.19
Transaction Reference 1838923628
Thanks for your help.
I will confirm with you again if collection @ Novena tomolo lunch time or sunday 11am-1pm @ redhill. Thks.

Baby23,
Thanks for your update.

Good Morning Ladies!!!

Epidural:
to me i think if u induce just go for epidural, cos its a long wait and the contractions are really coming in hard n fast but dilation slow.......(for my case at least)

My story:
i was admitted at 12am to b induce that night, till the next morning 8am my cervix only open 1cm (and this 1 cm was actaully force open by my gynae as she needs to break the water bag to hasten the delivery), after my gynae break the water bag i was put on drip and my contractions starts coming in strong and in every 2 to 3 mins, i endured all the way till 2pm, nurse came in to check, I AM STILL 1CM DILATED!!! Argh.......nurse says that i was in distress therefore very hard to dilate. i couldnt take it any more and ask for epi, after it was administer at 2.30pm, the nurse checked my cervix at 5pm, its was already 9 cm dilated. Thats the power of epi. lolx

imagine i endured from 8.30am to 2.30pm for nothing....tats y i think if u induce maybe u should really consider epi though if u can go without that would b the best, i tried but i think i was too stress with the contractions.

But if you are already dilated, water bag broke, contraction comes in naturally i will say try to endure for that little bit more if possible and if not then take epi. i am hoping that this time bb will come the most natural way like come red or contractions sets in by itself so that i can go without epi.

Side effects of epidural that happened to me:
Shiver non stop after delivery
Vomit
unable to control my urine before the effects wear off.

Pyjamas/ Night gown:
TMC and Mount A does not provide it, so you have to bring your own. I will recommend Karmy brand which u can find in John Little. Buy those all the way button down one for easier breastfeeding.

Epdidural needle are REALLY thick and long. Scary.

peanut, yesterday nite 10+pm .. Channel 5 - Heroes .. scary scene: the gal use scissors and cut off her toe .. then my hb switched channel .. channel 8 - true ghost stories .. channel U - dun fancy tat korean drama ... then my hb ask mi go sleep. Then he switched back to channel 8 and tell mi yeee .. like the way u sleeping now and the ghost is sleeping right in front of u loh ... *faint*

Haha peanut, my hb will switch the channel whenever he saw all these cham cham scenes or horror show, poor me, i always love to watch all these, now even animal planet also gonna restricted...

milderina,

yah... i also bought that karmy brand last time. but 1 or 2 pieces enuff liao coz i nvr use once i go back home.

i think epi makes u relax so dilate faster. I was only 2cm dilated when i went into the delivery suite and i delivered in 5 hrs. coz after 30mins, i asked for epi coz contractions were really painful and i can't imagine suffering through it. Epi really is heaven! as long as get good anestheist, we shd be in good hands.

Jo,

they will give u LA to numb the area before they inject the epi. so by that time the epi needle goes it, no feeling liao...,

Wif epi vs w/o epi
If dilated very slowly(like Mrs Wong's say slow coach), better opt for epi else cannot tahan for so long. If alreadly dilated mayb x cm, like my friend's case 5cm, the midwife told her no need for epi cos gog to deliver soon. I guess can inform gynae if u prefer epi or not beforehand but still depends on situation. Just my comments.

kash,
yeah, i also bought 2 pcs nias. after go home i think i only use for the confinement month nias. but i think its cheap so can consider. less then $20 right and material not bad.

ya, epi is a miracle. wakakak... well just dun go n think abt those side effects la. kekek...

jo,
tell u until now i dunno how thick and long that needle is though i heard abt it. i dun wan to know also. at least i will not imagine. lolx

yen,
yeaps, if hor dilate until 5cm le hor really can endure then endure. my friend was dilated ard 3 to 4 cm and she say she cannot endure so she administer epi, in the end within half n hour baby wan to come out le she still feel the pain cos the epi has not taken full effect yet so kinda of waste the money for the epi. however, this kinda of things very hard to say, maybe if she bo inject then wont dilate so fast. wakakaka.....so just go with your feel ba. if u think u cannot take it then just go for epi.

Can i confirm if anyone wants the kiddo stuff? Coz if dun have, I am likely gonna tonpang a friend for my 1 piece. Coz although she is ordering stuff from a place that charges more for the item, i can combine with her orders for the shipping. Need an answer soon. By this afternoon pls.

Gd morning guys!

Still on epidural ah. well i guess u shd listen to ur body and also to ur doc and do whatever is best for u. but dun dismiss the side effects of epidural and neither shd u let them take centre stage. When it is time to consider then u think abt it. but i also feel that we shdn't go in thinking that epidural is always there for us. i find that it discourages u from going without it.

Kash, ya i heard u must look up for anesthetist. but if u dun intend to do epi but last min need it then how? do u contact the Anesthetist directly or wat? wat if he doesn't do that hospital?

Eh, so cannot wear PJs that are separates? must be a dress??!

My foot hurts now.. so pain...

yo bear,
welcome home *hugz*

i think your gynae will b linked up with a anestetist no matter u wan or dun wan. so u last min wan also have. no worries babe.

can bear PJs that are seperates but after delivery u wont wan to lift your butt up and ask the nurse to wear for u ma then must lift your leg n everything. kekek... so dress easier.

aiyo... is your foot ok? bo c doc?

One of my colleagues (2 time mum) told me for the epi, they will leave the needle in the spline and remove the syringe.

Can't image having a thick needle poking me throughout the labour. *faint*

The reason they left the needle there is if you need more epi, they don't have to poke again

taka bb fair:
this time round bo sell the philip 3 in 1 steriliser hor.... so sad.....

anyone know if they sell Medela single electric breast pump there and how much is it? does it comes with stimulator? i was there last friday but didnt have time to c everything. i just went there to grab the "I'm Toy" tables and chairs for my girl nias. think the pigeon breast pads are cheaper too.

Greengrape, its a tube they leave there. Not the needle. The needle is only for threading the tube and the stringe is attached to the tube.

Kash, where did you deliver the other time? who is your anesthetist?

Jo: Yah..I really cannot imagine a big stringe inserting into my spinal cord...aiyo..I will shiver at the thought of it.

Bear, did you see doc?

Peanut: I saw the show too..but by the time i turned to that channel, it was about to finish..i saw the part whereby the mother was very defensive at what she did when the daughter approach her why she make that decision without finding help for her first. And for the boy, i dun understand that part..is the boy having two sex organs? then what happen him..know he went for surgery ..but what surgery?

milderina:
I think the Medela mini electric does not have 2 phase technology, i.e. it does not have the imitating baby's suckling feature that suppose to stimulate BM production.

greengrape,
yeaps, its there during the whole labour, but no feeling one. so no worries. u will b too distracted to even think of that needle when u r inside. all u wan is to get your baby out safely. actaully 1st time mum will not b so scare. cos u wont know wats going to happen and wat will b done though u heard abt it but u dunno how does it feels like. whereas i think 2nd time mum will b more concious cos they are aware abt it? kekek.........i dunno la, just the way i feel. kekekek.... but its better not to know so much.

Mildy, still shopping like mad? heee.. i will go and look for the PJs then.. i dun like dress cos i scared i zhou guang!

I will try without epi for as long as i can. i have a fren who went without epi for 25 hrs. but i m worried more if the bb is in distress then need to dilate fast.. oh well there is always c-section! hahaha.

Oh i almost fell off the Taka escalator carrying the bedding and the steriliser sets. i couldn't judge the steps nor see it. lost my shoe to the bottom of the escalator some more. bang my foot really badly so now bruised... gave my hb and some other ppl a shock cos they though i was gg to fall off the escalator!

So long no post.
Wow! So many of you have already done baby shopping.
Is there a baby fair in taka now? I am grounded at home to bedrest due to preterm contractions. Was admitted to hospital for 1 day observations last week.Now on 2 weeks hospitalization leave. Sigh..Can't go anywhere now.

Talking about epi, i was in the same situation as Milderina when i had my #1. My cervix barely dilated after 12 hours of contractions so gynae suggested epi. And true enough, after epi, my cervix dilated faster and lesser pain throughout .My anesthetist was quite good. I dun feel much pain when he administered the injection. I think i wld opt for epi earlier this time to save myself from the pain :p

bear,

oh dear...u better take care leh.... no joke if u fall down...

as for anesthetist, even u asked for one, it is not 100% confirmed coz must depend whether he is on duty. If he is NOT on duty, must see whether he is willing to come back. but u can try to request first. Have the name in hand. I was lucky that i got the anesthetist i requested as it was 5am on a sunday morning! I heard coz that anesthetist works very closely with my gynae.

2-piece PJ wont work... coz very troublesome when the nurses wanna change pad for u and check your wound.....,

blessed mum,

i delivered in gleneagles... how abt u?

milderina,

i find it too hot to wear the karmy dress at home even with aircon on leh... i wore spag top and shorts during confinement... easy for breastfeeding coz juz pull down 1 part of the strap... wear loose fitting kind....

bear,

wont zhou guang one, cos got blanket cover ma. if u wear 2 pc hor then when your gynae come check for u hor u must take out your bottom leh. so quite ma fan.

aiyo, must walk slowly, ask hubby take ma.
especially now our tummy getting big n heavy le hor we very clumsy one. so must b ultra careful.

actaully hor with or without epi it all depends on the stituation on the day of delivery. but hor i rather have epi then c-section leh. i scare c-section.

happy-really? but ur HB ok with seeing u being cut up?? I opting for c-sect but dunno dare to try epi anot.. haha.. sounds scary for my HB. keke.

Milderina-KARMY brand har... I will go check out.. I need sleeping gowns!!!

dey-be guai, don't jalan jalan okie.. patz patz.

re:pump
I got a avent manual pump and a mini-electric pump(bought coz realized manual too tedious).. if all up together I can purchase 1 dual medela pump liao.. kinda regret.. heard dual saves time also ler!!

Milderina
She was dilated 5cm when she reached the hospital. Supposed to be induced cos she wanted that date to deliver. She was cleaning the house due to CNY coming and doing alot of hse wk then rush to hospital to be admitted @ 11am based on her appt with gynae. She was also shocked, huh..5cm liao. That's why she advise me to walk and squat (more).

Fifi,
I don't need any kiddo stuff. Thanks.

Kash, mildy,
Ya i oso gt that karmy brand but from Metro.This is the one i mention buying from Metro.Cheap and gd.

Bear,
Can lar.Can wear anything,separate or dress oso can.As long as u feel comfort abt it.But best to have the front button one.. easiler for BF

hi morning to all
MC for today.. am down with cough & dry throat. frequent headaches start again.. now still goggy due to the cough syrup i took last night...

woah. still talking about epi oh..

bear> u ok anot. dun be hero la.. carry so many heavy stuffs! better to wear dress becos if go thru natural birth or c-section , easier "access" to toilet.

dey,
u have pre-term contractions how it feels like?
this feel days i felt a bit funny. but dunno how to describe. kekekek....

kash,
wow u can wear spag top and shorts, i got a lot of spies (confinement lady, my mum who comes over every now and then) at home. i cannot wear like tat. waakakak....they insist that i must wear with sleeve and long pants with socks!!! *faint*

kash, oh thats the case ah .. then I think shld be fine. Thought they jus inject the epi like tat so scary.

milderina, I attended the antenatal class and saw the thick n long needle in the video clip ... thats y got abit scared abt it. But as Kash said, they will numb the area first so shld be fine.

blessed_mum, scary yah? haha.

Confused now .. so what's injected into our spine and not removed?
fifi, nothing for mi. Thanks. I have bought alot of bb stuffs already.

enne,
wat i scare is tat if i only use it for 3 months then a bit wasted. i use to have 1 advent manual pump. pump until i sian, in the end i never really use it and that time my hubby pass to his uncle's wifey after they deliver. n i am not comfortable abt using back the pump that they use. wakakkka.......so thinking of getting a new electric pump. but i think not cheap. n if its not for long term like not very worth it.

yen,
ya when almost full term can try to squat n walk more. but mi that time hor was having very very bad backache cos tummy too big and heavy for my small frame le. i squat down i cannot get up. kekekekekek......

happy,
oh metro got sell too? cos that time i was told to go john little buy. kekeke...

Enne,
Previously,i cannt tahan after few hrs then opt for epi.End up baby destress and go for E-Csect.

My hb is nt suppose to see the process.He was actually sitting beside and we were blocked by a pcs of cloths.But he Kpo, go and stretch out his head and see the process.And when the baby is pull out by the gynec,there is some blood spill at his hand too.
Till nw,he still remember it and keep telling me is gosh!But he dun mind to go in again cos he wan to see the baby too.

Mild,

They are those sharp pain in the tummy that come in interval and if you touch your tummy, it will suddenly hardens and softens ...and u hv this feeling like you want to poo..I endure the pain for 2 days before realising it's not normal.

You have to monitor closely if the pain gets more intense and dun go away in 2 days.

Milderina-haha Yeah lo unless u plan to BF long.. i think electric save time but quite noisy ler.. chee-ge pomp.. chee-ge pomp. haha!

happy-my first preg I c-sect due to low placenta.. thus for this 2nd one I will opt for c-sect too.. coz I also afraid bb will distress.. thus I think better to c-sect also. Issit.. I dun think my HB will be ok to see me in such a state ler.. but I heard TMC don't allow such epi c-sect with HB inside?.. not sure.. I know KK got.

Jo,
Dun worry. You won't get to see the needle when they administered the injection. Just follow the instructions given by the anesthetist closely and you won't feel the pain.

Happy,
Your hubby quite brave hor. Mine stood at my side, holding my hand most of the time...didn't even dare to walk close to look at how the baby is delivered..hehe

good morning young mummies. did anybody else receive an email from somebody w address: [email protected]? pls don't open it, it has a virus.

peanut: of cos i didn't go to vivo. only my mum & monster went. i offered to go along & help. she said forget it, she will be looking after both me & monster. ha, not only children & youth day, but now if pub hol fall on saturday, additional school hol. we never had tt as students. also, try to drink more water & more regularly. my friend w the twins had a scare at 28 weeks cos of low amniotic fluid. so she had to drink & drink like mad. also, she refused to take calcium supplements so she had joint pain in the last 4 weeks. how come your pri school teachers so garang, show u this kind of video?

lilian: tampines also didn't rain yesterday? i was v wasteful, switched on air-con for 2 hrs & slept. but i still prefer at home to work.
u know, i also used to eye the stuff in the WTS thread but my husband is v pantang. he said he rather spend more & get new ones cos he doesn't know what bad luck these ppl will pass to us. sigh. v closed-minded.

Yen: nowadays screaming allowed
i remember hui's aunt told me a story abt when she was a young girl accompanying hui's mum for check-up at KKH. at tt time, nurses were so fierce cos of 2 is enough policy. they scolded those women in labour who were going "aiyo aiyo pain". they said "shut up lah. now u say aiyo pain. when u were doing it tt time, u didn't say pain!" ???!!!

haru: really salute u. u going to bring your baby for grocery shopping? but i've seen those big trolleys in cold storage w a baby bassinet.

Bear: u r too fit. tt's y your husband doesn't realise. must remind him tt u r carrying a heavy-weight in front, unlike him.

Auggy Bear: glad to know your backache is better. u r so kind to your MIL. to be honest, i quite begrudge the amount of money & stuff my husband gives my MIL cos it is so much. when she was looking after my baby son, we gave her $1200 every mth. nowadays i donno how much he gives but i don't find it v fair cos we don't give my mother anything plus my mum is always buying books, toys & stuff for my son & groceries for us.

bibi: u can do massage even for c-section. but u must wait much longer, i think can only start on the 21st day of your confinement.

fifi: oh no, kidsurplus! i thot u wldn't have energy to do anor spree so i ordered from this other lady already