(2008/11) November 2008

Jo:
Some pple say whole hse cannot do any shifting or assembly. Some people say masterbedroom only. For me, coz I'm not pantang but my MIL is, I jus refrain from doing and renovation, hammering or assembly in my bedroom. Coz my MIL nag so much, I also refrain from cutting anything in my bedroom, especially whilst sitting on my bed. So my MBR is solely for sleeping lor. The rest of the hse I never really care.

Alibaba:
Break from the training but I am intending to siam the 2nd half. So boring.

Bear:
Mrs Yap's account sounds scary. However, there is always 2 sides to a coin. I think its human nature for Mum's to be more gan jiong and wanting everything to be perfect when it comes to our unborn child. So any little thing that did not go well would make us feel that the doctor is very terrible/useless. Cause of this, things may not be as bad as she described it to be. Best is for you to gather more info from other patients as well as to use your own judgement.

Not every gynae would suit every mother even if they are good gynaes. For instance, mine would probably not suit mothers who need a lot of care and concern shown to them openly. Those who dunno may think she dun care much. See her everytime less than 5 mins and she dun say much or seem to check much. But the fact is that she always comes early to read her patients' files so that she know wad to check and say. She also trains the nurses who assist her to be so efficient that between the 3 of them, they settle everything so fast that patients dun have to waste time.

Sorry I'm abit chiong hei but what I am trying to say is if the gynae suits you and you think you can trust him, then go ahead and stick to him. If you worry, then go for another gynae. You can pick from all of ours. Heehee.

alibaba, then how about the assemble of bb cot in Oct?

I planned for hb to shift stuffs in the room and make room for bb cot in Oct in my absence. But hb n mil dun wan to do it while I'm still pregnant even when I'm nt at home. They wanna wait till I deliver in hospital then they do shifting at home. Find it so rush.

enne..
ya..we can hv a Tampines makan..maybe on wkend? like sat? at Tamp Mall? hw? hee..

bear..
the diaper changing mat is q gd to use..maybe u can wash the "rubber" smell off by using the baby bath shampoo?it's q user friendly leh..haha..

olwen..
u not sure when u can have next fri as ur last day?hw come?so when will u deliver ah?r u gg to go with epi c-sect or GA c-sect?

lilian...
ah..u call liao ah..okok..u go try the curry chicken katsu rice..it's yummy..hee..but in case u might hv heartburn, better dun take in too much of the sauce too..btw, when u gg to see Dr Koh again ah?

hui..
oh dear..u bleed before u delivered? hw come? did gynae say why?

jo15..
ya..some old wives tales advised not to shift things coz will "dong-tai-qi"..in case bb shift position or something like that..aa..maybe when u r out of house then assemble the bb cot lo..if not u got to wipe the cot leh..can b q rushing also..then also need to take out the bedsheets to wash etc..try to do it earlier la..hee..

Jo: not only tt. no painting, no knocking of nails or assembly of furniture. my husband had a fit the other day when my son tried to assemble the cot.

haru, kash: thanks. actually i am already on MC this week. every time i go for check-up, dr loh asks "why haven't u stopped work yet?" but no work, no money! now, i really have no choice becos i'm so tired & heavy already.

jjmom: oh yah, no offence from me too. just tt i find it v far. even tho i live in north-east too.

kash: your daughter too big for the clothes? can give me? just kidding!

Jo,
i heard b4.. better be safe than sorry.. so dun shift or nail anything @ home..

wtan,
nobody in KKH can tell me WHY.. onli say is noral for preg women to bleed etc.. Till i give up abd go find my ex-gynae ( used to be KKH but change to PTE) then he see my V and says infection..Infection can cause bleeding.

I'm not the one doing shifting .. it will be my hb n maid.

Told my hb it's fine to do shifting as long as I'm not at home. But he dun dare to ... wanna wait till I deliver in hospital during my few days stay then he do the shifting at home.

wtan: i guess becos i've always been quite obedient in the office & i don't tend to inconvenience my boss so i still got to wait for her clearance. but like my husband & haru said, if i got official MC from dr loh, i can actually heck care her & just go off. even using my AL is also my own initiative. by right, dr loh said i shd take MC for the whole 9 weeks. but becos i have excess leave then ok lor.

i don't actually know the details of delivery. dr loh is quite confident tt won't happen so soon so he hasn't discussed w me yet. but i heard tt normally he will do c section under epidural so he can continue to talk to the patient. c section actually worries me cos my first was natural delivery & i recovered v fast.

Bear & fifi: fifi's advice is v sensible but i'm still v hesitant abt this doctor. of cos, end of the day, it's actually none of my biz.

jo> i shld be gg to MIA while the delivery man is here wor.. or else u can try the broom method. if wait til bb come out..den install quite rushing & noisy. & someone have to rem to call up to arrange the cot delivery. so ma fan.. wat if u give birth on friday. den saturday they no slot for delivery, mus wait til monday,, by then u're back home liao.. bb no cot to slp..

Eh... I actually had the Ikea delivery man deliver and assemble a whole cupboard whilst I am at home leh. I just stay in another room to play computer games. Heehee.

My hubby also assembled the baby cot.

alibaba, I wld definitely also MIA when there's any shifting or assembly but hb and mil still dare not arrange to do anything. I agree last min they cant deliver bb cot or wat ... then very problematic and rushing. Told him few times, he still dun trust my words tat as long as I MIA can liao ... haiz .. dun care le.

I'm working in office now and the office upstairs doing reno and drilling hole .. cannot be I siam until I have to get out of the bldg mah .. hehe... my colleague jus ask mi touch my tummy ... comfort my bb.

bear,

i got mrs yap account opened on my notebook but no time to read yet.... going to hop on another conf call in 5 mins
will sure read later...

olwen,

i am not intending to give away my gal's stuff yet...coz hor, my hb always say 3 kids is ideal although i dunno whether i can handle number 3. Hence, i think i will keep for another few years...in case a few years later, i change my mind to have number 3. If i have number 3, i will hope for a gal

haru,

but the pattern i got no so cute
but same design

hui..
if infection caused bleeding then they shd at least give u anti-biotics to treat the infection what..aa..i know is common to lose the mucus plug for natural delivery mummies but will that cause u to bleed?so anyway u can take note or prevent the bleeding this time round?

olwen..
dun hv to fear for epi c-sect la..coz ur case u hv to undergo c-sect one..i cant comment much on the recovering since each of our pain threshold is diff also..i think for ur case, u shd chk with ur gynae when u r to be delivered, then try to clear some leave before u deliver & aft u deliver..u will find it useful if u can use ur leave aft ur delivered so that u can spend more time with the kids lo..retng back to work really takes time to adjust..also u getting a maid, right? can get the maid & caretaker to get used while u r gg to go back too..try to plan ur leave nicely too..

wtan, no i juz called to ask if they allow reservation. Will do booking tmr.
I'll b seeing Dr Koh on 8/8/08 nite
The Olympic opening day. How abt u?
Hopefully can book my ward on t nxt visit. Last Sat when I was there, t clinic was soooo crowded and long wait. No seats for me. They shd renovated t place man!

pantang - I didn't know all t 'rules' during my 1st tri. I had my piano tuned - my tuner almost de-assembled my entire piano. N i was on my bed doing my x-stitch while waiting for her to finish!
Actually I wun mind assembling bb cot when i nt ard. Coz i dun like doing things last min.

Wtan,
when am in KKH they juz keep sending me to scan and blood test nia leh.. Now i will let my gynae know whenever i have discharge lo.. so got one time( for this #2) he say i got slight bleeding when he clean my virginal for me.. he even show me the cotton is abit stain with blood. so was given anti biotic to eat..

Jo: i don't understand. u mean cannot even deliver the cot? then i agree w alibaba. what if u give birth on a friday & they can't deliver on saturday? then u got to stay in hospital till the cot delivered??? assembly i think can wait till u go in but not delivery.

kash: i was kidding! but one thing i agree, one boy is enough.

lilian..
oh..wat a nice date u r seeing him..dun tell me at 8pm also hor..haha..i m seeing him this coming Mon night...so fast u want to book bed?aa..i think they will probably hint u to do the booking ard 3 tri..but u gg to go with hw many beded?

hui..
icic..okok..i think since u got an experience then u shd know wat to look out for ba..maybe u shdnt be walking ard too much or doing anything strainous..take gd care leh..hw's little Jovial boy doing?better?

1 more Joke of the Day: Chinese Courier Service..

A family in the Southern Province of China, were puzzled when the coffin of their dead grandmother arrived from the States. It was sent by one of the daughters. The dead body was so tightly squeezed inside the coffin, with no Space left in it! When they opened the lid, they found a letter on top; which
Read as follows:

Dear Cousins,

I am sending Ah-ma body to you since it was her wish that she should be cremated in the compound of our ancestral home in Tung Shin. Sorry, I cannot come along as all of my paid leaves have been consumed. You will find inside the coffin, under Ah-ma's body, 12 bottles of Yomeishu, 10 packets of Swiss chocolates and packets of Chinatown Lap Cheong.

Please divide these among all of you. On Ah-ma's feet you will find a new Pair of Nike Air shoes (size 10) for Ah boy. Also, there are 2 pairs of Shoes for Ah Mei's and Ah Lien's sons. Hope the sizes are correct..

Ah-ma is wearing 6 CK T-Shirts. The large Size is for Ah Bak and the others are for my nephews. Just distribute them among yourselves. The 2 new Armani Jeans that Ah-ma is wearing are for the Boys.

The Rolex watch that Lee Ah Bai wanted is on Ah-ma's left wrist. Aunty Pei Pei , Ah-ma is wearing the Tiffany necklace, earrings and ring that you asked for. Please take them. The 6 white Polo cotton Socks that Ah-ma is wearing must be divided among my teenage cousins.

Let me know what else you need as Ah-Kong is also not feeling well nowadays. I can send all required things when our Ah Kong goes back too...'

wtan: no way i'll be allowed to take additional leave on top of the dr's ordered MC & maternity. were u around tt day when i mentioned tt my boss asked me whether i can use some of my maternity leave for my MC? i mean, i already have the same 12 weeks as other mothers w 1 baby & she still ask me to use some of my maternity leave for MC.

was mav born thru c-section or naturally? i donno, Bear made me so scared w all her warnings abt c-section. but it's no choice.

lilian: the piano tuner also came & tuned my piano on monday! does this rule also apply to piano tuning? alamak. this is getting too complicated for me already.

that reminds me.. my mil jus got contractor to fix a new gate... But i was not at home thou. Sigh gues we shdnt tink too much, as long as we're not home shd be ok

peanut00-haha.. save $$ har.. keke.. come in then read abt ur joke liao..

olwenlim-what's this abt c-section? I had my boy through c-section due to low placenta.

wtan-can but I working at Tampines ler so can only during the days I work, sometimes I work sat too.. hee.. can try arrange.

hui-glad to hear Jovial better now.. u too take care.. and of Laura(if thats gonna be ur minnie name) too..

peanuts... OMG !!! wahahah.. so funny!

wtan, actually i wanted to book 8pm one but no slot. hee... no special intention la.
Its actually t nurse asked me if i want to book bed wor. She more gan cheong than me. Oh ya, tat reminds me to go for t hospital tour.
I'm gg for single bedded coz hb want to stay over and he sees t diff in price is not too much.

hui..
nice to hear that he's recovering..rub some vicks on his sole & let him wear socks before he sleep ba..hope he feel better soon..bb sick ah..we parents also feel sick one..

olwen..
no, i meant save ur AL for ur leave aft ML..so that u can spend more time with the kids aft ur ML before u retn back to work..at least if u can spread out ur AL, then u can hv a better balance of time spent lo..when i want to retn to work ah..i surely "bu-zhe-de" want..let alone when u hv 3 wonderful kids to look aft lo..i went for epi c-sect for Mav coz he didnt engaged all the way till 39wks++ & i dun want to wait liao..so right aft my appt on 2 Oct, we booked a time with my gynae on 3 Oct to hv him "carried" out..haha..coz i cant imagine if gynae breaks my waterbag & if endure the pain & aft whc in case i need emergency c-sect the bill will surely be higher lo..so i rather go with epi c-sect then..save time..haha..aa...think for ur case u can only opt for either GA or Epi C-sect lo..

enne..
oh..hw often do u hv to work on Sat?we can hv lunch together too..unless u want to accompany hb..hee...

lilian..
icic..maybe u shd go for hospital tour before u decide ba..in fact there's only 1 4 bedded room in RH & i think 2 or 3 2 bedded rooms then the rest are 1 bedded..but RH v lugi one..coz some hospitals 1 bedded ur hb get free meals too..but RH only give u a "sofa bed" then no meals..keke..i took 2 bedded then when i delivered my #1 in 06...think this round i will go with 4 bedded la..hee..it's nice ur hb can stay over..my gf who gave birth in RH also stayed in 1 bedded..

Wtan,
rub vicks on sole and wear sock i tot apply to cough? i dun nd feel sick as i already fall sick..keke.. was on Ventolin for my diffculty breathing and on flu n cough med.

Hui:
At KK you were seen by MO issit? They not experienced de. So sometimes dunno.

My hubby's colleague say, if go KK and you feel its a big problem, like bleeding, etc. Insist that you get warded and B1 and above ward. That way, the proper gynae will see you. Not those just grad dunno anything kind.

That day when I was there for cramps, the MO oso dunno why. Then want to take urine to check for infection and juz want to give 1 day MC. The staff nurse who looked after me asked the doc to give me 2 days MC. Then she told me quietly to just take the MC, rest at home, dun walk abt much and dun exert myself. She say do that sure ok de. I follow her instructions really ok.

poor hui.. mus be feeling really terrible.. ur breathing improving? try to sleep higher, ie 2 pillows instead of 1, it does help

olwen
yah lor.. start feeling sian in office.. reading forwarded jokes from frens.. haiz today v late arrive office nearly 10am due to the rain and d**n bus.. By rite shd leave office later at 7 to cover 8hrs of work but guess i'll chabo at 630.. wan to go partor with hubby

hui..
i used it on Mav when he has running nose or flu or caught a cold...it's v useful leh..u can also apply thick layers on his chest right before he doze off so he wont "rub" his chest..haha..then aft that apply on his soles & wear socks over..dun let him hv direct airflow (either fan or aircon) blowing at his nose..he can sleep better..i remembered got once i even applied on the nose lo..no choice..so that he can breathe better too..ya..i know u r also recovering..u try to take more fruits ba..take gd care too..

enne: the recovery process is v painful, right? donno. anyway, i guess no choice, i still got to go thru it so not much point fearing it.

peanut: oh, so sweet. yes, do go out w him more. not much chance to after nov.

wtan: no way, no way. my boss is v clear on this. only the 9 weeks MC ordered by the doc plus the 12 weeks maternity. no taking any extra leave after tt. she didn't say so expressly but i know if i want to take, i might as well don't come back after tt.

shifting of things: My hb everything also scared, told him also dun listen. I cant be bothered liao.

peanut, I was actually in a bad mood but ur joke really makes mi laugh and cheer mi up! so funny.

wah, i'm finally back in office. can't catch up with the thread.

Durians? wah, i think i had a lot of durians during this 2nd trimester that my mickey caught up with his size and i think he's in the higher percentile now. but no choice leh, my only craving. hehehee.... the other i went to FOUR SEASONS durian @ Still Road and kana con by them into buying 2 durians for $120! GUlp! supposed to be some top grade or something. sigh.... but then hor, it's good lah, have to give it to them lah.

on the prenatal class, i attended yesterday for Mrs Wong's class. Jenn was there too. i dun think Mrs Wong will force us to buy her books coz when i sign up for the FBI card, i already got the 3 books. so i think it's not neccessary to buy the books lah. i think her class is more enjoyable than Miss Ling's one. coz yesterday Miss Ling stand in for 30mins due to Mrs Wong's filming for Channel U.

olwen..
oic..then in tat case when r u gg for delivery?coz u gg to rest at home while waiting & start the 9 wks of MC immediately?i was thinking if u can split up the MC, then at least u dun hv to retn back to work so fast..then at least u get to spend more time with the kids..

wtan: she agreed to let me off after end of next week. but hor, must get dr's ltr. shd be no problem. dr loh will write anything for me.

delivery shd be around 1st week of oct. so scared. i donno how i'm going to make it thru the next 10 weeks.

Fifi,
dat time i was under KKH gynae but that gynae too biz till my hubby fed up and send him a email complaint to him why i was warded so long and he did even visit me.. the next day i see that gynae face liao..

Peanut,
after taking the med still ok
the cough mixture make me zzzz...

Wtan,
ok ok.. i try..i take alot of fruits till too liang and got leg cramp leh..

olwen, the one u post this morning? That's funny too! But I really jus laugh out loud to the joke peanut posted.

jo: sorree! my joke is not in the archive. it's still on this page. at the top.

alibaba: read yours too. v funnee. btw, i am blood type B.

Jo: especially the part -

"Let me know what else you need as Ah-Kong is also not feeling well nowadays. I can send all required things when our Ah Kong goes back too..."

Seems like motherhood is down just now.Now, I'm trying to read all the postings.

Jo,
My hubby assembled the baby cot alone in the room with the door closed. I've been shifting my sofa while I was mopping the floor. I forgot I'm pregnant. Haha..My hubby was not in and secretly mopped the floor w/o his knowledge cos I was bored.

Olwen,
Ask ur gynae to change to HL instead if ur MCs are used up? We are entitled to 60 days of HL (excluding 14 days mc). Save the maternity leave and A/L to spend more time with ur children esp u have got 3 of them.
U are delivering 1st week of Oct! That's fast.

hui,
How many weeks did u experience bleeding? That's really alot when I read from what you've written. Hmm..I had bleeding @ 5wks+ too (for a few hrs) that I thought I wasn't pregnant and I was overseas.

hey, is everybody going back to the huggies website to submit entries every week for the contest? can enter every week all the way until 30 sep.

yen, sometimes when u need to mop floor, shifting of some things cant be avoided. But must be careful abt wet floor when u mopping the floor yah?

Yen: dr loh always gives me HL. but i already used quite a lot of outpatient sick leave too cos my bleeding in march

sigh, no way to save the AL, my boss already said i must use up my own AL first.

alibaba, yah that 3 books written by her :p

olwen, think you got the wrong person leh. Didnt go for check up haa! My next check up on 2 Aug hee..looking forward to it
Also looking forward to starting the prenatal classes, hope can remember all the info & training!